Content optimization tools score a draft or a published page against pages that already rank, and increasingly against AI answers too.
This guide orders fourteen of them by how little a small team must commit: setup effort, what quota upgrades add to the bill, how plainly the vendor states price, trial and owner, and whether it scores pages.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What content optimization tools software does
Content optimization tools compare a draft or live page with top-ranking results, suggest terms, headings, questions and length, and score the text so writers can revise before publishing.
Every content optimization tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Polish-run editor with five monthly plans and per-plan document quotas
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Five tiers are set by projects, documents, AI-monitored questions and AI credits: Bronze gives 2 projects, 25 documents and 15,000 credits, Diamond 50 projects, 150 documents and 75,000 credits.
Plagiarism checks begin at Gold with 75 and reach 150 on Diamond. Gold and higher add an own OpenAI key plus API and MCP access. A 7-day test runs on Gold terms, and the AI Monitoring add-on is listed at zero with checkout behind a login.
What stands out
Five tiers
Document quotas
Own OpenAI key
Where it costs you
Bronze and Silver monitor just 5 and 7 AI questions, which is thin for a site with many topics.
The two cheapest plans lack the integrations that Gold and higher list for Google, WordPress and Shopify.
Right for
Small publishers wanting a low entry rate and several tiers to grow into
Wrong for
Agencies needing more than 150 documents on a single plan
PolandFive published tiers named Bronze to Diamond, billed monthly or yearly; 7-day test under Gold terms
Workflow credits from a vendor that began as a content agency
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans are counted in Content Workflows per month, from 5 at the entry size up to 150, then a jump to Enterprise at 200 and above with procurement support and early API access. Annual billing lowers every monthly rate.
All plans carry unlimited users and projects, rollover credits and team training at no charge. Trial credits are bought, ten for ten dollars, with no time limit and no automatic billing afterwards.
What stands out
Workflow credits
Rollover credits
Paid trial
Where it costs you
Non-English keyword research is marked as coming soon, so multilingual sites cannot rely on it yet.
Enterprise starts at 1,000 a month for 200 or more workflows, a steep jump after the 150-workflow plan.
Right for
Agencies and freelancers briefing many writers who like rollover credits
Wrong for
Sites that publish in languages other than English
Not stated by the vendorSix published Standard sizes counted in Content Workflows per month, plus Enterprise from a stated minimum; paid ten-credit trial with no time limit
Page scoring tool credited to Kyle Roof, priced by Watchdog pages
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Three plans scale by Watchdog pages and monthly credits: Basic has 10 pages and 20 credits, Unlimited 200 pages and 50 credits with unlimited reports under fair use, and Teams 500 pages, 120 credits and 5 to 100 sub-accounts, extra seats costing 12 a month.
Domains are unlimited throughout. The done-for-you POP Authority service starts at 555 a month. An EEAT Auditor with an 80-point evaluation is described as a vendor claim.
What stands out
Watchdog pages
Report credits
Demo without sign-up
Where it costs you
The Unlimited plan shows 200 Watchdog pages in one place and 100 in the Watchdog text.
Basic caps reports at 20 credits a month and has no annual rate.
Right for
Practitioners scoring individual pages on a 0 to 100 scale
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a time-limited trial before any payment
Not stated by the vendorPublished plans for Basic, Unlimited and Teams, monthly or annual; a refund guarantee stands in for a trial; done-for-you service priced separately
Singapore-based keyword and writing suite sold as one-time plans
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The entry plan gives 50,000 keyword credits, clustering of 10,000 keywords, 50 keyword lists and a revenue forecast. All-In-One Basic adds 50 articles a month with unlimited AI writing, word checks and topic lookups, and Advanced doubles keyword credits and articles while including two extra member seats.
Add-ons cover seats at 9 a month and keyword credit packs between 19 and 99. Fifteen days is the trial length given on the home page.
What stands out
One-time plans
Keyword credits
Extra seats
Where it costs you
Plan cards and the sticky summary disagree on one-time versus monthly billing.
The Keyword Research plan omits Content Creator, Plagiarism Checker and Topic Discovery.
