Floor plan software turns measured rooms into scaled drawings, furniture layouts, 3D views and renders. The market splits between consumer room planners, builder tools that add estimates, and a few brand-side configurators.
We rank by who owns the product, what credits and exports cost once real projects arrive, and how easily a plan leaves the tool.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What floor plan software does
Floor plan software lets people draw walls, doors and rooms to scale, place furniture, and produce 2D plans, 3D walkthroughs or rendered images for homes, offices and building projects.
To rank floor plan tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Sign-up at no charge; paid plan prices were not located in the pages read
—
Home decorators who like a branded furniture catalogue and a feedback community
Independence-minded buyers who want to deal with a standalone planner company
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
Rotterdam browser planner sold in credit packs, with five projects kept
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The pricing page sells credits in packs of 5, 10, 30 and 100, and higher-resolution exports and 3D tours consume them. Subscriptions add custom watermarks, more users and no export wait.
The company reports over 30 million registered users and 50 million plans, and offers an API with documentation. Expect to buy credits per deliverable, and expect the free tier to feel cramped once a project needs a third floor.
What stands out
Credit packs
Browser-only
API docs
Where it costs you
Free projects stop at 3 floors and 3 designs, and their SD-quality exports carry a watermark.
The monthly subscription prices sit outside the static pricing page, so a team cannot total its yearly cost from that page alone.
Right for
Agents, home sellers and small studios paying only for the exports they use
Wrong for
Buyers who need one flat monthly price confirmed before signing up
NetherlandsCredit packs on a published price list, plus Individuals and Teams subscriptions; exports are watermarked until credits are spent
Open source house planner for desktop, phones and any WebGL browser
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingEurope
Over 10000 models and 400 textures ship with the application, and a plug-ins and tools section extends it. Because the code is GPL, nobody can cut off your access, which settles the exit question for plans stored locally.
The cost is effort: you install it, learn it and handle sharing yourself. Treat it as the safe default when the budget is nil and one person does the drawing.
What stands out
GPL licence
10,000+ models
29 languages
Where it costs you
The vendor describes a house-plan and furniture application only; no team workspace or client portal is listed.
The home page shows version 7.5 with its last update on 5 May 2025, so anyone needing newer features should check the release pace.
Right for
Private renovators and teachers wanting a no-cost planner kept on their own machine
Wrong for
Agencies needing shared projects, cost estimates or client approval flows
ItalyGNU General Public License project, described by the maker as a free interior design application
Norwegian 2D, 3D and 360 planner priced monthly or per order
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestEurope
Pro adds the full furniture library, 3D floor plans, 360 views and print to scale, and the annual price is shown at 50% off the monthly one. The Team tier lists unlimited customer profiles, and enterprise has an API and custom SLA.
Ordering finished floor plans from $18 per floor is a useful escape when nobody wants to draw. The service is web and app based, and the pages state no self-run option.
What stands out
Pay per order
3D photos
Own branding
Where it costs you
Pro includes only 5 credits a month, so heavy rendering pushes buyers towards the $4 per-render orders.
The terms put commercial use under separate terms and a product sheet, which a business buyer must read before relying on client work.
Right for
Estate agents and freelancers needing branded plans and 3D photos on a fixed monthly bill
Wrong for
Studios producing dozens of renders a month on one plan
NorwayA starter level with no card, Pro and Team plans at monthly or annual rates, and separate pay-per-order floor plans
Architect-founded planner billed monthly in three credit-based tiers
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The cheapest tier allows 25 projects and 2,500+ furniture items; Ultimate lifts credits to 370 and adds plumbing, elevations and Live AI Boost. Team bills 350 credits per user and $35 per extra seat.
The credit counts make cost predictable, which is why this ranks above bigger names, but a month of heavy rendering can still empty the allowance before the invoice date.
What stands out
Monthly credits
DXF export
Team seats
Where it costs you
The Team trial needs a card and cancelling after five days leads to payment.
Terms bill monthly in advance and the refund wording was cut off in the text we read, so a refund rule cannot be assumed.
Right for
Small design practices that want DXF, elevations and AI tools without buying a CAD suite
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a permanent no-cost tier to fall back on
Not stated by the vendorPremium, Ultimate and Team tiers billed monthly in advance, each opened with a five-day trial and a monthly credit allowance
Vilnius-built home designer on web, mobile, Windows, macOS and visionOS
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The products page lists an AI floor plan converter, 360 walkthroughs, mood boards, a collaboration tool and CAD export in AutoCAD-compatible formats. Apps exist for web, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS and visionOS, so a plan started on a phone continues on a desktop.
An API integration and partner programme are listed under enterprise menus. Consumer-first at heart, it stretches towards professionals only in its top tier.
