Plant identification apps turn a photo into a species name and, in many cases, a care routine.
This guide ranks eleven on the cost each vendor shows, any stated allowance, who stands behind the app, and how clearly coverage and limits are described. Independent research projects and small companies come before apps owned by corporate groups.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What plant identification apps software does
A plant identification app matches a photo of a leaf, flower or whole plant to a species, then adds names, fact sheets, diagnoses or care reminders.
Every plant identification apps tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Research-project identifier for 30,000 species, ad-free and usable without constant internet
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Flora Incognita pairs plant identification with saving observations for science, and offers plant fact sheets covering protection status and distribution. It keeps working without a constant internet connection, which matters on a hike.
It leads this ranking because the vendor describes it as free of charge and advertising, and research teams stand behind it. Against that, the page gives no usage limits, no country and no licence, so businesses have little to rely on.
What stands out
Research project
Ad-free
Offline use
Where it costs you
The page names no country and no software licence, only a copyright notice.
It lists no paid plans, so there is no stated route to commercial support.
Right for
Hobbyists and field walkers who want an ad-free identifier backed by researchers.
Wrong for
Buyers needing contract terms, an API or support.
Not stated by the vendorDescribed by the vendor as totally free of charge and advertising; no paid plans or prices listed
Citizen-science plant identifier whose trademark sits with four research bodies
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Beyond identifying a plant from a picture, Pl@ntNet lets contributors submit plants and review each other's work, and it adds a Diseases and Pests identification feature.
The scale quoted on the page is large, with 84,710 species and 77 floras. Funding rests on donations rather than subscriptions. The cost to a buyer is uncertainty: no country, no licence and no price are stated on the page read.
What stands out
Citizen science
Donation-funded
Public API
Where it costs you
The page does not state the licence of the code.
No price or API limit is shown, so developers must ask before building on it.
Right for
Botany-minded users and developers who value a documented dataset and collaborative review.
Wrong for
Teams wanting care reminders or a guaranteed support channel.
Not stated by the vendorNo price stated; the page asks for donations to keep it open and free to everyone
Photo identification plus expert gardening advice from an Indiana-based company
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The distinctive part is the expert route: Get Expert Advice puts questions to gardening experts, and Your Answers keeps earlier questions and replies in one place.
Identification itself works by aiming a phone or tablet at the plant, and a separate pests and diseases check sits beside it. The unknowns are commercial. A Free Plant Identification heading appears without saying what is free or for how long, and no numeric limits are given.
What stands out
Expert advice
Pest check
Question history
Where it costs you
Nothing on the pages read says what the identification costs or how long it lasts.
The /privacy path returned 404, so data handling could not be checked.
Right for
Home gardeners who want to ask a person when the photo result is unclear.
Wrong for
Anyone who must see prices and limits before installing.
Not stated by the vendorHome page shows no prices or plans; app listed on both stores with no cost given
Nonprofit observation community where identifications come with open data
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
For this ranking iNaturalist matters as the nonprofit option, community-powered and open about its data. The page counts over 7,000 papers citing its data, and the apps have over 700,000 downloads.
It spans wildlife generally, not only plants, which dilutes it for a houseplant buyer. Details on plans were not readable beyond the stated free use, since the about page sat behind a bot check, so a buyer should expect to confirm terms directly.
What stands out
Nonprofit
Open observations
Seek for children
Where it costs you
It records wildlife observations generally, so plant care is outside its scope.
The page names no country or legal entity, and the about page was blocked by a bot check.
Right for
Naturalists who want identifications checked by a community and kept as open data.
Wrong for
Owners wanting watering reminders or care plans for houseplants.
Not stated by the vendorFree to use; nonprofit and community-powered, with no paid plans described on the home page
Care-reminder app from Sweden that also identifies plants from a photo
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Planta treats identification as the entry point to care. Reminders cover watering, fertilising, misting, repotting and cleaning, and Dr Planta turns reported symptoms into a treatment plan.
