3D rendering software turns models into finished images, and this category mixes standalone engines, plugin renderers, architectural viewers and credit-metered services.
This guide puts small independent vendors first and weighs four things: the real yearly cost once add-ons and credits arrive, what a trial or refund allows, how the engine is licensed, and what each vendor states about itself.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What 3D rendering software does
3D rendering software calculates light, materials and cameras for a digital scene and outputs still images or animation, as a standalone application or a plugin inside a modelling tool.
To rank 3D rendering tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Bundled into Cinema 4D and Maxon One subscriptions; the Redshift page shows no prices; 14-day trial
—
Cinema 4D users who want the renderer included in a subscription they hold
Buyers seeking a standalone price and a vendor with no parent
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Single-seat or studio licences, bought by subscription or as a one-time purchase
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Toolbag has the widest spread of licence shapes in this list: a monthly personal plan, a per-seat studio plan, one-time perpetual versions of both, and a yearly academic plan for non-commercial use.
A subscription keeps all upgrades while you pay. The perpetual versions stop at 5.x. Every licence includes the library and lifetime email support, so the extras do not change the bill.
What stands out
Perpetual option
2,000+ library assets
Academic licence
Where it costs you
Perpetual licences include only version 5.x updates, so later versions need a new purchase or a subscription.
Marmoset LLC states no country, address or owner on the page read.
Right for
Solo artists and small studios who prefer owning a licence to renting one
Wrong for
Groups wanting floating seats rather than named per-seat licences
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly seat prices alongside one-time perpetual options; yearly academic licence; 30-day trial
Apache-licensed renderer with a graphical interface, a console and a Python API
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The Apache licence is the draw: you can embed LuxCore, drive it from Python through pyluxcore or run LuxCoreConsole on a farm without a licence server.
The cost moves from licence fees to engineering time, because the README points to make deps and make rather than an installer. Nobody is named as accountable for support, so a studio must be prepared to maintain its own build.
What stands out
Apache 2.0
CUDA, OpenCL, OptiX
pyluxcore API
Where it costs you
Installing it means compiling the code, since no packaged release is listed.
No vendor, country or support arrangement is stated on the pages read.
Right for
Technical teams that want an unbiased engine they can script and modify
Wrong for
Artists who expect a packaged installer and vendor support
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under Apache 2.0; the repository states no price, and the code is built from source
Architectural visualisation with named or floating seats and cloud project storage
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Lumion's buy page makes the cost easy to read: Pro per named user, Pro per floating seat, each in dollars, pounds or euros, and a floating seat costs more than a named one.
Cloud storage is part of every plan, though capped per account. The weak point is scale. From ten users the price moves to a conversation, and the only company reference found is a copyright line.
What stands out
Named and floating seats
Lumion Cloud storage
LiveSync plugin
Where it costs you
The trial length is not stated on the buy page.
Ten users or more means no published price and a negotiation.
Right for
Architecture practices wanting seat prices stated up front in their own currency
Wrong for
Teams that need a stated rendering node or network option
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly prices per named user or floating seat in three currencies; custom terms for large practices
Per-user Studio plans with prepaid cloud credits and add-on subscriptions
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
KeyShot rewards close reading of the add-on list. The Business plan carries network rendering options, while VR, the NX plugin and each of nine core tiers from 16 to 256 cores are priced on top.
Credit packs run from a small starter pack to a very large one. A trial of 14 days needs no card, which makes pricing the real workload before buying possible.
What stands out
Prepaid cloud credits
Network rendering tiers
Enterprise single sign-on
Where it costs you
The headline plan price leaves out VR, NX and network rendering, each billed separately.
Cloud rendering credits are prepaid, so unused credits are money already spent.
Right for
Product visualisation teams that will add network rendering and credits later
Wrong for
Buyers who want one all-in price with no extras
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user plans, optional add-on subscriptions and prepaid credit packs; enterprise by quote; 14-day trial
GPU renderer sold as a subscription with an optional offline dongle
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Octane's monthly rate looks modest, which is why the trade-offs matter. Studio+ bundles ten node licences, and anything beyond that needs a conversation with OTOY. The layered material system allows a base plus up to eight layers on top.
