Music distribution services deliver an artist's recordings to streaming and download stores, collect the royalties and pay them out.
Pricing falls into one-time fees per release, yearly plans and revenue-share models, and the differences show up when you stop paying or earn well. This guide ranks eleven services on setup effort, real price, exit terms and independence.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What music distribution services software does
Music distribution services deliver recordings and metadata to streaming and download stores, collect the royalties, and pay them to the artist for a fee, subscription or share.
Every music distribution services tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Glasgow distributor with permanent pay-per-release and an optional unlimited plan
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
EmuBands splits its offer in two. Pay-per-release customers pay a flat fee for a single or a bundle and the release stays up without renewal, while Premium suits anyone issuing music every month.
Support packages add features on top: Basic costs nothing, Plus allows up to five artists, Pro six or more. Premium covers five artists, with extra ones billed separately. Because features hang on the package rather than the release, price the package you need, not the headline fee.
What stands out
Pay per release
Premium unlimited
100% royalty rate
Where it costs you
Charts registration, custom label name and pre-save links need a paid Plus support package or higher
Playlist pitching, royalty payment splitting and live chat sit in the Pro and Premium packages only
Right for
Artists releasing a few singles a year who prefer paying once per release
Wrong for
Labels that need many artist profiles on the cheapest level
United KingdomPublished: one-time fee per release, or annual Premium for unlimited releases
Swiss distributor, Zurich and Berlin offices, with commission-free higher tiers
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The commission line is the number to watch at iMusician. Starter looks cheap per release, yet it keeps a tenth of income for as long as the music earns, while Rockstar removes that share, with the per-release amounts shown on its pricing page.
The subscription route changes the arithmetic again: AMPLIFY lists unlimited releases for one artist, AMPLIFY+ allows two to twenty artists and adds revenue splits. A catalogue of two or three releases usually favours per-release payment; a monthly release habit favours the yearly plans.
What stands out
Swiss company
0% commission tier
YouTube Content ID
Where it costs you
Starter takes 10% commission, so a successful release gets more expensive over time
Content ID and playlist pitching appear under Rockstar, not under Starter
Right for
Artists who want commission-free releases from a Swiss-registered distributor
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a single flat yearly fee for several artists
SwitzerlandPer-release plans and yearly subscriptions; commission 10% on Starter, none on Rockstar
Stockholm distributor billing every release as its own annual subscription
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Record Union keeps its platform list short and says it holds direct deals with the services it delivers to, with no third-party middleman. Core is aimed at solo creators and charges per release, while Pro adds workspace collaboration, automatic splits and payouts, team permissions and catalogue insights for teams.
Before comparing totals, remember that the yearly charge repeats per release, and the 92.5% take-home rate belongs to a separate Royalty Increase option, not to the base plan.
What stands out
Per-release subscriptions
20+ platforms
Direct store deals
Where it costs you
Every release renews on its own annual subscription, so a large catalogue means many renewals
The store list names 20+ platforms, against 150+ at several competitors
Right for
Artists who want direct deals with the main stores and a short, tidy store list
Wrong for
Artists needing niche stores outside the main streaming services
SwedenPublished: each release billed yearly, plus a Pro plan; nothing due before first release
Liverpool distributor with three yearly plans and 100% streaming royalties
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Ditto keeps the entry plan simple and puts its extra revenue streams in the second tier. Starter delivers music, pre-save links, analytics, auto-split royalties and playlist submissions; Pro is where Content ID, publishing collection, sync pitching, exact release times and priority support begin.
The comparison table on its pricing page lists rivals on features and royalty commission, which is marketing, so test the claims on a trial. Labels pricing scales with the number of artists chosen from a slider.
