Online research panels supply the people who answer your surveys, interviews and tests, and each vendor sells them in a different unit. This guide ranks smaller, self-explanatory sellers ahead of large research groups.
It looks at how a response is billed, what fraud screening is described, how far the audience reaches, and whether the vendor names itself.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What online research panels software does
An online research panel is a pool of recruited, profiled people who take paid surveys, interviews or tests, sold to researchers by response, session, credit or project.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the online research panels tool was built for. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Annual credit bundles where one credit buys one survey answer
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Centiment's unit is the credit. A ten-question survey completed by a hundred people therefore uses a thousand credits, while screeners only cost credits for people who qualify.
Plans run from Basic at up to 50,000 credits to a Custom tier above 400,000. It ranks first because the arithmetic is visible even though the price is not. The cost is rigidity: credits lapse after twelve months.
What stands out
Credit-based sampling
Yearly bundles
Qualifier-friendly billing
Where it costs you
Unused credits do not roll over after the twelve-month period, so an overestimate is simply lost spend.
Mid-year top-ups are stated to be 10% less cost-effective than planning upfront, which punishes a forecast that was too low.
The pricing page names no free plan or trial, and the country is not stated on the pages read.
Right for
Teams that run many short surveys and can predict their yearly question volume
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a single study with no annual commitment
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through a demo or sales call; yearly credit bundles, with top-ups during the year
Participant recruitment where you set the reward and pay a platform fee
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Prolific is built around a transparent split: the reward you choose, then a stated percentage on top. It also publishes recommended hourly pay and a minimum, in pounds and dollars. Unlimited users and workspaces avoid per-seat arithmetic.
It ranks second because a buyer can start without a contract and see the fee rule before committing. The weakness is the fee itself, which is higher for corporate accounts than academic ones.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Reward guidance
Audience filters
Where it costs you
The platform fee sits on top of every reward, so the real cost per completed response is well above the reward alone.
Managed services are priced by custom quote through a Statement of Work, with nothing published.
No country or owner is named; the only funding detail is a Series A figure in the careers section.
Right for
Researchers who want to set rewards themselves and recruit without a contract
Wrong for
Buyers who need one fixed all-in price per complete
Not stated by the vendorPay as you go; published reward guidance and a percentage platform fee, plus a quoted managed service
Per-session recruiting for moderated, unmoderated and API-run research
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Respondent charges for a finished session, not for a recruited name, so a no-show costs nothing. Business audiences cost double the consumer rate at list price, and the annual tiers start from 7.5K a year and rise past 500K with larger savings.
Every plan includes the AI moderator, screener tooling, recordings and synthesis. It is built for depth, not volume: that suits interview programmes and is a poor fit for mass surveys, where per-session pricing adds up quickly.
What stands out
Per-session billing
Moderated interviews
B2B recruiting
Where it costs you
Participant incentives are billed separately from the session rate, so the headline figure understates the invoice.
The page does not explain what the start button for a free offer actually includes.
API access is arranged with the sales team, and no registered address appears in the privacy policy.
Right for
Product teams booking interviews and usability sessions with specific professionals
Wrong for
Teams needing thousands of quick, low-cost survey completes
Not stated by the vendorBilled per completed session, published list rates with annual commitment tiers; incentives billed separately
Three participant sources with built-in fraud screening for academic studies
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
CloudResearch groups three ways to reach people under one account. The homepage cites a Sentry clean data rate of 94.2% and a report in which it caught 40% fraudulent data that earlier providers missed, both vendor-reported.
Pricing is a calculator on cost per participant, which helps for sizing but names no plan. It sits fourth because screening is strong in the evidence, yet cost is only visible after you enter study details.
What stands out
Fraud screening
Academic sampling
Connect marketplace
Where it costs you
The pricing page publishes no plan prices; the calculator showed a zero output and is described as only an estimate.
Billing terms are not described, so refunds and minimums cannot be checked from the site.
Fraud and scale figures are the vendor's own claims, and no country is stated.
Right for
Academic and applied researchers who want fraud screening on every source
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published rate card before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per study from a calculator estimate or demo request; billed per participant
Consumer survey platform spanning 59 markets and 70 languages
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Attest is a consumer-survey product, and the numbers it gives are about breadth: over 150 million consumers, 59 markets and 70 languages. It states ISO 27001 and GDPR compliance, which a procurement team can ask to see.
What the checking could not establish is cost, because the pricing page was not readable, and who stands behind Attest Technologies Limited. Treat it as a candidate to quote, not a price you can compare.
What stands out
Consumer surveys
59 markets
ISO 27001
Where it costs you
The pricing page returned HTTP 401, so no plan or price could be checked.
No headquarters, parent company or owner is stated beyond the company name in the footer.
Reach figures are the vendor's own and cannot be tested against a given audience from the site.
Right for
Brands testing consumer questions across many countries in several languages
Wrong for
Buyers who must see prices before booking a call
Not stated by the vendorNot recorded; the pricing page could not be read during checking
Panel network with five layers of quality checks across 44 countries
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Bilendi describes 22 offices and 600+ experts alongside its panel network. The checkable strengths are the 44-country reach and five layers of vetting, plus an ISO 20252:2019 statement for academic work and more than 500 academic institutions among users.
