Creator monetization platforms let writers, podcasters, makers and open projects collect money from an audience through tips, memberships, downloads or shops. They differ mostly in how they take their cut.
This guide ranks on first-ninety-day effort, the total fee once processors are added, how members and data leave, vendor independence, and which kind of creator each platform serves.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What creator monetization platforms do
A creator monetization platform hosts payment pages, subscriptions or stores so an audience can pay a creator directly, and deducts a percentage, subscriber rate or flat fee.
Ranking criteria for this creator monetization platform list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Membership income for independent publishers, billed by commission only
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Steady states that it is always free to use, with no charge until a creator earns. After that, a 10% commission applies and payment provider fees come separately. Creators set the currency of plan prices and payouts, members are billed monthly or annually, and one payout replaces many small ones.
Steady Media GmbH is the operator, with German law applying. At the start, nothing is spent; at scale, the commission becomes the main cost to compare against flat plans.
What stands out
Commission only
Berlin operator
Currency of your choice
Where it costs you
Tax treatment varies by project type and the member's EU country, which adds a check before launch.
The percentage grows with revenue, unlike a flat plan.
Right for
Independent publishers who want to pay only once memberships start earning
Wrong for
Sellers of one-off downloads with no recurring members
GermanyCommission on earnings, published; payment provider fees charged on top; no charge until you earn
Online store for digital downloads on flat monthly plans
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Starter costs $29 a month or $22 billed yearly with a $10,000 annual sales limit; Business costs $79 or $59 yearly with $50,000; Premium costs $159 or $119 yearly with $200,000.
Transaction fees are 0% and products are unlimited on all three, and each plan opens with a 14-day trial. Sellfy UAB is registered in Vilnius. The real price depends on which sales ceiling you expect to hit, because the overage charge makes an undersized plan expensive.
What stands out
Flat monthly bill
Annual sales cap
Digital downloads
Where it costs you
Each plan caps annual sales, and exceeding the cap can add a 2% overage fee.
Every plan starts with a trial only; nothing beyond that is listed.
Right for
Creators selling digital products who want a predictable bill instead of a percentage
Wrong for
Creators with unpredictable sales who cannot afford a monthly commitment
LithuaniaThree monthly plans with published prices, annual billing discounted, 0% transaction fee, 14-day trial on each
Non-profit recurring donations run by a French association, no platform commission
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Association Liberapay is a French non-profit, legally founded in 2015, and its FAQ rules out any commission while the service lives on donations. Its source is public on GitHub under the CC0 Public Domain Dedication.
Money moves through Stripe and PayPal, so the cost to supporters is the processor's, not the platform's. It prices lowest of the group, but features beyond giving are not described.
What stands out
Non-profit
Zero commission
Open source code
Where it costs you
Stripe and PayPal fees still apply, averaging about 3% and 5.1% in the FAQ.
The pages read list no merchandise, tiers or gated posts.
Right for
Open projects and writers who want donations without a commission cut
Wrong for
Creators who need a storefront, gated content or tiered rewards
FranceFree to use with no commission; payment processors charge their own fees; funded by donations
Paid podcast feeds with a subscriber landing page and analytics
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The All-in plan costs $0.59 per month per subscriber plus Stripe fees: 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction and a 0.7% billing fee on recurring payments. It includes hosting of premium content, a subscriber landing page, auto-sync of public episodes, unlimited plans in monthly, annual and lifetime forms, and analytics.
Networks with large audiences are sent to a contact link for the Custom plan, which adds multi-show support and bundles. The operator is formed in British Columbia.
What stands out
Premium podcasts
Per-subscriber rate
Bundle subscriptions
Where it costs you
The per-subscriber rate does not shrink when a subscriber pays little.
One-time payments cost 15% up to a $1.50 cap, plus Stripe fees.
Right for
Podcasters who want to sell paid episodes and bonus feeds to listeners
Wrong for
Writers, artists or sellers whose product is not audio content
CanadaPer-subscriber monthly rate on the All-in plan, published; Custom plan quoted for networks; Stripe fees on top
Supporter page where fans tip or subscribe, with a single platform percentage
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The help centre lays out the arithmetic: a 5% platform fee, Stripe at 2.9% + $0.30 per payment, payouts at 0.5%, a further 1% on non-US transactions and 0.5% for subscriptions.
