Grocery list apps keep a household's shopping in one place that several people can edit while standing in different shops.
This guide ranks small, single-purpose apps first and asks four things: how lists sync, what the app does beyond the list, what staying costs, and whether the vendor states who it is.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What grocery list apps software does
A grocery list app holds shopping items on a phone, shares them with a household in real time, and may add aisle order, recipes, budgets or offers.
Every grocery list apps tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Household lists that update live, sort by aisle and listen to Alexa
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Items can carry photos, notes, quantities and barcodes, and the list sorts them into store aisles without manual work, which shortens a walk through a shop. Shared lists refresh for everyone at once and can be changed by voice through Alexa.
Recipe ingredients can be pushed onto a list. Terms mention monthly, annual and one-time purchases, but the site never prints their amounts, so expect to open the app to see them.
What stands out
Live household sync
Automatic aisle sorting
Alexa list updates
Where it costs you
The site shows no amounts for the paid options, so the price must be checked inside the app.
No country is named, only a California address and governing law.
Right for
Couples and families who want one shared list that sorts itself by aisle
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare paid prices before installing anything
Not stated by the vendorSharing lists costs nothing at the start; monthly, yearly and one-time purchase options exist, with amounts shown only inside the apps
Family shopping list with aisle sorting, budget totals and an AI assistant
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
One shared list updates for the whole family in real time and sorts items by aisle. A budget view adds prices and totals, an assistant turns a typed, spoken or photographed request into a list, and voice input is built in.
It runs on Android, iOS and the web, with the web app serving iPad, Mac and Windows plus an Apple Watch app. Themes and the ad-free experience belong to the premium version.
What stands out
Budget tracking
AI list assistant
Voice input
Where it costs you
The premium price is not printed on the pages read, so the upgrade cost is unknown.
Country, owner and registered office are not stated, and the legal pages errored.
Right for
Households that want budget totals and voice entry on a shared list
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named company and legal terms on the site
Not stated by the vendorBasic version stays gratis indefinitely; a premium version adds themes and removes ads, with no amount stated on the pages read
Swiss shopping list app with recipe saving, offers and voice assistants
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Lists sync in real time across devices and send push notifications, and the app answers to Siri and Alexa. Recipes from the internet can be saved into it, loyalty cards can be stored, and local offers can be dropped straight onto the shopping list.
The operator is a Zurich company named in the imprint. The features page describes the app as free, yet no premium version is mentioned, so what a company earns from it is not explained.
What stands out
Siri and Alexa
Saved web recipes
Local offers on list
Where it costs you
Paid extras could not be checked, as the pricing address gave an error page.
Pages read were in German, and no plan limits are stated anywhere.
Right for
Shoppers wanting a simple synced list that also holds loyalty cards
Wrong for
Anyone who needs written plan limits or a price list
SwitzerlandFree app; the pages read mention no paid plan, premium version or trial
Plain synced lists for iOS, Android and the web, shareable per list
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Sharing may span one account or just chosen lists, which suits a household that keeps a private list beside a shared one. The web app at app.buymeapie.com handles several lists at once, a big-screen layout suits tablets, and a send-me-the-app option texts a download link.
The pages read mention no recipes, budgets or aisle sorting, so the feature set looks narrower than its rivals, though the copyright runs from 2011.
What stands out
Per-list sharing
Web list management
Tablet big-screen view
Where it costs you
No price, plan or trial length is described, so the cost of staying is unknown.
The home and privacy pages give no country or office.
Right for
Shoppers who share some lists with others but keep other lists private
Wrong for
People who want recipes, budgets or aisle sorting in the same app
Not stated by the vendorTry-it links shown without terms; paid plans, amounts and trial length are not described
Shared lists with a barcode scanner, a cart view and pantry stock
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
A pantry inventory shows what is already at home, which helps avoid buying twice, and a cart splits purchased items from remaining ones as you walk the aisles.
