Best Trading Journal Software in 2026

Trading journal software stores every executed trade and turns the history into statistics on setups, timing and discipline.

This guide ranks thirteen products by what the first ninety days cost in set-up hours, how import and account limits change the real price, whether history can leave again, and how far each vendor stands alone.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What trading journal software does

Trading journal software imports orders from brokers, tags each trade and calculates win rate, expectancy and drawdown, so a trader can see which habits earn money and which lose it.

01

The top three

13 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

We ranked the 13 trading journal tools on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.

13tools reviewed
9publish a price
5have a free tier
3countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

13 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1EdgewonkGermanyPublished annual and monthly plans; 14-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial—Traders who want one flat price with no caps on accounts, trades or journals.Traders who want to try the product before paying anything.
#2TrademetriaUnited StatesFree plan with import limits; Basic and Pro published monthly or yearly, prepaidYesOccasional traders who want a no-cost starting point before paying for imports.Active day traders who import hundreds of orders every month.
#3TradesVizNot stated by the vendorFree tier plus Pro and Platinum, published monthly or yearly in euros; 7-day trial on paid plansYesStock traders who want a free tier first and euro billing later.Futures or options traders who need non-stock assets on the free tier.
#4Trading Diary ProNot stated by the vendorOne-time licence with optional yearly renewal; 30-day trial, then read-only mode—Windows users who prefer buying once and keeping data on their own computer.Traders who need a finished browser-based journal on any device.
#5Stonk JournalNot stated by the vendorFree plan with no caps; one paid Pro plan published monthlyYesSolo traders who want unlimited manual logging at zero cost.Buyers who must verify the operating company before storing trades.
#6ChartlogNot stated by the vendorPublished Lite, Standard and Pro plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; trial length unstated—Traders with many accounts who want reports to be the only upgrade.Buyers who need a free tier or a stated trial period.
#7DeltalytixNot stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Unlimited plan published monthly, with quarterly, yearly and lifetime optionsYesTraders who want a code repository to inspect and a lifetime option.Buyers who need a stated licence or a named legal company.
#8TradeZellaNot stated by the vendorPublished Essential, Pro and Ultra plans, monthly or yearly; no trial length stated—Traders who want AI backtesting included and accept metered credits.Buyers who need the company, terms and privacy policy checked first.
#9TradervueNot stated by the vendorPlan prices not found on the pages read; sign-up button on the home page—Traders who will sign up first and learn the price inside the account.Buyers who need a price list before they register.
#10KinfoNot stated by the vendorFree plan; Pro and Pro+ published monthly, yearly option unpricedYesUS-broker users who want a verified public profile with auto sync.Traders who want a private journal with no social layer.
#11JournalytixNot stated by the vendorQuoted through conversation; basic layer bundled with daytradr, Active Trader Package extra—Prop firms, brokerages and educators who accept a sales conversation.Individual traders who want to compare prices before contacting anyone.
#12TradeLogNot stated by the vendorYearly subscription levels without amounts on the page; 30-day trial—US traders who file gains and need wash sale handling.Traders who want setup statistics and performance review.
#13EdgefulNot stated by the vendorPublished Essential and All access plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; cancel any time—Traders who want market-statistics reports more than a trade log.Traders who only need to record and review their own trades.

A vendor's country is its home or contracting jurisdiction. Where it hosts data is another matter and is mentioned per entry when different.

04

The 13 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Edgewonk · 2. Trademetria · 3. TradesViz · 4. Trading Diary Pro · 5. Stonk Journal · 6. Chartlog · 7. Deltalytix · 8. TradeZella · 9. Tradervue · 10. Kinfo · 11. Journalytix · 12. TradeLog · 13. Edgeful

#1 Edgewonk

German-run journal selling two plans that differ only in length

Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Edgewonk takes first place for a plain reason: one vendor, one product, nothing metered. Both plans list no ceiling on journals, broker accounts, prop firm accounts, imported trades or strategies. German law governs the terms.

The weakness is the entry route. Payment is due upfront with a 14-day money-back guarantee, and the page lists no trial. Country VAT also lifts the displayed price, which a buyer outside the listed countries should check.

What stands out
  • Annual or monthly
  • Unlimited journals
  • Money-back guarantee
Where it costs you
  • Payment comes before testing, because the vendor offers a 14-day refund window and no trial.
  • The price on the page changes with the buyer's country because VAT is added, so the final bill is not the headline figure.
Right for

Traders who want one flat price with no caps on accounts, trades or journals.

