Subscription box software runs the recurring side of a box business: billing on a schedule, retries when cards fail, a portal where subscribers skip or swap, and tools that decide what goes into each parcel.
This guide ranks platforms and billing apps by what a box seller pays, how fees scale, and what each vendor states about itself.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What subscription box software does
Subscription box software takes recurring orders for a curated parcel, charges subscribers every cycle, recovers failed payments, and lets customers skip, swap or cancel from a self-service portal.
Every subscription box tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Published Standard tier, cheaper on an annual contract than without one, plus a per-transaction fee; high-growth tier by contact sales; no trial listed
—
Brands ready to commit annually and want dunning included on every plan
Brands that want to trial software before any sales call
Subscription-first store for boxes, memberships and CSA farms, checkout included
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The platform covers boxes, subscribe-and-save, replenishment, meal kits, memberships and CSA farms, so one account can host a box and a one-off shop.
Named features are checkout with upsells and order bumps, a branded customer portal, a churn suite with surveys, and an MCP server and API with more than 130 tools. The home page verifies only one entry price, which leaves the cost of a first small box unclear until the pricing table is checked.
What stands out
Box-first storefront
Upsells and order bumps
MCP server and API
Where it costs you
Only the entry price is verified; the tier-by-tier table stayed out of reach.
The vendor names no single country: one record gives a Delaware address while the footer says it is built in eight countries.
Right for
Founders who want a box-first store with its own checkout and subscriber portal
Wrong for
Teams with a Shopify store who need only a billing app
Not stated by the vendorA published from-price per month on the home page; trial runs three days at no charge, then a weekly fee for two weeks, no card needed
Box-business platform bundled with a marketplace where shoppers find subscription boxes
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Two routes are priced on the page: selling through the Marketplace, and designing a website of your own, each billed monthly with transaction fees. The referral fee covers Marketplace orders and their renewals, so the cost of a won customer repeats every cycle.
Named features include customer management, rebilling, advanced shipping and responsive themes, with live chat and email support. No plan table beyond the two entry prices is shown, so budget from a conversation with the vendor.
What stands out
Marketplace listing
Own-site builder
Rebilling
Where it costs you
Each Marketplace sale and renewal loses 15% to the referral fee, besides the monthly fee.
The page lists prices for two routes only and states no trial, owner or country.
Right for
New box brands that want a marketplace audience alongside their own storefront
Wrong for
Sellers who cannot absorb a referral cut on renewals
Not stated by the vendorMonthly fee from a published entry price on each of two routes, plus transaction fees and a referral cut on marketplace orders; no trial stated
Recurring billing for any website, with gateway choice and Shopify app plans
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Plans for any website run from a starter tier with no monthly fee to a top tier with the highest monthly price and the lowest transaction cut, plus a custom Enterprise tier for businesses processing over five million dollars a year.
Separate Shopify app plans scale in the same way. Reporting covers MRR, churn and a growth forecast, and Glow Loyalty and Upsell Wizard are named add-ons. No card is needed until the trial ends.
What stands out
Any-website billing
Multiple gateways
MRR and churn reports
Where it costs you
Transaction cuts are 3.0% on the entry plans, so a growing box business pays more until it climbs the ladder.
The page names no country, owner or hosting model.
Right for
Box sellers on a non-Shopify site who want to pick their own payment gateway
Wrong for
Brands wanting box curation and fulfilment tools in one product
Not stated by the vendorFree starter plans with no monthly fee, then published monthly tiers whose transaction cut falls as the fee rises; 14-day trial on paid plans
Subscription billing priced by subscriber count with zero transaction fees
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The ladder has six paid tiers, from a single-digit monthly price at 100 subscriptions to a top tier at 150,000, and yearly billing saves 20%.
Features named are an API with webhooks, a Klaviyo integration, dunning inside billing settings, automated product swaps and a Quick Checkout Wizard. Because fees follow subscriber count and not revenue, a box with a high price per delivery costs the same to run as a cheap one.
