Expense splitting apps keep a running tally of who paid for what among friends, flatmates or travel companions, then work out the fewest transfers that settle it.
Our order favours small independent makers, then weighs free-tier limits, how repayment actually happens, whether a group can be exported or imported, and how seriously each product treats splitting as its core job.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What expense splitting apps software does
Expense splitting apps record shared costs in a group, divide them equally or by share, and show each member's balance so the group can settle debts with fewer payments.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the expense splitting apps tool was built for. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Berlin group-bill app that needs no sign-up and charges per group
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Every Kitty starts free, and members record what they paid and see how much they owe and to whom. The group is shared by an email link, so nobody registers.
Super Kitty is charged once per group, which suits a holiday better than a flat running for years. The iPhone and Android apps and the browser all work without installation. The imprint names no owner.
What stands out
No registration
One-off group upgrade
Browser and apps
Where it costs you
The free Kitty has no currency conversion, receipt attachments or insights, so trips abroad hit the paywall quickly.
Groups above nine people need the paid step, charged once for every group you create.
Right for
Occasional groups of friends who want a shared tally without anyone creating an account
Wrong for
Households wanting permanent shared books across many months
GermanyFree plan for groups up to nine people; one-off upgrade per group, not a subscription
Donation-funded split tool with no account and public source code
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Spliit organises groups for trips, events or gifts, with categories and balances per participant, plus reimbursement optimisation that reduces the number of transfers.
A web app is built with Next.js, and a native iPhone app written in SwiftUI syncs through iCloud against the same groups. Sponsors at the Sponsor++ tier are listed on the page and in the README. Because funding is by donation, the page makes no promise about how long hosting continues.
What stands out
No account
Public source code
Native iPhone app
Where it costs you
Reuse rights are unclear because the public code carries no stated licence.
The AI receipt scanner is labelled Beta, so treat it as unfinished.
Right for
Small groups wanting a no-account tool whose code anyone can read
Wrong for
Buyers needing a named company, contract or support desk
CanadaFree with no ads or account; hosting paid through donations and sponsor tiers
A quick split works without signing up, and a signed-in user gets groups with a default split method, recurring expenses from daily to yearly, and receipt photos. Notifications arrive when someone adds an expense.
Because the licence is MIT and the page allows a self-hosted copy, a club can keep balances on a machine it controls. The cost of that choice is that updates and backups become the host's job.
What stands out
MIT licence
Self-host option
Splitwise import
Where it costs you
There is no store app; the phone experience is a browser shortcut added to the home screen.
One named developer and no company means no stated support or continuity arrangement.
Right for
Technical groups that want a permissive licence and the choice to host it themselves
Wrong for
Anyone expecting a native app with a company behind it
Not stated by the vendorFree to use with no daily expense limit; self-host your own copy
Group lists with repayment through iDEAL, Wero or Bancontact
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Splitser lists expenses and incomes, shows balances and sends payment requests, so you see who owes you and whom you owe. Reminders cover outstanding amounts, and the bank link means a repayment triggers a notification when it arrives.
Group transactions run in 150+ currencies. The same group works on Android, iOS and at app.splitser.com. What the page leaves open is the owner, the country and any paid tier.
What stands out
iDEAL and Bancontact
150+ currencies
Web and mobile
Where it costs you
The page lists no plans or prices, so the business model is not visible.
The named repayment schemes are bank-based, so they suit some countries more than others.
Right for
Groups whose members pay each other by bank, iDEAL | Wero or Bancontact
Wrong for
Groups paying by card or wallet outside those schemes
Not stated by the vendorFree to download and sign up; no plans or prices listed
Group-expense app that ties shared spending to a bunq card
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tricount groups suit trips, dinners or households, and each expense records the payer and the chosen participants. Settling up shows balances, and payment requests flag who has paid or needs a reminder.
A comparison table on the page lists currency conversion, offline use and importing a Splitwise group. Automatic expenses need a bunq Card, which the page promotes with no monthly fee on a separate plan. Nothing on the page says who operates the app.
What stands out
Ad-free
bunq Card link
Payment requests
Where it costs you
Ownership has to be checked elsewhere because no operator or country appears.
The automatic expense feature depends on holding a bunq Card.
Right for
Trips and households wanting ad-free tracking with reminders for unpaid shares
Wrong for
Buyers who must name the legal entity behind a tool
Not stated by the vendorFree with no ads or limits; no paid tier listed
Group bill splitting with link sharing and a monthly Premium tier
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
A group is created and shared by link, and the guides on the site cover roommates and multi-currency trips. Settling up runs via Venmo, Cash App, PayPal or Zelle, and bank accounts and cards can be linked for automatic imports, and CSV, Excel or TXT files can be imported.
Charts with filters and minimised group payments are listed. AI receipt scanning and itemisation sit behind Premium, as do higher recurring limits.
What stands out
Six split types
Venmo and Zelle settling
Premium AI scans
Where it costs you
Prices show only a dollar symbol, so the billing currency is not named.
Recurring expenses are capped at 10 on the free plan.