The gap is commercial: no price, owner or head office on the homepage, so quotes decide everything. That suits a project buyer more than a quick self-serve one.
What stands out
Panel network
Academic research
Quality vetting
Where it costs you
The pages read show no prices or plans.
Headquarters and parent company are not stated, only a 2026 copyright to Bilendi Technology.
The ISO 20252:2019 statement is limited to academic work in the vendor's wording.
Right for
Academic and agency buyers wanting certified processes and multi-country fieldwork
Wrong for
Self-serve buyers who want to launch a study today
Not stated by the vendorNo rates appear on the pages read
Buy survey responses at a stated per-response price
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
SurveyMonkey Audience is the only entry here with a one-line unit price on the page: from $1 per response, with census balancing, custom screening and more than 200 targeting options.
Team Advantage and Team Premier add seats and yearly response caps, with extra responses at EUR 0.10. The sample is bought separately, so budget the two lines together. It ranks mid-table because the price is clear but the page names no owner or country.
What stands out
Per-response pricing
Targeting options
Bot detection
Where it costs you
Audience responses are sold separately from the plans, so the per-user price does not cover purchased respondents.
Team plans cap responses per year and charge EUR 0.10 for each response beyond the limit.
The Basic plan limits how many responses can be viewed per survey, and the country is not stated.
Right for
Small teams that want an exact price per purchased response
Wrong for
Studies needing deep qualitative recruiting or niche professionals
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-response price for Audience, plus team plans per user with a Basic tier
Creative testing and research services from a multi-entity group
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Sago presents testing and research services rather than a panel login. Its homepage counts 2,700 clients and 8,700 insights and testing spaces, and its creative testing claim is a drop from four weeks to 48 hours.
The registered companies page makes ownership unusually clear: a New Jersey holding company and Schlesinger Group entities trading as Sago in Spain, the UK, Germany and France. Without published prices, budget comes from proposals.
What stands out
Agency services
Creative testing
Multi-country entities
Where it costs you
No prices or plans are published on the pages read.
The cost and time savings figures are the vendor's own claims, not independent results.
The homepage shows no Terms of Use link, so contract terms cannot be read there.
Right for
Brands buying creative testing as a managed service, not a panel login
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a self-serve account with published prices
United StatesNo prices or plans published on the pages read
Programmatic marketplace connecting buyers to sample from many suppliers
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Cint is infrastructure more than panel: an exchange where sample is bought programmatically, with a Demand API and its own developer portal. The company is based in Stockholm and describes the Lucid purchase and a group structure, so ownership is clear.
That very scale is why it sits ninth for a typical buyer: integration work and the missing price list push setup hours up, and the products listed beyond sampling are for ad measurement and audience monetisation.
What stands out
Programmatic exchange
Demand API
Stockholm headquarters
Where it costs you
No prices are published, and the pricing address returned HTTP 404.
The marketplace is a layer between buyer and suppliers, so it is not one panel with one set of quality rules.
The product list is wide, which makes the first purchase harder to scope than a single panel.
Right for
Insight platforms and agencies buying sample programmatically through an API
Wrong for
A founder who needs one small survey this week
SwedenNothing published; the pricing address returned an error
First-party panel with a machine-learning fraud score and sample API
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Dynata's evidence is about quality control: a QualityScore model looking at 175+ data points, with flagged respondents replaced during fielding. A sample API lets teams source, launch and close projects in code, though no volume figure is given.
The panel is called the largest first-party data set but no number is attached. With no published price and no stated head office, it ranks tenth: a capable option to request, hard to compare.
What stands out
First-party panel
QualityScore model
Sample API
Where it costs you
No prices are published, and the pricing address returned HTTP 404.
Headquarters and owner are not stated on the homepage.
The 85% time saving is a client estimate quoted on the homepage, not a measured result.
Right for
Large fieldwork buyers who want screening that replaces bad respondents live
Wrong for
Small teams comparing a price per complete response
Not stated by the vendorNo published prices; the pricing address returned an error
Brand tracking and innovation testing from a research group
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Online Research Panels in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Kantar's offer is analysis built on data: BrandZ rests on 4.3 million consumers across 54 markets, and the homepage cites 65m interviews and 22k brands tracked. The legal entity is plain, The Kantar Group Limited in England and Wales.
What it does not offer, on the pages read, is a price or a self-serve route. That is why it closes the list: it solves a different problem from buying respondents, namely commissioning a measured brand programme.
What stands out
Brand tracking
Innovation testing
Research group
Where it costs you
No prices or plans are published on the pages read.
It is a programme and measurement business, so a buyer wanting only respondents pays for more than that.
The scale figures are homepage claims by the vendor.
Right for
Large brands running continuous brand tracking and concept testing programmes
Wrong for
Academics or startups wanting cheap respondents for one study
United KingdomNo prices or plans published on the pages read
An online research panel is a pool of recruited, profiled people who take paid surveys, interviews or tests, sold to researchers by response, session, credit or project. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Check who publishes a price
7 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 4 publish a pricing model you can read today: Prolific, Respondent, SurveyMonkey Audience, Cint.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 4 countries: Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1.