What stands out
50% catalogue free
AI plan converter
CAD export
Where it costs you
The free catalogue covers 50% of the furniture, and the 10K+ premium items need Premium.
Annual and monthly price figures on the page read ambiguously, so the real bill must be confirmed at checkout.
Right for
Home owners wanting cheap 3D on several devices with an AI converter for existing plans
Wrong for
Professionals whose clients expect branded, high-volume rendering from day one
LithuaniaA no-charge level with unlimited projects, then Premium and Professional on monthly or annual terms, Professional opening with a trial
Browser and Android drawing tool exporting DXF, SVG and Wavefront obj
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The tool offers multiple floors, a symbol library, import of an existing plan as a template and automatic area and perimeter figures per room, wall and level. Plans sync between devices through the cloud and print to scale.
Those features cover a real survey-and-share workflow. What you cannot yet judge is cost over time, since the pricing page stayed unread, so treat any paid step as unknown until you see the amounts.
What stands out
DXF and SVG
Cloud sync
Straight walls
Where it costs you
Rooms can have any shape only if the walls are straight, so curved designs need another tool.
No country of establishment and no prices were found in the pages read, which weakens vendor checks.
Right for
People who want to move a plan into other software through DXF, SVG or obj
Wrong for
Buyers who need a verified vendor, stated price and support contract
Not stated by the vendorOnline maker whose pricing link was not opened, so paid terms and limits are not stated here
Home design and rendering tool selling project-based rendering credits
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Sign-up needs no credit card, and payment goes by Visa, MasterCard, American Express or PayPal. The per-project credit rule in Personal suits one-off jobs, and the monthly credits in Pro suit a steady flow of them.
Cedreo became a mission-driven company in 2022. Without visible prices you must run the free project and ask for amounts before comparing against RoomSketcher or Space Designer 3D.
What stands out
Rendering credits
One-project entry
Card or PayPal
Where it costs you
Plans cannot be downgraded, so a buyer who overshoots the tier is stuck with it.
Monthly rendering credits expire at the end of the billing cycle, so quiet months waste them.
Right for
Home builders and remodellers who sell on rendered visuals and need credits tied to projects
Wrong for
Hobbyists drawing a single room for personal use at home
Not stated by the vendorPersonal, Pro and Enterprise tiers billed monthly or annually, each with rendering credits; an entry account allows one project
Mobile capture app priced per project with estimating built in
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Floor plans are created in real time on a phone, with shareable links or PDF documentation produced afterwards. Cloud login lives at cloud.magicplan.app.
Since every feature is included and users are unlimited, adding staff does not raise the bill, which is rare here. Because pricing is per project, volume work is where you must check the arithmetic against flat monthly competitors.
What stands out
Pay per project
Estimate templates
Mobile capture
Where it costs you
Plan prices load dynamically, so the per-project cost could not be read from the static page.
The facts found centre on capture and estimating, not on furnishing and rendering a finished interior.
Right for
Contractors and inspectors who survey buildings and need quantities and estimates from the plan
Wrong for
Decorators wanting furniture libraries and polished interior renders
Not stated by the vendorPay per project with every feature and unlimited users included; amounts load dynamically and were not visible
Native Mac, Windows, iOS and Android apps from BeLight Software
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The vendor's terms add Business, Education and Affiliate sections, which hint at more than a consumer product, though the details were not read. Native apps help when the connection is poor or the plan is large.
Because sales run through separate platform stores, a buyer on two operating systems may end up paying twice; confirm that against the store listings before committing a studio.
What stands out
Native apps
visionOS app
Education programme
Where it costs you
No price or trial terms were found, so the real cost per platform remains unchecked.
Export formats were not found in the pages read, so exit cannot be judged.
Right for
Apple-device owners who prefer an installed app to a browser planner
Wrong for
Teams wanting one subscription across users with visible pricing
UkraineSold as separate apps per platform; store prices were not located in the pages read
Professional home design suite on a Premier subscription
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Premier bundles software upgrades, premium catalogue downloads, priority technical support and the import of plans from the Chief As-Built app. The company also owns the Home Designer and Room Planner marks.
Paying monthly costs more over a year than paying annually, so the annual line is the cheaper way in. Put it on a shortlist only when plans are billable work and not a hobby.
What stands out
Premier subscription
Priority support
Legacy upgrade
Where it costs you
At $1,995 a year the entry cost is far above the credit and low-monthly tools in this list.
The pages read state no headquarters address, so the country of establishment is not confirmed.
