Async video messaging swaps a live call or a long email for a short recording that the recipient opens when it suits them.
This guide orders twelve tools on recording caps, the size of the zero-cost tier, per-seat price steps, how analytics and CRM links are charged, and whether the maker names its company, owner and country.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What async video messaging tools software does
Async video messaging tools record a screen or a camera, keep the clip behind a shareable link and show who watched it, so people can reply without a scheduled call.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every async video messaging tool here. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Personalised outreach video made from one recording for many prospects
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page lists Combine Videos, Personalized Thumbnails, Custom Landing Pages, Embedded Calendars and detailed viewer analytics, which makes this a prospecting tool first. One recording is adapted per prospect using voice cloning and custom backgrounds.
Starter and Pro differ mainly in clip length (60 against 180 minutes) and AI enhancements. Enterprise and education plans are quoted, and storage is not stated anywhere on the pricing page.
What stands out
Voice cloning
Landing pages
Bonus videos
Where it costs you
Ten videos of 30 minutes is the free ceiling, and invited members earn only 5 bonus videos each up to a total of 20.
Free-plan team size is four in the plan text and five in the comparison table, so the true limit is unclear.
Nothing on the pages read names the company behind it or its storage allowance.
Right for
Sales reps sending one recorded pitch personalised to many named prospects
Wrong for
Teams wanting internal screen walkthroughs rather than prospect outreach
Not stated by the vendorFree tier with a video cap, then two per-user plans published for annual billing; enterprise and education quoted
Screen and meeting recordings kept in channels with AI summaries
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Channels are the organising idea: Basic gives two, Pro gives unlimited. Screen recordings are unlimited on Basic, whereas meeting recordings are held to five a week and 30 minutes each.
Pro Teams and Pro Personal carry identical features, so the difference is only the member count they are sold for. Each new workspace receives a 14-day Pro trial, which is the way to test whether never-locking bubbles matter to you.
What stands out
Channels
Two-week lock
AI action items
Where it costs you
Bubbles recorded on Basic lock after two weeks, so older clips need an upgrade to stay open.
Pro Personal costs more per member than Pro Teams, so very small groups pay the highest rate.
No owner, legal entity or storage allowance is named on the pricing page.
Right for
Small teams that file video updates by topic and want summaries attached
Wrong for
Anyone who needs clips to stay open on a no-cost plan
Not stated by the vendorBasic plan at zero cost; Pro Teams and Pro Personal listed per member with a yearly discount; every new workspace starts a 14-day Pro trial
Sales video platform whose upload limits rise with each plan
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The tier ladder is explicit: 25 SD videos on Starter, unlimited HD on Pro, unlimited 4K on Pro Plus, with upload size rising from 25 MB to 5 GB. Annual billing lowers the monthly rate on both paid plans.
The Dubb Sales Agent sits outside the plans at a flat monthly price with 50,000 AI credits and a seven-day trial of 25,000 credits, without a card.
What stands out
Upload size ladder
Sales Agent add-on
4K on top tiers
Where it costs you
Starter limits videos to standard definition and 25 MB uploads.
The Sales Agent costs extra on top of any plan and runs on a credit allowance.
The page mentions a trial for all paid plans and the FAQ gives seven days, but the two statements are not tied together.
Right for
Small sales groups who want a cheap start and plan to grow into 4K
Wrong for
Buyers who need a clear company, owner and country first
Not stated by the vendorZero-cost Starter tier; Pro and Pro Plus listed per user with an annual discount; enterprise via sales; AI Sales Agent billed as a separate add-on
Cap is the only entry here with a published open source licence (AGPLv3) and a self-hosting route through Docker Compose. Buyers choose between a yearly or lifetime desktop licence with 25 cloud links monthly, or Cap Pro per user with unlimited storage, bandwidth and links.
Enterprise needs are priced a la carte: SAML SSO at a flat monthly sum and a BAA per organisation. Company country is not stated.
What stands out
AGPLv3
Lifetime licence
Self-hostable
Where it costs you
Zero-cost use is licensed for personal use only, so any company use needs a paid licence.
The desktop licence includes just 25 cloud shareable links per month.
SAML SSO and a signed BAA are separate monthly add-ons, and the page lists SCIM without a price.
Right for
Technical teams that want to host recordings themselves and own the code
Wrong for
Non-technical teams without anyone to run a Docker server
Not stated by the vendorFree personal tier; desktop licence yearly or once; Cap Pro listed per user; SSO and BAA sold as priced add-ons
Call recordings and video messages synced to Salesforce and HubSpot
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Where most entries here are recorders, Claap leans toward meetings: it joins calls without appearing as a participant and pushes notes to Salesforce and HubSpot.
