Local SEO tools help a business show up in map results and local searches. They track rankings on a geographic grid, keep listings and citations accurate, and manage reviews and Business Profiles.
It orders them by independence of the vendor, setup effort, the price once locations and modules grow, how data leaves, and fit for small, agency or chain buyers
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What local SEO tools software does
Local SEO software tracks how a business ranks in map and local search results, monitors listings and citations, and manages reviews and profile updates across one or many locations.
Every local SEO tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Sales-led, no prices on the site; demo is the only offer
—
Large brands wanting a store or provider finder built on one managed fact base
Local SEO teams looking for rank grids, citations and review requests
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Edmonton-founded citation and rank tools, each product priced separately
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Whitespark is built from separate tools. The platform costs per location, ranking grids cover up to 225 points, and the rank tracker, citation finder and Reputation Builder each have their own price.
Services sit beside the software, including a one-time Yext replacement package per location. Four free checkers are offered, but they are not a plan. It suits a buyer who knows which task hurts, such as citations, and does not need the rest.
What stands out
Local rank tracker
Citation finder
Per-location platform
Where it costs you
Several separate products mean the monthly total grows as you add tracking, citations and reputation.
The pricing page names no trial, so a buyer pays before testing.
Right for
Independent consultancies and single-location owners who want to buy tracking and citations separately
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one bundled price covering every local task
CanadaPublished monthly prices per product; one-time listing packages
Wroclaw-based Business Profile optimiser with audits, tracking and review tools
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Localo centres on the Business Profile itself: audit fixes, position tracking for chosen keywords, a review manager and scheduled Google Posts.
The Single Business plan covers one profile and one seat, which suits a local shop, while Pro stretches to dozens of profiles and 30 seats for an agency. Annual billing lowers the monthly rate, and prices exclude VAT. Check the profile cap in writing before signing a larger deal.
What stands out
Profile audits
Position tracking
Review manager
Where it costs you
The Pro limit appears as 60 profiles in the table and a wider range in the FAQ.
Only two published tiers exist, so mid-sized agencies jump straight to a custom plan.
Right for
Owners and small agencies improving a handful of Business Profiles on a tight budget
Wrong for
Chains needing hundreds of locations with published pricing
PolandTwo published annual-billing plans plus a custom tier; 14-day trial
Brighton-based suite pricing local SEO by the location
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
BrightLocal's three plans step up in what they include. Track covers 100 keywords and four competitors per location, a geo-grid map for five keywords, citation monitoring and a profile audit.
Manage sits in the middle and Grow adds review monitoring and requests by email, SMS and in store. Citations built for you cost per item, and managed SEO is a separate service. The trial runs 14 days with full access.
What stands out
Rank tracking
Citation monitoring
Review requests
Where it costs you
Review requests only arrive on the Grow plan, the top of the three tiers.
Per-location pricing climbs with each added location and turns into a quote above 100.
Right for
Agencies and multi-location owners wanting rank, citation and review tracking in one tool
Wrong for
Buyers who want to pay once without a per-location meter
United KingdomPublished plans per location, billed monthly or annually; 14-day trial
Credit-metered geo-grid scans for Google Maps and Apple Maps ranks
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Local Falcon is a scanning tool. You pay for credits, and a scan of a larger grid uses more of them, while keywords and locations stay unlimited on every plan.
Rank tracking covers Google Maps and Apple Maps, and a separate area tracks visibility in ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Falcon AI and Falcon Agent are also named. Annual billing is offered, and 100 credits let you test before paying.
What stands out
Geo-grid scans
Credit metering
AI visibility
Where it costs you
Each grid point costs one credit, so dense grids on many keywords use the allowance quickly.
The company's base country is not stated on the about page or footer.
Right for
Local SEO specialists who run frequent map-rank scans and want cost tied to usage
Wrong for
Owners wanting listings, reviews and posting inside the same tool
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or annual credit plans; 100 free credits at sign-up
Entry-priced geo-grid tracker with profile posting and white-label reports
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Grid My Business starts with a free tier, which is the quickest way in this list to see a geo-grid scan on your own profile. Paid plans start at a low monthly price, with a discount for annual billing and a 30-day money-back guarantee.