What stands out
0% transaction fees
Dunning management
Automated product swaps
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 50 subscriptions and the cheapest paid tier at 100, so growth moves a brand up the ladder quickly.
The 30-day trial is mentioned six times without naming the plans it covers.
Right for
Small box brands that want fees tied to subscriber count, not order value
Wrong for
Buyers who must confirm owner or country before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFree plan up to a subscriber cap, then published monthly tiers that rise with subscriber count; yearly billing discounted; 0% transaction fees
Free-forever tier, smart dunning and save-offer cancellation flows for subscription brands
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Four plans are published: a free plan, Starter, Pro and an Enterprise tier priced by demo with a negotiable transaction fee. Paid tiers bill monthly and the FAQ says all paid plans include a 14-day trial.
Smart dunning, personalised cancellation flows with save offers, a branded customer portal and a Klaviyo integration are named. For a box business the test is how many subscribers stay after the cancel flow, which only your own data can answer.
What stands out
Cancellation save offers
Smart dunning
Branded portal
Where it costs you
Gorgias and Zendesk connectors are limited to the Enterprise plan.
The page shows no address, imprint or country, only a copyright line.
Right for
Brands that expect churn to be the main cost and want save offers
Wrong for
Support teams needing Gorgias or Zendesk without an enterprise contract
Not stated by the vendorFree Forever plan up to a subscription cap, then published monthly tiers with a transaction percentage that falls on Pro; enterprise by demo
Subscribe-and-save app with build-a-box bundles and a flat 1% of subscriber GMV
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Launch, Grow and Excel each add one percent of subscriber GMV to a monthly fee, so the bill follows subscription revenue as well as plan choice. Unlimited API calls, month-to-month terms and no forced upgrades are stated.
Named features are subscribe and save, retention actions, dunning management and build-a-box bundles on Excel, with Klaviyo, Gorgias, Postscript, Littledata and LoyaltyLion integrations. Only Launch and Grow carry a 30-day trial.
What stands out
Build-a-box bundles
1% of subscriber GMV
Unlimited API calls
Where it costs you
Build-a-box bundles are listed only against the Excel plan.
The page does not say who owns Smartrr or where it is based.
Right for
Box brands that want month-to-month terms with unlimited API calls
Wrong for
Brands needing bundle building without the top-tier price
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers plus one percent of subscriber sales; 30-day trial on the lower two; month-to-month terms
Build-a-Box for catalogues of 1,000+ items with tax and compliance integrations
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Professional billing is a monthly fee plus 1% per order, with a cheaper fee if you commit for a year; Enterprise is volume-based through a contact.
Build-a-Box works with catalogues of 1,000+ items, Shuffles rotate the sequence of products across cycles, and the compliance and tax integrations include ShipCompliant by Sovos, Avalara and VinoCheck. Klaviyo, Attentive and Gorgias are named integrations. The trial runs 14 days through the Shopify App Store.
What stands out
Build-a-Box 1,000+ items
Shuffles rotation
Tax compliance links
Where it costs you
The lower monthly rate requires a one-year minimum.
The footer names X Variation Inc. but gives no country or address.
Right for
Box programmes that pick from catalogues of a thousand or more items
Wrong for
Brands that only need basic recurring billing, not a box builder
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly fee plus one percent per order, lower with a one-year minimum; enterprise by contact; 14-day trial through the Shopify App Store
Shopify subscription app with build-a-box, tiered discounts and free product offers
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The feature list is the draw: build-a-box, bundling offers, upsells, tiered discounts, free product offers, inventory controls and bulk automations, all inside a Shopify app that also supports Shopify Plus.
Integrations named are Gorgias, Klaviyo Email, Yotpo, Omnisend and Rebuy. The company puts itself in Menlo Park, California, with offices in Canada and India. What a box business pays is unknown from this page, so request pricing before shortlisting.
