Personal finance apps connect to bank accounts or take manual entries, then show spending, budgets, debt and net worth on a phone or browser.
They range from method-led budgeting tools to spreadsheets, open-source projects and subscription cancellers. This guide ranks twelve on setup effort, real price, exit and independence, not on features alone.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What personal finance apps software does
Personal finance apps record income and spending from bank feeds or manual entries, and help individuals and households set budgets, track debt and savings goals, and see their net worth.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Prague-built budgeting app with a manual free tier and a lifetime option
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
BudgetBakers has existed since 2014 and became a licensed PSD2 financial information service provider in 2019, which matters for European bank connections. Wallet is its personal product, alongside Board for small businesses.
Group sharing lets partners track household expenses and choose which accounts stay private. The Lifetime plan removes recurring fees, though the amount and the terms of that promise need reading at purchase, because our sources did not show them.
What stands out
Free manual tier
Lifetime plan
Group sharing
Where it costs you
Bank syncing is a Premium feature, so the free tier means typing in every purchase.
The pages we read show no price for Premium or the Lifetime plan, which makes the real cost hard to compare.
Right for
People outside the US who want a long-running app with a lifetime payment option.
Wrong for
Anyone expecting automatic bank feeds without paying anything.
CzechiaFree tier for manual tracking; Premium by subscription or one-time Lifetime plan, amounts not on the pages checked
Everything happens on a local copy of your data, with syncing in the background and an optional encryption layer that keeps the server blind to content. Built-in importers read YNAB4 and nYNAB history, so a move from a paid app keeps its past.
A documented API lets developers write their own importers. Because the project is MIT-licensed and community run, nobody can switch off the service or raise the price, though nobody is obliged to answer a support ticket either.
What stands out
MIT licence
Self-hosted sync
Envelope budgeting
Where it costs you
You host the sync server yourself or pay a third party, so setup and upgrades are your responsibility.
The site names no company, country or support contact, so help comes from the community and Discord.
Right for
Technical households that want envelope budgeting with full ownership of their data.
Wrong for
People wanting a hosted app with phone support and no maintenance.
Not stated by the vendorFree and open source; self-hosted, or third-party hosting such as PikaPods
Shared envelope budgeting on phone and web, with a capped free plan
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The method is old and simple: set money aside in each envelope first, then spend from the envelope, not the account balance. Shared budgets sync across iPhones and Androids so both partners see each deduction.
A Debt Accounts view on the web tracks payoff beside the rest of the plan. Premium costs $10 a month or $80 annually, which is cheaper than several rivals, and free users still get the full method within the stated caps.
What stands out
Envelope method
Free plan
US bank sync only
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at ten regular envelopes, one account and two devices, which a busy household can outgrow.
Automatic bank sync covers US banks only, even on Premium.
Right for
Couples and families who want to plan spending together in virtual envelopes.
Wrong for
Budgeters outside the US who rely on automatic bank feeds.
United StatesFree plan with envelope, account and device limits; Premium billed monthly or annually
Daily bank feeds delivered into spreadsheets you own and control
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Tiller keeps its role narrow: it moves transactions, balances and categories into sheets in your own account and leaves analysis to you. Templates handle budgets, debt, net worth and savings, and the same sheets can track a solo business.
The vendor invites you to point an AI tool at those sheets instead of linking banks to the AI directly. If you cancel, the spreadsheets remain in your account, which is the cleanest exit in this guide.
What stands out
Spreadsheet-based
30-day trial
Seattle
Where it costs you
The product is a set of spreadsheets, so formulas, broken ranges and template updates are yours to manage.
Pricing is a single annual figure with a trial, and the pages show no monthly option.
Right for
Spreadsheet users who want automatic transactions without handing data to another app.
Wrong for
Anyone who wants dashboards and charts without touching a spreadsheet.
United StatesAnnual subscription published after a 30-day free trial, with a further 30-day refund window
Give-every-dollar-a-job method with a 34-day trial and shared subscriptions
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product is as much teaching as software: live hangouts, a getting-started guide and a structured method sit behind the subscription. Targets, debt features with a loan calculator and real-time sync across devices come standard.
