Changelog software publishes what changed in a product so customers, support staff and sales can read it in one place.
This ranking starts with small independent vendors, then checks first-quarter setup effort, how pricing meters readers, seats or modules, whether entries can be exported, and whether the tool does release notes or only borders on them.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What changelog software does
Changelog software lets product teams write, schedule and publish release notes on a hosted page or in-app widget, with notifications that tell customers what has shipped.
Ranking criteria for this changelog tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Free plan with a fair use limit, plus one monthly Pro plan listed on the pricing page
Yes
Teams that want an open source feedback board and can run it themselves
Anyone whose main need is a published changelog
The country column shows the vendor's headquarters or contracting entity. Data hosting is a separate matter, and an entry flags it when the two diverge.
Changelog widget and page from a US company, with one Pro tier
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Headway is the shortest path from nothing to a public changelog in this ranking. You start on the free plan, which sets no cap on changelogs, and move to Pro when a custom domain matters.
Scheduled publishing and a private changelog let a team prepare entries before customers see them. Everything else sits in one paid plan, so there is no add-on arithmetic. The cost of that simplicity is that anything beyond release notes needs another product.
What stands out
Unlimited changelogs
Scheduled publishing
Private changelog
Where it costs you
Branding removal and a custom domain only arrive with the paid Pro tier.
The pages read do not say whether the product can be self-hosted or whether any part is open source.
Right for
Small teams that want a plain public changelog and may upgrade later
Wrong for
Buyers who also want feedback boards in one tool
United StatesFree plan with unlimited changelogs, plus one paid Pro tier listed on the home page
Release notes billed per project, with a capped starter history
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The per-project price makes this the tool to price out first if you run several products with a few people each. Teams removes the cap on releases and team members, and the subscriber charge is stated plainly.
Business is where a custom domain and invoice billing arrive, which matters for finance departments. Starter is deliberately small, so treat it as a sandbox. The vendor shows no company address, so ask who contracts with you before signing anything.
What stands out
Per-project billing
Email subscribers
Custom domain
Where it costs you
On Starter, older notes drop out of view after ninety days, whatever the entry count.
Email subscribers cost extra on Teams, which makes a large mailing list the main cost driver.
Right for
Agencies or multi-product companies that want separate release pages per project
Wrong for
One-product teams that want unlimited history for nothing
Not stated by the vendorThree per-project monthly plans; the Starter plan is free and the two paid plans list their rates
Announcements, feedback and roadmap with a metered entry plan
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Sleekplan makes its limits visible, which helps with the real-price test. Every plan states announcement views, email sends and seats, so you can multiply by your own traffic before buying.
The paid plans include a 30-day trial of Business features without a card, and the trial falls back to Indie if you do nothing. That is gentler than a hard stop. The trade-off is that metering never goes away: growth in readers raises the plan you need.
What stands out
Announcement views
Email send limits
AI credits
Where it costs you
Indie includes no team seats, so a second person cannot work on entries without upgrading.
The cap of 1,000 announcement views a month is small for any product with a sizeable user base.
Right for
Solo founders who want announcements and feedback and can accept metered limits
Wrong for
Teams with large audiences who need unmetered announcement views
Not stated by the vendorFree forever Indie plan, two yearly-billed paid plans and custom Enterprise; 30-day trial of Business features
Release notes inside Jira Cloud, priced per active Jira user
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Released is the only entry here that lives inside another product, and that decides everything. If your engineers already close tickets in Jira Cloud, installing an app and starting a 30-day trial straight from Jira removes a procurement step.
The price per active user is low per head but scales with the whole Jira population. The Advanced tier adds embeddable feedback forms and Slack feedback. Outside Jira, none of that helps you.
What stands out
Jira Cloud app
Atlassian Forge
AI tokens per user
Where it costs you
It runs only on Atlassian Cloud and is not offered for Jira Data Center.
Pricing counts every active Jira user, so a large Jira site pays for people who never write release notes.
Right for
Jira Cloud teams who want release notes generated near their tickets
Wrong for
Organisations running Jira Data Center or tracking work elsewhere
AustraliaBilled per active Jira user each month; entry tier at no charge for small sites; 30-day trial on paid plans
Feedback portal with roadmap and changelog, run by two founders
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Rapidr fits a team that wants customers to vote on ideas and then read what shipped. The roadmap and changelog sit in the Startup tier with five team members, so there is no module hunt. Business is for larger groups needing segmentation and SSO.
Ownership is unusually easy to describe: the company says it is bootstrapped by two founders. Against that, the price starts higher than the freemium entries, and there is no stated country to anchor contracts.