Creators keep about 95% before processing and can absorb the card charge or hand it to fans. The simple headline fee is real, but the total take on a small subscription from abroad is noticeably higher.
What stands out
Tips and subscriptions
5% platform fee
No monthly fee
Where it costs you
Processing, payout, international and subscription charges stack on the 5% platform fee.
There is no separate plan list at the pricing address to compare.
Right for
Solo creators who want a simple page for tips and memberships
Wrong for
Teams needing a store, tiers ladder or published plan comparison
United StatesPlatform fee of 5% per transaction, published, with no monthly fee; card processing charged separately
Sell files and memberships with a cut per sale, no monthly bill
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Gumroad's pricing page promises no hidden fees and no monthly charges, and says it earns only when creators sell. Sales through your profile or direct links cost 10% + $0.50, while customers who arrive through Discover add up to 30%.
On a $3 item the direct fee alone is 80 cents. The operator is Gumroad, Inc. in San Francisco, and the terms say services are offered from US facilities. Promote by link where you can.
What stands out
Per-sale fee
Discover marketplace
No monthly charge
Where it costs you
The fixed 50 cents takes a large share of low-priced items.
Discover sales cost 30%, three times the direct rate.
Right for
Sellers of files and courses who want no fixed monthly charge
Wrong for
Stores with high volume of cheap items or discovery-dependent sales
United StatesPer-sale fee on direct links and a higher percentage on Discover sales; no monthly charge
Publication platform from a foundation, with paid memberships in the code
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Ghost lists Starter, Publisher, Business and Custom plans, priced by member count, with Starter limited to 1 staff user, Publisher 3 and Business 15. Paid subscriptions arrive from Publisher up, carry 0% transaction fees from Ghost and still bear processor fees.
Members can be imported and exported according to the plan table, and the GitHub repository shows an MIT licence. Ghost Foundation describes itself as a non-profit founded in April 2013.
What stands out
Foundation-run
MIT licence
Member export
Where it costs you
It publishes writing for readers, with no tipping or file store in the facts read.
Paid subscriptions begin on Publisher, not on the entry tier.
Right for
Publications that want paid readers on their own domain and exit rights
Wrong for
Creators who mainly sell downloads, tips or live events
SingaporeHosted tiers priced by member count, published; MIT-licensed code you can self-host
Fiscal hosting and crowdfunding for groups that spend shared money
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
New customers from March 2026 choose Discover at $0, Basic at $60 a month for 5 collectives and 50 expenses, or Pro at $320 for 20 collectives and 200 expenses. Extra collectives cost $10, $15 or $20 and extra expenses $1.00, $1.50 or $2.00 by tier.
Crowdfunding contributions are free when Platform Tips are active, or 5% if chosen on request. The legacy 15% host-fee revenue share has been replaced by this pricing.
What stands out
Group funding
Expense tracking
Tiered organisation plans
Where it costs you
Pro costs $320 a month and the entry tier allows only 1 active collective.
The country of establishment is not stated on the terms page.
Right for
Groups and projects that pool money and reimburse shared expenses openly
Wrong for
Individual creators who just want a tip jar
Not stated by the vendorFree Discover tier; Basic and Pro published monthly, with extra collectives and expenses charged per item
Branded creator shop with memberships, merchandise and a starter plan
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The starter plan costs $0 a month and includes a $10 monthly shop credit, 5 GB of digital storage and 2 team members. Pro at $15 a month removes digital product fees, raises storage to 100 GB, allows unlimited team members and adds a free .store domain.
Card payments in the US bear 2.9% + 30 cents on any plan. Manufacturing and shipping run through partners from one dashboard, and no company location was found.
What stands out
Creator shop
Memberships
Merch partners
Where it costs you
The starter plan keeps 5% on digital products and memberships until you move to Pro.
Merchandise-heavy brands may find the 200-plus product catalogue modest.
Right for
Video and music creators who want merchandise and members behind one storefront
Wrong for
Writers or podcasters wanting a plain membership page without a shop
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, paid Pro plan billed monthly or yearly, Enterprise on request
Fan subscriptions with paid messages, calls, livestreams and a content vault
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The homepage promises that creators keep up to 90% of earnings, but the Creator Terms say Passes takes a 20% fee on all credit and debit sales.
