Online brokers let individuals buy and sell stocks, ETFs and other instruments through an app or website.
This ranking compares published fee models, the account types each vendor lists, and the legal entity behind each service, and it puts smaller single-purpose firms ahead of large corporations. It describes costs as stated on vendor pages and does not recommend any investment.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What online brokers software does
An online broker is a regulated firm that executes securities orders for clients over the internet, holds their accounts, and charges commissions, spreads, subscriptions or account fees for doing so.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each online brokers tool is built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Gold subscription billed every 30 days after a 30-day trial; futures and index options carry per-contract fees for members
—
Traders weighing a monthly subscription for futures and index option rates
Buyers who need a complete commission table before deciding
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
UK app with three monthly plans and ISA, SIPP and GIA accounts
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Freetrade sells three plans in pounds, from a free Basic tier to Plus, and every plan carries zero dealing commission on over 9,000 stocks, ETFs, funds and investment trusts.
Cash interest rises by plan, from 1% up to £1,000 on Basic to 3.5% up to £3,000 on Plus. The trade-off is that the paid plans mostly buy lower FX fees and higher interest, so a sterling-only saver may gain little from upgrading.
What stands out
ISA and SIPP
Plan-based FX fee
FCA authorised
Where it costs you
Non-GBP trades cost 0.99% in FX fees on Basic, against 0.39% on Plus.
Parent ownership by IG Group means it is no longer a standalone company.
Right for
UK residents who want ISA, junior ISA or SIPP accounts under one monthly plan
Wrong for
Anyone wanting products beyond stocks, ETFs, funds and trusts
United KingdomFree Basic plan plus two paid plans, published, billed monthly or annually; the plan sets FX fee and cash interest
Dutch-language broker with a per-trade fee table and no inactivity fee
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The tariff splits cost into commission and handling, so a €1 order in a core ETF still pays the handling fee while US stocks pay €1 commission on top. Options and futures run at €0.75 per contract and crypto at 0.29% per transaction.
Account choice matters too: a regular account offers Basis, Active and Trader profiles, and a pension account has its own fee page. The tariff is only as current as its stated reference date.
What stands out
Handling fee per trade
Core ETF selection
Pension account
Where it costs you
Every trade carries a €1 handling fee, even on commission-free core ETFs.
Country of establishment is missing from the pages read.
Right for
Investors trading small, regular orders in European or US stocks and core ETFs
Wrong for
Active traders making many small trades, who feel handling fees
Not stated by the vendorPer-trade commission plus a handling fee, published in euros on a dated tariff page; currency and connectivity charges added
US broker with zero commission on stocks, ETFs and options
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Firstrade lists brokerage, traditional, Roth and rollover IRA, and margin accounts, with overnight and extended-hours trading across stocks, ETFs, options, mutual funds and fixed income.
Load, no-load and No Transaction Fee funds are free to buy, but the 90-day redemption fee punishes short holding periods. Primary market CDs cost $30 and the SEC fee is $20.60 per million on eligible sales, so read the whole schedule, not the headline zero.
What stands out
Options regulatory fee
Mutual fund redemption fee
Extended-hours trading
Where it costs you
Broker-assisted stock and ETF orders cost $19.95 each.
Country and state of incorporation are absent from the pages read.
Right for
Self-directed US investors who trade stocks, ETFs, options and mutual funds
Wrong for
Buyers who want advice, robo portfolios or non-US products
Not stated by the vendorPublished fee schedule: no commission on stocks, ETFs and options; regulatory, redemption and broker-assisted charges listed separately
Options-led US broker with one fee schedule and no subscriptions
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The page describes one schedule, with no monthly fee and no named plans, so cost depends on what you trade. E-mini futures are $1 per contract each way, Micro E-mini and E-nano $0.75, and crypto drops to 0.75% for BTC and ETH.
Margin starts when you open a margin account or bring in $25,000 or more in new assets. Cheap opening fees are offset by closing charges on futures.
What stands out
Per-contract options
Futures and crypto
Flat margin rate
Where it costs you
The margin rate applies to the whole margin balance once margin is opened.
Exchange, clearing and regulatory fees come on top of futures commissions.
Right for
Options and futures traders who want a single per-contract schedule without plans
Wrong for
Savers wanting accounts like ISAs or a pension wrapper
Not stated by the vendorSingle published fee schedule by product; per-contract options and futures fees, percentage crypto fees, flat margin rate
Danish-headquartered broker with Classic, Platinum and VIP pricing tiers
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Saxo prices by tier for America, EMEA and Asia/Pacific exchanges, and custody on stocks, ETFs, ETCs and bonds is calculated daily and charged monthly. No inactivity fee is mentioned.