Offline work is possible only through the dongle, and its limits mean that offline users give up cloud services entirely, which is a real cost for a distributed team.
What stands out
RTX acceleration
10 render nodes
Offline USB dongle
Where it costs you
The offline dongle must be updated every four months and cannot reach ORC or LiveDB.
The demo version is listed without any stated terms.
Right for
GPU-heavy studios that want node licences included in a low monthly rate
Wrong for
Offices that must work fully offline with every online service
Not stated by the vendorPublished subscription with a lower rate when billed yearly; dongle sold as a one-off add-on; demo version offered
Chaos-published renderer in three tiers, from personal to team licences
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Corona sits in the same family as V-Ray and Enscape, so the tier names repeat: Solo, Premium, Collection. Asset ceilings rise with each, from 15,000 on Solo to 22,000 or more on Collection.
Allowances for AI credits rise too, from 100 to 1,500 a month. The 30-day trial matches V-Ray's, and testing before spending any AI credits protects the refund.
What stands out
Solo, Premium, Collection
Anima characters
AI credit allowance
Where it costs you
Spending any AI credit voids the refund right that the page promises.
The jump from Solo to a floating team licence is a step, not a gradual scale.
Right for
Interior visualisers who want a floating team licence at a published yearly price
Wrong for
Anyone expecting an unlimited asset library on the cheapest tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly per-licence prices for Solo, Premium and Collection; 30-day trial; monthly AI credit allowances
Chaos production renderer in Solo, Premium and Collection licence tiers
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
V-Ray is the most expensive of the Chaos renderers listed, at the Collection tier. What you add is Vantage and cloud rendering, plus a ceiling of 22,000 or more assets against 15,000 on Solo.
Its trial runs 30 days with every feature, which is the safest way to decide whether the extra tier earns its price. Chaos shows no company address, so ownership questions go unanswered.
What stands out
Solo, Premium, Collection
Vantage real-time viewport
Cloud rendering
Where it costs you
The page shows a monthly price with a missing decimal point, so only the yearly figure is readable.
Any AI credit use cancels the refund window.
Right for
Teams that want a floating licence tier with cloud rendering bundled in
Wrong for
Single freelancers who only need the cheapest named licence
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly per-licence prices across three tiers; 30-day trial with all features; monthly AI credit allowances
Named single-seat plans for building visualisation, billed per licence monthly or yearly
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Enscape is the only one of the Chaos set here with no trial mentioned. A refund window stands in for it, and spending AI credits voids that. Each tier is single-seat, so a five-person office buys five licences.
Asset caps run from 6,700 render-ready assets up to more than 18,500, and the dearest tier costs roughly 30 per cent more than the entry plan.
What stands out
Single-seat licences
Render-ready assets
Auto-renewing plans
Where it costs you
All three plans are named single-seat licences, so shared floating use is not offered on the page read.
Refunds are lost once AI credits are drawn on.
Right for
Architects who work alone and want a clear monthly figure per seat
Wrong for
Offices wanting to try the tool before any payment
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-licence monthly prices billed annually across three tiers; refund window instead of a trial
Standalone renderer and real-time variant with plugins for three modelling tools
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Indigo's fit is narrow and its page is short. Named plugins cover three host applications, and the range includes a real-time edition plus an SDK that is promised to anyone who wishes to try it, with no terms attached.
Floating licences are listed without explanation. The practical risk is opacity: you reach an external store before learning what the licence costs.
What stands out
Indigo RT
Floating licences
SDK available
Where it costs you
The licence page shows no prices, so costs cannot be compared before a purchase.
No trial terms are described, and floating licence details are missing.
