Print on demand software connects a design, a store and a production partner, so each item is printed and shipped only after a customer pays.
This guide ranks suppliers and shop platforms on setup effort, what shipping and add-ons do to the real price, how easily you can leave, vendor independence, and fit with what you sell.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What print on demand software does
Print on demand software lets sellers upload designs, link a store and have a partner print, pack and ship each order on demand, so no stock is held.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every print on demand tool here. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
No plan prices on the site; per-copy printing; volume discounts through contact
—
Authors and publishers who need print-on-demand books with retail distribution
Apparel and merchandise sellers who need t-shirts or mugs
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Subscription-free print network with in-house sites in UK, EU and USA
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Prodigi turns uploaded images into wall art, prints, canvas, framed prints, stickers, stationery, homewares and apparel, printed and shipped on demand.
Its store links cover Shopify, Etsy, WooCommerce, Squarespace, Wix and BigCommerce, and it offers a Print API and a manual order form, and includes a free mockup generator. The buyer trade-off is information: the site gives no prices, and it does not say who owns the company.
What stands out
No subscription
Print API
Regional print sites
Where it costs you
The home page lists no product prices, so unit margins cannot be checked before sign-up.
The site cites both 500,000+ and over 250 products, so the real catalogue size is unclear.
Right for
Art and wall-décor sellers who want no subscription and printing close to buyers
Wrong for
Sellers who need a published price list before registering
Not stated by the vendorFree to use; no set-up fees or subscriptions; item prices not listed on the site
Artist-focused print shops with white-label stores and mobile apps
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Pixels was founded in 2006 and describes itself as independently owned by its founder, with no parent company named. It lists white-label technology, branded stores for artists, Instagram and YouTube merchandise and a Shopify print-on-demand app, and its staff are based in Santa Monica, California.
Prices display in USD, AUD, CAD, EUR, GBP or JPY. A buyer must still ask what membership costs, because that page showed no figures.
What stands out
Artist stores
White-label
Mobile apps
Where it costs you
Plan costs for the membership option were not shown, so the monthly bill cannot be projected.
Only a money-back guarantee is stated; the site names no trial or entry tier.
Right for
Artists who want a branded store and phone apps from one independent owner
Wrong for
Sellers wanting a plan table and exact fees up front
United StatesPer-product prices in six currencies; membership plan costs not shown; 30-day money-back guarantee
London print house for custom fabric products with no minimum order
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Contrado produces clothing, home and wall art, bags and accessories, plus brand labels and tags, on demand and shipped worldwide. Its Artist Marketplace and Sell Your Art route let users upload designs and sell under their own brand, with white-label options.
Regional sites cover the UK, Germany, France, Japan, Australia and Canada. No owner or parent company is named, and the only currency shown on the page is USD.
What stands out
Custom fabrics
No minimum order
Artist marketplace
Where it costs you
The page lists no prices or plans, so costs per garment stay unknown until you order.
Only Shopify and an API are named as integrations.
Right for
Designers selling fabric-led clothing, home goods and bags under their own label
Wrong for
Sellers who need many marketplace connections out of the box
United KingdomPrices not listed on the page; no upfront costs or inventory risk; USD shown in header
Los Angeles apparel maker with embroidery, labels and dropshipping
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Apliiq says products ship within 48 hours from its warehousing and fulfilment service, and it links to Shopify, WooCommerce, Etsy and Wix apps plus an API.
VIP membership gives unlimited digitization along with the dropship saving, while artwork files sourced through Fiverr start at $5. No legal entity, owner or parent company appears in the text read, and no trial term is stated.
What stands out
Embroidery
Private labels
Dropship
Where it costs you
Screen printing requires a minimum of 12 per colour, which breaks the zero-inventory idea.
The 20% dropship saving sits behind the VIP membership, an extra cost.
Right for
Clothing brands wanting labels, embroidery and packaging beyond plain print
Wrong for
Sellers wanting pure on-demand without any minimum quantities
United StatesFree account; per-item prices; optional VIP membership for dropship discounts
Coimbatore apparel printer with cash on delivery across India
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Qikink offers a Calculate Your Profit tool and a monthly cashback of 4-10% on order volume, with no credit card needed to start selling. Its catalogue covers apparel, bags and drinkware with DTG, DTF, sublimation and embroidery.
