Clip Studio Paint alternatives: 11 digital painting tools compared
Clip Studio Paint is made by Celsys, Inc. of Tokyo and sells to illustrators, comic artists and animators on Windows, macOS, iPad, iPhone and Android. Artists look elsewhere when a subscription feels like rent on their own drawings, when feature updates on a one-time licence need a separate yearly pass, or when comics and animation tools are more than they paint with. Others want software from a vendor that publishes prices and a country. Painters usually move to a one-off licence, a free open source painter or an iPad-only app.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to Clip Studio Paint in our digital painting software ranking are Rebelle, Paintstorm Studio and ArtRage. Our rule for order: vendors outside the big brands go first, and the largest names are not placed in the top three. Choose Rebelle if you paint in a traditional-media style and can live without comic tools. The 11 entries that follow are all ranked in Best Digital Painting Software in 2026; each one explains what sets it apart from Clip Studio Paint.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
Pricing: Subscription or one-time purchase; trial of up to six months per the FAQ
Established in: Japan
Built for: Artists painting across desktop, iPad and phone on one subscription
Not for: Anyone who wants one-time buying on iPad or Android
01
Why buyers look past Clip Studio Paint
01
Four ways to pay, one unclear total
Celsys lists a monthly or annual subscription from US$0.99 a month, a perpetual Ver. 5.0 licence for Windows and macOS only, a 12-month licence marked temporarily unavailable, and an annual Update Pass for feature updates after Ver. 5.0. The pricing page we read showed placeholder values for the perpetual and Update Pass prices, so the full cost of staying current cannot be added up there.
02
Comic and animation tools sit in EX
PRO is aimed at illustration and concept art, while EX adds the comic and animation tools, with simple animation limited to 24 frames. A painter who wants brushes and layers only pays for panel frames, speech balloons, screen tones and onion skin that never get used, and moving from PRO to EX is a further paid upgrade for perpetual holders.
03
Perpetual means Windows and macOS only
Phones and tablets run on subscription or a 12-month licence, so an artist with a one-time Windows licence cannot carry that purchase to an iPad. Volume licences allow two devices per user and start at five seats with no price shown. Cloud storage is 10 GB on plans and perpetual licences, with paid expansion beyond that.
you want a simple sketching app on both desktop and phone and accept store-based purchasing
#11
03
What each one does differently
1
Rebelle
Not stated by the vendor · See profile
Rebelle 8 and Rebelle 8 Pro come from Escape Motions, s.r.o., and are bought through add-to-cart buttons on the vendor site, with one-year update access that renews. Demo installers exist for Windows and Mac, and the trial arrives by email after a form. Prices were not shown on the page we read, so budget only after you have seen a quote at checkout.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you paint in a traditional-media style and can live without comic tools.
Paintstorm Studio sells a single perpetual licence with lifetime updates, covering Windows, macOS, iPad and Linux, and describes itself as local software running a GPU engine. A trial button sits on the site. The footer credits a developers team with an email and no postal address, and the price currency was not given on the page we read.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you want to buy once, with free updates for life, and mostly paint rather than draw comics.
ArtRage Vitae Desktop for Windows and macOS is a one-time purchase from Ambient Design, a New Zealand company, and the site says there are no recurring fees. Lite and an iOS edition cost less. The Android price and the ArtRage 6 price are not stated, and the demo link carries no terms, so trial length is unknown.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you want natural-media oils and no subscription from a small, named company.
Krita is a free and open source painter for Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, downloadable at no cost from its own site. Paid copies appear only in the Microsoft Store, Mac App Store, Steam and Epic Games Store as a way to support development. It does not run on iPadOS or iOS, so tablet users on Apple hardware need something else.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you want a free desktop painter and do not draw on an iPad.
Artweaver is made by Besware, which calls it its best-known product. The free edition is for private use only and has limited functions, while the paid Plus edition is a perpetual licence without subscription. The Plus price was not on the page we read. Work for clients falls outside the private-use limit, so paid use needs Plus.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you paint as a hobby and want a free starter before deciding whether to buy.
MyPaint is a desktop raster sketching and painting application with a configurable brush engine for Linux, macOS and Windows, built by volunteer developers and artists according to its site. The page shows no prices, only a donation option. It names no company, support route or mobile app, so a studio needing a supplier to contract with has nobody to call.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you want a brush-focused sketching tool with a configurable engine and zero licence cost.
Concepts is published by TopHatch, Inc. and gives its Infinite Sketchbook away with five layers, unlimited drawings and basic JPG export. Pro is a monthly or yearly subscription, or one-time purchases tied to the store where you bought them, with prices varying by region. The site speaks of layers and export rather than painting brushes, and the cross-platform version is marked coming soon.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if your work is ideation and sketching on a large canvas rather than finished comic pages.
Drawpile describes itself as free and open source software under GPLv3, with desktop apps for Windows, macOS, Linux and Android and a browser version. Server owners can run their own servers, which makes it a tool for drawing together on one canvas. The page we read says little about brushes or layers and names no company, owner or country.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you draw with other people on one canvas and want software you can inspect.
