Icon libraries supply the small vector symbols that fill buttons, menus and dashboards, and the choice rarely rests on looks alone.
This guide ranks independent, community-run sets first and asks four things: how the licence reads, which frameworks get ready packages, how large the set is, and what a paid tier adds beyond the free files.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What icon libraries software does
An icon library is a collection of vector symbols, usually SVG, distributed as files, npm packages or fonts so designers and developers can reuse one consistent set across interfaces.
Ranking criteria for this icon libraries tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
SVG icon family sorted by weight, made by two named creators
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Phosphor Icons puts its weight variants at the centre of the package: the core repository holds SVG assets grouped by weight and installs through npm as @phosphor-icons/core. Two named creators are credited on the homepage, though no company or country is given.
The MIT licence is the only usage statement and no prices appear. Fonts and React components come from sibling projects, so each extra costs a separate install and a separate check.
What stands out
Icons grouped by weight
MIT licence
npm core package
Where it costs you
The core repository ships no font, so font users must add a separate implementation.
The React component library is a separate project from the core assets.
Right for
Teams that want one MIT-licensed set offered in several visual weights
Wrong for
Buyers who want fonts and components in a single download
Not stated by the vendorFree to use under the MIT licence; no paid tier or price appears on the pages read
Free MIT icon set across React, Flutter, Figma and Framer
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Iconoir is described on its own page as a passion project by Luca Burgio, holding 1,671 icons that are free and open source under the MIT licence. The site rules out premium options and email sign-up, and donations go through Open Collective.
Package coverage is wide for a small set: SVG, font, React, React Native, Flutter, Figma and Framer. The trade-off is dependence on one maintainer, since no company or country is named.
What stands out
MIT licence
Flutter and Framer
No sign-up
Where it costs you
The set holds 1,671 icons, fewer than several rivals on this page.
The page names a single creator and no company, so continuity rests on one person.
Right for
Designers and developers working across Flutter, Figma and Framer who want MIT terms
Wrong for
Teams that need a vendor with a named company and support
Not stated by the vendorNothing to buy: the page says there are no premium options and no sign-up, with optional donations
Community-made ISC icon set, tree-shakable across nine frameworks
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Lucide is a community project: its creator and maintainers are named individuals, the copyright line names Lucide Icons, and no company or country is given. The licence is ISC and the site lists 2029 icons at version 1.70.0.
Its practical strength is build size, because tree-shaking means only imported icons reach the bundle, with documentation for nine environments. Funding is sponsorship alone, so a business relying on it has to accept that nobody is contractually accountable.
What stands out
ISC licence
Tree-shakable packages
Nine frameworks documented
Where it costs you
No company stands behind the set, so there is no one to sign a support agreement with.
ISC is less familiar to some legal teams than the MIT licence.
Right for
Front-end teams wanting tree-shaken imports with documentation for many frameworks
Wrong for
Organisations that require a contract or a named vendor
Not stated by the vendorFree under the ISC licence; sponsorship only through a Sponsor page and Open Collective
Large MIT icon set with a paid bundle for extra formats
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Tabler Icons is the largest free set here at 6257 icons, and the licence is MIT with no attribution needed. Its page separates an open tier from two one-time purchases, a Bundle and an All Package.
Distribution runs from SVG, PNG, PDF and EPS files to npm packages for eight frameworks and a webfont, with Figma supported. The weak spot is clarity: promotional prices are mentioned, and no company or country is named.
What stands out
6,257 icons
MIT licence
One-time paid packages
Where it costs you
The page says lower promotional prices may appear, so the quoted prices can shift.
Paid options exist beside the open tier, which makes it unclear which formats need the purchase.
Right for
Product teams that want the largest MIT set and might buy extra formats once
Wrong for
Buyers who want a single price with no promotional variation
Not stated by the vendorOpen tier at no cost; one-time Bundle and All Package prices are published on the page
Open source framework serving over 300,000 icons from many sets
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Iconify is less a single set than a delivery layer: it brings all popular open source sets under one framework, with an API, libraries and an icon browser at icon-sets.iconify.design.
The page puts the framework under Apache 2.0, most parts MIT, and notes that each icon set has its own licence. Mixing sets also mixes licences. The copyright line names Iconify OÜ, no country is stated, and a Support Iconify link is the only money request.
What stands out
300,000+ icons
Apache 2.0 and MIT
Icon browser and API
Where it costs you
Each icon set carries its own licence, so one blanket licence check is not enough.