Accounts come as Individual, Corporate and Joint, with Professional status available. Because each tier lowers cost only as volume rises, the cheapest tier for a new customer is Classic, which pays the highest custody percentage of the three.
What stands out
Tiered commissions
Custody fee by tier
Danish supervision
Where it costs you
Commission figures were not visible on the page read, so costs cannot be compared directly.
Transfer-out fees run per ISIN, up to EUR 160 for non-Danish stocks.
Right for
Larger portfolios that can climb from Classic to Platinum or VIP tiers
Wrong for
Small accounts counting each euro of custody charges
DenmarkTiered commissions by exchange region, indicative and dependent on residence; the annual custody percentage falls by tier
US broker bundling stocks, crypto, bonds and cash yield accounts
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Public's homepage claims over 9,000 stocks, a collection of 60+ crypto assets, ETFs, bonds and Generated Assets. Retirement is covered by Traditional and Roth IRAs with a 1% match on annual contributions, plus a Crypto IRA.
The advertised 3.75% APY cash account and 6.27% bond yield are marketing figures from the homepage, not terms from a fee page, and they can change.
What stands out
Options rebate
Crypto IRA
Advertised cash yield
Where it costs you
The pricing page could not be read, so the full fee schedule is unverified.
Trust accounts are marked as coming soon, not available.
Right for
US investors who want stocks, crypto, bonds and IRAs in a single app
Wrong for
Buyers who need a documented, complete fee schedule before opening
Not stated by the vendorNo commission stated on the homepage for stocks, ETFs and crypto; options rebate by tier; pricing page not read
US broker with no commission on listed stocks, ETFs and options
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page passes regulatory sell fees and the Consolidated Audit Trail fee through to clients, so the headline of no commission is not the whole bill. Oversized option orders cost $0.10 per contract.
Accounts are individual cash and margin brokerage accounts and IRAs. A paper-trading tool is linked, which gives a risk-free way to learn the platform, though no free trial is named on the page.
What stands out
Paper trading
Algo order fees
Premium membership
Where it costs you
Premium membership appears on the pricing page with no plan names or prices.
Margin is not available in all account types.
Right for
US traders who want to practise in paper trading before funding an account
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated country or a priced premium tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished rates; US-listed shares, ETFs and options without commission, charges on specific order types; Premium unpriced
US broker with tiered account types from cash to advised portfolios
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Four routes sit under one name: a self-directed cash account, a self-directed margin account, Robo Portfolios and Personal Advice. Mutual funds without a load cost nothing per trade, though fund expenses and service fees may apply.
A $75 credit is offered for an initial ACAT transfer of $2,500 or more from another broker. The minimum rises sharply for advice, so the advised tier suits larger balances only.
What stands out
Account minimums
Robo Portfolios
ACAT transfer credit
Where it costs you
Stocks priced under $2 carry a $4.95 base plus $0.01 per share, capped near 5%.
The margin account needs a $2,000 deposit.
Right for
Investors who may later move from self-directed trading to robo or advised portfolios
Wrong for
Penny-stock traders watching per-share commission on sub-$2 shares
Not stated by the vendorPublished rates; shares and ETFs without commission, a per-contract options fee, minimum deposits set by account type
Multi-asset platform with local currency accounts and a demo account
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Every client gets a USD investment account, with GBP, EUR, AUD or DKK accounts depending on residence, plus eToro Money accounts. A demo account worth $100,000 is offered to registered users.
CFD spreads are 0.15% for stock and ETF CFDs and 1% for crypto CFDs. Account opening, management and inactivity fees are zero, so the cost sits in the products chosen and in currency and withdrawal steps.
What stands out
Crypto fee tiers
CFD overnight fees
Demo account
Where it costs you
USD account withdrawals carry a fixed $5 fee with a $30 minimum.
CFD positions pay overnight fees, and weekend fees are triple that rate.
Right for
Residents who want local-currency accounts and a demo account to learn on
Wrong for
Investors who want to avoid crypto and CFD cost layers
Not stated by the vendorPublished fee page: commission-free ETFs, per-trade stock commission, crypto fees by club tier, CFD spreads and overnight charges
Broker with Fixed, Tiered and Lite commission models and five platforms
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Personal accounts cover individual, joint, trust and retirement, while advisor, hedge fund, proprietary trading and introducing broker accounts serve institutions. IBKR Lite is the commission-free route on US stocks and ETFs; Fixed and Tiered are the alternatives.
Uninvested cash earns a stated USD 3.38%. Trader Workstation is described as the professional platform, and GlobalTrader as the simplified mobile one, so the platform choice shapes the learning effort.