Items come in by barcode scan or from shopping history, and friends or family can edit a list together. It runs on iOS, Android and the web. The pages say nothing about how a completely free app is funded.
What stands out
Barcode scanner
Pantry inventory
Cart tracking
Where it costs you
The privacy and terms addresses errored, so data handling could not be read.
Nothing beside the operator name gives a country or office.
Right for
Households that want pantry stock and a cart view beside the list
Wrong for
Buyers who need to read terms before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; no paid tier, price or trial appears on the pages read
Recipe collection and dinner calendar that fills the shopping list itself
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The grocery list here is a by-product of planning: add recipes to the calendar and the ingredients appear on the list automatically. Plans can be saved and reused, recipes can be saved from any site with one click, and one account covers the family on every device.
The pricing page lists no recipe cap beyond unlimited recipes. The trade-off is the subscription itself, since there is no ongoing no-cost version to keep a plain list on.
What stands out
Auto-filled list
Meal calendar
One-click recipe saving
Where it costs you
Anyone wanting only a quick list pays for a recipe planner they will not use.
The trial ends after 14 days, and the pricing FAQ confirms no ongoing free version.
Right for
Cooks who plan dinners from saved recipes and want lists generated for them
Wrong for
Shoppers who simply jot items down while walking round a store
United StatesMonthly and yearly subscriptions with identical features, published on the site; 14-day trial without a card
Self-hosted recipe manager whose meal plans feed separate household lists
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Recipes arrive through a built-in scraper from supported websites, meal plans sit on a calendar, and shopping lists belong to groups and households so two families can share one install without mixing lists.
Admins can back up and restore from a page, and the API comes with browsable OpenAPI documentation for scripting. A demo can be viewed. For a plain grocery list this is heavy machinery, because you provide the hosting and the maintenance.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Household separation
REST API
Where it costs you
Running it means looking after a server, which most shoppers do not want.
The site states no owner, country or support terms for the software.
Right for
Self-hosters who want shopping lists tied to their own recipe database
Wrong for
Anyone who wants an app installed in five minutes
Not stated by the vendorOpen-source software under AGPL-3.0 to run yourself; no prices or plans on the site; hosted version is a separate product
Shopping list that compares item totals across local and online stores
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The list is a starting point for price checking: the app shows which local and online stores carry each item and what the basket would cost at each one. Prices and stock come partly from community members, which means accuracy depends on who contributes near you.
An online retailer comparison is offered for people short of time. The pages read show a 2023 copyright and a contact address but no legal entity, so due diligence is thin.
What stands out
Store price comparison
Community price sharing
Coupon information
Where it costs you
No price or plan terms are given, and the pricing address errors out.
Country, entity and legal pages are all missing from what was read.
Right for
Bargain hunters who shop several stores and want totals compared
Wrong for
Buyers who need clear terms, a price or a named company
Not stated by the vendorPricing not stated; the home page gives no plan or trial terms
Family calendar whose shopping lists and meal planner share one login
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Planned dinners land on the calendar and their ingredients can be sent to the shopping list, with Google, Outlook and Apple calendars connected. Every family member on every device is covered by all plans, with no member cap stated.
Gold costs 39 dollars yearly and adds an ad-free view, calendar search and change notifications. Max, at 79 dollars yearly, adds AI Event Import, an AI Meal Planner and AI Recipe Creator. The owner and country go unmentioned.
What stands out
Shared family calendar
Gold ad-free tier
AI Meal Planner on Max
Where it costs you
The shopping list is one part of a larger family organiser, not the main product.
Taking ads away means buying Gold by the year, with no trial stated.
Right for
Families who want grocery lists sitting beside a shared school calendar
Wrong for
People wanting a stand-alone shopping list without calendar clutter
Not stated by the vendorAd-supported base version; yearly Gold and Max upgrades remove ads and add AI planning; no trial mentioned
General task manager that offers a grocery template, not a shopping list
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Quick capture takes natural-language input, labels and priority levels can organise items, and integrations such as Slack and Google Calendar are named. Beginner allows 5 personal projects with 5 people each, Pro costs 5 dollars a month billed yearly and lifts the limit to 300.