The page names Iconify OÜ but gives no country.
Right for
Teams that want many icon sets behind one API instead of picking a single family
Wrong for
Projects that must standardise on one licence for every icon
Not stated by the vendorFramework released as open source with no usage fee; a support link invites sponsorship
Compact hand-crafted SVG icons from the makers of Tailwind CSS
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Heroicons trades breadth for consistency. The page counts 316 hand-crafted icons in Outline, Solid, Mini and Micro, with the Outline style on a 24 by 24 grid at a 1.5px stroke.
React and Vue libraries, GitHub documentation and a Figma file come with it, all under the MIT licence. The link to the makers of Tailwind CSS is a description, and no company, owner or country is named. Anything beyond those 316 shapes needs another library.
What stands out
Four styles
MIT licence
Figma file included
Where it costs you
At 316 icons the set is small beside libraries holding thousands.
Only React and Vue libraries are listed, so other frameworks use plain SVG.
Right for
Tailwind CSS users who want a compact, consistent set in four styles
Wrong for
Projects needing hundreds of niche or brand symbols
Not stated by the vendorMIT licensed and free to use; the page shows no prices and no paid tier
Brand logo icons as SVG, released into the public domain
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Simple Icons exists to supply brand logos, which is why it sits mid-table: it complements an interface set rather than replacing one.
The repository carries a CC0-1.0 licence, a contributing guide, a code of conduct and a security policy, and shows 26.2k stars with 856 open issues. No prices, company or country appear. CC0 covers the SVG files only; whether a brand allows use of its logo is a separate question.
What stands out
Brand logos
CC0-1.0 licence
Contributing guide
Where it costs you
The set covers brand logos only, so it cannot supply general interface icons.
The licence on the files says nothing about the trademarks of the brands shown.
Right for
Developers who need brand logos for integration pages and footers
Wrong for
Anyone looking for a general-purpose interface icon family
Not stated by the vendorCC0-1.0 licensed with no price on the repository; the licence is the only usage statement
Minimal open source icon set with live stroke and size controls
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Feather is a minimal set by @colebemis, presented as open source at version v4.29.0 with a link to its GitHub repository. The page lets visitors change size from the 24px default and stroke width from 2px, then download everything at once.
Missing from the page are the licence name, an icon count and any company or country. An ad block with no stated terms is the only commercial element. Confirm the licence in the repository first.
What stands out
Stroke width control
Download all
GitHub releases
Where it costs you
The page names no licence, only the words open source.
No icon count is stated, so coverage must be checked by browsing.
Right for
Designers who want to tune stroke and size before downloading a minimal set
Wrong for
Teams that need the licence stated on the page they review
Not stated by the vendorOpen source set offered to download in full; no price or licence name on the page
Bootstrap project icon library usable as SVG, sprite or font
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Bootstrap Icons is built for delivery flexibility: SVG files, an SVG sprite or web fonts, installed with npm i bootstrap-icons, and usable with or without Bootstrap. The page counts over 2,078 icons at v1.13.2 and links Figma, OpenCollective and the twbs GitHub account.
It says free and open source but never names the licence, and no company or country appears. For a procurement file that gap must be filled from the repository, not from this page.
What stands out
SVG sprite
Web fonts
Works without Bootstrap
Where it costs you
The page shows no licence name even though it calls the library open source.
No company or country is named, only the twbs GitHub account.
Right for
Teams already using Bootstrap who also want sprite or web font delivery
Wrong for
Buyers who need licence wording visible on the product page
Not stated by the vendorFree to use according to the page, which adds no licence name or price list
Browser-based SVG editor and icon font generator with many exports
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
IcoMoon covers the step after choosing icons: turning SVGs into a custom font or a pack. The editor includes a multicolour icon font generator, pack publishing, and live collaboration with read-only sharing.
Exports span fonts, SVG images and sprites, Web Components, React, Vue, Elm, PNG, favicon and Flutter. A free library of over 20,000 open source icons is advertised, yet no plans, prices, owner or country are shown, so the cost of the tool itself is unclear from the homepage.
What stands out
Icon font generator
Many export formats
Live collaboration
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no prices and the pricing page content was not visible.
The open source icon library is not tied to a licence name on the page.
