Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026

Teachers use these products to draft lesson plans, quizzes, rubrics and written feedback, and some let pupils talk to an AI tutor.

This guide ranks eleven of them by what a classroom pays, how far the free plan stretches, who runs the company and whether a school can buy without a long sales process.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What AI teaching assistants software does

An AI teaching assistant is software that turns a teacher's prompt into lesson plans, quizzes and feedback, and in some products gives pupils a supervised AI tutor of their own.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Ranking criteria for this AI teaching assistants tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.

11tools reviewed
8publish a price
7have a free tier
5countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1FobizzGermanyPublished yearly licences quoted including German VAT; a free Basic licence, three paid tiers and school packages—Teachers and schools wanting listed euro prices and training bundled with the toolsBuyers who need a monthly plan or a price in dollars
#2TeachMateAIUnited KingdomPublished monthly and annual Pro prices in pounds, per-licence Whole School packs, and a free basic plan—British teachers and schools buying in pounds with a monthly exitTeachers who want a Pro trial rather than a refund window
#3Edcafe AINot stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices billed annually for Pro and Premium; a free plan; schools contact salesYesTeachers who want to build pupil chatbots and mini apps without payingSchools wanting a stated legal entity before signing
#4AlmanackCanadaEntry plan at no charge, Pro with a two-week trial, collaborator-based tiers, amounts not shown; schools contact the vendorYesTeachers who already own a curriculum and need it adjusted and re-timedTeachers looking for a generator that builds worksheets from nothing
#5TweeUnited StatesPublished monthly rates billed annually for Basic and Pro; trial plan at no cost; Pro three-day trial; school plan shows no price—Individual teachers who want to pay a small monthly rate for generated materialsWhole schools needing a visible price for a shared plan
#6EduaideNot stated by the vendorPublished yearly Pro price with a monthly option, a free plan limited to eight resources a month, and school pricing on requestYesTeachers producing a few resources monthly who want a yearly upgradeDistricts that need public pricing and a stated country
#7Brisk TeachingUnited StatesFree for teachers; Premium and Intelligence quoted for schools and districts, with Premium priced per studentYesTeachers who live in Google-style web tools and want AI inside themSchools that must see a per-student price before a pilot
#8CuripodNot stated by the vendorZero-cost plan for every teacher; school, district and ELA alignment plans quoted per organisationYesEnglish departments wanting weekly writing practice tracked across whole classroomsTeachers of other subjects wanting a broad generator
#9SchoolAINot stated by the vendorTrial plan with five Spaces, then Pro and Scale plans whose amounts are absent from the pricing page—US teachers who want to launch supervised AI sessions for their pupilsTeachers outside the United States or buyers needing listed prices
#10MagicSchoolUnited StatesFree plan; Plus at a published monthly or annual rate with a trial; district pricing customYesIndividual teachers who want a free plan first and a cheap upgrade laterAnyone requiring a named owner or a stated Plus trial length
#11KhanmigoNot stated by the vendorFree for teachers; learner and family subscriptions at published monthly or annual rates; district pricing on requestYesTeachers who want a no-cost tutor and families who also want one at homeSchools requiring a stated company and country before adoption

Country: the vendor's base or contracting jurisdiction. Hosting is separate and is flagged per entry where it differs.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Fobizz · 2. TeachMateAI · 3. Edcafe AI · 4. Almanack · 5. Twee · 6. Eduaide · 7. Brisk Teaching · 8. Curipod · 9. SchoolAI · 10. MagicSchool · 11. Khanmigo

#1 Fobizz

Teacher tools and training sold as yearly licences with listed prices

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Fobizz splits its offer into a free Basic licence, a Tools-Flatrate, a Fortbildungs-Flatrate and a Kombi-Flatrate that the page recommends for unlimited use.

Schools start with single products, a Kombi package or a bundle that adds training, and the page says a school licence pays off from five people. Every price includes German VAT, which matters when comparing it with US-dollar rivals listed without a tax line.

