User testing tools let product and design teams watch real people use a prototype, website or app, then collect recordings, answers and task results.
This guide ranks twelve platforms on first-90-day effort, the real price once panel participants are added, how recordings leave, and whether you can buy without a sales call.
A vendor may pay to be more visible here. The wording of its entry, criticism included, stays ours, and no click on a vendor link pays us. How that works.
In short
What user testing tools software does
User testing tools recruit participants, set tasks, record screens and voices or click paths, and summarise the findings so design and product teams can fix usability problems before launch.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the user testing tool was built for. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Austrian recorded-test service that sells panel testers by the month or year
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Starter costs $49 a month for 3 panel testers and 1 test setup, Plus costs $249 for 10 testers and 3 setups, and Flex is $1,100 a year for 30 testers with unlimited setups and members.
Extra testers on Flex cost $45 each. The trial runs 30 days with 2 panel testers and needs no card. The vendor promises a replacement when a tester is unsatisfactory. Flex testers expire at year end, so buy to a forecast.
What stands out
Recorded tests
Panel testers
Monthly billing
Where it costs you
Panel testers expire at the end of each billing cycle, so an unused allowance on a monthly plan is lost.
The plan table lists recorded unmoderated tests only, with no live interview mode among the plan features.
Right for
Small product teams that want recorded sessions on a fixed monthly bill
Wrong for
Teams needing live moderated interviews or large quantitative samples
AustriaPublished monthly and yearly plans; 30-day trial with 2 panel testers
Greek unmoderated testing suite priced in euros, from a free plan upward
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The company address in its terms is Moschato, Greece, and Greek law governs the contract with courts in Athens.
Growth costs €83 a month billed yearly (€996 a year) and adds 5 interviews a month and 20 GB of recordings; Business costs €659 a month with SSO and 5 seats. Extra responses and seats are sold as add-ons, so the sticker price understates a busy team's bill.
What stands out
Free plan
Prototype tests
Euro pricing
Where it costs you
The Free plan stops at 10 responses a month, one seat and five blocks per project, which only covers a pilot.
The vendor does not state its participant pool size, and the AI features on Business are labelled coming soon.
Right for
Designers who test Figma prototypes and want a euro price list
Wrong for
Buyers who need a documented panel size before choosing a vendor
GreeceFree plan; Growth and Business plans published in euros; Enterprise quoted
Bratislava toolkit with card sorting, tree tests, recordings and interviews
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The homepage lists card sorting, tree testing, preference and five-second tests, surveys, recordings, mobile app tests, interviews and an onsite recruiting widget, plus an own-participant database.
On Free, one study can run at a time and card sorts and tree tests are capped at 10 or 3 responses. Business lifts that to 350 responses a month, expandable to 750, with 12 months of retention.
What stands out
Free plan
Card sorting
Own database
Where it costs you
The Business price did not render when read, so the paid entry cost is unknown.
The Free plan hides study results after 14 days and has no access to the User Panel.
Right for
Researchers who want information architecture tests and interviews under one roof
Wrong for
Anyone who must budget a paid plan from the public page alone
SlovakiaFree plan; Business price absent from the page when read; Custom quoted
Australian quick-test platform, formerly UsabilityHub, with a free plan
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
The contact page gives an office in Collingwood, Victoria, and the homepage cites 690,000+ verified participants. Free offers 3 seats; Growth gives 5 seats and unlimited self-recruited responses.
Panel credits never expire and bulk purchases are discounted, but no per-credit price appears on the page. Recruiting your own users costs nothing, which makes the Free plan a workable way to test the interface with a handful of invited customers before paying for panel credits or a plan.
What stands out
Free plan
Five-second tests
Pay-per-response panel
Where it costs you
Panel responses are excluded from every plan and priced separately, so the plan price understates a recruited study.
Growth allows five in-depth studies a month, which limits teams that run research continuously.
Right for
Designers who run short design-validation tests and recruit from a large panel
Wrong for
Teams that want recruitment folded into one predictable subscription
AustraliaFree plan; Growth plan published monthly; panel responses billed separately; Enterprise on request
London-registered usability platform selling yearly credits against a 1M tester panel
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Solo costs $3,000 a year for 50 credits at $60 each, Team costs $5,500 for 100 at $55, and Enterprise costs $15,000 for 300 at $50.
