CNC software covers three separate jobs that buyers often blur: drawing parts and generating toolpaths, sending G-code to a controller, and replacing the controller itself.
This guide ranks products from all three groups. The order follows ninety-day setup effort, the bill after modules, file export, vendor independence and fit for the shop.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What CNC software does
CNC software turns drawings into toolpaths, previews the cut and drives milling, routing or cutting machines through G-code, working as CAM, as a sender or as a complete motion controller.
Ranking criteria for this CNC tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
One-person German CAM and machine control for hobby routers
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Estlcam lists cutouts, drilling, pockets, engraving, V-carving, chamfering, thread milling and trochoidal milling for 2D and 2.5D work, adds 3D from STL, and machines pictures and QR codes from PNG, JPG and GIF.
Control runs through USB hardware with gamepads, handwheel pendants, keyboard and mouse. It is the product of one named person, which keeps the licence simple but ties support to that one publisher.
What stands out
DXF and SVG to G-code
USB control hardware
Single developer
Where it costs you
The unrestricted version stalls longer on each file open and save, which hurts anyone cutting many small jobs.
Updates after the first year need an update code, so the cost recurs for owners who want current releases.
Right for
Hobby router owners wanting drawing import, toolpaths and control in one program
Wrong for
Shops needing multi-axis machining or a vendor with a sales team
GermanyUnlimited free version that slows file opening and saving; licence key includes one year of updates, later updates need an update code
Sign, wood and router CAM from a registered UK company
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Vectric sells VCarve for vector drawing, 2D import, V-carving and a set of 2.5D toolpaths on Windows and macOS. Pro removes the 24 by 24 inch limit and adds nesting, toolpath templates, job setup sheets, keep-out zones and VCarve Inlays.
Laser and Advanced Machining modules are separate add-ons, so the working price depends on which edition and modules a shop needs. Support is described as free for life, backed by a forum.
What stands out
V-carving
2.5D toolpaths
Windows and macOS
Where it costs you
Desktop limits the work area and omits true shape nesting, which pushes production shops toward Pro.
Prices did not render on the purchase page we read, so the real cost cannot be quoted here.
Right for
Sign makers and woodworkers cutting carved, lettered or inlaid parts on routers
Wrong for
Metal machining shops needing lathe or multi-axis toolpaths
United KingdomTwo editions, Desktop and Pro, each sold as software with a trial first; Desktop owners can upgrade by paying the difference
Low-cost PC machine controller sold with matching motion hardware
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The shop lists the UCCNC licence key on its own and in bundles that add a UC100 or UC400ETH motion controller and a breakout board, with some combinations carrying the key at no extra charge.
Compatibility is limited to four named UC-series controllers. Prices differ between the shop's category and product pages, and the footer gives Hungary but no company name, so a buyer should confirm totals in the basket.
What stands out
Ethernet motion controllers
Licence key
Hardware bundles
Where it costs you
It works only with the seller's own motion controllers, so the choice of hardware is narrow.
The company is named only as a webshop, with no address or legal entity on the pages read.
Right for
Retrofit mill and router builders wanting a cheap licence plus matching board
Wrong for
Buyers wanting CAM or design tools inside the same package
HungaryLicence key sold in a web shop, also bundled with motion controllers and breakout boards; shop prices differ between pages
Controller hardware and control software from a Slovenian maker
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The maker positions the range as cost-effective, user-friendly controllers plus simple control software, aimed at mills, lathes, wood carvers, plasma, laser and engraving machines, foam cutters and 3D printers.
A Download page exists, though no trial is described. Because the home page names no models, the spread of uses is clear while the specific limits, such as axes or pulse rates, are not stated there.
What stands out
CNC controllers
Control software
Slovenia
Where it costs you
Product names and prices are absent from the main site, so evaluation starts in a separate shop.
No demo or trial is mentioned, which makes a software-only test harder.
Right for
Machine builders wanting controller and software from one European maker
Wrong for
Shoppers who need prices and a demo before contacting anyone
SloveniaHardware and software sold through a separate web shop; no prices on the main site and no trial mentioned
Browser CAD and CAM that starts carving within minutes
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Easel combines templates, a Pro Design Library of vectors and a Project Gallery with 2D and 3D toolpaths, V-carving and 3D carving from STL files using a ball-end mill.