Wrong for

Traders who want to try the product before paying anything.

GermanyPublished annual and monthly plans; 14-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial

#2 Trademetria

US corporation offering a limited free plan and two paid tiers

Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Trademetria earns second place because a buyer can test it for nothing and leave without a contract. Plans are cancellable at any time, and Pro allows up to 50 accounts with unlimited imports.

The ladder is the catch: free handles one account and 30 orders, Basic 500 orders and 200 open positions. Anyone with more than one account or high order counts will land on Pro. Prices carry a dollar sign only, so confirm the currency at checkout.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Order import caps
  • Prepaid billing
Where it costs you
  • The free plan stops at 30 imports a month and three open positions, which an active trader exceeds within days.
  • Basic caps imports at 500 a month, so a busy account is pushed to Pro.
Right for

Occasional traders who want a no-cost starting point before paying for imports.

Wrong for

Active day traders who import hundreds of orders every month.

United StatesFree plan with import limits; Basic and Pro published monthly or yearly, prepaid

#3 TradesViz

Euro-priced journal with a free tier and capped imports

Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

TradesViz is a good middle ground because the free tier does not expire and both paid plans carry a 7-day trial. Yearly billing is described as saving 25 percent.

The limits matter in practice: Basic offers two chart indicators, while Pro lifts imports to unlimited and accounts to 10. Pro tops out at 10 accounts and Platinum at 20, so large account counts need the dearer plan. The pricing page mixes euro and dollar figures.

What stands out
  • Free tier
  • Euro pricing
  • Account limits
Where it costs you
  • The free tier is limited to 3,000 import executions a month, one account and stock assets only.
  • The comparison table lists a dollar monthly price that conflicts with the euro prices.
Right for

Stock traders who want a free tier first and euro billing later.

Wrong for

Futures or options traders who need non-stock assets on the free tier.

Not stated by the vendorFree tier plus Pro and Platinum, published monthly or yearly in euros; 7-day trial on paid plans

#4 Trading Diary Pro

Windows desktop journal sold as a one-time licence

Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Trading Diary Pro is the only journal here priced as a purchase rather than a subscription, which suits traders who dislike monthly bills.

The data stays on your machine, so your history does not depend on a vendor server, and 30 plus brokers are supported for import. The cost is mobility: the licence covers two PCs, and the web version is in beta. After the trial, the app turns read-only.

What stands out
  • One-time licence
  • Local database
  • Windows desktop
Where it costs you
  • The desktop program is described for Windows 10 and 11, and the browser version is still in beta.
  • Upgrades stop after the first year unless the yearly renewal is paid, and lapsed renewals cost more after six months.
Right for

Windows users who prefer buying once and keeping data on their own computer.

Wrong for

Traders who need a finished browser-based journal on any device.

Not stated by the vendorOne-time licence with optional yearly renewal; 30-day trial, then read-only mode

#5 Stonk Journal

Flat-price journal whose free plan has no trade caps

Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Stonk Journal is among the simplest ways to start, because the free plan has no trade or account limit and no card is requested. The pricing ladder has just one step, which makes the real cost easy to predict.

Importing files, AI features and multi-account views all sit behind Pro. The unknown operator is the real risk: no legal name, address or country appears on the page, which matters when you store your trading history there.

What stands out
  • No trade caps
  • Single paid tier
  • AI coach
Where it costs you
  • The page names no legal company, address or country, so the operator cannot be checked.
  • CSV and broker file import sits in the Pro plan, which leaves the free plan with manual entry.
Right for

Solo traders who want unlimited manual logging at zero cost.

Wrong for

Buyers who must verify the operating company before storing trades.

Not stated by the vendorFree plan with no caps; one paid Pro plan published monthly

#6 Chartlog

Three-tier journal with unlimited imports on every plan

Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Chartlog keeps its tiers simple because import volume and account count never change the price. The yearly discount grows from 10 percent on Lite to 20 percent on Pro.

What you buy upward is analysis: strategy tracking arrives on Standard, advanced insights and custom reports on Pro. Two details to check before paying are the unstated trial length and the 2020 copyright line, which names Chartog, Inc. without a location.

