Best Background Remover Tools in 2026

Background remover tools separate a subject from its backdrop and return a transparent or white-background image, from free web tools to credit-priced APIs.

Prices are mostly counted per image, and the free versions hide limits on size and sign-up. This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, real price per full-resolution image, exit and independence.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What background remover tools software does

Background remover tools use image models to isolate the main subject of a photo and delete the surroundings, returning a transparent PNG, a flat colour or a replacement scene.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Every background remover tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.

11tools reviewed
10publish a price
5have a free tier
7countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1SlazzerIndiaCredits published, monthly subscription or top-up packs; free plan with 2 creditsYesSmall shops buying cutouts by the credit and wanting a tested API routeTeams needing an unlimited flat fee with no credit counting
#2Removal.AINot stated by the vendorCredits published as monthly subscription or lifetime pack; unlimited API quoted—Irregular users who want credits that stay valid for years, not monthsBuyers who must name the contracting company before purchase
#3Erase.bgIndiaCredit packs published, one-off payment; 3 free credits; enterprise quoted—Occasional sellers wanting small prepaid packs with no recurring feeAnyone needing a free trial without registering
#4Cutout.ProHong KongCredit-based plans, amounts not visible in our fetch; API pricing separate—Users who also need video cutouts, upscaling or object removal beside photosBuyers who want one tool and a price list on the page
#5PhotoroomFrancePaid plans billed yearly, published; free trial on two; enterprise quoted—Catalogue teams turning cutouts into finished listing photos on a monthly planCasual users who want a single cutout without a subscription
#6Remove.bgAustriaCredit plans in the account; API gives free calls each month; amounts not on page—Developers and photographers who want a mature API and plugins in Photoshop and FigmaBuyers who want to avoid a Canva-owned supplier
#7ClipdropNot stated by the vendorFree tier with daily limits; Pro plan with trial; API usage-basedYesDesigners who want removal next to relighting, upscaling and cleanup in one placeTeams needing an independent supplier with a stated country
#8PixlrSingaporeFree tier; Plus, Premium and Ultra plans monthly or yearly, publishedYesCasual editors who want a free cutout and then keep editing in the browserOperations that need an SLA or contract for automated cutouts
#9FotorNot stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max billed annuallyYesIndividuals cutting out batches of up to fifty photos without registeringProcurement teams that need a named vendor jurisdiction
#10PicsartUnited StatesPlans billed monthly or yearly, published; a free remover page—Social creators who want cutouts, stock and templates under one subscriptionStores processing thousands of images through an API
#11KapwingUnited StatesFree plan with watermark; Pro and Business per user, publishedYesSocial teams cutting subjects out of clips and thumbnails inside one editorMerchants preparing large catalogues of still product photos

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Slazzer · 2. Removal.AI · 3. Erase.bg · 4. Cutout.Pro · 5. Photoroom · 6. Remove.bg · 7. Clipdrop · 8. Pixlr · 9. Fotor · 10. Picsart · 11. Kapwing

#1 Slazzer

Credit-priced cutout service with free web previews and an API

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific

Slazzer separates preview from download. On the website, previews up to 0.25 megapixels cost nothing, but the API charges one fifth of a credit for them and a full image costs one.

Credits come as monthly tiers, with unused ones rolling over while subscribed, or as top-up packs usable for two years. Enterprise quotes cover over 100,000 images a year, extra API keys and a named account manager.

What stands out
  • Credit tiers
  • Free previews
  • Photoshop extension
Where it costs you
  • Web uploads stop at ten images at once, so bulk jobs need the desktop app.
  • The 100-credit subscription tier is for non-commercial use only.
Right for

Small shops buying cutouts by the credit and wanting a tested API route

Wrong for

Teams needing an unlimited flat fee with no credit counting

IndiaCredits published, monthly subscription or top-up packs; free plan with 2 credits

#2 Removal.AI

Credit-based remover offering monthly plans or three-year credit packs

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Removal.AI sells the same credit three ways. Monthly plans roll unused credits over, up to five times the monthly budget, but only while you keep subscribing. Lifetime packs last three years and suit seasonal catalogues.

A third route is an unlimited API arrangement, quoted after a form. Images above 36 megapixels are scaled down, and the refund promise applies only to buyers with up to 50 downloads.

What stands out
  • Lifetime credits
  • Rollover credits
  • API and desktop app
Where it costs you
  • The terms and about pages name no operating company, so the vendor's country is unknown.
  • Uploads are limited to JPG and PNG files up to 12 MB.
Right for

Irregular users who want credits that stay valid for years, not months

Wrong for

Buyers who must name the contracting company before purchase

Not stated by the vendorCredits published as monthly subscription or lifetime pack; unlimited API quoted

#3 Erase.bg

Sign-up-first remover sold in one-off credit packs by Pixelbin

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Published pricingAsia-Pacific

Erase.bg charges one credit for each removal, and packs are paid once: 10, 100 or 1,000 credits, valid for a year and non-refundable. The page's own table gives about a cent per credit at the largest size.