What stands out
  • Yearly flat rates
  • Teacher training
  • School licence packs
Where it costs you
  • A single term of use still means paying for a whole twelve-month licence.
  • Authority and state licences are quoted, which slows a regional purchase.
Right for

Teachers and schools wanting listed euro prices and training bundled with the tools

Wrong for

Buyers who need a monthly plan or a price in dollars

GermanyPublished yearly licences quoted including German VAT; a free Basic licence, three paid tiers and school packages

#2 TeachMateAI

British teacher assistant priced in pounds with a card-free basic option

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Teachmate shows a monthly Pro, an annual Pro billed upfront with a first-year code, and Whole School licences quoted per year excluding VAT.

The school page speaks of a price from as little as two pounds per teacher each month, which only applies at larger pack sizes. Pro lists unlimited generations and an open chat. The 14-day refund replaces a trial, so test the free tools first.

What stands out
  • Pounds sterling pricing
  • Whole School packs
  • 14-day Pro refund
Where it costs you
  • Annual Pro renews higher than its first-year price, so year two costs more.
  • Legal name and ownership are not stated on the pricing page.
Right for

British teachers and schools buying in pounds with a monthly exit

Wrong for

Teachers who want a Pro trial rather than a refund window

United KingdomPublished monthly and annual Pro prices in pounds, per-licence Whole School packs, and a free basic plan

#3 Edcafe AI

Chatbots, mini apps and graders built from a free-forever plan

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The free plan promises unlimited AI generations, but the interactive pieces are counted: three chatbots, three mini apps, three graders, 40 participants per activity.

Pro raises each to 20 and 200 participants, and Premium removes the counts for chatbots, apps and graders and goes to 1,000 participants. Only Premium lists LMS integration with Moodle, Canvas and Blackboard, so a school on those platforms pays for the top tier.

What stands out
  • Custom chatbots
  • Assignment graders
  • Participant caps by plan
Where it costs you
  • Free-plan chatbots, mini apps and graders stop at three each, so a department hits the ceiling fast.
  • The operator is named as Inknoe with no country, entity form or address.
Right for

Teachers who want to build pupil chatbots and mini apps without paying

Wrong for

Schools wanting a stated legal entity before signing

Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices billed annually for Pro and Premium; a free plan; schools contact sales

#4 Almanack

Adapt, differentiate and replan lessons you already teach

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPricing on requestNorth America

Almanack frames the job differently from most rivals: take a curriculum lesson and make it fit, produce one lesson in several versions, then map the curriculum against your real calendar.

It connects to Google Classroom, Google Forms, Kahoot, Blooket and Quizlet. Pro is limited to some collaborators while Small Teams has unlimited ones, which suits a department better than a lone teacher. Schools get invoicing, but no price is shown.

What stands out
  • Lesson adaptation
  • Calendar replanning
  • Quiz-tool integrations
Where it costs you
  • The pricing page showed no Pro amounts when checked, so budgeting is not possible from the site.
  • Its three named features are about reshaping lessons, not writing new materials.
Right for

Teachers who already own a curriculum and need it adjusted and re-timed

Wrong for

Teachers looking for a generator that builds worksheets from nothing

CanadaEntry plan at no charge, Pro with a two-week trial, collaborator-based tiers, amounts not shown; schools contact the vendor

#5 Twee

Lesson materials with monthly run and audio-credit allowances per plan

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Twee measures use in runs and audio credits, which is easy to understand but easy to overspend. Basic allows 100 runs of non-Pro tools monthly with 2,500 audio credits, Pro marks basic tools unlimited with an asterisk and gives 100 media runs, and it adds 100 AI response checks.

Output leaves as PDF, .doc, Google Forms or Google Docs, or as interactive assignments shared by link.

