Vector graphics software draws logos, icons and illustrations as editable paths that stay sharp at any size.
This guide ranks eleven editors, from open source tools to design platforms, on the cost of the first ninety days, the price once teams join, how files leave, independence from a platform owner, and the buyer each tool is built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What vector graphics software does
Vector graphics software edits artwork built from paths, curves and shapes rather than pixels, so logos, icons and illustrations scale cleanly and export to SVG or PDF.
To rank vector graphics tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Free under the MIT licence; open source, runs online or locally
Yes
Quick SVG sketches or icon fixes in a browser, without installing anything
Multi-layer illustration or long-term production work for clients
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Community-built vector editor with SVG as its main format
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Position one because nothing can be withdrawn from you: the licence is the GNU GPL, version 2 or later, and SVG is the working format, so your files are never held hostage.
Release 1.4 reads Affinity Designer files, which eases a move away from subscriptions. The cost is paid in effort, since limited CMYK palette support means anyone sending work to press should run a test job first.
What stands out
GPL licence
Native SVG
Desktop editor
Where it costs you
Release 1.4 offers only limited CMYK palette support, which complicates press-ready artwork.
The project pages name no company, so help comes from documentation and the community rather than a contract.
Right for
Illustrators who want a permanent SVG-first editor without any account or licence fee
Wrong for
Print shops that depend on full CMYK colour handling
Not stated by the vendorFree to download; open source under GPL version 2 or later
Formerly Vectornator, now sold by Linearity GmbH as Curve
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Linearity GmbH publishes euro prices that include VAT, which makes budgeting simple: Pro at EUR 10 monthly, Studio from EUR 30, Business from EUR 80. Curve and Move run in the browser at cloud.linearity.io and on the App Store.
Credits are the catch, because the welcome allowance expires within a week and each paid tier carries a monthly figure, so a busy user should estimate consumption before choosing a plan.
What stands out
Vectornator successor
Credit allowance
Web and App Store
Where it costs you
The free allowance of 2,000 credits lapses after seven days.
Pro's allowance is 600 credits monthly, so heavy use may push you towards Studio.
Right for
Solo designers who want a modern vector app on the web and Apple devices
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a perpetual licence with no monthly meter
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers in euros including VAT, with welcome credits instead of a trial
Mac, iPad and iPhone vector editor sold with a lifetime licence
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
BeLight Software Ltd keeps the offer narrow: a lifetime licence, Apple platforms, and a vector toolset built around the Fusion tool, recolouring and text on a path. CMYK mode and exports to SVG, PDF and EPS cover print handoff.
The Mac version carries a 30-day money-back guarantee when bought from the website, which softens the lack of a described trial, but the vendor country stays unstated.
What stands out
Lifetime licence
Mac and iOS
CMYK mode
Where it costs you
It runs only on Mac, iPad and iPhone, so a Windows machine in the team rules it out.
Cost cannot be checked before purchase, because the site displays neither amounts nor a trial.
Right for
Apple-device freelancers who prefer to pay once for illustration software
Wrong for
Mixed Windows and Mac teams sharing editable files
Not stated by the vendorLifetime licence; amounts not shown on the page; 30-day refund window on website purchases for Mac
Per-editor subscription or one-off Mac licence with unlimited viewers
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Sketch B.V. gives illustration buyers two routes: a single payment that includes one year of updates, or a yearly per-editor plan with unlimited viewers.
The cheaper subscription offers 50 GB storage per editor and one workspace, while SSO and permissions groups arrive higher up. Because the pages dwell on workspaces more than drawing, it ranks fourth: sound for Mac teams, less obviously a pure vector illustration pick.
What stands out
Mac licence option
Viewer seats
Private Cloud
Where it costs you
The one-time Mac licence has no collaboration, so shared work needs a subscription.
Per-editor pricing climbs to a higher figure at Professional and again at Enterprise.