Right for
Buyers whose workflow already runs through Cinema 4D, SketchUp or 3ds Max
Wrong for
Anyone who must see a price before contacting a store
Not stated by the vendorNo prices on the licence page; purchase runs through an external store; trial terms not described
Credit-metered plans from a zero-cost starter seat up to enterprise
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Vizcom is the only entry here that meters work in credits at every tier, so the question is how fast a project burns them. Starter allows 800 a month and Professional 20,000, with add-on credits that roll over.
Both lower plans are single-seat, which means a team needing more seats has to talk to sales about Enterprise. The page gives no company address, only a copyright year.
What stands out
Credit allowances
Priority render queue
Education plan
Where it costs you
The Starter plan is limited to 800 credits, ten files and a single seat.
The annual discount is shown without the annual prices.
Right for
Individuals and students testing credit-based rendering before paying anything
Wrong for
Teams needing several seats below the Enterprise tier
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter and Education seats, a published per-user Professional plan with credit add-ons, enterprise on contact
GPU renderer bundled with Cinema 4D and Maxon One subscriptions
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best 3D Rendering Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Redshift is last here because of independence, not capability: it belongs to a company that is part of Nemetschek and arrives bundled with other Maxon software.
That helps a Cinema 4D studio that already pays. It is awkward for anyone who wants only the renderer, since the page lists no prices. One licence covers up to eight GPUs in one machine.
What stands out
Part of Maxon One
Up to 8 GPUs
14-day trial
Where it costs you
The Redshift page shows no prices, so the cost sits behind the Maxon pages.
A MyMaxon account and the EULA come before any use.
Right for
Cinema 4D users who want the renderer included in a subscription they hold
Wrong for
Buyers seeking a standalone price and a vendor with no parent
Not stated by the vendorBundled into Cinema 4D and Maxon One subscriptions; the Redshift page shows no prices; 14-day trial
3D rendering software calculates light, materials and cameras for a digital scene and outputs still images or animation, as a standalone application or a plugin inside a modelling tool. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 8 of the 11 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Marmoset Toolbag, Lumion, KeyShot, Octane, Corona Renderer, V-Ray, Enscape, Vizcom.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 11 vendors are established in 1 countries across 1 regions (Elsewhere 11). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Decide if open source matters
Source code is available for LuxCoreRender. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Reading licence types in 3D rendering software
Before comparing prices, find out whether a licence belongs to a person or floats between several. Chaos sells V-Ray Solo as a named personal licence, while V-Ray Premium and V-Ray Collection are floating team licences. Corona Renderer follows the same three tiers, and every Enscape plan is a named single seat.
Lumion lists both a named-user Pro and a floating Pro seat, with the floating seat costing more per year. Marmoset Toolbag separates personal from per-seat studio licences. Five named licences cost five times one, whereas a floating licence is shared but cannot be used by two people at the same moment. Write down how many people render at the same moment, then price the licence type that matches that number.
How many people render at once, and does the tier allow it?
Is the licence named, floating or per seat?
Does any price shown assume yearly billing?
Add-ons and credits that change the KeyShot and V-Ray bill
A plan price rarely covers a working setup. KeyShot Studio lists VR, the NX Plugin and network rendering as separate monthly add-ons, network rendering coming in nine tiers of 16 up to 256 cores, and cloud rendering runs on prepaid credits where one credit equals one GigaSample.
Chaos gives each V-Ray tier a monthly allowance of AI credits, 100 on Solo and 1,500 on Collection, and warns that drawing on them forfeits the 14-day refund. Octane Studio+ includes ten render node licences, with more by contacting OTOY. Add every extra you expect to need in the first year to the base price before comparing vendors, and keep the refund rules next to that total.
Which add-ons will the first project need?
Do credits expire, roll over or void a refund?
How many render nodes are included?
Open source or subscription: LuxCoreRender against the rest
LuxCoreRender is released under the Apache License 2.0 and offers LuxCoreUI, LuxCoreConsole, GPU support via CUDA, OpenCL and OptiX, and a Python module called pyluxcore. With no packaged release on offer, the README sends you to make deps and make. That moves the cost from licence fees to the hours a technical person spends building and maintaining it.
