Crowdfunding platforms let many backers fund one cause, product, venture or research project, and the models differ sharply: donations, rewards and equity.
This ranking puts operators with published fees and a named company first, then weighs what donors or backers add on top, what happens when a target is missed, and how clearly each site says who runs it.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What crowdfunding platforms do
Crowdfunding platforms host public campaigns where people donate or pledge money toward a goal, and handle payment collection, payouts and campaign pages for fundraisers, creators, nonprofits or companies seeking investors.
Every crowdfunding platform was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Reward and nonprofit crowdfunding with success fees set by plan tier
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Startnext sorts campaigns into classic, nonprofit and private-purpose fundraising, each with its own three success-fee percentages, and charges them only at payout. PayPal, card and direct debit costs are added separately, averaging about 3.5 percent net on the page, and discounts for larger totals skip those costs.
Work out your expected total first: the plan that saves most depends on how much you raise, and the page does not describe what Pro or Premium include beyond the fee.
What stands out
tiered success fee
payout-only commission
volume discounts
Where it costs you
Payment costs run on top of the success fee and are left out of every volume discount.
The cheapest plan tier starts at the lowest fee yet the table does not say what the higher tiers add.
Right for
Creators and nonprofits wanting a fully published fee table before launching a campaign
Wrong for
Anyone needing a stated company address or country first
Not stated by the vendorSuccess fee in three plan tiers per campaign type, charged only on payout, with separate payment costs and volume discounts on the upper two plans
Rewards crowdfunding with commissions stated by payment method
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Ulule's published commission applies to reward campaigns in euros below a set ceiling, with a lower rate for cheque or transfer than for card, and a separate fee on the backer side that was introduced in April 2025.
The backer fee is a fixed amount plus a percentage of the contribution, so small pledges carry a relatively larger charge. Ulule also lists partner calls for proposals and thematic channels, which may matter if your project fits one of them.
What stands out
B Corp
backer-paid service fee
commission by payment method
Where it costs you
Rates for campaigns above the stated ceiling are not described on the page.
Backers now pay a per-contribution fee, which a price-sensitive audience may notice.
Right for
Creators in euros who want a stated commission and a B Corp operator
Wrong for
Campaigns above the stated ceiling that need published rates
Not stated by the vendorCommission set by payment method on euro campaigns under a stated ceiling, plus a service fee paid by contributors; higher bands are not detailed
Donation platform where organisations present projects, run as a gGmbH
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The operator is identified down to street address, court register number and VAT ID, and the home page describes organisations presenting projects that people donate to.
That is a donation model, not rewards or equity, so a product launch has no natural home here. Contact options include a phone line, e-mail and help centre. Before listing a project, ask what the platform deducts per gift, because the pages we read gave no figure.
What stands out
donation projects
Berlin gGmbH
help centre support
Where it costs you
No fee terms for organisations were on the pages read.
Donations of goods or animals are referred to the organisation, so the platform only handles money.
Right for
Charities wanting a donation platform with a fully identified operator
Wrong for
Creators selling rewards or companies seeking equity investors
GermanyFee terms for organisations were not on the pages read; donors give to named projects
Nonprofit fundraising with unlimited contacts, funded by optional donor tips
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan is unlimited in users, contacts and email blasts, and the platform fee drops to zero while donor tips are on. Switch tips off and a platform fee plus card processing apply, with a lower rate for bank transfers.
Plus is optional and sold by contact tier, with monthly and annual prices on the page and a 30-day trial. Model your contact count first: the tier you land in sets the price, and no country is stated.
What stands out
donor tips
contact-tier add-on
unlimited users
Where it costs you
With tips switched off a platform fee and card processing both apply.
Plus pricing climbs with contact count, so a large donor list raises the bill.
Right for
Nonprofits with large contact lists that can accept donor tips
Wrong for
Teams that dislike a tip prompt on their giving page
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with unlimited users, contacts and email blasts, funded by donor tips; Plus add-on is priced by contact count, with a 30-day trial
Nonprofit toolkit with ticketing, raffles and auctions funded by donor contributions
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Ticketing, raffles and auctions sit in the same list as forms, memberships, peer-to-peer campaigns, online stores, a tap-to-pay app, CRM and newsletters, so an event-led charity can run a gala from one place.
The cost sits with donors, who see an optional contribution at payment confirmation. What the pages do not show is any figure for typical contribution rates, so budget as if some donors skip it.