Right for
Residential designers and builders who will use the software daily and want support included
Wrong for
Homeowners drawing one extension or a single renovation
Not stated by the vendorPremier subscription billed yearly or monthly, with a reduced first-year upgrade price for legacy licence holders; trial download
Shanghai-operated planner with AI studio, video render and VR/AR
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
The site lists a Design Floor Planner, custom furniture, an AI studio with AI planner and floor plan options, a 3D viewer, video render and VR/AR.
That is a wide visual toolbox for a browser product. Which of it sits behind Pro rather than Basic is not shown in the pages read. Ask for plan details before choosing it over Planner 5D.
What stands out
AI studio
Video render
VR and AR
Where it costs you
Paid plan amounts are not in the static HTML, so the cost of Pro or Team cannot be checked.
The features named lean towards visual output and AI, and none of the facts found mention drafting exports.
Right for
Interior stylists who want AI layouts and video renders without installing software
Wrong for
Buyers who need DXF exports or a published price list first
ChinaBasic entry level plus Pro, Team and Enterprise plans; paid amounts are not visible in the page source
Floorplanner-powered 3D room planner with moodboards, contests and a blog
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The site is a community-flavoured sister of Floorplanner, with moodboards and contests beside the room planner, plus a blog for ideas and a sign-up that costs nothing to start.
Floorplanner is a Rotterdam company under Dutch law, which hints at where this one is run, but Roomstyler's own pages do not say so. Choose it for inspiration and sharing; choose Floorplanner when the plan feeds a sale or a build.
What stands out
Floorplanner-powered
Moodboards
Contests
Where it costs you
Roomstyler states no country of establishment, and ownership is only visible on Floorplanner's page.
No paid plan or price list was found, so a business user cannot see what upgrades cost.
Right for
Hobby decorators who enjoy community moodboards and contests around their room designs
Wrong for
Professionals who need a stated vendor, price list or support terms
Not stated by the vendorAccount creation at no charge; paid terms are not stated in the pages read
Austrian B2B configurator platform for furniture brands and retailers
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Roomle calls itself an international pioneer in visual product configurators and offers a Configurator API with developer documentation. The licence is billed yearly and one platform is included.
Compared with the consumer planners it answers a different question: how a shopper sees your product in a space. List it here for completeness, and read it as a commerce tool before a planning tool.
What stands out
B2B platform
Product configurators
Configurator API
Where it costs you
The plan covers 15 product configurators and 180,000 views a year, so traffic past that needs a bigger offer.
Aimed at brands and retailers, so an individual cannot buy a plain floor plan tool here.
Right for
Furniture makers and retailers who want customers to configure products in a room view
Wrong for
Private users, agents or builders who just need to draw a plan
AustriaYearly Rubens licence with a starting rate on the page and a detailed offer through sales
Browser 3D home design service from a Dassault Systemes brand
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Floor Plan Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The home page promotes designing in 2D, decorating in 3D, 4K images and sharing projects in the HomeByMe community for feedback. The about page ties the service to 3DVIA and Dassault Systemes SE, registered at the Versailles Commercial Register.
For buyers weighing independence, that ownership is the main reason it ranks behind the single-product planners; for decorators, the catalogue may still justify it.
What stands out
3DVIA brand
4K images
Branded catalogue
Where it costs you
The pricing page was not located, so no paid plan amount can be stated.
Products are said to be sold by trusted partners, not by Dassault Systemes SE, which adds a middle party.
Right for
Home decorators who like a branded furniture catalogue and a feedback community
Wrong for
Independence-minded buyers who want to deal with a standalone planner company
FranceSign-up at no charge; paid plan prices were not located in the pages read
Floor plan software lets people draw walls, doors and rooms to scale, place furniture, and produce 2D plans, 3D walkthroughs or rendered images for homes, offices and building projects. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Prices are public at 2 products (Floorplanner, Sweet Home 3D) and on request at the remaining 12, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 14 vendors are established in 9 countries across 3 regions (Europe 7, Elsewhere 6, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Sweet Home 3D. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Counting credits at Floorplanner, RoomSketcher and Space Designer 3D
Three of the best-priced planners sell output, not seats. Floorplanner offers credit packs for higher-resolution exports and 3D tours, RoomSketcher gives Pro 5 credits a month and sells extra renders per order, and Space Designer 3D hands out 200 to 370 credits per month by tier. The monthly figure means little until you know what one deliverable costs in credits.
Draw a typical project, list the exports your client expects, and price that list against each vendor's allowance. Add the cost of extra users too, because Floorplanner subscriptions add users and RoomSketcher's Team plan includes five. Watch for credits that expire, since Cedreo's Pro credits vanish at the end of the billing cycle, and for free tiers whose exports carry watermarks, as at Floorplanner.