It shares a footer with Pixelbin, a wider image platform, whose sales address handles enterprise requests and bulk jobs. The mismatch between FAQ wording and pack table is the main thing to clear up first.

What stands out
  • One-off packs
  • Pixelbin
  • Batch mode
Where it costs you
  • Account creation is compulsory, even to test the three free credits.
  • The FAQ mentions an unlimited Pro plan that the pricing table does not show.
Right for

Occasional sellers wanting small prepaid packs with no recurring fee

Wrong for

Anyone needing a free trial without registering

IndiaCredit packs published, one-off payment; 3 free credits; enterprise quoted

#4 Cutout.Pro

Hong Kong-run suite where background removal is one of many AI tools

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific

Cutout.Pro presents itself as a product of the LibAI team and states a founding year of 2018. Its terms apply Hong Kong law, with a Kowloon office address on the about page.

Alongside photo cutouts it sells video background removal, an SDK and API documents, a desktop app and a Shopify plugin. Credits power most of it, but with no price visible we cannot compare cost per image against Slazzer or Removal.AI.

What stands out
  • Wide tool menu
  • Video cutout
  • Shopify plugin
Where it costs you
  • The pricing page returned an error when we fetched it, so amounts could not be checked.
  • The long menu of unrelated AI tools makes plain cutout work harder to find.
Right for

Users who also need video cutouts, upscaling or object removal beside photos

Wrong for

Buyers who want one tool and a price list on the page

Hong KongCredit-based plans, amounts not visible in our fetch; API pricing separate

#5 Photoroom

Product-photo editor where cutouts cost no AI credits but exports are capped

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

On the paid plans Photoroom treats the background remover as a core tool that spends no AI credits, subject to fair use, so the bill grows with exports, not cutouts.

Enterprise buyers pay usage-based export fees and get an API, with a stated 99.9 percent uptime target. The company is French. A shop with low volume pays for an editor, a template library and AI backgrounds it may never open.

What stands out
  • Product photos
  • Fair-use cutouts
  • Enterprise API
Where it costs you
  • No free plan is listed, only a trial on Pro and Max with unspecified terms.
  • Monthly export caps can bind before the credit allowance does.
Right for

Catalogue teams turning cutouts into finished listing photos on a monthly plan

Wrong for

Casual users who want a single cutout without a subscription

FrancePaid plans billed yearly, published; free trial on two; enterprise quoted

#6 Remove.bg

The original single-purpose remover, now a Canva Austria brand

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Remove.bg is operated by Canva Austria GmbH in Vienna. It is built around the API, which grants 50 free calls monthly and bills one credit for a 50-megapixel image, and around integrations with Photoshop, Figma, Zapier and a mobile app.

PNG results are limited to 10 megapixels, whereas JPG, WebP and ZIP can reach 50. Video background removal and an AI background generator sit beside the core cutout.

What stands out
  • Canva brand
  • API and plugins
  • Bulk removal
Where it costs you
  • Plan prices are only visible after the page renders and signing in.
  • Canva ownership removes the independence that the original specialist once offered.
Right for

Developers and photographers who want a mature API and plugins in Photoshop and Figma

Wrong for

Buyers who want to avoid a Canva-owned supplier

AustriaCredit plans in the account; API gives free calls each month; amounts not on page

#7 Clipdrop

Background remover bundled with image tools, now owned by Jasper

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Clipdrop tells visitors it is part of Jasper, and routes studio-grade removal into Jasper's API. Anonymous use covers ten files per upload and a daily cap, while Pro lifts the cap to 1,000 and adds queue skipping and high-resolution output.

The site lists text-to-image, uncrop, relight and text remover tools in the same navigation, so removal is one tool inside a larger bundle.

What stands out
  • Jasper-owned
  • Daily free limits
  • Image upscaler
Where it costs you
  • Free use is limited to 20 background removals in each 24 hours.
  • The vendor names no country, so jurisdiction has to be asked for.
Right for

Designers who want removal next to relighting, upscaling and cleanup in one place

Wrong for

Teams needing an independent supplier with a stated country

Not stated by the vendorFree tier with daily limits; Pro plan with trial; API usage-based

#8 Pixlr

Browser photo editor with a built-in background remover

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific

Pixlr offers background removal as one of the AI tools in its browser editor. Batch processing selects several photos and returns them as one archive. The company states a Singapore base.

