Guest communication software handles the conversation between a booking and a checkout: text and WhatsApp threads, AI replies, digital check-in and upsell offers.
This guide ranks eleven products on what a buyer can verify from the vendor's own pages: a published price, a trial, stated limits, named integrations and vendor independence. Housekeeping-only and review-survey tools were left out.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What guest communication software does
Guest communication software lets lodging operators message guests over SMS, WhatsApp and web chat, answer routine questions with AI, and tie each conversation to reservation data in a property system.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the guest communication tool was built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Quoted per room across Core, Pro and Enterprise; payment processing fees billed separately
—
Hotels replacing their PMS who want messaging and keys inside it
Hotels keeping their current PMS and wanting only a messaging layer
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Hotel messaging and phone answering priced per room, with rates published
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The pricing page works like a rate card. Staff and Guest cost $1.25 per room per month billed annually or $1.75 monthly, Staff+ and Guest+ $2.50 or $3.50, Pro $4.00 or $5.60, with monthly minimums from $50 to $224.
Telephony has a monthly allowance and overage is passed through, so a busy front desk phone can push the bill above the headline rate. Housekeeping management with AI room assignment comes from the same vendor.
What stands out
Per-room rate card
14-day trial
AI voice answering
Where it costs you
A 40-room minimum rules out small guesthouses.
The telephony allowance has no stated size, and AI voice needs a Guest+ or Pro plan.
Right for
Independent hotels of 40 rooms or more wanting published per-room pricing
Wrong for
Guesthouses under 40 rooms or buyers wanting one flat fee
Not stated by the vendorPer room per month, cheaper billed annually; 14-day trial on every plan; 40-room minimum
Per-unit guest messaging for rental operators, priced openly in USD or EUR
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Plans scale with inventory. Core is $16 per unit on yearly billing, Pro $24 for up to five brands, and Max $28 with five times the EnsoAI usage. Core lists at $20 on monthly billing, and quarterly billing saves 10%.
Workflows accept branching conditions, and the Boarding Pass portal carries smart lock codes and Apple Wallet passes. Custom quotes apply from ten units. No setup or onboarding fees are listed, yet the demo is a sales call.
What stands out
Per-unit pricing
Boarding Pass portal
Toronto headquarters
Where it costs you
The 89% resolved-message figure is a vendor claim with no method shown.
Core carries a five-unit minimum, so a single-unit host cannot start on it.
Right for
Operators of five or more rental units wanting AI replies and a guest portal
Wrong for
Single-property hosts or buyers wanting a trial before talking to sales
CanadaPer unit per month, with discounts for quarterly and yearly billing; demo call offered
Chatbot and WhatsApp campaigns for hotels, with plans priced in three currencies
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Limits climb with each tier. Basic gives 25 standard FAQ topics, three languages and webchat. Pro lifts that to unlimited topics, 132 languages, unlimited agents and messages, and multiple properties.
Premium adds unlimited interactions, four WhatsApp campaigns per reservation and PMS or CRM integration. Prices appear in euros, dollars and pounds, and a second billing option is slightly higher. Hijiffy claims campaign open rates above 80%, which is its own figure.
What stands out
Setup fee per tier
132 languages on Pro
WhatsApp campaigns
Where it costs you
Basic is limited to webchat, 25 FAQ topics and three languages.
Setup fees of EUR 99 to EUR 599 come on top of the monthly price.
Right for
Hotels wanting a multilingual chatbot plus WhatsApp messages triggered by reservation events
Wrong for
Properties wanting WhatsApp on the entry tier or no setup fee
Not stated by the vendorMonthly prices by room from EUR 99 for Basic; setup fee per tier; no trial mentioned
Unified inbox and scheduled guest messages in a free Essentials plan
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Messaging is the thin edge of a wider rental toolkit here. The free Essentials tier carries scheduled guest messages, Inbox AI drafts and replies under the host's control, and the unified inbox pulls in the four synced channels.
The trial lasts 14 days without a card, and annual billing saves 12%. Mogul shows a contact-sales entry. The privacy policy gives no legal entity or address, so the owner cannot be confirmed from it.