What stands out
Yearly plans
100% streaming royalties
Publishing add-on
Where it costs you
Publishing and sync royalties carry a 15% commission even though streaming royalties do not
All plans are billed annually, with no monthly option
Right for
Artists wanting a UK-based distributor with publishing and sync tools in one account
Wrong for
Releasers who want to pay per single instead of yearly
United KingdomPublished: Starter, Pro and Labels plans, all billed annually
Stockholm distributor selling yearly plans by artist profile, with royalty advances
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Amuse differs from its rivals on what happens after you stop paying. The catalogue is not removed, but the commission jumps to 25%, so leaving is cheaper than staying only for a quiet catalogue.
Delivery is described as typically within 24 hours on every plan, and the price rises with the number of artist profiles: one, two, or three and more. Optional extras are priced per item, such as music video distribution per video per year and mastering per file.
What stands out
120+ stores
Royalty advances
Annual billing
Where it costs you
A 25% royalty commission is charged on music kept live without an active subscription
Store Sync, which delivers to new stores automatically, costs extra on the lowest plan
Right for
Artists who want fast delivery and may use royalty advances
Wrong for
Anyone planning to stop paying and keep full earnings
SwedenPublished: annual plans sized by artist profiles; an account costs nothing to open
Montreal mastering company whose distribution keeps music live after cancelling
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
LANDR makes sense when mastering is already part of the workflow, because the same login covers online mastering and release. The distribution page lists a release wizard, royalty splits, trend metrics, Spotify for Artists access, promo links and cover song licensing, with the human support team handling catalogue migration.
What it does not make clear is the full tier ladder, so open the pricing page before assuming the lowest price covers your artist count.
What stands out
Montreal-based
Stays live if cancelled
Mastering bundle
Where it costs you
Distribution is one product among mastering, plugins, samples and courses, so the site is not distribution-first
The page quotes 'as low as' pricing, which hides what higher tiers cost
Right for
Producers who master and release in the same account
Wrong for
Labels wanting dedicated catalogue management for many artists
CanadaPublished yearly subscription from a stated entry price
Portland distributor charging once per release and keeping 9% of revenue
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
CD Baby is the clearest one-time payment model among the larger services. The fee per single or album is stated on its cost page, and the music is not tied to renewals.
The trade-off is that commission, not the upfront fee, becomes the real price for a successful release. It also lists physical distribution, CD and vinyl manufacturing and cover song licensing, which matters for artists who sell at shows.
What stands out
One-time fee
9% commission
Physical distribution
Where it costs you
Sync licensing and publishing collection are not in the base fee and need the CDB Boost add-on
The 9% share is taken for as long as the release earns, which can outgrow a flat yearly fee
Right for
Artists with a growing back catalogue who dislike renewals
Wrong for
Releasers expecting one bundled price including every promotion tool
United StatesPublished: one-time fee per single or album, no annual fees, 9% commission
Per-track fee plus a 15% revenue share, with no subscription
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Soundrop reverses the usual subscription logic: nothing recurs, so the money moves only when songs earn. Its distinguishing feature is cover-song licensing inside the same fee, plus collaborator splits with real people on support.
Run the arithmetic for your catalogue: the per-song fee is $4.99, which means a twelve-track album costs $59.88 upfront before the 15% share. A handful of singles, by contrast, may cost less than a year of any subscription.
What stands out
Per-track fee
15% revenue share
Cover licensing included
Where it costs you
The fee is charged per song, so a twelve-track album costs twelve times the single-track fee
A 15% revenue share is above the 9% stated by CD Baby and the 10% on iMusician's Starter plan
Right for
Cover artists who need licensing handled inside the distribution fee
Wrong for
Producers releasing long albums or large back catalogues
Not stated by the vendorPublished: fee per song plus 15% of earnings; no recurring charges
New York distributor with low yearly plans sized by number of artists
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
DistroKid's sales line is volume: unlimited uploads and songs on every plan, at a yearly fee that rises when you add artists. Musician covers one artist, Musician Plus two and Ultimate one to a hundred, which puts label-style use in the top tier.
Mobile app access and royalty splits come with every plan, while daily streaming stats, pre-order dates and custom pricing start at Musician Plus. Compare yearly fees across your artist count before choosing.
