Chess learning platforms teach through lessons, puzzles, game review and repeated drills instead of simply finding an opponent.
This guide ranks eleven of them for adults and children, weighing what each costs once the free level ends, how easily you can leave, whether one group owns your study path, and which kind of improving player each one suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What chess learning platforms do
A chess learning platform combines structured courses, tactical puzzles, engine-backed game analysis and practice opponents so a player can study deliberately and measure improvement over weeks, not only play games.
Each chess learning platform was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Volunteer-run open source chess server with no paywalled features
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Everything on the site is offered without charge, and the page says it has no ads and does not sell user data. That removes the usual question of which tier unlocks which lesson.
Structured data gives the legal name LICHESS.ORG and a founding date of 20 June 2010. What the page leaves out is the operator country, the licence name and any hosting arrangement beyond paid servers, so risk assessment is limited.
What stands out
Donation funded
Open source
No advertising
Where it costs you
The about page names neither an operator country nor the licence of the source code.
Running costs depend on donations and Patrons, so continuity rests on that giving.
Right for
Self-directed players who want puzzles and analysis without paying or seeing adverts
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor contract, an invoice or a named country
Not stated by the vendorFree for everyone, funded by donations and Patrons rather than subscriptions
Humanlike AI sparring partner spanning roughly 400 to 2800 Elo
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The opponent aims to imitate human play instead of engine play, with levels from about 400 to 2800 Elo. Feedback appears on every move, and openings can be practised and built into a repertoire.
Custom positions and puzzles from your own games are listed, and games can be imported from Chess.com and Lichess. A monthly plan is EUR 14, while the yearly plan works out at EUR 8 a month, which the page presents as a 40 percent saving.
What stands out
Humanlike AI opponent
25 strength levels
Chess.com and Lichess import
Where it costs you
Every plan starts with a trial and none stays unpaid afterwards, so regular use always costs money.
The page describes a practice partner and feedback, not a structured course catalogue.
Right for
Improving players who learn best by playing realistic opponents and reviewing each move
Wrong for
Learners who want video courses or a teacher to follow
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly and yearly plans, each opening with a 7-day trial and a lower rate when billed yearly
Turns your Chess.com and Lichess games into a weekly study plan
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The service sits on top of accounts you already hold elsewhere, which keeps your games where they are and makes leaving easy. The standard plan adds one daily training session and one daily warm-up beside the monthly report.
Premium adds a My statistics page, unlimited daily training and sharing with a coach. Annual billing lowers Premium to 4.85 dollars a month. Credit cards and PayPal are accepted, and Google Pay is marked as planned.
What stands out
Game analysis reports
Weekly study plan
Coach sharing
Where it costs you
The free report is capped at 40 games a month, so frequent players reach the limit quickly.
Prices appear in dollars with no currency code, and the footer gives no country.
Right for
Rated club players who already play online and want to know which weaknesses to train
Wrong for
Beginners who need lessons before they have games worth analysing
Not stated by the vendorFree standard plan; Premium published monthly or annually, with a cheaper monthly rate on annual billing
Hamburg-based ChessBase GmbH sells Fritz, game databases and video courses
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The catalogue is built around purchases: Fritz 21 is described as a personal chess coach, and the database holds 8 million online games. PlayChess, Tactics, Video and Live sit alongside MyGames cloud storage for games and repertoires.
Prices run from EUR 9.90 for a single title up to EUR 69.90 for Fritz 21. Premium Account is mentioned only for on-demand content, and its price is not listed, so that part of the cost stays unknown.
What stands out
One-off purchases
Fritz 21 coach
8 million game database
Where it costs you
Each book, video and magazine is a separate purchase, so a wide programme costs more than one account.
No subscription amount is shown for ChessBase Account or Premium Account.
Right for
Serious students who prefer owning software and a large game database outright
Wrong for
Casual players who want one monthly fee covering everything
GermanyPublished one-off prices per product; no subscription amount listed for accounts
Explains why Stockfish suggests a move, aimed at players under 2000
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Instead of showing a bare evaluation, the tool describes the concepts that sit behind a suggested move. Analysis is split into Threats, Good Moves, Plans, Functionality and Concepts tabs, so a student can ask what the opponent is threatening before asking what to play.