A grocery template is the only shopping feature stated. Neither owner nor country is given, and nothing is built specifically for supermarket trips beyond ordinary tasks.
What stands out
Grocery template
Quick capture
Project limits by tier
Where it costs you
No aisle sorting, barcode or recipe import is stated; groceries live as ordinary tasks.
The Beginner tier stops at five personal projects, so a large household of lists runs out of room.
Right for
People already running their tasks in Todoist who want groceries in one place
Wrong for
Households wanting shared lists built around shops and aisles
Not stated by the vendorBeginner, Pro and Business tiers published with monthly and yearly billing; no trial mentioned
Weekly store flyers and coupons with a small deal-matching list
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The core is browsing digital flyers from stores and clipping coupons for use in store, and the search covers items, brands and stores. Its list takes deals or typed items, syncs across devices and can be shared with a shopping partner, though sharing is stated for the app only.
Copyright is held by Flipp Corp. The home page gives a savings claim rather than a price, so how the service earns money is not explained.
What stands out
Weekly flyers
Digital coupons
Deal-matching list
Where it costs you
The list is a side feature of a flyer app, and sharing works only in the app.
Pricing, country and parent company are missing from the pages read.
Right for
Shoppers who build lists around the weekly deals at nearby stores
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a dedicated list with aisle or recipe tools
Not stated by the vendorNo price, plan or trial terms stated on the pages read; savings claim only
Grocery delivery and pickup from local stores through a personal shopper
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Grocery List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Orders are placed by choosing items, then a personal shopper shops and delivers, or prepares curbside pickup. Out-of-stock items follow a preference: best match, a chosen replacement, or no replacement with a refund.
Contactless leave-at-door is the default. A new-customer offer waives delivery on the first three orders within 14 days, except restaurants. The membership removes delivery fees above minimums, but service fees remain and the membership price is not printed.
What stands out
Delivery and pickup
Replacement preferences
Membership delivery fees
Where it costs you
It delivers groceries but offers no shared household list in the pages read.
Service fees apply, and the page shows no price for the optional membership.
Right for
Shoppers who want the list turned into a delivered order
Wrong for
Households wanting a shared list to carry into a shop
Not stated by the vendorOptional paid membership removes delivery fees above stated order minimums; service fees apply; membership price not shown
A grocery list app holds shopping items on a phone, shares them with a household in real time, and may add aisle order, recipes, budgets or offers. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 4 published against 8 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Bring!, Out of Milk, Plan to Eat, Todoist.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Headquarters range over 3 countries and 3 regions: Elsewhere 10, North America 1, Europe 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Consider whether you want the source
1 of these are open source: Mealie. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How shared grocery lists behave when two people shop at once
Most failures in this market happen at the shop, not at home. Two people add milk, one buys it, and the other still sees it on the list. OurGroceries states that household lists are shared live, and Listonic says its single family list updates in real time, while Buy Me a Pie allows sharing of an entire account or single lists.
Out of Milk adds a cart that separates purchased items from remaining ones, which answers the milk problem directly. Test it with two phones in a shop before you trust it. Mark an item off on one phone, then watch how long the other takes and whether the item vanishes or stays struck through.
Check one list can be edited by two accounts at once
Look for a cart or struck-through state for bought items
Confirm whether sharing covers one list or every list
Deciding between a plain list and a recipe-driven planner
Some buyers want a place to type items; others want dinners to generate the list. Plan to Eat works from the second idea: recipes saved from sites go on a calendar and their ingredients fill the list. Mealie does the same on your own server, with separate lists for each household, but you run and back it up yourself.
Cozi sits between them, with a family calendar, recipe box and lists under one login. A plain list such as Bring! is quicker to start but will not turn a recipe into quantities for you. Pick by habit: if you already plan the week, a planner saves typing every Sunday, while a shopper who decides in the car park gains nothing from one.