What stands out
optional donor contribution
ticketing and raffles
printed donor letters
Where it costs you
Revenue depends on donors choosing to add a contribution at payment confirmation.
The pricing page speaks only of nonprofits, so other fundraisers are left out.
Right for
Nonprofits running galas and raffles that also need membership and donor records
Wrong for
Product creators, companies or anyone outside the nonprofit sector
Not stated by the vendorFree for nonprofits per the pricing page, paid for by optional contributions shown to donors at payment confirmation
All-or-nothing funding platform for collaborative research projects
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The model is narrow by design: researchers start a project, backers discover and pledge, and charges happen only when the target is met.
That protects backers but exposes the researcher to a zero outcome, so set the target at the smallest amount that actually pays for the work. The how-it-works page points to a FAQ, Terms and a Researcher Guide for fees, which we did not read.
What stands out
research projects
all-or-nothing target
pledge on success
Where it costs you
Missing the funding target means the project collects nothing.
Platform and processing fee percentages were not on the pages read.
Right for
Academic researchers who want a funding page built for scientific projects
Wrong for
Anyone launching consumer products, startups or charity appeals
Not stated by the vendorFee percentages and processing costs were not stated on the pages read; pledges are charged only if the target is reached
Fundraising pages with a pricing page promising nothing per month
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Pricing is reduced to a single line, which suits a small group that wants no monthly cost. The gap is everything beneath it: the page lists no paid tiers, no trial period and no fee percentages, so the cost of taking a gift is unknown until you read the linked terms.
Treat the zero as the subscription price only, and ask support in writing how card costs and any donor tips are handled before you publish.
What stands out
no paid plans listed
free sign-up
fundraising pages
Where it costs you
No paid plans are listed, so what the platform earns from gifts is not visible.
Terms and privacy contents were not in the excerpt read.
Right for
Small groups wanting a no-monthly-cost page and willing to read the terms
Wrong for
Buyers who need documented fees before they launch
Not stated by the vendorFree sign-up, with the pricing page stating everything for nothing per month and listing no paid plans or trial
Personal and charity fundraising with per-donation fees and optional tips
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The fee page is organised by currency, so a fundraiser in the US, UK, Ireland or elsewhere in the EU can read the exact transaction fee, with a lower figure for certified nonprofits.
Tips to GoFundMe are optional with a required amount of nothing. What is missing is anything about the company itself or its Pro offer, so ask for the operating entity before a charity signs.
What stands out
per-donation fee
optional donor tip
country fee table
Where it costs you
Pro pricing gives no figures and sends the reader to a separate Classy page.
The pricing page names no legal entity, address or imprint.
Right for
Individuals and certified nonprofits wanting a published per-country fee table
Wrong for
Buyers who want a named company and address first
Not stated by the vendorNo platform fee to create a fundraiser; certified fundraisers pay a per-donation transaction fee that varies by country, and the donor tip is optional
Company fundraising profiles billed as a flat monthly platform fee
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The structure flips the usual trade: fees depend on time, not on the amount raised, and the page rules out success fees. That favours a company expecting a large round and punishes one that stalls.
Because the price is not pro-rated, start the paid plan only when materials and investor list are ready, and use the free profile until then. The page we read does not describe investor onboarding.
What stands out
flat monthly fee
no success fee
company profile
Where it costs you
The monthly fee is not pro-rated, so a slow campaign keeps costing money.
The footer shows a 2019 copyright date and no country.
Right for
Companies wanting predictable monthly cost with no cut of money raised
Wrong for
Short campaigns where a monthly bill outweighs a commission
Not stated by the vendorFlat monthly platform fee to run your own fundraise, not pro-rated, with no success fees; a free tier covers a company profile before launch
Self-described fundraising site with events, wishlists, perks and microprojects
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The feature list is broad for a small tool: events with peer-to-peer fundraising, wishlists and perks for backers, microprojects, and tools aimed at both professionals and individuals.
Its self-description as free is a claim, not a price list, since fees live on another page. Read that pricing page and the terms before building a campaign, and confirm the contracting entity, as the footer names ConnectionPoint Systems Inc.
What stands out
peer-to-peer events
wishlists and perks
microprojects
Where it costs you
Fee percentages are not on the home page, only a pointer to another page.
No physical address is given in the footer.
