Ebook creation software turns a manuscript into files that open on reading devices and in stores. Some tools typeset, some write, some convert files or ship them to stores.
This ranking puts small independent makers first, then weighs the price model, the systems each tool runs on, which formats leave the program, and what the tool does beyond book files.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What ebook creation software does
Ebook creation software formats, converts or edits text into reader-ready files such as EPUB and Kindle formats, and some tools also write the manuscript or distribute finished books to stores.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Single-payment book formatter running in a browser on every desktop system
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Over several years the cost stays flat, because the page states a single $147 payment and no monthly fees. The app lives in a browser tab, saves to the cloud and still works offline, which suits writers who change machines.
Its 17 templates combine into 1200+ looks, and a custom theme builder sits beside them. Importing DOCX and exporting EPUB, PDF and DOCX leaves a way out. The currency is not named, and nothing says where the company is based.
What stands out
One payment
Offline browser app
DOCX import
Where it costs you
Version control is marked Coming Soon, so rolling back to an older draft is not offered yet
No trial is mentioned, so the 30-day money-back guarantee is the only way to test it
Right for
Self-publishers on any desktop or Chromebook who want one payment and no subscription
Wrong for
Teams that need shared version history or layouts beyond book templates
Not stated by the vendorOne-time payment, published; 30-day money-back guarantee
Mac-only formatter producing validated EPUB and print-ready PDF/X-1a files
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Trying Vellum costs nothing until you generate files, so the first weeks of layout work carry no licence bill. After that, the choice is between Ebooks at $199.99 for unlimited ebooks and Press at $249.99 for ebooks and paperbacks.
Paperbacks get print-ready PDF/X-1a with a choice of 24 trim sizes, and ebooks are checked EPUB. The constraint is the platform: only Apple computers on a recent macOS are supported, and no company country appears.
What stands out
macOS 13 or newer
Two editions
24 trim sizes
Where it costs you
It is available only for Mac, so a Windows author or editor cannot open the app
No trial period is stated; the preview-before-paying download is the substitute
Right for
Mac-based authors who want ebook and paperback files from one set of styles
Wrong for
Anyone working on Windows, Linux or a Chromebook
Not stated by the vendorTwo one-off editions, published; download and preview before paying
Desktop ebook builder for Windows, Mac and Linux with no subscription
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Jutoh is aimed at converting existing writing into ebook files. Word, ODT, ePub and text are accepted on import, and long files can be split into chapters. Output covers Kindle, ePub 2 and 3, ODT, HTML, text, Markdown, CBZ and MP3.
The built-in ePub check gives advisory messages, accessibility included, before a file goes to a store. Print layout is not mentioned on the page read, and nothing states a price or the company's country.
What stands out
Three desktop systems
Built-in ePub check
Word import
Where it costs you
The page shows no price, currency or edition tiers, so the cost is unknown before the demo
Without a cloud option, backups and moving between computers are left to you
Right for
Authors on Linux, Windows or Mac who want one ebook builder without a plan
Wrong for
Anyone who needs print layout or a price before testing
Not stated by the vendorNo subscription, unlimited books; price and licence terms not shown; demo available
Browser editor that typesets EPUB and print PDF at no charge
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
For a first ebook, the free core already includes the pieces that matter here: the manuscript editor, import of an existing text, and typesetting to EPUB and print-ready PDF.
Money enters only if you want longer history, stats and dark mode from Craft, or boards and templates from Outlining, and both come with a 30-day trial. Sign-in via Google is offered. The unknowns are the add-on prices and the country of Reedsy Ltd.
What stands out
Core studio free
Craft and Outlining add-ons
Sibling Reedsy products
Where it costs you
Core history stops at 30 days and holds one manuscript goal, so heavier use needs add-ons
Add-on prices are not shown, so the paid cost cannot be worked out in advance
Right for
First-time authors who want to write and export ebook files without paying
Wrong for
Authors who need a one-off licence on their own disk
Not stated by the vendorFree core studio; add-on prices not shown; 30-day add-on trial without a card
Open-source e-book manager, converter, viewer and editor developed in India
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Calibre E-book matters when a finished file is wrong or in the wrong format. The about page describes a library manager, a converter between dozens of file types, a viewer for all major formats and an editor for formats such as EPUB and Kindle.
