A student information system holds the school's record of every pupil: enrolment, attendance, grades, timetables, fees and the parent contact trail.
This guide ranks twelve systems for schools and colleges on set-up effort, the bill once billing and admissions are added, how records leave, and whether the vendor stands alone. Most vendors print no prices, and we say so plainly.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What student information systems do
Student information software keeps pupil records, attendance, grades, timetables and family contacts in one database, and links admissions, fee billing and learning platforms into a single source for the school.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the student information system was built for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Gibbon collects student information in one place and sets configurable access levels for teachers, students, parents and administrators. The core comes in 26 translated languages, and version 30 adds Calendar and Student Alerts modules.
Because the site says schools host it on their own servers, the first ninety days are installation and configuration work for whoever runs your servers. The source repository is public on GitHub, which keeps the exit route in the school's own hands.
What stands out
open source
self-hosted
26 languages
Where it costs you
The site names no paid plans, so hosting and support fall on the school's own staff.
A licence page is linked, but the licence itself is not named on the page we read.
Right for
Schools with their own IT staff that want records software without licence fees
Wrong for
Offices that need a vendor to host, support and train
Not stated by the vendorFree to use; the school hosts it on its own servers and no paid plans are named
School records and billing priced on staff accounts rather than student numbers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Pricing follows staff accounts rather than student count, billed monthly or yearly with a lower monthly rate per staff member when paid annually. Named functions include online payments, attendance, billing and finance, plus natural language search and predictive analytics.
Integrations listed are Moodle, Canvas, Google Classroom, Stripe, QuickBooks, Twilio, WhatsApp and single sign-on through Google or Microsoft. The real price depends on how many staff need logins, a number the buyer should count before asking for a quote.
What stands out
staff-based pricing
Azure hosted
online payments
Where it costs you
Rates are not printed, only the staff-account basis and a lower monthly rate when billed annually.
Hosting runs on vendor-named cloud providers, and an own-server install is not described on the pages read.
Right for
Larger schools with many pupils and a comparatively short staff list
Wrong for
Buyers who need printed rates before any sales conversation
United StatesPer staff account, billed monthly or yearly; exact rates on request, with a trial or guided walkthrough
Admissions, learning and fee modules with a stated monthly starting price
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The page describes a paperless admission process, learning management with virtual lectures, assessments and quizzes, and a Fee and Invoicing module. Open APIs and Google Workspace or Office365 sign-in are named.
Pricing is worded as just pay for what you use, starting from a stated monthly figure, yet currency and usage limits are not shown, and Contact Sales buttons sit beside the trial ones. With the meter unspecified, the price after modules are added is the main unknown.
What stands out
admissions
LMS
fee invoicing
Where it costs you
The entry figure carries no currency or usage limits, so the eventual bill cannot be forecast.
Country, ownership and hosting model are not stated on the page we read.
Right for
Small schools that want admissions, teaching and fees under one login
Wrong for
Buyers who must know trial length and usage caps beforehand
Not stated by the vendorPublished entry price, then pay for what you use; Try for Free buttons, terms not stated
K-12 records, scheduling and payments from a supplier that lists no figures
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Sycamore School is the K-12 system, joined by Sycamore Payments, Parent Communication and Payments, a Parent App and Sycamore Campus for higher education. The Master School Scheduler balances class sizes, online admissions applications are integrated, and Google Classroom is supported.
Text and voice messaging runs through Twilio with no added Sycamore fees. Only the mobile app is stated as free to download, so what the system itself costs is learned in a consultation rather than from the page.
What stands out
K-12
master scheduler
Twilio messaging
Where it costs you
The pricing section holds no figures or tiers, only consultation booking.
Hosting location and model are not described beyond secure data storage and backup.
