Popup builder software places overlays, bars and slide-ins on a website to capture emails, announce offers or catch leaving visitors.
Fourteen products are ranked here on setup work in the opening quarter, the bill once traffic and add-ons grow, whether campaigns and subscribers can be taken away, and reliance on a bigger platform.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What popup builder software does
Popup builder software designs on-site messages such as modals, sticky bars and exit-intent offers, shows them to chosen visitors, and records sign-ups and clicks so teams can test versions.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the popup builder tool was built for. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Pageview-priced popup builder with free tier; A/B testing on upper plans
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The entry tier covers 5,000 pageviews, one website and one live popup, and the vendor describes that plan as the trial. Basic raises that to 50,000 pageviews, three websites and unlimited live popups.
Advanced adds A/B split testing and two team members, Pro adds campaign filing, and Expert allows unlimited websites. Integrations include Shopify, Mailchimp, HubSpot, Klaviyo, Google Analytics 4 and Zapier. Over 500,000 pageviews is quote-only.
What stands out
Pageview tiers
Free plan
AI popup drafts
Where it costs you
Comparing variants needs the Advanced tier or above.
Only one popup can run live on the free plan, and email volume is small.
Right for
Small sites that want published pageview pricing and a free plan to test with
Wrong for
Teams needing enterprise terms below 500,000 pageviews or a stated hosting model
United StatesMonthly or yearly tiers published by pageviews and websites; free plan; enterprise tier quoted
Widgets, promo bars and email broadcasts on low per-site plans
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
View allowances run 10,000 a month on Free, 100,000 on Pro and unlimited on Pro Max, with prices set per site. The widgets cover email opt-in forms, promo bars, surveys and exit popups, and automations react to form submissions, new orders or checkout abandonment.
Segmentation and email broadcasts sit in the same account. Klaviyo, Mailchimp, ActiveCampaign and Brevo are listed, plus a Shopify app. Sending costs less per thousand on higher plans.
What stands out
Per-site plans
Unlimited contacts
Email broadcasts
Where it costs you
Every additional site is billed on its own plan, so agencies and multi-store owners pay repeatedly.
Email sending is charged per thousand on top of the plan, which makes broadcast-heavy use harder to forecast.
Right for
Single-site shops wanting unlimited contacts and a cheap view-based plan
Wrong for
Agencies running many client sites from one subscription
CyprusPer-site monthly plans with published rates by widget views; free plan; email sending billed by volume on top
Visitor-banded popup pricing with unlimited campaigns and domains included
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Visitor bands run from up to 25,000 a month through 500,000, with a monthly rate and a lower annual rate for each. Core includes a drag-and-drop editor with 120+ popup templates, exit-intent and geo-targeting, and A/B split testing with conversion goal tracking.
Events can be sent to Google Tag Manager. The homepage claims 1,200+ integrations but names none. The top published band adds a Success Manager and check-in meetings.
What stands out
Visitor bands
Unlimited domains
Gamified formats
Where it costs you
Gamified formats such as Spin to Win need the higher Core and Gamification plan, which costs more at every band.
Beyond 500,000 visitors the vendor quotes privately, so that figure is unknown beforehand.
Right for
Sites wanting several domains and unlimited campaigns under one visitor-based bill
Wrong for
Buyers who need a permanent plan rather than a 14-day trial
Not stated by the vendorMonthly or annual euro rates published by visitor band; 14-day trial only; quote above 500,000 visitors
Popups drafted by an AI agent, with a view-capped free plan
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
For a popup buyer the draw is the agent: describe the campaign and it builds, writes and publishes it, then runs A/B tests and proposes the winner.
Manual edits stay possible in a visual editor, and popups can also be requested from MCP-compatible clients. Tiers rise in views, credits and domains, with Master custom. Debrecen is the base of OptiMonk International Zrt. Owner and hosting are not stated.
What stands out
AI popup agent
Credit allowances
Free plan
Where it costs you
Each plan caps AI credits, so a team drafting many popups with the agent can run out before views run short.
The vendor offers no trial besides the free plan, which is limited to one domain.
