Website crawler software follows the links of a site the way a search bot does, then reports broken pages, redirect chains, duplicate titles and rendering faults.
This guide orders fourteen crawlers by what a first audit costs in hours, how URL caps change the real bill, whether crawl data can be exported, and if the vendor stands alone.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What website crawler software does
Crawler software fetches a site's pages by following links, then lists status codes, redirects, duplicated titles, canonical tags and slow or orphaned URLs so teams can fix technical faults.
Every website crawler tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Desktop crawler from a UK agency, with a 500-URL free version
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
One yearly licence per user is priced in euros, with per-seat rates dropping at five, ten and twenty licences. A free version carries the full feature list but ends at 500 URLs, while the licence has no stated cap beyond memory and storage.
Desktop builds exist for Windows, macOS and Linux, and a Log File Analyser sits beside the crawler with its price absent from that page. Licences expire after a year unless renewed.
What stands out
Desktop application
500-URL free version
Yearly per-user licence
Where it costs you
Anything past 500 URLs needs the yearly licence, since the free version ends there.
No cloud-hosted version is described, so crawl data lives on one desktop.
Right for
Consultants crawling client sites on their own Windows, Mac or Linux machine
Wrong for
Teams wanting a shared browser workspace for crawl results
United KingdomFree version capped at 500 URLs; a yearly per-user licence with published rates that fall from five seats upward
German cloud crawler built around monitoring, hreflang and canonical checks
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Two plans are listed: Crawler and Monitoring, the second including the first. Every crawl is bounded at 10,000 HTML pages, 300,000 URLs and three million links, whichever you pick. Monitoring adds hourly scheduling, 200 test requirements per crawl and real-time alerts, while the Crawler schedules daily.
A hreflang validator, a canonical analyser and a comparison of downloaded against rendered HTML cover multilingual and script-heavy sites. The calls to action are Start Now and Contact Us rather than a trial.
What stands out
Hreflang validator
Hourly monitoring
Cloud crawler
Where it costs you
Each crawl is capped at 10,000 HTML pages and 300,000 URLs on both plans.
Figures appear without a currency, and no trial is mentioned.
Right for
Multilingual sites that need hreflang and canonical checks plus alerts on unwanted changes
Wrong for
Very large catalogues that need more than 300,000 URLs per crawl
GermanyCrawler and Monitoring plans with published figures (currency not shown), one month off on annual billing; no trial named
Estonian cloud crawler that joins log files, Search Console and GA4 data
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Growth, Pro and Ultra step up in crawled URLs per month and in log lines, and each tier shows a euro price with a second figure on the other billing toggle.
Properties connected from Search Console and GA4 differ by tier, and the pricing tables disagree on some limits, so confirm figures before signing. The log analyser follows Google and AI bots, the JavaScript crawler shows rendered pages, and an MCP connector links the platform to assistants.
What stands out
Log analyzer
JavaScript crawler
No per-seat fees
Where it costs you
The entry plan crawls 500K URLs a month, so big catalogues climb to dearer tiers.
Some limits conflict between the pricing tables, so figures need confirming with the vendor.
Right for
E-commerce and agency teams that want crawl, log and Search Console data together
Wrong for
Solo auditors who want a one-off crawl without a demo
EstoniaThree tiered monthly plans with published figures in euros, a custom top tier on request, trial only after a demo
Audit-style crawler with explained hints, in desktop or cloud editions
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
In this category Sitebulb is the audit-reporting option: Hints explain over 300 issues, and results export as customised PDFs or spreadsheets. The edition you pick moves the ceiling: Lite 10,000 URLs, Pro 500,000 by default, Cloud up to ten million per audit with live team collaboration.
Google Analytics, Search Console, Sheets and Data Studio connect, although automatic Sheets export is Pro-only. Sitebulb Limited names its founders but no parent company.
What stands out
Hints on 300+ issues
Desktop and Cloud
PDF audit reports
Where it costs you
Lite audits stop at 10,000 URLs, though the FAQ words the same limit as 10,000 in total.