What stands out
  • Unlimited imports
  • Three tiers
  • Yearly discount
Where it costs you
  • The trial length is not stated on the page, so you cannot compare it with other trials.
  • The footer carries a 2020 copyright and gives no location.
Right for

Traders with many accounts who want reports to be the only upgrade.

Wrong for

Buyers who need a free tier or a stated trial period.

Not stated by the vendorPublished Lite, Standard and Pro plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; trial length unstated

#7 Deltalytix

Journal with a public GitHub repository and a free Basic plan

Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere

Deltalytix is interesting for buyers who value transparency of code: the footer points to a public repository. No licence is given, so reuse terms stay unclear, and no legal entity or country is shown.

The free Basic plan holds a fortnight of history, which suits testing but not review of a full year. The paid plan lifts that and adds AI chat that is subject to fair usage.

What stands out
  • Free Basic plan
  • GitHub repository
  • Lifetime option
Where it costs you
  • The free plan stores only two weeks of data, so long-term review needs the paid plan.
  • Only the monthly price is displayed, which hides what the yearly and lifetime options cost.
Right for

Traders who want a code repository to inspect and a lifetime option.

Wrong for

Buyers who need a stated licence or a named legal company.

Not stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Unlimited plan published monthly, with quarterly, yearly and lifetime options

#8 TradeZella

Three-plan journal metered by accounts and AI credits

Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

TradeZella sits mid-table because the price depends on accounts and AI credits, and the operator is not identifiable. The ladder runs from Essential to Ultra, with yearly billing cheaper on each.

The tool also states that it is not a brokerage. Its terms and privacy URLs gave errors, and the free backtest line conflicts with the Essential card. A buyer who values AI backtests may accept that, others should wait.

What stands out
  • Account-based tiers
  • AI credits
  • AI backtests
Where it costs you
  • Essential is limited to one active trading account, so multi-account traders pay for Pro.
  • The terms and privacy pages returned HTTP 404, so the operating company cannot be identified.
Right for

Traders who want AI backtesting included and accept metered credits.

Wrong for

Buyers who need the company, terms and privacy policy checked first.

Not stated by the vendorPublished Essential, Pro and Ultra plans, monthly or yearly; no trial length stated

#9 Tradervue

Established journal site whose plan prices we could not find

Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Tradervue ranks lower only because the public pages leave out what a buyer needs. The home page has a sign-up button and a meta line inviting a try, and a testimonial names a Gold Plan.

Pricing URLs returned errors, so we cannot report any amount, limit or currency. The company is named as SureSwift Capital, Inc., and the country is missing. Check the in-app pricing before relying on it.

What stands out
  • SureSwift Capital
  • Unpublished prices
  • Gold Plan
Where it costs you
  • The pricing and plans pages returned HTTP 404, so no price could be verified.
  • No trial length is stated on the pages read.
Right for

Traders who will sign up first and learn the price inside the account.

Wrong for

Buyers who need a price list before they register.

Not stated by the vendorPlan prices not found on the pages read; sign-up button on the home page

#10 Kinfo

Social trading app with broker sync and a free plan

Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Kinfo fits only part of this category because the page frames it as a social trading app. The free plan covers broker auto sync, basic analytics and a verified profile, which suits sharing results.

Deeper journaling features sit in Pro and Pro+, including advanced reports and Excel links. The sync claim names US brokers, so non-US users should confirm support. The company line names KINFO AB without a country.

What stands out
  • Social trading app
  • Broker auto sync
  • Free plan
Where it costs you
  • Full history sits in Pro, so the free plan shows less than a complete record.
  • The yearly saving is mentioned but its price is not shown.
Right for

US-broker users who want a verified public profile with auto sync.

Wrong for

Traders who want a private journal with no social layer.

Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Pro and Pro+ published monthly, yearly option unpriced

#11 Journalytix

Jigsaw Trading analytics with prices available on conversation only

Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Journalytix is a poor first choice for a solo buyer, because the page offers no price to weigh. It suits a firm that already uses daytradr, since a basic layer is included.

The extras in the Active Trader Package, such as what-if rule testing, come at an unstated cost. The old journalytix.me pricing address redirects to this page, which now carries the Jigsaw Trading copyright.

What stands out
  • Jigsaw Trading
  • daytradr bundle
  • What-if testing
Where it costs you
  • No price, trial or usage limit appears, so the cost of the Active Trader Package is unknown.
  • Institutional buyers are sent to a conversation instead of a checkout button.
Right for

Prop firms, brokerages and educators who accept a sales conversation.

