Online bookkeeping services keep a business's books remotely, through a mix of accountants, software and automation.
This guide ranks independent firms first, then weighs the first ninety days of setup, what cleanup, payroll and tax add to the monthly fee, whether your records can leave, and which size of business each service is built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What online bookkeeping services software does
Online bookkeeping services record and reconcile a company's transactions remotely, using accountants and software to keep the ledger current, produce monthly reports and sometimes add payroll, tax or CFO support.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the online bookkeeping services tool was built for. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Licensed CPA firm with published monthly ranges for startup accounting
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Kruze sorts clients by transaction volume and chart of accounts, with Basic for low volume and Founder Timesaver for medium. Higher tiers add GAAP revenue recognition support, multi-entity consolidation and multi-currency.
The firm lists R&D tax credits, 409A valuations and Delaware franchise tax alongside accounting, and gives its California licence number. The site names no software integrations, so confirm your own tools during the free consultation.
What stands out
CPA firm
Accrual basis
Startup focus
Where it costs you
Two of the three plans insist on vendors that Kruze has approved, which limits your own stack.
Premium shows no price, so high transaction volume cannot be budgeted from the site.
Right for
Startups wanting accrual books from a licensed CPA firm with a named accounting manager
Wrong for
Shops with simple books and no need for accrual
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly ranges by complexity; Premium quoted; consultation offered
Monthly bookkeeping with expense caps and an included dashboard
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Xendoo gives the most readable ladder on this list: Essential, Growth and Scale each state an expense ceiling, an account count and an integration count.
Weekly bookkeeping comes from a US team, and the Insights XP dashboard is part of every plan. The partner logos were read from image file names, so confirm integrations in writing. Catch-up work starts as a separate monthly fee.
What stands out
Expense caps
Insights XP
US team
Where it costs you
Each tier caps monthly expenses and bank or card accounts, so a growing business changes tier fast.
Fractional CFO and tax guidance are add-ons, and the site names no headquarters.
Right for
Small businesses with predictable expenses who want a fixed monthly bookkeeping bill
Wrong for
Businesses above the top expense cap or needing accrual
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers by expense cap; cheaper annual rate; custom above the top tier
Tiered bookkeeping for US businesses with every add-on priced
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Fincent publishes unusually detailed add-on prices, including invoicing, project tracking, AP and AR assistance, 1099 filing per form and tax extension filing per file. Enterprise customers get dedicated CFO services and catch-up bookkeeping.
Named connections include Plaid, Gusto, Shopify, QuickBooks, Bill.com and Square. Items on the home page such as continuous ledger and anomaly detection are descriptions of the product, not guarantees.
What stands out
US only
Priced add-ons
Anomaly detection
Where it costs you
Monthly bookkeeping starts only at Pro, because Basic is annual with quarterly books.
Privacy policy and terms pages returned errors, so data handling cannot be read from the site.
Right for
US startups wanting a priced menu of bookkeeping, invoicing and tax add-ons
Wrong for
Companies outside the United States or needing clear legal terms
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers with expense limits; Enterprise custom; add-ons itemised
Bookkeeping, tax, payroll and fractional CFO from one team
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Bookkeeper360 bundles its own software with the service, available on the web, Google Play and the App Store. Live dashboards cover P&L, cash position and burn rate, and in-app messaging reaches the bookkeeping or CFO team.
Support from the account team is described as unlimited. Add-ons such as HR services and fractional HR raise the total well above the entry price for companies that want everything.
What stands out
From-prices
Software included
Payroll add-on
Where it costs you
Every price is a starting figure, so the final monthly bill depends on a quote.
No legal entity, owner or headquarters is stated on the pages checked.
Right for
Growing firms that want bookkeeping, payroll and tax handled by one team
Wrong for
Buyers who need a firm monthly figure before talking to sales
Not stated by the vendorPublished starting prices per service; month-to-month or annual terms
Back-office provider selling bookkeeping, tax and CFO as separate plans
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pilot's Essentials plan covers monthly expenses up to a stated ceiling, and tax filings start at a yearly price that depends on entity type. CFO services scale from a monthly call to weekly calls on annual billing.