Machine control is built in, and any GRBL machine is supported along with a growing list of named brands. The three plan names are public, but the details sit on a separate site, so a buyer cannot compare tiers from this page alone.
What stands out
Browser-based
GRBL machines
3D carving from STL
Where it costs you
The plan page carries no prices, and the linked pricing page gave a 404.
Which features sit in Starter versus Pro could not be read from the page.
Right for
Beginners with a GRBL or listed router wanting design and control in a browser
Wrong for
Shops needing offline operation or documented plan limits
Not stated by the vendorPlan ladder of Easel Free, Starter and Pro; the page gives no prices and the pricing link failed
Long-running PC-based machine controller with listed per-product prices
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The vendor shows three prices in dollars: Mach3 at the bottom, Mach4-Hobby above it and Mach4-Industrial far higher. Mach4 is called automation control software not dedicated to one hardware brand, while Mach3 is the older controller.
The company appears as Mach CNC Software with an Artsoft USA division, but no address. Because Mach4 shares so little code, moving up is a migration rather than a simple upgrade.
What stands out
Machine controller
Mach4 successor
Artsoft heritage
Where it costs you
No demo or trial is mentioned on the page we read, so testing before paying is unconfirmed.
Licence terms are behind a separate link, so reuse on a second PC is unknown.
Right for
Owners of existing Mach3 machines who need a documented, low-cost controller licence
Wrong for
Buyers who need CAM, a stated country or a trial first
Not stated by the vendorPublished list prices for Mach3, Mach4-Hobby and Mach4-Industrial; licence terms and trial not described on the page
Open source machine controller for mills, lathes and robot arms
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Source code is published under GPLv2, so the software costs nothing to obtain and can be audited. It accepts G-code, handles rigid tapping and cutter compensation, and offers several user interfaces.
It runs on Linux only, either from Debian or Ubuntu packages or a live DVD or USB image. The page says it works with many machine control interfaces without listing them, and names no owner or country.
What stands out
GPLv2
Realtime Linux
G-code controller
Where it costs you
No company or support contact is stated on the page, so help depends on the community.
Specific compatible hardware is not named, so the match needs checking before a build.
Right for
Builders wanting a no-licence controller they can inspect, modify and run on Linux
Wrong for
Buyers who want vendor support or a Windows installer
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the GNU GPLv2; the site states no price and no donation figure
Cross-platform GRBL sender with a 3D toolpath viewer
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Beyond sending files, the program shows real-time tool position in a 3D view, applies real-time overrides, edits G-code and supports gamepads, joysticks and a web pendant.
It runs as a self-contained Java application and lists GRBL, FluidNC, TinyG, g2core and Smoothieware as supported controllers. The licence is GPLv3 and no organisation is named, only a lone maintainer, which keeps cost at zero but leaves nobody to hold accountable.
What stands out
GPLv3
GRBL and FluidNC
Java application
Where it costs you
A single volunteer maintains it, according to its donation page, so support is uncertain.
It sends code made elsewhere and offers only a designer editor for simple laser work.
Right for
Hobby machine owners who need a free sender with a live tool-position view
Wrong for
Shops needing CAM, accountable support or industrial controllers
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPLv3; the site calls it free and runs a donations section
Browser interface that runs on a Raspberry Pi beside the machine
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Several browser connections can share one serial port, which lets a second screen watch a job running. The workspace is customisable, keyboard shortcuts exist, and pendant add-ons extend it.
It runs on Node.js on a Pi or laptop, with a desktop app for Linux, Mac OS X and Windows. The MIT licence permits reuse, though the controllers listed stop at Grbl, Smoothieware and TinyG, so other firmware is outside its scope.
What stands out
MIT licence
Web interface
Raspberry Pi
Where it costs you
It controls machines but the page lists no tool for designing parts or generating toolpaths.
No organisation or country is named, only an individual contributor and an email address.
Right for
Makers wanting browser control of a Grbl machine from a Pi or another device
Wrong for
Users who also need drawing and toolpath generation
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence; the page offers an optional donation and states no price
Open source G-code simulator that checks a cut before the metal
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Open sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The program edits tool tables, adds height probing to 2D G-code, and views and edits G-code, alongside its 3D cut simulation. Documentation carries a CC BY 3.0 licence and the code GPL v2 or later.
Cauldron Development LLC maintains it, and work began in 2011 under Joseph Coffland. Because it generates no toolpaths, it earns a place only as a second tool beside a CAM package.
