Therapy practice management software books sessions, keeps clinical notes, sends reminders and turns finished appointments into invoices or insurance claims.
This guide ranks vendors by what a small practice pays once claims, text messages and AI note-taking are added, then by how data leaves the system, whether the vendor stands alone, and which professions it was built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What therapy practice management software does
Therapy practice management software combines scheduling, session notes, client portals, invoicing and claim submission, so counsellors, psychologists and allied health clinicians run their caseload from one record.
Each therapy practice management tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Single monthly membership, price quoted by the vendor; no trial mentioned
—
Practices whose main cost is claim volume and insurer payments
Solo therapists wanting a stated price or a trial first
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Therapy EHR with a small free plan and per-practitioner billing
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The paid plan charges for the first practitioner, then adds a smaller monthly amount for every further practitioner, while administrative staff cost nothing. Add-ons stack quickly: telehealth is per practitioner each month, claims fall in price as monthly volume rises, eligibility reports are charged one by one, and AI Assist is a separate monthly line.
Card payments run through Stripe with no platform fee, according to the FAQ. A therapist billing insurance every week should price claims against expected volume.
What stands out
Telehealth add-on
Per-claim billing
AI Assist add-on
Where it costs you
The free plan holds three clients and one practitioner, so it works as a trial of the workflow rather than a practice.
Telehealth, claims, eligibility reports and AI Assist are each billed on top of the plan.
Right for
Solo therapists who want to test an EHR on three clients before paying
Wrong for
Group practices that want one flat price for everything
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for one practitioner, then a monthly rate per practitioner; 30-day trial
Canadian-made practice notes and booking priced per practitioner
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The three tiers differ mainly in what sits around the one-practitioner price: Core brings unlimited assistant seats and locations, Plus adds text reminders, and Max adds Google Analytics.
Intake forms, online booking and two-way Google Calendar sync are listed, plus QuickBooks and Xero exports. Scribe and Form Summary draw on a shared pool of credits, so busy practitioners should estimate monthly recording minutes before choosing a tier.
What stands out
Canadian-made
SOAP notes
Voice-to-chart
Where it costs you
Text reminders start on the middle tier, so the entry plan leaves reminders to email.
The 300 included AI credits equal roughly 18 minutes of Scribe recording, then credits are bought one cent each.
Right for
Solo practitioners who chart in SOAP format and want voice dictation
Wrong for
Practices that need text reminders on the cheapest plan
CanadaPublished tiers per practitioner each month; annual billing 15% cheaper; 14-day trial
Appointment-capped plans for solo and small practices with SOAP notes
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Appointment volume, not feature level, drives the bill here. Lite suits a part-time practitioner, Standard a full-time one with up to five office staff, and Premium removes the appointment cap and raises staff to fifteen; Standard and Premium add a monthly amount per extra practitioner.
Online booking, email and SMS reminders, SOAP notes, intake forms and financial reports come with the plans, and TELUS Health eClaims and Square card charging are named.
What stands out
Appointment caps
Packages and gift cards
TELUS eClaims
Where it costs you
Lite allows only 20 appointments a month, so it fits part-time work alone.
The footer gives no company address or jurisdiction, so the place of business stays unverified.
Right for
Small clinics that sell session packages and gift cards to clients
Wrong for
Buyers who need the vendor's legal location stated before signing
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by monthly appointment volume; 14-day trial; annual billing adds a month
Free core platform with pay-per-use credits for add-ons
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The core platform is free with no sign-up costs and no credit card required, and it supports more than 90 professions. Extra functions are priced per credit, from 0.15 to 0.22 Australian dollars including GST.
A monthly subscription adds two-way calendar sync, white label branding, the API and a dedicated practice phone number. Card processing ranges from 1.5% to 1.9% per successful transaction plus a fee of 75 cents to a dollar.
What stands out
Credit add-ons
Medicare and NDIS invoicing
90+ professions
Where it costs you
Add-ons are metered in credits, so SMS and AI use make the monthly cost variable.
The named funding-body invoicing covers Australian schemes only, which narrows its use elsewhere.
Right for
Clinics wanting a no-cost base who pay only for extras they use
Wrong for
Practices wanting one fixed monthly invoice for all features
Not stated by the vendorFree core platform; pay-per-use credits and volume-based card fees
Therapy scheduling and notes platform formerly sold as Power Diary
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starter and Growth are the two plans shown, both with a trial that asks for no credit card. Starter stores 100 GB of files; Growth lifts appointments and storage to unlimited, allows unlimited admin users and charges an extra amount per additional practitioner.
Client portal, online forms, invoicing and payments, two-way SMS and automations are listed, along with AI Scribe, AI Write and AI Insights. The promotion shown cuts the first six months, so ask what the price becomes afterwards.