Most of the paid roadmap concerns generation credits for images, video and audio, so someone who only wants cutouts gains little from upgrading and may never need the paid tiers.

What stands out
  • Browser editor
  • Free cutouts
  • Batch archive
Where it costs you
  • Ads and save limits apply on the free tier, as the Plus plan is sold as ad-free.
  • AI credits reset on renewal and are cleared on cancellation.
Right for

Casual editors who want a free cutout and then keep editing in the browser

Wrong for

Operations that need an SLA or contract for automated cutouts

SingaporeFree tier; Plus, Premium and Ultra plans monthly or yearly, published

#9 Fotor

Free cutouts without sign-up, with batches of up to 50 images

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Fotor describes its remover as free and usable without an account, with up to 50 images per batch and transparent PNG download. Beyond that it is a photo editor, collage maker and design tool with a free Basic plan and annual Pro, Pro+ and Max tiers.

Storage runs from 512MB to 500GB and AI chats are metered. The static pricing page showed no figures, so budgeting requires viewing the rendered page.

What stands out
  • No sign-up
  • 50-image batches
  • Annual tiers
Where it costs you
  • No country is stated, and Everimaging appears only in the footer.
  • Plan amounts did not appear in our static fetch of the pricing page.
Right for

Individuals cutting out batches of up to fifty photos without registering

Wrong for

Procurement teams that need a named vendor jurisdiction

Not stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max billed annually

#10 Picsart

Creator app whose Pro plan bundles removal with stock and templates

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Picsart is operated by PicsArt, Inc., and its terms give a Florida notice address. A free remover page covers one-off use.

The paid Pro plan, billed monthly or yearly, bundles advanced background and object removal with Getty stock, templates and brand kits, and Ultra adds team seats and 300 GB per seat. The site claims over 700 million backgrounds removed, a figure we cannot verify.

What stands out
  • Creator suite
  • Batch editor
  • Stock library
Where it costs you
  • The Pro plan is priced as a creator suite, with video and AI model credits the headline.
  • Batch editing is limited to 50 images on Pro and 100 on Ultra.
Right for

Social creators who want cutouts, stock and templates under one subscription

Wrong for

Stores processing thousands of images through an API

United StatesPlans billed monthly or yearly, published; a free remover page

#11 Kapwing

Team video editor with a remove-background tool behind a sign-up

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Background Remover Tools in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Kapwing's remove-background tool invites you to try the result after an email sign-up, then asks for a subscription to export without a watermark. Pro and Business bill per user and meter credits and storage across the team.

Projects sit in the vendor's cloud workspace. The company is based in San Francisco. It works best on short video and image assets that need captions, not on bulk still-photo cutouts.

What stands out
  • Sign-up required
  • Watermarked free
  • Per-user billing
Where it costs you
  • Free exports carry a watermark and the full tool needs a paid plan.
  • The studio view cannot export transparent backgrounds and substitutes plain white.
Right for

Social teams cutting subjects out of clips and thumbnails inside one editor

Wrong for

Merchants preparing large catalogues of still product photos

United StatesFree plan with watermark; Pro and Business per user, published
06

How to choose background remover tools software

Background remover tools use image models to isolate the main subject of a photo and delete the surroundings, returning a transparent PNG, a flat colour or a replacement scene. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.

  1. 01

    Start with pricing transparency

    The split is 10 published against 1 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Slazzer, Removal.AI, Erase.bg, Photoroom, Remove.bg, Clipdrop, Pixlr, Fotor, Picsart, Kapwing.

  2. 02

    Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction

    Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 7 countries: Asia-Pacific 4, Elsewhere 3, North America 2, Europe 2.

What a credit buys: Slazzer, Removal.AI and Erase.bg

Pricing in this market is counted in credits, and the definition of a credit differs. Slazzer gives away previews up to 0.25 megapixels on its website but charges a full credit for a full-size download and a fifth of a credit for an API preview. Removal.AI charges one credit per high-resolution download and lets monthly credits roll over.

Erase.bg charges one credit per removal and sells packs that expire after a year. Work out what you actually download in a month at full size, not what you preview. A catalogue of 2,000 images and a founder who cuts out 30 headshots a year need opposite plans, and the cheapest per-image figure is irrelevant if the credits expire unused.

  • Count full-resolution downloads per month, not uploads or previews
  • Ask when credits expire and whether unused ones roll over
  • Check whether the API prices previews differently from the website

Free cutouts that come with strings

Almost every vendor offers a free cutout, and the catch sits in different places. Fotor gives the result away, asking for no sign-up and capping batches at 50 images. Erase.bg and Kapwing require an account first, and Kapwing watermarks free exports. Clipdrop limits free background removal to 20 a day.