What stands out
GPL v2+
3-axis simulation
STL export
Where it costs you
It cannot simulate 5-axis or lathe work, as the site itself states.
Collision detection is not yet available, so a clean preview does not prove a safe job.
Right for
Hobby and shop users who want to preview G-code from any CAM before cutting
Wrong for
Anyone needing toolpath creation, 5-axis checks or crash detection
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL v2 or later; the page says totally free and asks for donations
Browser toolkit covering print slicing, CNC milling and laser cutting
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
In this market Kiri:Moto is the odd entry, because it generates CNC toolpaths inside a browser that, according to the site, keeps everything on your device with no installs, accounts or cloud.
That suits a maker with several machine types and no budget. The page shows no plans, prices, licence or owner, so it ranks low for shops that must document what they run.
What stands out
Runs in the browser
No account needed
Toolpath generation
Where it costs you
The site names no licence even while calling the toolkit fully open-source.
No machine models are listed, so a router owner must test whether the toolpaths suit the machine.
Right for
Makers with a printer, router and laser who want one account-free browser tool.
Wrong for
Buyers needing written licence terms, a named owner or listed machines.
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices shown; the site calls it fully open-source and free to use, with the licence unnamed
Design, toolpath, simulation and posting for many machine types
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor's stated promise is to design, program, simulate and post G-code without switching software, across ten machine types from routers to waterjets. The footer names BobCAD-CAM, Inc. with no address.
Since pricing is limited to flexible licensing options, a buyer cannot tell whether support, posts or add-on modules cost extra until a conversation, which is the main reason it sits below the smaller products.
What stands out
Mills and lathes
Wire EDM
Waterjet and plasma
Where it costs you
The page does not say whether licences are perpetual or subscription, so lifetime cost is unknown.
The home page read offers no price, edition list or trial.
Right for
Job shops running mills, lathes and cutting tables who want one CAM package
Wrong for
Hobbyists wanting a free tier or published prices
Not stated by the vendorLicensing described only as flexible, with no editions, prices or trial shown on the home page
Production-focused CAM with an AI assistant that needs approval
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best CNC Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The release emphasises Dynamic Motion Technology, a Copilot assistant that makes changes only when the user approves them, and EverPath, a toolpath platform in beta for maintained CONNECT users.
Purchase runs through contact forms, since no price or buying page was readable. The owner is named as CNC Software, LLC, with no country. For small independent buyers the closed pricing and production focus make it a later step.
What stands out
Production CAM
Dynamic Motion
Learning Edition
Where it costs you
No prices are shown, and the How to Buy page returned a 404 error when we tried it.
The Learning Edition terms are not described, so it is unclear what it permits.
Right for
Production machine shops that want a CAM system with claimed shorter cycle times
Wrong for
Hobbyists and small shops wanting listed prices or a free tier
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown; buyers are directed to a contact route, and a Learning Edition is offered on unstated terms
CNC software turns drawings into toolpaths, previews the cut and drives milling, routing or cutting machines through G-code, working as CAM, as a sender or as a complete motion controller. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Start with pricing transparency
7 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 6 publish a pricing model you can read today: Estlcam, Easel, Mach3, Universal G-code Sender, CAMotics, Kiri:Moto.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
These 13 vendors are established in 5 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 9, Europe 4). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Decide if open source matters
4 of these are open source: LinuxCNC, Universal G-code Sender, CNCjs, CAMotics. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
CNC software starts with three different jobs, not one
Before comparing prices, decide which job you are buying. Estlcam, Vectric VCarve, BobCAD-CAM and Mastercam turn drawings into toolpaths. Universal G-code Sender, CNCjs and CAMotics only send or preview code that another program wrote, and CAMotics states it generates no toolpaths. Mach3, UCCNC, LinuxCNC and Planet CNC replace the machine controller itself and so touch the electronics.
Buying a sender expecting CAM is a common dead end, and buying a controller expecting design tools is another. Write your chain on paper, from drawing to motor, then mark which link each candidate covers. Doing this before any download saves weeks of testing the wrong kind of program on the wrong machine.
Name the link in your chain each product replaces
Check whether it generates toolpaths or only sends them
Confirm your controller board is on its supported list
Machine and controller match decides what runs at all
Compatibility is narrower than the marketing suggests. UCCNC works only with the UC100, UC300, UC300ETH and UC400ETH boards, while the UC-series list is short, Universal G-code Sender lists GRBL, FluidNC, TinyG, g2core and Smoothieware, and CNCjs lists Grbl, Smoothieware and TinyG. Easel supports a growing list plus any GRBL machine, and LinuxCNC names no hardware at all beyond many popular interfaces.