Right for
Stores that want an agent to write, publish and test popups
Wrong for
Buyers needing a named owner or a stated hosting model
HungaryPlans published by monthly views, AI credits and domains; free plan; yearly billing saves 25%
Popups plus an email builder, with a free account and agency tier
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Popup plans are free, basic, pro and agency, with pro allowing 50,000 visitors on four domains and agency covering 150,000 to 2,000,000 visitors, unlimited domains, sub-accounts and user management.
Formats include lightbox, floating bar and slide-in, with over 15 targeting rules and A/B testing of timing, templates and triggers. The email and popup bundle has its own free tier of 250 contacts. Poptin also owns Chatway, a separate product.
What stands out
Free account
Agency tier
Email builder
Where it costs you
The Growth email plan shows no price on the page, so the bundle cannot be costed without asking.
A single domain and a small visitor cap on the free account fits only a tiny site.
Right for
Agencies wanting unlimited client domains and sub-accounts on a top tier
Wrong for
Buyers who need a paid-plan trial or a stated base country
Not stated by the vendorPublished popup plans by visitors and domains; free account, no card; separate email plans, one unpriced
Bars, modals and sliders with a lifetime free Starter plan
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Plans are Starter, Growth, Premium and Elite, with Elite allowing 500,000 views a month and unlimited seats. Annual billing is advertised as saving up to 24%. Triggers include exit-intent, scroll and time, with geo and device targeting, and the formats are bars, modals, alerts, sliders and page takeovers.
Integrations number 30+, among them ActiveCampaign, Aweber, Mailchimp, Zapier, HubSpot and Salesforce. The homepage refused an automated fetch, so the pricing page was read instead.
What stands out
Five formats
Lifetime free tier
Gamification
Where it costs you
Two paid price lists appear on the same page, so the real monthly cost is unclear.
Starter stops at 5,000 views, so a site with real traffic moves to a paid tier fast.
Right for
Low-traffic sites wanting a permanent free bar with a clear upgrade ladder
Wrong for
Buyers who need one confirmed price list before comparing vendors
Not stated by the vendorPublished per month or per year, sized by views; free plan; bespoke multi-site plan quoted
AI-built popups on pageview tiers with automatic A/B testing
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The Free plan never expires and scales through pageview tiers from 3K up to 2M+. Enterprise and Agency adds custom contracts, a white-label script domain, the Component SDK and a success contact assigned by name, and is sold through a demo call.
Triggers cover behaviour, traffic source, UTM, events and cart. HubSpot, Mailchimp, Klaviyo, Salesforce and others are listed, plus WordPress and Shopify apps.
What stands out
Free plan
AI agent
Autopilot testing
Where it costs you
Pro is unpriced on the page, so the step up from free cannot be costed.
The free plan carries a vendor badge and covers a single website.
Right for
One-site businesses wanting AI-built campaigns on a no-limit free plan
Wrong for
Agencies needing several sites without moving to the enterprise tier
Not stated by the vendorFree plan on one website with a badge; paid Pro plan unpriced on the page; enterprise by demo call
Demo-led popup platform with recommendations, feeds and web push
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
A traffic audit is offered on the demo page, framed as an analysis service rather than a trial of the product. The self-service Shopify plan is described as starting lower, though no figures appear.
Shopify, Klaviyo, GA4, HubSpot and Salesforce are named integrations. The cloud providers are named, while any self-managed option goes unmentioned. The scope is wider than popups, which suits larger stores.
What stands out
Demo-led sales
Web push
Experiments platform
Where it costs you
Neither prices nor a platform trial are shown, so every purchase begins with a sales call.
Two pages count integrations differently, 50+ against 100+.
Right for
Retailers wanting recommendations and web push alongside popups from one French vendor
Wrong for
Small shops wanting to compare self-serve prices before talking to anyone
FranceQuoted per organisation; demo booking first, no plan names shown
Popups, sticky bars and quiz funnels sold by funnel views
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Personal covers one site with 10 campaigns and 10,000 funnel views, Prime raises that to 25 campaigns and 30,000 views, and Pro reaches 100,000 views. Custom starts at 1M+ views. A/B split testing covers funnels, popups and offers.
