Mileage tracking software records business journeys for a tax deduction, an expense claim or an employer reimbursement scheme.
This guide ranks twelve tools on how much setup a driver needs, what trial caps and add-ons really cost, whether the log can be exported, and whether the vendor works alone for solo drivers and small teams.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What mileage tracking software does
Software that records business trips, by phone GPS, beacon or car adapter, classifies them, and produces mileage logs or reimbursement reports for tax authorities or employers.
Ranking criteria for this mileage tracking tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Phone app that logs trips automatically, with a capped free plan
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
This is the plainest price ladder in the list: a capped free plan, one driver on Pro, then per licence for small teams, with a quote beyond ten users.
An annual subscription bought on the web includes an iBeacon, a Bluetooth device that starts trips without opening the app. The free allowance suits an occasional driver only. The paid plans give no trial duration, so test a full month of real trips before committing.
What stands out
Free plan
Per-driver pricing
iBeacon trip starter
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 15 trips a month, so a regular driver reaches a paid plan within weeks.
No accounting or calendar integration is named on the homepage, only an API that the page does not describe.
Right for
Solo drivers and teams of up to ten who want simple per-licence billing
Wrong for
Finance teams needing a named accounting integration out of the box
Not stated by the vendorFree plan capped at 15 trips a month; per-driver and per-licence plans published
Mileage app whose Basic plan stays free, with optional hardware add-ons
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The 7-Day Pass gives one week of full Premium per calendar year, from 1 January, so the trial is a single annual chance rather than an open window. Beacon and Drive devices are separate purchases, and Time is a Premium-only add-on.
Named links include Google and Outlook Calendar, bank and credit cards, and an API. Count the add-ons you need before comparing it with plans that bundle them.
What stands out
Free plan
Hardware beacon
Calendar and payroll links
Where it costs you
The Premium price appears as a monthly figure and a different annual figure on the same page.
Team prices are linked but not readable, so a multi-driver rollout cannot be costed in advance.
Right for
Solo drivers who want unlimited automatic tracking before paying for anything
Wrong for
Teams that must cost a multi-user rollout from public prices
Not stated by the vendorBasic plan free of charge; Premium subscription and hardware add-ons published
Adapter for the car's diagnostics port that feeds an automatic logbook
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Because the adapter sits in the diagnostics port, logging does not depend on the phone's GPS or on remembering to start a trip. The same device reads fault codes, explains the check-engine light and tracks fuel cost, which a pure mileage app does not.
Reports named on the pricing page include an ATO logbook report and client billing. Compare prices on the annual or two-year plan, and run the compatibility check before ordering.
What stands out
OBD2 adapter
Hardware required
Subscription
Where it costs you
It needs an OBD2-compliant car, so older vehicles and non-car travel cannot be logged.
The monthly plan adds a separate device charge, which makes the shortest commitment the dearest.
Right for
Drivers of one or two cars who want logging without opening a phone app
Wrong for
Anyone logging trips in rentals, bikes or several borrowed vehicles
AustraliaMonthly, annual and two-year subscriptions published; device included on the longer terms
Automatic tracker with a web dashboard for audit-ready logs
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The distinctive feature is retroactive logging: the dashboard imports Google Maps Timeline history and turns it into a mileage log, and it supports bulk import of clients and trips.
Distance can be door-to-door or follow the route line, which matters when an auditor asks how miles were counted. The footer says it was originally established in 2001, and its terms are governed by Florida law. Because its plan page did not load, confirm current prices first.
What stands out
Audit-ready logs
Google Timeline import
Trial offered
Where it costs you
Plan prices and trial length are not visible on the pages that loaded, so cost cannot be compared.
The only named integration is Google Maps Timeline, with no accounting or payroll connection listed.
Right for
Self-employed drivers rebuilding past mileage from location history for a tax audit
Wrong for
Teams needing approvals, reimbursement rules or accounting connections
United StatesPaid subscription with a trial button; plan prices not readable on the site
Plug-in logbook device built around German tax-office documentation
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Vimcar frames its logbook as a tax decision: the site sets the one per cent monthly method against a full logbook and calculates the saving from list price, running costs and private share.