What stands out
Formerly Power Diary
Body-chart notes
Built-in AI tools
Where it costs you
Starter caps appointments at 1,000 and allows one admin user, so multi-room clinics must take Growth.
Buyers searching by the old Power Diary name land on a renamed product with a different brand.
Right for
Solo or small practices wanting body-chart notes and room management
Wrong for
Buyers who need the company's country of establishment confirmed
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans with a base fee, then a charge per extra practitioner; trial without a card
Per-user practice platform with permanent free plan and AI scribe
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Limits step up by plan rather than by feature. Free keeps deleted data for 30 days, Plus for 60 and Advanced for 90, with SMS rising from none to 150 and then 200 per user monthly.
Electronic claim filing starts at 25 cents per claim, and e-prescribing is 39 dollars a month per user on paid plans. The page offers a 14-day trial of all features without a card, and says yearly billing saves 20% while listing no yearly amounts.
What stands out
Per-user billing
AI scribe
Workflow runs
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 100 appointments and 1 GB, so growing practices must upgrade quickly.
Its terms follow New Zealand law with a New York notice address, leaving the country of incorporation unclear.
Right for
Teams that want to start on a no-cost plan and add paid seats later
Wrong for
Practices that need yearly prices shown before they commit
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, then two paid tiers billed per user each month; 14-day trial
Intake forms first, with a fuller practice management plan above
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Two plan families split the product: Forms Only for intake paperwork, and Practice Management, which includes everything in Forms Only plus scheduling and billing. Each additional practitioner adds a fee, smaller on Forms Only.
Phone support, recurring payments and secure portal access are listed under Practice Management. A 14-day trial is fully featured, needs no card and has no contract, and a HIPAA business associate agreement is claimed. Exports go to Dropbox according to the page.
What stands out
Forms Only plan
Low-volume plans
HIPAA BAA
Where it costs you
Low-volume plans stop at 25 appointments and 25 form submissions in 30 days per practitioner.
Dropbox is the only integration named, so accounting links need checking with the vendor.
Right for
Practices whose first problem is collecting paperwork before first sessions
Wrong for
Practices that need many named integrations from the pricing page
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans: forms only or full practice management, plus low-volume versions; 14-day trial
Client-capped tiers with a student plan and priced add-ons
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Client caps, not practitioners, set the first jump in price. Sprout is free for students and recent graduates with three clients and 100 MB; Starter and Professional each cover one practitioner; Plus leaves clients unlimited.
The Team plan has a 30-day trial, other paid plans 14 days, and there are no contracts. Google Calendar, Zoom, Dropbox, Zapier, Claim.MD and Fullscript are named integrations, and payments are powered by Stripe. The footer reads Green Patch Inc. without a country.
What stands out
Client caps
Connector Hub add-on
Student plan
Where it costs you
Starter holds just 10 clients, so most caseloads need Professional or above.
The cards and the comparison table show different annual prices, so confirm the figure in writing.
Right for
Practitioners who expect to grow and want to pay by client count
Wrong for
Teams that want accounting and CRM links without paying for a hub
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by client cap, with a free plan for students; 14 or 30-day trials
Practitioner-band pricing with all features included in every plan
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
One practitioner pays the lowest band, and bands then widen through two to five, six to eight and so on up to two hundred, all in US dollars. Because nothing is gated by plan, the choice is only a headcount.
Imports and exports are supported, and an API exists for custom add-ons. Servers for new Australian, British and Canadian accounts stay in the home country; everyone else is hosted in Australia, which a US practice should weigh.
What stands out
Practitioner bands
SMS credits
Import and export
Where it costs you
Insurance claim filing is not among the features listed, so claims need a separate route.
Text messages cost ten cents each in credits, which adds a variable cost per reminder.
Right for
Allied health and therapy clinics that count practitioners to forecast cost
Wrong for
US therapists who need claims and video inside the record
AustraliaSix published monthly bands by practitioner count; SMS bought as credits; 30-day trial
Clinic scheduling and charting with Canadian insurance billing add-on
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Practice and Thrive charge by full-time and part-time practitioner, and every plan includes unlimited admins and locations. The extras are separate monthly lines: AI Scribe for each opted-in practitioner with five notes to try, group telehealth per practitioner, insurance billing with a monthly base plus per-practitioner amounts, and Jane Payroll per staff member.
Services are provided from offices in Vancouver, according to the terms. A therapy-only practice should add these up before comparing it with all-in-one plans.
What stands out
Health clinics
Add-on modules
Canadian payers
Where it costs you
The Balance plan caps one practitioner at 20 appointments a month.
Listed direct billing partners are Canadian payers, so US insurers are not covered.