What stands out
Build-a-box and bundles
Tiered discounts
Bulk automations
Where it costs you
No prices, currency or billing basis appear on the page read.
The pricing page it links to could not be read, so trial terms are unknown.
Right for
Shopify box brands that want bundles, tiered discounts and many integrations
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare prices before booking any conversation
United StatesAmounts not shown on the page read; a separate subscriptions pricing page was unreadable, so check it before comparing
No-code portal, payment recovery and cancel-flow builder for subscription stores
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
One published tier, Scale, bills monthly at a lower rate on an annual plan and adds a transaction fee on subscription orders; Enterprise gets volume pricing through sales.
Features named are a no-code customer portal, payment recovery with timing optimisation, lifecycle journeys, a multi-step cancel-flow builder, and native integrations with webhooks and an API. For box sellers the question is whether those retention tools justify a mid-priced entry tier before volumes are proven.
What stands out
No-code portal
Payment recovery campaigns
Cancel-flow builder
Where it costs you
The pricing page offers a demo route and states no trial.
The transaction fee applies to every order that involves a subscription.
Right for
Established stores that value retention tooling and accept a demo-led purchase
Wrong for
Founders who want to try the product before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorPublished Scale tier, cheaper on an annual plan, plus a per-order fee on subscription orders; enterprise by contact; demo route
Predictive analytics and Smart Dunning on every plan, sold through demos
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Standard is the published plan: one price on an annual contract, a higher one with no contract, and a per-transaction fee on top, with no service or implementation fees. High Growth uses flat-rate tiers for enterprises through sales.
Smart Dunning is included on all plans, and predictive analytics and a customer portal are named, with Klaviyo and Shopify listed as integrations. The contract choice is the main lever on cost, so model both before the demo.
What stands out
Smart Dunning on all plans
Predictive analytics
Contract or monthly choice
Where it costs you
Choosing no contract lifts the monthly price from $299 to $499.
No trial is listed and the Get started button goes to a demo booking.
Right for
Brands ready to commit annually and want dunning included on every plan
Wrong for
Brands that want to trial software before any sales call
Not stated by the vendorPublished Standard tier, cheaper on an annual contract than without one, plus a per-transaction fee; high-growth tier by contact sales; no trial listed
Usage-fee subscription billing with a 60-day trial and failed-payment retries
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Starter charges a fixed monthly fee and a percentage plus 20 cents per transaction, with the trial lasting 60 days from installing the app; Scale costs more each month and lowers the rate, with a talk-to-us button, and Custom quotes volume rates.
Named features include unified checkout with native discounts, tax and shipping, retries for failed payments, a JavaScript SDK, and the Remi AI agent on Scale and Custom.
What stands out
60-day trial
Smart payment retries
Storefront API
Where it costs you
Starter and Scale both add a per-transaction fee on top of the fixed monthly fee.
Plus and Custom plans run on 12-month terms, per the FAQ.
Right for
Box sellers who want a long trial and a published fee before a demo
Wrong for
Teams that need box curation features inside the billing product
United StatesPublished fixed monthly fee plus per-transaction usage fees, a 60-day trial from app install, and 12-month terms on Plus and Custom
Subscription plans with automated billing, churn prevention and subscriber upsells
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor's page covers recurring plans, billing that runs itself and upsells aimed at subscribers. Its clearest technical hook is native Shopify Flow integration, where Bold events trigger Flow automations, alongside pre-built links to Klaviyo, Zapier, Gorgias and Good Subscription.
Nothing on the page names a plan, a price, a trial or a hosting model, so a box seller can judge the fit only after contacting the vendor, and cannot compare it with published tiers beforehand.
What stands out
Shopify Flow triggers
Churn prevention
Klaviyo and Zapier links
Where it costs you
Pricing is only available by contacting the vendor.
The page gives no trial terms, country or owner.
