Focus apps split into blockers that shut distractions out and timers or services that help you work around them. This guide ranks both for a buyer who wants fewer interruptions.
Small independent vendors come first, then setup effort, real price across devices, how easily a block is undone, and what each publisher says about itself.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What focus and website blocker apps software does
Focus and website blocker apps stop chosen sites, apps or searches from opening during set hours, or structure work with timers, booked sessions and sound, keeping attention on one task.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the focus and website blocker apps tool was built for. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Windows and Mac blocker with locks, schedules and one-time pricing
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Blocking reaches websites, YouTube channels, apps and games, adult sites, keyword searches and, at the extreme, the whole internet or the computer itself. Weekly schedules, allowances and YouTube time limits decide when a block applies.
Password protection, locked blocks and uninstall prevention make bypassing it harder in a weak moment. The homepage promises no subscriptions, yet shows no plan prices and names no free version or trial, so the price has to be found before buying.
What stands out
One-time purchase
Uninstall prevention
YouTube limits
Where it costs you
The homepage lists no plan prices, so the cost of owning it cannot be checked before download.
Only Windows and macOS desktop apps are named, so a phone is not covered.
Right for
Desktop workers who want strict locks on a computer without a subscription
Wrong for
People whose main distraction is a phone or tablet app
CanadaOne-time purchase with no subscription; plan prices not shown on the homepage
Open source Mac blocker that cannot be undone before the timer ends
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The workflow is short: pick a duration and a list of sites, start, and wait. The page promises the block holds until the timer expires, even if you restart the computer or delete the app, which removes the option of changing your mind.
The licence is the GNU GPL with code on GitHub, so the source can be inspected. Charlie Stigler, Steve Lambert and others are credited, but no company is named, which leaves ownership unstated.
What stands out
GNU GPL
macOS only
Timer lock
Where it costs you
The page describes website blocking only, so apps fall outside what it promises.
It runs on macOS alone, and version 4.0.2 targets Mac OS X 10.10 or later.
Only individuals are credited, with no owner or country stated.
Right for
Mac users who want a free, binding website block for a fixed period
Wrong for
Windows or phone users, and anyone wanting scheduled or app blocks
Not stated by the vendorFree Mac application licensed under the GNU GPL
Cross-device blocker with a free plan and a lifetime option
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan lists unlimited devices and custom blocklists, covering apps, websites or the entire internet. Premium adds scheduling, recurring sessions, locked mode and unlimited sessions of two hours or more, with a 7-day trial on the yearly option.
Prices appear in USD as a yearly rate, a monthly rate and a one-time Forever price, though the page does not say whether billing is per user. The one-time route ends renewals for those who stay.
What stands out
Free plan
Lifetime option
Recurring sessions
Where it costs you
Scheduling, recurring sessions and locked mode sit behind Premium.
Website exceptions on the free plan work on Mac and Windows only.
The about page gives a founding city but no country or legal entity.
Right for
Users blocking across several devices who may prefer a one-time purchase
Wrong for
Anyone needing a stated legal entity or country before buying
Not stated by the vendorFree plan; Premium yearly, monthly and one-time Forever prices published in USD; 7-day trial on yearly
Rule-based app blocker with timers, soundscapes and an Opal Score
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Everything revolves around Rules. The free plan offers one, with basic timers, soundscapes and a score covering today only. Pro lifts the cap, adds advanced timers, Allow Only mode, score history and Hard Mode, and its prices include a monthly rate, a yearly rate and a lifetime payment.
Trials run a week on the yearly choice and three days on the monthly one. Teams customers get one invoice, training and an account manager, but only after contacting the company.
What stands out
Rules and timers
Lifetime option
Teams plan
Where it costs you
The free version allows a single Rule, so layered setups need Pro.
Score history and Hard Mode belong to Pro.
Teams pricing is contact-only and the page names no country.
Right for
Individuals who want several rules and a daily score, and may buy once
Wrong for
Anyone who needs more than one rule without paying
Not stated by the vendorFree forever plan with one Rule; Pro monthly, yearly and lifetime prices published; Teams on contact
Interrupts distracting apps and websites on a schedule from Barcelona
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The imprint lists riedel.wtf apps S.L. in Barcelona and riedel.wtf GmbH in Musberg, Germany, and names Frederik Riedel as founder. The product works on apps and websites against a timetable, and its Doomscroll emergency brake caps time in addictive apps.
Structured can block apps while tasks stay uncompleted, and Lengo ties in language learning. The imprint states a granted US patent. Pricing could not be found, since the pricing address gave 404.