Right for
Solo writers who start from keyword lists and clustering before drafting
Wrong for
Buyers who cannot accept unclear billing terms on a pricing page
SingaporePublished plan cards labelled one time while the page summary says per month; 15-day trial without a card
Ten-module platform where plans count content projects and tracked AI queries
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starter, Growth and Pro differ by volume: 20, 80 or 160 content projects, 100, 300 or 500 tracked AI queries, and 20, 80 or 160 page audits.
Every plan covers 11 AI platforms, two AI revisions per project and unlimited workspaces and team members. Yearly billing equals ten monthly payments, which saves two months. Enterprise pricing is custom through sales.
What stands out
Content projects
AI query tracking
MCP and API
Where it costs you
Prices show only a dollar sign, so USD is an assumption.
Starter allows 2 technical site audits, each covering up to 1,000 pages.
Right for
Content teams wanting drafting, auditing and AI query tracking in one subscription
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a trial without handing over a card
Not stated by the vendorStarter, Growth and Pro at published rates, a yearly payment below twelve monthly ones; enterprise on request; 7-day trial needing a card
Four-module platform with quota-based plans and a 14-day trial
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Essentials includes 50 tracked queries, 50 pages, 20 monthly Discoveries and 20 monthly Drafts; Business raises these to 300 queries, 300 pages and 50 Discoveries and adds a dedicated account manager.
Add-ons cost less per unit on Business: queries 5.50 against 6.50, pages 15 against 25. Enterprise brings SSO, crawler whitelisting and custom credits. Integrations named are Google Docs, Microsoft Word, WordPress and Search Console.
What stands out
Tracked queries
Priced add-ons
Four modules
Where it costs you
Extra Drafts cost more on Essentials than on Business, so heavy writers pay a premium on the lower plan.
The terms page could not be fetched, so no country is confirmed beyond the Mushi Labs copyright line.
Right for
Editorial teams with many writers, since users and projects are unlimited
Wrong for
Anyone wanting prices stated in a named currency
Not stated by the vendorTwo published monthly plans, add-ons priced per query, page and draft; enterprise on request; 14-day trial only
Real-time editor for readability, inclusivity and brand consistency, quoted by proposal
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Create works inside editors with real-time suggestions, while Control gives the organisation one view of content quality. Integrations named are Microsoft Word, Microsoft Office, CMS, ATS and CRM systems, plus MCP connections for AI agents.
An Advanced tier lists API access and SSO. The site is available in English and Dutch, and customer logos include Erasmus MC and Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek. Pricing comes only by proposal.
What stands out
Quote only
Word integration
Brand consistency
Where it costs you
No price appears anywhere, so budgeting waits for a sales proposal.
API access and SSO sit in an Advanced tier, which widens the quote.
Right for
Large organisations standardising tone and readability across many Word users
Wrong for
Individual writers wanting to test before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation as a tailored proposal; quotation and demo buttons, no trial named
Prompt tracking and GEO article quotas on three published plans
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starter tracks 10 prompts weekly with 5 GEO articles and 4 team members; Plus tracks 25 prompts with 30 articles and 200 audit pages; Professional tracks 100 prompts with 75 articles, 1,000 audit pages and unlimited workspaces.
Brand tracking covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and Grok, and its claims of 1 million marketers and 5 million blogs are the vendor's own.
What stands out
GEO articles
Prompt tracking
Annual discount
Where it costs you
Professional shows two different keyword-cluster numbers within one pricing table.
Annual prices apply to annual plans only, so the low headline rate needs a yearly commitment.
Right for
Small marketing teams wanting article quotas and prompt tracking together
Wrong for
Anyone requiring a named location and owner
Not stated by the vendorStarter, Plus and Professional at a published monthly or lower annual rate; VIP service custom; 7-day trial on monthly plans
Article quotas, audit pages and AI visibility prompts in four plans
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Starter covers 1 seat, 1 site and 10 articles; Professional 3 seats, 5 sites and 40 articles with 3 months of history; Scale 5 seats, 10 domains and 100 articles with 12 months of history.
API, MCP and CLI request allowances rise from 5,000 to 50,000 a month. AI Visibility tracks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini and Google AI. Prices are in USD, with a 7-day trial and no card required.