BILL, Ramp, QuickBooks and Gusto are named connections. The Founders Tier for stock administration is free for pre-seed founders, but that is a cap-table service, not bookkeeping.
What stands out
Expense cap
Tax needs bookkeeping
Trial offered
Where it costs you
Tax plans require Pilot Bookkeeping, so a tax-only arrangement is not offered.
The Core plan column shows zeros that read like a page glitch, so its terms stay unclear.
Right for
Funded startups wanting bookkeeping now and tax or CFO calls later
Wrong for
Anyone needing a CPA firm of record or a stated owner
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly bookkeeping plan with an expense cap; tax billed yearly; trial offered
Tiered accounting from bookkeeping up to controller-managed accrual books
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
inDinero's ladder is easy to follow: Essential for bookkeeping, Growth with controllers managing accrual accounting, Executive with revenue recognition and budget analysis. Other named services include business taxes, payroll, 409A valuation and on-demand finance support.
The footer gives a Covina, California address and a copyright to Indinero without a legal entity. Payment can be monthly, quarterly or annual, though the FAQ does not tie each option to a plan.
What stands out
Controller tiers
QuickBooks, NetSuite
Cloud systems
Where it costs you
Only starting prices are shown, and Executive is custom, so full cost needs a conversation.
The practice leans on two ledgers, which narrows what it handles well.
Right for
Companies that expect to move from plain bookkeeping to controller-run accrual books
Wrong for
Teams on another ledger or wanting a fully published price
United StatesPublished starting monthly prices; Executive custom; monthly, quarterly or annual payment
Salt Lake City outsourced bookkeeping on month-to-month terms
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Ignite Spot lists a broad service menu: outsourced bookkeeping and accounting, financial reporting, virtual bookkeeping, QuickBooks cleanup, sales tax and tax preparation.
Month-to-month terms mean you can leave without a long commitment, though the quote itself depends on size and transaction volume. The site is silent on hosting and on any legal entity, so check contract terms and data handling in writing.
What stands out
Month-to-month
QuickBooks Online
Xero
Where it costs you
No prices are shown, so there is nothing to compare before contacting sales.
Only QuickBooks Online and Xero are named, and the site covers U.S.-based businesses.
Right for
Small US businesses wanting a cleanup and then steady month-to-month books
Wrong for
Buyers who compare vendors by published price first
New Jersey bookkeeping firm for small businesses and QuickBooks users
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Basis is a limited liability company in Livingston, New Jersey, and its pitch is hands-on work rather than software. It separates financial management and advisory, controller and CFO services, and a track for QuickBooks users.
METHOD CRM integrations and customisations are listed too. With no pricing or trial on the page, the only route to a number is the phone or contact form.
What stands out
QuickBooks ProAdvisor
Controller services
METHOD CRM
Where it costs you
The home page lists no prices or plans, so cost is unknown until you call.
Owner, hosting model and any parent company are not stated on the page.
Right for
Small businesses wanting a local firm that works inside QuickBooks
Wrong for
Buyers wanting self-service software with a visible price list
United StatesNot shown on the home page; phone and contact form only
AI bookkeeping subscriptions priced on complexity, with CFO tiers
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Zeni prices bookkeeping on complexity, monthly expenses and annual revenue, then layers CFO, tax and payroll tiers above it.
Named features include an AI accountant agent, AI month-end close, bill pay and reimbursements, and a connector that lets Claude and Codex read your books. Bill pay shows zero ACH fees, but only inside a paid subscription. The company says it is not an FDIC-insured bank.
What stands out
AI agents
CFO setup fees
US entities only
Where it costs you
CFO plans carry setup fees on top of monthly fees, so first-year cost is higher.
The dashboard requires QBO Plus, and services are limited to US-based entities.
Right for
US startups wanting AI-assisted books with a monthly close and reporting
Wrong for
Companies outside the US or those avoiding a QuickBooks dependency
United StatesPublished monthly tiers with annual discount; Enterprise custom; setup fees on CFO plans
Revenue-banded monthly packages for mid-sized businesses, tax work excluded
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The packages step up from Essential through Core and Complete to Pinnacle, each tied to an annual revenue range, with advisory-only tiers also named. DCAA compliance is on the services list, which suggests government contractor work.