Pro grants 1,000 minutes and 2-year storage, Business unlimited recording time and 3-year storage, and Enterprise removes all caps. Storage periods are printed per plan, which makes retention easy to compare. The free-seat limit stays ambiguous.
What stands out
Call recording
CRM sync
99+ languages
Where it costs you
Basic permits 10 videos per user, 300 minutes in total and only 3 uploads.
The FAQ claims up to 20 members on a free workspace, while the table caps it at 5 licences.
Pro includes 500 AI credits a month pooled across the whole workspace, which can run short in larger teams.
Right for
Revenue teams that want call recordings and video messages in one CRM-linked library
Wrong for
Solo creators who only need quick screen clips
Not stated by the vendorBasic tier at no cost with hard caps; Pro and Business listed per licence for annual billing; enterprise custom
Email-first video for sales teams, sold per user with a card trial
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pro is the plan most sales groups will need, because contact lists, team features and the CRM links sit there. Core keeps the recording part unlimited but strips contact management and team analytics.
Enterprise adds extended video retention, own cloud storage, SSO provisioning and a success manager. Neither a free plan nor a headquarters country appears on the pages read.
What stands out
Email tracking
Annual commitment
Contact cap
Where it costs you
Core has limited tracking and no contact management, so real outreach work needs the dearer Pro tier.
Its 14-day trial asks for a credit card and turns into a paid plan unless cancelled.
A yearly purchase runs for 12 months, which fixes the spend early.
Right for
Sales teams that already live in email and want video added to it
Wrong for
Teams wanting a no-cost plan or screen recordings for internal use
Not stated by the vendorTwo per-user tiers published for annual or monthly billing; enterprise custom; 14-day trial only, card required
Video messaging with monthly personalised-video quotas and AI editing
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Each tier sets four counters: recording length, video flows, personalised videos and AI Editor videos. Pro gives one hour and five flows, Teams two hours and 15 or more flows with team reports, and Enterprise three hours with Salesforce, SSO and role-based access.
The trials last seven days with no card for messaging plans only. The Delaware address is stated, the country is not.
What stands out
Personalised video quotas
Video flows
Text-to-Video line
Where it costs you
Personalised videos are capped by tier: 50 on the free plan, 100 on Pro and 300 on Teams.
Enterprise is billed annually only and needs at least 10 seats.
Text-to-Video is priced separately and has no trial, unlike the messaging plans.
Right for
Outreach teams that send many personalised clips and want the quota published
Wrong for
Small teams that find tiered usage limits tiresome to track
Not stated by the vendorZero-cost plan with monthly quotas; Pro, Teams and Enterprise listed per user; seven-day trial on the paid messaging tiers
Polished screen recordings for walkthroughs, metered in monthly credits
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Credits are the metering unit: 4,500 per user monthly on Pro, 9,000 on Premium. Pro and Premium are billed per user annually, differing mainly in credits, custom domain, branding removal, 60 FPS export and analytics history.
Enterprise is quoted and adds SSO, SCIM, a shared Slack channel, personalised onboarding and a SOC 2 Type II report. The footer names Tella HQ Inc., with no country.
What stands out
Credit allowances
Branding on Pro
SOC 2 report
Where it costs you
Tella branding stays on the Pro plan and can only be removed on Premium.
Auto Capture needs a paid plan, even though the trial includes agent credits.
Analytics history covers 30 days on Pro, and all time only on Premium.
Right for
Creators and trainers who care about polished 4K walkthroughs more than quantity
Wrong for
Teams needing a permanent entry tier to test with
Not stated by the vendorTwo annual per-user plans with credit allowances; custom enterprise; 7-day trial only
Screen capture where Video Requests collect clips from other people
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond recording, the home page lists Request Video, Meeting Recorder, Video Redaction, an MCP Server and a Zendesk integration.
Collaborate is the plan with up to 100 users, unlimited AI and Smart Actions, advanced analytics, GDPR and SOC 2 Type II. Scale is quoted and states a 99% uptime SLA. Prices are quoted in USD. The legal entity behind it is absent from the pages read.
What stands out
Video Requests
MCP Server
Zendesk link
Where it costs you
Share, the entry plan, holds one user, 1 GB and recordings of five minutes at 720p.
Create and Collaborate display the same annual price, plus a stray lower figure the page never explains.
HIPAA with a BAA, SSO and custom S3 storage are reserved for the quoted Scale plan.
Right for
Support and success teams who collect customer recordings through request links
Wrong for
Companies needing a named owner and country before signing
Not stated by the vendorZero-cost Share plan for one user; Create and Collaborate listed per user for annual billing; Scale quoted
Sales video hosting with AI avatars sold as an add-on
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Three of four plans have no listed price: Starter, Teams and Enterprise. Free allows 15 AI videos and basic analytics; Starter adds unlimited recording, two data integrations and full analytics.