What stands out
Article quotas
AI Visibility
CMS publishing
Where it costs you
Trust pages sit on the copysmith.ai domain with no explanation, which leaves ownership unclear.
Each step up raises seats, sites and articles together, so one needed limit can force a larger plan.
Right for
Writers who draft and publish from one tool into Webflow, Sanity or WordPress
Wrong for
Anyone requiring ownership and headquarters stated up front
Not stated by the vendorSeat-based tiers, cheaper yearly, with prices published; enterprise by quote; 7-day trial, no card required
Article-count plans with brand voices and internal linking URLs
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Starter allows up to 50 articles, 1 Brand Voice and 500 internal-linking URLs per site; Professional 250 articles, 5 voices and 5,000 URLs; Professional Plus 1 and 2 reach 500 and 1,000 articles with 10 and 25 voices and up to 50,000 URLs.
Yearly billing lowers each rate. The free tier offers 3 articles with a 25,000-word limit and no credit card. Currency is shown as a dollar sign only.
What stands out
Brand voices
Internal linking
Article quotas
Where it costs you
The pricing page measures articles generated, not pages scored.
Country and owner are not stated on the page read.
Right for
Publishers generating drafts at volume with set brand voices and internal links
Wrong for
Teams that mainly rescore pages they already published
Not stated by the vendorFree tier of three articles; four published paid tiers at a monthly or lower yearly rate
Brief-per-month plans from a US firm that joined CafeMedia
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Each tier is defined by briefs per month and users: 10 briefs for one user, 25 for three, 50 for five, with a one-month rollover on Starter. Annual billing takes 20 percent off. All plans include the Keyword Research Tool.
Its trial costs 7 dollars for three briefs over seven days. A Google Docs add-on and a WordPress plugin are listed, and copyright is held by Chia Labs Inc, with a San Francisco address.
What stands out
Briefs per month
CafeMedia family
Paid trial
Where it costs you
A sale banner from mid-2021 is still visible, so the listed prices may be out of date.
Seats follow the tier, with one user on Starter and only five on Premium.
Right for
Writers needing a brief per article plus a Google Docs add-on
Wrong for
Anyone preferring a vendor without a media-group parent
United StatesBriefs per month set each published tier, annual billing cheaper; paid three-brief trial; enterprise by contact
Topic research with a free plan, then demo-led paid tiers
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The free plan includes Topic Navigator, Keywords, SERP x-ray and Site Heatmap but no site inventory, tracked topics or briefs.
Optimize allows 100 tracked topics and 5 briefs; Research 1,000 topics, 3 users and 10 briefs; Strategy 10,000 topics, 5 users and 20 briefs across all 9 brief types. The page says the AI fetches hundreds to thousands of pages per topic and has used AI for over ten years.
What stands out
Free plan
Content briefs
Demo-led
Where it costs you
No paid price is shown, so cost is known only after a demo.
Every plan is limited to a single site inventory.
Right for
Strategists planning topic coverage across a whole site before briefing writers
Wrong for
Anyone wanting list prices for the paid plans
United StatesFree plan with 10 queries a month; Optimize, Research and Strategy shown without prices, each with a demo button
Yearly-billed tiers for content scoring and AI search visibility tracking
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Tiers run from Discovery at 10 tracked pages and 120 documents to Peace of Mind at 500 pages, 100 daily prompts and 10 seats, with unlimited workspaces and documents under fair use. Standard and Pro sit between.
Features named include Content Editor with a Content Score, Content Audit, Topical Map, a WordPress plugin, a Google Docs integration and Surfer MCP. Tracking covers ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI Overviews.
What stands out
Content Score
AI visibility
Yearly billing
Where it costs you
Monthly-billed prices are absent, and annual plans are charged upfront for the full year.
AI Search Analytics and Pro both list 50 daily prompts, 5 workspaces and 5 seats, which makes the tier names hard to tell apart.
Right for
Teams wanting Content Editor scoring plus AI visibility tracking in one tool
Wrong for
Anyone needing monthly billing prices before committing
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly rates billed yearly, in euros, across five paid tiers; enterprise custom; start button, trial length not stated
Suite whose Pro+ tier is where content optimization appears
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Content Optimization Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
For a content optimization buyer, Semrush is a bundle in which scoring sits one rung up. On the SEO + AI Search tab, SEO is billed yearly at 112.52 euros a month, Starter at 158.40 and Pro+ at 238, against monthly rates of 134, 190 and 286.