The company names founder Sivaraman S. and no parent company. Orders go out under the seller's brand, and the cash on delivery claim is made for India only.
What stands out
India delivery
Cash on delivery
White-label
Where it costs you
Integrations named are only Shopify, WooCommerce and an Open API.
Prices are in the Help section rather than on the home page.
Right for
Indian sellers who want cash-on-delivery orders, white-label shipping and many print methods
Wrong for
Sellers whose customers are mostly located outside of India
IndiaFree to start, no credit card; product pricing in Help section; monthly cashback by volume
Print-on-demand service for apparel, drinkware and home goods
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Teelaunch positions itself as covering t-shirts, branded merchandise and promotional items, and its public API documentation is linked from the page. Order Desk is among the named connections.
The calls to action are Get started and a demo video, so a prospective seller may learn the cost only after registering. The page text available to us was truncated, so some detail may sit lower down, and the site makes no open-source or self-hosting statement.
What stands out
No inventory
Marketplace links
API docs
Where it costs you
No prices, currency or plan terms appear on the page that was read.
The location, owner and parent company are not stated.
Right for
Etsy and TikTok sellers who want a broad catalogue handed off entirely
Wrong for
Sellers who must compare unit costs before signing up
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown on the site; sign-up button and demo video only
Fulfilment service for custom apparel, drinkware and wall art
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Gooten produces and ships orders on the seller's behalf, and its tagline is You Sell, We Fulfill. The Shopify link is described as a free app in the Shopify App Store, though the service itself carries no stated terms.
Exclusive products set it apart from catalogues made only of common blanks. Because costs are not shown, the Sample option is the practical way to see what a finished item costs.
What stands out
Fulfilment
Exclusive products
Custom API
Where it costs you
The page offers Contact Sales but displays no prices or plans.
No location or owner is stated beyond the Gooten footer.
Right for
Sellers wanting sample orders and a custom API alongside a wide product catalogue
Wrong for
Buyers who want transparent pricing before speaking to sales
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown on the site; sign-up, sample and sales contact options
Single-invoice supplier for screen printing, DTG and embroidery
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Screen printing reaches 8 colours, DTG and sublimation allow unlimited colours, and embroidery reaches 15. The page cites five US fulfilment facilities and lists supplier or partner locations in Los Angeles, Dallas, Toronto, Exeter, Prague, Zhejiang and Melbourne.
Accounts start from a Request an account link, and the page does not say whether registration costs anything, so setup cost has to be asked about. The pricing page names no trial.
What stands out
Several print types
Single invoice
API
Where it costs you
Its estimator shows no amounts on the page and excludes shipping.
Ownership is unclear: the page shows only a copyright line.
Right for
Merchandise sellers who need screen printing and embroidery under one invoice
Wrong for
Sellers who need instant price visibility and quick self-serve setup
Not stated by the vendorPer-piece estimate tool without amounts shown; account request required; shipping extra
US fulfilment centres for DTG and DTF printing at volume
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Gearment lists over 100 products and a free mockup generator. Named connections are WooCommerce, Customily and the Gearment API, with Branding Customization and Warehousing & Fulfillment among its services.
The wide profit margins and bulk policy it mentions come without any numbers. Treat the production-volume claim as vendor-stated only, and ask for a rate card before moving any orders; the site offers Get started sign-up links but no pricing page to compare against.
What stands out
DTG and DTF
US warehouses
FBA service
Where it costs you
No prices, plans or currency appear on the site.
The privacy policy gives no registered address or country.
Right for
Cross-border sellers wanting FBA printing, platform labels and US warehousing
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated company location and visible prices
Not stated by the vendorNo prices on the site; bulk policy and margins mentioned without figures
Marketplace of print partners with a free plan and 2,000+ products
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Printify sets no cap on designs, offers a profit calculator and a free design tool, and lists Etsy, TikTok and Amazon as channels alongside a Shopify logo. Premium adds 10 stores, Printify Connect order management and AI Mockups.