Right for
Merchants who already run their automations through Shopify Flow and Klaviyo
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price before a sales conversation
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation through a contact page; no plan names or amounts appear on the page read
Demo-led subscription platform with incentives, A/B testing and enterprise commerce connectors
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Subscription Box Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The page names Flex Incentives, an Involuntary Churn Suite, A/B testing and Performance Analytics; its integration list reaches Salesforce, Adobe Commerce and Magento as well as Shopify and BigCommerce.
That spread suggests a platform for merchants with several storefront systems, not a first box business. The pricing page gives no plan or amount, so the only route to a number is a demo, with ownership and hosting left unsaid.
What stands out
Flex Incentives
Involuntary churn suite
A/B testing
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no plans or amounts, only a demo request.
Neither a trial nor an owner is named on the page.
Right for
Larger merchants running subscriptions on Adobe Commerce, Salesforce or BigCommerce storefronts
Wrong for
Small box start-ups wanting visible prices and a quick start
United StatesQuoted per organisation; the pricing page lists no plans and sends buyers to a demo request
Subscription box software takes recurring orders for a curated parcel, charges subscribers every cycle, recovers failed payments, and lets customers skip, swap or cancel from a self-service portal. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
3 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 10 publish a pricing model you can read today: Subbly, Cratejoy, PayWhirl, Seal Subscriptions, Loop Subscriptions, Smartrr, Awtomic, Skio, Stay AI, Recharge.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 13 vendors are spread over 2 countries (Elsewhere 10, North America 3), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
Choosing between Subbly, Cratejoy and a billing app such as PayWhirl
The first decision in this market is whether you need a store or only recurring billing. Subbly describes itself as a subscription-first ecommerce platform for boxes, and Cratejoy pairs box software with a Marketplace where shoppers browse boxes. PayWhirl takes the other route: it adds recurring billing to any website and lets you pick Stripe, Square, Braintree or Authorize.Net.
A store platform gives a new box a checkout and portal in one account, while a billing app keeps your existing site and moves the risk to the integration. Cratejoy's Marketplace brings a 15% referral fee on every order and renewal, so count that against the audience it supplies. Ask each vendor which part of the customer journey stays on your own domain.
Decide whether you already have a store you will keep
Ask whether Marketplace referral fees apply to renewals
Confirm which payment gateways each option supports
Reading fees: subscriber caps, transaction cuts and monthly tiers
Fee structures in this market differ in what they count. Seal Subscriptions tiers by subscriber number with 0% transaction fees, Loop Subscriptions pairs a free plan for 50 active subscriptions with transaction percentages of 1.0% and 0.75% on paid tiers, and Smartrr adds 1% of subscriber GMV to every plan.
PayWhirl's ladder trades a higher monthly fee for a lower cut, from 3.0% down to 0.5% on its main plans. A box with an expensive parcel punishes percentage models, while a box with many cheap subscribers punishes caps. Write down your expected subscribers, average order value and growth over twelve months, then run those figures through each published tier before looking at features.
Model fees at today's volume and at double it
Separate fixed monthly cost from per-order cost
Note which tiers carry subscriber caps or trial limits
Building the box: catalogue size, bundles and rotation
Not every subscription app helps you fill the box. Awtomic's Build-a-Box handles catalogues of 1,000+ items and its Shuffles rotate product sequences across cycles. Appstle lists build-a-box, bundling offers and inventory controls, and Smartrr offers build-a-box bundles only on its Excel plan. Recharge, Skio and Stay AI describe billing, recovery and portal tools rather than box building.
If subscribers choose items, check the maximum catalogue the builder handles and how stock limits apply per cycle. If you curate the parcel yourself, the builder matters less than shipping and the portal, where subscribers skip or swap a month. Awtomic also names tax and compliance integrations, which matter if the products you ship carry tax or licensing rules, and which you should confirm against your own jurisdiction before relying on them.