Video Agent includes unlimited AI videos and three custom avatars. Teams is flagged as the popular plan and is invoiced, with annual or multi-year terms. Single sign-on and custom permissions arrive with Enterprise. The legal name is Buildscale, Inc.
What stands out
Video Agent add-on
Invoice billing
Data integrations
Where it costs you
Starter has no visible price, so even the entry paid tier needs a conversation or a trial.
Video Agent, with its AI avatars, is an add-on on every paid plan and its price is not stated.
Five videos a month and no data integrations is the extent of the entry plan.
Right for
Sales groups wanting a hosted video library with analytics before paying
Wrong for
Buyers who need to budget without talking to a salesperson
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with monthly caps; Starter shown without a number; Teams and Enterprise quoted by invoice; 14-day trial
Atlassian-owned screen recorder with a capped zero-cost entry tier
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Business is priced per user monthly and unlocks unlimited members, videos and length, 4K, and four spaces (one all-company plus three more). Business + AI adds the AI features, with a 14-day trial stated in the FAQ.
Enterprise offers unlimited spaces, SAML SSO, SCIM, a 99.95% SLA and dedicated support. Ownership by Atlassian is the reason it sits low in a ranking that favours standalone vendors.
What stands out
Atlassian-owned
Five-minute cap
AI tier
Where it costs you
Starter ends at 25 videos, each at most five minutes.
AI summaries, chapters and meeting notes need the higher Business + AI price.
The terms name neither a contracting entity nor a country, only an Atlassian cookie policy.
Right for
Companies already inside the Atlassian ecosystem wanting familiar team spaces
Wrong for
Buyers who put vendor independence ahead of everything else
Not stated by the vendorStarter at no cost with caps; Business and Business + AI published per user; enterprise by conversation; 14-day AI trial
Transcript-based editor where messaging is a side use
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Async Video Messaging Tools in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Plans are metered in media hours and AI credits, not clips. Hobbyist gives 10 hours and 1080p export, Creator 30 hours, up to three seats and 4K, and Business 40 hours and up to five seats.
Enterprise is custom via sales. Transcription covers 25 languages on paid plans. As none of this describes link sharing or viewing statistics, it sits last here.
What stands out
Media hours
AI credits
Editor first
Where it costs you
One media hour per month and no watermark-free export is all the entry plan offers.
The page lists the editing hours, AI credits and export quality of each plan, but no sharing links or viewer analytics.
Prices show two numbers per plan without saying which is annual, so the true cost is unclear.
Right for
Teams editing recorded video messages by transcript before they send them
Wrong for
Anyone mainly wanting one-click recording with viewer tracking
Not stated by the vendorZero-cost plan with one media hour; paid tiers listed per person with a monthly and annual toggle; enterprise via sales
How to choose async video messaging tools software
Async video messaging tools record a screen or a camera, keep the clip behind a shareable link and show who watched it, so people can reply without a scheduled call. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Start with pricing transparency
The split is 5 published against 7 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Sendspark, Cap, BombBomb, Vidyard, Loom.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
1 regions are represented (Elsewhere 12). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
03
Check the open source options
1 of these are open source: Cap. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Async video messaging tools: caps that decide the free tier
Every vendor in this market limits the entry tier on a different axis, so a plan that looks equal on price can be unusable for your clips. Loom stops at 25 videos of five minutes, Zight at five minutes and 1 GB, and Bubbles at 30 minutes with a two-week lock. Sendspark allows 10 videos of 30 minutes, Dubb 25 standard-definition videos of 25 MB, and Hippo Video 50 videos a month.
Cap's zero-cost tier is licensed for personal use only. Record the longest clip you send and the number you send in a month, then check both against each cap before comparing paid plans. A tool that locks or deletes older clips changes what a cheap plan really costs.
List your longest typical clip and monthly volume before opening any pricing page
Check whether the entry tier allows commercial use, as Cap's does not
Ask what happens to older clips, for example Bubbles locking after two weeks
Sendspark and Dubb: pricing for outreach rather than recording
Outreach tools add personalisation and tracking on top of the recording, and the extras are where bills diverge. Sendspark personalises one recording with voice cloning and custom landing pages, Dubb sells its Sales Agent as a separate monthly add-on, and Vidyard sells Video Agent as an extra with no price shown. BombBomb splits tracking and contact management between Core and Pro, and Hippo Video counts personalised videos per tier.
Before you commit, count how many prospects a rep reaches monthly and which tier holds that number. Then price the AI add-on separately, because its credits are a fixed allowance. A cheap seat that excludes contact management is only cheap if you already own a CRM, and that is worth confirming before any rollout across a sales floor.