Starter tracks 50 prompts daily on one domain with MCP access, while Pro+ doubles that and adds content optimization. Advanced is custom and brings share of voice and API integration.
What stands out
Pro+ tier
Suite
Prompt tracking
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists content optimization only from Pro+, so the Starter tier lacks it.
Free-plan prices appear in dollars and paid tiers in euros, which the page leaves unexplained.
Right for
Teams already running a broader search suite who want page scoring bundled
Wrong for
Writers who only need a standalone scoring editor at a small price
Not stated by the vendorFree plan limited to a demo project; euro tiers billed yearly or monthly; Advanced custom; 7-day trial mentioned
Content optimization tools compare a draft or live page with top-ranking results, suggest terms, headings, questions and length, and score the text so writers can revise before publishing. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 13 of the 14 print a price; 1 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: NeuronWriter, Content Harmony, Page Optimizer Pro, WriterZen, Rankability, Clearscope, Scalenut, Frase, SEO Writing AI, Topic, MarketMuse, Surfer, Semrush.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The 14 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Elsewhere 10, North America 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Content Optimization Tools: the unit each plan counts
Every vendor in this market meters something different, and the unit decides which plan you outgrow first. NeuronWriter counts projects and documents, Clearscope counts tracked queries, pages and monthly drafts, Content Harmony counts Content Workflows, Topic counts briefs, Rankability counts content projects and tracked AI queries, and Frase counts articles and audit pages.
A freelancer writing four long articles a month and an agency refreshing two hundred old pages need different meters, so a cheap plan can be the wrong one. Write down how many new drafts, rescored pages and watched topics you handle in a typical month, then match that to each meter before comparing headline rates. Also check what happens when you pass the cap: Clearscope sells priced add-ons, others push you to the next tier.
Count a normal month of drafts, rescores and monitored topics
Match your volumes to each vendor's own meter, not the headline rate
Ask if going over a cap means an add-on or a bigger tier
Clearscope, MarketMuse and Textmetrics: reading price pages that hide the price
Price transparency varies more here than in most software markets. Clearscope lists Essentials and Business at fixed monthly amounts, while MarketMuse shows a free plan and then only a Book a demo button for Optimize, Research and Strategy. Textmetrics publishes no prices at all and builds a proposal per organisation.
Trials differ too: Content Harmony and Topic sell a paid starter pack, Page Optimizer Pro offers a 7-day refund guarantee instead of a trial, and Frase offers 7 days without a card. Decide early whether you can wait for a sales cycle, because a demo-led tool adds days before you can test a single page. Compare like with like by asking each seller for a quote at your volumes.
Separate vendors with listed prices from those that need a demo
Note whether the trial is paid, refundable or genuinely open
Ask quote-only vendors for a figure at your own volumes
Surfer, Scalenut and Frase: page scoring versus AI answer tracking
Most tools here now sell two jobs in one subscription: scoring a page against search results and tracking whether ChatGPT, Gemini or Perplexity mention you. Surfer, Scalenut, Frase, Rankability and Clearscope all describe AI tracking, but allowances differ sharply.
Surfer lists daily prompts on some tiers and weekly on Standard, Scalenut tracks 10 prompts weekly on Starter, and Frase sets its AI Visibility prompts by plan. Settle whether tracking is essential or optional, because paying for 100 daily prompts you never read wastes budget. Treat vendor statements such as Surfer's claim of 25 percent more AI citations as marketing until you have measured your own pages over a few months.
Settle whether AI tracking is essential or optional
Compare prompt allowances by day, week or month
Treat citation uplift claims as unverified until you measure
WriterZen, Topic and Page Optimizer Pro: confirm the pricing page before paying
Several pricing pages in this category contradict themselves, and a screenshot saved before you buy is cheap insurance. WriterZen labels its plan cards one time while its sticky summary says per month. Topic still displays a sale note dated 31 July 2021. Page Optimizer Pro states 200 Watchdog pages for Unlimited in the table but 100 in the Watchdog text, and Scalenut gives an inconsistent keyword-cluster figure for Professional.