One subscription covers up to six people, which cuts the effective price for a household. Direct bank import supports select US, Canadian, UK and EU banks, and the trial runs 34 days without a card when you sign up on the vendor's own site.
What stands out
Budgeting method
34-day trial
Shared subscription
Where it costs you
A monthly plan costs $14.99 and nothing remains free once the 34-day trial ends.
The product centres on a method with its own vocabulary, so a user must adopt the routine for it to pay off.
Right for
People ready to follow a strict zero-based method and pay to be coached.
Wrong for
Casual trackers who only want a tidy list of transactions.
United StatesSubscription billed monthly or annually after a 34-day trial that asks for no card
Ad-free all-in-one tracker with household sharing and Core and Plus tiers
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Monarch positions itself against free apps by arguing that paying members, not advertisers, should fund the product. It tracks accounts, budgets and net worth, and includes household features so partners can flag transactions for review.
A money-back guarantee softens the lack of a long trial. The vendor suggests signing up on the web rather than through app stores for easier subscription management. Plus is the tier for people with irregular or several income sources.
What stands out
Ad-free
Household sharing
Plus forecasting
Where it costs you
The entry price is $99.99 a year, and forecasting and deeper investment tracking require the dearer Plus tier.
Only a first-week trial is offered, so judging a full budgeting cycle means paying first.
Right for
Couples who want one tracker for accounts, budgets and investments, without adverts.
Wrong for
Users who want a free plan or a one-time purchase.
United StatesSubscription in Core and Plus tiers, monthly or yearly; first-week trial and money-back guarantee
Prague budgeting app with wallets for trips and shared money
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Wallets are the organising idea: you can open one for a holiday or a wedding, share it, and see who paid for what. Plus is the cheaper paid tier for friends and family, Premium the dearer one, yet both show unlimited budgets and shared wallets.
Automatic categorisation and bank connection appear in the plan table. Because budgets are noted as live on iOS and Android with web following, desktop-first users may find the tool lopsided.
What stands out
Free Basic plan
Shared wallets
7-day trial
Where it costs you
Basic allows one cash wallet and one budget, which is thin for tracking separate trips or categories.
The pricing page footer carries a 2018 date and notes that prices differ by country, so figures need rechecking.
Right for
Travellers and groups who track events in separate wallets and share them.
Wrong for
Households wanting detailed envelope control on a free plan.
CzechiaFree Basic plan; Plus and Premium billed monthly or yearly after a 7-day trial
Leftover-to-spend budgeting with rules, rollovers and a debt payoff planner
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The headline feature, Leftover, subtracts bills, debts, savings and goals from income to show what is safe to spend today. Pace forecasts month-end balance from current habits. Users can pick zero-based, category, envelope or 50/30/20 budgets, and rules rename merchants or exclude transactions.
Rollovers carry unspent money into next month. A lifetime option appears on the pricing page, which few rivals offer, though a lifetime plan depends on the company staying around.
What stands out
Safe-to-spend figure
7-day trial
Lifetime plan
Where it costs you
Only a 7-day trial is offered, and prices are shown in the visitor's local currency, which complicates comparison.
Its stated audience is the US, Canada and the UK, so other markets are not served.
Right for
North American users who want one safe-to-spend number after bills and goals.
Wrong for
Budgeters outside the US, Canada and UK, or those wanting free forever.
United StatesPremium billed monthly, yearly or as a lifetime plan after a 7-day free trial
iPhone, Mac and web finance app with an AI money assistant
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The assistant does the dull work: it matches refunds, fixes categories, tags trip expenses on instruction and always asks before acting. Conversations let you ask why a bill rose or how much IRA room remains.
Six personalities change its tone, including a deliberately harsh one. The company states there are no tiers, add-ons or AI credits, so the single price covers everything. Connections span more than 16,000 institutions, including brokerage and crypto accounts.
What stands out
AI money assistant
Apple and web
16,000+ institutions
Where it costs you
No Android app is named on the pricing page, and household sharing is marked coming soon.
The pricing page shows one plan and no trial, so the first payment comes before a full test.
Right for
Apple users who want an assistant that tidies transactions and suggests budget changes.
Wrong for
Android users, or couples who need to share one login today.