What stands out
App interruption
Doomscroll brake
Browser extension
Where it costs you
The pricing address returned a 404, so no plan prices could be found.
The site speaks of interruptions and time limits, and names no locked sessions that stop uninstalling.
Right for
People whose problem is habitual scrolling and who want an interruption
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price list before starting
SpainFree to download; no plan prices found on the vendor site
Focus timer with app and web blockers on Apple devices
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The page lists five named features: Focus Timer, Minimalistic, Ad-Free, App Blocker and Web Blocker. It promises that all basic features are free, without ads, sign-up or a credit card, and platforms are iPhone, Mac, iPad, Apple Watch and the web through Web Blocker.
A Try for Free button points to paid options, yet those prices sit on another page not read here. The footer reads 2018 to 2026 Yugen GmbH, and flowapp.info redirects to flow.app.
What stands out
Apple devices
Focus timer
Ad-free
Where it costs you
Paid prices and trial length are missing, since the page only offers a Try for Free button.
Only Apple platforms and the web blocker are listed, so Windows and Android users are not covered.
Right for
Apple users wanting a minimal timer with blockers and no sign-up
Wrong for
Anyone who works on Windows or Android devices
Not stated by the vendorBasic features free, with no ads or sign-up; paid prices sit on a separate page
Browser extension and app blocker with categories, keywords and schedules
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond a plain blocklist, it offers blocking by category and by keyword, redirects to a custom block page, a timed Focus Mode and schedules. Slack messages can be blocked during focus times, and insights summarise browsing trends.
Password protection guards the settings and stops the tool being uninstalled. Extensions for Chrome, Safari and Edge sit beside iOS, Android and desktop apps. The pricing page promises a risk-free 30-day guarantee, but no plan prices appeared in the text read.
What stands out
Keyword blocking
Browser extensions
Password lock
Where it costs you
No plan prices appeared on the pricing page, only a 50% offer and a 30-day guarantee.
The footer names no legal entity, owner or country.
Right for
Browser-heavy workers wanting keyword and category blocks synced across devices
Wrong for
Buyers who must see prices before trialling a tool
Not stated by the vendorPlan prices not visible on the pricing page, which shows a 50% offer and a 30-day guarantee
Focus timer with app blocking, group rooms and a Plus subscription
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The free plan combines a focus timer, Deep Focus blocking, Time Guard on one app or site, a single soundscape and group focus rooms. Plus unlocks a custom allowlist, Time Guard on several apps or sites, Focus Analytics with custom tags, every soundscape and a three-times coin boost, and cancelling keeps it active until the billing period ends.
Accounts and focus history sync between iPhone, iPad, Android and the Chrome and Firefox extension. The copyright holder is Seekrtech Co., Ltd.
What stands out
Group focus rooms
Browser extension
Deep Focus
Where it costs you
Time Guard covers one app or site on the free plan, with more only under Plus.
Plus prices vary by region and platform and are not shown on the page.
Pro is a legacy purchase that is no longer sold.
Right for
Phone and browser users who like group focus rooms and a free start
Wrong for
Buyers seeking a Windows or Mac desktop app
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with no expiry; Plus subscription with in-app trial, prices varying by region and not shown
Browser timer with templates, reports and optional desktop downloads
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
This is a timer and planner more than a blocker. Basic use covers finish-time estimates, templates, visual reports and custom settings; Premium adds projects, yearly reports, downloadable reports, unlimited templates, Todoist and webhook integration, and removes ads.
It works in desktop and mobile browsers and offers downloads for Mac, Windows and Linux. The footer says it is made by Yuya Uzu, 2019 to 2026, but states neither a country nor a licence, and no prices appear.
What stands out
Visual reports
Todoist integration
Desktop downloads
Where it costs you
Without Premium, saved templates appear capped at three, as the Premium wording implies.
No prices or licence appear on the page.
No site or app blocking is named among its features.
Right for
Individuals who want a browser timer with reports and optional Todoist sync
Wrong for
Anyone who needs enforced blocking of distracting sites
Not stated by the vendorBasic and Premium tiers; Premium prices not shown on the page
Focus timer with charts and history synced across devices
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The core is a focus timer using what the page calls scientifically proven techniques. Smart charts display focus time and work patterns, while sessions and tasks save automatically with history on any device.
Versions exist for iOS, Android and the web. Because the page lists no price, currency or plan details, a buyer has to look elsewhere to learn the cost. The footer names PIXO Inc., and neither country nor parent company is given.