Right for
Fundraisers who want one site for events, perks and microprojects
Wrong for
Buyers needing fees and a company address before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFee percentages sit on a separate pricing page that was not read; the home page gives no amounts
Investment crowdfunding across Reg A, Reg CF and Rule 506(c) offerings
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The three offering types split by who may invest: Reg CF is open to non-accredited and accredited investors, Rule 506(c) to accredited ones only, with Reg A also listed.
Different group companies sit behind each, which a founder should check in the offering documents. No issuer fee is stated on the page, so get it in writing. A secondary marketplace exists, but the page makes no promise about liquidity.
What stands out
equity crowdfunding
Reg CF and Reg A
secondary marketplace
Where it costs you
Issuer fees are not described on the page read.
Canadian residents are not offered marketplace investments.
Right for
Companies raising equity from both non-accredited and accredited investors online
Wrong for
Creators selling rewards or charities collecting plain donations
Not stated by the vendorIssuer fees are not stated on the page read; the site links to a For Founders page without describing terms
Equity investing platform for registered sophisticated investors, FCA-regulated
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Regulation is the main fact here: Crowdcube Capital is FCA-authorised, and investors have to register as sophisticated, which narrows who can back you. The site names formats under 'Private Market Infrastructure and Investing' and warns of illiquidity, dilution and loss.
We could not read any fee terms, so this entry says nothing on cost. Ask for the full fee schedule for companies and investors before agreeing to a raise.
What stands out
FCA-regulated
sophisticated investors
equity raise
Where it costs you
The fee schedule was unreadable behind a risk warning or bot check.
Investors must register as sophisticated before they can invest.
Right for
Companies seeking equity from registered sophisticated investors under FCA oversight
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a simple donation or reward page
Not stated by the vendorFee schedule for companies and investors could not be read on the pages checked
Crowdfunding site acquired by Ulule, with its own support closing
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Crowdfunding Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The only verified facts are about the change of hands: the site announces the acquisition by Ulule, the footer shows Ulule SAS, and support requests are redirected.
Nothing we read describes how campaigns, fees or payouts will work under the new arrangement, so a creator should not assume the old terms survive. Compare Ulule's published commission, which sits higher in this list, before choosing this brand for anything new.
What stands out
acquired by Ulule
support closing
Ulule SAS footer
Where it costs you
Its own support is closing and requests go to Ulule.
No fee terms were on the pages read.
Right for
Existing KissKissBankBank users who need to follow the Ulule transition
Wrong for
New campaigns that need a standalone support channel
Not stated by the vendorFee terms were not stated on the pages read; the site now redirects requests to Ulule support
Crowdfunding platforms host public campaigns where people donate or pledge money toward a goal, and handle payment collection, payouts and campaign pages for fundraisers, creators, nonprofits or companies seeking investors. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Check who publishes a price
Prices are public at 4 products (Givebutter, Zeffy, Mightycause, Fundable) and on request at the remaining 9, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The 13 companies behind this list are established in 2 countries, by region Elsewhere 12, Europe 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Startnext, Ulule and GoFundMe: who pays the fee
The fee on a crowdfunding page is rarely the whole cost, and it often lands on different people. Startnext takes a success fee by plan tier, only at payout, then adds PayPal, card or direct debit costs that its own page averages at about 3.5 percent net. Ulule takes a commission by payment method and, since April 2025, asks backers to pay a service fee.
GoFundMe charges no platform fee to start but deducts a per-donation transaction fee from certified fundraisers, with rates that change by country. Add the layers together before you compare: commission, payment costs, backer fees, and any discount that excludes transaction costs. A table that looks cheap on the headline percentage can be the dearest once payment costs are included.
Add success fee, payment costs and any backer-side fee into one total.
Check whether volume discounts leave out transaction costs, as Startnext does.
Confirm the fee for your country, since GoFundMe rates differ by currency.
Givebutter, Zeffy and the donor tip prompt
Two entries in this list run at no monthly cost by asking donors for more. Givebutter drops its platform fee to zero while donor tips are on; switch them off and a 3 percent platform fee plus card processing returns. Zeffy's pricing page headline is 100 percent free for nonprofits and relies on optional contributions shown at payment confirmation.
GoFundMe also shows an optional tip with a required amount of nothing. The cost has not vanished, it has moved to a prompt on your giving page, and your donors are the ones who see it. Decide whether that fits your relationship with supporters. Then estimate income without tips, because the donor list, not the tool, decides how many give the extra. Compare that to the paid Plus tier priced by contact count.