Test the builder with your real catalogue size
Check which plan unlocks bundle or box building
Ask how skipped or swapped months are handled
Churn and failed payments in a box business
A box subscription loses customers in two ways: people choose to cancel, and cards fail without anyone choosing. Loop Subscriptions offers personalised cancellation flows with save offers and smart dunning, Skio has a multi-step cancel-flow builder and payment recovery campaigns with timing optimisation, and Stay AI includes Smart Dunning on every plan.
Recharge names Failed Payment Recovery with smart retries, and Ordergroove lists an Involuntary Churn Suite. The features sound alike, so ask for the recovery rate on a customer similar to you and what the vendor measures. Remember that a vendor that routes to a demo, such as Stay AI or Ordergroove, lets you ask these questions before paying anything.
Ask how many failed payments are retried and over what period
Check whether cancel flows can offer skips, swaps or discounts
Request recovery figures from a comparable box brand
What goes wrong most often when buying subscription box software
Choosing a billing app and then discovering the box builder, with item limits and stock rules, has to be built separately.
Comparing monthly fees alone and ignoring a transaction percentage that rises with the order value of each parcel.
Signing a 12-month term, as on Recharge's Plus and Custom plans, before the dunning and portal are tested on real subscribers.
Treating a missing price as a low price: Bold Subscriptions, Ordergroove and Appstle show none on the pages read.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best subscription box software in 2026?
Subbly leads our ranking of 13. Subbly is an ecommerce platform built around subscription boxes, with one-time sales as the side line, so it opens this ranking as a store you run without a host platform.
The home page lists a from-price per month and a short paid trial. The full plan table could not be read, so the real bill is unverified, and the vendor names no single country.
Which subscription box tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 10 products on this page:
Subbly: A published from-price per month on the home page; trial runs three days at no charge, then a weekly fee for two weeks, no card needed.
Cratejoy: Monthly fee from a published entry price on each of two routes, plus transaction fees and a referral cut on marketplace orders; no trial stated.
PayWhirl: Free starter plans with no monthly fee, then published monthly tiers whose transaction cut falls as the fee rises; 14-day trial on paid plans.
Seal Subscriptions: Free plan up to a subscriber cap, then published monthly tiers that rise with subscriber count; yearly billing discounted; 0% transaction fees.
Loop Subscriptions: Free Forever plan up to a subscription cap, then published monthly tiers with a transaction percentage that falls on Pro; enterprise by demo.
Smartrr: Published monthly tiers plus one percent of subscriber sales; 30-day trial on the lower two; month-to-month terms.
Awtomic: Published monthly fee plus one percent per order, lower with a one-year minimum; enterprise by contact; 14-day trial through the Shopify App Store.
Skio: Published Scale tier, cheaper on an annual plan, plus a per-order fee on subscription orders; enterprise by contact; demo route.
Stay AI: Published Standard tier, cheaper on an annual contract than without one, plus a per-transaction fee; high-growth tier by contact sales; no trial listed.
Recharge: Published fixed monthly fee plus per-transaction usage fees, a 60-day trial from app install, and 12-month terms on Plus and Custom.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free subscription box tool?
PayWhirl, Seal Subscriptions, Loop Subscriptions can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these subscription box software vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 10, North America 3.
Subbly: Not stated by the vendor.
Cratejoy: Not stated by the vendor.
PayWhirl: Not stated by the vendor.
Seal Subscriptions: Not stated by the vendor.
Loop Subscriptions: Not stated by the vendor.
Smartrr: Not stated by the vendor.
Awtomic: Not stated by the vendor.
Appstle: United States.
Skio: Not stated by the vendor.
Stay AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Recharge: United States.
Bold Subscriptions: Not stated by the vendor.
Ordergroove: United States.
What should you use instead of Subbly?
Second is Cratejoy, which suits New box brands that want a marketplace audience alongside their own storefront. Third is PayWhirl, which suits Box sellers on a non-Shopify site who want to pick their own payment gateway.
Who should not buy Subbly?
Teams with a Shopify store who need only a billing app. Only the entry price is verified; the tier-by-tier table stayed out of reach..
If a subscription box software product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.