It also names AI visibility tracking, automated review replies and posts, and an MCP server. Because no country is given, procurement teams may want more legal detail first.
What stands out
Free tier
Geo-grid ranks
White-label reports
Where it costs you
The terms name Plentisoft Sdn Bhd but give no address, so the contracting country is unclear.
The free tier stops at two profiles and 250 scan credits each month.
Right for
Freelancers and small agencies wanting a cheap geo-grid tracker with white-label reports
Wrong for
Buyers who need a verifiable company address before signing
Not stated by the vendorFree tier plus three published monthly plans, cheaper billed annually
Location-count plans mixing listings, reviews and AI answer checks
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Synup sells by number of locations: Solo for one, Premium for up to ten with white labelling, Pro for up to 25, Scale for up to 50, and a custom plan beyond. Each tier carries a credit allowance and a number of parallel agent chats.
The trial only applies to Solo, and paid Premium is charged immediately. Listings sync, review monitoring across sources and an AI answer check are the named features.
What stands out
Listings sync
Review monitoring
AI answer checks
Where it costs you
The entry plan covers one location, and the next plan covers ten at a much higher price.
Annual prices are not listed, only a stated 20% saving.
Right for
Agencies and mid-sized brands syncing listings and reviews who accept location-count tiers
Wrong for
Single-location owners who only need keyword rank tracking
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by location count; custom tier above 50 locations; 14-day trial
Posting and GeoGrid platform that also sells managed profile work
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Local Viking combines software with people. The dashboard handles Google Posts, photo scheduling, Snack Pack rank tracking, GeoGrid visibility and review management across locations, and a team can run managed profile work for you.
White-label reporting suits agencies. The weak point is transparency: the pricing link leads to a separate app domain, we read no plans there, and the owner is unstated. Expect to ask directly.
What stands out
Google Posts
GeoGrid tracking
Managed service
Where it costs you
Pricing could not be read on the linked app page, so the cost is unconfirmed.
The site does not say whether Local Optics owns it.
Right for
Agencies that want scheduled Google Posts and GeoGrid tracking alongside a done-for-you service
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices before booking a call
United StatesPlan pricing not visible in our check; the site sends buyers to a separate app domain
Review requests and listings priced per location for small chains
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
For local search, GatherUp covers the reputation side. The single-business plan includes unlimited users and monthly SMS and email request allowances; multi-location pricing is a flat per-location rate for two to ten sites.
Review Defense tiers analyse six or fifteen local competitors at higher levels, and Listings Management is billed separately. It lacks the ranking tools of BrightLocal or Local Falcon. A 14-day trial runs with full access.
What stands out
Review requests
Review defense
Listings add-on
Where it costs you
Review Defense and Listings add-ons are charged per location on top of the base plan.
Insight Integrity Group now owns it after a 2025 acquisition.
Right for
Multi-location businesses that care mainly about collecting and defending reviews
Wrong for
Buyers who need geo-grid rank tracking from the same vendor
Not stated by the vendorPublished annual per-location prices; 14-day trial; custom agency terms
Berlin listings and reviews platform sold as stacked plans
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Uberall's plans build on each other. Show Up delivers Essentials and Listings, Stand Out adds Reviews, and Connect adds local social and posting to Google and Apple. Add-ons for reviews, analytics and collaboration sit on top.
Essentials lists unlimited users, though no numeric limits are given elsewhere. Currency and billing basis are unstated, and no trial appears. For local SEO it is listings-first, so ranking work belongs elsewhere.
What stands out
Listings
Reviews
Social posting
Where it costs you
No plan shows a price, and one plan asks you to request pricing.
Rank tracking is not named on the plan page, so a second product may be needed.