What stands out
Fixed, Tiered, Lite
Five platforms
Institutional accounts
Where it costs you
Per-share and tiered rates were not visible in the text read.
Five named platforms make the first choice harder.
Right for
Investors wanting one broker for personal, advisor or institutional accounts
Wrong for
Beginners wanting one simple price and one app
Not stated by the vendorCommission models Fixed, Tiered and IBKR Lite; per-share rates not captured; cash interest and margin rates listed on the rates page
US broker with $0 online equity commission and many account types
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Account types named include individual and joint brokerage, traditional, Roth and rollover IRAs, a Global Account, trust and estate, 529, custodial UGMA/UTMA, Individual 401(k), SEP-IRA, SIMPLE-IRA and Business 401(k), each with no opening or maintenance fee.
The weakness for small buyers is scale and surcharges: it is a corporation, assisted trades are extra, and the legal terms page returned a 404.
What stands out
Many account types
Broker-assisted surcharge
Futures and options
Where it costs you
Broker-assisted trades add a $25 service charge.
OTC equities and Canadian securities cost $6.95 online.
Right for
US savers wanting retirement, custodial, trust and business accounts at one broker
Wrong for
Buyers who prefer a small independent vendor to a large corporation
Not stated by the vendorSchedule on the pricing page; zero online commission for listed equities and ETFs, with options, futures and OTC charged separately
US broker with a long per-product fee table, from stocks to futures
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The schedule rewards activity: options fall from $0.65 to $0.50 per contract and OTC trades from $6.95 to $4.95 at 30 or more trades per quarter. Online secondary bonds cost $1 each with a $10 minimum and $250 maximum.
A SEC transaction fee applies to sales of equities, options and ETFs. For a light trader the volume discounts never apply, so the published headline price is the real one.
What stands out
Options fee discount
Index option fees
Crypto via zerohash
Where it costs you
Index option fees differ by product, for example SPX $0.54 and RUT $0.17.
OTC stock trades cost $6.95 unless a client makes 30 or more trades per quarter.
Right for
Active options traders who reach 30 trades per quarter and earn the lower rate
Wrong for
Occasional investors who will rarely reach the volume discount
Not stated by the vendorPublished rates by product; US-listed shares and ETFs online at zero commission, other products priced one by one
Subscription tier for an app-based broker, with a 30-day trial
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Online Brokers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Only the Gold page was readable, so this entry covers the subscription, not the whole broker. Gold adds instant deposits up to 3x portfolio value, the futures and index options rates above, and the Strategies fee waiver.
Because plain stock and ETF pricing is not on that page, a buyer cannot judge the full cost from it and should confirm the standard schedule and account types first.
What stands out
Gold subscription
30-day trial
Instant deposits
Where it costs you
The Gold page omits the stock and ETF commission.
No regulator or country appears in the pages read.
Right for
Traders weighing a monthly subscription for futures and index option rates
Wrong for
Buyers who need a complete commission table before deciding
Not stated by the vendorGold subscription billed every 30 days after a 30-day trial; futures and index options carry per-contract fees for members
An online broker is a regulated firm that executes securities orders for clients over the internet, holds their accounts, and charges commissions, spreads, subscriptions or account fees for doing so. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 8 of the 13 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Freetrade, DEGIRO, Firstrade, tastytrade, Webull, Ally Invest, eToro, E*TRADE.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The 13 companies behind this list are established in 3 countries, by region Elsewhere 11, Europe 2. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Reading the fee model of an online broker
Online brokers describe cost in four different ways, and a headline of zero commission rarely closes the comparison. Freetrade charges by plan, so the plan sets the FX fee and the cash interest. DEGIRO splits each trade into commission and a handling fee. Saxo prices by tier and adds a custody percentage.
Webull and Charles Schwab list no online commission on listed stocks and ETFs, then price options, futures and assisted trades separately. Put your own pattern of trades into each schedule: how many orders per month, which exchanges, which currency, and whether you use options. Then add the charges that sit outside the commission, such as currency conversion, withdrawal and regulatory fees.
Count handling, FX and regulatory fees as well as commission.
Check the date printed on the tariff page.
Use your own order size and frequency.
Account types: wrappers, retirement and margin
The account you can open often matters more than the price of a trade. Freetrade lists a stocks and shares ISA, junior ISA, SIPP and general investment account. Charles Schwab names IRAs, 529 plans, custodial and Business 401(k) accounts. Firstrade lists brokerage, IRA and margin accounts, and Ally Invest ties its tiers to minimum deposits, from none for a cash account to $100,000 for Personal Advice.