Work out personalised videos per rep per month and match them to a tier
Price any AI agent add-on and its credit allowance separately
Confirm whether contact lists and open tracking sit in the cheaper plan
Claap and Zight: what meeting and request recording cost
Some tools in this category record other people, not only you, and their limits are measured in minutes and requests. Claap joins Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams without appearing as a participant and caps free usage at 300 minutes in total, then 1,000 minutes a month on Pro. Zight's Request Video lets customers send clips, limited to 5, 10 or 50 requests monthly by plan. Bubbles holds meeting recordings to five a week on Basic.
If recording calls matters, check the storage periods printed per plan, since Claap lists 3-month, 2-year and 3-year retention. Also check whether outside guests can view without a seat, because Claap's Basic plan permits none. Finally, compare how each tool counts a meeting recording against the plan allowance, as Bubbles does weekly and Claap does in minutes, so you know which number runs out first.
Count monthly meetings and requests, then compare with the minute or request caps
Check storage retention per plan, which Claap prints and others leave out
Test whether outside viewers can open a clip without a paid seat
Loom, Tella and Cap: owner and exit before you standardise
A video library is hard to leave once hundreds of clips sit in it, so the vendor behind it matters. Loom's pricing FAQ says Atlassian acquired it, and its terms name no contracting entity or country. Tella HQ Inc., Cap Software, Inc. and Buildscale, Inc d/b/a Vidyard are named in footers without a country. Cap is the only entry with an open source licence and a self-hosting guide, which gives the clearest exit.
For the others, ask how clips are exported, whether custom domains survive cancellation, and whether Tella branding or similar marks stay on shared links. Treat unstated ownership as a question for the vendor, not a conclusion, and write the answer into your procurement file so the next reviewer can see where it came from.
Ask how to export every clip before you sign, and whether it is included
Check which plan removes vendor branding from links, as Tella does only on Premium
Note any vendor that names no country, entity or owner and ask for it
What goes wrong most often when buying async video messaging tools software
Choosing a tool from the headline seat price, then finding that Pro-level features such as BombBomb's contact management or Vidyard's integrations belong to a dearer tier.
Rolling out Loom to a whole sales team on the Starter plan and hitting its 25 video and five-minute limits within the first fortnight.
Treating Descript as a messaging tool when its plans are metered in media hours and say nothing about shareable links or viewer analytics.
Skipping the commercial-use clause: Cap's zero-cost tier is for personal use only, so a company that records on it is outside the licence.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best async video messaging tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Sendspark first. Sendspark is built for outreach: one recorded video is personalised for many prospects with voice cloning, custom backgrounds, thumbnails, landing pages and embedded calendars.
The cheapest paid plan lifts the cap to unlimited videos of 60 minutes, while the free tier stops at 10 videos. Weak spots: a free seat count given as four in one place and five in another, and no stated owner, country or storage.
Which async video messaging tools publish their pricing?
5 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Sendspark: Free tier with a video cap, then two per-user plans published for annual billing; enterprise and education quoted.
Cap: Free personal tier; desktop licence yearly or once; Cap Pro listed per user; SSO and BAA sold as priced add-ons.
BombBomb: Two per-user tiers published for annual or monthly billing; enterprise custom; 14-day trial only, card required.
Vidyard: Free plan with monthly caps; Starter shown without a number; Teams and Enterprise quoted by invoice; 14-day trial.
Loom: Starter at no cost with caps; Business and Business + AI published per user; enterprise by conversation; 14-day AI trial.
7 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free async video messaging tool?
Sendspark, Cap, Hippo Video, Vidyard, Descript can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these async video messaging tool vendors established?
Across 1 countries (Elsewhere 12):
Sendspark: Not stated by the vendor.
Bubbles: Not stated by the vendor.
Dubb: Not stated by the vendor.
Cap: Not stated by the vendor.
Claap: Not stated by the vendor.
BombBomb: Not stated by the vendor.
Hippo Video: Not stated by the vendor.
Tella: Not stated by the vendor.
Zight: Not stated by the vendor.
Vidyard: Not stated by the vendor.
Loom: Not stated by the vendor.
Descript: Not stated by the vendor.
Which async video messaging tools are open source?
Cap.
Which async video messaging tools can you host yourself?
Cap. 11 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of Sendspark?
Bubbles and Dubb are the next two on this page. Bubbles is for small teams that file video updates by topic and want summaries attached; Dubb is for small sales groups who want a cheap start and plan to grow into 4K.
Who should not buy Sendspark?
Teams wanting internal screen walkthroughs rather than prospect outreach. Ten videos of 30 minutes is the free ceiling, and invited members earn only 5 bonus videos each up to a total of 20..
If your async video messaging tools product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.