Right for
Mac-based designers who value a one-off licence or want free viewers
Wrong for
Windows users, as the licence and workflow centre on Mac
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-editor yearly billing; one-time Mac licence; 30-day trial; Private Cloud on request
Vector, pixel and layout studios in one app for individuals
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The attraction is breadth at zero cost for individuals: vector design, pixel editing and layout share one app, with an iPad version and PSD and AI import that preserves layers.
The trade is dependence, because the logo marks it as by canva, downloads need a Canva sign-in, and enterprise or education enquiries go through Canva sales. Designs can also move into Cavalry for animation.
What stands out
Three studios in one
PSD and AI import
Canva account
Where it costs you
Downloading requires a Canva account, tying a free tool to one platform.
AI tools are available only with a Canva premium plan.
Right for
Individuals who want vector, photo and layout work in one free application
Wrong for
Organisations avoiding any dependence on a design-platform owner
Not stated by the vendorFree for individuals; AI tools need a Canva premium plan
Three-tier vector suite for Windows, Mac and web with a trial
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Go suits beginners, Standard suits home businesses and Graphics Suite targets professionals, each spanning illustration, layout, photo work and typography. The 15-day trial asks for no card.
How you pay is the real decision: an outright purchase carries no promise of updates for newer machines or platforms, so anyone planning a long service life should weigh annual maintenance against subscribing.
What stands out
Perpetual option
Windows, Mac, web
Three tiers
Where it costs you
Outright buyers lose access to features that subscription customers get.
Web access is limited to subscribers, so perpetual buyers work desktop-only.
Right for
Windows-heavy studios that want a buy-once option beside a subscription
Wrong for
Buyers wanting prices shown openly on the page
CanadaSubscription, one-time purchase or perpetual licence with maintenance; 15-day trial
Cloud vector and logo maker with AI vectorizer and live collaboration
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Vectr leans on AI and the browser: a vectorizer for turning images into SVG, background removal, text to vector, and real-time collaboration. Pixlr Pte Ltd appears in the footer, along with an AICPA SOC compliance badge.
Export of SVG, PNG and JPG is listed, but importing older formats consumes credits, and the missing price information leaves a buyer unable to forecast spend.
What stands out
AI vectorizer
Live collaboration
Credit-gated imports
Where it costs you
Importing legacy formats such as EPS and AI consumes credits.
The page lists no prices and describes no plan structure.
Right for
Logo makers who want image-to-SVG conversion and shared online editing
Wrong for
Teams that must open legacy EPS or AI files for free
Not stated by the vendorPrices not listed on the page read; credits needed to open some file types
Seat-based design platform with a limited starter plan
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The platform's price list shows who it targets: full seats at USD 16, 55 and 90 monthly across three paid tiers, with Dev seats at 12, 25 and 35.
Slack, Notion, Jira and Google Workspace link in, and Organization and Enterprise can connect several GitHub organisations. EU hosting covers key parts of files but plan coverage is not stated, which a buyer should confirm before relying on it.
What stands out
Seat tiers
EU file hosting
AI credits
Where it costs you
Pricing is organised around seats, with Organization and Enterprise billed annually.
Starter limits AI credits to 500 per month and MCP calls to 20 per month.
Right for
Product teams that need shared design files plus developer and collaborator seats
Wrong for
Solo illustrators looking for print-focused vector tooling or CMYK
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter plan; published monthly per-seat tiers, Dev and Collab seats discounted
Treat it as a component more than an app. The MIT licence allows embedding it in a div, running the Netlify build, or compiling a bundle for your own server, and userExtensions plus the separate svgcanvas package support custom editors.
A new team has refreshed the code after years of neglect, so the sensible check is recent repository activity before adopting it for production.
What stands out
MIT licence
Embeddable canvas
Self-hosted build
Where it costs you
The README states the project was not maintained for a long time.
Using it means hosting or bundling it, which assumes web development skills.