The hardware plugs into the OBD socket and the app is connected once. Beyond ten vehicles the page sends buyers to sales for an individual offer. A 30-day money-back guarantee applies, but the saving only exists if German company-car tax is your situation.
What stands out
Per-vehicle pricing
OBD plug-in
German tax logbook
Where it costs you
The contract renews automatically for twelve months at the regular rate after the first year.
Pricing and ordering pages are German, with only a DE and AT switch.
Right for
German company-car drivers choosing a logbook over the one per cent rule
Wrong for
Buyers outside Germany and Austria or needing reimbursement workflows
GermanyPer-vehicle subscription on 12 or 24-month terms, published; hardware included
Phone mileage tracker with a free tier and optional expense tracking
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Starter, with unlimited automatic tracking, manual trips and users, is the tier that matters for small teams, since Basic limits automatic detection. Professional adds expense capture from a linked card or bank account, a deduction finder and receipt photos.
The 7-day Starter trial needs a card entered. Because Everlance Business appears in the Motus product family, ask which company would be your contracting party at team scale.
What stands out
Free plan
Expense tracking
Audit defence
Where it costs you
The pricing page carries two conflicting price lists, so the annual cost is unclear before checkout.
Basic detects only 30 trips a month per user, which a driver making several trips a day can exhaust in a week.
Right for
Freelancers wanting automatic tracking plus receipt and deduction tools in one app
Wrong for
Buyers who need one unambiguous price list before purchase
United StatesFree Basic plan; Starter and Professional tiers published, with a Starter trial
Mileage tracking inside a tax and invoicing app for freelancers
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The Premium and Pro split follows the job: Premium captures trips, receipts and quarterly tax estimates with payment reminders, while Pro adds invoicing, collections and Balance Sheet and Trial Balance reporting.
That makes it a light accounting tool as well as a tracker. An Enterprise Solutions form asks how many people will use the app and whether API access is wanted, so team use is by enquiry. The 4.7 App Store rating is its own marketing claim.
What stands out
Tax estimates
Invoicing
Trial button
Where it costs you
Without visible prices, cost against a mileage-only app cannot be compared.
The core value sits in tax and accounting features, so a buyer wanting only a log gets a broader app than asked for.
Right for
Gig workers who want mileage, expenses and tax estimates in one app
Wrong for
Drivers who want only a logbook and no bookkeeping
United StatesPremium and Pro plans named; no prices visible on the site
Time clock with GPS where mileage is one of several modules
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Segmented Tracking separates drive time from on-site time, so a technician's travel can be costed apart from the work done. Auto clock-in and out, overtime and California breaks make payroll the core job.
Enterprise is by contact, and annual billing is advertised as two months free. The legal pages did not load when read, so the vendor's country and ownership are unconfirmed. Judge it as a workforce tool that also counts miles.
What stands out
Per-user pricing
Payroll integrations
GPS timesheets
Where it costs you
Mileage is one module of a timesheet product, so a team wanting only logs pays per active user for the rest.
Basic stops at ten users, and Segmented Tracking is an extra charge on the two higher tiers.
Right for
Field crews that need timesheets, payroll export and mileage from one app
Wrong for
Self-employed drivers wanting a standalone mileage log without timesheets
Not stated by the vendorPer-user Basic, Pro and Premium tiers published; Enterprise by contact; 14-day trial only
Phone drive logger with a monthly cap on its free plan
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Drives are classified using named locations, frequent drives and work hours, so setup effort goes into defining your places. The cap counts drives rather than withholding features, which makes the free plan a fair test of the detection.
Prices carry a dollar sign with no currency code. Team and business tiers need a visit to a second pricing page, and the company behind the site is shown only in the footer.
What stands out
Free plan
Drive limit
Team management
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 40 drives a month, so a regular commuter pays within a few weeks.
Business pricing is held on a separate page, and no integrations are named on the homepage.
Right for
Individuals wanting drive detection that sorts trips by saved places and work hours
Wrong for
Finance teams that expect accounting integrations to be named up front
Not stated by the vendorFree plan limited to 40 drives a month; Unlimited plan for individuals published; business prices separate
Expense platform where mileage claims are an entry-level feature
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Mileage sits next to expenses, per diems, trips and cash advances, with custom fields available on mileages from the Pro plan. Essentials covers unlimited expenses, a mobile app with receipt scanner, and Uber, Lyft and Slack links.