How many credits one finished 3D floor plan consumes at each vendor
Whether unused credits carry over or expire at cycle end
Whether the free tier's exports are watermarked or low resolution
Home planner or builder's tool: Cedreo, magicplan and Chief Architect
A tool for decorating a living room and a tool for selling a build are different purchases. Cedreo ties rendering credits to projects, magicplan prices per project and calculates quantities from sketches, and Chief Architect charges a Premier subscription that bundles upgrades and priority support. If your plans end in a quote, estimating inside the tool saves retyping.
If they end in a mood picture, a catalogue matters more, and Planner 5D or Homestyler fit better. Be honest about volume: per-project pricing beats a subscription for occasional jobs and loses once you run many small projects every month. Ask each vendor for a worked example from a real job, and keep the figures next to your last three invoices.
Whether the tool turns a drawing into quantities and estimates
Whether the price is per project, per month or per seat
How many projects you realistically run each month
Checking exports before drawing in Floorplan Creator or Sweet Home 3D
Plans are only useful if they leave the tool in a format someone else can open. Floorplan Creator lists image, PDF to scale, DXF, SVG and Wavefront obj exports, which covers most hand-offs to CAD or rendering programs. Sweet Home 3D is open source under the GNU General Public License and runs from your own device, so the file stays in your hands.
Planner 5D lists CAD export, while Live Home 3D's pages did not show formats. Test one real project end to end: draw a room, export it, open it in the tool your contractor uses, and check the scale on the printout. Ask also whether the export is part of the plan or a charge that arrives later, since some tools sell higher-resolution output separately.
Whether DXF or another CAD format is included on your plan
Whether a printed PDF keeps the stated scale
Whether the file still opens after you cancel
Why Roomle and HomeByMe sit in a different buying lane
Not every product with a floor plan view is a planner for the person drawing. Roomle's Rubens platform serves brands and retailers, with a starting rate by month or year, 15 product configurators and a view quota, so it answers how shoppers place your sofa in a room. HomeByMe is developed by 3DVIA, a Dassault Systemes SE brand, and products in its catalogue are sold by partners.
Roomstyler is powered by Floorplanner, so choosing it buys the same engine with a community layer. Read the ownership line of each vendor before treating a long list as a real choice between independent options. If you only need to draw a plan, skip both of the commerce-minded products and start from the planners above them.
Who owns the product and who sells the items shown in it
Whether the licence is built for shoppers, brands or draftspeople
Whether two products share the same underlying planner
What goes wrong most often when buying floor plan software
Buying a RoomSketcher Pro or Space Designer 3D plan without counting how many renders a month your clients actually expect.
Comparing Chief Architect's yearly Premier price with credit-based planners as if they sold the same thing.
Assuming Roomstyler and Floorplanner are separate engines when the first says it is powered by the second.
Trusting a free tier such as Floorplanner's for client deliverables before checking the watermark and the 3 floor limit.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best floor plan software in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts Floorplanner first. Floorplanner is run by FLOORPLANNER.COM B.V. in Rotterdam and calls itself the first fully browser-based 2D and 3D planner, founded in 2007.
It takes first place because one independent company sells it and the credit ladder is public. The weak spots are the free tier's limit of 3 floors and 3 designs, and monthly subscription prices that the static page does not show.
Which floor plan tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 2 products on this page:
Floorplanner: Credit packs on a published price list, plus Individuals and Teams subscriptions; exports are watermarked until credits are spent.
Sweet Home 3D: GNU General Public License project, described by the maker as a free interior design application.
12 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free floor plan tool?
Floorplanner, RoomSketcher, Cedreo come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these floor plan software vendors established?
In 9 countries across 3 regions: Europe 7, Elsewhere 6, Asia-Pacific 1.
Floorplanner: Netherlands.
Sweet Home 3D: Italy.
RoomSketcher: Norway.
Space Designer 3D: Not stated by the vendor.
Planner 5D: Lithuania.
Floorplan Creator: Not stated by the vendor.
Cedreo: Not stated by the vendor.
magicplan: Not stated by the vendor.
Live Home 3D: Ukraine.
Chief Architect: Not stated by the vendor.
Homestyler: China.
Roomstyler: Not stated by the vendor.
Roomle: Austria.
HomeByMe: France.
Which floor plan tools are open source?
Sweet Home 3D.
What should you use instead of Floorplanner?
Second is Sweet Home 3D, which suits Private renovators and teachers wanting a no-cost planner kept on their own machine. Third is RoomSketcher, which suits Estate agents and freelancers needing branded plans and 3D photos on a fixed monthly bill.
Who should not buy Floorplanner?
Buyers who need one flat monthly price confirmed before signing up. Free projects stop at 3 floors and 3 designs, and their SD-quality exports carry a watermark..
If a floor plan software product of yours deserves a place among these 14, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.