The Free plan offers 3 credits a month, one admin and testers you bring yourself. AI summaries and sentiment analysis begin on Team. The site cites 40+ languages and a Non-English Panel from Team upward.
What stands out
Free plan
Credit packs
40+ languages
Where it costs you
Moderated tests and surveys start on Solo, and tree tests and card sorts start on Team.
Every paid plan is billed yearly, so the cheapest panel access still needs a $3,000 commitment.
Right for
Agencies that buy tester credits in bulk and test in many languages
Wrong for
Teams wanting a month-to-month plan or a published per-test price
United KingdomFree plan with 3 credits a month; paid plans published yearly; Custom quoted
Live and recorded research sessions with observers, sold as yearly session packs
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Freelance holds 10 sessions for one seat, Team holds 100 sessions for $1,782 a year with 10 collaborators, and Insights Hub holds 300 for $4,122. Guests are unlimited on every plan.
Pay-as-you-go recruitment costs $49 per participant. After cancelling, paid-plan recordings stay for 90 days before deletion, so export what you need before ending the contract. The trial keeps its own recordings for only 30 days.
What stands out
Moderated sessions
Observer room
Session packs
Where it costs you
Only annual billing is offered, and each plan has a fixed session count that extra packs must top up.
Recruitment is unavailable during the trial, so panel quality cannot be tested before purchase.
Right for
Research teams that run live interviews while several stakeholders observe and take notes
Wrong for
Buyers who need a panel included or a monthly contract
United StatesPublished yearly plans by session count; 60-day trial of 5 sessions
Wellington vendor of card sorting and tree testing with credit-based recruitment
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Seats and participant responses per study are unlimited on both plans. Standard Recruitment costs one credit per participant, larger credit bundles lower the price per credit, and managed recruitment is quoted.
At $199 a month for five studies a year, Starter equals about $2,388 annually, an inference from the page figures. The site lists SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001 and 27701 certification.
What stands out
Tree testing
Card sorting
Recruitment credits
Where it costs you
Starter allows only five launched studies a year, so cost per study is steep for frequent testers.
The homepage cites both 10M+ and 20M+ verified participants, which makes the panel size unclear.
Right for
Information architecture researchers running card sorting and tree tests with large samples
Wrong for
Teams that run weekly studies on a small budget
New ZealandStarter plan published yearly; Enterprise quoted; recruitment credits sold separately
London-contracted prototype and AI-moderated research platform with undisclosed prices
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The vendor states that customer research data is not used to train its AI. Access control, private workspaces, SSO and an MCP server are listed.
A Try Maze for free button is shown, but its length and scope are not described on the pricing page. Because panel access carries limits on all plans, ask what recruitment volume the quoted plan includes.
What stands out
Prototype testing
AI moderator
Panel
Where it costs you
Seat and study limits are left blank in the comparison table, so cost and capacity need a sales call.
The panel size differs between pages, with over 5 million on pricing and over 6 million on the homepage.
Right for
Product teams that test Figma prototypes and want AI-run interviews
Wrong for
Buyers who need to see a price before talking to sales
United KingdomPricing on request; the pricing page shows no amounts
Self-serve yearly plans plus pay-per-use panel with a 7M+ participant claim
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Seats are not charged, concurrent studies are not limited, and the panel covers 50+ countries by the vendor's count. A moderated interview adds $55 for each extra 30 minutes.
Card sorting, tree testing and surveys are quoted rather than listed. The footer shows SOC, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 27701:2019 badges, with no documents behind them on the page we read.
What stands out
Panel credits
Moderated
Unmoderated
Where it costs you
Self-serve is capped at 50 sessions a year across all methods, and more needs Enterprise.
The FAQ promises a trial of a plan called Grow that the pricing section does not list.
Right for
Teams that buy occasional moderated and unmoderated studies with panel testers
Wrong for
Teams that want participants bundled into a fixed subscription
United StatesPublished yearly self-serve plans; panel credits extra; Enterprise quoted
Miami-governed testing panel with per-session buying and self-recruitment tiers
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The vendor claims 2M+ participants in 150+ countries and 60+ languages, and lists website, prototype, accessibility and content tests in moderated, unmoderated and AI-moderated modes. Premium gives 5 seats and Advanced 10, both with unlimited self-recruited participants.