What stands out
Roadmap and changelog
Bootstrapped
SSO on Business
Where it costs you
The cheapest tier already includes a feedback portal, so a changelog-only buyer pays for more than release notes.
Entry is by fourteen-day trial only, which leaves no permanent low-cost option.
Right for
Small SaaS teams that want feedback, roadmap and changelog from one small vendor
Wrong for
Solo makers who need a permanent zero-cost starting plan
Not stated by the vendorTwo published monthly tiers and a custom Enterprise level; two-week trial, no card needed
Changelog with feedback analysis, sold in builder-based tiers
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Unlimited release notes on the free tier are the part to compare with Headway, but the paid ladder is built around feedback analysis rather than around changelogs.
Essentials gives one builder and two widgets; Business, labelled as a discount on its list rate, gives five builders and 10,000 items. That structure rewards teams who read feedback heavily. A changelog-only buyer sees the item allowance as noise and should price the second widget alone.
What stands out
Builder seats
Feedback analysis
Widgets
Where it costs you
Visitor and feedback-item caps make the entry tier a short-term fit for a growing product.
Trial length and terms cannot be read on the pricing page.
Right for
Product teams that want release notes plus automated reading of customer feedback
Wrong for
Teams that only publish release notes and ignore feedback
Not stated by the vendorFree entry tier, two paid tiers with listed rates and custom Enterprise; a trial is mentioned in the FAQ
Changelog and feedback tool owned by Amoeboids since early 2025
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Olvy is easiest to judge by its add-ons. A second builder on Essentials costs extra, and every integration adds a monthly fee, so a team connecting Slack, a tracker and email can pass the Business price quickly.
Business removes those charges and covers unlimited widgets. The privacy page names Amoeboids as the owner since February 2025, which is worth raising with them directly. The trial is referenced but its terms are not readable.
What stands out
Owned by Amoeboids
Integration charges
Builder add-ons
Where it costs you
Each integration on Essentials is a separate monthly charge, which makes real cost depend on your stack.
The takeover is under two years old, so the post-acquisition track record is short.
Right for
Teams on Essentials-sized budgets who want one builder and few integrations
Wrong for
Buyers who need many integrations without extra monthly charges
Not stated by the vendorFree entry tier, Essentials and Business with listed monthly rates, custom Enterprise; trial referenced in an FAQ
Feedback boards where the changelog arrives on the middle tier
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Upvoty works when voting is the main job and release notes follow from it. Unlimited boards and tracked users arrive on every tier, so the meter is the plan, not your audience.
Super at the middle rate adds the changelog, and Hyper is where SSO, an API and the Upvoty MCP appear. The trial needs no card. The catch is sequencing: you cannot test the changelog on the cheapest plan, so start trials on Super.
What stands out
Changelog from Super
SAML on Hyper
MCP support
Where it costs you
The changelog is not part of the entry tier, so a changelog buyer must start on Super.
The pages read name no registered office, address or parent company.
Right for
Teams that run public voting boards and also need a changelog
Wrong for
Anyone buying only release notes on the lowest tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers with an annual discount, custom Enterprise, and a card-free trial on every plan
Changelog, notifications and boards priced by monthly active users
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Beamer converts audience size into price, so do the sum with your own user count first. At 1,000 users or fewer the free plan carries one teammate. Past that, annual billing lowers each tier, and the pricing FAQ puts additional users in blocks of 5,000.
Notifications, boards and thousands of integrations through API or webhooks come with the changelog product. A separate onboarding product by Userflow has its own trial, so do not mix the two offers.
What stands out
Priced by MAU
Push notifications
Ideas boards
Where it costs you
Cost grows with monthly active users even when the number of changelog entries stays flat.
The free plan allows one teammate, so collaboration needs a paid tier.
Right for
Products with small audiences that want push and in-app announcements together
Wrong for
High-traffic consumer products where active users are the cost driver
Not stated by the vendorTiered by monthly active users, with a free plan up to 1,000 users and custom volumes above; extra users billed in blocks
Changelog sold as one product among several priced separately
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
AnnounceKit lets you buy the changelog alone, then add modules as needs grow. Every product bundles the same audience and seat allowance, so the first plan is easy to read.
The warning is on the real-price test: Changelog plus In-app Notifications plus Product Tours adds three listed rates before an annual discount. Enterprise licensing starts from a stated monthly figure. A fifteen-day trial opens every product, which is enough to test the stack together.
What stands out
Per-product pricing
Startup discount
Hosted only
Where it costs you
Adding in-app notifications or tours on top of the changelog stacks a second and third price.
The pages do not say whether any self-hosted or open source option exists.
