Access control software decides who may open which door, when, and keeps a record of it. This guide ranks products for businesses buying doors, readers and a dashboard together.
We weigh the hardware bill beside the licence, how much installer work comes first, whether records leave cleanly, and how tightly one vendor locks the building.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What access control software does
Access control software manages credentials, schedules and permissions for doors and gates, connects to readers and controllers, and logs every entry so administrators can grant, revoke and audit access remotely.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every access control tool here. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Cloud access platform with a posted starting price and unlimited users
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Kisi takes first place on real price: its pricing page names a starting figure for the platform and separate figures for the Controller Pro 2, Reader Pro 2 and Terminal Pro, so a buyer can add up one door before any call.
The platform FAQ states unlimited users, admins and locations. Enterprise adds custom event retention, custom roles and onboarding, by contact only. A limited-time offer covers a Controller Pro with eligible subscriptions, but no trial is named.
What stands out
Unlimited users
Priced hardware
Annual discount
Where it costs you
The pricing page does not state what the starting amount covers per period.
Installation is quoted via third-party installers, so labour sits outside the listed hardware prices.
Right for
Multi-site businesses wanting hardware and platform costs visible before talking to sales
Wrong for
Buyers who need a trial before committing to hardware
Not stated by the vendorPlatform price posted with a monthly or annual toggle; enterprise tier by contact; hardware listed separately
US access platform sold through partners, with an open API
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
ProdataKey describes PDK.io as an on-the-go access control platform, with a Red Cloud Node acting as head-end for all door controllers, plus wireless locksets.
Its open API serves four named integration areas: video surveillance, video intercom, visitor management and intrusion detection, which eases swapping one component later. The weakness is cost visibility. No prices or plans appear, and the site offers partner and contact routes instead, so any budget starts with a conversation.
What stands out
Partner channel
Open API
Wireless locksets
Where it costs you
A price must be requested, as nothing on the homepage lists one.
The site stresses becoming a partner, which suggests purchases run through resellers.
Right for
Integrators and businesses wanting an open API to join video, intercom and visitor systems
Wrong for
Buyers who want to compare prices before contacting anyone
United StatesQuoted via the partner network or direct contact; the homepage shows no prices
Cloud-managed cameras and door control with per-device licence tables
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Rhombus pairs a camera estate with door control: controllers, readers and intercoms, with mobile, card and fob credentials, next to IoT sensors and alarms.
The pricing page prints each hardware item at MSRP and a licence table across several terms, and the Professional line omits both AI features and cloud archiving. The homepage claims 50+ integrations, a fully open API and offline operation of the cloud-edge system. The company says it was founded in 2016.
What stands out
Per-camera licences
Open API
Offline operation
Where it costs you
The entry licence line understates the total, since AI and archiving cost more.
A demo or custom quote is the way in; no trial is named.
Right for
Sites that want cameras, sensors and door control managed from one cloud console
Wrong for
Buyers who only need doors and no cameras
Not stated by the vendorHardware and licence prices published per device over one, three, five and ten year terms; demo and custom quote offered
Cloud access control on non-proprietary hardware, sold by demo
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Genea offers cloud-based access control with mobile access, visitor management and API integrations, managed remotely from any device on non-proprietary hardware. The hardware point matters for exit, because buyers are not locked to one reader brand.
The site also claims 45 countries and 24/7/365 support, both stated by the vendor without evidence on the page. Its footer names Genea Energy Partners, Inc. with no parent. The only commercial step shown is booking a demo.
What stands out
Non-proprietary hardware
Mobile access
Visitor management
Where it costs you
Only demo booking is offered; the billing basis is not given.
Scale figures such as 4,300+ locations are vendor claims without supporting detail on the site.
Right for
Operators who prefer non-proprietary hardware over a single-brand reader ecosystem
Wrong for
Buyers who need public prices before any sales contact
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or billing basis on the site; demo requests only
Cloud access control with video and visitors, plus 400+ integrations
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Brivo is a cloud platform that joins access control, video and visitor management, with hardware such as cameras, readers, locks, panels and intercoms installed on site. It lists 400+ integrations and an open API, which helps exit.
