Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026
Museum collections management software keeps the record of every object a museum holds: acquisitions, loans, locations, conservation and public access.
We rank twelve systems, smaller independent suppliers first, then weigh ninety-day setup effort, the yearly cost once hosting and support are added, how records leave the system, and whether the tool suits museums rather than galleries or membership teams.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What museum collections management software does
Museum collections management software records each object a museum owns or borrows, with its history, location, condition and images, and supports cataloguing, loans, exhibitions and publishing collections online.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Independent collections system for art, history, natural history and archaeology catalogues
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Proficio is built for museum workflows rather than adapted from another trade. Beyond core records it lists per-user permissions running from Administrator to Read Only, unlimited digital assets per record, a public online portal and mobile access for inventory updates.
A smaller edition, Proficio Elements, targets modest institutions, and a hosted version is in use. Desktop deployment is not mentioned, so ask if you want local servers. Ownership and headquarters are not stated.
What stands out
Independent supplier
Accessions to shipping
Browser access
Where it costs you
The Pricing page was unreadable, so budgeting starts with a conversation rather than a figure.
Only a live online demonstration is mentioned, with no trial period to test your own records.
Right for
Museums with mixed art, history and natural history holdings wanting an independent supplier
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price before speaking to any salesperson
Not stated by the vendorAmounts absent from the pages read; live online demonstration offered; browser access through a cloud edition
Priced-in-public software for small history museums and historical societies
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The price list splits Web Edition into Starter, Full, XL and 2XL packages, each with one-time setup plus yearly hosting. A separate PastPerfect Online service adds hosted public access, priced per block of 10,000 records, and requires the MultiMedia Upgrade.
AASLH members get 20% off most items, and software can be returned within 90 days minus a 15% restocking fee. An evaluation download and a demonstration are offered.
What stands out
Published price list
Desktop and cloud
Membership discount
Where it costs you
Annual hosting, support and public access charges recur every year on top of the one-time licence.
Prices are shown with a dollar sign but the page names no currency, and they may change without notice.
Right for
Small history museums wanting a printed price list and desktop or cloud
Wrong for
Institutions needing a fixed multi-year price guarantee in writing
United StatesPrice list published on the site: one-time licence and setup, plus annual hosting and support; evaluation download offered
Bern-built museum and archive software developed in-house by zetcom
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
MuseumPlus comes from a single named company: zetcom AG at an address in Bern, with a named chief executive and no stated parent. The site says it serves more than 6,000 users across 2,500 institutions and that the software is developed in-house rather than resold.
Two editions exist, a web-based MuseumPlus and the client-server MuseumPlus Classic, which matters if your IT policy prefers one architecture. Pricing, trial terms and hosting location all need a direct enquiry.
What stands out
In-house development
Client-server edition
Museums and archives
Where it costs you
No plan, price or currency appears on the site, only a demo link leading to the contact page.
The web edition is not described as cloud or on site, so the hosting model needs a direct question.
Right for
Museums and archives wanting an in-house-developed system from a Swiss supplier
Wrong for
Teams that compare vendors on published prices alone, without a call
SwitzerlandNo prices shown on the page read; the only route is a demo link to the contact page
Cloud-only collections software with museum fields, web app and mobile apps
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product targets museums, historic houses, advisors, private collectors and corporate or family-office holdings. For museums it lists over 1,000 specialised data fields plus 130 or more user-defined ones, and built-in workflows with financial tracking for acquisition, valuation, insurance and sale.
An API and WordPress and Drupal integrations connect it to public websites. Support is described as included at no additional cost. Ownership is not stated beyond the company name in the footer.
What stands out
Cloud only
SOC 2 Type 2
Over 1,000 museum fields
Where it costs you
Nothing about plans or cost is visible, and the linked Pricing page could not be read.
Cloud is the only deployment named, which rules out a purchase that must run on local hardware.
Right for
Museums and historic houses wanting cloud software with certified security and mobile apps
Wrong for
Institutions whose policy requires systems on their own servers
United StatesNo plans or prices shown on the page read; demo scheduling is the main call to action
No-cost cataloguing and public-access software for museum and archive collections
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Providence is reached through a web browser and offers pre-configured metadata standards, customisable fields, views and workflows, PDF and spreadsheet reports, and batch import, export and cataloguing.