Right for
Brands comparing listings suites who prefer stacked plans over a bespoke contract
Wrong for
Small shops that want to test a tool before speaking to anyone
GermanyThree plans without shown prices; one asks to request pricing
Multi-location reputation platform that is now part of Alchemer
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Chatmeter bills per location and gives unlimited users, which suits a central marketing team plus many local managers. The proposal form sorts buyers into bands from 1-4 locations to 500 or more, and a separate band covers agencies and partners.
These bands size the quote and are not plan tiers. The site says Chatmeter is now part of Alchemer, so roadmap and contracts may follow that owner. Ask for the proposal in writing.
What stands out
Multi-location
Unlimited users
Proposal pricing
Where it costs you
Pricing exists only as a proposal, so a buyer cannot compare it with published rates.
The pricing page mentions no trial.
Right for
Estates of dozens or hundreds of locations wanting one reputation view with unlimited users
Wrong for
Single-site owners wanting a price and a trial today
Not stated by the vendorPricing is by proposal after a short form, billed per location
Enterprise platform for listings, local pages and reviews across many sites
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Rio SEO describes a platform for listings, local landing pages, reviews and customer feedback across many locations. Local landing pages set it apart from tools that only track ranks or manage profiles.
The only free offer named is a local audit, which is not a plan or a trial. With no prices and a demo-led route, budgeting starts with a call. It reads as an enterprise product, not a self-serve tool.
What stands out
Local landing pages
Listings
Reviews
Where it costs you
The site shows no plans or prices, only demo and contact routes.
Ownership is unclear: legal links point to a Forsta domain with no stated parent.
Right for
Multi-location brands wanting local landing pages and listings run by one platform
Wrong for
Small owners wanting to compare prices before a sales call
Not stated by the vendorDemo-led sales; the site shows neither plans nor prices
Knowledge Graph search and listings platform sold through sales
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Local SEO Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The Yext pages we read describe search rather than rank tracking: a finder for stores, branches and advisors, site search and help-centre search, all fed by a Knowledge Graph. Query insights show which customer questions went unanswered.
The platform exposes connectivity through an MCP and API, but no particular CMS or CRM connectors are named. The vendor's stated route is hosting each location on Yext Pages, so leaving means rebuilding those pages elsewhere.
What stands out
Knowledge Graph
Location finder
Yext Pages
Where it costs you
Pages carry no prices or trial, so budgeting starts with a sales call.
AI-optimised results depend on hosting content on Yext Pages.
Right for
Large brands wanting a store or provider finder built on one managed fact base
Wrong for
Local SEO teams looking for rank grids, citations and review requests
United StatesSales-led, no prices on the site; demo is the only offer
Local SEO software tracks how a business ranks in map and local search results, monitors listings and citations, and manages reviews and profile updates across one or many locations. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 7 published against 5 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Whitespark, Localo, BrightLocal, Local Falcon, Grid My Business, Synup, GatherUp.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 3), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
Local SEO tools: what the meter actually counts
Local SEO pricing looks cheap until you learn what it counts. BrightLocal bills per location and adds a quote above 100 locations. Local Falcon bills per credit, with one credit for each grid point in a scan, so a dense grid on many keywords uses an allowance fast. Synup scales by location count, with allowances for credits and agent chats.
Whitespark prices each product on its own. Localo counts active Business Profiles and optimisation seats. Before comparing monthly rates, write down your locations, keywords and how often you scan, then compute each total. Vendors that publish rates make this easy, while Chatmeter, Rio SEO and Yext can only be priced through a sales conversation, so budget extra time for them.
List locations, keywords and scan frequency first
Ask what one credit, seat or profile covers
Work out a twelve-month total, not the entry price
Rank grids, citations and reviews: pick the job, not the suite
These tools do different jobs, and the quickest mistake is buying a suite for a single need. Local Falcon and Grid My Business are scanners: they map where a profile appears across a grid on Google Maps. Whitespark's citation finder and BrightLocal's citation monitoring handle directory listings. GatherUp is mostly reviews, and Uberall starts from listings and adds reviews on its second plan.