Marmoset Toolbag offers another way out of renting, with one-time perpetual licences that include only version 5.x updates. A subscription from KeyShot, Lumion or Chaos keeps upgrades flowing but ends when you stop paying. Decide whether your team would rather own an older build outright or keep paying so that it always runs the current one.
Can someone on the team compile and maintain a source build?
Do perpetual licences include later versions?
What happens to your scenes if payment stops?
Testing before you buy: trials and refunds compared
Trial terms differ more than prices do. V-Ray and Corona Renderer each offer a 30-day trial, KeyShot a 14-day trial without a card, and Marmoset Toolbag issues a 30-day licence on first login. Redshift has a 14-day trial through the Maxon App. Octane lists a demo without terms, and Lumion offers a Pro trial whose length is not stated.
Enscape mentions no trial at all, only a 14-day guarantee, which AI credit use cancels. Indigo Renderer describes neither. Run the trial on your heaviest real scene, not a sample file, and write down what each vendor lets you keep afterwards. Avoid spending AI credits until you have decided to keep the product, because that single action can remove the refund you were relying on as a safety net.
Is the trial length and feature set written down?
Does a refund survive credit use?
Can you test with your own heaviest scene?
What goes wrong most often when buying 3D rendering software
Reading a monthly figure as the real price when the page bills yearly, as the V-Ray and Corona Renderer pages do.
Assuming a perpetual Marmoset Toolbag licence will cover future major versions, when it includes only 5.x updates.
Spending Chaos AI credits during a trial and then discovering the 14-day refund no longer applies.
Choosing LuxCoreRender for its licence without allowing engineering time to build and maintain it from source.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best 3D rendering software in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Marmoset Toolbag first. Marmoset LLC sells Toolbag as a personal or per-seat studio licence and shows no country or address.
It is the one product on this page with a published one-time purchase for both individuals and studios, but perpetual buyers receive only version 5.x updates. Every licence carries the 2,000+ asset library and lifetime email support, and a 30-day trial starts at first login.
Lumion: Published yearly prices per named user or floating seat in three currencies; custom terms for large practices.
KeyShot: Published per-user plans, optional add-on subscriptions and prepaid credit packs; enterprise by quote; 14-day trial.
Octane: Published subscription with a lower rate when billed yearly; dongle sold as a one-off add-on; demo version offered.
Corona Renderer: Published yearly per-licence prices for Solo, Premium and Collection; 30-day trial; monthly AI credit allowances.
V-Ray: Published yearly per-licence prices across three tiers; 30-day trial with all features; monthly AI credit allowances.
Enscape: Published per-licence monthly prices billed annually across three tiers; refund window instead of a trial.
Vizcom: Free Starter and Education seats, a published per-user Professional plan with credit add-ons, enterprise on contact.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free 3D rendering tool?
Vizcom offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these 3D rendering software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 1 countries and 1 regions, Elsewhere 11:
Marmoset Toolbag: Not stated by the vendor.
LuxCoreRender: Not stated by the vendor.
Lumion: Not stated by the vendor.
KeyShot: Not stated by the vendor.
Octane: Not stated by the vendor.
Corona Renderer: Not stated by the vendor.
V-Ray: Not stated by the vendor.
Enscape: Not stated by the vendor.
Indigo Renderer: Not stated by the vendor.
Vizcom: Not stated by the vendor.
Redshift: Not stated by the vendor.
Which 3D rendering tools are open source?
LuxCoreRender.
What should you use instead of Marmoset Toolbag?
Second is LuxCoreRender, which suits Technical teams that want an unbiased engine they can script and modify. Third is Lumion, which suits Architecture practices wanting seat prices stated up front in their own currency.
Who should not buy Marmoset Toolbag?
Groups wanting floating seats rather than named per-seat licences. Perpetual licences include only version 5.x updates, so later versions need a new purchase or a subscription..
Vendors who think their 3D rendering software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.