Everything is free, and contributions are voluntary. Kovid Goyal, in Mumbai, is its main developer. It starts from files, so a chapter-by-chapter writing workspace or print layout has to come from elsewhere.
What stands out
Open source
Format conversion
Built-in editor
Where it costs you
It converts and edits existing files rather than laying out a manuscript
The pages read name neither the licence nor the supported platforms
Right for
Anyone who needs to convert, repair or organise ebook files without paying
Wrong for
Authors wanting designed print pages from a manuscript
IndiaFree and open source; voluntary contributions suggested
Open-source EPUB 2 and 3 editor with a WYSIWYG XHTML companion
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Sigil is the hands-on option for fixing an EPUB. It opens books in ePub 2 and ePub 3, and PageEdit adds a visual XHTML editor for those who would rather not touch markup.
The project lives with the Sigil-Ebook organisation on GitHub, with help from mobileread forums and a plugin index. Nothing on the pages read names a licence, price or country, so check those before relying on it in a business workflow.
What stands out
Open source
EPUB 2 and 3
PageEdit companion
Where it costs you
It works on EPUB files only, so print and other formats need another tool
Support depends on the mobileread forums rather than a stated helpdesk
Right for
Technical authors polishing an existing EPUB 2 or 3 file by hand
Wrong for
Writers who want to draft text or design paperbacks
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; no price or donation information shown
Ebook formatting joined to distribution, with EPUB download before activation
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Draft2Digital begins as a formatter and ends as a shipping route. Before activation you can use the formatting tools and download the ebook EPUB; after it, titles go to online retailers, library partners and hundreds of storefronts.
Paperbacks go through D2D Print, readers meet Universal Book Links and Books2Read author pages, and the Promotions Tab schedules price and free promotions. The page states neither the fee amount nor the owner.
What stands out
Distribution
Activation fee
Books2Read
Where it costs you
The activation fee amount is not stated, so the upfront cost is unknown
Publishing and distribution stop until the account is activated
Right for
Authors who want formatting and store distribution handled in one account
Wrong for
Authors who want to sell only from their own site
Not stated by the vendorOne-time activation fee, amount not stated; yearly maintenance waived in year one
Perpetual-licence writing and formatting software for Windows and macOS
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Papyrus Author puts writing and formatting in one desktop program, sold once as a perpetual licence for three personal devices. Book Designer formats a manuscript in one step, while Style Session, Story Sheets, Thinkboards and chapter readability figures cover the drafting side.
The Edu version is cheaper. The page read gives no trial and no list of ebook export formats, so confirm EPUB output before paying.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Book Designer
Three devices
Where it costs you
The page read lists no ebook file formats, so output has to be confirmed
The price is shown without a currency, which makes the real cost unclear
Right for
Long-form writers who want a single purchase for writing and manuscript layout
Wrong for
Authors who need to try the software first
Not stated by the vendorPerpetual licence, one-time price published; three personal devices; no trial mentioned
Subscription ebook maker that imports web pages, Word, Google Docs and PDF
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Designrr starts from content you already have: web pages, Word, Google Docs or PDF go in, and ebooks come out from templates and covers. Standard offers 100 templates, Pro 300+ templates and 200+ covers, with transcription hours rising by plan.
Because billing is monthly, a single book costs more over a year than the one-off tools above it. The trial is mentioned but its length and terms are not.