Over 80 technology apps and partners are listed, including BILL, Ramp, Expensify and Gusto. Its login points to a cloud domain, but the hosting model of its own software is not stated.
What stands out
Revenue bands
Controller services
No tax work
Where it costs you
A second firm is needed for returns, since tax work is excluded.
The lowest listed band starts at one million in revenue, which excludes very small businesses.
Right for
Mid-sized firms on QuickBooks, NetSuite or Sage Intacct wanting controllers
Wrong for
Very small businesses and anyone wanting tax work from the same firm
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly amounts by annual revenue band
AI accounting platform licensed per client entity to accounting firms
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Botkeeper is a platform whose modules include transaction categorisation, automated bank reconciliation, month-end review with anomaly detection and journal entry automation.
Price per licence falls as volume tiers rise, and one licence equals one client. Payments go by card, Google Pay or ACH from US bank accounts. The accuracy claim covers only entries posted to the ledger when the AI is confident.
What stands out
Built for firms
Per licence
AI categorisation
Where it costs you
It licenses software to accounting firms, so a business cannot simply hire it as its bookkeeper.
Its pages offer no trial and name no accounting-software integrations.
Right for
Accounting firms looking to automate categorisation and month-end review across clients
Wrong for
Owners wanting someone else to do the bookkeeping
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly price per licence in volume tiers; annual billing saves 10%
Solo-business hub bundling formation, accounting, S Corp payroll and tax
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Online Bookkeeping Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Collective's home page leads with business formation, then expert-approved accounting powered by AI, S Corp payroll, solo-business taxes and insurance. Free calculators cover S Corp savings, estimated tax, freelance rates and S Corp admin cost.
The company states it has raised a large sum, but says nothing on owner or location. It fits a one-person company far better than a team needing detailed books.
What stands out
Solopreneurs
Bundled services
Insurance add-ons
Where it costs you
Bookkeeping is a minor part of the bundle, and no prices appear on the home page.
No integrations are named and the page does not say where the company is located.
Right for
Freelancers forming an S Corp who want accounting, payroll and tax together
Wrong for
Companies with employees, inventory or multi-entity books
Not stated by the vendorNo amounts on the home page; individual tax packages billed annually
How to choose online bookkeeping services software
Online bookkeeping services record and reconcile a company's transactions remotely, using accountants and software to keep the ledger current, produce monthly reports and sometimes add payroll, tax or CFO support. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 9 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Kruze Consulting, Xendoo, Fincent, Bookkeeper360, Pilot, inDinero, Zeni, Accounting Department, Botkeeper.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
These 12 vendors are established in 2 countries across 2 regions (Elsewhere 8, North America 4). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Online bookkeeping services: what the monthly fee leaves out
A monthly bookkeeping price rarely covers the whole job. Fincent shows Basic on annual billing with quarterly books, so monthly bookkeeping begins at Pro, and it lists invoicing, 1099 filing per form and CFO services as separate prices. Bookkeeper360 shows starting prices only, with payroll, sales tax and bill pay on top.
Xendoo sells catch-up bookkeeping as an add-on. Pilot requires its bookkeeping plan before it will file tax. Kruze Consulting publishes ranges that depend on complexity. Build a list of what you need in the first year, including cleanup of past months, payroll, sales tax and a tax return, then ask each firm for one total.
List cleanup, payroll, sales tax and tax filing before asking for prices
Ask whether a starting price includes your transaction volume
Request one first-year total in writing
Expense caps and revenue bands decide your tier
Most firms here charge by a size measure, and the measure differs. Xendoo caps monthly expenses, bank accounts and integrations per tier. Pilot's Essentials plan stops at a monthly expense limit, and Fincent's Basic stops at a yearly one. Accounting Department sorts clients by annual revenue, and its lowest band starts at one million.
Zeni and Kruze Consulting price on complexity. A business with low revenue but heavy card spend can jump a tier on expenses alone. Work out your monthly expenses, your number of bank and card accounts and your revenue before comparing, because the cheap-looking plan may not fit once these are counted.