Integrations include Shopify, Klaviyo, HubSpot, Salesforce and Mailchimp, and campaigns publish to a custom domain, to Shopify or by embed code. Which of those allowances fits depends on how many funnels run at once.
What stands out
Funnel views
Quiz funnels
Landing pages
Where it costs you
Growth raises the bill twice, through traffic overage and through every added website.
The free plan needs an upgrade before anything can go live, so it works as a sandbox only.
Right for
Stores that want quiz funnels and popups in one tool
Wrong for
Multi-site owners watching the cost of every added website
United StatesPlans listed monthly or yearly by funnel views and campaigns; free plan capped at five campaigns; overage billed
One-time early-access deal or a monthly plan, fully hosted
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Formats include slide-in notifications, centre modals, sticky bars, full-page takeovers and embedded content, with personalised offers, lead-capture forms and segmentation surveys. Installation is a WordPress plugin or a JavaScript snippet.
The lifetime deal removes branding and allows unlimited ConvertBoxes. Larger volumes sit behind a PRO upgrade on the checkout page, with no details given. Where a company stands behind the product is unclear from the pages read.
What stands out
Lifetime deal
Fully hosted
WordPress plugin
Where it costs you
The lifetime deal may end or be repriced at any moment, so it cannot anchor a budget.
No company name, country or working terms page was found, which weakens due diligence.
Right for
Single-owner sites that prefer one payment over a recurring popup bill
Wrong for
Buyers whose procurement requires a legal entity and terms
Not stated by the vendorOne-time early-access payment or regular monthly or yearly plan, both published; 14-day trial only
Lightbox popups, bars and welcome mats priced by impressions
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Basic covers one site and 2,500 impressions, Plus two sites and 10,000, Pro three sites, 25,000 impressions and two sub-accounts, and Growth five sites, 100,000 impressions and unlimited sub-accounts.
Monthly billing exists but its prices are not listed, and annual plans cost about half as much. A money-back guarantee runs for 14 days. Zapier, Webhooks and Uncanny Automator are among 50+ integrations.
What stands out
Impression tiers
Welcome mats
Public API
Where it costs you
Renewal prices are higher than the first-year prices on every tier, so year two costs more than the headline.
The trial moves to Plus automatically once the credits run out, which can start a larger plan.
Right for
WordPress-minded sites wanting several formats and an API on annual billing
Wrong for
Anyone needing identical pricing in year one and year two
United StatesAnnual-first plans published by sites and impressions; trial credits; renewals priced above the first year
Pageview-based popups with an AI builder and a free plan
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
An AI customizer pulls logo, colours and fonts from a site URL, and an AI builder drafts popups from a goal description. Exit-intent and scroll triggers are available with A/B testing and live stats.
Essentials allows 50,000 pageviews on one domain, Business 200,000 on five domains with unlimited users, and Enterprise is unlimited. The site claims 700+ integrations, including Shopify, Klaviyo, Zapier and Google Sheets.
What stands out
Free plan
AI customizer
ProProfs family
Where it costs you
The footer only implies ownership, so confirm who signs the contract.
White-labelling and the ProProfs bundle are separate add-ons, which raises the real price.
Right for
Small sites wanting every feature on a free plan, then paying by pageviews
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a legal entity first
Not stated by the vendorPlans sized by pageviews, billed monthly or annually; free plan; add-ons and bundles priced separately
Behaviour-based popups with visitor identification and managed services
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans are monthly with no contract, and an annual option is labelled Save 10% without annual prices. Lite includes white-glove onboarding, while Done-For-You adds ongoing services and unlimited features.
The AI popups react to real-time behaviour, and A/B testing covers offers. The page does not name integrations beyond saying it syncs with email, SMS, ecommerce and customer-data tools. Agency discounts exist without stated amounts.
What stands out
Visitor identification
Done-for-you
Monthly terms
Where it costs you
The feature that sets it apart, Spotlight, is billed on top of either plan.
The step from Lite to Done-For-You roughly doubles the visitor allowance for a far larger monthly sum.