Right for
Developers embedding a free SVG drawing canvas inside their own product
Wrong for
Designers wanting a polished desktop illustration app today
Not stated by the vendorFree under the MIT licence; open source, self-host the build
Node-based open source vector editor still in alpha
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Its procedural approach differs from point-and-path tools: you build artwork through nodes, with infinite pan and zoom and export at any resolution. The web app runs locally on your own hardware and installs as a PWA.
Funding is optional, through membership or a one-time donation. Alpha status and missing raster and collaboration features make it a project to follow rather than a standard to buy into.
What stands out
Node-based editing
Alpha software
Open source
Where it costs you
The editor is in alpha, and native desktop apps are only release candidates.
Raster manipulation and live collaborative editing are still listed as upcoming.
Right for
Technical users who like procedural, node-based vector work and open tools
Wrong for
Studios needing a finished editor for client deadlines
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; support via optional membership or donation
Deliberately small MIT-licensed web editor for simple SVG drawings
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Vector Graphics Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
Simplicity is the product. The tool skips layers, line caps and corners, and offers a hosted editor at editor.method.ac or a local copy served with Python or built with gulp.
The repository lists 438 commits and 64 open issues, with no archived notice, yet the last release note is from 2021. It suits small edits to icons and diagrams, nothing heavier.
What stands out
MIT licence
Simple SVG
Layer-free
Where it costs you
It deliberately omits layers, which limits complex artwork.
The latest release note dates from May 2021.
Right for
Quick SVG sketches or icon fixes in a browser, without installing anything
Wrong for
Multi-layer illustration or long-term production work for clients
Not stated by the vendorFree under the MIT licence; open source, runs online or locally
Vector graphics software edits artwork built from paths, curves and shapes rather than pixels, so logos, icons and illustrations scale cleanly and export to SVG or PDF. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 8 of the 11 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Inkscape, Linearity Curve, Sketch, Affinity, Figma, SVG-Edit, Graphite, Method Draw.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 11 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 10, North America 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Decide if open source matters
Open source here means Inkscape, SVG-Edit, Graphite, Method Draw. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Choosing vector graphics software by file format first
Vector graphics software stores shapes as paths, and the file format decides how freely work moves between tools. Inkscape uses SVG as its main format and reads Affinity Designer files from release 1.4. Affinity opens PSD and AI files with layers kept, while Vectr charges credits for older formats like EPS. Amadine writes SVG, PDF and bitmap formats.
Before buying, take two real files from your last project, one with effects and one with live text, and open them in each trial. A tool that flattens either one will cost hours later. Also confirm the export you hand to clients, because several tools in this market can read a format more easily than they write it.
Open your own AI or EPS file in the trial
Export one design to SVG and PDF and inspect both
Check which formats need credits or a higher tier
Pricing models in vector graphics software: licence, seat or credit
Three models compete here. Amadine sells a lifetime licence and Sketch offers a one-time Mac licence with a year of updates. Figma, Sketch and CorelDRAW sit on seat or subscription plans, with Figma Dev seats and Sketch free viewers lowering the cost of non-designers. Linearity Curve adds a credit meter: Pro includes 600 credits a month and the free plan expires after seven days.
Compare the three-year cost for your actual headcount, not the entry price. A single illustrator may prefer a perpetual licence; a ten-person marketing team may find viewer or collaborator seats cheaper than full editors. Open source options such as Inkscape cost nothing but time, and Graphite asks only for optional donations, so budget hours for learning and for testing exports.
Count editors, viewers and developers separately
Estimate monthly credit use before choosing a plan
Ask what happens to your files if you stop paying
Open source and self-hosted vector graphics software
Four open options exist, and they are not interchangeable. Inkscape is a full desktop editor licensed under the GPL. Graphite is an open source node-based editor that is still in alpha. SVG-Edit and Method Draw are MIT-licensed web editors: SVG-Edit can be embedded in a div or bundled for your own server, while Method Draw omits layers by design and has a latest release note from 2021.