What stands out
Monthly plans
Web page import
Wordgenie AI
Where it costs you
Kindle, iBooks and ePub export begins at Pro, so the Standard plan is limited
Billing is monthly, so the cost keeps running after the book is done
Right for
Marketers turning existing web pages and documents into lead-magnet ebooks
Wrong for
Authors who prefer a one-off licence over monthly billing
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans in five tiers; trial mentioned without length
Layout app that costs nothing until you order a printed book
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
BookWright is the odd one in this list, because it exists to feed a printing service. The software costs nothing, though a Blurb account is required, and the bill arrives with the print order.
Text Flow fits text into frames and imports RTF; Smart Image Handling retouches images. Requirements are 2GB RAM, 500MB disk and a 1280x800 screen. For an ebook-only project it adds little, since no ebook format is listed.
What stands out
Print-order revenue
Works offline
Text Flow
Where it costs you
The page read names no ebook file format, so it is a poor fit for ebook-only work
No exact price is shown, as costs arise when a book is sent for printing
Right for
Authors wanting printed photo or layout books ordered straight from the app
Wrong for
Authors who only need EPUB or Kindle files
Not stated by the vendorNo software charge; you pay when a book is sent for printing
Binder-style drafting workspace for Mac, Windows and iPad, sold per platform
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Ebook Creation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Think of Scrivener as a writing room, not a production line. On macOS and Windows a split editor holds up to four documents in one project window, and iPad adds Quick Reference and the corkboard.
Write Anywhere syncing carries work across devices, and licences are bought per platform. The page read lists no ebook formats, and that is why it ranks last: a finished manuscript still needs a formatter.
What stands out
Per-platform licences
Split editor
Write Anywhere sync
Where it costs you
The overview page read says nothing about ebook output, so export has to be verified
Prices sit behind purchase links, and Mac, Windows and iOS versions are licensed separately
Right for
Drafters who write across Mac, Windows and iPad before formatting elsewhere
Wrong for
Authors who need ready ebook files from one program
Not stated by the vendorLicences sold separately per platform; trial download; prices behind purchase links
Ebook creation software formats, converts or edits text into reader-ready files such as EPUB and Kindle formats, and some tools also write the manuscript or distribute finished books to stores. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Prices are public at 7 products (Atticus, Vellum, Reedsy Studio, Calibre E-book, Sigil, Papyrus Author, Designrr) and on request at the remaining 4, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 2 countries (Elsewhere 10, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
03
Decide if open source matters
Source code is available for Calibre E-book, Sigil. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Ebook creation software: formatter, writing app or file converter?
Keyword results lump together tools that do different jobs, and buying the wrong kind wastes the first weekend. Atticus, Vellum and Jutoh start from a finished manuscript and typeset it into files. Reedsy Studio and Scrivener sit earlier, as places to write. Calibre E-book and Sigil work at the other end, converting or editing files that already exist, and neither aims to lay out a manuscript.
Draft2Digital adds a fourth job, distribution, once the file is ready. Blurb BookWright is a layout app whose income comes from printing. Decide where your book is today: a draft still being written, a Word file ready for styling, or an EPUB that needs a repair. Then pick the tool built for that position rather than the one with the longest feature list.
Name your starting point: draft, Word file or EPUB
Match it to a writing, formatting, editing or distribution tool
Check the vendor page for the job it describes first
Platforms and offline use: Vellum, Atticus, Jutoh and Papyrus Author
Where the software runs matters more than any template. Vellum needs macOS 13 or newer and nothing else, which ends the discussion for a Windows author. Atticus runs as a browser app on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook and keeps working offline. Jutoh is a desktop install for Windows, Mac and Linux, while Papyrus Author covers Windows and macOS on up to three personal devices.
Blurb BookWright lists Windows 7, 8, 10 or macOS 10.13 and up, and needs internet only when publishing. Scrivener names separate Mac, Windows and iOS versions. If a co-author or editor works on another system, ask in advance what they can open before anyone buys a licence.