Right for
K-12 schools that want scheduling, messaging and parent payments from one supplier
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a price list before booking
Not stated by the vendorQuoted after a consultation; the pricing section shows no figures or tiers
Long-running K-12 suite for records, scheduling, billing and gradebooks
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
AdminPlus is the student information system, with Master Schedule Builder for timetables, FINACS Student Billing for fees and TeacherPlus as the online gradebook. The integration list names Clever, Frontline Education, Google Classroom, Microsoft OneNote, SIF and Toddle.
The page offers free weekly webinars, the nearest thing to a trial, but it names neither a free plan nor a trial itself. Because the products carry separate names, the real price is likely the sum of whichever pieces a school needs.
What stands out
AdminPlus
schedule builder
student billing
Where it costs you
Only an information request and a phone line are offered, with no prices or trial stated.
Hosting is not stated, so backup and exit terms have to be asked for.
Right for
Established schools that prefer separate scheduling, billing and gradebook tools
Wrong for
Schools wanting one all-in-one platform on a single price
United StatesNo prices shown; an information request form and a sales phone line
Higher-education system joining recruiting, teaching, administration and financial aid
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Recruit keeps a prospect timeline of calls, emails and notes, Teach is the learning management system, Administer runs the student life-cycle and Aid handles financial aid connected to the Department of Education web tools.
Connect exposes an API, webhooks and single sign-on. A pricing page is linked, yet the homepage prints no prices, currency or limits, and a trial is offered through an account manager. The link to federal aid tools points to a United States college market.
What stands out
higher education
financial aid
API and webhooks
Where it costs you
Prices and limits are absent from the homepage, so the cost of the four modules together is unknown.
Trial accounts are set up by an account manager rather than self-serve.
Right for
Colleges that want admissions, teaching and financial aid in one system
Wrong for
Schools needing a self-serve trial or a printed price list
Not stated by the vendorPricing page linked but the homepage prints no figures; trial account via an account manager
Cloud K-12 records system with built-in analytics and a district tier
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The site calls Alma a K-12 cloud-based student information system. BeaconAI is built in and turns student data into clear, consistent views, while Alma Enterprise offers central governance and connected data from student to state for districts of 5,000 to 50,000 plus students.
Google Classroom is integrated and Alma is a Google Education Partner. Demos are described as fully customised and no prices appear, so what a district pays depends on that conversation rather than a list.
What stands out
K-12
cloud
BeaconAI
Where it costs you
Demos are customised and no prices are published, so comparison needs a sales call.
No trial is named, and owner and country are not stated.
Right for
Districts wanting one cloud record from classroom through to state reporting
Wrong for
Very small schools wanting a listed monthly price
United StatesDemo-led and fully customised; no prices or pricing page
Small-school gradebook and attendance system with a stated user base
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page offers Get A Quote and Watch A Demo rather than prices, and states 24 years of service, 2,200 plus schools and 400K users. Customers quoted on it describe attendance, lunch count, IEP and student files in one place, and gradebook entry with assignment weights that can be adjusted.
School Websites is sold as a separate product to boost enrolment. Nothing on the page says whether the software is hosted by the vendor or installed locally.
What stands out
small schools
gradebook
attendance
Where it costs you
No prices appear, only Get A Quote and a demo video.
The page gives no country, owner or hosting arrangement.
Right for
Smaller schools wanting attendance, lunch count and grading in one place
Wrong for
Buyers who need admissions and billing modules named up front
Not stated by the vendorQuote form and demo video; no prices on the page
School suite adding admission, accounting and tuition modules to records
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The module list reads Academics and Student Life, Admission and Enrollment, Accounting, Tuition Management. Integration is offered through an API and 200 plus partners.
Veracross LLC is a Massachusetts company with offices in Wakefield, plus footer listings for Miami in Queensland, Australia and London. No prices or trial appear, and hosting is described as web-based. With accounting and tuition added, the real price is a bundle the site does not let you estimate.
What stands out
admission
tuition management
200+ integrations
Where it costs you
The only sales route is Request Demo, so no price can be compared in advance.
Hosting is described only as web-based, without naming cloud or own servers.