Interactive Brokers extends to advisor and institutional accounts. Match the wrapper to your tax residence and goal before comparing cost. Then confirm with the vendor, in writing, that residents of your country are served and that the account type is open to you, since several pages did not state where the firm is established, and offers can change.
Confirm the account type exists for your residence.
Check the deposit minimum for each tier.
Ask whether margin is open on that account type.
Margin, crypto and CFDs: the extra cost layers
Costs multiply once you leave plain shares. tastytrade shows a margin rate of 6.75% applied to the whole margin balance, while Interactive Brokers starts margin loans at USD 4.38%. Crypto is a percentage of each trade: 1% at tastytrade and eToro for standard tiers, 0.50% at E*TRADE through zerohash. eToro CFDs add overnight fees, tripled at weekends, and Spanish users cannot trade them.
Webull routes crypto through a separate entity from its brokerage. These products can hold risk beyond the headline price, and this guide does not judge suitability. Treat each product line as its own price list. Read the vendor's disclosures for it before using it, and compare the full cost of holding a position over weeks, not only the cost of opening it.
Read the margin rate and what balance it applies to.
Check which entity holds crypto assets.
Find the overnight charge before holding CFDs.
Regulator and entity facts on broker pages
Before funding an account, find the legal entity and the regulator the vendor names. Freetrade states the Financial Conduct Authority and a company number; Saxo names the Danish Financial Supervisory Authority and a licence number. Several US pages name FINRA and SIPC membership but no country, and Robinhood's disclosures page returned an error when read.
Public, Webull and Firstrade each name a broker-dealer entity. A membership line is a claim to verify at the regulator's own register, and it does not describe the level of protection on your assets. Ask the vendor in writing what protection applies to your account type and country, and keep that reply with your account records for later reference.
Match the entity named on the page to a register.
Do not infer protection from a membership logo.
Ask in writing which rules cover your account.
What goes wrong most often when buying online brokers software
Treating the zero-commission headline as the full price, then meeting FX, handling or assisted-order charges at the first trade.
Choosing a plan tier at Freetrade or a pricing tier at Saxo without checking whether your trading volume ever reaches the lower rates.
Opening an account before confirming the vendor serves your country and offers the wrapper or retirement type you need.
Reading an advertised cash yield or bond yield on a homepage, such as Public's, as a contract term rather than marketing.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best online brokers in 2026?
Freetrade leads our ranking of 13. Freetrade Limited is incorporated in England and Wales, authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, and since 2025 wholly owned by IG Group, according to its security page.
Dealing commission is £0 on all three plans, so the plan you pick changes the FX fee and cash interest instead. The catch is a 0.99% FX fee on non-sterling trades at Basic, and the page says other charges may apply.
Which online brokers tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Freetrade: Free Basic plan plus two paid plans, published, billed monthly or annually; the plan sets FX fee and cash interest.
DEGIRO: Per-trade commission plus a handling fee, published in euros on a dated tariff page; currency and connectivity charges added.
Firstrade: Published fee schedule: no commission on stocks, ETFs and options; regulatory, redemption and broker-assisted charges listed separately.
tastytrade: Single published fee schedule by product; per-contract options and futures fees, percentage crypto fees, flat margin rate.
Webull: Published rates; US-listed shares, ETFs and options without commission, charges on specific order types; Premium unpriced.
Ally Invest: Published rates; shares and ETFs without commission, a per-contract options fee, minimum deposits set by account type.
eToro: Published fee page: commission-free ETFs, per-trade stock commission, crypto fees by club tier, CFD spreads and overnight charges.
E*TRADE: Published rates by product; US-listed shares and ETFs online at zero commission, other products priced one by one.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free online brokers tool?
Freetrade have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these online brokers vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 11, Europe 2:
Freetrade: United Kingdom.
DEGIRO: Not stated by the vendor.
Firstrade: Not stated by the vendor.
tastytrade: Not stated by the vendor.
Saxo: Denmark.
Public: Not stated by the vendor.
Webull: Not stated by the vendor.
Ally Invest: Not stated by the vendor.
eToro: Not stated by the vendor.
Interactive Brokers: Not stated by the vendor.
Charles Schwab: Not stated by the vendor.
E*TRADE: Not stated by the vendor.
Robinhood: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Freetrade?
Second is DEGIRO, which suits Investors trading small, regular orders in European or US stocks and core ETFs. Third is Firstrade, which suits Self-directed US investors who trade stocks, ETFs, options and mutual funds.
Who should not buy Freetrade?
Anyone wanting products beyond stocks, ETFs, funds and trusts. Non-GBP trades cost 0.99% in FX fees on Basic, against 0.39% on Plus..
Do you make a online brokers product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.