A computer opponent that adapts to your game style is also listed. Sign-up costs nothing, but what the paid level adds is not stated.
What stands out
Engine explanations
Threats and Plans tabs
Adaptive computer opponent
Where it costs you
Plan limits, trial length and prices are not shown on the home page.
The copyright line dates from 2022, which leaves its current upkeep unclear.
Right for
Club players who accept engine moves but cannot see the idea behind them
Wrong for
Players above roughly 2000 ELO or anyone wanting structured courses
Not stated by the vendorFree account on offer with a trial page linked; plan names and prices are absent from the home page
GothamChess lessons and 70+ openings courses inside one membership
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Teaching is built around one named presenter, GothamChess, plus a chess AI called Levi. Experience points, achievements and leaderboards give the course a game-like layer, which suits learners who need a streak to keep going.
The 7-day money-back guarantee lowers the risk of testing it. Membership amounts and plan names were not visible in the text read, so cost has to be confirmed on the membership page.
What stands out
GothamChess lessons
Levi chess AI
Leaderboards and XP
Where it costs you
The home page never says whether the Try for Free route is a plan or a trial.
No company name or country is stated anywhere on the page read.
Right for
Newer players who enjoy a single teacher and game-like progress
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices and company details before signing up
Not stated by the vendorMembership plans sit on a separate page and the home page shows no amounts; a 7-day money-back guarantee applies
Browser chess game with five AI opponents and four puzzle modes
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
This is closer to a practice board than a school. Opponents differ by name and by settings for strength, foresight and aggressivity, and a Journey mode turns rating gain into a climb. Correspondence games allow 24 hours per move.
Guest login is possible, which suits a first try. The site lists no lessons or courses, so progress depends on what the learner chooses to practise, and paid unlocks are described without any prices.
What stands out
Five AI opponents
Rating and Survival puzzles
24-hour correspondence play
Where it costs you
A 2,000-point score limit applies until a paid upgrade is bought.
The page warns that unused free accounts may be removed after a long period.
Right for
Beginners who want casual practice games and quick puzzles in a browser
Wrong for
Students looking for lessons, courses or structured study plans
Not stated by the vendorFree to play, with paid upgrades whose amounts the page does not show
Magnus Carlsen's app family: trainer, grandmaster opponents and puzzles
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The offer is split across four apps instead of one account. Magnus Trainer is the study product under Magnus Carlsen, Play Magnus lets players challenge top grandmasters, Tactics Frenzy runs puzzles with monthly prizes and Knight Runner is a puzzle-adventure game.
Two of the four are described as free. Because every product is delivered as an app download, there is no description of a web version or of how progress carries between the apps.
What stands out
Magnus Trainer
Grandmaster opponents
Tactics Frenzy prizes
Where it costs you
No prices or trial terms are shown for Magnus Trainer or Tactics Frenzy.
The page names no owner, parent company or country.
Right for
Fans of Magnus Carlsen who study on a phone through app-store downloads
Wrong for
Learners who want browser access or published prices
Not stated by the vendorTwo apps described as free; Magnus Trainer and Tactics Frenzy show no prices or trial
Spaced-repetition chess courses from 400+ authors, with offline mobile app
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Learning is organised as courses that MoveTrainer quizzes back at you at spaced intervals. The home page gives the scale as 1000+ courses, 400+ authors and 2 million students, with instructors such as Magnus Carlsen and Judit Polgar.
A Classroom feature offers a shared board for up to 1000 students, and the app works offline. PRO opens hundreds of courses for a monthly rate, but the figure is not displayed.
What stands out
MoveTrainer repetition
Classroom up to 1000
Offline mobile app
Where it costs you
The home page states no PRO price, currency or billing terms.
No operating company is named, and Chess.com lists the brand among its own.