What stands out
Focus timer
Smart charts
iOS and Android
Where it costs you
Nothing about price or plans appears anywhere on the page.
Blocking of sites or apps is not described, so it reads as a timer only.
The scientifically proven claim comes with no cited evidence on the page.
Right for
Users who only want a timer with charts and cross-device history
Wrong for
People who need distracting sites or apps to be blocked
Not stated by the vendorPrices and plan details are not shown on the site
Session-limited focus service with a free plan and unlimited paid sessions
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Plans are simple. The free plan gives 3 sessions per week without a credit card, and Plus lifts that to unlimited sessions at 8 dollars a month billed annually or 12 dollars billed monthly, shown with a plain dollar sign and no currency code.
Business appears only as a Learn more link. No blocking features are described on the pricing page, so this serves as habit structure around a blocker, not a substitute. The copyright line reads Focusmate Inc.
What stands out
Weekly session cap
Unlimited sessions
Business plan
Where it costs you
The free plan stops at 3 sessions per week.
The Business plan has no price on the page, only a Learn more link.
The page names no country, only Focusmate Inc.
Right for
People who work best in booked sessions rather than software blocks
Wrong for
Anyone needing apps or sites blocked on their own devices
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with 3 sessions a week; Plus monthly and annual rates published in dollars; Business not priced
Time tracking with Focus Sessions, goals and team plans
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Four plans exist: Solo, Solo+ with timesheets, Team and Team+ with timesheets, each cheaper when billed annually, with Team plans charged per user. Every paid plan starts with a 14-day trial and lists Focus Sessions, Goals and Alerts, with no usage limits stated.
The FAQ refers to a Lite plan outside the published list, with no limits given. Annual Solo works out at 84 dollars a year and annual Team at 120 dollars per user.
What stands out
Solo and Team plans
Timesheets
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Timesheets cost extra, since they appear only in Solo+ and Team+.
A Lite plan turns up in the FAQ but not in the plan list.
Country, owner and parent company are not stated.
Right for
Individuals and teams who want time data and goals before blocking
Wrong for
Users hoping for a lock that stops them opening sites
Not stated by the vendorSolo, Solo+, Team and Team+ plans published, teams per user; 14-day trial on paid plans
Music modes for concentration, billed monthly or yearly
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Focus and Website Blocker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The service sells focus audio, with modes named Deep Work, Creativity, Learning, Light Work and Motivation, alongside relax, sleep and meditate. Timers come as Infinite, Timer and Interval.
The monthly plan is billed monthly and the yearly plan annually, with a Try for Free button on yearly whose trial length is not stated. Web, iOS, Android and Desktop are covered. The footer says Made with heart in NYC and names Brain.FM, Inc., a company whose country is not stated.
What stands out
Focus music
Interval timers
Web and mobile
Where it costs you
It plays audio and blocks nothing, so distractions stay reachable.
The trial length is not stated, and the page is silent on a monthly trial.
Right for
People who concentrate better with background music and timed sessions
Wrong for
Anyone who needs sites or apps made unreachable
Not stated by the vendorMonthly and yearly subscriptions published in USD; yearly plan starts with a Try for Free offer
How to choose focus and website blocker apps software
Focus and website blocker apps stop chosen sites, apps or searches from opening during set hours, or structure work with timers, booked sessions and sound, keeping attention on one task. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Start with pricing transparency
4 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 9 publish a pricing model you can read today: SelfControl, Freedom, Opal, one sec, Flow, Forest, Focusmate, RescueTime, Brain.fm.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
3 regions are represented (Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for SelfControl. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Focus apps: lock, nudge or time the work
Three different jobs hide under the name focus apps, and buying the wrong one wastes the money. A lock removes the option: SelfControl keeps sites blocked until its timer ends, even after a restart or deleting the app, and Cold Turkey adds password protection and uninstall prevention. A nudge adds friction: one sec interrupts apps and websites and sets a Doomscroll emergency brake.
A timer only organises effort: Pomofocus and Focus Keeper count sessions without describing any blocking. Brain.fm supplies music, Focusmate supplies booked sessions, RescueTime supplies measurement. Decide first whether your problem is willpower in the moment, habit, or planning, then shortlist one tool of the matching kind instead of comparing feature counts.