Right for
Canadian wellness clinics staffed by a mix of part-time and full-time practitioners
Wrong for
US therapists who need to bill insurers directly
CanadaThree plans billed monthly in Canadian dollars, published; add-ons priced separately
Therapist and speech-language EHR sold in three solo tiers
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Three solo tiers are billed monthly, and the group Plus plan prices the first practitioner higher than each additional one. Next to the trial the site pushes a free credentialing offer, and the home page lists template library and insurance tools beside telehealth.
Because the audience is stated as therapists and speech-language pathologists, the fit is clear for them. Its ranking here reflects the entry price compared with plans that have permanent small tiers, not a gap in features.
What stands out
Therapists and SLPs
Credentialing offer
Group rate
Where it costs you
The introductory half-price offer lapses unless a paid account starts within seven days.
Larger practices see custom pricing instead of a published rate.
Right for
Therapists and speech-language pathologists wanting telehealth in the same record
Wrong for
Practices that want an ongoing entry plan at no cost
United StatesThree published monthly solo tiers and a group rate; 30-day trial
Mental health notes and billing system sold by Ensora Health
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor presents TheraNest next to its other Core EHR products, with Ensora Health in the footer and no other parent named. Features include reporting with Excel export, recurring sessions and reminders, and online booking.
Card payments carry a fixed fee, and the revenue cycle service is a flat fee. The 21-day trial is advertised, and a permanent plan is not mentioned. Because hosting and integrations are not described, ask about both, and about export formats, before signing.
What stands out
Ensora Health
Credentialing support
AI note add-on
Where it costs you
The product page shows no prices, so the real cost cannot be tested from it.
Telehealth, payments, e-prescribing and the clearinghouse are separate add-ons.
Right for
Mental health groups that outsource billing and credentialing to the vendor
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare published prices before a demo
Not stated by the vendorDescribed as flexible, with amounts on a separate page not checked; 21-day trial
Claims-led therapy billing and scheduling, now a WebPT company
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Therapy Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
There is one membership rather than tiers. It includes unlimited claims, scheduling and documentation, 2 GB of attachment storage and unlimited email support, and electronic claims reach insurers and government payers without clearinghouse accounts.
Customisable templates, drag-and-drop scheduling, secure faxing of therapy notes, reminders and provider portals are listed. Because ownership has passed to WebPT, ask what that means for roadmap and support, and which price applies to your claim volume.
What stands out
WebPT company
Unlimited claims
No clearinghouse accounts
Where it costs you
No price is shown and no trial is mentioned, so evaluation starts with a sales call.
Google Calendar is the only integration named, which narrows links to other tools.
Right for
Practices whose main cost is claim volume and insurer payments
Wrong for
Solo therapists wanting a stated price or a trial first
Not stated by the vendorSingle monthly membership, price quoted by the vendor; no trial mentioned
How to choose therapy practice management software
Therapy practice management software combines scheduling, session notes, client portals, invoicing and claim submission, so counsellors, psychologists and allied health clinicians run their caseload from one record. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 11 of the 13 print a price; 2 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Sessions Health, Noterro, Clinicsense, Halaxy, Zanda, Carepatron, IntakeQ, Practice Better, Cliniko, Jane, SimplePractice.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
3 regions are represented (Elsewhere 9, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Therapy practice management software: the caseload cap decides the plan
Plans in this market are rarely limited by feature. They are limited by volume, and each vendor counts something different. Sessions Health lets a free plan hold three clients, Practice Better caps Starter at 10 clients and Professional at 300, Clinicsense stops Lite at 20 appointments a month, and IntakeQ low-volume plans stop at 25.
Carepatron's free plan holds 100 appointments, Zanda Starter 1,000, and Jane's entry plan 20. Cliniko and Noterro instead charge by practitioner. Count your active clients, sessions per month and clinicians, then match them to each cap instead of the headline price. A part-time counsellor and a full-time group lead land on different vendors, and seat price alone tells you little about year two.
Write down active clients, monthly sessions and clinician count before opening any pricing page.
Check whether the cap counts clients, appointments or form submissions, because vendors use all three.
Ask what happens when you pass the cap: forced upgrade, overage fee or blocked bookings.
Claims, superbills and per-use fees in Sessions Health, Carepatron and Therabill
Insurance work is where a therapy bill drifts. Sessions Health charges per electronic claim on a sliding scale and a fee for each eligibility report. Carepatron files claims from a per-claim rate and charges for e-prescribing on paid plans. Therabill includes unlimited claims without per-claim fees or clearinghouse accounts, but shows no price.
TheraNest sells its clearinghouse and revenue cycle service as add-ons, Jane's insurance billing lists only Canadian payers, and Halaxy invoices Medicare, NDIS and HICAPS in Australia. Multiply your monthly claims by each rate, then add eligibility checks, because a plan with cheap seats can lose to a dearer one with included claims. Cash-pay clinics can ignore most of this.