Cloud needs at least two users and its larger plans can pass 20k pounds a year.
Right for
Agency crawlers who need explained issue lists and PDF reports for clients
Wrong for
Solo users who want only a browser edition
United KingdomDesktop Lite and Pro sold per seat, Cloud sized by team; yearly billing saves 15%; 14-day Pro trial without a card
Monthly-billed desktop crawler for Windows and macOS with Chromium rendering
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The monthly subscription is stated in dollars, and yearly bundles pair Spider with a Checker or an On-Page tool at 15% off. The Checker half of those bundles runs on Windows only, while Spider covers Windows and macOS.
JavaScript rendering uses a recent Chromium build, and custom extraction supports up to 15 conditions with CSS and XPath among four search types. Results can pull in Google Analytics and Search Console, and exports go to Google Sheets or Drive.
What stands out
Chromium rendering
CSS and XPath extraction
Monthly billing
Where it costs you
The Checker half of the yearly bundles runs on Windows only.
No country, address or registration number is stated, and the terms page returned an error.
Right for
Single SEOs wanting a monthly-billed desktop crawler with scripted extraction rules
Wrong for
Anyone who must see a legal entity and country first
Not stated by the vendorMonthly subscription with a published dollar price, yearly bundles adding Checker or On-Page tools; 3-day trial
Nuremberg audit and rank suite with a permanent entry plan
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Within website crawling, Seobility is the all-rounder that bundles an audit with keyword ranking, which includes Google AI Overviews, and backlink monitoring. Crawl depth is set by tier: 100 pages on Basic, 25,000 on Premium, 50,000 on Professional and 100,000 on Agency, with euro prices excluding VAT.
seobility GmbH lists a managing director and no parent company. Reports can be white-labelled with your own logo, and an MCP beta exposes the data to AI assistants.
What stands out
100-page free crawl
Pages-per-crawl tiers
White-label PDFs
Where it costs you
Crawl depth runs from 100 pages on Basic to 100,000 pages on Agency.
Every trial asks for a payment method at signup.
Right for
Small sites wanting a crawl plus keyword and backlink monitoring under one login
Wrong for
Crawling a shop larger than the top plan's page ceiling
GermanyFree Basic plan; three paid tiers published by projects, pages per crawl and keywords; 14-day trial on each
French cloud crawler pairing site crawls with server log analysis
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The terms of service name three plans, Basic, Core and Scale, which differ by monthly crawl token volume and by features. Core brings the Log Analyzer, and Lenses add guided modules such as AI Search and Content views.
Scheduled crawls, automated log ingestion and regression alerts handle repeat work, and Google Search Console data is cross-referenced with history kept beyond standard limits. Token volumes and prices are set in an Order Form, so no figure was visible to us.
What stands out
Crawl tokens
Log Analyzer
REST API
Where it costs you
Prices and token volumes live in an Order Form and were not visible.
The vendor's pricing page returned an error, so plan limits could not be read.
Right for
SEO teams that want crawl and log data joined and scheduled
Wrong for
Teams needing a price before any sales contact
FranceBasic, Core and Scale plans sized by crawl tokens, with prices set in an Order Form
French SaaS crawler that merges crawls, logs and Search Console
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Crawls run once or on a schedule, and the log module connects server logs in real time to show Googlebot activity. A cross analysis then merges crawl, log and Search Console data to find inconsistencies between what a site declares and what bots do.
The legal page names SEOLYZER SAS in Choisy-le-Roi, and the home page places collected data and infrastructure in France. Plans, costs and any trial could not be read because the pricing pages errored.
What stands out
Cross analysis
Real-time logs
French infrastructure
Where it costs you
Prices, plan names and trial terms could not be read from the vendor's pages.
Log analysis needs server logs connected, which adds setup beyond a plain crawl.
Right for
Small SEO teams wanting crawl, log and Search Console findings cross-checked
Wrong for
Readers wanting confirmed prices and limits available today
FrancePlans and prices could not be read because the vendor's pricing pages returned errors when checked
Italian desktop crawler for Mac and Windows with a free edition
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Two editions are named on the home page: a free Community Edition and a Professional Edition with a 15-day trial. Differences between them were not readable, since the pricing and buy pages returned errors. The application targets Mac and Windows users such as agencies, freelancers and in-house SEOs.