Right for
US-style groups that settle through Venmo, Cash App, PayPal or Zelle
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated country and a named currency
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with limits; monthly Premium plan with a yearly billing option
Nextcloud app for shared bills, run on your own server
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Bills in Cospend can repeat from daily to yearly and use custom amounts per member. Projects are shared with Nextcloud users, groups or circles, or through public links that can carry a password.
The app produces auto-created reimbursement bills from its settlement plan, and links receipt files. It also posts to the Nextcloud activity stream and notifications. Donations to the author go through PayPal, Liberapay and GitHub Sponsors.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Needs Nextcloud
CSV import
Where it costs you
It needs a Nextcloud server, which is an extra system for most households to run.
No hosted service is stated, so there is nobody to buy it from.
Right for
Nextcloud users who want shared bills kept inside their own installation
Wrong for
Households without a server or anyone to administer one
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under AGPL-3.0; no hosted service or price stated; donations accepted
Group splitting with bank SMS, card email and UPI import
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Splitkaro offers groups for home, trips, couples, personal spending and business, with item-wise bills, automatic categorisation, settle-up tracking and reminders. Group analytics are included, and an Ask anything feature answers questions about spending.
The iOS and Android apps and a website exist, and the page cites 4.8 stars on the Play Store. Because Premium carries the import and OCR features, the free tier is closer to manual entry.
What stands out
UPI notifications
Auto-import
GST-tagged books
Where it costs you
Multi-currency trips and exports sit behind Premium, which has no listed price.
The page states no owner or country, only a region selector.
Right for
Groups and small teams that want spending pulled in from bank messages
Wrong for
Travellers who want multi-currency splitting without any paid tier
Not stated by the vendorFree core app; Premium tier without a listed price
Split app with receipt scanning and charts in a paid Pro tier
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Splitwise states 7+ languages and 100+ currencies, and it ships Splitwise Pay, Splitwise Card and a public API at dev.splitwise.com. Core tracking is free; Pro covers charts, transaction import and itemisation.
The page says it is made in Providence, Rhode Island and names no parent company, though a footer links a Coastal Community Bank privacy policy without explaining the relationship. Other apps on this list import a Splitwise group or backup.
What stands out
Pro upgrade
100+ currencies
Public API
Where it costs you
Currency conversion and receipt scanning are Pro features, and Pro prices are not listed.
The ad-free experience is part of Pro, which implies ads on the basic tier.
Right for
Groups already using its apps, API, Splitwise Pay or Splitwise Card
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a published price before they upgrade
United StatesFree core on iPhone, Android and web; paid Pro upgrade with no prices listed
Munich-imprint split app whose pricing and features we could not verify
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The imprint lists Nicolas Jersch with a Munich street address and a contact email, without a legal form or an explicit country. The homepage links to Impressum and Datenschutz and offers Deutsch and English, but it renders as a logo plus links, and the English path returned an error.
We therefore cannot say what it costs, which devices it runs on, or whether its source is public. Treat it as an unverified entry.
What stands out
German and English
Individual operator
Features unverified
Where it costs you
Pricing, platforms and features could not be read on the vendor's pages.
The imprint states no legal form or country.
Right for
Buyers in German-speaking groups willing to check the details themselves
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a verified price or feature list
Not stated by the vendorNot readable on the pages checked; the homepage shows only a logo and links
US payments app that lists group splitting among many features
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Expense Splitting Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Venmo moves money rather than keeps books. The page lists group splitting as a feature but describes no categories, recurring bills or foreign currencies.
Around it sit a debit card with capped cash back, a credit card with no annual fee per the footnotes, and crypto trades with a spread inside the exchange rate. Several expense apps on this list can settle through it, which is the more natural way to use it.
What stands out
Payments app
US residents
Side feature
Where it costs you
Splitting is a side feature of a payments app, with no group tools described.
US residency rules on the page leave other groups out.
Right for
US friends who already move money in Venmo and split occasionally
Wrong for
Trips, groups abroad, or members outside the United States
United StatesSplitting is one listed feature of a payments app; no separate split price
Expense splitting apps record shared costs in a group, divide them equally or by share, and show each member's balance so the group can settle debts with fewer payments. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 8 of the 11 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Kittysplit, Spliit, SplitPro, Splitser, Tricount, SplitMyExpenses, Splitkaro, Splitwise.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 11 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (Elsewhere 7, North America 3, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Decide if open source matters
Open source here means SplitPro, Cospend. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Expense splitting apps: what the free version leaves out
Nearly every app here is free to start, so the useful question is which job the free tier cannot do. Splitwise keeps receipt scanning, charts, currency conversion and itemisation in Pro, and lists no Pro prices. Kittysplit keeps currency conversion behind a one-off per-group payment, with its free Kitty capped at nine people. SplitMyExpenses allows 10 recurring expenses on Free and 100 on Premium.
Splitkaro puts bank auto-import and receipt OCR behind Premium. Tricount, Spliit and SplitPro list no paid tier at all. Decide first whether your group travels, repeats bills every month or numbers more than nine, then read the limit that matches that habit. A cheap-looking plan that blocks the one thing your group does every week is the costliest choice here.