None of this proves a problem, but each is a question for the vendor in writing. Ask whether the price is recurring, which figure applies, and whether the annual rate is taken in one payment, as Surfer says it is. Keep the answer with your purchase record.
Screenshot the pricing page on the day you sign up
Ask in writing which of two conflicting figures applies
Confirm if the annual rate is charged in one payment
What goes wrong most often when buying content optimization tools software
Buying NeuronWriter, Frase or Scalenut for the entry rate and then discovering that the article or document quota covers only half your publishing plan.
Choosing a scoring tool for a language it does not cover, when Content Harmony still marks non-English keyword research as coming soon.
Treating a content score as a ranking promise, when Surfer's 25 percent citation figure and Page Optimizer Pro's 100-plus signals are both vendor claims.
Paying for a suite such as Semrush to get content optimization, which appears only from the Pro+ tier, when a single-purpose editor would cost less.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best content optimization tools in 2026?
First of 14 on this page is NeuronWriter. NeuronWriter is run by Conti sp. z o.o. in Zamosc, Poland, and belongs to the CONTADU content intelligence platform.
Five plans climb from 25 to 150 documents and from 2 to 50 projects, so the entry rate stays low for a small site. Gold is where unlimited team members and the Search Console, WordPress and Shopify links begin, while Bronze and Silver cover only 5 and 7 monitored questions.
Which content optimization tools publish their pricing?
13 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
NeuronWriter: Five published tiers named Bronze to Diamond, billed monthly or yearly; 7-day test under Gold terms.
Content Harmony: Six published Standard sizes counted in Content Workflows per month, plus Enterprise from a stated minimum; paid ten-credit trial with no time limit.
Page Optimizer Pro: Published plans for Basic, Unlimited and Teams, monthly or annual; a refund guarantee stands in for a trial; done-for-you service priced separately.
WriterZen: Published plan cards labelled one time while the page summary says per month; 15-day trial without a card.
Rankability: Starter, Growth and Pro at published rates, a yearly payment below twelve monthly ones; enterprise on request; 7-day trial needing a card.
Clearscope: Two published monthly plans, add-ons priced per query, page and draft; enterprise on request; 14-day trial only.
Scalenut: Starter, Plus and Professional at a published monthly or lower annual rate; VIP service custom; 7-day trial on monthly plans.
Frase: Seat-based tiers, cheaper yearly, with prices published; enterprise by quote; 7-day trial, no card required.
SEO Writing AI: Free tier of three articles; four published paid tiers at a monthly or lower yearly rate.
Topic: Briefs per month set each published tier, annual billing cheaper; paid three-brief trial; enterprise by contact.
MarketMuse: Free plan with 10 queries a month; Optimize, Research and Strategy shown without prices, each with a demo button.
Surfer: Published monthly rates billed yearly, in euros, across five paid tiers; enterprise custom; start button, trial length not stated.
Semrush: Free plan limited to a demo project; euro tiers billed yearly or monthly; Advanced custom; 7-day trial mentioned.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free content optimization tool?
SEO Writing AI, MarketMuse, Semrush have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these content optimization tool vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 10, North America 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1:
NeuronWriter: Poland.
Content Harmony: Not stated by the vendor.
Page Optimizer Pro: Not stated by the vendor.
WriterZen: Singapore.
Rankability: Not stated by the vendor.
Clearscope: Not stated by the vendor.
Textmetrics: Not stated by the vendor.
Scalenut: Not stated by the vendor.
Frase: Not stated by the vendor.
SEO Writing AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Topic: United States.
MarketMuse: United States.
Surfer: Not stated by the vendor.
Semrush: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of NeuronWriter?
Second is Content Harmony, which suits Agencies and freelancers briefing many writers who like rollover credits. Third is Page Optimizer Pro, which suits Practitioners scoring individual pages on a 0 to 100 scale.
Who should not buy NeuronWriter?
Agencies needing more than 150 documents on a single plan. Bronze and Silver monitor just 5 and 7 AI questions, which is thin for a site with many topics..
If a content optimization tools product of yours deserves a place among these 14, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.