The footer shows Planta AB, and the page copy says the app is made in Sweden. The catch is that a buyer sees only Download now and Buy now buttons, with a 12-month offer that carries no stated terms.
What stands out
Care reminders
Plant doctor
Swedish company
Where it costs you
Currency, cost and plan limits are absent from the landing page.
It mentions neither a trial nor a no-cost option, and the owner is not stated.
Right for
Houseplant owners who care more about watering schedules than about naming species.
Wrong for
Buyers who need a plain identifier with a stated price.
SwedenPrices not shown on the home page; a 12-month offer is named without details
Photo identifier for 17,000+ species with care plans and botanist help
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
What stands out is the stated allowance: three plants at no cost, then a subscription for unlimited identification, disease diagnosis and botanist help. A one-time lifetime option is mentioned without details.
The footer carries only a rights notice, so you cannot tell who runs it. The vendor also claims 40m+ global users, a figure the page does not back with evidence.
What stands out
Three-plant allowance
Ask the Botanist
Mushroom identification
Where it costs you
Its accuracy figures conflict on the page (84 to 92% against 98%) and are vendor claims.
Prices, trial terms, country and owner are all missing from the page read.
Right for
Plant owners with a few plants who want a trial run before paying.
Wrong for
Collectors with many plants, as care is capped at three.
Not stated by the vendorFree plan covers photo identification and care for three plants; paid subscription and lifetime option, prices not shown
Identification for LLM and B2B use, with MCP server and OpenAPI spec
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Plant.id is built around machine access. The header reads plant.id by kindwise, and the trial lives at agents.kindwise.com, with the MCP endpoint at agents.kindwise.com/mcp and the OpenAPI file at agents.kindwise.com/openapi.json.
No usage limits are stated for the trial. A buyer gets integration material but no price list, no hosting statement and no licence, so costs must be asked about before building anything.
What stands out
Kindwise Agent Trial
MCP endpoint
OpenAPI 3.0
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no plan names, prices or usage limits.
The privacy policy names no legal entity or address, so the operator is unclear.
Right for
Developers wiring identification into agents or applications through an API.
Wrong for
Gardeners wanting an app with reminders and journals.
Not stated by the vendorPricing page lists no plans or amounts; a keyless B2B trial is offered, terms not stated
Photo scanner for 10,000+ species with a weekly or lifetime subscription
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The subscriptions page offers two paid shapes: a weekly plan and a Lifetime subscription. A buyer who dislikes weekly billing has only the lifetime choice, since no monthly or annual plan is listed.
The species count of more than 10,000 is the only limit stated. Trial wording is conditional, with the 3-day trial applying only if offered, so confirm what the store listing shows.
What stands out
Weekly plan
Lifetime option
Photo guidance
Where it costs you
Exact prices and currency appear only in the application, not on the site.
The page says Created by ScaleUp but does not say who owns the product or where it is based.
Right for
Casual users who want a scanner and will check in-app prices first.
Wrong for
Buyers who need an annual plan or stated company details.
Not stated by the vendorApp free to download and use for main features; 1-week plan with a 3-day trial if offered, or Lifetime, prices shown in app
Mobile identifier for 32,000+ taxa with reminders and a plant collection
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
LeafSnap leans on volume claims: more than 32,000 taxa, unlimited reminders and an unlimited collection. Care guides and a list of today's and upcoming tasks sit beside the scanner.
The operator is only traceable through a copyright credit to Appixi and links to appixi.net. With no price, trial or country shown, the page supports using it casually but not planning a budget around it.
What stands out
32,000+ taxa
Care reminders
iOS and Android
Where it costs you
The word unlimited appears with no price or plan attached.
Only a footer credit to Appixi hints at who stands behind the app.
Right for
Phone users wanting a straightforward scan, care list and collection in one place.