List your group size, countries visited and monthly bills before comparing
Check which tier holds currency conversion and receipt scanning
Ask whether a one-off payment per group beats a monthly plan for you
Settling up: where the money actually moves
Most of these apps keep the tally and leave the transfer to you, and the exceptions matter. Splitser links repayment to iDEAL | Wero or Bancontact and notifies you on arrival. SplitMyExpenses offers Venmo, Cash App, PayPal and Zelle as settling routes, while Tricount sends payment requests and can add spending from a connected bunq Card.
Venmo itself moves money, but the page for it describes splitting as one feature among cards and crypto and mentions US residency requirements. If the group spans countries, pick the app whose repayment route every member can actually use, otherwise the balance stays on screen and nobody pays. Also check whether reminders for unpaid shares are built in, because a tally nobody chases is the usual end of a group trip.
Name the payment route each member already uses
Check whether the app sends reminders for unpaid shares
Confirm every member qualifies for the repayment service
Open source and self-hosted expense groups
Some groups want the books on infrastructure they control, and this market has three honest answers. SplitPro is MIT licensed and lets you use the hosted site or run your own copy on a server of your choosing. Cospend is AGPL-3.0 and only runs inside a Nextcloud installation, with no hosted service stated.
Spliit has public code on GitHub and is funded by donations, but no licence is stated and hosting steps are absent, so public code is not permission to host. Running your own copy moves updates and backups to you. Kittysplit takes the opposite route and asks for no registration at all, working in a browser or the phone apps. Match the option to the people in your group: a technical club may enjoy hosting, while a family weekend does not need it.
Read the licence file before you plan to host anything
Count who will apply updates and keep backups
Check whether the project names a company or only a developer
Moving out: importing a group from Splitwise
Switching away from an expense app is mostly a question of whether your history travels. Tricount lists importing a Splitwise group, SplitPro takes friends and groups with current balances from a Splitwise JSON backup, and Cospend reads and writes CSV compatible with Splitwise and IHateMoney files. SplitMyExpenses accepts CSV, Excel or TXT imports.
Splid could not be assessed because its pages showed no feature list. Before a long trip, test the import with one real group and compare the balances line by line, because a wrong opening balance becomes an argument later. Also keep the old export file somewhere safe until the new group has run a full cycle without surprises.
Run the import on one live group and compare balances
Export your history from the old app before cancelling
Check whether the new app keeps balances separate per currency
What goes wrong most often when buying expense splitting apps software
Assuming a free tier includes currency conversion, when Splitwise and Kittysplit both hold it back for paying users.
Choosing an app on the strength of a payments brand, as with Venmo, whose split feature is a side line.
Putting a group of ten or more into a free Kitty without noticing the nine-person limit.
Trusting an entry with no readable pricing or features, such as Splid, without testing the vendor's own app first.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best expense splitting apps in 2026?
Kittysplit leads our ranking of 11. Kittysplit is run by Kittysplit UG, a limited company with a Berlin imprint, and needs no registration or password.
Each group, called a Kitty, starts free for up to nine people; a one-time payment per group lifts the cap to 100 people and adds currency conversion, receipt attachments, insights and read-only links. The catch: the free tier has no currency conversion, so a multi-currency trip needs the paid step.
Which expense splitting apps tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Kittysplit: Free plan for groups up to nine people; one-off upgrade per group, not a subscription.
Spliit: Free with no ads or account; hosting paid through donations and sponsor tiers.
SplitPro: Free to use with no daily expense limit; self-host your own copy.
Splitser: Free to download and sign up; no plans or prices listed.
Tricount: Free with no ads or limits; no paid tier listed.
SplitMyExpenses: Free plan with limits; monthly Premium plan with a yearly billing option.
Splitkaro: Free core app; Premium tier without a listed price.
Splitwise: Free core on iPhone, Android and web; paid Pro upgrade with no prices listed.
The other 3 quote per organisation.
Is there a free expense splitting apps tool?
Kittysplit, Spliit, SplitPro, Splitser, Tricount, SplitMyExpenses, Splitkaro, Splitwise offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these expense splitting apps vendors established?
Across 4 countries (Elsewhere 7, North America 3, Europe 1):
Kittysplit: Germany.
Spliit: Canada.
SplitPro: Not stated by the vendor.
Splitser: Not stated by the vendor.
Tricount: Not stated by the vendor.
SplitMyExpenses: Not stated by the vendor.
Cospend: Not stated by the vendor.
Splitkaro: Not stated by the vendor.
Splitwise: United States.
Splid: Not stated by the vendor.
Venmo: United States.
Which expense splitting apps tools are open source?
SplitPro, Cospend.
Which expense splitting apps tools can you host yourself?
SplitPro. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Kittysplit?
Second is Spliit, which suits small groups wanting a no-account tool whose code anyone can read. Third is SplitPro, which suits Technical groups that want a permissive licence and the choice to host it themselves.
Who should not buy Kittysplit?
Households wanting permanent shared books across many months. The free Kitty has no currency conversion, receipt attachments or insights, so trips abroad hit the paywall quickly..
Missing from this expense splitting apps ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.