Right for
Schools that want academics, admissions and tuition billing under one supplier
District records with analytics, online enrolment, payments and parent messaging
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Named products are Aeries Analytics, Online Enrollment, Payments and Communications, which is powered by ParentSquare, plus an Ecosystem for connecting external platforms. The page says the company has worked with K-12 districts for 30 years and carries a copyright range from 1995.
It gives no prices, no trial and no owner, and the only button is Learn More. A district costing the system must therefore add up each named module separately after contact, since none is priced.
What stands out
K-12 districts
analytics
ParentSquare
Where it costs you
Every button reads Learn More, so the page offers no route to a price.
Parent messaging is powered by ParentSquare, so part of that experience rests on a third party.
Right for
Districts wanting analytics and enrolment tied to the records system
Wrong for
Buyers outside the United States, as the site is for US residents
Not stated by the vendorNo prices and no sales wording; Learn More buttons only
District and statewide records products with a marketplace of extensions
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Two products are named: District SIS for day-to-day operational data and Statewide SIS for data collection by state education agencies. An Extension Marketplace lists vetted extensions from the vendor and partners, and the page cites 1500 plus core tools.
Parent and student apps exist for iOS and Android. The company is Infinite Campus, Inc., Blaine, Minnesota, with only its founder named. Extensions add to the base system, so a district should price the marketplace items it needs on top.
What stands out
district SIS
statewide SIS
extension marketplace
Where it costs you
Prices and trial terms are absent, leaving Contact Sales and Request a Demo as the only routes.
Neither the hosting model nor a parent company is given anywhere we looked.
Right for
Large districts and state agencies needing one data collection route
Wrong for
Small schools wanting a simple price they can read online
United StatesSales contact and demo request only; no prices shown
Nelnet-owned school system joining records, payments, family app and financial aid
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Student Information Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
FACTS IQ names these modules: SIS as the system of record, academic management, analytics and dashboards, and integrations. Alongside sit an application builder, online payment collection, a family app with SMS and email alerts, and payment plans with financial aid.
Terms are issued by Nelnet Business Solutions in Lincoln, Nebraska, under Nebraska law. Payments and aid are bundled in, so the real price spans several modules, none of which the site prices.
What stands out
Nelnet company
FACTS IQ
payment plans
Where it costs you
The terms limit the products to the United States of America.
A price needs a sales contact, and no trial is stated.
Right for
US schools that want tuition payment plans inside the records system
Wrong for
Schools outside the United States or wanting an independent vendor
United StatesNo pricing page and no prices; Contact Sales is the only route
Student information software keeps pupil records, attendance, grades, timetables and family contacts in one database, and links admissions, fee billing and learning platforms into a single source for the school. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Check who publishes a price
Prices are public at 2 products (Gibbon, Classe365) and on request at the remaining 10, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 12 vendors are spread over 2 countries (North America 6, Elsewhere 6), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Gibbon. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Why student information systems rarely show a price
Ten of the twelve vendors on this page print no figure at all, and Classe365 gives a starting price with no currency or limits. Gibbon is free to use, OpenSIS bills per staff account and Alma describes its demos as fully customised, but the rest say only Contact Sales, Request Demo or Learn More. That makes the quote the real price list, and the first job of a buyer is to make quotes comparable.
Send every vendor the same description of your school: pupil count, staff count, grade span and the modules you expect to need. Ask for the figure in writing, with the term, the renewal rule and anything charged per message or per payment. Without a common brief, two quotes from Rediker and Sycamore will describe different products and cannot be set side by side.
Send each vendor an identical brief of pupils, staff, grades and modules
Ask for the quote in writing with term and renewal rule
Note whether messaging and payments carry separate charges
Staff accounts, pupils and modules decide the bill
The unit a vendor counts changes who pays more. OpenSIS prices on staff accounts, not student numbers, so a school with many pupils and few teachers pays less than a per-pupil model would charge, while a school with many part-time staff pays more. Classe365 words its price as pay for what you use without saying what the meter counts.