Annual billing applies to Premium. Ask for a written quote that states which of the two published rates applies, and whether the Buy 1 Get 1 offer for your own users shown on the page applies to your plan.
What stands out
Per-session pricing
Self-recruit plans
AI moderation
Where it costs you
Premium is shown at two prices and Enterprise at two session rates on the same page.
No trial is listed, so evaluation starts with a demo booked through a form.
Right for
Researchers who need a panel in many languages and buy by the session
Wrong for
Buyers who need one unambiguous price list before a demo
United StatesPublished per-session and monthly self-recruitment plans; Limitless quoted; demo by form
Diary-study and field-research platform whose pricing page shows only plan names
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Core gives flex seats, unlimited concurrent studies and a choice of dscout's panel or your own. Usability testing offers heat maps, task success metrics and automated transcripts, and an AI Studio drafts a study from a URL or Figma prototype.
The legal list names a trial access agreement, so a trial exists, though its terms are not on the pricing page.
What stands out
Diary studies
AI moderation
Managed projects
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no amount and no panel size, so budget and reach both come from sales.
Managed delivery for concurrent projects sits on the two higher tiers, not on Core.
Right for
Researchers running multi-day diary or in-the-wild studies with managed delivery
Wrong for
Teams wanting quick, cheap prototype checks with a posted price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; Core, Select and Enterprise tiers
Quote-only enterprise research platform now signed in under the Auros name
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best User Testing Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A trial can be requested before an annual subscription, and a free test returns a video of a real person reviewing a website, usually within an hour.
Americas customers fall under Delaware law and others under English law. The Figma plugin is included with Team-based Unlimited and is an add-on elsewhere. Auros's role in the contract is not explained on the page.
What stands out
Enterprise
Quote only
UserZoom
Where it costs you
No price appears anywhere on the plans page, only a Request pricing button for each edition.
Two platforms, UserTesting and UserZoom, remain visible under one Auros sign-in.
Right for
Large organisations standardising research across many teams under a negotiated contract
Wrong for
Small teams that need a published price and a self-serve start
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; trial on request
User testing tools recruit participants, set tasks, record screens and voices or click paths, and summarise the findings so design and product teams can fix usability problems before launch. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 9 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Userbrain, Useberry, UXtweak, Lyssna, Userfeel, Lookback, Optimal Workshop, PlaybookUX, Userlytics.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Look at the contracting entity: these 12 vendors sit in 8 countries, split by region as Europe 5, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 2. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Choosing between recordings, interviews and structure tests
Start with the question, because the tools split into three shapes. Userbrain delivers one recorded session per panel tester. Lookback and dscout centre on live conversations, and dscout adds diary studies over several days. Optimal Workshop, UXtweak and Lyssna cover structure questions through card sorting, tree testing and first-click tests with larger samples. Maze and Useberry sit between them with prototype tasks and click metrics.
A team that buys a recording service to learn how people categorise its menu will get ten videos and no tree-test numbers. Write the three decisions the next release depends on, mark each as a why-question or a where-question, and pick the tool whose strongest method matches the larger group. If both groups are large, plan two tools or a platform such as UXtweak that holds both kinds of test, and check the Free plan limits before committing.
List the decisions the next release depends on
Mark each question as a why-question or a where-question
Match the method to the tool, not the brand
Reading the price once participants are added
Platform fees and participant fees are separate lines at most vendors. Lyssna states that panel responses are never part of a subscription. PlaybookUX charges $65 per unmoderated participant on top of yearly plans, Lookback charges $49 per participant, and Userfeel sells credits by the year. Userbrain bundles the tester fee but caps testers per cycle, and Userlytics buys by session.
Maze, dscout and UserTesting publish no amounts. Work out the cost of one study of eight participants on each shortlist entry, then multiply by the studies you expect in a year. The lowest platform fee often belongs to the tool with the highest cost per tester, and a quote-only vendor can only be compared once its offer is in writing with the participant line separated out.