Crawling highlights on-site issues with suggestions, a SERP emulator and page miniatures preview snippets for click-through work, and XML sitemap control plus Webmaster Tools links add sitemap and inbound-link checks.
What stands out
Community Edition
SERP emulator
XML sitemap control
Where it costs you
Edition limits are unknown because the pricing and buy pages returned errors.
Only Webmaster Tools links are named as an integration.
Right for
Freelancers and small agencies wanting a desktop crawler with snippet previews
Wrong for
Anyone needing published edition limits before they try
ItalyFree Community Edition; Professional Edition with a 15-day trial; edition prices were not readable
Audit tool that turns crawl results into a prioritised action plan
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Small, Medium and Large differ by number of websites, five, fifteen and fifty, and by competitor analyses per month, while page counts, keyword counts, users and weekly audits are identical across them.
Exports come as CSV, Excel, HTML and PDF with white-label reports, and Search Console, Analytics, Slack, webhooks and MCP are listed as integrations. After the six-week trial the account may continue on free features whose limits are not listed.
What stands out
Action-plan audits
Shopify revenue ranking
Weekly scheduled audits
Where it costs you
Every plan is limited to 5,000 pages per website.
No legal entity, country or address is stated and the terms page returned an error.
Right for
Owners of several small sites wanting a ranked fix list each week
Wrong for
Anyone crawling a single site beyond 5,000 pages
Not stated by the vendorSmall, Medium and Large plans published by website count; 6-week trial without a card, then free features only
Platform formerly called Deepcrawl, with Analyze, Monitor and Protect modules
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Four modules are named: Analyze for audits with 250+ reports and custom extraction, Monitor for alerts across domains, Protect for QA testing that can halt builds below set thresholds, and Impact for ranking fixes by commercial value and industry benchmarks.
The page also mentions GEO visibility, site speed and accessibility. No plan, price, currency, billing basis or usage limit appears on the pricing page, so a quote form or demo is the way in.
What stands out
Deepcrawl successor
CI/CD build checks
Quote only
Where it costs you
No plans, prices or usage limits are listed on the pricing page.
No trial is named; a demo is the route in.
Right for
Large engineering-led sites wanting crawl checks wired into release pipelines
Wrong for
Small sites and consultants who need a visible price
United KingdomQuoted per organisation through a form or demo; no trial named
Single-author broken-link checker whose latest version dates from 2010
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The program is described as free, with the author asking for no money and offering neither a formal licence nor source code. Version 1.3.8 is dated 4 September 2010 in the download section.
It checks links plus images, frames, style sheets, scripts and applets, supports https and reports redirected URLs. Broken links can be rechecked to filter temporary network errors, and the output is a report that can be emailed together with a site map.
What stands out
Broken-link checker
Single author
Site map output
Where it costs you
The latest version listed is 1.3.8, dated September 2010.
No formal licence is stated and the source code is not available.
Right for
Webmasters wanting a no-cost sweep for broken links and redirects
Wrong for
Teams needing scheduled audits, rendering or reporting dashboards
GermanyFree program with no formal licence; the author asks only for optional gifts
Visual sitemap generator that also crawls content and tracks keyword rankings
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Lite, Pro, Standard and Organization step up in pages per crawl from 2,500 to 25,000, with 10 GB or 50 GB of storage. Each plan shows a yearly and a monthly figure side by side. Keyword rankings begin at Pro, and scheduled crawl projects begin at Standard.
Integrations named include Jira, Asana, Figma, GA4, Looker Studio, SharePoint and WordPress, and the home page lists ISO 27001 certification and SOC 2 compliance. Demos go to qualified companies.
What stands out
Visual sitemaps
Content inventory
ISO 27001 listed
Where it costs you
Pages per crawl range only from 2,500 to 25,000 across all plans.
The Lite and Pro plans allow one user each.