Right for
Players who want to memorise openings and tactics through repeated quizzing
Wrong for
Buyers who need to know the operator and price in advance
Not stated by the vendorSign-up costs nothing and dozens of courses are open; PRO is a monthly rate the home page does not state
Kids' chess with lessons, puzzles and bots, plus a classroom for schools
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The product is aimed at children, so the lessons, bots and puzzles are framed for young players. It includes an online chess classroom for schools and optional personal instruction from certified coaches.
Free chess apps are offered, and the paid Gold Member level lifts limits on puzzles, lessons, videos, workouts and game history. Because the home page lists no prices, a parent cannot compare the cost with other platforms before registering.
What stands out
150+ interactive lessons
School classroom
Gold Member tier
Where it costs you
Gold Member is described only as unlimited, with no price or plan list.
Ownership is not explained, apart from its listing on the Chess.com about page.
Right for
Parents and teachers introducing children to chess in a supervised classroom setting
Wrong for
Adult improvers who want advanced courses or opening repertoires
Not stated by the vendorFree apps offered; the Gold Member tier is advertised as unlimited with no prices on the home page
Premium bundle of Game Review, puzzles, lessons and Play Coach
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Chess Learning Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Premium bundles unlimited Game Review, unlimited Lessons, Play Coach and over 500,000 puzzles, and removes ads. A reminder is promised before the trial ends. The operator is shown as Chess.com, LLC, a fully virtual staff with no office and no stated country.
Co-founders are named as Jay and Erik. Several study brands sit under the same group, which widens the choice but means a single vendor may hold your learning history.
What stands out
Unlimited Game Review
500,000+ puzzles
Play Coach
Where it costs you
Plan names and prices were not visible, and no free plan is named on the membership page.
It lists six sister brands, so a buyer cannot treat it as a stand-alone vendor.
Right for
Players who want games, lessons and review under one login and accept a larger group
Wrong for
Buyers who want an independent vendor or prices before a trial
Not stated by the vendorPremium membership with a trial and renewal reminder; plan prices not shown in the text read
A chess learning platform combines structured courses, tactical puzzles, engine-backed game analysis and practice opponents so a player can study deliberately and measure improvement over weeks, not only play games. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 8 of the 11 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Lichess, Noctie, Aimchess, ChessBase, Decode Chess, SparkChess, Play Magnus, ChessKid.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The 11 companies behind this list are established in 2 countries, by region Elsewhere 10, Europe 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
03
Decide if open source matters
Open source here means Lichess. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Free analysis and paid courses: what chess learning platforms charge for
Chess learning platforms divide into free tools and paid study material, and the border differs sharply. Lichess states that it has no paywalled features, so analysis and puzzles never need a card. Aimchess keeps a free standard plan with one 40-game report a month, then asks for Premium once you want unlimited reports.
Chessable lets anyone sign up and offers dozens of free courses, but PRO has no amount on its home page. Chess.com Premium names unlimited Game Review and Lessons behind a trial. Before paying, list which of your habits (reviewing every game, drilling openings, daily puzzles) actually hit a cap, then buy only the tier that lifts that cap.
Write down which cap you hit first: reviews, puzzles or lessons
Check whether a trial needs a card and sends a reminder
Compare the free level of Lichess before paying for anything
Matching method to habit: repetition, explanation or sparring
The platforms teach in different ways, so choose by how you learn rather than by catalogue size. Chessable uses MoveTrainer spaced repetition, which suits memorising openings. Decode Chess explains the concepts behind Stockfish suggestions through Threats, Plans and Concepts tabs, which helps players who understand the move only after reading why.
Noctie offers a humanlike opponent across 25 levels with feedback on every move, so it rewards playing rather than reading. Chessly leans on lessons from GothamChess and game-style rewards. Trial each method for a week and track whether you can repeat the idea in your own games, not only recognise it afterwards. A method that feels pleasant but leaves your next tournament game unchanged is entertainment, so drop it.
Decide whether you retain more from drills, reading or playing
Use each trial for at least a week of real games
Check the idea appears again in your own games
Children and classrooms: ChessKid, Chessable Classroom and school use
Teaching a child or a class changes the buying test. ChessKid states 150+ interactive lessons, bots at several levels, a classroom for schools and use by 2,000+ schools, plus optional coaching from certified coaches. Chessable Classroom offers a shared board for up to 1000 students with tournaments and quizzes. Play Magnus splits its offer across four apps, including a free puzzle-adventure game, Knight Runner.