What stands out
Unified inbox
Inbox AI drafts
Scheduled messages
Where it costs you
Paid plan amounts are not shown, so cost per property cannot be compared with other vendors.
Listed fees include 10% processing and 2.5% per clean, capped at US$5, on top of the plan.
Right for
Short-term rental hosts wanting one inbox across Airbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com and Agoda
Wrong for
Hotels needing kiosks, front desk tools or phone answering
NetherlandsFree Essentials; Host, Professional and Mogul show no amounts; 14-day trial; annual saves 12%
One inbox for WhatsApp, email, SMS and OTA messages, priced by minimum
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Duve sorts its plans by minimum package: Basic $120, Pro $150, Premium $200, with Enterprise by contact. Integrations number over 150 and include Mews, Cloudbeds, Oracle Hospitality, Adyen, Stripe, SALTO and ASSA ABLOY, which matters when keys and payments must reach the same guest record.
Duve claims 3,450 customers in 96 countries, a figure from its own site. The founders are named as Jeremy Atlan, David Mezuman and Shai Bar, with no founding year.
What stands out
Unified inbox
Digital room keys
150+ integrations
Where it costs you
Only a minimum package is quoted, so the real monthly bill cannot be worked out from the page.
No company address or ownership is stated, so a buyer cannot place the vendor.
Right for
Hotels and rentals wanting one inbox plus digital keys through Wallet
Wrong for
Buyers who need a fixed all-in price or a named legal entity
Not stated by the vendorMinimum monthly package by plan; Enterprise on request; no trial mentioned
Guest messaging, guidebooks and contactless check-in from a Canadian company
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page names five Operto Guest features: Guest Messaging, a Digital Guidebook, Digital Contracts, Guest Verification and Contactless Check-In, the last described as avoiding in-person handoff.
The terms name Operto Guest Technologies Inc. and British Columbia law, and no parent company or acquisition appears on the pages read. Pricing and hosting can only be learned by booking a demo or a call.
What stands out
Guest messaging
Digital contracts
Contactless check-in
Where it costs you
No plan or price is published, so budgeting needs a sales call.
The pages read do not say how the product is hosted.
Right for
Operators wanting messaging, contracts and verified check-in from one Canadian vendor
Wrong for
Buyers needing published prices before speaking to a salesperson
CanadaNo plans or prices published; demo or call booking is the route in; no trial mentioned
AI agent and voice assistant that answer guests from reservation details
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Staff describe a procedure in plain language and Akia saves it as a reusable Skill, while guests reach digital check-in, guidebooks and upsells through browser-based Mini Apps with no download or login.
Plan ceilings are explicit: Pro allows three journeys and nine touchpoints, Max nine and fifteen, with unlimited users throughout. A public API and iOS and Android apps are mentioned. Akia claims up to 90% of messages never reach staff, without showing a method.
What stands out
AI Voice calls
Journey caps
Browser Mini Apps
Where it costs you
Basic allows one journey and six touchpoints, which caps automation early.
Marketing, Reputation and Device Hub are separate modules with no prices shown.
Right for
Hotels on Opera, Mews, Cloudbeds or Streamline wanting AI answering by text and phone
Wrong for
Buyers wanting prices published or a stated country of operation
Not stated by the vendorBasic, Pro and Max via sales; capped by journeys and touchpoints; add-on modules sold separately
Guest messaging across SMS, WhatsApp, LINE and WeChat with unlimited users
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Core covers mobile check-in, guest messaging and a digital compendium. Advanced adds AI messaging responses, tablet registration, digital tipping and smart checkout, and Pro adds AI webchat.
The site claims over 20,000 hotels in 125 countries and names AICPA SOC and PCI DSS v4 certifications, all vendor statements. Founded in 2017 with offices in London, Dallas, Manila, Singapore, Gurugram and Mexico City, it names San Francisco and New York City as headquarters.
What stands out
LINE and WeChat
Unlimited users
Quote-based tiers
Where it costs you
All three plans are quote-only, with no currency or per-unit basis shown.
AI replies start at Advanced and AI webchat at Pro, so Core buyers do not get them.
