Podcast recording software ranges from browser studios that capture each guest separately to desktop workstations that only record what is plugged in.
This guide ranks eleven options on setup hours, the real bill once editing, hosting or extra track hours are needed, how recordings leave, whether a small independent maker stands behind it, and which kind of show it suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What podcast recording software does
Podcast recording software captures spoken audio or video from a host and remote guests, ideally as separate tracks, and then lets the producer clean, edit and export the episode.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Browser studio for live, low-latency remote audio recording
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Cleanfeed captures the session live at the host end, and its FAQ rules out the double-ender method that needs syncing later. That suits shows that monitor the conversation as it happens.
The cost is that nothing is published, edited or hosted here, and Lite stops at two guests. A subsidised Pro rate exists for personal, charity and educational use. Cinema adds 2K video, but it is priced yearly per seat.
What stands out
Remote audio
Live recording
Browser studio
Where it costs you
Separate tracks per guest and stereo begin at Pro, since Lite hosts two guests in mono.
Studio hosting needs a supported desktop browser, since Firefox and Safari are guest-only.
Video appears only in Cinema, a yearly plan sized for broadcast work.
Right for
Audio interview shows that want live, low-latency recording without a subscription habit
Wrong for
Video podcasters or shows needing built-in editing and hosting
United KingdomFree Lite plan with commercial use; Pro monthly; Cinema yearly per seat; prices published
Studio-quality remote video and audio recording with built-in editing
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Riverside's pricing page runs from a free plan through Pro and Grow to a Webinar tier, and each step bundles things a pure recorder does not need: social scheduling, newsletters, a creator website, webinars of up to 100 registrants.
A buyer who only wants a studio pays for that surface anyway. Annual billing lowers each tier. Business adds unlimited studios and downloads, but its price is not published.
What stands out
Remote video
Separate tracks
Text-based editing
Where it costs you
Separate-track downloads are capped by plan, at 15 hours on Pro and 20 on Grow.
The free plan carries a Riverside watermark and tops out at 720p video.
Business pricing is not shown and needs a conversation with sales.
Right for
Video-first podcasters who want recording, clips and hosting under one login
Wrong for
Audio-only shows or anyone who dislikes monthly caps on tracks
United StatesFree plan with limited multitrack hours; Pro and Grow billed monthly or yearly; Business on request
Free browser and phone recorder with AI editing and hosting
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Zencastr moved its public pitch to phone-first recording, headed 'Pro podcasting, now in your pocket'. The pricing page shows one free plan with six participants, local recording with cloud backup, unlimited track storage, a chat-driven producer for edits, and live streaming at 1080p.
Enterprise is custom. The gap is the middle: no published paid tier sits between those two, so a team wanting a contract must go to sales.
What stands out
Free recording
Phone studio
AI producer
Where it costs you
Terms place the legacy paid podcasting suite under separate terms from the current service.
Only two tiers appear, free and enterprise, so there is no mid-sized plan to buy.
The home page offers payment for helping improve its AI, which means reading what that gives up.
Right for
Solo creators who want a no-cost studio, editing chat and hosting in one place
Wrong for
Teams needing a mid-priced plan with a contract and support terms
United StatesFree plan listed with enterprise tier on sales request; legacy paid suite under separate terms
Spoken-word audio editor with recording and local transcription
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The product page offers three tiers with a perpetual licence or monthly and yearly subscriptions, so a buyer can choose ownership over rental. Perpetual version 2 licences cover updates only to 2.99.
Transcription runs locally and supports 99 languages, drawing from hours that depend on tier. A trial downloads from the account and expires without a charge. The licence check needs an online moment shortly after each monthly renewal, which matters on a laptop used offline in the field.
What stands out
Audio editor
Local transcription
Journalism
Where it costs you
The product page shows no hosted guest studio for remote interviews.
Local transcription hours are set per tier and lapse unused.
Activation must happen online within three days of each monthly renewal.
