Digital painting software gives artists brushes, layers and canvas controls for making finished pictures on a tablet or computer.
This guide ranks twelve programs, starting with small independent vendors, then weighing set-up time, what the licence costs over time, how files leave the program, and whether the program fits the device and style of painting you actually do.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What digital painting software does
Digital painting software simulates paint, pencil and canvas on screen, with brush engines, layers and blending, so artists can make and export finished artwork from a pen tablet.
Ranking criteria for this digital painting tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Free app; Creative Cloud plans billed monthly are listed alongside
Yes
iPad or Windows users already inside Adobe's Creative Cloud
Mac users and buyers avoiding a larger vendor's subscription ecosystem
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Natural-media painting program from a New Zealand developer, bought once
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
ArtRage Vitae Desktop costs a single payment for Windows and macOS, and the vendor says no subscription fees follow. Lite is a cheaper desktop edition and the iOS edition is cheaper again.
What the site does not settle is Android pricing and what ArtRage 6 costs. Ambient Design calls itself a New Zealand company, which is the only ownership information given.
What stands out
One-time purchase
Desktop and iOS
New Zealand vendor
Where it costs you
Android and ArtRage 6 prices are not stated on the site.
The demo is named in the navigation without any terms.
Right for
Painters who want to pay once and keep the program without a renewal
Wrong for
Buyers who must test a trial with known terms first
New ZealandPublished one-time prices per edition; a demo is listed
Brush-focused painting program sold as a single perpetual licence
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The licence is shown at a reduced price against a struck-through higher one, sold once with lifetime updates. Platforms include Linux, which few painting programs list, and iPad.
The page describes local software with a GPU engine and mentions no cloud features, so file sharing between devices is something you would arrange yourself. A Try button leads to a trial page whose terms are not described.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Windows, macOS, iPad, Linux
GPU engine
Where it costs you
The price currency is not named on the page.
Only a developers team and an email are given, with no address.
Right for
Painters on Linux or iPad wanting a perpetual licence with updates included
Wrong for
Companies that need an imprint, address or invoicing entity
Not stated by the vendorPublished one-time licence with lifetime updates; trial button on the site
Volunteer-built raster painting program with a configurable brush engine
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The project page describes a raster painting and sketching application for Linux, macOS and Windows, built around a brush engine you can configure.
Volunteers and artists run it, and visitors are offered a donation option instead of a price list. That makes it cheap to try but leaves no vendor to hold accountable. The page does not state a licence or a country, so confirm both elsewhere.
What stands out
Brush engine
Linux, macOS, Windows
Community project
Where it costs you
No prices, company or support route are stated.
The page read describes desktop use only.
Right for
Desktop painters who value a configurable brush engine and a community project
Wrong for
Teams needing a supplier, a contract or phone and tablet apps
Not stated by the vendorNo prices shown; donation option offered
Desktop painting program sold in Rebelle 8 and Rebelle 8 Pro editions
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Two editions are offered, Rebelle 8 and Rebelle 8 Pro, each with an add-to-cart button. One-year update access renewals are mentioned, so owning the program and receiving new versions are separate things.
Demo files are Windows and Mac installers, which marks it as desktop software. The company line reads Escape Motions, s.r.o., and no country appears next to it.
What stands out
Rebelle 8 Pro
Windows and Mac installers
Update renewals
Where it costs you
Prices and renewal costs are not shown on the page read.
The emailed trial does not say which edition it covers.
Right for
Desktop painters who accept paying yearly for continued updates
Wrong for
Buyers who want to see prices before filling in a form
Not stated by the vendorAdd-to-cart purchase with prices not shown; yearly update renewals; emailed trial
Painting program with a private-use edition and a paid Plus edition
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Two editions exist: one for private use with limited functionality, and Plus with full functionality as a perpetual licence without subscription. The split decides things before price does, since private-use terms rule out client work.
Besware presents Artweaver as its best-known product among various programs, which tells you it is a small catalogue rather than a single-product shop, though the page gives no staff numbers.
What stands out
Private-use edition
Perpetual Plus
Besware
Where it costs you
Plus prices are missing from the page read.
The imprint was not included in the content read.
Right for
Hobby painters who can start on the private-use edition
Wrong for
Professionals who need the free edition for paid commissions
Not stated by the vendorFree edition for private use; Plus is a perpetual licence without subscription
Celsys painting and comic program on desktop, tablet and phone
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
The subscription runs on iPad, Android, Windows, macOS and iPhone, and the Japanese page adds a monthly asset pack and 10GB of cloud storage for subscribers.
One-time PRO and EX purchases are limited to Windows and macOS. A trial of up to six months is mentioned in the English FAQ. Celsys, Inc. is the operator, with a Shinjuku address in the footer.
What stands out
Subscription or purchase
Five platforms
Volume licences
Where it costs you
Japanese and English pages show prices in different currencies.
The one-time purchase covers Windows and macOS only.