Cost one eight-person study on every shortlisted tool
Ask whether tester incentives and recruitment fees are included
Multiply by the studies planned for the year
Panel size claims and how to test them
Vendors quote panel sizes that cannot be compared. Userlytics cites 2M+ participants, PlaybookUX 7M+, Userfeel 1M+, Userbrain 180k+ and Lyssna 690,000+, while Optimal Workshop's homepage gives both 10M+ and 20M+. Maze's pricing page says 5 million and its homepage 6 million. Dscout and Useberry give no number. Size matters less than whether your audience exists in it, such as hospital buyers or users who speak Dutch.
Run the trial study with a narrow screener before signing and see how many qualified people respond within two days. Bringing your own participants is cheaper on Lyssna and Lookback, since recruitment is where those two charge extra, and customers you invite usually answer more honestly about your own product than strangers paid to try it.
Test the panel with your real screener before signing
Ask how many participants matched in the last 30 days
Check language and country coverage against your market
Contract term, trial and how data leaves
Billing rules decide how reversible a purchase is. Userbrain bills month to month on Starter and Plus, while Lookback sells only yearly packs and keeps paid-plan recordings for 90 days after cancellation. Userfeel refunds unused credits within 90 days. Useberry and UXtweak give a free tier for a pilot, and UXtweak hides free results after 14 days.
Lookback gives 60 days and 5 sessions but no recruitment in the trial. Ask each vendor how video, transcripts and tags are exported, whether export is on every plan, and who may view recordings of your customers once the contract ends. Recordings contain faces and voices, so a deletion promise in the data processing agreement matters as much as the export button.
Confirm the notice period and renewal rule in writing
Export a sample study during the trial
Ask how long recordings stay after cancellation
What goes wrong most often when buying user testing tools software
Buying a recording tool to answer a navigation question that needs tree testing with hundreds of responses.
Comparing platform fees and forgetting that participant fees are billed separately by most vendors.
Trusting a headline panel size without running a screened trial study in your own market.
Signing an annual pack before checking how long recordings stay available and how they export.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best user testing tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Userbrain first. Userbrain GmbH, registered in Graz, supplies one screen-and-audio recording per panel tester and puts the tester fee inside the plan.
Starter bills month to month at $49 for 3 testers, so a small team can buy research the way it buys a subscription. Testers unused at the end of a cycle expire, which punishes irregular research calendars, and the plan table lists no live moderated sessions.
Which user testing tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 9 products on this page:
Userbrain: Published monthly and yearly plans; 30-day trial with 2 panel testers.
Useberry: Free plan; Growth and Business plans published in euros; Enterprise quoted.
UXtweak: Free plan; Business price absent from the page when read; Custom quoted.
Lyssna: Free plan; Growth plan published monthly; panel responses billed separately; Enterprise on request.
Userfeel: Free plan with 3 credits a month; paid plans published yearly; Custom quoted.
Lookback: Published yearly plans by session count; 60-day trial of 5 sessions.
Optimal Workshop: Starter plan published yearly; Enterprise quoted; recruitment credits sold separately.
PlaybookUX: Published yearly self-serve plans; panel credits extra; Enterprise quoted.
Userlytics: Published per-session and monthly self-recruitment plans; Limitless quoted; demo by form.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free user testing tool?
Useberry, UXtweak, Lyssna, Userfeel offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these user testing tool vendors established?
Across 8 countries (Europe 5, North America 3, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 2):
Userbrain: Austria.
Useberry: Greece.
UXtweak: Slovakia.
Lyssna: Australia.
Userfeel: United Kingdom.
Lookback: United States.
Optimal Workshop: New Zealand.
Maze: United Kingdom.
PlaybookUX: United States.
Userlytics: United States.
dscout: Not stated by the vendor.
UserTesting: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Userbrain?
Second is Useberry, which suits Designers who test Figma prototypes and want a euro price list. Third is UXtweak, which suits Researchers who want information architecture tests and interviews under one roof.
Who should not buy Userbrain?
Teams needing live moderated interviews or large quantitative samples. Panel testers expire at the end of each billing cycle, so an unused allowance on a monthly plan is lost..
If your user testing tools product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.