Right for
Journalists and audio storytellers who edit long interviews and deliver broadcast loudness
Wrong for
Video-first creators or shows that need a hosted remote studio
DenmarkPerpetual licence or monthly or yearly subscription in three tiers; time-limited trial
General-purpose audio workstation with a long evaluation period
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
For podcast recording, REAPER sits at the do-it-yourself end of this list. Cockos Incorporated sells a discounted licence at 60 USD for personal use, non-profits, education or income up to 20,000 USD, and a commercial licence at 225 USD.
You can test it for 60 days with every function active. It records and edits on your own machine, but guest invitations, hosting and show organisation have to come from other products.
What stands out
Audio workstation
One-time licence
Multitrack
Where it costs you
Free upgrades stop at version 8.99, so a later major release would need a new purchase.
Remote guests, show templates and hosting are not part of the product, so a podcaster adds other services alongside it.
Once income passes 20,000 USD a year the 225 USD commercial licence applies instead of the 60 USD one.
Right for
Solo podcasters and small studios who record and mix locally and want a one-off cost
Wrong for
Hosts who need guests to join from a browser link without extra tools
United StatesTwo published licence prices by revenue; 60-day evaluation
Open source multitrack workstation for recording, editing and mixing
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
In this ranking Ardour is the pay-what-you-like option for a local recording desk. The download is a ready-built copy for Linux, macOS or Windows, and the FAQ says you may pay as little as US$1.
The code is licensed under the GNU Public License v2. No company country is stated, and the home page credits copyright to Paul Davis. It records, edits and mixes on your own computer, so everything else a show needs comes from other tools.
What stands out
Open source
Multitrack
Linux, macOS, Windows
Where it costs you
Remote guests, transcript editing and publishing are missing, so a podcast workflow needs separate services around it.
The project calls building from source challenging and unsupported, which leaves the ready-built download as the practical route.
The home page names audio engineers as the core users, so a first-time podcaster meets a studio-style interface.
Right for
Podcasters who record in person or locally and want to pay what they choose
Wrong for
Interview shows that need guests to dial in and a finished transcript
Not stated by the vendorOpen source; pre-built download at a price you choose; source code to build yourself
Free open source audio editor and recorder for desktop
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The Audacity 4 page states a free GPL v3 licence, auditable and redistributable, and says older project files open directly. Its footer credits Muse Group and contributors, and its site mentions a cloud saving option.
The promoted plugins, such as a voice clean bundle, come through MuseHub, a separate distributor. A podcaster using it should expect to do cuts and levelling by hand.
What stands out
Open source
Local editing
Desktop
Where it costs you
It records only on your own machine, so remote guests need another tool.
Its promoted plugins are distributed through MuseHub, outside the free editor itself.
It offers no transcript-based editing or publishing.
Right for
Solo hosts who want a no-cost local editor with an open licence
Wrong for
Remote interview shows or teams editing together in the cloud
Not stated by the vendorFree open source download; promoted plugins distributed through MuseHub
Automatic post-production for levels, noise reduction and loudness targets
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Billing is by the duration of audio sent for processing, with a three-minute minimum per production, and recurring credits do not roll over while one-time credits never expire.
The tool connects to external services, offers watch folders and an API, and lists a CLI, so it fits a scripted pipeline. Team accounts, priority processing and manual invoicing sit on higher plans.
What stands out
Post-production
Audio cleanup
API
Where it costs you
It does not record, so it needs a recorder in front of it.
Free output carries an Auphonic jingle and multitrack productions are limited to under 20 minutes.
Speech recognition and automatic show notes are not in the free plan.
Right for
Podcasters who record elsewhere and want repeatable loudness and cleanup
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a place to record guests live
AustriaFree monthly processing allowance; recurring or one-time credits by hour
Transcript-based editor with a recording room and AI tools
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Here Descript is the option that joins recording to editing. Descript, Inc. of San Francisco offers a free plan with 60 media minutes a month, then Hobbyist at 16 USD per person billed annually, Creator at 24 and Business at 50.
Rooms hold 10 participants on every tier. Because hours and AI credits are counted per person, the plan you pick depends on how many episodes each editor produces monthly, and the Limited labels on some AI tools decide whether a lower tier is enough.
What stands out
Text-based editing
Recording rooms
AI tools
Where it costs you
Rooms recording hours are 2, 5, 15 and 25 across the tiers, so a weekly interview show can reach the cap.