Right for
Retailers wanting a managed service with an account manager and Slack support
Wrong for
Sites with more than 20,000 monthly visitors on a fixed budget
Not stated by the vendorMonthly plans published by visitors; 14-day trial only; annual option unpriced
Popups bundled with email and SMS, priced by contacts
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Popup Builder Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Platform integrations listed are BigCommerce, Shopify, Squarespace, Weebly, Wix and WooCommerce. The product includes exit-intent offers, quizzes, a drag-and-drop email editor with discount-code import, real-time reporting on opens, clicks and revenue, and a visual automation builder.
Unused SMS credits roll over to the next billing period. The email plan rises in contact tiers to a custom quote above 250,001 contacts.
What stands out
Email and SMS
Contact tiers
Ecommerce templates
Where it costs you
Contact-based pricing on the main plan pushes a popup-only buyer to the separate plan.
Nothing on the pricing page says which plan the 15-day trial applies to.
Right for
Ecommerce stores that want popups, email and SMS under one login
Wrong for
Buyers wanting only a popup tool with a clear free tier
Not stated by the vendorMonthly tiers published by mailable contacts or page views; SMS credits add-on; 15-day trial only
Popup builder software designs on-site messages such as modals, sticky bars and exit-intent offers, shows them to chosen visitors, and records sign-ups and clicks so teams can test versions. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Check who publishes a price
1 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 13 publish a pricing model you can read today: Popupsmart, Getsitecontrol, Sleeknote, OptiMonk, Poptin, Hello Bar, Claspo, ConvertFlow, ConvertBox, OptinMonster, Picreel, Justuno, Privy.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 5 countries: Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 3.
Popup builder software: what the invoice counts
Every vendor meters a different thing, so the headline price hides the real comparison. Popupsmart and Picreel count pageviews, Sleeknote and Justuno count visitors, OptinMonster counts impressions, ConvertFlow counts funnel views, and Privy's main plan counts mailable contacts. Getsitecontrol caps widget views but leaves contacts unlimited on every plan. Hello Bar and OptiMonk count views as well.
A site with many pages per visit hits a pageview cap long before a visitor cap, while a blog with few return visitors may suit the opposite. Pull last month's analytics for pageviews, unique visitors and sessions, then run each vendor's tiers against all three figures. Domains matter as well, since Poptin, OptiMonk and Sleeknote each price them differently.
Pull pageviews, unique visitors and sessions from last month
Match each vendor's metric to the figure you hold
Count the domains each plan includes
Free plans and trials: which ones let you go live
Free plans and timed trials answer different questions. Popupsmart and OptiMonk both say their free plan serves as the trial, so no separate time-limited period exists. Hello Bar's Starter lasts indefinitely at 5,000 views, and Claspo's free plan never expires. ConvertFlow's free plan allows five campaigns but needs an upgrade before anything goes live.
Justuno offers 14 and 30 days depending on plan, Sleeknote 14 days, no card needed,, and Privy 15 days without saying which plan. OptinMonster's trial uses 500 impression credits and then moves to Plus automatically. Before starting, decide what a real test means for you, such as a live campaign for two weeks, and confirm the trial allows exactly that.
Confirm the trial can publish to your live site
Note whether the trial rolls into a paid plan by itself
Check what the free plan removes, such as branding or A/B testing
Extras that change the bill after year one
The listed plan is rarely the final bill. Getsitecontrol charges email sending per thousand on top of its plans, Privy sells SMS credits as an add-on, and ConvertFlow bills overage and each added website separately. OptinMonster shows annual-first prices and higher renewal prices on every tier.
Justuno bills Spotlight on top of both plans, and Picreel sells white-labelling and a ProProfs bundle separately. Hello Bar lists two different paid price sets on one page, so get a quote in writing. Wisepops shows no prices at all and starts with a demo. Add the extras your plan actually needs, then compare the totals for year one and year two, not the entry price.