What stands out
  • Run-based limits
  • Audio credits
  • Google Forms export
Where it costs you
  • Basic tools are counted in runs per month, so planning a whole term can exhaust the allowance.
  • Media tools accept only 10 minutes of input on Basic and Pro.
Right for

Individual teachers who want to pay a small monthly rate for generated materials

Wrong for

Whole schools needing a visible price for a shared plan

United StatesPublished monthly rates billed annually for Basic and Pro; trial plan at no cost; Pro three-day trial; school plan shows no price

#6 Eduaide

Resource generator with a monthly cap on its free plan

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Eduaide prices Pro per year with a small monthly equivalent shown, and adds a monthly option without displaying its price. Pro replaces the eight-resource cap with unlimited generations and allows longer topic prompts, five standards and three uploaded documents.

The homepage names Google Docs, Google Forms, Microsoft DOCX and YouTube integrations. Schools ask for a quote or demo, with volume discounts mentioned for a whole school.

What stands out
  • Eight free resources
  • Standards and uploads
  • Google Docs and DOCX
Where it costs you
  • Eight free resources a month works out at fewer than two each week.
  • No country or legal terms could be read, as the terms page was blocked when checked.
Right for

Teachers producing a few resources monthly who want a yearly upgrade

Wrong for

Districts that need public pricing and a stated country

Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly Pro price with a monthly option, a free plan limited to eight resources a month, and school pricing on request

#7 Brisk Teaching

Browser extension that layers AI tools over sites teachers already use

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Brisk works as a browser extension, described as an AI layer over any tool, site or resource, rather than only as a separate website. The teacher plan offers over 20 tools and Premium over 35.

Free-plan tools also cover batch feedback and a lesson plan generator. Premium and Intelligence are sold to districts by quote, and the FAQ says pilot periods are available without stating their length.

What stands out
  • Browser extension
  • Batch feedback
  • Pilot periods
Where it costs you
  • Premium is billed per student, but the page does not give a rate.
  • The free plan caps batch feedback by uploads, while Premium removes that cap.
Right for

Teachers who live in Google-style web tools and want AI inside them

Wrong for

Schools that must see a per-student price before a pilot

United StatesFree for teachers; Premium and Intelligence quoted for schools and districts, with Premium priced per student

#8 Curipod

Interactive lessons plus writing practice aligned to district curricula

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere

Curipod's pricing page leads with a free teacher plan and two custom-priced district plans, one marked recommended. The ELA plan matches writing practice to curricula and scope and sequence, with sample alignments for HMH, Savvas and Bluebonnet, and reports writing growth by classroom and school.

Because every paid option needs a quote or demo, a school cannot compare it with listed-price rivals without contacting the vendor.

What stands out
  • Writing practice
  • Curriculum alignment
  • Growth tracking
Where it costs you
  • The paid product is aimed at English language arts, so other subjects have no paid equivalent listed.
  • Legal entity, address and country could not be read on its legal pages.
Right for

English departments wanting weekly writing practice tracked across whole classrooms

Wrong for

Teachers of other subjects wanting a broad generator

Not stated by the vendorZero-cost plan for every teacher; school, district and ELA alignment plans quoted per organisation

#9 SchoolAI

Teacher-launched Spaces for pupil sessions, with a capped trial

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

The unit of use is the Space, which a teacher launches for pupils. The trial allows just five Spaces and five yearly launches, with a 10MB ceiling on documents.

Pro and Scale both list unlimited launches and sessions and 50MB, and the page does not say how they differ in other respects. The site names only SchoolAI as owner, with a Utah contact address.

What stands out
  • Pupil Spaces
  • Launch limits
  • Document upload sizes
Where it costs you
  • Trial use is capped at five Spaces.
  • Terms exclude users beyond the American market.
Right for

US teachers who want to launch supervised AI sessions for their pupils

Wrong for

Teachers outside the United States or buyers needing listed prices

Not stated by the vendorTrial plan with five Spaces, then Pro and Scale plans whose amounts are absent from the pricing page

#10 MagicSchool

Large teacher tool library with a forever-free individual plan

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

MagicSchool's Plus plan costs less per month when billed annually, with the page stating a 36 percent discount against paying monthly. Enterprise targets districts with custom quotes and mentions volume discounts.

