Buy now pay later providers let shoppers split a purchase into instalments, or give business buyers invoice terms, while the merchant is paid up front.
This guide ranks vendors by how plainly they state who they are, what a merchant pays and which plugins exist, then by consumer terms, and gives no weight to user counts that pages cannot back.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What buy now pay later providers software does
Buy now pay later providers fund a purchase at checkout and let the buyer repay in instalments or on invoice, charging the merchant, the shopper or both.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the buy now pay later providers tool was built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Merchant plan chosen at sign-up; amounts not shown
—
Merchants needing both short plans and long instalments with bank payouts within days
Buyers who want a published merchant rate card
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Milan-based instalment provider with a long list of shop plugins
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The consumer offer is simple: pay in three interest-free instalments, with a 630 EUR item shown as 210 EUR today and the same amount after one and two months. Registration is free and approval is described as instant.
Merchants can connect through SAP, SAP Hybris, Salesforce, nopCommerce, OpenCart, Kooomo or PCommerce as well as the plugins above. Nothing on the page states a fee, a spending limit or an owner, so those three questions go to sales.
What stands out
Pay in three
Named shop plugins
In-store barcode app
Where it costs you
The page gives no merchant commission, so the real cost of a sale is unknown before talks.
Basket and conversion gains are marketing claims with no study behind them.
Right for
Webshops on PrestaShop, WooCommerce or Magento wanting plain three-instalment payments
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published merchant rate first, before any call
ItalyMerchant rates not stated; shoppers pay in three instalments without interest
Instalments that run on a shopper's existing credit card
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Splitit takes a different route from lenders that issue their own credit: the page says its technology leverages the global card payment rails, so the shopper's existing limit funds the plan.
Developer documentation sits at developers.splitit.com, and Shopify has its own integration page. WooCommerce and other platforms are not named, which matters if your shop runs elsewhere. Splitit USA Inc. and Splitit Consumer Funding LLC carry separate NMLS numbers in the footer.
What stands out
Card-rail instalments
Single global API
White-label plugin
Where it costs you
No fee, plan or trial is published, so the first number arrives only through a sales conversation.
The approval-rate comparison has no cited source and cannot be checked.
Right for
Merchants who want shoppers to spread payments on cards they own
Wrong for
Shops that want a priced plan before contacting anyone
United StatesMerchant pricing and plans not stated on the business page
UK pay-over-time credit with published consumer plans and a rewards tier
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Zilch behaves more like a consumer account than a checkout add-on. It offers pay now, pay over six weeks and pay over three months, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a physical and virtual card, and a Snooze option that adds four or eight days at a possible fee.
Open Banking is used for income verification. Zilch Plus raises rewards to 6% and gives a free card, while the Standard card costs 4.99. No parent company is stated.
What stands out
Published plans
FCA authorised
Open Banking checks
Where it costs you
The Business plan is listed as coming soon with no price, so merchants cannot buy it today.
Fees may apply even on the interest-free range, which the page shows as 11.50 on a 1,000 example.
Right for
UK shoppers comparing priced plans, cards and rewards before choosing a pay-later account
Wrong for
Merchants who need a working checkout product today
United KingdomPublished consumer plans, one with a free Standard tier; merchant terms not stated
Purchase on invoice and instalments with a trade account, sold by demo
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Billie's page leans on scale: more than 1.3 million buyers, 10,000 merchants and 3.6 billion euro processed. These are the vendor's own figures. The interesting detail is the plug-in list, where Klarna sits next to Stripe, Mollie and Adyen, so Billie can be added beside another method.
The cards are described as having no monthly fee. Billie GmbH is the legal name in the consent text, but the imprint was not read, so country stays open.
What stands out
Invoice purchase
Trade Account
Payment-provider links
Where it costs you
No fee model appears; a marketing line about cutting processing costs by up to 25% is not a price.
The registered country and any regulatory licence are not shown on the page read.
Right for
Sellers who invoice buyers and want invoice terms inside an existing payment stack
Wrong for
Buyers who want self-serve sign-up and visible pricing
Not stated by the vendorFee model not stated; the only call to action is a demo booking
Invoice terms for business buyers backed by named bank and insurer partners
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Two is aimed at companies buying from companies, which separates it from the shopper-facing providers in this list. The homepage names Crystallize, Optimizely, Craft CMS, DynamicWeb and 24Nettbutikk beside the big shop platforms.