Estimate monthly claims and eligibility checks, then price them on each vendor's own scale.
Confirm the payers or schemes named cover your country and your insurers.
Ask whether a clearinghouse is included or sold as a separate line.
AI scribes in Noterro, Practice Better and Zanda are metered differently
Nearly every vendor here now sells an AI note assistant, and the meters differ. Noterro includes 300 credits on every plan, enough for roughly 18 minutes of recording, then charges a cent per credit. Sessions Health adds AI Assist as a monthly fee per practitioner, Practice Better's AI Charting Assistant starts at a monthly fee per practitioner, and Jane's AI Scribe is a per-practitioner add-on with five notes to try.
TheraNest's note assistant is a paid add-on, Halaxy draws on credits, and Zanda lists AI Scribe among its tools. Work out your recorded minutes or notes per week before trusting a headline price, and test one real session during the trial.
Ask whether the AI tool is a flat monthly fee, a credit pool or an included feature.
Run one real session through the scribe during the trial and read the draft.
Check whether recordings and drafts are covered by the vendor's HIPAA terms.
Zanda, TheraNest and Therabill: renamed or owned by a larger group
Several products here changed hands or names, and the buying advice follows. Zanda is the new name for Power Diary, so older reviews and support threads use a different brand. TheraNest is sold by Ensora Health, which lists it beside other Core EHR products. Therabill belongs to WebPT, according to its own page.
None of this is a reason to reject them, but ask who runs support, which entity signs your contract, and what export you receive. Cliniko lists data import and export, and TheraNest names Excel export in reporting; for the others, request the export format in writing before you migrate any records. Treat each rename as a due-diligence question, not a defect.
Ask which legal entity signs the contract and processes the client data.
Request the export format for notes, invoices and client records in writing.
Check whether an old product name still appears on invoices or support emails.
What goes wrong most often when buying therapy practice management software
Choosing on the cheapest seat price while ignoring that Clinicsense Lite and Jane's entry plan cap appointments at 20 a month.
Treating a free plan as a practice: Sessions Health allows three clients and Carepatron 100 appointments before an upgrade is forced.
Assuming claims are included, when Sessions Health and Carepatron charge per claim and Cliniko lists no claim filing.
Importing a full caseload before asking each vendor in writing how notes, invoices and forms leave the account.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best therapy practice management software in 2026?
Sessions Health leads our ranking of 13. Sessions Health puts a HIPAA-compliant record, calendar sync, reminders, superbills, ERA posting and browser telehealth behind a pricing page that itemises every extra.
The free plan stops at three clients and one practitioner, so a working caseload moves to the paid plan, where each added practitioner raises the monthly total. Claims, eligibility checks, telehealth and AI Assist are all charged separately, and the page names no country of establishment.
Which therapy practice management tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Sessions Health: Free plan for one practitioner, then a monthly rate per practitioner; 30-day trial.
Noterro: Published tiers per practitioner each month; annual billing 15% cheaper; 14-day trial.
Clinicsense: Published tiers by monthly appointment volume; 14-day trial; annual billing adds a month.
Halaxy: Free core platform; pay-per-use credits and volume-based card fees.
Zanda: Published monthly plans with a base fee, then a charge per extra practitioner; trial without a card.
Carepatron: Free plan, then two paid tiers billed per user each month; 14-day trial.
IntakeQ: Published monthly plans: forms only or full practice management, plus low-volume versions; 14-day trial.
Practice Better: Published tiers by client cap, with a free plan for students; 14 or 30-day trials.
Cliniko: Six published monthly bands by practitioner count; SMS bought as credits; 30-day trial.
Jane: Three plans billed monthly in Canadian dollars, published; add-ons priced separately.
SimplePractice: Three published monthly solo tiers and a group rate; 30-day trial.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free therapy practice management tool?
Sessions Health, Halaxy, Carepatron, Practice Better can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these therapy practice management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 1:
Sessions Health: Not stated by the vendor.
Noterro: Canada.
Clinicsense: Not stated by the vendor.
Halaxy: Not stated by the vendor.
Zanda: Not stated by the vendor.
Carepatron: Not stated by the vendor.
IntakeQ: Not stated by the vendor.
Practice Better: Not stated by the vendor.
Cliniko: Australia.
Jane: Canada.
SimplePractice: United States.
TheraNest: Not stated by the vendor.
Therabill: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Sessions Health?
Second is Noterro, which suits Solo practitioners who chart in SOAP format and want voice dictation. Third is Clinicsense, which suits small clinics that sell session packages and gift cards to clients.
Who should not buy Sessions Health?
Group practices that want one flat price for everything. The free plan holds three clients and one practitioner, so it works as a trial of the workflow rather than a practice..
Sell therapy practice management software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.