Pawtucket2 handles the public side with custom styling, facets and filters, maps, timelines and visualisations, and toggles for commenting, tagging and rating. Whirl-i-Gig, whose location the site does not state, sells hosting and services on request. The page lists no named third-party integrations.
What stands out
Open-source software
Providence and Pawtucket2
Paid hosting offered
Where it costs you
Legal review is harder because the licence goes unnamed here; it needs the project manual or code repository.
Installation guidance lives in the project manual, and hosting or development help is priced only on enquiry.
Right for
Museums with in-house technical skill wanting cataloguing software without a licence charge
Wrong for
Small teams with nobody to install, update or maintain a server
Not stated by the vendorSoftware described as free by the vendor; hosting, development and other services available but unpriced on the site
Spectrum-compliant Windows collections software from a not-for-profit users association
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A standalone install needs Windows 11 and at least 4GB of RAM; multi-user sites add Modes Server on a dedicated Windows server. Five access levels run from public to administrator.
Records can be imported from spreadsheets and exported to XML, CSV, HTML, text or PDF, which helps the exit test, and barcodes can be printed. Backup happens each time a file closes. A paid data conversion service exists. No trial or demo is mentioned.
What stands out
Spectrum compliant
Windows only
Not-for-profit supplier
Where it costs you
It runs on Windows only, with no Linux or Mac version listed.
Cloud servers are not recommended unless reached through a remote or virtual desktop.
Right for
Museums following Spectrum and Accreditation needing a low-cost Windows system
Wrong for
Teams working on Macs or wanting plain browser access from anywhere
Not stated by the vendorPrices on a separate page that could not be read; supplier says it keeps costs to a minimum
Collections software for biological and geological institutions from a member consortium
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The cloud platform runs from any browser, with trial instances on specifycloud.org subdomains and a choice of blank or demo-data databases. Records cover accessions, loans, gifts, borrows and exchanges.
Queries, location mapping and data quality checks are listed, along with customisable reports and labels, spreadsheet import via WorkBench, and publishing to GBIF and iDigBio. Membership comes in Foundation and Visionary tiers. Self-hosted or desktop installation is not mentioned on the pages read.
What stands out
Natural history
Open-source code
GBIF publishing
Where it costs you
Its Service Prices page was unreadable, so costs for a production database are unknown.
The design targets biological and geological specimens, not art, history or archaeology objects.
Right for
Natural history museums and herbaria needing specimen records with biodiversity data publishing
Wrong for
Art, history or archaeology museums cataloguing objects rather than specimens
Not stated by the vendorPricing sits on a separate service page that could not be read; 30-day evaluation offered
GPL web publishing software for digital collections and online exhibits
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Omeka S suits an institution managing a shared pool of resources across several sites, while Omeka Classic is aimed at individual projects and educators. The admin interface includes a metadata editor.
You can download and host the code yourself, use the hosted Omeka.net option, or buy managed hosting, support and training through Omeka Services. The website text is under a non-commercial Creative Commons licence, separate from the GPL on the software. The country is not stated.
What stands out
GNU GPL
Online exhibits
Omeka S and Classic
Where it costs you
Acquisition, loan and conservation records are not named among its features.
Pricing for hosting and support is not stated on the page, which also lists no integrations.
Right for
Museums putting digital collections and exhibits online, not running registrar workflows
Wrong for
Registrars needing loans, condition reports and location tracking
Not stated by the vendorGPL open source software; managed hosting, support plans and training sold through Omeka Services, prices not stated
Modular collections module in a wider suite from the Gallery Systems company
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Gallery Systems describes the suite as one ecosystem connecting registrars, curators, collections managers and digital assets, with centralised data and streamlined workflows. The modular pitch is start small and grow over time.
It mentions cloud-ready solutions and cloud syncing for ArtBinder, but does not say where TMS Collections itself is hosted. Security claims are ISO/IEC 27001 certification and FedRAMP compliance on availability. The privacy policy and disclaimers pages were not readable.
What stands out
Modular suite
ISO/IEC 27001
Sister gallery products
Where it costs you
The module is sold within a wider suite, so independence from a vendor portfolio is limited.