List the operating systems everyone on the book uses
Confirm offline use if you write on trains or planes
Count how many devices the licence allows
How ebook tools charge: one payment, edition, plan or print order
Five billing styles sit in this market and they are hard to compare. Atticus asks $147 once; Vellum sells Ebooks at $199.99 and Press at $249.99; Papyrus Author costs 349 once with no currency shown. Designrr bills monthly, from $29 to $249. Draft2Digital charges an activation fee of unstated size, and Blurb BookWright costs nothing until a print order is placed.
Reedsy Studio keeps its core free and sells add-ons with no price shown, while Calibre E-book asks only for voluntary contributions. A single title favours the one-off options; a steady stream of lead-magnet ebooks may justify a monthly plan. Work out total spend over three years, including any edition upgrade, and ask what happens to your files if you stop paying.
Add up three years of cost per tool
Ask which edition covers print as well as ebooks
Find out whether stopping payment locks your files
Output checks: EPUB, Kindle, DOCX and the file you can leave with
Test the exit before the entry. Vellum outputs validated EPUB 3 and EPUB 2, and Jutoh runs its own ePub check with accessibility advice and exports Kindle and ePub 2/3. Atticus exports EPUB, PDF and DOCX, so a manuscript can return to a word processor, and Reedsy Studio typesets EPUB and print-ready PDF.
Draft2Digital lets you download the ebook EPUB before activation. Designrr limits Kindle, iBooks and ePub export to Pro and above. Calibre E-book converts between dozens of formats and Sigil edits EPUB 2 and 3, which makes both useful for repairs. Export one sample chapter from each shortlisted tool and open it on a real e-reader, not only on a screen preview.
Export a sample chapter from every shortlisted tool
Open it on a physical e-reader and a phone app
Confirm which plan unlocks the formats you need
What goes wrong most often when buying ebook creation software
Subscribing to Designrr's Standard plan for Kindle files, when Kindle, iBooks and ePub export starts at Pro.
Choosing Vellum before checking that every person on the project runs macOS 13 or newer.
Expecting Calibre E-book or Sigil to lay out a manuscript, when both are built to convert or edit files that already exist.
Opening a Draft2Digital account only to find that publishing needs the activation fee, whose amount the page does not state.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best ebook creation software in 2026?
Atticus leads our ranking of 11. Atticus charges $147 once for ebook and print and says there are no monthly fees. It runs as a Progressive Web App on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook, online or offline, with automatic cloud save.
The page lists 17 templates, a theme builder and exports to EPUB, PDF and DOCX. No trial is mentioned, version control is still marked Coming Soon, and the company's country is not given.
Vellum: Two one-off editions, published; download and preview before paying.
Reedsy Studio: Free core studio; add-on prices not shown; 30-day add-on trial without a card.
Calibre E-book: Free and open source; voluntary contributions suggested.
Sigil: Free and open source; no price or donation information shown.
Papyrus Author: Perpetual licence, one-time price published; three personal devices; no trial mentioned.
Designrr: Published monthly plans in five tiers; trial mentioned without length.
4 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free ebook creation tool?
Reedsy Studio, Calibre E-book, Sigil, Blurb BookWright have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these ebook creation software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 10, Asia-Pacific 1:
Atticus: Not stated by the vendor.
Vellum: Not stated by the vendor.
Jutoh: Not stated by the vendor.
Reedsy Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
Calibre E-book: India.
Sigil: Not stated by the vendor.
Draft2Digital: Not stated by the vendor.
Papyrus Author: Not stated by the vendor.
Designrr: Not stated by the vendor.
Blurb BookWright: Not stated by the vendor.
Scrivener: Not stated by the vendor.
Which ebook creation tools are open source?
Calibre E-book, Sigil.
What should you use instead of Atticus?
The next in line are Vellum, aimed at Mac-based authors who want ebook and paperback files from one set of styles, and Jutoh, aimed at Authors on Linux, Windows or Mac who want one ebook builder without a plan.
Who should not buy Atticus?
Teams that need shared version history or layouts beyond book templates. Version control is marked Coming Soon, so rolling back to an older draft is not offered yet.
Vendors who think their ebook creation software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.