What stands out
Yearly plans
Unlimited uploads
Royalty splits
Where it costs you
Custom label name, release dates and iTunes pricing are not in the cheapest plan
The distribution agreement allows DistroKid to end the term if your card is declined
Right for
Prolific solo artists who release often and want low yearly cost
Wrong for
Teams needing one plan across several artists without upgrading
United StatesPublished: three annual plans by artist count; keep 100% of earnings
US distributor with three unlimited plans and a pay-per-release alternative
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
TuneCore gives the buyer two routes. The Rising, Breakout and Professional plans charge per year for unlimited releases; the pay-per-release route charges per single or album, with an album's second-year renewal higher than its first.
Higher plans add multi-artist management, custom label name, a TuneCore Direct advance and faster support. The social-platform fee is the item most buyers miss, so read it before assuming the plan fee is the whole price.
What stands out
Unlimited plans
Pay per release
20% social fee
Where it costs you
A 20% fee applies to money earned on social and video platforms
Support response time is three business days on the entry plan, against one on Professional
Right for
Artists who want distribution plus publishing and advance options from one vendor
Wrong for
Buyers who want a flat price with no renewal step-ups
United StatesPublished: Rising, Breakout and Professional yearly plans, or pay per release
Brooklyn platform pairing distribution with sync and brand partnership offers
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Music Distribution Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
UnitedMasters sells more than delivery. The company says it has an in-house sync team and an advertising agency placing artists in brand campaigns, and that its releases reach stores within 48 hours.
Those features sit in SELECT, which the page marks as most popular, while DEBUT+ is the basic route. Because the plans page lists no amounts, ask for the SELECT price in writing and what happens on cancellation before relying on the sync pitch.
What stands out
Sync opportunities
Invite-only tier
150+ stores
Where it costs you
The plans page shows no amounts, so the real price is hidden until sign-up
Sync opportunities and real-time payments are limited to SELECT, and PARTNER is by invitation only
Right for
Artists aiming at brand and sync placements, not just streaming delivery
Wrong for
Releasers wanting a transparent price before registering an account
United StatesTiered plans (DEBUT+, SELECT, invite-only PARTNER); no amounts on the plans page
How to choose music distribution services software
Music distribution services deliver recordings and metadata to streaming and download stores, collect the royalties, and pay them to the artist for a fee, subscription or share. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 9 published against 2 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with EmuBands, Record Union, Ditto Music, Amuse, LANDR, CD Baby, Soundrop, DistroKid, TuneCore.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
3 regions are represented (North America 5, Europe 5, Elsewhere 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Music distribution services: one-time fee, yearly fee or revenue share
Distributors charge in three different ways, and the headline numbers rarely compare. CD Baby and EmuBands sell a one-time payment per release. DistroKid, Ditto Music and LANDR bill yearly by plan. Soundrop charges a fee per song and keeps a share of earnings, while iMusician offers a commission tier next to a commission-free one.
A solo artist with two singles may pay least on a per-release model, whereas a producer releasing monthly usually pays least on a yearly plan with unlimited uploads, so the model should follow the release rhythm. Work out your next three years of releases, count the artists, and price each model against that plan, including any commission taken from the money the catalogue earns once streams start to build.
Count planned releases and artist profiles for the next three years
Price each model for that catalogue, not for one single
Note every commission percentage in the terms
What happens to your releases when you stop paying
The exit rule matters more than the entry price, and vendors differ. LANDR states that music stays live after cancelling, and EmuBands keeps pay-per-release music online permanently. Amuse also keeps music live after a downgrade, yet charges a 25% royalty commission while no subscription is active.
Record Union bills each release as its own yearly subscription, so a catalogue renews piece by piece. DistroKid's agreement lets the company end the term when a card charge fails. Ask each candidate what happens to stores, streams, playlists and royalty payments on non-payment, and whether you can move the release to another distributor with the same ISRCs and UPC.