List the add-ons your team needs, such as SMS or white-labelling
Get the renewal rate from the vendor in writing
Compare year-two totals, not the first invoice
Owners, hosting and leaving a popup vendor
Popup scripts run on every page, so the vendor behind them matters. Picreel's footer groups it with ProProfs products, and Poptin owns the separate Chatway product. Privy places popups within an email and SMS suite, which ties campaigns to that suite. Wisepops hosts on AWS and Google Cloud by its own account, ConvertBox calls itself fully hosted, and most of the other pages read are silent on hosting.
ConvertBox's lifetime deal warns it may end or cost more at any time, and its terms page returned 404. Before choosing, ask what happens to your campaigns, templates and subscriber lists on cancellation, and whether email addresses collected in the popup live in the vendor's system or your own email platform.
Ask whether subscriber lists live in the vendor or your email platform
Request the terms page and the legal entity name
Find out how to remove the script cleanly on exit
What goes wrong most often when buying popup builder software
Buying on pageviews when the site has few visitors but many pages per visit, so the cap is hit in the first month.
Assuming a free plan can stand in for a trial when, as at ConvertFlow, it builds campaigns but cannot publish them.
Ignoring renewal prices, overage and add-ons such as SMS credits, email sending or Spotlight when comparing plan tables.
Letting every campaign sit in a vendor's email suite or lifetime deal without checking who the contracting company is.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best popup builder software in 2026?
First of 14 on this page is Popupsmart. Popupsmart, Inc. lists a Delaware headquarters and an R&D office in Ankara. Prices follow monthly pageviews, and the paid tiers also cap websites, from three to unlimited.
The free plan allows one website, one live popup and 100 emails a month, and the vendor calls it the trial. A/B testing only appears from the Advanced tier up, and no owner or hosting model is named.
Which popup builder tools publish their pricing?
13 of the 14, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Popupsmart: Monthly or yearly tiers published by pageviews and websites; free plan; enterprise tier quoted.
Getsitecontrol: Per-site monthly plans with published rates by widget views; free plan; email sending billed by volume on top.
Sleeknote: Monthly or annual euro rates published by visitor band; 14-day trial only; quote above 500,000 visitors.
OptiMonk: Plans published by monthly views, AI credits and domains; free plan; yearly billing saves 25%.
Poptin: Published popup plans by visitors and domains; free account, no card; separate email plans, one unpriced.
Hello Bar: Published per month or per year, sized by views; free plan; bespoke multi-site plan quoted.
Claspo: Free plan on one website with a badge; paid Pro plan unpriced on the page; enterprise by demo call.
ConvertFlow: Plans listed monthly or yearly by funnel views and campaigns; free plan capped at five campaigns; overage billed.
ConvertBox: One-time early-access payment or regular monthly or yearly plan, both published; 14-day trial only.
OptinMonster: Annual-first plans published by sites and impressions; trial credits; renewals priced above the first year.
Picreel: Plans sized by pageviews, billed monthly or annually; free plan; add-ons and bundles priced separately.
Justuno: Monthly plans published by visitors; 14-day trial only; annual option unpriced.
Privy: Monthly tiers published by mailable contacts or page views; SMS credits add-on; 15-day trial only.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free popup builder tool?
Popupsmart, Getsitecontrol, OptiMonk, Hello Bar, Claspo, ConvertFlow, Picreel offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these popup builder software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 3.
Popupsmart: United States.
Getsitecontrol: Cyprus.
Sleeknote: Not stated by the vendor.
OptiMonk: Hungary.
Poptin: Not stated by the vendor.
Hello Bar: Not stated by the vendor.
Claspo: Not stated by the vendor.
Wisepops: France.
ConvertFlow: United States.
ConvertBox: Not stated by the vendor.
OptinMonster: United States.
Picreel: Not stated by the vendor.
Justuno: Not stated by the vendor.
Privy: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Popupsmart?
Getsitecontrol and Sleeknote are the next two on this page. Getsitecontrol is for Single-site shops wanting unlimited contacts and a cheap view-based plan; Sleeknote is for Sites wanting several domains and unlimited campaigns under one visitor-based bill.
Who should not buy Popupsmart?
Teams needing enterprise terms below 500,000 pageviews or a stated hosting model. Comparing variants needs the Advanced tier or above..
Missing from this popup builder software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.