Media hours (10, 30, 40) and AI credits are metered per person, which raises the bill for a team.
Several AI tools are marked Limited on the lower plans.
Right for
Interview shows that want recording, transcript editing and AI clean-up in one subscription
Wrong for
Teams that want one flat price for several editors on the cheapest tier
United StatesFree plan with 60 media minutes; paid per person monthly or yearly; enterprise on request
Cloud studio recording separate tracks, now part of Descript
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
SquadCast is a pure remote-recording choice. Every customer records each person in a separate file and can download local WAV and MP3 with cloud backup, whatever the plan.
Free gives 1 recording hour per editor monthly and 1 show; Hobbyist at 16 USD per person on annual billing gives 10 hours and 5 shows. Added time is billed at 5 USD an hour, and a grace period lets a session run on. Since the brand now sits inside Descript, check which pricing applies to you.
What stands out
Remote recording
Progressive upload
Part of Descript
Where it costs you
The pricing page says SquadCast has joined Descript, so its plans now follow Descript pricing.
Free allows one recording hour per editor each month, with watermarked 720p exports.
Extra recording time costs 5 USD per hour and rollover stops at twice the monthly allowance.
Right for
Remote interview hosts who want each guest saved as a separate local WAV file
Wrong for
Shows that record long sessions every week without paying for added hours
United StatesFree plan with one recording hour; paid per person monthly or yearly; extra hours at a set rate
Browser recording and speech clean-up from Adobe, with Studio in beta
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Podcast Recording Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product page pitches recording, transcript editing and one-click speech cleanup, and says guests record to individual tracks even on a weak connection. Its upsell is Firefly Pro with 4,000 generative credits a month.
A podcaster wanting only a recorder pays for a bundle, and the page does not say what the entry tier covers. Studio's beta label is worth weighing before a weekly show depends on it.
What stands out
Browser studio
Speech enhancement
Beta
Where it costs you
Studio carries a beta label on Adobe's own page.
Premium is bundled with a Firefly Pro plan built around generative credits.
The page does not state what the entry tier includes.
Right for
Existing Adobe subscribers who want quick browser recording and voice cleanup
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a podcast-only plan without a wider creative bundle
United StatesPremium access sits inside a Firefly Pro subscription; trial offered; Studio marked beta
Podcast recording software captures spoken audio or video from a host and remote guests, ideally as separate tracks, and then lets the producer clean, edit and export the episode. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 8 of the 11 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Cleanfeed, Riverside, Zencastr, REAPER, Audacity, Auphonic, Descript, SquadCast.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 5 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Ardour, Audacity. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
How much does podcast recording software cost beyond the headline plan?
The headline plan rarely includes the hours you will use. On Riverside, Pro stops separate-track downloads after 15 hours and Grow after 20, while the entry plan allows a two-hour multitrack trial marked with a watermark. SquadCast, now part of Descript, gives one recording hour a month on free and charges for extra recording time by the hour.
Descript counts media hours and AI credits for each seat. Cleanfeed Lite may be used commercially at no cost, yet it hosts a pair of speakers. Count your monthly recording hours and guests, then check what happens when you pass the cap before you compare prices. A tool that stops a live session at the limit is a different risk from one that bills the overage.
Add up recording hours and guests for a typical month
Ask whether extra hours are billed or the session simply stops
Check whether separate tracks are capped on the plan you want
Which podcast recording software records each guest locally?
Recording on the guest's side protects against a bad connection, and vendors differ on how they do it. Cleanfeed captures the call live in the host's browser instead of syncing files later, so the host's machine and line carry the session. Zencastr lists local recording and automatic cloud backups, and SquadCast lets you download local WAV recordings plus a VoIP backup.
Adobe Podcast captures each speaker as an individual 16-bit 48 kHz WAV track, though its Studio is labelled beta. Audacity and Ardour only record what is plugged into the machine in front of you, which is fine for a solo host and useless for an interview across continents. Decide whether you need a recorder that survives a dropped call, and test it by pulling a guest's connection.