A GRBL router suits the senders and Easel, whereas a retrofit mill with step drivers may want Mach3, UCCNC or LinuxCNC. Check the board and firmware first, because software that cannot talk to it is worthless to you however good its toolpaths look, and a week lost to firmware mismatches is a common cost for first builds.
Read your board and firmware name before shortlisting
Match it to each tool's named controller list
Ask how the vendor handles unlisted machines
Editions, modules and updates change the real price
The licence label is rarely the final cost. Vectric sells Desktop and Pro editions, and Desktop caps the work area and omits nesting, so many shops buy Pro. UCCNC sells its licence key alone or in hardware bundles, and shop prices differ between pages. Estlcam includes one year of updates and then needs an update code, and its free version stalls on file opening and saving.
Mach3 and Mach4 are separate purchases that share little code. Mastercam and BobCAD-CAM show no prices at all. Add the modules your parts need, then add a second year of updates. Only then compare totals, because a cheap licence with three paid modules can cost more than a dearer edition.
List the modules your parts need, not just the base licence
Price a second year of updates
Ask whether an upgrade is a purchase or a migration
Simulation, exit and support decide the long run
A cut that looks fine on screen can still gouge. CAMotics previews 3-axis G-code and exports the result as STL, but states it has no collision detection and no 5-axis or lathe support. LinuxCNC, Universal G-code Sender and CNCjs are open source under GPLv2, GPLv3 and MIT, which keeps your files readable if a vendor vanishes, yet Universal G-code Sender relies on one volunteer.
Vectric promises free lifetime support and a forum, and commercial CAM leaves support to its sales route. Test one real part in simulation before cutting, and keep your G-code files in a plain folder, so a change of software never strands your jobs, and ask each seller in writing what support covers.
Run a real part through simulation before material
Keep drawings and G-code in open formats such as DXF and SVG
Ask who answers when something breaks
What goes wrong most often when buying CNC software
Buying Universal G-code Sender or CNCjs expecting design tools, then finding both only send code another program created.
Choosing UCCNC for its low licence price without checking that only its own UC-series motion boards work with it.
Picking Vectric VCarve Desktop and discovering later that nesting and a work area above 24 by 24 inches need Pro.
Trusting a clean CAMotics preview as proof of a safe job when the site says it has no collision detection yet.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best CNC software in 2026?
Estlcam takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Estlcam turns DXF, SVG and STL files into toolpaths and can also run a machine through low-cost USB control hardware, so one program covers a small router from drawing to cut.
The imprint names a single person in Germany as the publisher. The free build is complete but adds longer delays when opening and saving, and updates after year one need a paid code.
Which CNC tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 6 products on this page:
Estlcam: Unlimited free version that slows file opening and saving; licence key includes one year of updates, later updates need an update code.
Easel: Plan ladder of Easel Free, Starter and Pro; the page gives no prices and the pricing link failed.
Mach3: Published list prices for Mach3, Mach4-Hobby and Mach4-Industrial; licence terms and trial not described on the page.
Universal G-code Sender: Open source under GPLv3; the site calls it free and runs a donations section.
CAMotics: Open source under GPL v2 or later; the page says totally free and asks for donations.
Kiri:Moto: No plans or prices shown; the site calls it fully open-source and free to use, with the licence unnamed.
The remaining 7 sell by quote.
Is there a free CNC tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these CNC software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 9, Europe 4:
Estlcam: Germany.
Vectric VCarve: United Kingdom.
UCCNC: Hungary.
Planet CNC: Slovenia.
Easel: Not stated by the vendor.
Mach3: Not stated by the vendor.
LinuxCNC: Not stated by the vendor.
Universal G-code Sender: Not stated by the vendor.
Second is Vectric VCarve, which suits Sign makers and woodworkers cutting carved, lettered or inlaid parts on routers. Third is UCCNC, which suits Retrofit mill and router builders wanting a cheap licence plus matching board.
Who should not buy Estlcam?
Shops needing multi-axis machining or a vendor with a sales team. The unrestricted version stalls longer on each file open and save, which hurts anyone cutting many small jobs..
Makers of CNC software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.