Because the free plan lists no numeric caps yet reserves unlimited generations for paid tiers, the real ceiling is unclear until you use it. Terms identify Magic School, Inc. and Colorado law, but no owner.

What stands out
  • Unlimited on Plus
  • Output history
  • District quotes
Where it costs you
  • Unlimited generations and output history appear only under paid and district plans.
  • The trial length for Plus is not stated on the pricing page.
Right for

Individual teachers who want a free plan first and a cheap upgrade later

Wrong for

Anyone requiring a named owner or a stated Plus trial length

United StatesFree plan; Plus at a published monthly or annual rate with a trial; district pricing custom

#11 Khanmigo

Free teacher access beside paid learner and family subscriptions

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best AI Teaching Assistants in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

On this page Khanmigo splits three ways: a teacher plan with no billing, learner and family subscriptions that cost the same, and district tools sold on request.

The family plan lets a parent link children and see their interactions and moderation alerts, which is the clearest pupil-safety feature in the facts. Its pricing page shows dollar amounts with no currency code and excludes sales tax.

What stands out
  • Teacher access
  • Family plan
  • District tools
Where it costs you
  • The site names no legal entity or country and links to Khan Academy without stating a relationship.
  • Paid plans list no trial, and sales tax is added on top.
Right for

Teachers who want a no-cost tutor and families who also want one at home

Wrong for

Schools requiring a stated company and country before adoption

Not stated by the vendorFree for teachers; learner and family subscriptions at published monthly or annual rates; district pricing on request
06

How to choose AI teaching assistants software

An AI teaching assistant is software that turns a teacher's prompt into lesson plans, quizzes and feedback, and in some products gives pupils a supervised AI tutor of their own. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    The split is 8 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Fobizz, TeachMateAI, Edcafe AI, Twee, Eduaide, Brisk Teaching, MagicSchool, Khanmigo.

  2. 02

    Look at where the vendor sits

    The vendors on this page are based in 5 countries (Elsewhere 5, North America 4, Europe 2). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.

How far an AI teaching assistant's free plan really goes

Free plans in this market are rationed in different units, so compare the unit before the price. Eduaide stops at eight resources a month. Twee counts runs, and its trial plan gives five. Edcafe AI promises unlimited generations but allows three chatbots, three mini apps and three graders. SchoolAI's trial allows five Spaces and five launches a year.

MagicSchool reserves unlimited generations for Plus, while Brisk Teaching limits batch feedback by uploads. A teacher who marks thirty essays weekly burns through a run count faster than one who plans a unit each month. Write down your typical week, then check which cap you would meet first, because the free plan that looks widest may be capped on the one thing you need.

  • Count your weekly outputs against the free plan's unit
  • Note whether the cap is on generations, runs or objects
  • Test the free plan on a real week before paying

Individual licence or school licence for AI teaching tools

A teacher buying alone and a school buying for staff meet different pages. Fobizz and TeachMateAI publish both, with Fobizz saying school licences pay back from five staff and TeachMateAI selling Whole School packs of 5 to 50 licences. Brisk Teaching and Curipod show custom pricing for schools, and Brisk Teaching says Premium is priced per student without a rate.

Edcafe AI sends schools to sales for Premium extras. Ask for a written quote early, and ask what the licence covers: tools only, training as well, or both together. A published school price lets a head of department judge value before the first call, while a quote-only price means a longer procurement.

  • Ask whether pricing is per teacher, per student or per pack
  • Request the school quote before a department pilot
  • Check what a school licence adds beyond personal use

Adapting lessons you teach versus generating new materials

Some products start from a blank prompt and others start from what you already have. Almanack is built around adapting a curriculum lesson, producing versions and replanning against a calendar. Brisk Teaching works as a browser extension over sites teachers already use. Eduaide lets Pro users upload up to three documents and set five standards, and Twee exports to PDF, .doc, Google Forms and Google Docs.

If your school mandates a curriculum, a tool that reshapes existing material respects that choice, while a generator may produce lessons that ignore it. Try one real lesson from your own scheme of work in each candidate and compare how much editing remains afterwards, since time saved is the only measure that matters.