Right for
Hotels wanting WeChat and LINE messaging with unlimited users and data
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices or a free trial before a demo
Not stated by the vendorCore, Advanced and Pro by quote; unlimited users and data on every plan; no trial mentioned
Pre-stay, front desk and in-stay upsell messaging, now owned by Plusgrade
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Oaky splits into three products: Pre-Stay Upsell, Front Desk Upsell and In-Stay Upsell, each billed on a quote shaped by the products you pick. Two-way PMS integrations feed the offers, room upgrade prices move dynamically, and the site lists OTA access.
Founded in 2013 as Oaky B.V. in Amsterdam, with a Singapore office from 2019, it now sits under Plusgrade, and the acquisition date is not given.
What stands out
Upsell messaging
Acquired by Plusgrade
25 languages
Where it costs you
Pricing is tailored per product with no plan or amount shown.
Plusgrade now owns the vendor, so independence is not on offer here.
Right for
Hotels wanting guest messages that sell upgrades and extras before and during stays
Wrong for
Properties wanting a general support inbox or fixed published pricing
Not stated by the vendorQuote only, tailored to the Oaky products chosen; no plans shown; no trial mentioned
Two-way SMS and WhatsApp conversations tied to stay details, from Actabl
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page is short on commercial detail and clear on workflow. Every guest message is stored so staff see the full history, conversations and tasks are routed to departments, and requests sit next to stay details.
PMS integration is part of onboarding, though the PMS is unnamed. ALICE sits under Actabl with a link to Acadia and a 2026 copyright to Actabl, and a demo request or product tour is the only route in.
What stands out
SMS and WhatsApp
No guest app
Actabl product
Where it costs you
The product page names no PMS that connects to guest messaging.
No plans, prices or country appear on the page, so budgeting starts with a demo.
Right for
Hotels wanting texting and WhatsApp routed to departments rather than a guest app
Wrong for
Buyers needing published prices, a named PMS link or a country
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices shown; demo request and product tour only; no trial mentioned
Hotel system with AI WhatsApp and SMS messaging inside its Pro plan
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Guest Communication Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Here the guest conversation hangs off the guest record. All plans share one guest profile from booking to check-out, with dietary needs and preferences synced through POS, and Mews Pro adds self-serve kiosks, digital keys and WhatsApp and SMS replies from AI.
Pricing is per room and quoted; the FAQ calls it indicative of a 10-room property without giving figures. The website and marketing controller is Mews Systems Limited in London, while the main controller is Dutch.
What stands out
AI messaging in Pro
Single guest profile
Marketplace integrations
Where it costs you
Messaging with AI is listed under the Pro plan of a full system.
Payment processing fees are billed separately and no prices are shown.
Right for
Hotels replacing their PMS who want messaging and keys inside it
Wrong for
Hotels keeping their current PMS and wanting only a messaging layer
NetherlandsQuoted per room across Core, Pro and Enterprise; payment processing fees billed separately
Guest communication software lets lodging operators message guests over SMS, WhatsApp and web chat, answer routine questions with AI, and tie each conversation to reservation data in a property system. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Start with pricing transparency
The split is 1 published against 10 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Hospitable.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 3 countries: Elsewhere 7, North America 2, Europe 2.
Guest communication software pricing: per room, per unit or by quote
The unit on the invoice differs more than the amount. HelloShift and Hijiffy charge per room, with HelloShift starting at $1.25 and Hijiffy at EUR 99 a month for Basic. Enso Connect charges per unit from $16, Duve quotes a minimum package of $120 to $200, and Canary Technologies, Akia, Operto and ALICE show no amounts at all.
Check what sits outside the headline: HelloShift passes telephony overage through, Hijiffy adds a setup fee of EUR 99 to EUR 599, and Akia sells Marketing, Reputation and Device Hub separately. Entry size matters too, since HelloShift has a 40-room minimum and Enso Connect's Core needs five units. Ask each vendor for a written total for your room or unit count before comparing.