Right for
Qualifying early-stage startups who want only the changelog module first
Wrong for
Teams wanting several modules bundled into one bill
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-product monthly rates with an annual discount; fifteen-day trial and a startup discount
Release communication pages aimed at product teams with budgets
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
LaunchNotes aims at organisations with budget and process. The Growth plan covers one page and two users, so growing past two writers pushes you toward the custom Premium plan.
Multiple pages, multiple custom domains and the option to bring your own email provider only appear there. Setup is led by the vendor after a demo, which helps if you want hand-holding and hurts if you want to try it quietly tonight.
What stands out
Demo-gated trial
Email sends included
Custom domains on Premium
Where it costs you
Entry pricing sits well above the other tools in this ranking.
A trial needs a 30-minute demo booking first, which delays hands-on testing.
Right for
Larger product organisations that manage several release pages and send email
Wrong for
Small teams that want to publish a changelog this week
United StatesPublished Growth tier billed annually or monthly, custom Premium; 14-day trial after a demo
Feedback boards, roadmaps and help articles priced per seat
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Changelog Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
For a changelog buyer, Featurebase is a neighbour rather than a core pick, which explains its low rank. The listed limits concern boards, roadmaps, help articles and survey shows, and the entry plan has a single seat.
Paid steps are charged per seat, with a ten-day trial and yearly savings. The AI agent has its own per-resolution rate. Tallinn is named as home base and the company calls itself bootstrapped. Ask for a live changelog demo first.
What stands out
Per-seat pricing
Help articles
Fibi AI agent
Where it costs you
The pricing page read never names a changelog, so release notes must be demonstrated before purchase.
Taking away the vendor branding costs a monthly add-on on the two top plans.
Right for
Buyers who need feedback and help centre pages and may add release notes
Wrong for
Teams shopping purely for a changelog page
EstoniaPer seat each month on a free entry plan and three paid steps, with a ten-day trial and yearly savings
Fider is the exit-friendly entry in this ranking: the licence is AGPL-3.0, the README describes installing it on your own infrastructure, and a hosted free plan exists. That solves independence and portability.
It does not solve release notes, because the pages read describe feedback collection and moderation, not a changelog. Pair it with a dedicated changelog tool or treat it as the feedback half of a stack you assemble yourself.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0 licence
Self-host option
Feedback only
Where it costs you
Nothing on the pages read shows a changelog or release-notes feature.
The free plan is limited to a fair use cap of 250 feedback items.
Right for
Teams that want an open source feedback board and can run it themselves
Wrong for
Anyone whose main need is a published changelog
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with a fair use limit, plus one monthly Pro plan listed on the pricing page
Changelog software lets product teams write, schedule and publish release notes on a hosted page or in-app widget, with notifications that tell customers what has shipped. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Start with pricing transparency
The split is 12 published against 1 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Headway, ReleaseNotes.io, Sleekplan, Rapidr, Noticeable, Olvy, Upvoty, Beamer, AnnounceKit, LaunchNotes, Featurebase, Fider.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 9, North America 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
Open source here means Fider. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Changelog software pricing: seats at Headway, readers at Sleekplan, users at Beamer
The meter on the invoice differs more between changelog tools than the feature lists do. Headway keeps one paid Pro plan after a free plan. Sleekplan caps announcement views and email sends, so readers set the plan. Beamer counts monthly active users and sells extra ones in blocks of 5,000. ReleaseNotes.io bills per project, and Released bills per active Jira user.
Pick the meter that grows slowest for your business: a small team with a big audience dislikes Beamer, while a big engineering group on Jira dislikes Released. Estimate twelve months of growth in users, readers and writers, then price each shortlisted tool at the end of that period rather than today.
Estimate your active users, readers and writers a year from now
Multiply each tool's meter by that figure before comparing plans
Ask whether extra users or subscribers are billed in blocks
Is the changelog the product or an extra? Upvoty, Rapidr and Featurebase compared
Several tools in this ranking are feedback portals with release notes attached, and the difference shows in the plan structure. Upvoty puts the changelog on its Super tier, not the entry tier. Rapidr includes roadmap and changelog from Startup. Featurebase describes boards, roadmaps and help articles on its pricing page without naming a changelog, which is why it sits low.
Headway and ReleaseNotes.io do release notes and little else. If voting boards are on your list, a feedback suite saves a vendor. If they are not, you pay for modules you will not open. Write two lists, must-have and nice-to-have, before you read any pricing page, and score each tool against the first list only.