Right for
Artists painting across desktop, iPad and phone on one subscription
Wrong for
Anyone who wants one-time buying on iPad or Android
JapanSubscription or one-time purchase; trial of up to six months per the FAQ
Touch-first painting apps for iPad and iPhone from Savage Interactive
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
The vendor site lists three apps, Procreate, Procreate Pocket and Procreate Dreams, and sends every buy link to the Apple App Store, so Apple sets the checkout.
Savage Interactive Pty Ltd holds the trademarks and the footer says Made in Australia. The page does not state data location, offline use or any plan structure, which makes it a choice you must confirm in the store listing.
What stands out
iPad and iPhone
Procreate Dreams
App Store sale
Where it costs you
No prices are on the vendor page.
It is limited to iPad and iPhone apps.
Right for
Painters who already own an iPad or iPhone and want a touch-first app
Wrong for
Anyone working on Windows, Linux or a Mac
AustraliaSold through the Apple App Store; no prices on the vendor page
GPLv3 drawing program with desktop, Android and browser versions
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The site shows desktop apps for Windows, macOS, Linux and Android and a button that launches a web version. Licensing is stated plainly as GPLv3, and the copyright line credits Drawpile Contributors for 2014 to 2026.
Servers can be run by server owners, which tells you hosting is not tied to one vendor. There are no plans, only a donate link.
What stands out
GPLv3
Browser version
Server owners
Where it costs you
The page read does not describe brush or layer features.
No company, owner or country is named.
Right for
Groups who want a GPLv3 program and may run their own server
Wrong for
Solo painters who need a documented brush and layer set
Not stated by the vendorFree, open source under GPLv3; donate link, no plans
Infinite-canvas sketchbook app with a basic tier and a Pro upgrade
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The basic tier allows five layers, unlimited drawings and basic JPG export. Pro costs a monthly or yearly subscription, or one-time Essentials purchases of about two to forty each that work only on the platform where you bought them.
Teams is billed per licence and Enterprise by contacting the vendor. A seven-day Pro trial runs through the app stores, and qualifying schools can receive licences at no charge.
What stands out
Infinite Sketchbook
Pro and Teams
School licences
Where it costs you
Prices vary by region and the currency is not stated.
The cross-platform version is marked coming soon.
Right for
Sketchers who want a no-cost start on an infinite canvas
Wrong for
Painters who need unlimited layers and print-quality export from day one
Not stated by the vendorFree basic tier; Pro by subscription or per-feature purchase; Teams per licence
Corel's Painter family with Essentials, ParticleShop and brush packs
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page names Painter, Painter Essentials, ParticleShop and brush packs, and offers a get-a-quote option for business and education licences. A trial download exists. The linked file is a Windows executable for a locally installed program. Corel Corporation appears in the copyright line, but no country is given and nothing else about ownership is stated.
What stands out
Windows download
Brush packs
Trial download
Where it costs you
No prices are shown on the page read.
Only a Windows executable is linked.
Right for
Windows users who want to try Painter before asking for a business quote
Wrong for
Mac or tablet users and buyers who need published prices
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown on the page; trial download; business and education quotes
Sketchbook Pro for desktop and Sketchbook for Android and iOS
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Two products are listed: Sketchbook Pro for macOS and Windows, and Sketchbook for Android and iOS. Desktop downloads go through the Mac App Store and the Microsoft Store.
The copyright line names Sketchbook, Inc. for 2021 to 2026, while store links include autodesk-sketchbook. The page gives no prices, country or parent company, so ownership has to be checked in the listings.
What stands out
Sketchbook Pro
Mobile edition
Store downloads
Where it costs you
No prices are shown for either product.
The relationship to Autodesk is not explained on the page.
Right for
Users who want a desktop or mobile sketching app from store listings
Wrong for
Buyers who need clear ownership and pricing before purchase
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown; store listings for each product
Adobe's painting and drawing app, offered at no charge
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The page calls Fresco free for all and lists it for iPadOS, iOS and Windows, with changes syncing across devices. Next to it sit Creative Cloud plans with monthly prices, including a business plan per licence and a lower student and teacher price.
Because the page gives no feature split, treat the app as free to try and confirm any paid extras before relying on it.
What stands out
iPadOS, iOS, Windows
Cross-device sync
Creative Cloud plans
Where it costs you
The page does not say which features need a paid plan.
No macOS version is listed.
Right for
iPad or Windows users already inside Adobe's Creative Cloud
Wrong for
Mac users and buyers avoiding a larger vendor's subscription ecosystem
Not stated by the vendorFree app; Creative Cloud plans billed monthly are listed alongside
Digital painting software simulates paint, pencil and canvas on screen, with brush engines, layers and blending, so artists can make and export finished artwork from a pen tablet. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 6 published against 6 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with ArtRage, Paintstorm Studio, Artweaver, Drawpile, Concepts, Adobe Fresco.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 9, Asia-Pacific 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Drawpile. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Digital painting software: buy once or rent
The first split in this market is the billing model. ArtRage Vitae Desktop and Paintstorm Studio are sold once, ArtRage with a stated absence of recurring fees and Paintstorm with lifetime updates. Artweaver Plus is a perpetual licence too, but its free edition is for private use only. Clip Studio Paint offers both routes, and the one-time version covers Windows and macOS only, not tablets.