Pricing is the gap: the homepage names no plans, editions pages showed no readable prices, and the offers are a security assessment and a demo. Links to Eagle Eye Networks appear without an explained relationship.
What stands out
Video bundle
400+ integrations
Visitor management
Where it costs you
Prices cannot be read from the site, and the /pricing URL returned a 404.
Cameras, readers, locks, panels and intercoms are installed on site, so setup effort adds to the first ninety days.
Right for
Organisations wanting access, video and visitors under one cloud contract
Wrong for
Teams that want to price a project from the website alone
Not stated by the vendorQuoted after a demo request; editions pages show no readable prices
Video intercoms and access control built around multifamily buildings
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
ButterflyMX lists video intercoms, a QR code intercom, access control, package rooms, security cameras, keypads, vehicle access control, smart locks, elevator controls and a front desk station.
The vendor says integrations let buyers connect existing tools to automate move-ins, move-outs and self-guided tours. That range reads as a residential property toolkit with door access inside it. The site gives no price, only a request for a quote, and no owner.
What stands out
Video intercom
Multifamily focus
Package rooms
Where it costs you
The /pricing URL offers quote calls to action and no figures.
Its product list centres on intercoms and property workflows such as move-ins, so a buyer needing plain door control carries unrelated scope.
Right for
Apartment, student housing and gated community managers who need intercom and door access together
Wrong for
Companies that only need staff doors and no visitor intercom
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per property; the pricing page holds sales content and no prices
UK door control maker offering a phone-based, cloud-hosted Solo system
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Paxton Access Ltd, registered in England under number 01879474, covers three areas on its homepage: access control, wireless door handles and door entry. The PaxLock Pro 2 handle has a five-year warranty, a rare concrete commitment among these vendors.
Solo is described as a new phone-based, cloud-hosted system. What the page leaves out is cost, as no prices, plans or trial are named, so a buyer has to approach Paxton or an installer for numbers.
What stands out
Wireless handles
Phone-based Solo
Five-year warranty
Where it costs you
Plan names and prices are missing from the homepage read.
Pages read describe Solo only briefly, so its limits for larger estates are unconfirmed.
Right for
Sites fitting PaxLock Pro 2 wireless handles with a five-year warranty behind them
Wrong for
Buyers expecting posted subscription tiers or a trial
United KingdomPrices absent from the homepage; no trial named
AEOS access control from the Netherlands, on-premises or as a service
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestEurope
Nedap sells AEOS access control in two forms, on-premises or Software as a Service, and supports mobile access through Apple Wallet and Google Wallet.
The About page lists Nedap Security Management offices in the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Dubai, Poland and the United Kingdom. The cost is hard to learn: the site shows no prices and its How to buy page leads to channel partners, so quotes differ by partner.
What stands out
AEOS
On-premises or SaaS
Wallet credentials
Where it costs you
Buying runs through channel partners, so the site gives no direct price.
The pages read do not state plan contents, so what the service version includes must be confirmed with a partner.
Right for
Organisations that want a choice between on-premises hosting and a software service
Wrong for
Buyers who want to purchase directly from the vendor
NetherlandsQuoted through channel partners; the site shows no prices
Access vendor with cloud, data-on-card and identity management products
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Salto spreads across several lines: KS as cloud-based smart access control, Space as data-on-card, Homelok as cloud-based residential, XS4 Face for a face as credential, and IDM for identity and access management.
IDM can be hosted or run on-premise. The About page claims over 100,000 clients and projects across 13 industry groups. The homepage sends buyers to Contact us and shows no plan, so comparison needs a discovery call.
What stands out
Salto KS cloud
Data-on-card
Face credential
Where it costs you
No prices or plans are shown and that URL returned a 404.
Five named product lines mean the buyer must work out which one fits before a quote can be requested.