Wrong for
Anyone who needs to see costs before installing.
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or tiers shown; copy promises unlimited identification, reminders and collection
Snap-to-identify app with plant encyclopedia and care guide, in 12 languages
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The reference material is the draw. The encyclopedia is browsable A-Z, by toxic plants, weeds and region, and the insights cover toxicity and treatment as well as the name. Twelve interface languages widen the audience.
What the page withholds is everything commercial: no price, no limits, no trial terms and no owner. That keeps it below the vendors that state at least a country or an allowance.
What stands out
12 languages
Plant encyclopedia
Toxicity insights
Where it costs you
Cost, plan tiers and usage limits are not given on the landing page.
No country, owner or parent company is stated on the page read.
Right for
Readers who want an encyclopedia and toxicity notes beside the scan result.
Wrong for
Buyers who need pricing or company facts before downloading.
Not stated by the vendorNo prices, tiers or limits on the home page; trial terms are not described
Plant care and identification app owned by Bending Spoons Operations, Milan
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Plant Identification Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Blossom's filters are specific: advanced search by light, difficulty and pet safety helps match plants to a room and a household. A gardening schedule, planting plan, My Garden and Wishlist extend it past identification.
The ownership line is clear and corporate, with a sole-shareholder structure under Bending Spoons S.p.A. That explains the bottom position here, as independence outranks features, and the missing prices and the Android-only light meter do not help.
What stands out
Bending Spoons
Gardening schedule
Pet-safety search
Where it costs you
The light meter is available on Android only, as the page states.
Plans, prices and trial terms are not described on the home page.
Right for
Gardeners who filter plants by light level, difficulty and pet safety.
Wrong for
Buyers who prefer an independent, single-product software vendor.
ItalyNo prices or tiers on the home page; Upgrade Plan button carries no stated terms
A plant identification app matches a photo of a leaf, flower or whole plant to a species, then adds names, fact sheets, diagnoses or care reminders. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 5 publish a pricing model you can read today: Flora Incognita, Pl@ntNet, iNaturalist, PlantIn, PlantApp.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 11 vendors sit in 3 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 9, Europe 2. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
How to read species counts in a plant identification app
Every plant identification app quotes a coverage number, and they are not like for like. Pl@ntNet cites 84,710 species and 77 floras, iNaturalist cites more than 550,000 species across all wildlife, Flora Incognita and Blossom say more than 30,000, LeafSnap claims more than 32,000 taxa, PlantIn names 17,000+ and PlantApp more than 10,000.
Those figures describe database size as stated by each vendor, not how often a photo is matched correctly. PlantIn even prints 84 to 92% accuracy in internal tests next to a 98% claim. Use the count to see whether your region and plant type are plausible, then test the same three difficult plants in two apps before trusting either.
Photograph the same awkward plant in two apps and compare answers
Check whether the count covers plants only or all wildlife
Treat vendor accuracy percentages as claims until you can test them
Pricing in plant identification apps is usually hidden
Most vendors here show nothing about cost on the page: PictureThis, Planta, Blossom and LeafSnap list no prices, tiers or limits, and Plant.id shows no plans on its pricing page. Others give partial terms. PlantIn states a free plan limited to three plants, PlantApp lists a 1-week plan with a 3-day trial if offered plus a Lifetime subscription, with prices shown only in the application, and Flora Incognita and iNaturalist describe themselves as free.
Pl@ntNet asks for donations instead. Before installing, open the store listing and note the billing period, because a weekly plan and a lifetime payment answer very different budgets, and a trial that converts quietly can cost more than expected.
Find the billing period in the store listing, not on the vendor page
Ask whether a trial renews automatically into a paid plan
Note any cap, such as PlantIn's three-plant allowance
Identification versus care: Planta, PlantIn and Blossom compared
A name on its own rarely keeps an app installed, so several products here build care routines around the scan. Planta sets watering reminders from over 30 parameters plus local climate and weather data and adds Dr Planta for symptoms. PlantIn offers care plans, a light meter and Ask the Botanist.