United StatesOne plan with no tiers or add-ons, billed monthly or yearly
Quicken's cloud budgeting app with projected cash flow and retirement planning
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Simplifi builds a Spending Plan from monthly income, bills and subscriptions and updates it as you spend, so it adapts to zero-based, envelope or 50/30/20 habits. Projected cash flow lets you run what-if scenarios, and a retirement planner turns savings and spending into projections.
Quicken points users wanting local data to its separate Classic desktop products. Simplifi itself runs on web and mobile, so your records stay with the vendor's cloud.
What stands out
Spending Plan
Cash flow projection
US and Canada only
Where it costs you
The low monthly figure is a promotional rate billed annually, with a higher list rate beside it.
Products are not designed to function outside the US and Canada.
Right for
US and Canadian users wanting projections and retirement planning beside budgeting.
Wrong for
Anyone outside North America or wanting a desktop file they control.
United StatesAnnual subscription; a promotional monthly equivalent is shown beside a higher list rate
Zero-based budget app from Ramsey Solutions with a free plan
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
You plan income and expenses before the month begins and watch what remains in each category, with giving and saving treated as categories of their own. A household feature lets couples manage one budget together.
The free plan has no time limit, and Premium begins with a 14-day trial for new users. Coaching and weekly live trainings come with Premium, which suits people who want guidance. Those who do not share the Ramsey outlook may find the framing intrusive.
What stands out
Zero-based budgeting
Free plan
Debt snowball
Where it costs you
Bank connect, the feature that removes manual entry, sits in Premium.
The product is tied to Ramsey's teaching, including the debt snowball, which not every budgeter wants.
Right for
Followers of Ramsey's debt snowball who want a simple monthly zero-based plan.
Wrong for
People wanting free automatic transaction import or a neutral tool.
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Premium billed monthly or annually after a 14-day trial
Subscription finder and cancellation service with a free plan and Premium
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Personal Finance Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Subscription management is the centre of the product: an algorithm finds recurring charges, and Premium adds an assistant that cancels them and a concierge that negotiates bills. Account linking, balance alerts and spend tracking are in the free plan.
Budgets are unlimited only in Premium, so the free plan serves detection more than planning. A credit score view and net worth tracker sit alongside, which broadens it beyond cancelling services.
What stands out
Subscription cancellation
Free plan
US users only
Where it costs you
Its terms say the service is intended only for users in the United States.
No Premium price appears on the pages we read, so cost is unclear until signup.
Right for
US users who mainly want forgotten subscriptions found and cancelled for them.
Wrong for
Users outside the US, or those wanting a deep budgeting method.
United StatesFree plan; Premium adds cancellation help and savings tools, amount not on the pages checked
Personal finance apps record income and spending from bank feeds or manual entries, and help individuals and households set budgets, track debt and savings goals, and see their net worth. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 7 published against 5 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Wallet by BudgetBakers, Actual Budget, Goodbudget, Tiller, Spendee, EveryDollar, Rocket Money.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 12 vendors are spread over 3 countries (North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Actual Budget. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Personal finance apps: tracker, method or spreadsheet
Before comparing prices, decide which job you are hiring the app for. Monarch Money, Copilot Money and Quicken Simplifi mainly watch your accounts and report. YNAB and Goodbudget are budgeting methods first, and the software enforces a habit: give each dollar a job, or fill envelopes before spending.
Tiller is neither; it feeds your own spreadsheet, so the method is whatever you build. Rocket Money starts from recurring bills and cancellations, not from planning. People who need to be told where money went suit trackers, while people who overspend suit methods. Write one sentence on the problem you want solved, then discard apps that solve a different one.
Name the problem: tracking, planning, subscriptions or debt
Decide if you want a method imposed or flexibility
Check the app works on your phone, Mac or web
Bank connections: coverage, cost and country
Automatic transactions are what separate an app from a notebook, and coverage differs sharply by country. YNAB lists select US, Canadian, UK and EU banks. Goodbudget connects only US banks, and only on Premium. Quicken says its products are not designed to work outside the US and Canada.
PocketGuard names the US, Canada and the UK as its users, while Rocket Money says its service is intended only for US users. Actual Budget uses GoCardless in the EU and UK and SimpleFIN in the US and Canada, and Wallet puts bank syncing in Premium. Look up your own bank before paying, because a feed that does not reach it leaves you typing by hand.