Pricing sits behind demo and sales contact, with no trial or hosting model given.
Right for
Larger collections wanting a modular system that can add suite components over time
Wrong for
Small museums needing a visible price and a simple setup
Not stated by the vendorPlans, amounts and currency all absent; demo and sales contact are the only routes
Web-based collections, asset and engagement software sold through country sites
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page puts collections data, media, locations and movements in one solution, with digital asset management and digital engagement as additions. Stated features are security and permissions, easy reporting, an open API for data sharing, AI data enrichment and standards-based design.
It is called web-based, yet hosting and servers appear as a separate service, so what the licence includes is unclear. The footer reads 2026 Axiell, with no parent or country given.
What stands out
Open API
Digital asset management
Country-specific sites
Where it costs you
Neither a price nor a trial is shown, only a demo booking.
Hosting is not specified, with hosting and servers listed as a separate service.
Right for
Institutions wanting collections, media and engagement data in one solution with an open API
Wrong for
Buyers who need hosting and cost explained before a demo call
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or plans shown; the only call to action is a demo booking
Art-trade platform joining inventory, CRM, website builder and payments
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Artlogic bundles artwork inventory and cataloguing, websites that update with inventory, a sales-integrated CRM with consignment support, and Artlogic Pay for payments. Onboarding includes data migration from spreadsheets or other systems.
It merged with ArtBase in 2022 and keeps supporting existing ArtBase users, though ArtBase can no longer be bought. Ownership beyond that merger is not stated, and no imprint or company registration shows on the page read.
What stands out
Gallery inventory
Sales CRM
Website builder
Where it costs you
The features named are sales-driven, with no museum accession, loan or conservation records.
Plan prices and trial terms are unreadable, and nothing says cloud or desktop.
Right for
Commercial galleries and dealers selling artworks who also need a website
Wrong for
Public museums needing accession, loan and conservation records on file
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices listed; a try-out button and free consultation call are offered, terms not stated
Membership and visitor engagement platform, not a collections database
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Museum Collections Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Cuseum covers digital membership cards for Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, QR digital ticketing, mobile apps, audio guides and self-guided tours, plus donor tools and guest passes.
Automated renewal reminders, win-back sequences, SMS messaging, a member portal and barcode guest registration handle lifecycle contact. Integrations include Salesforce, Tessitura, HubSpot and Mailchimp, with 700-plus apps via Zapier. Hosting is not stated, and the owner is not named.
What stands out
Digital membership cards
Ticketing
CRM integrations
Where it costs you
It does not catalogue objects, so it cannot replace a collections database.
Prices are hidden behind a demo request or sales contact, and no trial is mentioned.
Right for
Museums adding membership, ticketing and visitor communication around an existing collections system
Wrong for
Registrars looking for object records, loans and locations in one place
United StatesPlans, amounts and currency all absent; demo request or sales contact only
How to choose museum collections management software
Museum collections management software records each object a museum owns or borrows, with its history, location, condition and images, and supports cataloguing, loans, exhibitions and publishing collections online. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Start with pricing transparency
9 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 3 publish a pricing model you can read today: PastPerfect, CollectiveAccess, Artlogic.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Headquarters range over 3 countries and 3 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Decide if open source matters
Source code is available for Omeka. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Museum collections management software: the first ninety days
A museum's first quarter with a new system is mostly data work, not installation. Decide which records move across, who cleans them, and which standard you catalogue to. Modes Complete follows Spectrum procedures, so UK-style museums can map existing routines straight onto it, while Specify expects specimen data and GBIF-style publishing.
PastPerfect gives a small museum a printed price list and an evaluation download, whereas Zetcom MuseumPlus and Axiell Collections ask for a demo first. Count the staff hours for spreadsheet import, field mapping and training before comparing licence prices, because in a small institution run with volunteers those hours often cost more than the software itself. Also ask who will own the system after launch: a named registrar, a part-time volunteer or an outside contractor.
Choose the cataloguing standard before choosing the product
Price the spreadsheet import and cleanup in staff hours
Test a real batch of records in an evaluation or demo
Real price: hosting, support and public access
Software prices rarely stop at the licence. PastPerfect shows the pattern in public: a one-time setup and licence, then annual hosting and support, then a separate yearly fee for public access, and a further charge for PastPerfect Online priced per block of records. CollectiveAccess costs nothing to download, yet a museum without a technician buys hosting and development from Whirl-i-Gig or another provider.
