Freelance marketplaces put a buyer in front of independent workers for a one-off project, an hourly job or a longer engagement.
This guide orders eleven of them by how plainly the fees are stated, how money moves and how you leave, and how much the platform sits between you and the freelancer. Open boards and vetted networks are mixed, so fit for the work decides ties.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What freelance marketplaces software does
A freelance marketplace is an online platform where buyers post work or browse profiles and independent professionals quote or get matched, with the platform handling payment, contracts and sometimes vetting.
Every freelance marketplaces tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
German project board with zero commission and fixed monthly company plans
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The company side runs on three euro plans: Basis at zero, Business at EUR 59 and Enterprise at EUR 89 a month, differing in new projects, contact requests and file allowances. Annual payment is advertised as saving 33%, and a featured Top-Projekt listing starts at EUR 99 as an add-on.
The home page advertises 0% commission, a free freelancer profile, over 83,200 profiles and about 800 open projects. Compare those counts against the niche you hire in before paying.
What stands out
0% commission
Tiered company plans
Contact-request caps
Where it costs you
Basis stops at two projects and 250 monthly contact requests, so active hiring outgrows it quickly.
The paid plans mention no trial period, so the first paid month is a commitment.
Right for
Teams that prefer a flat monthly plan over a commission on every project
Wrong for
Companies posting dozens of projects monthly without wanting the top tier
GermanyFree Basis plan for companies, two paid tiers billed monthly, quarterly or yearly; featured listing add-on
Vetted developer marketplace with a published hourly range and escrowed payments
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starting prices are listed by project type, from speed and security optimisation at $420 and custom plugin development at $960 to e-commerce site builds at $3,200. The hourly range runs $80 to $120 and a 17.5% service fee covers vetting, training and round-the-clock customer service.
Funds enter escrow first, milestones split large budgets, and the package includes a 28-day bug-fixing warranty, a refund policy and IP ownership. Costs are in US dollars, which matters for European budgets.
What stands out
Escrow
Fixed service fee
Single project estimate
Where it costs you
Codeable's own fees are non-refundable, so a cancelled project still costs the service fee.
A single quote per project, based on rate, scope and urgency, leaves little room to compare bids.
Right for
Buyers who want a defined website or plugin job priced up front
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a long-running hourly contract with a named person
Not stated by the vendorPublished hourly range plus a fixed percentage service fee; escrow, milestones on larger budgets
Portfolio-first marketplace where the paid plan removes client payment fees
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Contra splits its offer by who pays. The entry plan costs the freelancer nothing monthly but takes per-payment fees and caps digital product fees at 5%, with a minimum of $3 and maximum of $29.
Pro costs $29 a month or $199 a year and removes both fee types. For a buyer the useful fact is that the fee burden sits with the freelancer, so quotes may rise or margins shrink depending on which plan the person chose.
What stands out
Fee-free Pro tier
Digital product sales
Payout fee options
Where it costs you
The entry plan charges 15 or 29 dollars per client payment plus a fee above 500 dollars, which erodes small jobs.
Payout fees of 2% and 1% are listed without a clear link to each plan.
Right for
Independent professionals selling services and digital products from one portfolio page
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vetted pool or escrow described on the pricing page
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with per-payment fees; Pro plan billed monthly or yearly; optional payout fees
London-registered matching service for vetted experts across creative, web and AI work
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Twine's pitch is speed: the home page says vetted experts are matched to a project within 24 hours, with creative and marketing, app and web development, and AI and machine learning among the listed categories.
Buyers pay direct or through the vault. A separate Twine AI data-collection offer sits on the same site, which suggests the company serves more than one type of buyer. The missing piece is any stated rate or commission.
What stands out
24-hour matching
Vault payments
AI data collection
Where it costs you
No price or commission figure appeared on the pages read, so a budget cannot be set in advance.
The terms name only Clowdy Limited, which says little about how disputes over a vault payment are settled.