Procreate comes from Savage Interactive Pty Ltd, whose footer says Made in Australia. The listed products are Procreate, Procreate Pocket and Procreate Dreams, all apps for iPad and iPhone, with buy links going to the Apple App Store. No prices appear on the vendor page, there is no desktop route, and nothing says where files are stored or whether offline use works.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you draw only on an iPad or iPhone and want an app rather than a desktop suite.
Corel Corporation distributes Painter as a Windows download alongside Painter Essentials, ParticleShop and brush packs, with a trial download and a get-a-quote option for business and education. No prices are shown and no free plan is named. The page states no country, and the only file linked is a Windows executable, so Mac and tablet support remain unconfirmed.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you work on Windows and want a painting-first program with a trial download.
Sketchbook, Inc. lists Sketchbook Pro for macOS and Windows through the Mac App Store and Microsoft Store, and Sketchbook for Android and iOS through their stores. No prices are shown and no country or parent company is stated. Store links carry autodesk-sketchbook in the address and the page does not explain why, so ownership of the product should be confirmed first.
Switch from Clip Studio Paint if you want a simple sketching app on both desktop and phone and accept store-based purchasing.
Paintstorm Studio: One perpetual licence with lifetime updates covers Windows, macOS, iPad and Linux; a trial button is on the site.
02
You paint in watercolour and oil styles on a desktop
Rebelle: Rebelle 8 and 8 Pro come with demo installers for Windows and Mac, and the trial arrives by email.
03
You want a free painter and work on Windows, Mac, Linux or Android
Krita: The download is free from the Krita site; paid copies in stores only support development, and iPadOS is not supported.
04
You draw on an iPad or iPhone and nothing else
Procreate: Procreate, Pocket and Dreams are apps for iPad and iPhone sold through the Apple App Store, with no desktop version.
05
You want a free tool that you can test for private drawing
Artweaver: The private-use edition is free with limited functions; Plus is a perpetual licence for paid work.
04
When Clip Studio Paint is still the right choice
Clip Studio Paint stays the sensible choice for comic and manga work. Its page lists panel frames, speech balloons, screen tones, multi-page projects, vector line art, 3D figure models, rulers and onion-skin animation, on every major platform including Chromebook. The FAQ offers a free trial of up to six months and a subscription from US$0.99 a month, so cost of entry is low. Painters who just want brushes may pay for more than they need, but comic artists will struggle to match this set elsewhere in the category.
05
What moving off Clip Studio Paint involves
01
Layered files and brushes travel unevenly
Export finished work as PSD or flattened PNG before cancelling, and test one complex file with layer groups, vector layers and tone layers in the new program. Custom brushes and materials from Clip Studio Assets are tied to the app, so list the ones you rely on and look for equivalents.
02
Keep access until the work is archived
A subscription ends the right to use the app, while a perpetual Ver. 5.0 licence keeps working without the Update Pass. Open each long project, such as a multi-page comic, and save a copy in an open format before you stop paying, because the native format needs Celsys software to edit.
06
Questions about replacing Clip Studio Paint
6 answers
What does Clip Studio Paint cost?
Celsys quotes a subscription from US$0.99 a month, with three months free for first-time subscribers on the pricing page, and a one-time purchase from US$63.00 on its English FAQ page.
The perpetual PRO and EX prices were shown only as placeholders on the pricing page we read, so confirm the figure at checkout.
Is there a free trial of Clip Studio Paint?
The English FAQ says you can try it free for up to six months, and the pricing page mentions three free months on the subscription. The two pages describe the offer differently, so read the terms on the screen where you start the trial.
Can I buy Clip Studio Paint once and keep it?
Yes on Windows and macOS: the perpetual Ver. 5.0 licence lets you use that version indefinitely. Feature updates after Ver. 5.0 need the Update Pass, a yearly renewing payment. iPad, iPhone and Android are not covered by the one-time purchase.
Is there a free alternative for digital painting?
Krita is free to download for Windows, macOS, Linux and Android. Artweaver has a free edition limited to private use, and MyPaint and Drawpile are free as well.
Concepts has a free basic tier with five layers. Check each licence against how you earn money from the work.
Which alternative runs on an iPad?
Procreate is an iPad and iPhone app sold through the Apple App Store. Paintstorm Studio lists iPad among its platforms, and Concepts is also available on tablets. Krita does not support iPadOS or iOS.
Do the alternatives have comic tools?
Our category records for the alternatives talk about brushes, layers and sketching rather than panel frames or screen tones. None of the pages we read describes comic tools as clearly as Celsys does, so test a sample page before moving a comic project.
—
Sources
Checked 7 November 2026
Clip Studio Paint purchase page: Subscription from US$0.99 a month, three free months, perpetual Ver. 5.0 for Windows and macOS, 12-month licence, Update Pass, 24-frame simple animation, 10 GB cloud storage, two devices per user on volume licences.
Clip Studio Paint FAQ: Platforms, trial of up to six months, one-time purchase from US$63.00, PRO and EX editions, comic and animation tools.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Written, edited and fact-checked by Sebastiaan Smits. Last reviewed 7 November 2026. How we review.