Right for
Teams who must build custom icon fonts from their own SVG artwork
Wrong for
Buyers who need to see the plan prices before trying it
Not stated by the vendorFree library of open source icons plus paid options; the homepage shows no plans or prices
Icon fonts with CSS animations and a paid Pro tier
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Boxicons mixes a free tier with a paid one, and the homepage shows only the seam: a Free Icons link next to a Get Pro button. Delivery is broad, with icon fonts and CSS animations, React, Vue and Svelte packages, the @boxicons/cli command line, and exports to SVG, PNG, WEBP and fonts.
The risk is opacity. Prices and licence terms sit on pages the homepage only links to, and no owner or country is named beyond a contact email.
What stands out
Animated icon fonts
npm CLI
Pro tier
Where it costs you
Licence terms are not shown on the homepage, and the Pro licence page was not read.
Which icons are free and which need Pro is not clear from the homepage.
Right for
Front-end developers who want animated icon fonts and an npm command line
Wrong for
Buyers who need licence terms and prices visible up front
Not stated by the vendorFree icons are offered alongside a Pro tier reached by a button; prices sit on a separate page
Icon marketplace with yearly plans and a pay-per-seat team option
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The Noun Project is the only paid marketplace here, and it publishes its prices. Noun Pro, Noun Pro Plus and Noun Team are billed yearly, and an Icon API carries a 30-day trial.
The licensing line matters most: paid plans give royalty-free commercial licences with no attribution, while a free account downloads PNG and SVG without them. Currency is not named beside the dollar sign, and Noun Project Inc. is named without a country.
What stands out
Marketplace
Commercial licences
Team plan
Where it costs you
A free account does not carry the royalty-free commercial licence that paid plans include.
The pricing page shows a dollar sign without naming the currency.
Right for
Teams that want one marketplace of icons with clear commercial licences
Wrong for
Projects wanting a single open licence across the whole library
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-month plans billed yearly, with a free account and an Icon API trial
MIT icon set from the Ionic team, now under OutSystems
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Ionicons comes from Ionic, and the page header says An OutSystems Company, so the ownership is a larger organisation rather than a community. The set is SVG under the MIT licence, with a Designer pack zip for design tools and a cheatsheet for lookup.
That ownership is why it ranks low on the independence test, not any fault in the files. The page gives no icon count, no price statement beyond the MIT licence and no country.
What stands out
MIT licence
Designer pack zip
Cheatsheet
Where it costs you
The set belongs to a company that is part of OutSystems, so it is not independent.
The page states no icon count, which makes size comparisons impossible.
Right for
Ionic framework developers who want icons made by the same team
Wrong for
Buyers who rank vendor independence above everything else
Not stated by the vendorMIT licensed and called completely open source; no prices appear on the page
GitHub's own handcrafted icon set with npm and Ruby packages
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Icon Libraries in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Octicons is maintained by GitHub for its own interface, and the footer credits GitHub, Inc. The repository sits under the primer organisation and applies the MIT licence to everything except GitHub logos.
Packages are broad for a platform set: SVG files, a JavaScript API, React and styled-components versions, and Ruby gems. Ranking low reflects ownership, since a company with a large portfolio controls it, and the page gives no icon count, price statement or country.
What stands out
GitHub-made
MIT code licence
Ruby gems
Where it costs you
The MIT licence excludes GitHub logos, so those files cannot be reused on the same terms.
No icon count is stated on the page.
Right for
Developers building tools that sit next to GitHub and want matching icons
Wrong for
Projects wanting a community-governed set outside a platform owner
Not stated by the vendorCode under the MIT licence with no price stated; GitHub logos are excluded from that licence
An icon library is a collection of vector symbols, usually SVG, distributed as files, npm packages or fonts so designers and developers can reuse one consistent set across interfaces. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 8 published against 6 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Phosphor Icons, Lucide, Tabler Icons, Heroicons, Bootstrap Icons, IcoMoon, Boxicons, The Noun Project.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 14 vendors are established in 1 countries across 1 regions (Elsewhere 14). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Decide if open source matters
5 of these are open source: Iconify, Feather, Bootstrap Icons, IcoMoon, Ionicons. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Reading the licence before you pick an icon library
Most icon libraries cost nothing, so the real risk is a licence you cannot show to a client. Phosphor Icons, Heroicons and Tabler Icons state MIT, Lucide states ISC, and Simple Icons is CC0-1.0. Others are looser: Feather and Bootstrap Icons call themselves open source without naming a licence on the page, and Iconify warns that each icon set it serves has its own terms.