Their cost is maintenance risk rather than a licence fee. SVG-Edit's README says maintenance lapsed for years, and Graphite lists raster and collaboration as upcoming. Judge each project by recent activity, not by its licence alone, and keep an exit route by saving work as plain SVG files that any other editor can open.
Look at the latest commits and release notes
Test a real artwork file, not a demo shape
Decide who will maintain an embedded editor
Which vector graphics software suits print, web and team work
Print output is the sharpest dividing line. Inkscape's release 1.4 handles CMYK palettes in limited fashion, whereas Amadine lists a CMYK mode and CorelDRAW covers layout, photo editing and typography for professional output. For team workflows, Figma and Sketch put workspaces, permissions and viewers at the centre, and Figma links to Jira and Slack.
Linearity Curve runs in the browser and on the App Store. Affinity combines vector, pixel and layout, but its downloads require a Canva account. Match the tool to the output you deliver most, because a printed brochure, a logo pack and a shared interface kit each lean on different strengths, and the cheapest plan rarely covers all three.
Send a test file to your printer in CMYK
Check platform support for every machine in the team
Confirm account requirements before rolling out
What goes wrong most often when buying vector graphics software
Buying a perpetual CorelDRAW licence without noticing that it leaves out features and web access that subscribers receive.
Assuming credits are unlimited on Linearity Curve, when every paid tier has its own monthly allowance and the free allowance lapses in seven days.
Choosing Amadine for a mixed team before reading its platform list, which stops at Apple devices.
Embedding SVG-Edit or Method Draw in a product without checking how recently each project was maintained.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best vector graphics software in 2026?
Inkscape takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Inkscape has no vendor to buy from: the project pages name neither a company nor a country, and most of the source code sits under the GNU General Public Licence, version 2 or later.
SVG is the main format, and release 1.4 imports Affinity Designer files. The price of that independence is polish: 1.4 supports CMYK palettes only in a limited way, so a print workflow needs a test before you commit.
Which vector graphics tools publish their pricing?
8 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
Inkscape: Free to download; open source under GPL version 2 or later.
Linearity Curve: Published monthly tiers in euros including VAT, with welcome credits instead of a trial.
Sketch: Published per-editor yearly billing; one-time Mac licence; 30-day trial; Private Cloud on request.
Affinity: Free for individuals; AI tools need a Canva premium plan.
Figma: Free Starter plan; published monthly per-seat tiers, Dev and Collab seats discounted.
SVG-Edit: Free under the MIT licence; open source, self-host the build.
Graphite: Free and open source; support via optional membership or donation.
Method Draw: Free under the MIT licence; open source, runs online or locally.
The other 3 quote per organisation.
Is there a free vector graphics tool?
Inkscape, Linearity Curve, Affinity, Figma, SVG-Edit, Graphite, Method Draw come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these vector graphics software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 10, North America 1:
Inkscape: Not stated by the vendor.
Linearity Curve: Not stated by the vendor.
Amadine: Not stated by the vendor.
Sketch: Not stated by the vendor.
Affinity: Not stated by the vendor.
CorelDRAW: Canada.
Vectr: Not stated by the vendor.
Figma: Not stated by the vendor.
SVG-Edit: Not stated by the vendor.
Graphite: Not stated by the vendor.
Method Draw: Not stated by the vendor.
Which vector graphics tools are open source?
Inkscape, SVG-Edit, Graphite, Method Draw.
Which vector graphics tools can you host yourself?
SVG-Edit. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Inkscape?
Second is Linearity Curve, which suits Solo designers who want a modern vector app on the web and Apple devices. Third is Amadine, which suits Apple-device freelancers who prefer to pay once for illustration software.
Who should not buy Inkscape?
Print shops that depend on full CMYK colour handling. Release 1.4 offers only limited CMYK palette support, which complicates press-ready artwork..
Makers of vector graphics software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.