SFTP and API access come with Business. Prices show in euros, dollars or pounds per user per month, lower when billed annually. Treat it as an expense tool that handles mileage claims, not a logbook.
What stands out
Expense management
Per-user pricing
Distance auto-calculation
Where it costs you
Plans start at five users, so a single driver cannot buy it.
Per diems, card matching and QuickBooks, Xero and Exact connections appear only from Pro upward.
Right for
Companies of five or more that want mileage inside one expense workflow
Wrong for
Sole traders needing a standalone logbook for tax
BelgiumPer-user Essentials and Pro plans published; Business and Enterprise priced on request
Expense suite where mileage capture improves with each plan tier
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Mileage is treated as an expense type here: the free plan records GPS-based mileage expenses, and the jump to Premium unlocks live automatic capture along with GSA-compliant per diem and budget tracking.
Standard adds corporate cards, several policies and single sign-on. Integrations with ERP and HRMS are an add-on, as are paid support and onboarding. Prices exclude local taxes, and the paid plans give no trial duration.
What stands out
Free plan
Per-user pricing
Auto mileage on Premium
Where it costs you
Auto mileage capture with live tracking sits on the Premium plan, not the free one.
The free plan is capped at three users and 5 GB of receipt storage.
Right for
Small firms of up to three people wanting mileage next to receipts
Wrong for
Drivers who need automatic trip detection without paying for Premium
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for up to three users; Standard and Premium priced per user, published
Programme-based mileage reimbursement for large driver populations, sold by quote
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Mileage Tracking Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The 5,000-mile line splits the programmes: FAVR above it, CPM below it. Motus Protect adds safety training, insurance monitoring and motor vehicle record checks, run annually or continuously.
Named integrations are SAP Concur, HRIS and payroll systems, with Insights Pro for analytics. The same pricing page lists Everlance Business, Mobilize and Localize in the family. A quote-only model suggests a procurement process rather than a signup.
What stands out
FAVR and CPM programmes
Driver safety add-on
Single sign-on
Where it costs you
No list prices exist, so a buyer cannot estimate cost before a sales conversation.
Programme types are built around employer reimbursement rates, so individuals tracking for a tax return have no matching plan.
Right for
Employers reimbursing many drivers under FAVR, CPM or allowance programmes
Wrong for
Individuals or small teams wanting self-service signup with public prices
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per driver with volume discounts; no list prices
Software that records business trips, by phone GPS, beacon or car adapter, classifies them, and produces mileage logs or reimbursement reports for tax authorities or employers. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 9 of the 12 print a price; 3 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Driversnote, TripLog, GOFAR, Vimcar, Everlance, Timeero, MileIQ, Rydoo, Zoho Expense.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Look at the contracting entity: these 12 vendors sit in 5 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Free mileage tracking software caps trips, not features
Every free plan in this market meters usage, and the meter differs. Driversnote allows 15 trips monthly, MileIQ at 40 drives, and Everlance detects 30 trips automatically while leaving manual start and stop trips unlimited. TripLog is the exception: its Basic tier has no stated trip cap on automatic GPS logging.
The cap decides who the free plan serves: a landlord visiting one property a week never reaches it, while a courier does on day two. Cheap paid tiers also come with conditions, such as Everlance's trial needing a card. Count your trips across a normal month, then see which cap you would hit, how soon, and what the next tier costs for the number of drivers you have.
Count a normal month of separate trips, not days driven.
Check whether the cap applies to automatic detection or to all logging.
Read what the first paid tier adds beyond removing the limit.
Phone, Bluetooth beacon or plug-in adapter: how trips get captured
How the trip starts is the most practical difference between products. MileIQ, Everlance and MileageWise detect drives with the phone, which is free of hardware but depends on the phone being with you. Driversnote and TripLog add a Bluetooth beacon that starts trips for you, and Driversnote includes one with an annual web subscription.
GOFAR and Vimcar go further with an adapter in the car's diagnostics port, so the car logs the trip even if the phone is left behind. That costs more upfront and ties the log to one vehicle, so it suits a company car better than a mix of borrowed ones. Phone-only apps cover a person across any vehicle, which is the better fit for a freelancer who rents or swaps cars.