  • Run one lesson from your own scheme through each tool
  • Check which formats the output can leave in
  • Confirm standards and uploads are included on your plan

Pupil-facing tutors compared with teacher-only tools

Most products here are for teachers, but a few put pupils in front of the AI, which changes the safety question. SchoolAI launches Spaces for pupil sessions, Edcafe AI builds custom chatbots with participant limits per activity, and Curipod gives pupils writing practice with instant feedback. Khanmigo goes further for families, letting a parent add children and see their interaction history and moderation alerts.

A teacher-only tool leaves you to review everything before pupils see it, whereas a pupil-facing one asks what the school will monitor. Find out which pupil data is stored, who sees the conversations and what the vendor's terms say about the age and location of users before you launch anything.

  • Decide whether pupils will use the tool directly
  • Ask who can read pupil conversations
  • Check the terms for age and country limits

What goes wrong most often when buying AI teaching assistants software

  • Choosing on the headline price when the free plan caps the exact output you create every week.
  • Assuming a school licence is cheap because an individual one is, when Brisk Teaching and Curipod quote schools separately.
  • Letting pupils into a chatbot before reading who can see the conversation and what the terms say about their age.
  • Trusting a tool's dollar sign without a currency code, tax line or renewal price, as Eduaide, Twee and Khanmigo show only a bare symbol.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best AI teaching assistants in 2026?

Our ranking of 11 puts Fobizz first. fobizz | 101skills GmbH of Hamburg lists every individual and school licence price and gives students and trainee teachers free use without limits.

Schools can test every offer for 15 days. The catch is that paid licences are priced per year, and authority or state-wide licences are quoted, so a regional rollout means a sales conversation.

Which AI teaching assistants tools publish their pricing?

The ones that do, with the model each states:

  • Fobizz: Published yearly licences quoted including German VAT; a free Basic licence, three paid tiers and school packages.
  • TeachMateAI: Published monthly and annual Pro prices in pounds, per-licence Whole School packs, and a free basic plan.
  • Edcafe AI: Published monthly prices billed annually for Pro and Premium; a free plan; schools contact sales.
  • Twee: Published monthly rates billed annually for Basic and Pro; trial plan at no cost; Pro three-day trial; school plan shows no price.
  • Eduaide: Published yearly Pro price with a monthly option, a free plan limited to eight resources a month, and school pricing on request.
  • Brisk Teaching: Free for teachers; Premium and Intelligence quoted for schools and districts, with Premium priced per student.
  • MagicSchool: Free plan; Plus at a published monthly or annual rate with a trial; district pricing custom.
  • Khanmigo: Free for teachers; learner and family subscriptions at published monthly or annual rates; district pricing on request.

The remaining 3 sell by quote.

Is there a free AI teaching assistants tool?

Edcafe AI, Almanack, Eduaide, Brisk Teaching, Curipod, MagicSchool, Khanmigo have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.

Where are these AI teaching assistants vendors established?

Across 5 countries (Elsewhere 5, North America 4, Europe 2):

  • Fobizz: Germany.
  • TeachMateAI: United Kingdom.
  • Edcafe AI: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Almanack: Canada.
  • Twee: United States.
  • Eduaide: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Brisk Teaching: United States.
  • Curipod: Not stated by the vendor.
  • SchoolAI: Not stated by the vendor.
  • MagicSchool: United States.
  • Khanmigo: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Fobizz?

TeachMateAI and Edcafe AI are the next two on this page. TeachMateAI is for British teachers and schools buying in pounds with a monthly exit; Edcafe AI is for Teachers who want to build pupil chatbots and mini apps without paying.

Who should not buy Fobizz?

Buyers who need a monthly plan or a price in dollars. A single term of use still means paying for a whole twelve-month licence..

—

Tools reviewed

11 products
—

Alternatives pages in the same area

All alternatives
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Vendors who think their AI teaching assistants product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.

Suggest a product →