Right for
Content and UX teams that want a drawn site map and a content inventory
Wrong for
Technical SEOs needing log data or very deep crawls
United StatesFour plans from Lite to Organization, each with published yearly and monthly figures in dollars; limited 14-day trial
AI-search platform with agent content delivery, sold through demos
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Website Crawler Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three product areas, AI Readiness, AI Visibility and AI Activation, are named without prices. Agent content delivery serves site content to AI agents with a stated response time under 300 ms, feed enrichment pushes reviews and Q&As to Google and OpenAI, and the analytics layer covers GEO and bot traffic across 1,000+ metrics.
Activation adds AI-generated content, internal linking and an MCP offering. A Claude banner sits on the home page, but the privacy and terms pages returned errors.
What stands out
AI Readiness
Agent content delivery
Demo only
Where it costs you
Pricing shows no plans, prices or limits, only a demo button.
No company registration, address or owner appears on the pages read.
Right for
Enterprise retailers preparing product catalogues and content for AI agents
Wrong for
Teams wanting a plain crawler with a visible price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation with a demo as the only call to action; no trial named
Crawler software fetches a site's pages by following links, then lists status codes, redirects, duplicated titles, canonical tags and slow or orphaned URLs so teams can fix technical faults. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Prices are public at 9 products (Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Audisto, JetOctopus, Netpeak Spider, Seobility, Visual SEO Studio, SiteGuru, Xenu's Link Sleuth, DYNO Mapper) and on request at the remaining 5, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
3 regions are represented (Europe 10, Elsewhere 3, North America 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Website crawler software: URL caps and who counts them
Crawl limits differ so much between products that the headline price tells you little. Screaming Frog SEO Spider stops its free version at 500 URLs. Sitebulb Lite audits 10,000 URLs, Seobility climbs from 100 pages on Basic to 100,000 on Agency, and DYNO Mapper tops out at 25,000 pages per crawl.
SiteGuru limits every plan to 5,000 pages per website, Audisto caps each crawl at 300,000 URLs, and JetOctopus counts crawled URLs per month, starting at 500K. Count your real URLs first, including parameters, paginated lists and image files, because a cap measured in HTML pages and a cap measured in all URLs can differ by a factor of ten on a shop.
Count total URLs and HTML pages for your biggest site before comparing plans
Check whether the cap applies per crawl, per website or per month
Ask what happens when a crawl hits the cap: stop, truncate or bill more
Desktop licence or cloud: Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Sitebulb and Netpeak Spider
A desktop crawler uses your own memory and keeps results on one machine, a cloud crawler shares them. On the desktop side, Screaming Frog SEO Spider runs on Windows, macOS and Linux, Netpeak Spider on Windows and macOS, and Visual SEO Studio on Mac and Windows. Sitebulb sells both models, with Cloud adding real-time team collaboration and up to ten million URLs per audit but a minimum of two users.
Seat rules differ too: JetOctopus states no per-seat fees, Audisto allows unlimited users, and Screaming Frog charges per licence with rates falling from five seats. Decide first whether one person runs every crawl or several colleagues need the same data, then price only that model.
List who needs to open crawl results and on which devices
Compare per-seat cost with flat-seat plans for your team size
Test the largest audit on a desktop machine before relying on it
Log files and JavaScript: what OnCrawl, JetOctopus and Seolyzer add
A plain crawl shows what a site declares, whereas logs show what bots actually fetched. OnCrawl adds a Log Analyzer on its Core plan, JetOctopus ships a log analyser beside its crawler, and Seolyzer merges crawl, log and Search Console data in a cross analysis. A separate Log File Analyser comes from Screaming Frog, with no price on the page we read.
Rendering matters as well: Netpeak Spider uses a recent Chromium build, JetOctopus has a JavaScript crawler, and Audisto compares downloaded with rendered HTML. Logs need someone with server access, so schedule that work, and agree the export format, before you sign. Without log access, a crawler with strong rendering is the better spend.