Collector Systems and Re:discovery Proficio show no figures at all. Ask each vendor for a three-year total covering hosting, upgrades, support and online access for your record count, then compare those totals rather than headline fees. A cheap licence with expensive yearly add-ons can cost more by year three than a dearer package that includes support and hosting.
Request a three-year total, not a first-year quote
Ask what public web access costs separately
Check who pays for upgrades and support after year one
Getting records out: exit and open standards
A collections database outlives its supplier relationship, so the exit route matters. Modes Complete exports to XML, CSV, HTML, text and PDF, which gives a registrar a tested way out. CollectiveAccess lists batch export and spreadsheet reports, and Omeka's GNU GPL code can be downloaded and run yourself. Axiell Collections mentions an open API for data sharing, and Collector Systems names an API too.
Before signing, ask for a sample export of your own test records in a format another system can read, and ask whether the export costs extra, since some suppliers sell data conversion as a separate paid service, as Modes Complete does. Images and documents need their own question, because attached media often leaves separately from the catalogue.
Request a sample export of your own records
Ask whether media files export with the catalogue
Confirm a documented API or file format exists
Which collection type: objects, specimens or artworks
The word collection covers very different holdings, and a poor match is the costliest error. Specify targets biological and geological specimens, with GBIF and iDigBio publishing. Artlogic and TMS Collections sit nearer the art world, and Artlogic is aimed at galleries that sell work through a CRM. Cuseum handles membership and ticketing, so it complements a catalogue and cannot replace one.
Omeka publishes online exhibits but does not name loan or conservation records. For general museum objects with accessions, loans, exhibits and shipping, look at Re:discovery Proficio, Collector Systems or PastPerfect first. Match the vendor's own list of supported collection types to yours, and ask for a reference from a museum with holdings like yours.
List the collection types you hold before shortlisting
Confirm loans and conservation records are named features
Keep engagement tools separate from the catalogue
What goes wrong most often when buying museum collections management software
Budgeting only for the licence and then discovering that hosting, support and public web access renew every year.
Buying a gallery sales platform such as Artlogic for a public museum that needs accession, loan and conservation records.
Treating a membership tool like Cuseum as if it held object records, then keeping the real catalogue in spreadsheets.
Choosing a Windows-only system such as Modes Complete without checking that your staff, remote volunteers and servers can run it.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best museum collections management software in 2026?
Re:discovery Proficio takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. Re:discovery Software, Inc. calls itself an independent provider with more than 30 years of development, which suits a museum that wants a supplier without a parent suite behind it.
Records span accessions, loans, exhibits, conservation, shipping and location. The weak points are a pricing page the researchers could not read, no named trial, and neither country nor owner.
Which museum collections management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
PastPerfect: Price list published on the site: one-time licence and setup, plus annual hosting and support; evaluation download offered.
CollectiveAccess: Software described as free by the vendor; hosting, development and other services available but unpriced on the site.
Artlogic: No plans or prices listed; a try-out button and free consultation call are offered, terms not stated.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free museum collections management tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these museum collections management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 1:
Re:discovery Proficio: Not stated by the vendor.
PastPerfect: United States.
Zetcom MuseumPlus: Switzerland.
Collector Systems: United States.
CollectiveAccess: Not stated by the vendor.
Modes Complete: Not stated by the vendor.
Specify: Not stated by the vendor.
Omeka: Not stated by the vendor.
TMS Collections: Not stated by the vendor.
Axiell Collections: Not stated by the vendor.
Artlogic: Not stated by the vendor.
Cuseum: United States.
Which museum collections management tools are open source?
Omeka.
What should you use instead of Re:discovery Proficio?
Second is PastPerfect, which suits small history museums wanting a printed price list and desktop or cloud. Third is Zetcom MuseumPlus, which suits Museums and archives wanting an in-house-developed system from a Swiss supplier.
Who should not buy Re:discovery Proficio?
Buyers who need a published price before speaking to any salesperson. The Pricing page was unreadable, so budgeting starts with a conversation rather than a figure..
We rank 12 museum collections management software products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.