Right for
Mixed estates needing cloud, card-based and residential access lines from one vendor
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one simple product and a posted price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through a contact route; the site and its pricing URL show no prices
Hardware and licence catalogue covering video, alarms and mobile credentials
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Verkada prints MSRP hardware prices alongside licence prices on one-year terms, for example site licences for basic and video alarms, a per-device data licence and a mobile NFC credential bundle for 20 users.
A Workplace licence is billed annually per iPad. Because most products need a further licence, the real price is hardware plus renewals. The About page lists 17 offices in the Americas and EMEA but gives no country sentence.
What stands out
Licence catalogue
Per-device licences
Mobile credentials
Where it costs you
Most cameras and controllers need an additional licence on top of the hardware price.
Licences run on one-year terms, so renewal cost recurs and grows with device count.
Right for
Buyers who accept a catalogue of hardware and annual licences priced device by device
Wrong for
Anyone wanting one flat subscription covering all hardware
Not stated by the vendorHardware list and one-year licence catalogue published; no subscription tiers; no trial named
Cloud security product in the Avigilon range, listed beside Unity
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Alta is the cloud side of Avigilon's security offer, with Unity listed as the on-prem alternative. The access control catalogue includes door readers and intercoms, access credentials, boards, controllers and hubs, and wireless locks, with visitor and mailroom management under operations.
The openpath.com site now shows Avigilon and Motorola Solutions navigation with Alta as the cloud product. The pages read gave no prices, no trial and no country.
What stands out
Cloud product
Wireless locks
Mailroom management
Where it costs you
Navigation shows a Motorola Solutions ecosystem section, so independence from a larger group is not on offer.
No prices or trial appear on the pages read.
Right for
Buyers already standardised on Avigilon or Motorola Solutions systems who want cloud access control
Wrong for
Buyers who want an independent, single-product vendor today
Not stated by the vendorNothing on the pages read states a price; no trial named
Door hardware group with electronic access, lodging and time recording
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Access Control Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The US site of dormakaba groups its offer by sector and product, from healthcare and entrance systems to safe locks and vacation rental. The region selector shows dozens of countries across the Americas, Europe and Asia Pacific, but no headquarters line was read.
For a buyer of access control software this is a hardware-first supplier where software is bundled with locks, and the pages read gave no pricing at all.
What stands out
Door hardware
Lodging
Time recording
Where it costs you
Access software is one item in a list that also covers safe locks and time recording.
Prices, plans and a trial are absent from the pages read.
Right for
Healthcare, lodging and multifamily buyers wanting door hardware and electronic access from one supplier
Wrong for
Teams wanting a cloud-only product with listed prices
Not stated by the vendorPages read carry no price; offer organised by sector
Access control software manages credentials, schedules and permissions for doors and gates, connects to readers and controllers, and logs every entry so administrators can grant, revoke and audit access remotely. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Check who publishes a price
10 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 2 publish a pricing model you can read today: Rhombus, Verkada.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
Pricing access control software: hardware, licences and installers
Start with the hardware, because in this market it is the larger share of the first invoice. Kisi lists the price of each controller, reader and terminal, while Verkada lists camera and controller prices with a note that an additional licence is required. Rhombus adds a licence table across several terms for every device.
Ask for the same door counted three ways: hardware, annual licence and installer labour. Kisi sends installation to third-party installers, so that line never appears in its listed prices. Where a vendor shows no prices at all, as Genea, Brivo and Salto do, request a written quote that separates equipment from recurring charges before you compare anything.
Does the quote split hardware, licence and installation into separate lines?
Is the licence term one year, or can it be fixed for several years?
Which add-ons, such as alarms or mobile credentials, carry their own licence?
Cloud or on-premises access control software: who keeps the server
Where the software runs decides who maintains it. Nedap offers AEOS on-premises or as Software as a Service, and Salto describes its IDM product as deployable hosted or on-premise, so a security team can keep servers inside the building. Brivo, Kisi, Genea and Rhombus present cloud-managed platforms, which suits distributed sites but ties every door to a vendor service.