Blossom adds a gardening schedule, a planting plan, My Garden and a search by light, difficulty and pet safety, though its light meter exists on Android only. PictureThis leans on an encyclopedia and toxicity insights. If you only want a species name, the care layer is cost you may not need, and the research projects deliver the name without it.
Decide whether you want reminders or only a species name
Check platform limits such as the Android-only light meter
Look for toxicity or pet-safety information if animals share the home
Research projects and APIs: Pl@ntNet, iNaturalist and Plant.id
Developers and naturalists have a different shortlist. Pl@ntNet offers an API for developers, open data including GBIF and a 300k-image dataset, and a collaborative review process, although its page states no code licence. iNaturalist makes all observations open data and has a children's app, Seek. Flora Incognita sends observations to science and runs on Android, Huawei AppGallery and iOS.
Plant.id, shown as plant.id by kindwise, offers a keyless B2B trial with an MCP endpoint and an OpenAPI 3.0 file, yet no page read states prices or limits. Ask each project about commercial use, attribution and rate limits in writing before relying on it inside a product, and keep a copy of the answer.
Ask about commercial use of the API in writing
Confirm rate limits, because none are stated for Plant.id
Check whether data you submit becomes open data, as on iNaturalist
What goes wrong most often when buying plant identification apps software
Choosing an app by the species count alone, when coverage of your local flora and the quality of the photo decide the result.
Installing a scanner with a weekly plan and forgetting the trial renews, because PlantApp-style plans show prices only in the app.
Treating a plant care app as a research tool: reminders from Planta or Blossom do not give you the open datasets that Pl@ntNet or iNaturalist publish.
Trusting a toxicity or disease result from a photo alone when a pet or a crop is at stake, instead of confirming with an expert route such as Garden Answers or Ask the Botanist.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best plant identification apps in 2026?
Flora Incognita takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Flora Incognita comes from a research project led by Prof. Dr. Patrick Mäder (Technische Universität Ilmenau) and Dr. Jana Wäldchen (Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry).
The vendor calls the app totally free of charge and advertising, and it identifies more than 30,000 species on Android, Huawei AppGallery and iOS. The weak spot is paperwork: the page names no country, no software licence and no business terms.
Which plant identification apps tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 5 products on this page:
Flora Incognita: Described by the vendor as totally free of charge and advertising; no paid plans or prices listed.
Pl@ntNet: No price stated; the page asks for donations to keep it open and free to everyone.
iNaturalist: Free to use; nonprofit and community-powered, with no paid plans described on the home page.
PlantIn: Free plan covers photo identification and care for three plants; paid subscription and lifetime option, prices not shown.
PlantApp: App free to download and use for main features; 1-week plan with a 3-day trial if offered, or Lifetime, prices shown in app.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free plant identification apps tool?
iNaturalist, PlantIn can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these plant identification apps vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 9, Europe 2:
Flora Incognita: Not stated by the vendor.
Pl@ntNet: Not stated by the vendor.
Garden Answers: Not stated by the vendor.
iNaturalist: Not stated by the vendor.
Planta: Sweden.
PlantIn: Not stated by the vendor.
Plant.id: Not stated by the vendor.
PlantApp: Not stated by the vendor.
LeafSnap: Not stated by the vendor.
PictureThis: Not stated by the vendor.
Blossom: Italy.
What should you use instead of Flora Incognita?
Pl@ntNet and Garden Answers are the next two on this page. Pl@ntNet is for Botany-minded users and developers who value a documented dataset and collaborative review.; Garden Answers is for Home gardeners who want to ask a person when the photo result is unclear..
Who should not buy Flora Incognita?
Buyers needing contract terms, an API or support.. The page names no country and no software licence, only a copyright notice..
Your plant identification apps product is not among these 11? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.