Decide whether trips must be logged to a vehicle or to a person.
Ask who pays for and replaces beacons or adapters.
Check compatibility with your car before ordering hardware.
Timeero, Rydoo and Zoho Expense sell mileage as a module
Some entries here are not mileage products at all. Timeero is a time clock with mileage inside it, billed per active user. Rydoo calculates mileage claims within a wider expense workflow and starts at five users. Zoho Expense records GPS mileage on its free plan for up to three users, but automatic capture with live tracking needs Premium. Hurdlr bundles mileage with tax estimates and invoicing.
For a company already paying for expenses or timesheets, the module costs nothing extra and keeps one approval flow. For a driver who wants a log, it means paying for features that never get used, and the mileage part is rarely the strongest part of the product. Ask for a trial of the mileage screens specifically, not a tour of the whole suite.
List which other jobs the product must do, besides mileage.
Check which plan tier switches on automatic mileage capture.
Compare per-user billing with per-driver billing for your headcount.
Tax logbook or employer reimbursement: Vimcar, MileageWise and Motus
The same miles serve two different rules. A tax logbook has to survive an inspection: Vimcar builds a logbook around German tax-office practice, and MileageWise produces audit-ready logs, even converting Google Maps Timeline history. Employer reimbursement is a payment problem: Motus runs FAVR for heavy drivers, CPM for occasional ones and TAAP for monthly allowances, sold per driver by quote.
Mixing them up is expensive. A logbook app does not run reimbursement programmes, and a reimbursement platform does not help a sole trader defend a deduction. Start from the rule you must satisfy, and only then compare prices, because a cheaper tool that produces the wrong record is worth nothing at inspection time.
Name the rule: tax deduction, expense claim or employer programme.
Ask what record an inspector or finance team would request.
Check whether the vendor serves your country's mileage rules.
What goes wrong most often when buying mileage tracking software
Buying on the headline monthly price before checking whether the price list on the page agrees with itself.
Choosing a phone-only tracker for a company car that several people drive.
Assuming a general expense suite logs mileage automatically when the cheaper tiers only record claims.
Skipping the export test, so a year of trips is stranded when the subscription ends.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best mileage tracking software in 2026?
Driversnote takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. Driversnote ladders its plans by driver count: the free plan stops at 15 trips a month, Pro covers one driver, and Teams is priced per licence for two to ten users with a custom price above that.
One subscription covers a driver across any number of vehicles. The homepage names no accounting integrations, so data leaves through reports, and the vendor states no country.
Which mileage tracking tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Driversnote: Free plan capped at 15 trips a month; per-driver and per-licence plans published.
TripLog: Basic plan free of charge; Premium subscription and hardware add-ons published.
GOFAR: Monthly, annual and two-year subscriptions published; device included on the longer terms.
Vimcar: Per-vehicle subscription on 12 or 24-month terms, published; hardware included.
Everlance: Free Basic plan; Starter and Professional tiers published, with a Starter trial.
Timeero: Per-user Basic, Pro and Premium tiers published; Enterprise by contact; 14-day trial only.
MileIQ: Free plan limited to 40 drives a month; Unlimited plan for individuals published; business prices separate.
Rydoo: Per-user Essentials and Pro plans published; Business and Enterprise priced on request.
Zoho Expense: Free plan for up to three users; Standard and Premium priced per user, published.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free mileage tracking tool?
Driversnote, TripLog, Everlance, MileIQ, Zoho Expense have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these mileage tracking software vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Driversnote: Not stated by the vendor.
TripLog: Not stated by the vendor.
GOFAR: Australia.
MileageWise: United States.
Vimcar: Germany.
Everlance: United States.
Hurdlr: United States.
Timeero: Not stated by the vendor.
MileIQ: Not stated by the vendor.
Rydoo: Belgium.
Zoho Expense: Not stated by the vendor.
Motus: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Driversnote?
Second is TripLog, which suits Solo drivers who want unlimited automatic tracking before paying for anything. Third is GOFAR, which suits Drivers of one or two cars who want logging without opening a phone app.
Who should not buy Driversnote?
Finance teams needing a named accounting integration out of the box. The free plan stops at 15 trips a month, so a regular driver reaches a paid plan within weeks..
Missing from this mileage tracking software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.