Enterprise offers a dedicated account manager, branded customer support and custom API integration. Yearly billing lowers the Premium rate by 36%, and major credit cards are charged in USD, EUR, CAD, GBP or AUD.
What stands out
Free plan
2,000+ products
Print network
Where it costs you
Premium discounts need a paid monthly fee, so the free plan prices stay higher.
No free trial is mentioned for the paid tier.
Right for
Sellers testing many products on a free plan across several stores
Wrong for
Buyers who want one named printer instead of a routed network
United StatesFree plan; Premium billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise custom
Large catalogue with a free plan and a 14-day Growth trial
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Growth costs a monthly fee, with up to 33% off product pricing, 9% off branding and 25% off samples, plus a 14-day trial. Add-on prices are published: labels at $0.99 or $2.49, premium images at $1 each, and extra embroidery placements at $2.95.
The Free plan sells on 20+ platforms, includes 10 Quick Stores and gives sample orders at 20% off, while Enterprise adds a managed store build and a Success Manager.
What stands out
Free plan
Growth trial
Embroidery
Where it costs you
Shipping and taxes are billed separately from the per-item price.
Add-ons such as labels and embroidery digitization raise the per-order total.
Right for
Growing stores that want sample discounts and a clear add-on price list
Wrong for
Buyers who need to see the supplier's legal entity first
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Growth plan billed monthly; Enterprise custom; per-item prices published
Creator shop builder with merchandise, memberships and a free plan
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Fourthwall bundles manufacturing, shipping, a mobile app and memberships through partners, and lists Klaviyo, Mailchimp and Etsy as compatible tools.
Pro adds 100 GB of digital storage, unlimited team members and a free .store domain, against 5 GB and two members on Free. A 2.9% plus 30 cent fee applies to US card transactions on every plan, and the pages read state no company location.
What stands out
Creator shops
Memberships
Free plan
Where it costs you
The free plan keeps a 5% fee on digital products and memberships.
The catalogue of over 200 products is small next to network suppliers.
Right for
Creators who want a branded shop, memberships and merchandise in one dashboard
Wrong for
Sellers who mainly want a deep production catalogue
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Pro plan billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise custom
Book, magazine and calendar printing with a Print API
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Print on Demand Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Lulu connects to Shopify, Wix and WooCommerce, offers a Print API and claims access to 40,000+ book retailers with drop-shipping to 200+ countries and territories.
Sellers upload an interior and cover PDF or use the built-in cover designer, choosing full-colour or black-and-white printing and standard or premium paper. The site states SOC 2 compliance. Volume discounts are only available by contacting Lulu, so larger print runs have no listed rate.
What stands out
Books
Print API
Retail channels
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows seven product types without a single price.
No headquarters or owner is stated on the pages read.
Right for
Authors and publishers who need print-on-demand books with retail distribution
Wrong for
Apparel and merchandise sellers who need t-shirts or mugs
Not stated by the vendorNo plan prices on the site; per-copy printing; volume discounts through contact
Print on demand software lets sellers upload designs, link a store and have a partner print, pack and ship each order on demand, so no stock is held. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 6 published against 7 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Prodigi, Apliiq, Qikink, Printify, Printful, Fourthwall.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The vendors on this page are based in 4 countries (Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Print on demand software: what each order really costs
A print on demand product price is built from the blank, the print, shipping and any plan fee, and vendors show only some of those. Printful publishes per-item prices that cover one print placement, then bills shipping, taxes and extras like embroidery set-up separately. Gearment, Teelaunch and Gooten show no prices at all, and Prodigi calls itself free to use without listing item costs.
Because the four kinds of charge sit in different places, a plan comparison tells you little. Before choosing, order the same sample product from three suppliers to your own address, record the item price, shipping and any add-on, and compare the totals instead of the headline plan fee. Repeat for a second, heavier product.
Order one identical sample from at least three suppliers
Record item price, shipping and add-ons on each
Compare the landed total, not the plan fee
Print network or single printer: who actually makes the item
Some names in this market are marketplaces that route orders, others run their own sites, and the difference affects delivery times and quality. Printify describes a network of 141 facilities and Prodigi names more than 50 print partners plus in-house sites in the UK, EU and USA. Scalable Press combines several suppliers on one invoice, while Gearment describes three US fulfilment centres.