Find out where the recording is made: host, guest or both
Download a test file and listen for gaps after a bad connection
Confirm the file format and sample rate you get
Can you own your podcast recording software outright?
Some tools sell ownership instead of a monthly rate. REAPER charges once, at one of two levels set by your revenue, and covers upgrades through version 8.99. Hindenburg Pro offers a perpetual licence beside subscriptions, with updates to 2.99 on version 2. Audacity is free under GPL v3, and Ardour is released under GPL v2 with a pay-what-you-choose ready-built download.
None of those records remote guests, so ownership means a second tool for interviews. Subscriptions such as Riverside and Descript bundle the guest studio but stop working when you stop paying. Weigh the one-off price against a recorder you rent, and count the second tool you will need for guests.
List which parts you want to own and which you can rent
Check what a licence includes in updates and for how long
Pair an owned editor with a recorder for guests if needed
Does podcast recording software include editing and hosting?
Many tools stretch past recording, and each stretch changes the price. Riverside adds hosting, newsletters and webinars across Pro, Grow and Webinar. Descript is an editor first and adds Rooms for recording. Auphonic does not record; it levels, cleans and measures loudness after you have the files. Zencastr's free plan advertises hosting and an editing assistant you talk to.
Adobe Podcast adds speech cleanup and sells its Premium level through Firefly Pro. Hindenburg Pro adds local transcription on its Plus and Premium tiers. Decide whether you want one bundle or a recorder plus a cleanup step, and note which parts you would use every week, since a bundle you only half use is the dearest option.
Choose one weekly editing step and test it on a real episode
Check whether hosting is bundled or sold separately
Compare the cost of a bundle to a recorder plus a cleanup tool
What goes wrong most often when buying podcast recording software
Choosing a recorder by its free plan without checking the participant, hour and watermark limits on a real episode.
Treating an editor such as Audacity, Ardour or REAPER as if it could record a remote guest without another tool.
Skipping a test with a poor connection, so the first dropped call is on a live interview.
Paying for a bundle with webinars and social scheduling when the show only needs a studio and cleanup.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best podcast recording software in 2026?
Cleanfeed takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Cleanfeed LLP calls itself a small company, started in the UK by two broadcast engineers. Lite costs nothing and permits commercial use, with unlimited recording time but two guests and mono remote audio.
Pro lifts that to 32 guests, stereo and separate tracks. It records audio only below the Cinema tier, and the host's browser carries the recording, so the host's machine is the weak point.
Which podcast recording tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Cleanfeed: Free Lite plan with commercial use; Pro monthly; Cinema yearly per seat; prices published.
Riverside: Free plan with limited multitrack hours; Pro and Grow billed monthly or yearly; Business on request.
Zencastr: Free plan listed with enterprise tier on sales request; legacy paid suite under separate terms.
REAPER: Two published licence prices by revenue; 60-day evaluation.
Audacity: Free open source download; promoted plugins distributed through MuseHub.
Auphonic: Free monthly processing allowance; recurring or one-time credits by hour.
Descript: Free plan with 60 media minutes; paid per person monthly or yearly; enterprise on request.
SquadCast: Free plan with one recording hour; paid per person monthly or yearly; extra hours at a set rate.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free podcast recording tool?
Cleanfeed, Riverside, Zencastr, Audacity, Auphonic, Descript, SquadCast have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these podcast recording software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2.
Cleanfeed: United Kingdom.
Riverside: United States.
Zencastr: United States.
Hindenburg Pro: Denmark.
REAPER: United States.
Ardour: Not stated by the vendor.
Audacity: Not stated by the vendor.
Auphonic: Austria.
Descript: United States.
SquadCast: United States.
Adobe Podcast: United States.
Which podcast recording tools are open source?
Ardour, Audacity.
What should you use instead of Cleanfeed?
Second is Riverside, which suits Video-first podcasters who want recording, clips and hosting under one login. Third is Zencastr, which suits Solo creators who want a no-cost studio, editing chat and hosting in one place.
Who should not buy Cleanfeed?
Video podcasters or shows needing built-in editing and hosting. Separate tracks per guest and stereo begin at Pro, since Lite hosts two guests in mono..
Sell podcast recording software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.