Confirm who can export server logs and how often
Ask which plan includes log analysis, since OnCrawl ties it to Core
Run a JavaScript-heavy page through the rendering feature during the trial
Quote-only crawlers: Lumar, Botify and what a hidden price costs you
Several vendors here show no figures. Lumar offers a quote form or demo, Botify shows only a demo button, and OnCrawl sets prices in an Order Form with the pricing page returning an error when checked. Seolyzer and Visual SEO Studio had unreadable pricing pages, and Audisto lists figures without naming a currency.
Each of these needs a question before a trial: what is the unit, what is the cap, and what does the second year cost. Botify and Lumar have also moved towards AI-search and QA modules, so confirm that the crawler you need is still the core of what you would be buying. Tools with published euro or dollar prices, such as Seobility, JetOctopus and DYNO Mapper, let you budget at once.
Ask quote-only vendors for the unit, the crawl cap and the renewal price in writing
Confirm the currency on any figure without one, as Audisto's page omits it
Check that a trial or demo covers your real site, not a sample
What goes wrong most often when buying website crawler software
Testing a crawler on a small staging site, then finding that the live shop's parameters and images push it past Seobility's or SiteGuru's page ceilings.
Reading Xenu's Link Sleuth as a full SEO crawler when its page describes link checking, with the latest version dated September 2010.
Choosing Botify or Lumar for a plain audit, when their pricing pages show product areas and modules aimed at larger platform work.
Buying a Sitebulb Cloud or JetOctopus plan before checking that logs, Search Console or GA4 access can actually be connected by your team.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best website crawler software in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts Screaming Frog SEO Spider first. Screaming Frog is made by a UK SEO agency that also sells a Log File Analyser, and it is the one crawler here with no cloud tier to grow into.
The free version carries the same feature list as the licence but stops at 500 URLs, while the licence is limited only by memory and storage. Crawls stay on the machine that ran them, and licences renew yearly.
Which website crawler tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Screaming Frog SEO Spider: Free version capped at 500 URLs; a yearly per-user licence with published rates that fall from five seats upward.
Audisto: Crawler and Monitoring plans with published figures (currency not shown), one month off on annual billing; no trial named.
JetOctopus: Three tiered monthly plans with published figures in euros, a custom top tier on request, trial only after a demo.
Netpeak Spider: Monthly subscription with a published dollar price, yearly bundles adding Checker or On-Page tools; 3-day trial.
Seobility: Free Basic plan; three paid tiers published by projects, pages per crawl and keywords; 14-day trial on each.
Visual SEO Studio: Free Community Edition; Professional Edition with a 15-day trial; edition prices were not readable.
SiteGuru: Small, Medium and Large plans published by website count; 6-week trial without a card, then free features only.
Xenu's Link Sleuth: Free program with no formal licence; the author asks only for optional gifts.
DYNO Mapper: Four plans from Lite to Organization, each with published yearly and monthly figures in dollars; limited 14-day trial.
The remaining 5 sell by quote.
Is there a free website crawler tool?
Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Seobility, Visual SEO Studio, Xenu's Link Sleuth offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these website crawler software vendors established?
In 7 countries across 3 regions: Europe 10, Elsewhere 3, North America 1.
Screaming Frog SEO Spider: United Kingdom.
Audisto: Germany.
JetOctopus: Estonia.
Sitebulb: United Kingdom.
Netpeak Spider: Not stated by the vendor.
Seobility: Germany.
OnCrawl: France.
Seolyzer: France.
Visual SEO Studio: Italy.
SiteGuru: Not stated by the vendor.
Lumar: United Kingdom.
Xenu's Link Sleuth: Germany.
DYNO Mapper: United States.
Botify: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Screaming Frog SEO Spider?
The next in line are Audisto, aimed at Multilingual sites that need hreflang and canonical checks plus alerts on unwanted changes, and JetOctopus, aimed at E-commerce and agency teams that want crawl, log and Search Console data together.
Who should not buy Screaming Frog SEO Spider?
Teams wanting a shared browser workspace for crawl results. Anything past 500 URLs needs the yearly licence, since the free version ends there..
Missing from this website crawler software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.