Search the vendor's bank list for your own bank
Confirm bank sync is not locked to a higher plan
Check the app is meant for your country
Free plans, trials and lifetime options
The label matters less than the limit. Goodbudget's free plan is capped at ten regular envelopes, one account and two devices. EveryDollar's free plan has no end date but leaves bank connect to Premium. Wallet's free tier is manual tracking only, and Spendee's Basic plan allows one cash wallet and one budget.
Trials run from Monarch's first week and PocketGuard's seven days to YNAB's 34 days and Tiller's 30. Wallet and PocketGuard also list lifetime options, which suit a long horizon but depend on the company surviving. Compare what you would use in a normal month against each cap, and put a reminder in your calendar before any trial converts to a charge.
Read the exact caps on envelopes, wallets, accounts and devices
Diarise the trial end date before you start
Treat a lifetime plan as a bet on the vendor
Exit: who holds the data and how to leave
Money data accumulates for years, so leaving later should be cheap. Tiller keeps your transactions in spreadsheets inside your own account, so cancelling does not take them away. Actual Budget stores a local copy, runs under the MIT licence and imports YNAB4 and nYNAB history, so you can move in or out.
Hosted apps such as Monarch Money, Copilot Money, YNAB and Rocket Money keep your history on their servers, and the pages we read did not describe export formats, so ask before you commit. Companies change ownership and terms, which is why independence and ownership appear in each verdict here. Export a sample after your first month, and see what a competitor can import.
Export a sample file during the trial and open it
Ask whether history can be imported elsewhere
Prefer local copies if you plan to stay a decade
What goes wrong most often when buying personal finance apps software
Paying for a bank-connected plan before checking that the feed reaches your own bank.
Choosing a method app such as YNAB or Goodbudget and then ignoring the method, so the budget never balances.
Letting a trial convert to a paid year because nobody noted the end date.
Buying a lifetime plan from a small vendor without checking how long it has existed.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best personal finance apps in 2026?
Wallet by BudgetBakers leads our ranking of 12. BudgetBakers s.r.o. makes Wallet in Prague and calls itself an independent company funded by user subscriptions, not data sales. The free tier covers manual tracking only.
Bank syncing and group sharing belong to Premium, which can also be bought once as a Lifetime plan. The pages we read show no Wallet price, so confirm the amount in the app before committing.
Which personal finance apps tools publish their pricing?
7 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Wallet by BudgetBakers: Free tier for manual tracking; Premium by subscription or one-time Lifetime plan, amounts not on the pages checked.
Actual Budget: Free and open source; self-hosted, or third-party hosting such as PikaPods.
Goodbudget: Free plan with envelope, account and device limits; Premium billed monthly or annually.
Tiller: Annual subscription published after a 30-day free trial, with a further 30-day refund window.
Spendee: Free Basic plan; Plus and Premium billed monthly or yearly after a 7-day trial.
EveryDollar: Free plan; Premium billed monthly or annually after a 14-day trial.
Rocket Money: Free plan; Premium adds cancellation help and savings tools, amount not on the pages checked.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free personal finance apps tool?
Wallet by BudgetBakers, Actual Budget, Goodbudget, Spendee, EveryDollar, Rocket Money have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these personal finance apps vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2:
Wallet by BudgetBakers: Czechia.
Actual Budget: Not stated by the vendor.
Goodbudget: United States.
Tiller: United States.
YNAB: United States.
Monarch Money: United States.
Spendee: Czechia.
PocketGuard: United States.
Copilot Money: United States.
Quicken Simplifi: United States.
EveryDollar: Not stated by the vendor.
Rocket Money: United States.
Which personal finance apps tools are open source?
Actual Budget.
Which personal finance apps tools can you host yourself?
Actual Budget. 11 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of Wallet by BudgetBakers?
Look at Actual Budget (made for Technical households that want envelope budgeting with full ownership of their data.) and Goodbudget (made for Couples and families who want to plan spending together in virtual envelopes.), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Wallet by BudgetBakers?
Anyone expecting automatic bank feeds without paying anything.. Bank syncing is a Premium feature, so the free tier means typing in every purchase..
If your personal finance apps product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.