Convert every quote to a monthly total for your own room count
Ask which AI, voice and telephony usage is billed beyond the plan
List setup fees and minimum sizes next to the monthly price
Channels and AI: WhatsApp, WeChat, phone and webchat
Channel coverage splits the field. Canary Technologies names SMS, WhatsApp, LINE and WeChat in its Core plan, while ALICE relies on the text and WhatsApp accounts guests already hold. Hijiffy's Basic plan is webchat only, so WhatsApp campaigns appear only at Premium. Phone answering is a separate product line: Akia's AI Voice takes calls and payment, and HelloShift includes AI voice only in Guest+ and Pro.
AI replies also move up the price ladder, arriving at Canary's Advanced plan and Mews Pro. Vendor resolution claims such as Akia's 90% and Enso Connect's 89% come from the vendors themselves, so test them on a month of your own guest messages rather than accepting the figure.
Match the channels to the countries your guests book from
Check which plan unlocks AI replies and AI voice
Test resolution claims against a sample of real conversations
Connecting guest messaging to your PMS
A message tool is only as good as the reservation data behind it. Akia names Oracle Opera, Mews, Cloudbeds and Streamline, Duve lists Mews, Cloudbeds and Oracle Hospitality among more than 150 integrations, and Enso Connect names Mews, Cloudbeds, Guesty, Hostaway and others. ALICE says PMS integration is part of onboarding but names no PMS on its product page, so ask for the list before a demo.
Mews turns the question around: its AI messaging sits inside the Pro plan of the system that holds the guest profile, so there is no connector to maintain, but you adopt the whole platform. Hospitable fits a different setup, syncing Airbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com and Agoda for hosts without a hotel PMS.
Get the vendor's named PMS list in writing before the demo
Ask whether data syncs both ways or only one way
Decide whether adopting a full system is acceptable
Service messaging, upselling and operations are different jobs
Some products listed here talk to guests for different reasons. Oaky sends upsell offers before arrival, at the desk and during the stay, which suits revenue goals but not a general support inbox. Operto bundles messaging with a guidebook, contracts, identity verification and contactless check-in, a closer fit for operators handling identity and paperwork.
Canary Technologies adds tipping and smart checkout from Advanced. Hospitable's scheduled messages serve hosts automating arrival instructions. Decide the main job first: answering questions, selling extras, verifying guests or sharing documents. A tool strong in one can be thin in another, and the vendor claim 'unlimited users' at Canary or Akia says nothing about how well any single job is done.
Write down the one guest job that must work on day one
Ask to see the weakest module, not only the best one
Check which add-ons are priced separately from messaging
What goes wrong most often when buying guest communication software
Comparing a per-room rate from HelloShift with a minimum package from Duve as though both were final prices.
Choosing a chatbot tier such as Hijiffy Basic and discovering later that it covers webchat only.
Treating a vendor's own resolution percentage as a result you will see in your own inbox.
Buying a full system such as Mews when the real need was only a messaging layer on an existing PMS.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best guest communication software in 2026?
HelloShift leads our ranking of 11. HelloShift prints a per-room rate and a free trial on the same page. Staff and Guest start at $1.25 a room on annual billing, and AI voice is reserved for the two top Guest tiers.
It calls itself an independent, privately held company in San Francisco, founded 2014. The catch is entry size: a 40-room minimum applies, monthly minimums start at $50, and the telephony allowance is not quantified.
Which guest communication tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Hospitable: Free Essentials; Host, Professional and Mogul show no amounts; 14-day trial; annual saves 12%.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free guest communication tool?
Hospitable offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these guest communication software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 7, North America 2, Europe 2:
HelloShift: Not stated by the vendor.
Enso Connect: Canada.
Hijiffy: Not stated by the vendor.
Hospitable: Netherlands.
Duve: Not stated by the vendor.
Operto: Canada.
Akia: Not stated by the vendor.
Canary Technologies: Not stated by the vendor.
Oaky: Not stated by the vendor.
ALICE: Not stated by the vendor.
Mews: Netherlands.
What should you use instead of HelloShift?
Look at Enso Connect (made for Operators of five or more rental units wanting AI replies and a guest portal) and Hijiffy (made for Hotels wanting a multilingual chatbot plus WhatsApp messages triggered by reservation events), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy HelloShift?
Guesthouses under 40 rooms or buyers wanting one flat fee. A 40-room minimum rules out small guesthouses..
Missing from this guest communication software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.