The feature list also covers discounts and trials, mass messaging, merch and digital sales, scheduled posting from a vault, and pay-per-view content. Passes, Inc. is incorporated in the United States. Ask which fee applies before building a business on it.
What stands out
Paid DMs and calls
Livestreams
Content vault
Where it costs you
The Creator Terms fee of 20% differs from the 'up to 90%' homepage headline.
The pricing page returned an error when checked.
Right for
Creators selling direct access through paid messages, calls and livestreams
Wrong for
Sellers who need a published fee schedule before committing
United StatesPercentage fee on card sales set in the creator terms; no plan list found on the site
Tiered membership site where supporters pay creators every month
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page says it is free to start and keeps 10% of income, with processing, currency conversion, payout fees and taxes added.
In return it deals with disputes, fraud, chargebacks and most tax collection, and lists email newsletters, exportable email lists, membership tiers, member analytics and podcast importing with RSS distribution. Patreon, Inc. sets disputes in San Francisco under California law. Bundled protection explains the fee.
What stands out
Membership tiers
Chargebacks handled
Exportable email lists
Where it costs you
Processing, currency and payout fees sit on top of the 10% income share.
Supporters pay Patreon, so the payer relationship sits with the platform.
Right for
Creators with a loyal base who want tiers, email and video together
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a transparent all-in cost on a small budget
United StatesPercentage of creator income plus processing, currency and payout fees; no cost to start
Newsletter writing with paid subscriptions and a ten percent share
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
On the going-paid page the split is 90% to the writer after card fees, leaving a tenth of each paid subscription with Substack. Free and paid posts are your call per post, and the vendor states that all content and the subscriber list are yours.
Contracts are with Substack Inc., governed by California law with arbitration in San Francisco County. A small paid list loses little; a large one pays for convenience every month.
What stands out
Revenue share
Free or paid posts
Subscriber list ownership
Where it costs you
Its tenth of paid revenue grows with every additional paying reader.
Whatever you own, the site and the readership stay on Substack's servers.
Right for
Writers who want to charge readers without handling any tooling
Wrong for
Creators selling files, tips or video rather than paid posts
United StatesShare of paid subscription revenue, published; writers keep the remainder after card fees
A creator monetization platform hosts payment pages, subscriptions or stores so an audience can pay a creator directly, and deducts a percentage, subscriber rate or flat fee. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
3 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 9 publish a pricing model you can read today: Steady, Sellfy, Liberapay, Supercast, Buy Me a Coffee, Ghost, Open Collective, Fourthwall, Substack.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Headquarters range over 7 countries and 4 regions: North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Decide if open source matters
1 of these are open source: Liberapay. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Creator monetization platforms: percentage, per-head or flat fee
Three charging models split this market, and the best fit depends on what you earn per fan. Steady and Gumroad take a share of each payment, which costs nothing in a quiet month but grows with success. Supercast charges per subscriber, so a cheap tier carries a heavier proportion than an expensive one. Sellfy sells flat monthly plans with a 0% transaction fee and an annual sales ceiling, which suits predictable income.
Liberapay sits outside all three, since it takes no commission and relies on its own donations. Work out your expected monthly receipts, then price each model against that number instead of comparing headline percentages. A podcaster with five hundred cheap subscribers and a writer with fifty expensive ones will rank these models in opposite orders, so run both scenarios before you pick.
Estimate monthly receipts and average payment before comparing models
Convert each fee into a share of a typical payment
Check what happens when you exceed a plan's limit
Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad: reading the full fee stack
A headline fee is rarely the real fee. Buy Me a Coffee quotes 5%, but Stripe processing, payout processing and surcharges for non-US and subscription payments can all add to it. Gumroad quotes 10% + $0.50 on direct sales and 30% through Discover, where the fixed 50 cents weighs on a low-priced file.
Liberapay's FAQ gives recent processor averages for Stripe and PayPal. Build a table for three typical sales: a small tip, a monthly subscription from abroad and a product sold through marketplace discovery. The platform that looks cheapest on the tip is often not the cheapest on the other two, and that gap is what you will live with.