Merchants can sign up for the Merchant Portal or read developer documentation for the API. The tripartite structure is described in marketing terms only, with no contract detail.
What stands out
B2B BNPL
Bank partners
Shop platform plugins
Where it costs you
Nothing identifies the legal entity or its country, which a business buyer normally needs before signing.
No pricing or fee model appears on the homepage.
Right for
Online sellers to companies who want to offer invoice terms through a plugin
Wrong for
Consumer shops wanting shopper-facing instalments at their checkout
Not stated by the vendorFee model not stated; merchants can try the portal or book a demo
Saudi-licensed instalment plans up to 24 months with a Sharia committee
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
Tamara is the most fully documented company in this list: legal name, commercial registration number, unified number, registered address in Riyadh, capital and a SAMA licence number are all on the page.
The Sharia-compliant positioning is a product choice that shapes what it offers. Tamara Smart is described as free for the first month and then 19 monthly, though the currency is not given. Ownership is not stated, and Paymob and a POS option sit in the integration list.
What stands out
SAMA licensed
Up to 24 months
Regional plugins
Where it costs you
Merchant fees and consumer spending limits are not stated anywhere on the page.
Repeated payment delays can suspend the account and affect the credit score.
Right for
Merchants selling into Saudi Arabia on Salla, Zid or Shopify
Wrong for
Sellers outside the Saudi market with no local plugin
Saudi ArabiaMerchant fees not stated; consumer subscription price shown on the page
Four-payment and monthly plans plus a card and a cash account
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tabby bundles three products under one brand. Pay Later is the split-payment plan; the Tabby Card allows payment plans up to eight months with no down payment and 5% cashback on top categories; the Cash Account moves money abroad or to UAE phone numbers and bank accounts without transfer fees, per the page.
The Cash Card cashback of up to 3% is described as an early-customer promotion, so it may not last.
What stands out
Pay in 4
Tabby Card
Cash account
Where it costs you
No merchant pricing or integration is named, only links to pricing, docs and sign-up.
The two 4.8 ratings cite no review source, so they carry little weight.
Right for
Shoppers in the UAE wanting one app for pay later, a card and transfers
Wrong for
Merchants who need fees and plugins on the page
Not stated by the vendorMerchant fees not stated; consumer split payments carry no fees
Dutch-language invoice, instalment and collection products in one range
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The range reaches past checkout. Besides the pay-later methods, Riverty sells domestic and international collection, the sale of receivables and an invoicing service, which suits a seller that also chases late payers.
The homepage is in Dutch and the FAQ names Holland & Barret, BestSecret and TerStal as places to use it. How those merchants connect is not described. The footer shows a 2026 copyright line and an Impressum link only.
What stands out
Pay-later methods
Collections
Invoicing service
Where it costs you
No e-commerce plugin is named, so integration effort is unknown until the developer docs are read.
The imprint content was not included, so the registered seat and owner cannot be confirmed.
Right for
Merchants wanting invoice, instalment and debt collection handled by one provider
Wrong for
Shops that need a named Shopify or WooCommerce plugin
Not stated by the vendorMerchant fees not stated on the Dutch homepage
Pay-in-four with a service fee, plus monthly loans and add-ons
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Sezzle's pricing page carries numbers for each product, which is rare in this list. The cost is in the detail: service fees vary by loan amount, a paid subscription may be needed for pay-in-four, and SezzleCash adds an express-delivery fee.
A 1,000 example over six months ranges from 166.67 monthly at 0% APR to 184.29 at 35.99%. The page links PCI DSS Level 1 compliance.
What stands out
Service fee
Monthly loans
Add-on products
Where it costs you
The pay-in-four example works out at 45.0% APR once the service fee is counted.
The terms page names no legal entity, country or governing law.
Right for
US shoppers who read fee examples and want monthly loans alongside pay-in-four
Wrong for
Merchants or buyers needing a clearly named legal entity
Not stated by the vendorPublished fee examples and APR range; no merchant rate shown
Service-business financing with terms from three to 120 months
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The worked example shows why Wisetack sits in a different corner: a 5,500 dollar job costs 253.54 monthly over 24 months at 9.9% APR, or 1,833.33 monthly over three months at 0%. Size and term suit quotes for repairs or treatment, not carts.