Octicons adds a carve-out, because its MIT licence excludes GitHub logos. Write the licence name next to each library in your project notes, and open the repository when the product page stays silent. A missing licence name is a reason to ask, not a reason to assume, and clients or auditors will want that note later.
Find the licence name on the page or in the repository
Check for exclusions such as logos or brand marks
Record the licence beside each library you adopt
Matching an icon library to your framework and bundle
Packages decide how painful adoption is. Lucide documents nine environments and is tree-shakable, so a build imports only the icons it uses. Tabler Icons lists packages for eight frameworks plus a webfont, while Heroicons offers React and Vue libraries and plain SVG for the rest. Phosphor Icons keeps fonts and React components in separate projects from its core assets, which means more installs to track.
Iconoir reaches Flutter, Framer and Figma as well as the web, which suits mixed design and mobile teams. Before committing, install one candidate in your real build, import ten icons, and look at the bundle size and the type support you actually get, because documentation lists rarely show either.
Install the package in your real build, not a demo
Confirm tree-shaking keeps unused icons out of the bundle
Check design-tool files such as Figma exist for your team
Choosing between one family, an aggregator and a marketplace
A single family such as Lucide or Iconoir gives visual consistency, but its size is capped; Heroicons holds 316 icons, which will run out in a large product. Iconify solves coverage by serving over 300,000 icons from many sets, at the price of mixed licences. IcoMoon helps when you have your own SVGs and need a font.
The Noun Project is a paid marketplace for one-off or unusual symbols and states commercial licence terms per plan. Simple Icons covers brand logos that general sets omit. Most products settle on one family for the interface and one or two specialist sources for gaps, so plan the split early and record it for the next designer.
Count the icons your product needs on day one
Pick one primary family for visual consistency
Name a specialist source for logos and rare symbols
Judging who stands behind an icon library
Because nobody pays for most of these sets, ask who keeps them alive. Iconoir is a passion project by one named person, Lucide is community-made with named maintainers, and Phosphor Icons credits two creators. Ionicons sits under OutSystems, and Octicons belongs to GitHub, which suits their own products but makes the roadmap theirs.
Boxicons and The Noun Project run paid tiers, and Noun Project Inc. publishes plan prices, where Boxicons shows none on its homepage. Few vendors name a country. Check the repository for recent releases and open issues before adopting, and keep a copy of the SVGs in your own repository so that a withdrawn project cannot break your build.
Look at release dates and open issues in the repository
Keep a copy of the SVG files in your own repository
Note whether a paid tier exists and where it is priced
What goes wrong most often when buying icon libraries software
Treating the words open source as a licence, when Feather and Bootstrap Icons show no licence name on their pages.
Mixing icons from several Iconify sets without recording that each set carries separate terms.
Picking Heroicons for a large product and discovering that 316 icons do not cover every screen.
Assuming a free Noun Project account includes the commercial licence that paid plans carry.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best icon libraries in 2026?
First of 14 on this page is Phosphor Icons. The homepage credits Helena Zhang and Tobias Fried as creators, and names no company or country. Icons ship as SVG assets grouped by weight in the npm package @phosphor-icons/core, under the MIT licence.
The core repository contains no font, and the React components live in a separate project, so a team assembles the pieces it needs and has no single bundle to download.
Which icon libraries tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Phosphor Icons: Free to use under the MIT licence; no paid tier or price appears on the pages read.
Lucide: Free under the ISC licence; sponsorship only through a Sponsor page and Open Collective.
Tabler Icons: Open tier at no cost; one-time Bundle and All Package prices are published on the page.
Heroicons: MIT licensed and free to use; the page shows no prices and no paid tier.
Bootstrap Icons: Free to use according to the page, which adds no licence name or price list.
IcoMoon: Free library of open source icons plus paid options; the homepage shows no plans or prices.
Boxicons: Free icons are offered alongside a Pro tier reached by a button; prices sit on a separate page.
The Noun Project: Published per-month plans billed yearly, with a free account and an Icon API trial.
The other 6 quote per organisation.
Is there a free icon libraries tool?
Phosphor Icons, Lucide, Bootstrap Icons, IcoMoon, Boxicons can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these icon libraries vendors established?
Second is Iconoir, which suits Designers and developers working across Flutter, Figma and Framer who want MIT terms. Third is Lucide, which suits Front-end teams wanting tree-shaken imports with documentation for many frameworks.
Who should not buy Phosphor Icons?
Buyers who want fonts and components in a single download. The core repository ships no font, so font users must add a separate implementation..
Makers of icon libraries products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.