Confirm in a trial that the changelog module exists on the plan you price
List which feedback features you would actually switch on
Check which tier first includes custom domain and branding removal
Trial and demo terms: Noticeable, LaunchNotes and AnnounceKit
How you get to try a changelog tool tells you how the vendor sells. AnnounceKit gives fifteen days with every product and a startup discount of half off for twelve months. LaunchNotes starts a fourteen-day trial only after a 30-minute demo. Noticeable and Olvy mention a trial in their FAQ but the terms are not readable on the pricing page, so ask before relying on one.
Sleekplan trials Business features for thirty days and then drops you to its entry plan. Spend the trial publishing real entries to a real domain, not demo content, and see how the widget behaves on your own site. A trial that needs a demo call costs hours as well as money.
Ask what happens to your entries when the trial ends
Publish at least five real entries on your own domain
Request the trial length in writing where the page is unclear
Ownership and exit: Olvy, Fider and who stands behind your changelog
A changelog is public history, so losing it hurts. Olvy says Amoeboids took over in February 2025, a change worth asking about before you commit. Fider shows an AGPL-3.0 licence and a self-hosting option, which lets you keep the data under your control, though its pages read show feedback rather than release notes.
Rapidr describes itself as bootstrapped by two founders. LaunchNotes names its company and address in the terms. Where the pages state no owner or country, as with several entries here, make the vendor put its legal entity into the order form. Test export on day one, not at renewal, by copying a few entries out in a usable format.
Find the legal entity and governing law in the terms
Export a few entries on day one and open the file
Ask what happens to public links if you cancel
What goes wrong most often when buying changelog software
Choosing a feedback suite for release notes alone, then discovering the changelog sits on a higher tier than the one priced.
Pricing a plan at today's audience when the meter, whether views, emails or active users, will grow with the product.
Skipping the legal entity because the pricing page looked clear, when several vendors here state no address or country.
Publishing demo content during a trial instead of real entries on the production domain, so styling and embed problems stay hidden.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best changelog software in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Headway first. Headway takes first place because the product is narrow: a changelog and little wrapped around it.
The free plan allows unlimited changelogs, and the single Pro plan adds white-labelling, a custom domain, all integrations, team management, a private changelog and scheduled publishing. Branding and domain control sit behind that one paid tier. The terms name no owner or parent.
Which changelog tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 12 products on this page:
Headway: Free plan with unlimited changelogs, plus one paid Pro tier listed on the home page.
ReleaseNotes.io: Three per-project monthly plans; the Starter plan is free and the two paid plans list their rates.
Sleekplan: Free forever Indie plan, two yearly-billed paid plans and custom Enterprise; 30-day trial of Business features.
Rapidr: Two published monthly tiers and a custom Enterprise level; two-week trial, no card needed.
Noticeable: Free entry tier, two paid tiers with listed rates and custom Enterprise; a trial is mentioned in the FAQ.
Olvy: Free entry tier, Essentials and Business with listed monthly rates, custom Enterprise; trial referenced in an FAQ.
Upvoty: Published monthly tiers with an annual discount, custom Enterprise, and a card-free trial on every plan.
Beamer: Tiered by monthly active users, with a free plan up to 1,000 users and custom volumes above; extra users billed in blocks.
AnnounceKit: Published per-product monthly rates with an annual discount; fifteen-day trial and a startup discount.
LaunchNotes: Published Growth tier billed annually or monthly, custom Premium; 14-day trial after a demo.
Featurebase: Per seat each month on a free entry plan and three paid steps, with a ten-day trial and yearly savings.
Fider: Free plan with a fair use limit, plus one monthly Pro plan listed on the pricing page.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free changelog tool?
Headway, Sleekplan, Released, Noticeable, Olvy, Beamer, Featurebase, Fider have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these changelog software vendors established?
Across 4 countries (Elsewhere 9, North America 2, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1):
Headway: United States.
ReleaseNotes.io: Not stated by the vendor.
Sleekplan: Not stated by the vendor.
Released: Australia.
Rapidr: Not stated by the vendor.
Noticeable: Not stated by the vendor.
Olvy: Not stated by the vendor.
Upvoty: Not stated by the vendor.
Beamer: Not stated by the vendor.
AnnounceKit: Not stated by the vendor.
LaunchNotes: United States.
Featurebase: Estonia.
Fider: Not stated by the vendor.
Which changelog tools are open source?
Fider.
Which changelog tools can you host yourself?
Fider. The other 12 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Headway?
Look at ReleaseNotes.io (made for Agencies or multi-product companies that want separate release pages per project) and Sleekplan (made for Solo founders who want announcements and feedback and can accept metered limits), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Headway?
Buyers who also want feedback boards in one tool. Branding removal and a custom domain only arrive with the paid Pro tier..
Vendors who think their changelog software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.