Partners named include Dental Intelligence, Job Nimbus and Workwave, and merchant apps exist for iOS and Android. News links mention U.S. Bank and Citizens Bank partnerships, not ownership.
What stands out
3 to 120 months
Extended 0% plans
Job software partners
Where it costs you
Merchant fees are not shown, even though 0% plans must be paid for by someone.
Country and ownership are not stated on the pages read.
Right for
Service and trade businesses selling larger jobs through their field-service software
Wrong for
Retailers wanting a small-basket checkout button for carts
Not stated by the vendorMerchant fees not stated; consumer APR range shown
Four-payment plan over six weeks with a points rewards scheme
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Afterpay is built for short-term, small-basket use: first payment upfront, the rest over six weeks. Pulse Rewards is free to join and earns points for eligible on-time payments.
For merchants, the page names BigCommerce, Magento, Shopify, Square, Wix and WooCommerce, and processors including Stripe, Adyen and Nuvei. The Afterpay Card is issued by Sutton Bank. No limits on spending are stated, and eligibility has extra criteria.
What stands out
Pay in 4
Pulse Rewards
Platform integrations
Where it costs you
Late fees may apply to missed payments, and no cap is stated.
The retailer page shows no fee percentage or fixed amount.
Right for
US shoppers wanting short interest-free instalments at partner brands now
Wrong for
Merchants wanting rates and shoppers outside the United States
United StatesPublished shopper fee example; merchant rates not shown
Dutch homepage showing pay now, in three and in 30 days
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
For a shopper, Klarna bundles three timings of payment with cashback paid as points to a Klarna bank account, and a caption mentions boosted cashback at 9%. A TrustScore of 4.5 from over 625,000 reviews is shown.
The insurance named belongs to XCover, a separate company, which is easy to misread as Klarna's own details. Whether any of this suits a merchant depends on the Voor bedrijven pages, which could not be read.
What stands out
Pay in 3
Klarna Card
Cashback points
Where it costs you
The membership amount is not stated, and the business link's content was not available.
No registered country or headquarters is stated for Klarna itself.
Right for
Dutch shoppers who want one app for payments, cashback and an account
Wrong for
Merchants who compare fees, plugins and the legal entity
Not stated by the vendorMerchant fees not stated; consumer membership carries monthly costs
Four-payment to 36-month plans with named shop platform logos
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Buy Now Pay Later Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Affirm spans two-week payments to 36-month instalments within one product. Payout speed is stated: ACH to the merchant's bank within 1-3 business days of each transaction.
Regional sites exist for Australia, Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom, yet the footer and imprint were not visible, so the legal entity remains unconfirmed. An Explore integrations directory is linked for platforms beyond the logos.
What stands out
Up to 36 months
ACH payouts
Platform logos
Where it costs you
Merchant fees surface only after sign-up begins, so cost comparison is blocked.
The 20% repeat purchase and 60% AOV figures are claims, not verified results.
Right for
Merchants needing both short plans and long instalments with bank payouts within days
Wrong for
Buyers who want a published merchant rate card
Not stated by the vendorMerchant plan chosen at sign-up; amounts not shown
How to choose buy now pay later providers software
Buy now pay later providers fund a purchase at checkout and let the buyer repay in instalments or on invoice, charging the merchant, the shopper or both. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Check who publishes a price
10 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 3 publish a pricing model you can read today: Zilch, Sezzle, Afterpay.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 13 vendors sit in 5 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 2, Middle East 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Buy now pay later providers: who pays, and how much
The first question for any buy now pay later provider is who carries the fee, because the pages answer it unevenly. Sezzle shows consumer numbers: a service fee on pay-in-four and APRs up to 35.99% on monthly loans. Afterpay shows a finance fee example and late fees that may apply. For merchants the picture reverses.
Scalapay, Splitit, Klarna and Affirm show no merchant rate at all, and Affirm only says a pricing plan is chosen at sign-up. A seller therefore cannot compare cost from the sites alone. Ask each provider for the merchant discount, any fixed fee per order, payout timing and what happens on a refund, in writing and for your average basket.