Right for
Buyers needing a quick shortlist in creative, web or machine learning work
Wrong for
Anyone who must compare a published fee table before talking to sales
United KingdomFee schedule not stated on the pages read; payment direct or through a vault
Remote talent directory that states no fees, no markups and no middlemen
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The whole proposition is a price of zero: the site presents itself as 100% free to companies seeking remote talent, and rules out fees, markups and middlemen in so many words.
It is one of three products, next to the Hubstaff time tracker and Hubstaff Tasks for project management. With only a home page and a footer linking to terms and privacy, little else can be confirmed, so treat it as a sourcing channel.
What stands out
No markups
Remote hiring
Hubstaff product family
Where it costs you
The page states no contract, escrow or payment tooling, so everything after first contact is on you.
The relationship to Hubstaff and Hubstaff Tasks is shown but ownership is not stated.
Right for
Small teams hiring remote people who will sort terms out themselves
Wrong for
Buyers who want the platform to vet, contract and pay
Not stated by the vendorFree for companies; the site says it takes no fees or markups
Prepaid developer hours sold with a project estimate before work starts
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page describes a prepaid subscription for developer hours rather than a per-project fee. Ordering starts at 160 hours, spread across one full-time month or two part-time ones, and a project estimate is provided before work begins.
Recruitment and setup fees are listed as absent. The legal entity is Coding Ninjas Inc., trading as Lemon.io, in Claymont, Delaware, under Delaware law, with no parent named.
What stands out
Prepaid hours
160-hour minimum
No setup fee
Where it costs you
The 160-hour minimum is one month full-time or two months part-time, which rules out short fixes.
No rates appear on the pricing page, so cost can be learned only after an estimate.
Right for
Startups that know they need a developer for at least a month
Wrong for
People who want to try a freelancer for a single afternoon
United StatesQuoted; prepaid subscription for developer hours with a 160-hour minimum
Design contests sold in fixed packages with copyright transfer listed
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The contest model flips the usual hiring order: you pay for a package and receive concepts from several designers. The four euro packages, excluding VAT, run from EUR 289 for about 30 concepts to EUR 859 for about 90, and a top tier at EUR 1,299 whose concept count is probably wrong.
A money-back guarantee, copyright transfer and priority support are listed, but the tier for each is unclear. A design consultation is also offered.
What stands out
Contest packages
Money-back guarantee
Copyright transfer
Where it costs you
One tier lists a concept total that may be a typing slip, so confirm what you receive.
Agency and Pro buyers get no price on the page and are sent to sales.
Right for
Buyers wanting many logo or brand options for a single known price
Wrong for
Teams hiring a designer for continuing, open-ended product work
Not stated by the vendorPublished contest packages in four tiers; agency plans quoted through sales
UK-first marketplace: buyers contact freelancers, freelancers quote on projects
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
On the home page, 60% of freelancers and clients are said to be UK-based, with members spread over more than 100 countries. Buyers may search freelancers and make contact without obligation, while freelancers hunt for projects and send quotes.
A line offers access to Toptal's vetted network, so the site doubles as a route to a second source of talent. What remains unknown is the cost of using either side.
What stands out
UK-first
Direct contact
Toptal network link
Where it costs you
The pricing and terms pages returned errors, so no fee level could be checked.
Country of establishment is not stated, though the site calls itself UK-first.
Right for
UK-leaning buyers who like to browse freelancers and message them directly
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a verified fee schedule before registering
Not stated by the vendorNot verified; the pricing and terms pages returned errors when fetched
Embedded AI engineers and vetted builders sold through a staged engagement
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A.Team's home page names two services. Forward deployed engineers, more than 100 of them, embed with the customer, and a separate offer draws technical talent from 11,000 vetted AI-native builders across 119 countries.
The path is a 20-minute Intelligence Gap Assessment, a lighthouse project on one brand, market or workflow, then a 90-day production deployment. Legal entity ATeams Inc.; the footer says New York and 100+ Countries.