Model one small payment, one foreign payment and one marketplace sale
Add payout and currency charges to each platform's headline fee
Ask who pays the card fee, you or the supporter
Selling access, files or merchandise: Passes, Fourthwall and Sellfy
What you sell narrows the list faster than price does. Passes is built around paid DMs, 1:1 calls, livestreams and a content vault. Fourthwall centres on a branded shop with merchandise and memberships, and its catalogue lists over 200 products. Sellfy handles digital downloads with unlimited products on every plan. Open Collective suits a group that spends shared money, with plans counting collectives and paid expenses.
Podcasters have Supercast, which syncs public episodes and hosts premium ones. A platform that does not match the product forces workarounds, and workarounds are where fees quietly multiply. Treat the feature list on each vendor page as a filter first and a ranking second, and only then compare costs among the survivors.
List the product types you will sell in year one
Match each type to a platform that names it
Reject platforms whose feature list omits your main product
Leaving a creator monetization platform: Ghost, Substack and Patreon
Exit is easy to ignore until the audience is large. Ghost lists member import and export and publishes its code under the MIT licence. Substack states that you own your content and subscriber list. Patreon lists exportable email lists, yet because supporters pay Patreon rather than you, moving them is a negotiation with each supporter, not a file transfer.
Steady sends creators a single payout and lets them set the currency of payments. Before committing to any platform here, test an export on day one and ask whether recurring payers can be moved to a new processor. A platform that holds the card details can make that second step impossible without asking every supporter to subscribe again, which is where audiences quietly shrink after a switch.
Run a member and email export before launching
Ask whether paying supporters can move without re-subscribing
Keep your own list of contact addresses
What goes wrong most often when buying creator monetization platforms
Comparing platforms by headline percentage and ignoring processor, payout and currency charges that stack on top.
Choosing a flat plan such as Sellfy without checking the annual sales ceiling against a realistic best year.
Treating Passes or Patreon as simple tip jars when their fee terms and payer relationships differ from those of plain donation pages.
Building an audience on a marketplace such as Gumroad Discover and then paying three times the direct rate for sales that came from it.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best creator monetization platforms in 2026?
Steady leads our ranking of 12. Steady Media GmbH of Berlin charges nothing until a creator earns, then keeps a 10% commission, with payment provider fees billed separately.
Members pay monthly or annually and the creator receives one payout rather than many small ones. The catch is tax: VAT depends on the project type and on the member's EU country, so check how it applies to your project before launch.
Which creator monetization platforms publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Steady: Commission on earnings, published; payment provider fees charged on top; no charge until you earn.
Sellfy: Three monthly plans with published prices, annual billing discounted, 0% transaction fee, 14-day trial on each.
Liberapay: Free to use with no commission; payment processors charge their own fees; funded by donations.
Supercast: Per-subscriber monthly rate on the All-in plan, published; Custom plan quoted for networks; Stripe fees on top.
Buy Me a Coffee: Platform fee of 5% per transaction, published, with no monthly fee; card processing charged separately.
Ghost: Hosted tiers priced by member count, published; MIT-licensed code you can self-host.
Open Collective: Free Discover tier; Basic and Pro published monthly, with extra collectives and expenses charged per item.
Fourthwall: Free plan, paid Pro plan billed monthly or yearly, Enterprise on request.
Substack: Share of paid subscription revenue, published; writers keep the remainder after card fees.
3 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free creator monetization platform?
Liberapay, Open Collective, Fourthwall come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these creator monetization platform vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1:
Steady: Germany.
Sellfy: Lithuania.
Liberapay: France.
Supercast: Canada.
Buy Me a Coffee: United States.
Gumroad: United States.
Ghost: Singapore.
Open Collective: Not stated by the vendor.
Fourthwall: Not stated by the vendor.
Passes: United States.
Patreon: United States.
Substack: United States.
Which creator monetization platforms are open source?
Liberapay.
Which creator monetization platforms can you host yourself?
Ghost. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Steady?
Sellfy and Liberapay are the next two on this page. Sellfy is for Creators selling digital products who want a predictable bill instead of a percentage; Liberapay is for Open projects and writers who want donations without a commission cut.
Who should not buy Steady?
Sellers of one-off downloads with no recurring members. Tax treatment varies by project type and the member's EU country, which adds a check before launch..
This list covers 12 creator monetization platforms products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.