Online research panels: what one completed response really costs
Panels quote cost in four different units, so compare them on one finished, usable response. Centiment counts credits, where one credit is one answer to one question. Respondent charges for completed sessions only, leaving dropouts and no-shows off the invoice, but adds participant incentives. Prolific adds a percentage platform fee to the reward you set.
SurveyMonkey Audience states a price per response, with team plans capped by yearly response counts. Write down your question count, expected incidence and reward, then calculate each vendor to the same sample size. Include screener fails, because a panel that charges for them behaves differently from one that does not. The cheapest unit is rarely the cheapest study once top-ups, incentives and fees land.
Convert every quote to cost per usable complete
Ask whether screener fails and dropouts are billed
Add incentives and platform fees before comparing
Fraud screening in an online research panel
Bad respondents are the main hidden cost of panel data, so ask each vendor what it removes and when. CloudResearch cites its Sentry screening and a vendor-reported clean data rate. Dynata describes a QualityScore model using 175+ data points that replaces flagged respondents while the study is still in the field. Bilendi lists five layers of vetting, and SurveyMonkey Audience mentions bot detection and double opt-in.
These are statements, not audits, and the sites give no method detail. Run a small pilot with attention checks and count how many completes you would discard. Ask for the removal count after fielding as well, so you can see how many completes were replaced and judge whether the screening did real work or only sounds good.
Pilot with attention checks before the full order
Ask whether replacements happen during fielding or after
Record the share of completes you discard
Choosing between a panel, a marketplace and an agency
The same word covers very different services. Prolific, Centiment and SurveyMonkey Audience put you in front of a self-serve account. Cint is an exchange that sells sample programmatically through a Demand API, which suits platforms more than a single survey. Sago and Kantar sell analysis and programmes, and their pages publish no prices, so a proposal sets the budget.
Dynata and Bilendi sit between the two, with panels and project teams. Decide first whether you want respondents, a fielded project or finished insight, because the setup hours differ far more than the licence fees. A marketplace needs integration work that a researcher buying a single study will not want to do, so weigh that effort against any saving on the sample price.
Name the deliverable: respondents, fieldwork or insight
Estimate integration hours for API-based options
Ask for a proposal where no price is published
Reach, languages and audience claims in online research panels
Panel size is the easiest number to publish and the hardest to use. Attest cites 150 million consumers across 59 markets and 70 languages, SurveyMonkey Audience cites 335M+ people in over 130 countries, and Bilendi cites over 4 million active panelists in 44 countries. None of these tells you how many people match your niche. Ask each vendor for feasibility on your exact quota, country and incidence before you commit.
Prolific names 300+ audience filters, and Respondent separates consumer and business audiences, which helps for narrow professional groups. Check the vendor's stated country and ownership as well, since several sites state neither. Compare feasibility counts, not total panel size, and keep the written feasibility reply with your order for later disputes.
Request feasibility for your exact quota and country
Check which targeting filters cost extra
Confirm the vendor entity that holds your data
What goes wrong most often when buying online research panels software
Choosing a panel by its total member count instead of by how many people match your quota.
Comparing a per-credit price with a per-session price without converting both to a finished response.
Forgetting that participant incentives and platform fees are charged on top of some headline rates.
Treating a vendor's fraud claim as proof and skipping a pilot with attention checks.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best online research panels in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Centiment first. Centiment sells yearly plans measured in credits, and one credit is one answer to one question from one person.
Qualifying questions only use credits for people who qualify, which keeps screening cheap. Prices are not shown, top-ups cost 10% more than planning upfront, and unused credits expire after twelve months, so a buyer must forecast volume well.
Which online research panels tools publish their pricing?
4 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Prolific: Pay as you go; published reward guidance and a percentage platform fee, plus a quoted managed service.
Respondent: Billed per completed session, published list rates with annual commitment tiers; incentives billed separately.
SurveyMonkey Audience: Published per-response price for Audience, plus team plans per user with a Basic tier.
Cint: Nothing published; the pricing address returned an error.
7 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free online research panels tool?
No. None of the 11 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these online research panels vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1:
Centiment: Not stated by the vendor.
Prolific: Not stated by the vendor.
Respondent: Not stated by the vendor.
CloudResearch: Not stated by the vendor.
Attest: Not stated by the vendor.
Bilendi: Not stated by the vendor.
SurveyMonkey Audience: Not stated by the vendor.
Sago: United States.
Cint: Sweden.
Dynata: Not stated by the vendor.
Kantar: United Kingdom.
What should you use instead of Centiment?
Prolific and Respondent are the next two on this page. Prolific is for Researchers who want to set rewards themselves and recruit without a contract; Respondent is for Product teams booking interviews and usability sessions with specific professionals.
Who should not buy Centiment?
Buyers wanting a single study with no annual commitment. Unused credits do not roll over after the twelve-month period, so an overestimate is simply lost spend..
If your online research panels product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.