What stands out
Forward deployed engineers
90-day deployment
Assessment first
Where it costs you
No price is stated and the pricing page returned an error.
The route begins with an assessment and a lighthouse project, so a quick single hire is not what is on offer.
Right for
Companies deploying AI work that want engineers embedded for ninety days
Wrong for
Buyers who want to browse profiles and hire this week
Not stated by the vendorNot stated; the pricing page returned an error and the home page shows no rates
Vetted freelancers on hourly, part-time or full-time terms at fixed weekly prices
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Engagements can be hourly, part-time or full-time on a fixed weekly price, and the page promises no hidden fees. Each new freelancer carries a trial period, and a client who does not find the person extraordinary is not charged.
A table lists Toptal's recruiting fee as $0 against $10 to $40 for typical employment, without naming the unit. Copyright runs 2010 to 2026 for Toptal, LLC, with no country on the pages read.
What stands out
Trial period
Weekly pricing
Vetted network
Where it costs you
Weekly rates are absent from the pricing page, which describes the model but not the figures.
The recruiting-fee comparison gives no unit, so its savings claim cannot be checked.
Right for
Companies willing to ask for a quote in return for a trial period
Wrong for
Buyers who want to see weekly rates before any conversation
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per engagement; trial period with each new freelancer
ASX-listed Sydney marketplace spanning software, writing, data entry and design
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Freelance Marketplaces in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Freelancer describes itself as a place where employers find help with software, writing, data entry and design. The registered office is Level 37, Grosvenor Place, 225 George Street, Sydney, and the listed parent trades as ASX:FLN.
A subsidiary, Freelancer Technology Pty Limited, holds copyright and trademark, and the page names no separate owner. Because the fee pages failed to load, this entry says nothing on what a buyer pays.
What stands out
ASX-listed
Broad categories
Fees unverified
Where it costs you
Both the pricing and fees URLs gave HTTP 404, so no membership or plan price was verified.
Its listing on a public exchange and subsidiary structure make it a larger counterparty than the other boards here.
Right for
Buyers who want a very wide spread of job categories
Wrong for
Anyone who must verify fees from the vendor's site first
AustraliaNot verified; the pricing and fee pages returned errors when fetched
A freelance marketplace is an online platform where buyers post work or browse profiles and independent professionals quote or get matched, with the platform handling payment, contracts and sometimes vetting. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Check who publishes a price
Prices are public at 6 products (Freelancermap, Codeable, Contra, Hubstaff Talent, 99designs, Toptal) and on request at the remaining 5, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 5 countries (Elsewhere 7, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Freelance marketplaces: find out who pays the fee
Two marketplaces with the same headline price can cost a buyer very different sums, because the fee may fall on the freelancer, on the company or on a weekly rate. Freelancermap advertises 0% commission and charges companies for plans. Contra puts fees on the freelancer and lets a Pro plan remove them.
Codeable adds a fixed 17.5% service fee on top of an hourly range. Toptal quotes a fixed weekly price, Lemon.io sells prepaid hours, and 99designs sells contest packages in euros excluding VAT. Hubstaff Talent says it takes nothing. Ask each platform for one worked example with your numbers, including who pays processing fees, and keep the answer in writing.
Ask for a worked example using your real budget
Find out whether the freelancer's fee is passed on in the quote
Check whether VAT and processing fees are added later
Vetted networks or open boards: what each costs in time
An open board such as Freelancermap or PeoplePerHour gives you a large pool and leaves screening to you. A vetted network does the screening and charges for it, in rates, minimum commitments or both. Toptal and Twine describe vetted experts, Codeable's service fee covers expert vetting and training, Lemon.io demands 160 prepaid hours, and A.Team starts with an assessment before any engineer is named.
Freelancermap's Basis tier caps contact requests at 250 a month, which matters if you screen many profiles. Decide how many hours you can spend reading profiles, then choose the model that spends your hours or your money. Either way, something is being paid for. Write the answer down.