Wrong for

Individual traders who want to compare prices before contacting anyone.

Not stated by the vendorQuoted through conversation; basic layer bundled with daytradr, Active Trader Package extra

#12 TradeLog

Tax-focused desktop software for traders, not a performance journal

Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

TradeLog earns a low place for this guide because its stated purpose is tax reporting. The facts cover wash sale rules, mark-to-market help and form support, not review of trading behaviour.

It is useful when a journal's output has to feed a tax return. Pricing shows subscription levels with no amounts, though a 30-day trial lets you preview reports. Pair it with a real journal rather than expecting one.

What stands out
  • Tax reporting
  • Wash sale rules
  • Desktop app
Where it costs you
  • Its pages describe tax filing, so setup and performance analysis are missing from the facts we found.
  • No prices appear, only one-year subscription levels.
Right for

US traders who file gains and need wash sale handling.

Wrong for

Traders who want setup statistics and performance review.

Not stated by the vendorYearly subscription levels without amounts on the page; 30-day trial

#13 Edgeful

Market-statistics reports platform with high prices and no trial

Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Trading Journal Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Edgeful comes last because its pricing page sells market data, not trade review. Essential caps reports and tickers; All access opens thousands of tickers and 7 algos at a far higher monthly price.

Nothing on the page describes importing or logging your own executions. That makes it a complement to a journal. The FAQ rules out a trial, so the first month is paid, though cancelling is allowed at any time.

What stands out
  • Reports platform
  • Ticker limits
  • Algo access
Where it costs you
  • The facts describe tickers, reports and algos, with no mention of logging your own trades.
  • The entry plan is limited to 4 tickers and 3 reports.
Right for

Traders who want market-statistics reports more than a trade log.

Wrong for

Traders who only need to record and review their own trades.

Not stated by the vendorPublished Essential and All access plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; cancel any time
06

How to choose trading journal software

Trading journal software imports orders from brokers, tags each trade and calculates win rate, expectancy and drawdown, so a trader can see which habits earn money and which lose it. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Check who publishes a price

    4 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 9 publish a pricing model you can read today: Edgewonk, Trademetria, TradesViz, Stonk Journal, Chartlog, Deltalytix, TradeZella, Kinfo, Edgeful.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 13 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

  3. 03

    Consider whether you want the source

    1 of these are open source: Deltalytix. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.

How trading journal software meters imports, accounts and history

Volume limits decide what a journal really costs, and they differ sharply here. Edgewonk and Chartlog state unlimited imports and accounts, while Trademetria's free plan stops at 30 order imports a month and TradesViz's free tier at 3,000 executions. Deltalytix keeps only two weeks of data on its free plan, which makes a yearly review impossible. TradeZella meters accounts and AI credits instead.

Count your own monthly orders across every broker account, then check which plan holds them. A scalper may breach a cap in the first week, while a swing trader may never notice one. Also read what happens at the limit: some products stop importing, others push you to the next tier, and a few drop older data. Ask the vendor which applies before you upload a full year of history.

  • Count monthly orders and compare them with the import cap
  • Check how many accounts the plan covers, including prop accounts
  • Ask how much history the free or entry plan keeps

Local desktop or hosted: where your trade history lives

Where the data sits determines how easily you can leave. Trading Diary Pro stores trades in a database on your own Windows PC, so the history stays with you, but the licence covers two PCs and the browser edition is in beta. Hosted journals such as Edgewonk, Trademetria and Chartlog hold the records for you. Deltalytix links a public GitHub repository, yet the pricing page states no licence, so do not assume you may host it yourself.

Before you commit, export a month of trades and open the file elsewhere. A journal that cannot hand back your tags and notes keeps your edge hostage. Also note that a local database needs its own backup routine, because nobody else holds a copy, and a hosted one needs a plan for the day the vendor changes terms or closes the service.

  • Export a month of trades and open it in a spreadsheet
  • Confirm whether notes and tags travel with the export
  • Check which operating systems the desktop program supports

Where a trading journal ends and tax, analytics or social tools begin

Several products in this market only partly overlap with journaling. TradeLog is built around tax: wash sale rules, Form 8949, Form 4797 and Section 475 help, not setup statistics. Edgeful sells market reports, tickers and algos, and its pricing page does not mention logging your own trades. Kinfo calls itself a social trading app with a verified profile.