Ask for the merchant rate and fixed fee for your average basket
Check whether late fees or finance fees fall on the shopper
Confirm payout timing, as Affirm states ACH within 1-3 business days
Invoice terms for companies: Billie, Two and Riverty
Selling to businesses is a different product from selling to shoppers, and few providers say which they do, so read the product names closely. Two calls its Santander X Allianz Trade offer a B2B BNPL solution, while Billie lists purchase on invoice and a Trade Account.
Riverty adds collections and receivables sales to its pay-later methods, which matters if late payment is your real problem. None of the three publishes a fee on the page read, and Two shows no legal name or country. Before signing, find out who carries the credit risk on an unpaid invoice, how long payout takes, and whether the buyer is assessed before or after the order.
Ask who bears the loss if a business buyer never pays
Request the legal entity and its registered country in writing
Check whether collection is included or sold separately
Licences and local rules: Tamara, Tabby and Zilch
A pay-later provider extends credit, so its authorisation matters more than its logo or its star ratings. Tamara states a Saudi Central Bank licence number and a commercial registration. Zilch states FCA authorisation under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 and a company number.
Tabby splits its business into two entities and names only Tabby Payments LLC, the cash services arm, as holding a UAE central bank licence. That detail is easy to miss, since the pay-later and card entity is a different company. Sezzle, Klarna and Affirm state no country on the pages read. Before signing, ask which entity you contract with, which regulator supervises it, and where that licence number is published.
Ask which legal entity signs your merchant agreement
Look for a named regulator and licence number on the page
Do not assume one licence covers every product
Plugins and approval claims: Splitit, Scalapay and Affirm
Integration lists and approval statistics are where marketing runs ahead of evidence. Check both before a vendor reaches your shortlist. Scalapay names WooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop, Magento 2 and a custom API, while Splitit names Shopify and a single global API. Affirm shows platform logos and an integrations directory.
Riverty links only to developer documentation, and Tabby links only to integration docs. Splitit claims 85% approval against a 35% industry average, and Affirm claims 337K merchants, but neither cites a source. Test the plugin on a staging shop before launch, and treat approval rates as something to measure on your own orders over a few weeks, not a number to rely on in a forecast.
Install the named plugin on a test shop first
Treat unsourced approval claims as untested until measured
Confirm your shop platform is named, not just implied
What goes wrong most often when buying buy now pay later providers software
Judging a provider by its consumer interest-free headline when the merchant fee is the cost that lands on your margin.
Assuming a business invoice provider such as Billie or Two covers consumer shoppers, or the reverse.
Treating review counts, user counters and approval percentages from the vendor's own page as proof of fit.
Signing with a brand name without checking which legal entity and regulator sit behind the checkout product.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best buy now pay later providers in 2026?
Scalapay takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Scalapay names its company on the page, SCALAPAY S.R.L. in Milan with a VAT number, and states no parent company.
Merchants get plugins for WooCommerce, Shopify, PrestaShop and Magento 2 plus a custom API, and shoppers can pay in store with an app barcode. The weak spot is cost: the page shows no merchant rate, only claims of a 48% larger basket and 11% higher conversion.
Which buy now pay later providers tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Zilch: Published consumer plans, one with a free Standard tier; merchant terms not stated.
Sezzle: Published fee examples and APR range; no merchant rate shown.
Afterpay: Published shopper fee example; merchant rates not shown.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free buy now pay later providers tool?
No. None of the 13 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these buy now pay later providers vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 2, Middle East 1.
Scalapay: Italy.
Splitit: United States.
Zilch: United Kingdom.
Billie: Not stated by the vendor.
Two: Not stated by the vendor.
Tamara: Saudi Arabia.
Tabby: Not stated by the vendor.
Riverty: Not stated by the vendor.
Sezzle: Not stated by the vendor.
Wisetack: Not stated by the vendor.
Afterpay: United States.
Klarna: Not stated by the vendor.
Affirm: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Scalapay?
Look at Splitit (made for Merchants who want shoppers to spread payments on cards they own) and Zilch (made for UK shoppers comparing priced plans, cards and rewards before choosing a pay-later account), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Scalapay?
Buyers who need a published merchant rate first, before any call. The page gives no merchant commission, so the real cost of a sale is unknown before talks..
This list covers 13 buy now pay later providers products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.