Test the donation page as a donor sees it, tip prompt included.
Work out your cost with tips off, as Givebutter's 3 percent fee shows.
Estimate how many donors will skip the optional contribution.
StartEngine, Crowdcube and Fundable: raising equity is another product
Selling shares is not a reward campaign with a bigger goal. StartEngine splits its offerings across Regulation A, Regulation Crowdfunding and Rule 506(c), the last for accredited investors only, with different group companies behind them. Crowdcube Capital is FCA-regulated and requires investors to register as sophisticated.
Fundable takes another route: a flat monthly platform fee, not pro-rated, with no success fees, and a free profile before launch. Only Fundable states its price model on the page we read; StartEngine and Crowdcube gave no issuer fees at all. So a founder should ask for the schedule in writing, check who may legally invest, and budget for legal documents that a donation page never needs.
Ask for the issuer fee schedule in writing before starting a raise.
Check which offering type fits your investors, accredited or not.
Compare a flat monthly fee, like Fundable's, with a percentage over your expected timeline.
Experiment, betterplace.org and KissKissBankBank: know the operator and the rules
Smaller sites differ most in what they tell you about themselves. betterplace.org names its operator, a Berlin gGmbH with court and VAT details. Mightycause and FundRazr give a copyright holder but no address, and FundRazr sends fee questions to a separate page. KissKissBankBank says Ulule has acquired it and that its own support is closing.
Experiment runs all-or-nothing: if the research target is missed, no pledges are charged. Read the target rule as carefully as the fee rule, because it decides whether a partial result earns anything. Where fees are unstated, treat that as a question for the vendor, not a good sign. Ask in writing, and keep the answer with your campaign records.
Find the operating company and its address before you publish.
Check whether the campaign keeps partial money or is all-or-nothing.
Ask where support goes if the site has been acquired.
What goes wrong most often when buying crowdfunding platforms
Choosing a platform for its zero headline price, such as Mightycause or Zeffy, without asking how card costs and donor tips are handled.
Setting an all-or-nothing target on Experiment at the ideal budget instead of the smallest amount that funds the work.
Starting a Fundable paid month before the pitch materials and investor list are ready, then paying while the campaign sits idle.
Launching a new campaign on KissKissBankBank without checking how support and terms now work under Ulule.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best crowdfunding platforms in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Startnext first. Startnext publishes its whole fee table: a percentage per plan for classic, nonprofit and private-purpose campaigns, taken only when money is paid out. Volume discounts apply on the two upper plans.
The catch is stacking, because payment costs of roughly 3.5 percent net sit on top of the success fee and are excluded from the discounts. The footer names Startnext GmbH, but no country appears on the pages read.
Which crowdfunding platforms publish their pricing?
4 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Givebutter: Free plan with unlimited users, contacts and email blasts, funded by donor tips; Plus add-on is priced by contact count, with a 30-day trial.
Zeffy: Free for nonprofits per the pricing page, paid for by optional contributions shown to donors at payment confirmation.
Mightycause: Free sign-up, with the pricing page stating everything for nothing per month and listing no paid plans or trial.
Fundable: Flat monthly platform fee to run your own fundraise, not pro-rated, with no success fees; a free tier covers a company profile before launch.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free crowdfunding platform?
Givebutter, Zeffy, Mightycause, Fundable offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these crowdfunding platform vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 12, Europe 1:
Startnext: Not stated by the vendor.
Ulule: Not stated by the vendor.
betterplace.org: Germany.
Givebutter: Not stated by the vendor.
Zeffy: Not stated by the vendor.
Experiment: Not stated by the vendor.
Mightycause: Not stated by the vendor.
GoFundMe: Not stated by the vendor.
Fundable: Not stated by the vendor.
FundRazr: Not stated by the vendor.
StartEngine: Not stated by the vendor.
Crowdcube: Not stated by the vendor.
KissKissBankBank: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Startnext?
Look at Ulule (made for Creators in euros who want a stated commission and a B Corp operator) and betterplace.org (made for Charities wanting a donation platform with a fully identified operator), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Startnext?
Anyone needing a stated company address or country first. Payment costs run on top of the success fee and are left out of every volume discount..
If your crowdfunding platforms product belongs among these 13, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.