Note monthly expenses, not only revenue
Count bank and card accounts against each tier
Ask what happens when you pass a cap
Software, service or both: who keeps your books
Names in this market hide different products. Botkeeper licenses AI accounting software to accounting firms, one licence per client, so it suits a firm rather than a business wanting a bookkeeper. Zeni uses AI agents for categorising and reconciling, Bookkeeper360 includes its own software and a team, and Pilot disclaims being a public accounting firm.
Kruze Consulting carries a California accountancy licence number. Collective bundles bookkeeping among formation, payroll and insurance. Decide whether you want a person accountable for the books, a platform you operate, or a mix, and ask who signs off month-end.
Ask who reviews and signs off each month-end close
Confirm whether a licensed CPA firm stands behind the work
Check if the software is included or billed apart
Ledger and tax scope: QuickBooks, accrual and who files
Check the ledger before the price. inDinero mainly works with QuickBooks Online and NetSuite, Ignite Spot names QuickBooks Online and Xero, and Zeni's dashboard needs QBO Plus. Accounting Department works on QuickBooks, NetSuite and Sage Intacct, and rules out tax preparation, so returns go elsewhere.
Pilot's tax plans require its bookkeeping, while Fincent and Xendoo list tax as a priced add-on. Several vendors here state a US focus, such as Fincent and Zeni, so a business outside the United States should confirm eligibility first. Match the ledger, the accounting basis and the tax filer before signing.
Confirm the ledger your books must stay on
Ask who files the return and at what price
Check the firm accepts businesses in your country
What goes wrong most often when buying online bookkeeping services software
Comparing entry prices without asking for catch-up bookkeeping costs on months already behind.
Choosing Botkeeper as a bookkeeper when it is software licensed to accounting firms.
Picking a tier on revenue alone and ignoring expense caps that move you up a band.
Assuming tax filing is included, when Accounting Department excludes it and Pilot requires bookkeeping first.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best online bookkeeping services in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Kruze Consulting first. Kruze Consulting, a licensed CPA firm, is led by founder and CEO Vanessa Kruze, and it publishes monthly ranges for Basic and Founder Timesaver based on complexity.
Accrual-basis books, a dedicated accounting manager and multi-currency support are listed by plan. Basic and Founder Timesaver require Kruze-approved vendors, Premium has no published price, and the service list centres on startups, so a plain retail shop is a poor match.
Which online bookkeeping services tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Kruze Consulting: Published monthly ranges by complexity; Premium quoted; consultation offered.
Xendoo: Published monthly tiers by expense cap; cheaper annual rate; custom above the top tier.
Fincent: Published monthly tiers with expense limits; Enterprise custom; add-ons itemised.
Bookkeeper360: Published starting prices per service; month-to-month or annual terms.
Pilot: Published monthly bookkeeping plan with an expense cap; tax billed yearly; trial offered.
inDinero: Published starting monthly prices; Executive custom; monthly, quarterly or annual payment.
Zeni: Published monthly tiers with annual discount; Enterprise custom; setup fees on CFO plans.
Accounting Department: Published monthly amounts by annual revenue band.
Botkeeper: Published monthly price per licence in volume tiers; annual billing saves 10%.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free online bookkeeping services tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these online bookkeeping services vendors established?
In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 4.
Kruze Consulting: Not stated by the vendor.
Xendoo: Not stated by the vendor.
Fincent: Not stated by the vendor.
Bookkeeper360: Not stated by the vendor.
Pilot: Not stated by the vendor.
inDinero: United States.
Ignite Spot: United States.
Basis Bookkeeping: United States.
Zeni: United States.
Accounting Department: Not stated by the vendor.
Botkeeper: Not stated by the vendor.
Collective: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Kruze Consulting?
The next in line are Xendoo, aimed at small businesses with predictable expenses who want a fixed monthly bookkeeping bill, and Fincent, aimed at US startups wanting a priced menu of bookkeeping, invoicing and tax add-ons.
Who should not buy Kruze Consulting?
Shops with simple books and no need for accrual. Two of the three plans insist on vendors that Kruze has approved, which limits your own stack..
Makers of online bookkeeping services products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.