None of these home pages gives a Gold Member or classroom price in the text read, so ask for amounts and for data handling on children's accounts before enrolling a group. Also confirm whether a teacher account can see each pupil's progress, and whether a child can keep the account after leaving the class. Parents should read the privacy text, which these home pages link but which was not part of the facts checked here.
Request classroom prices in writing before enrolling a group
Ask how pupil accounts and progress are handled
Test with one pupil before moving the whole class
Owning or renting: ChessBase purchases against subscription platforms
Study software can be bought once or rented, and the difference shows over several years. ChessBase GmbH lists Fritz 21 at EUR 69.90, a digital magazine issue at EUR 21.90 and single books or videos from EUR 9.90 to EUR 39.90, so you pay per item and keep it. Noctie charges EUR 14 monthly or EUR 96 yearly after a 7-day trial, while Aimchess Premium costs 7.99 dollars monthly or 57.99 dollars yearly.
Lichess has no price at all. Add up twelve months of the plan you expect to use, compare it with purchases you would need, and note that Chess.com, Chessly and Decode Chess show no prices in the text read. A price that cannot be seen before registering is a cost you cannot yet plan for, so ask support or open the membership page first.
Add up twelve months of subscription cost against one-off titles
Check what you keep if you stop paying
Confirm the currency and billing period before trusting a price
What goes wrong most often when buying chess learning platforms
Paying for Premium before checking whether the free level already covers the reviews and puzzles you actually use.
Choosing a platform for its course count when your weak point is calculation in games you have already played.
Enrolling a school group on a children's tier without asking for classroom prices and account handling in writing.
Treating several brands as independent choices when the Chess.com about page lists them as part of one group.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best chess learning platforms in 2026?
Lichess takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Lichess calls itself a free and libre open source chess server run by volunteers and donations, with no ads, no sale of user data and no paywalled features.
Exit costs nothing because nothing is bought. The page names no operator country and no licence, and it describes paid servers only, so a buyer who needs jurisdiction or a support contract has nothing to check.
Which chess learning platforms publish their pricing?
8 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Lichess: Free for everyone, funded by donations and Patrons rather than subscriptions.
Noctie: Published monthly and yearly plans, each opening with a 7-day trial and a lower rate when billed yearly.
Aimchess: Free standard plan; Premium published monthly or annually, with a cheaper monthly rate on annual billing.
ChessBase: Published one-off prices per product; no subscription amount listed for accounts.
Decode Chess: Free account on offer with a trial page linked; plan names and prices are absent from the home page.
SparkChess: Free to play, with paid upgrades whose amounts the page does not show.
Play Magnus: Two apps described as free; Magnus Trainer and Tactics Frenzy show no prices or trial.
ChessKid: Free apps offered; the Gold Member tier is advertised as unlimited with no prices on the home page.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free chess learning platform?
Lichess, Aimchess, Decode Chess, SparkChess, ChessKid can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these chess learning platform vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 10, Europe 1:
Lichess: Not stated by the vendor.
Noctie: Not stated by the vendor.
Aimchess: Not stated by the vendor.
ChessBase: Germany.
Decode Chess: Not stated by the vendor.
Chessly: Not stated by the vendor.
SparkChess: Not stated by the vendor.
Play Magnus: Not stated by the vendor.
Chessable: Not stated by the vendor.
ChessKid: Not stated by the vendor.
Chess.com: Not stated by the vendor.
Which chess learning platforms are open source?
Lichess.
What should you use instead of Lichess?
Second is Noctie, which suits Improving players who learn best by playing realistic opponents and reviewing each move. Third is Aimchess, which suits Rated club players who already play online and want to know which weaknesses to train.
Who should not buy Lichess?
Buyers who need a vendor contract, an invoice or a named country. The about page names neither an operator country nor the licence of the source code..
Do you make a chess learning platforms product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.