Estimate hours you can spend screening profiles
Check contact-request or project caps on the board
Ask what the vetting actually involves
Payment protection and trial terms in freelance marketplaces
How money moves decides what happens when work goes wrong. Codeable puts funds in escrow before work starts, offers milestones for larger budgets and includes a 28-day bug-fixing warranty. Twine lets buyers pay direct or through the vault, and the first route gives up any protection the second offers. Toptal attaches a trial period to each new freelancer, and 99designs lists a money-back guarantee.
Lemon.io asks for prepaid hours with no trial mentioned. Hubstaff Talent mentions no payment handling at all, so terms are probably between you and the person. Read the refund clause before the first payment and note any service fee that cannot be refunded. Keep screenshots. Check the warranty window too.
Prefer escrow or a vault for first-time freelancers
Read the refund wording and the warranty period
Check which platform fees are non-refundable
Choosing a freelance marketplace by type of work
The kind of job narrows the field faster than any feature list. A logo or brand identity suits 99designs, where a package buys many concepts. A plugin, theme or site build fits Codeable, which lists starting prices by project type. A month or more of developer time fits Lemon.io, and embedded AI engineers fit A.Team.
Mixed creative, web and machine learning requests suit Twine, while Freelancer spans a wide mix of job types in one place. Contra suits a buyer approaching an individual with a portfolio. Name the deliverable and the length of the job first, then drop every marketplace whose model does not match what you need to buy. Revisit the choice if scope grows.
Write the deliverable and duration in one sentence
Drop platforms whose minimum exceeds your job
Match design, code or engineering work to the right model
What goes wrong most often when buying freelance marketplaces software
Comparing Toptal and Lemon.io on price when neither publishes rates; ask for a quote from both before ranking.
Assuming the Basis plan on Freelancermap is enough, then hitting the two-project and 250-contact monthly limits.
Choosing a 99designs tier by its concept count when one tier's count looks like a listing error.
Paying a freelancer outside the platform on Twine and losing the protection of the vault.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best freelance marketplaces in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Freelancermap. Freelancermap is run by freelancermap GmbH in Nuremberg and charges companies for access instead of taking a cut of each project.
The Basis plan costs nothing and allows two new projects and 250 contact requests a month, so a small team can test it before paying. The limit is volume: the higher tiers mainly raise project and contact caps, and the paid plans mention no trial period.
Which freelance marketplaces tools publish their pricing?
6 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Freelancermap: Free Basis plan for companies, two paid tiers billed monthly, quarterly or yearly; featured listing add-on.
Codeable: Published hourly range plus a fixed percentage service fee; escrow, milestones on larger budgets.
Contra: Free plan with per-payment fees; Pro plan billed monthly or yearly; optional payout fees.
Hubstaff Talent: Free for companies; the site says it takes no fees or markups.
99designs: Published contest packages in four tiers; agency plans quoted through sales.
Toptal: Quoted per engagement; trial period with each new freelancer.
5 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free freelance marketplaces tool?
Freelancermap, Contra, Hubstaff Talent can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these freelance marketplaces vendors established?
Across 5 countries (Elsewhere 7, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1):
Freelancermap: Germany.
Codeable: Not stated by the vendor.
Contra: Not stated by the vendor.
Twine: United Kingdom.
Hubstaff Talent: Not stated by the vendor.
Lemon.io: United States.
99designs: Not stated by the vendor.
PeoplePerHour: Not stated by the vendor.
A.Team: Not stated by the vendor.
Toptal: Not stated by the vendor.
Freelancer: Australia.
What should you use instead of Freelancermap?
Look at Codeable (made for Buyers who want a defined website or plugin job priced up front) and Contra (made for Independent professionals selling services and digital products from one portfolio page), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Freelancermap?
Companies posting dozens of projects monthly without wanting the top tier. Basis stops at two projects and 250 monthly contact requests, so active hiring outgrows it quickly..
Your freelance marketplaces product is not among these 11? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.