Rhombus states that its cloud-edge system can operate offline, which is the property worth testing in any cloud product. During a trial, disconnect a reader from the network and see whether cards still open the door. Then ask how updates are delivered and who owns the controllers when the contract ends. Hosted software also moves backups and uptime to the vendor, so request the support hours in writing.
Does a door still open when the internet connection is cut?
Can the buyer choose between hosted and on-site software later?
Who delivers updates, and is that included in the licence?
Matching access control software to the building
Match the product to the kind of building before comparing features. ButterflyMX centres on video intercoms and adds package rooms, vehicle access and elevator controls, so it fits apartment blocks and student housing where visitors ring residents. dormakaba lists healthcare, lodging and multifamily housing beside door hardware, which helps where locks and software are replaced together.
Paxton sells PaxLock Pro 2 wireless handles with a five-year warranty, useful where cabling every door would cost too much. Brivo bundles video and visitor management for offices wanting one contract. A tenant intercom is wasted on a staff-only office, and a wireless handle is wasted on a gate. Write down which doors, visitors and deliveries matter before any demo, then judge each vendor against that list rather than its feature page.
Does the product list name your building type, such as lodging or multifamily?
Are wireless handles offered for doors that cannot be cabled?
Is visitor or package handling needed, and is it part of the platform?
Leaving an access control platform: readers, logs and renames
Plan the exit before signing. Genea says it runs on non-proprietary hardware, which means readers are not tied to one brand, while ProdataKey and Rhombus describe open APIs and Brivo lists 400+ integrations. Those routes show how data can leave, but ask for proof. Ask whether readers and controllers can be reused with another platform, whether event logs and credential lists export in a standard file, and what happens to mobile credentials at termination.
Vendors also change names: openpath.com now shows Avigilon Alta as the cloud product, so confirm who answers support calls after a rebrand. Put the export format, the credential handover and the notice period for leaving into the contract itself, not into a sales email, because those terms decide how painful a change of vendor becomes later.
Can event logs and credential lists be exported in a standard file?
Can the installed readers and controllers be reused with another platform?
Who owns the product and the support line if the vendor is renamed?
What goes wrong most often when buying access control software
Pricing a door from the reader alone and forgetting licences, installer labour and cabling.
Assuming a cloud dashboard keeps working during an outage without testing offline behaviour.
Choosing a camera-centred platform such as Verkada or Rhombus when only doors need managing, then paying for licences that serve video.
Accepting vendor scale claims, such as location counts, as proof of fit without asking for a reference at a similar site.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best access control software in 2026?
Kisi leads our ranking of 12. Kisi posts a platform starting price and a price for each controller, reader and terminal, so a first budget needs no sales call. One dashboard covers unlimited users, admins and locations.
The catch is clarity: the page does not say what the starting price covers per period, hardware and add-ons may cost extra, and installation is quoted through third-party installers.
Which access control tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 2 products on this page:
Rhombus: Hardware and licence prices published per device over one, three, five and ten year terms; demo and custom quote offered.
Verkada: Hardware list and one-year licence catalogue published; no subscription tiers; no trial named.
10 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free access control tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these access control software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1:
Kisi: Not stated by the vendor.
ProdataKey: United States.
Rhombus: Not stated by the vendor.
Genea: Not stated by the vendor.
Brivo: Not stated by the vendor.
ButterflyMX: Not stated by the vendor.
Paxton: United Kingdom.
Nedap: Netherlands.
Salto: Not stated by the vendor.
Verkada: Not stated by the vendor.
Avigilon Alta: Not stated by the vendor.
dormakaba: Not stated by the vendor.
Which access control tools can you host yourself?
Nedap, Salto. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Kisi?
ProdataKey and Rhombus are the next two on this page. ProdataKey is for Integrators and businesses wanting an open API to join video, intercom and visitor systems; Rhombus is for Sites that want cameras, sensors and door control managed from one cloud console.
Who should not buy Kisi?
Buyers who need a trial before committing to hardware. The pricing page does not state what the starting amount covers per period..
Missing from this access control software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.