Veracross and FACTS both add accounting, tuition management or payment plans, which turns a records purchase into a finance purchase. Rediker names separate products for scheduling, billing and gradebooks, so each piece may carry its own line. Work out your own count for each unit before the demo, then ask each vendor which unit it bills on, and what happens to the invoice when you add a second campus.
Count teachers, administrators and pupils separately before asking for quotes
Ask which unit is billed and what a second campus adds
List which finance modules you need rather than want
Getting records out of a student information system
Exit is hard to test at a demo, yet a school record may need to be kept for years. Gibbon is the clearest case: the school hosts it, and its source repository is public on GitHub. Populi exposes an API, webhooks and single sign-on through Connect, and Veracross cites an API and 200 plus integration partners. Rediker lists SIF among its integrations.
Most vendors here do not state their hosting model, so none of this answers where the database physically sits or who can export it. Ask in writing for a full export of grades, attendance, transcripts and family contacts, in a readable format, at no charge on leaving. Ask also how long the vendor keeps the data after the contract ends, and who confirms deletion.
Request a full test export of transcripts, attendance and contacts
Ask for the export format and whether leaving carries a fee
Get the post-contract retention and deletion period in writing
Matching the system to a district, college or small school
The products here are built for different institutions, and the mismatch is the costliest error. Infinite Campus names a Statewide SIS for state agencies beside its District SIS, and Alma Enterprise targets districts of 5,000 to 50,000 plus students. Populi covers recruiting, teaching and financial aid for colleges, with federal aid tools connected.
Gradelink and Sycamore speak to smaller K-12 schools, and Gradelink states 2,200 plus schools as customers. Aeries says its site is for US residents and FACTS limits its products to the United States, so a school elsewhere should ask what support exists. Pick the vendor whose reference customers resemble your own size and level, then ask to speak to one of them about the first term after go-live.
Ask for a reference school of the same size and level
Confirm the vendor serves your country before the demo
Check that financial aid or state reporting tools match your sector
What goes wrong most often when buying student information systems
Choosing on the demo alone, when the first ninety days are decided by data migration and staff training.
Counting only pupils when the vendor bills on staff accounts, or the reverse, and missing the real invoice.
Assuming a free self-hosted system such as Gibbon costs nothing once servers, upgrades and support are added.
Forgetting to ask for a test export of transcripts and attendance before the contract is signed.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best student information systems in 2026?
Gibbon leads our ranking of 12. Gibbon takes first place because a school can run it on its own servers with no licence bill and no sales call, which wins the independence test outright.
The site says it was founded by Ross Parker at ICHK and is maintained by a team with contributors. The cost moves to your own people: hosting, upgrades and support belong to the school, and the site names no paid support offer.
Which student information systems publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 2 products on this page:
Gibbon: Free to use; the school hosts it on its own servers and no paid plans are named.
Classe365: Published entry price, then pay for what you use; Try for Free buttons, terms not stated.
The other 10 quote per organisation.
Is there a free student information system?
Gibbon offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these student information system vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: North America 6, Elsewhere 6.
Gibbon: Not stated by the vendor.
OpenSIS: United States.
Classe365: Not stated by the vendor.
Sycamore: Not stated by the vendor.
Rediker: United States.
Populi: Not stated by the vendor.
Alma: United States.
Gradelink: Not stated by the vendor.
Veracross: United States.
Aeries: Not stated by the vendor.
Infinite Campus: United States.
FACTS: United States.
Which student information systems are open source?
Gibbon.
Which student information systems can you host yourself?
Gibbon. The remaining 11 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Gibbon?
The next in line are OpenSIS, aimed at larger schools with many pupils and a comparatively short staff list, and Classe365, aimed at small schools that want admissions, teaching and fees under one login.
Who should not buy Gibbon?
Offices that need a vendor to host, support and train. The site names no paid plans, so hosting and support fall on the school's own staff..
Do you make a student information systems product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.