Rebelle sits between the two, since the program is bought but one-year update access is renewed. Count what you will pay over three years on the platform you actually use, and read the renewal line before the purchase button. Adobe Fresco is a different case, because the app itself is described as free while Creative Cloud plans are priced monthly beside it.
Work out the three-year cost on your own device
Ask whether updates are included or renewed
Check what a one-time purchase excludes, such as tablets
Which tablet or computer the painting program runs on
Platform decides more than brushes. Procreate exists only as iPad and iPhone apps, so a Windows studio cannot use it. Clip Studio Paint runs on five platforms under its subscription. Rebelle and Corel Painter list desktop installers, and the Painter page links only a Windows file. Adobe Fresco covers iPadOS, iOS and Windows, Paintstorm Studio adds Linux, and MyPaint serves Linux, macOS and Windows.
Drawpile also runs in a browser. If you paint on a pen display attached to a Mac or a Linux box, the shortlist shrinks fast, so write down the device first and compare features second. Concepts and Autodesk Sketchbook also list several platforms, but check the exact edition per device.
List every device you paint on
Match the program to that platform before comparing brushes
Confirm sync or file transfer between devices
Trials and demos for painting software
A painting program is felt in the hand, so a trial matters more here than a feature list. Clip Studio Paint mentions a trial of up to six months on its English FAQ. Rebelle sends its trial by email after a form and does not name the edition. Corel Painter offers a trial download, Paintstorm Studio has a Try button, and ArtRage lists a demo with no terms given.
Concepts offers a seven-day Pro trial through the stores. Treat unclear terms as a reason to ask before you paint your first project in the trial, because files made in a limited edition may not open in the full one. A shorter trial is not a worse sign, but an open-ended one deserves a question.
Note the trial length before installing
Ask which edition the trial covers
Test with your own tablet and pen, not mouse strokes
Who stands behind a digital painting program
Painters build years of files in one program, so ownership matters. Celsys, Inc. names a Tokyo address for Clip Studio Paint, and Savage Interactive Pty Ltd states Australia for Procreate. Others say less. Paintstorm Studio credits a developers team with an email, MyPaint is run by volunteers, and Drawpile credits its contributors. Autodesk Sketchbook shows Sketchbook, Inc.
while its store links mention Autodesk. Escape Motions, s.r.o. appears for Rebelle without a country. Silence on the page is not a defect, but it means you should ask who answers a support mail before you depend on the program for client work. A volunteer project can be an honest choice for a hobbyist, as long as the files stay portable.
Find the legal entity in the footer
Ask who answers support questions
Keep exports in open formats such as PNG in case the program stops
What goes wrong most often when buying digital painting software
Buying a sketching app such as Concepts or Autodesk Sketchbook when the job is full painting with a brush engine.
Choosing Procreate on the strength of its reputation and discovering later that the team works on Windows.
Assuming the Artweaver free edition covers client work, when the vendor limits it to private use.
Forgetting that Rebelle updates and Clip Studio Paint plans may renew, so the first price is not the yearly cost.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best digital painting software in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts ArtRage first. Ambient Design describes itself as a New Zealand software company. ArtRage Vitae Desktop for Windows and macOS is a one-time purchase and the site says there are no recurring fees.
Lite and an iOS edition cost less. The Android price and the ArtRage 6 price are not stated, and the demo link comes without terms, so you cannot size a trial before buying.
Which digital painting tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
ArtRage: Published one-time prices per edition; a demo is listed.
Paintstorm Studio: Published one-time licence with lifetime updates; trial button on the site.
Artweaver: Free edition for private use; Plus is a perpetual licence without subscription.
Drawpile: Free, open source under GPLv3; donate link, no plans.
Concepts: Free basic tier; Pro by subscription or per-feature purchase; Teams per licence.
Artweaver, Drawpile, Concepts, Adobe Fresco offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these digital painting software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 4 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 9, Asia-Pacific 3:
ArtRage: New Zealand.
Paintstorm Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
MyPaint: Not stated by the vendor.
Rebelle: Not stated by the vendor.
Artweaver: Not stated by the vendor.
Clip Studio Paint: Japan.
Procreate: Australia.
Drawpile: Not stated by the vendor.
Concepts: Not stated by the vendor.
Corel Painter: Not stated by the vendor.
Autodesk Sketchbook: Not stated by the vendor.
Adobe Fresco: Not stated by the vendor.
Which digital painting tools are open source?
Drawpile.
What should you use instead of ArtRage?
Paintstorm Studio and MyPaint are the next two on this page. Paintstorm Studio is for Painters on Linux or iPad wanting a perpetual licence with updates included; MyPaint is for Desktop painters who value a configurable brush engine and a community project.
Who should not buy ArtRage?
Buyers who must test a trial with known terms first. Android and ArtRage 6 prices are not stated on the site..
Do you make a digital painting software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.