Read the non-payment clause before the first release
Ask whether ISRC and UPC codes transfer to a new distributor
Check whether a lapsed account earns royalties at a different rate
Store count, delivery speed and what higher tiers add
Most services quote 120 to 150-plus stores, but Record Union names only 20-plus, so the number is worth checking against the stores your own audience actually uses. Amuse says delivery typically takes 24 hours or less, and UnitedMasters says 48 hours.
Ditto Music puts Content ID and publishing in Pro, DistroKid keeps custom label name and release dates for Musician Plus, and TuneCore adds faster support and multi-artist management at the top. A tier that adds tools you never use is waste, but a missing tool can cost more later, when you must upgrade mid-year. Match the tier to a feature you will use in the first year, not to a feature list.
Check the store list for the platforms your listeners use
List the three tier features you will actually use
Ask which stores sit behind extra fees
Payout rhythm, splits and the extras that change the price
Payout timing differs: CD Baby says payments are weekly, EmuBands states daily royalty payouts, and Record Union pays monthly. Splits matter if you work with other writers, and DistroKid, Ditto Music and Soundrop each list collaborator or automatic split features.
Extras change the bill: TuneCore charges a 20% fee on social platform earnings, CD Baby's sync and publishing sit behind CDB Boost, and Amuse charges per release for automatic delivery to new stores on its entry plan. Add the extras you expect to use to the base price and compare the totals, not the base fee alone, since extras decide which service is cheaper.
Ask how often and by which method royalties are paid
Test the royalty split tool with one collaborator
Add expected extras to the base price before comparing
What goes wrong most often when buying music distribution services software
Choosing a yearly plan for a catalogue of two singles, when a one-time per-release fee would cost less over three years.
Comparing a flat fee with a commission model without calculating what a successful release would earn the distributor.
Assuming music stays live after cancelling, when some vendors charge extra commission or remove releases when payments fail.
Ignoring fees on social and video platform earnings, which some services take on top of the plan price.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best music distribution services in 2026?
EmuBands takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. EmuBands Ltd is registered in Scotland with its office in Glasgow. Buyers choose between a one-time fee per release, which keeps the music online permanently, and an annual Premium plan covering unlimited releases.
Every level states a 100% royalty rate and daily payouts. The cheapest support level is limited, though: charts registration, custom label names and pre-save links start at Plus, and playlist pitching waits until Pro.
Which music distribution services tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
EmuBands: Published: one-time fee per release, or annual Premium for unlimited releases.
Record Union: Published: each release billed yearly, plus a Pro plan; nothing due before first release.
Ditto Music: Published: Starter, Pro and Labels plans, all billed annually.
Amuse: Published: annual plans sized by artist profiles; an account costs nothing to open.
LANDR: Published yearly subscription from a stated entry price.
CD Baby: Published: one-time fee per single or album, no annual fees, 9% commission.
Soundrop: Published: fee per song plus 15% of earnings; no recurring charges.
DistroKid: Published: three annual plans by artist count; keep 100% of earnings.
TuneCore: Published: Rising, Breakout and Professional yearly plans, or pay per release.
2 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free music distribution services tool?
Not among the products reviewed here: no vendor on this list has a free tier worth using.
Where are these music distribution services vendors established?
Across 6 countries (North America 5, Europe 5, Elsewhere 1):
EmuBands: United Kingdom.
iMusician: Switzerland.
Record Union: Sweden.
Ditto Music: United Kingdom.
Amuse: Sweden.
LANDR: Canada.
CD Baby: United States.
Soundrop: Not stated by the vendor.
DistroKid: United States.
TuneCore: United States.
UnitedMasters: United States.
What should you use instead of EmuBands?
The next in line are iMusician, aimed at Artists who want commission-free releases from a Swiss-registered distributor, and Record Union, aimed at Artists who want direct deals with the main stores and a short, tidy store list.
Who should not buy EmuBands?
Labels that need many artist profiles on the cheapest level. Charts registration, custom label name and pre-save links need a paid Plus support package or higher.
If your music distribution services product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.