Journalytix belongs to Jigsaw Trading and comes with daytradr. These can sit beside a journal, but buying them as a journal leaves the main question, what your own trades say about you, unanswered. A useful test is to ask what the product shows after you import one hundred trades: a tax lot list, a ticker report or a profile page is not a review of your setups, mistakes and sizing.

  • Read the feature list for trade tagging and review, not only for data
  • Decide whether you need tax output or performance analysis
  • Check whether the product assumes a specific broker platform

Reading prices, currencies and trial terms in trading journal software

Pricing pages in this category leave gaps. TradeZella, Trading Diary Pro and Stonk Journal show a dollar sign without naming a currency, and TradesViz lists euro prices next to a conflicting dollar figure. Edgewonk adds VAT by country, so the headline price is not the invoice. Tradervue's pricing URLs returned errors, and Journalytix publishes no price at all.

Trials vary: Trading Diary Pro gives 30 days and then read-only mode, Edgewonk gives a 14-day refund window, Edgeful gives nothing. Record the full yearly cost in your own currency before choosing, and screenshot the page you relied on, since several vendors here change or hide their pricing pages without notice. Add any extras you will need, such as AI credits or extra accounts, to that total.

  • Confirm the currency and tax on the checkout page
  • Find out whether a trial exists or a refund window replaces it
  • Write down the yearly total, not the monthly rate

What goes wrong most often when buying trading journal software

  • Choosing a journal on its free plan without checking whether the import cap fits your real monthly order count.
  • Treating a tax product such as TradeLog, or a data service such as Edgeful, as if it were a trade review tool.
  • Importing months of history before testing whether the export file can be opened outside the product.
  • Paying for an annual plan during a trial window that is unstated or replaced by a refund period.
07

Frequently asked questions

7 answers
What is the best trading journal software in 2026?

Edgewonk leads our ranking of 13. Edgewonk is run by Quantum Trade Solutions GmbH in Offenbach and sells one product, with plan length the only difference.

Both include unlimited journals, broker accounts, prop firm accounts, imported trades and strategies, so growth never triggers a tier jump. The price is shown with VAT by country, and a trial is replaced by a 14-day refund window, so you pay first and judge the fit afterwards.

Which trading journal tools publish their pricing?

9 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Edgewonk: Published annual and monthly plans; 14-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial.
  • Trademetria: Free plan with import limits; Basic and Pro published monthly or yearly, prepaid.
  • TradesViz: Free tier plus Pro and Platinum, published monthly or yearly in euros; 7-day trial on paid plans.
  • Stonk Journal: Free plan with no caps; one paid Pro plan published monthly.
  • Chartlog: Published Lite, Standard and Pro plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; trial length unstated.
  • Deltalytix: Free Basic plan; Unlimited plan published monthly, with quarterly, yearly and lifetime options.
  • TradeZella: Published Essential, Pro and Ultra plans, monthly or yearly; no trial length stated.
  • Kinfo: Free plan; Pro and Pro+ published monthly, yearly option unpriced.
  • Edgeful: Published Essential and All access plans, monthly or cheaper yearly; cancel any time.

The other 4 quote per organisation.

Is there a free trading journal tool?

Trademetria, TradesViz, Stonk Journal, Deltalytix, Kinfo have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.

Where are these trading journal software vendors established?

The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1:

  • Edgewonk: Germany.
  • Trademetria: United States.
  • TradesViz: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Trading Diary Pro: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Stonk Journal: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Chartlog: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Deltalytix: Not stated by the vendor.
  • TradeZella: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Tradervue: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Kinfo: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Journalytix: Not stated by the vendor.
  • TradeLog: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Edgeful: Not stated by the vendor.
Which trading journal tools are open source?

Deltalytix.

What should you use instead of Edgewonk?

The next in line are Trademetria, aimed at Occasional traders who want a no-cost starting point before paying for imports., and TradesViz, aimed at Stock traders who want a free tier first and euro billing later..

Who should not buy Edgewonk?

Traders who want to try the product before paying anything.. Payment comes before testing, because the vendor offers a 14-day refund window and no trial..

—

Tools reviewed

13 products
—

Replacing a product on this page

All alternatives
—

More People & Finance software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If a trading journal software product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.

Suggest a product →