Photoroom lists no free plan, only a trial on two tiers. A free tier is fine for ten profile photos, and unreliable as the basis of a shop workflow, because limits and ads can change. Test your hardest ten images, such as hair, glass and shadows, on the free versions, then see what the paid tier changes.

  • Test ten of your hardest images on each free version
  • Note whether the free export is watermarked, resized or capped
  • Write down the daily or batch limit before relying on it

Who owns the cutout tool: Remove.bg, Clipdrop and independents

Ownership has shifted in this category more than most. Remove.bg describes itself as a Canva Austria GmbH brand, and Clipdrop says it is part of Jasper. Slazzer and Erase.bg are run by Netflairs Technology and Shopsense Retail Technologies respectively, both in India, while Cutout.Pro works from Hong Kong and Picsart from Florida.

Ownership matters when you build on an API: the terms, rate limits and credit prices you integrate with can follow the parent company's priorities. It also affects who processes your product photos. Read the terms of the vendor you plan to integrate, and keep an export of your processed files in your own storage.

  • Check the footer or imprint for the operating company
  • Ask how long API terms and credit prices are fixed
  • Store your original and processed files outside the vendor

Cutout tool or editor suite: Photoroom, Pixlr and Picsart

A remover and an editor are different purchases. Photoroom turns cutouts into finished listing photos and caps monthly exports, while Pixlr and Picsart wrap removal in a general editor with generation credits for images and video. Kapwing places it inside a video editor.

These suit a creator who edits afterward, and they cost more than a pure remover for a seller who only needs a white background. The reverse mistake also happens: a pure remover cannot add shadows, resize for a marketplace or batch-publish. Decide whether the cutout is the end product or the first step, and price the whole workflow, not the removal alone.

  • Decide whether cutouts are the final output or the first step
  • List the marketplace sizes and background rules you must meet
  • Compare the full workflow cost, not the removal price alone

What goes wrong most often when buying background remover tools software

  • Judging a background remover on one clean portrait and not on hair, glass or semi-transparent fabric.
  • Buying a yearly credit pack before measuring how many full-resolution files a month really go out.
  • Assuming the free preview matches the paid download in size, edges and licence for commercial use.
  • Wiring an API into a shop feed without checking who owns the vendor or how long its terms stay fixed.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best background remover tools in 2026?

Slazzer leads our ranking of 11. Slazzer is run by Netflairs Technology Pvt. Ltd, with an address in India. The website shows free previews up to 0.25 megapixels, while full-size downloads cost one credit each, in subscription tiers from 100 to 50,000 credits a month or in two-year top-up packs.

Web uploads stop at ten images at once, and bulk work moves to the desktop app. The 100-credit tier is for non-commercial use only.

Which background remover tools publish their pricing?

The ones that do, with the model each states:

  • Slazzer: Credits published, monthly subscription or top-up packs; free plan with 2 credits.
  • Removal.AI: Credits published as monthly subscription or lifetime pack; unlimited API quoted.
  • Erase.bg: Credit packs published, one-off payment; 3 free credits; enterprise quoted.
  • Photoroom: Paid plans billed yearly, published; free trial on two; enterprise quoted.
  • Remove.bg: Credit plans in the account; API gives free calls each month; amounts not on page.
  • Clipdrop: Free tier with daily limits; Pro plan with trial; API usage-based.
  • Pixlr: Free tier; Plus, Premium and Ultra plans monthly or yearly, published.
  • Fotor: Free Basic plan; Pro, Pro+ and Max billed annually.
  • Picsart: Plans billed monthly or yearly, published; a free remover page.
  • Kapwing: Free plan with watermark; Pro and Business per user, published.

The remaining 1 sell by quote.

Is there a free background remover tool?

Slazzer, Clipdrop, Pixlr, Fotor, Kapwing come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.

Where are these background remover tool vendors established?

In 7 countries across 4 regions: Asia-Pacific 4, Elsewhere 3, North America 2, Europe 2.

  • Slazzer: India.
  • Removal.AI: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Erase.bg: India.
  • Cutout.Pro: Hong Kong.
  • Photoroom: France.
  • Remove.bg: Austria.
  • Clipdrop: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Pixlr: Singapore.
  • Fotor: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Picsart: United States.
  • Kapwing: United States.
What should you use instead of Slazzer?

Removal.AI and Erase.bg are the next two on this page. Removal.AI is for Irregular users who want credits that stay valid for years, not months; Erase.bg is for Occasional sellers wanting small prepaid packs with no recurring fee.

Who should not buy Slazzer?

Teams needing an unlimited flat fee with no credit counting. Web uploads stop at ten images at once, so bulk jobs need the desktop app..

—

Tools reviewed

11 products
—

More Sales & Marketing software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If a background remover tools product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.

Suggest a product →