Match the tool to your bottleneck. A shop with weak rankings needs a grid, while a chain with wrong opening hours needs listings sync. Localo and Local Viking sit between the two, combining profile posting with position tracking, so they suit owners who want a little of each without buying a full suite.
Name your single biggest local problem before shopping
Check which plan tier first includes reviews
Test a scan on your own profile before paying
Trials, free tiers and what you can test
Test windows differ more than prices do, and they decide how much you can learn cheaply. BrightLocal, Localo and GatherUp each give 14 days of full access without a card, and Synup gives 14 days but only on its Solo plan. Local Falcon gives 100 credits at sign-up, and Grid My Business keeps a free tier with two profiles.
Whitespark, Uberall and Chatmeter name no trial on their pricing pages, and Rio SEO and Yext lead with demos. Use the hands-on option wherever it exists: run your real profile and a competitor through a scan, and keep the output for comparison. A demo shows the vendor's best account, whereas a trial shows yours, and a trial also tells you how long setup really takes.
Use your real profile in every trial
Note which vendors only offer a demo
Save scan and report exports from each test
Agency, enterprise and exit questions
Agencies and large brands need answers a single-site owner can skip. Synup's Premium plan includes white labelling, GatherUp has custom agency pricing, and Local Viking lists white-label reporting. Chatmeter and Rio SEO sell to estates with many locations and publish no prices, and Yext's results depend on hosting content on Yext Pages, which makes leaving harder.
Ownership matters too, because it shapes contracts and roadmaps: Chatmeter says it is part of Alchemer, GatherUp was acquired in 2025, and Local Viking does not state its owner. Ask about data export, contract length and the legal entity before you sign. Grid My Business names Plentisoft Sdn Bhd without an address, which is worth settling early, ideally before any card details are entered.
Ask how reports and listings can be exported
Confirm the legal entity and its country in writing
Check whether white labelling sits in your plan tier
What goes wrong most often when buying local SEO tools software
Buying a full suite when the real problem is a single missing capability, such as map rank visibility.
Comparing entry prices without checking how credits, profiles or locations are counted for your numbers.
Judging a grid scan from one keyword, when rankings change a lot between search terms and distances.
Signing a contract with an owner or country that the vendor's own site leaves unstated.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best local SEO tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Whitespark first. Whitespark says it was founded in 2005 in Edmonton, Canada, and prices its software product by product: a per-location platform, ranking grids with up to 225 geographic points, a rank tracker, a citation finder and Reputation Builder.
You buy only the pieces you use. The catch is that you pay before testing, and the separate products add up.
Which local SEO tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 7 products on this page:
Whitespark: Published monthly prices per product; one-time listing packages.
Localo: Two published annual-billing plans plus a custom tier; 14-day trial.
BrightLocal: Published plans per location, billed monthly or annually; 14-day trial.
Local Falcon: Published monthly or annual credit plans; 100 free credits at sign-up.
Grid My Business: Free tier plus three published monthly plans, cheaper billed annually.
Synup: Published monthly plans by location count; custom tier above 50 locations; 14-day trial.
GatherUp: Published annual per-location prices; 14-day trial; custom agency terms.
5 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free local SEO tool?
Grid My Business come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these local SEO tool vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 3.
Whitespark: Canada.
Localo: Poland.
BrightLocal: United Kingdom.
Local Falcon: Not stated by the vendor.
Grid My Business: Not stated by the vendor.
Synup: Not stated by the vendor.
Local Viking: United States.
GatherUp: Not stated by the vendor.
Uberall: Germany.
Chatmeter: Not stated by the vendor.
Rio SEO: Not stated by the vendor.
Yext: United States.
What should you use instead of Whitespark?
Look at Localo (made for Owners and small agencies improving a handful of Business Profiles on a tight budget) and BrightLocal (made for Agencies and multi-location owners wanting rank, citation and review tracking in one tool), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Whitespark?
Buyers wanting one bundled price covering every local task. Several separate products mean the monthly total grows as you add tracking, citations and reputation..
If a local SEO tools product of yours deserves a place among these 12, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.