Decide whether dinners or items come first in your routine
Ask who will maintain a self-hosted install such as Mealie
Check whether recipe import works from your usual sites
Reading what a grocery app really costs to keep
Pricing in this market is often hard to find. OurGroceries says in its terms that paid prices are shown only inside the apps, and Listonic mentions a premium version without an amount. Bring! returned a 404 on its pricing page and describes itself as free, and Out of Milk calls itself completely free, which leaves its funding unexplained.
Plan to Eat and Cozi publish plans, and Cozi's ad-free version needs a yearly upgrade. Install the app and open its upgrade screen before moving a household onto it. Also note whether the base version carries ads, since several vendors only mention ad removal as a premium benefit, and a household of four will see those ads daily.
Open the in-app upgrade screen before committing
Note whether ads appear in the base version
Compare monthly and yearly billing where both are shown
Telling list apps apart from delivery and flyer apps
Three products in this ranking share a shopping vocabulary without being list apps. Instacart delivers: you choose items and a shopper buys and brings them, with service fees on top. Flipp collects weekly store flyers and coupons, and its Shopping List is an add-on for deals. Basket compares what each store charges for the items on your list, with prices partly supplied by community members.
All three can sit beside a real list, but none replaces one for a household that shares a weekly shop. Judge each by whether it still works when your usual store is missing from its database, because a list that depends on store data stops being useful the moment you shop somewhere new or somewhere small.
Ask whether the list works without any store data
Check whether sharing is stated outside the app
Treat community prices as hints, not guarantees
What goes wrong most often when buying grocery list apps software
Moving a household onto a list app before testing how fast an item ticked off on one phone disappears from the other.
Choosing Plan to Eat or Mealie when the family only wants to jot down milk and bread.
Assuming a free download stays ad-free, when Listonic and Cozi both tie ad removal to a paid version.
Expecting Instacart, Flipp or Basket to act as the shared household list that OurGroceries or Bring! provide.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best grocery list apps in 2026?
First of 12 on this page is OurGroceries. OurGroceries, Inc. lists an Oakland, California contact address in its terms but states no country line.
The home page invites people to make and share lists for free, so a free tier exists, while paid prices appear only inside the apps. That makes the real cost impossible to compare from a browser, and no trial terms are stated.
Which grocery list apps tools publish their pricing?
4 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Bring!: Free app; the pages read mention no paid plan, premium version or trial.
Out of Milk: Free to download; no paid tier, price or trial appears on the pages read.
Plan to Eat: Monthly and yearly subscriptions with identical features, published on the site; 14-day trial without a card.
Todoist: Beginner, Pro and Business tiers published with monthly and yearly billing; no trial mentioned.
The other 8 quote per organisation.
Is there a free grocery list apps tool?
OurGroceries, Bring!, Out of Milk, Cozi come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these grocery list apps vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 10, North America 1, Europe 1:
OurGroceries: Not stated by the vendor.
Listonic: Not stated by the vendor.
Bring!: Switzerland.
Buy Me a Pie: Not stated by the vendor.
Out of Milk: Not stated by the vendor.
Plan to Eat: United States.
Mealie: Not stated by the vendor.
Basket: Not stated by the vendor.
Cozi: Not stated by the vendor.
Todoist: Not stated by the vendor.
Flipp: Not stated by the vendor.
Instacart: Not stated by the vendor.
Which grocery list apps tools are open source?
Mealie.
Which grocery list apps tools can you host yourself?
Mealie. 11 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of OurGroceries?
Listonic and Bring! are the next two on this page. Listonic is for Households that want budget totals and voice entry on a shared list; Bring! is for Shoppers wanting a simple synced list that also holds loyalty cards.
Who should not buy OurGroceries?
Buyers who must compare paid prices before installing anything. The site shows no amounts for the paid options, so the price must be checked inside the app..
Sell grocery list apps and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.