A network gives choice and regional printing, but a sizeable network may mean the same product comes from different makers, which is an inference worth testing with samples. A single printer may give steadier output but narrower reach. Ask each vendor which facility prints your item, whether you can pick it, and what happens when one site is busy. Compare the turnaround times each vendor states, such as Scalable Press listing 72 hours for sublimation and 3-7 days for screen printing.
Ask which facility prints a given product
Check whether you can choose the print partner
Compare delivery times to your main customer countries
Free plans, paid tiers and memberships in print on demand software
Several suppliers charge a monthly fee for lower item prices, so the question is how many orders justify it. Printify's Premium tier adds up to 20% off all products, Printful's Growth plan gives up to 33% off product pricing and becomes free after $12K in yearly sales, and Apliiq's VIP membership saves 20% on dropship orders. Fourthwall, Printify and Printful all offer a free plan.
Pixels links a membership page without showing its cost. Work out your expected monthly orders and average blank cost, then check whether the discount outweighs the fee; below that volume, stay on the free level. Remember that card processing fees, such as Fourthwall's 2.9% plus 30 cents on US card payments, apply on every plan and do not shrink with a higher tier.
Estimate monthly orders before paying for a tier
Calculate break-even between fee and discount
Ask what a membership costs before signing up
Products and channels: matching a supplier to what you sell
A supplier with 2,000 products is useless if it lacks the item you sell. Lulu Direct handles books, magazines and calendars, Contrado works with custom fabrics, Qikink serves India with cash on delivery, and Apliiq offers embroidery, woven labels and patches. Prodigi leads with wall art and prints. Check also which stores connect: Prodigi names six store platforms, while Contrado names only Shopify and an API.
A great catalogue behind a missing integration costs you manual order entry every day. List your products and channels first, then filter suppliers, and test one order end to end. Also check minimum runs: Apliiq sets 12 per colour for screen printing, Contrado sets no minimum order quantity, and Qikink lists more than 10 print methods, so the method you pick changes the limits you face.
List your products and sales channels first
Confirm the exact integration for your store platform
Check minimum quantities per print method
What goes wrong most often when buying print on demand software
Choosing a supplier by plan fee while ignoring shipping and add-on charges that decide the margin on each order.
Trusting a catalogue count without checking whether the exact blank, size and print method you need is available.
Skipping sample orders, then learning about print placement and colour problems from customers instead of from your own parcel.
Signing up for a paid membership before you have enough monthly orders for the discount to cover it.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best print on demand software in 2026?
Prodigi leads our ranking of 13. Prodigi tells sellers it is 100% free to use, with no set-up fees, monthly subscriptions or hidden costs, which keeps the first ninety days cheap.
Orders go to sites near the customer, drawn from 50+ print partners and in-house plants across the UK, EU and USA. The site lists no product prices or trial, so margins only show inside the account, and no headquarters or owner is named.
Which print on demand tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Prodigi: Free to use; no set-up fees or subscriptions; item prices not listed on the site.
Fourthwall: Free plan; Pro plan billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise custom.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free print on demand tool?
Prodigi, Apliiq, Qikink, Printify, Printful, Fourthwall offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these print on demand software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 8, North America 3, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1:
Prodigi: Not stated by the vendor.
Pixels: United States.
Contrado: United Kingdom.
Apliiq: United States.
Qikink: India.
Teelaunch: Not stated by the vendor.
Gooten: Not stated by the vendor.
Scalable Press: Not stated by the vendor.
Gearment: Not stated by the vendor.
Printify: United States.
Printful: Not stated by the vendor.
Fourthwall: Not stated by the vendor.
Lulu Direct: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Prodigi?
Pixels and Contrado are the next two on this page. Pixels is for Artists who want a branded store and phone apps from one independent owner; Contrado is for Designers selling fabric-led clothing, home goods and bags under their own label.
Who should not buy Prodigi?
Sellers who need a published price list before registering. The home page lists no product prices, so unit margins cannot be checked before sign-up..
Vendors who think their print on demand software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.