Say whether you need a lock, a nudge or a timer
Check that the page describes blocking at all
Test the lock by trying to undo it in a weak moment
Website blocker apps and the devices they leave open
A blocker that covers the laptop but not the phone moves the problem rather than solving it. Cold Turkey offers desktop apps for Windows and macOS, and SelfControl runs only on macOS. Flow lists iPhone, Mac, iPad and Apple Watch, while Forest lists iPhone, iPad, Android and Chrome and Firefox extensions.
BlockSite spans Chrome, Safari and Edge extensions, iOS, Android and a desktop app with sync, and Freedom's free plan advertises unlimited devices. Before paying, write down every device where you actually lose time, including the work computer, and match each to a named platform on the vendor's page. If a platform you use is not listed, treat it as uncovered, not as probably supported.
List every device where you lose time
Match each device to a platform the vendor names
Treat unlisted platforms as uncovered
What a focus app costs after the free tier ends
Free versions in this market are real but narrow, and the limit is usually the feature you want. Opal allows one Rule, Forest limits Time Guard to one app or site, Focusmate caps sessions at three a week, and Freedom keeps scheduling and locked mode for Premium.
Paid pricing shapes differ too: Freedom and Opal sell lifetime options, Cold Turkey says pay once, RescueTime sells Solo and Team plans with a 14-day trial, and Brain.fm bills monthly or yearly. Several vendors, among them BlockSite, Pomofocus and Focus Keeper, show no plan prices in the text we read, so ask what renewal costs before entering a card, and keep the answer in writing.
Find the one limit that blocks your use case
Compare one-time, yearly and monthly totals over three years
Ask for renewal prices where the page shows none
Who stands behind a focus app
A blocker sits deep in your devices, so it is fair to ask who runs it. Some pages answer: Cold Turkey Software, Inc. says it is made in Canada, one sec lists an imprint in Barcelona, and Flow, Opal, Forest, Focusmate and PIXO name a company without a country. Others say less.
SelfControl credits individuals and no owner, and BlockSite shows only a copyright line. None of that makes a tool unsafe, but silence means you cannot judge who handles your browsing habits. Prefer vendors that name an entity, and read the privacy policy of any blocker that sees every site you visit.
Look for a named company and country in the footer or imprint
Read what the privacy policy says about browsing data
Prefer open code such as SelfControl when you want to inspect it
What goes wrong most often when buying focus and website blocker apps software
Buying a music or timer service such as Brain.fm or Pomofocus and expecting it to stop you opening distracting sites.
Locking the laptop with Cold Turkey or SelfControl while the phone stays fully open.
Starting a trial of Opal, Freedom or RescueTime without checking which feature the free or trial version withholds.
Assuming a lifetime or pay-once deal covers every platform, when the page may list desktop only.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best focus and website blocker apps in 2026?
First of 13 on this page is Cold Turkey. Cold Turkey Software, Inc. says its product is made in Canada and sells on a pay-once basis, which suits a person who dislikes renewals.
It blocks websites, YouTube channels, apps, games and keyword searches on weekly schedules, and a block can be locked in place. The drawbacks: plan prices are missing from the homepage, no text names a trial, and only Windows and macOS are covered.
Which focus and website blocker apps tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
SelfControl: Free Mac application licensed under the GNU GPL.
Freedom: Free plan; Premium yearly, monthly and one-time Forever prices published in USD; 7-day trial on yearly.
Opal: Free forever plan with one Rule; Pro monthly, yearly and lifetime prices published; Teams on contact.
one sec: Free to download; no plan prices found on the vendor site.
Flow: Basic features free, with no ads or sign-up; paid prices sit on a separate page.
Forest: Free plan with no expiry; Plus subscription with in-app trial, prices varying by region and not shown.
Focusmate: Free plan with 3 sessions a week; Plus monthly and annual rates published in dollars; Business not priced.
RescueTime: Solo, Solo+, Team and Team+ plans published, teams per user; 14-day trial on paid plans.
Brain.fm: Monthly and yearly subscriptions published in USD; yearly plan starts with a Try for Free offer.
The remaining 4 sell by quote.
Is there a free focus and website blocker apps tool?
SelfControl, Freedom, Opal, one sec, Forest, Focusmate offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these focus and website blocker apps vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: Elsewhere 11, North America 1, Europe 1.
Cold Turkey: Canada.
SelfControl: Not stated by the vendor.
Freedom: Not stated by the vendor.
Opal: Not stated by the vendor.
one sec: Spain.
Flow: Not stated by the vendor.
BlockSite: Not stated by the vendor.
Forest: Not stated by the vendor.
Pomofocus: Not stated by the vendor.
Focus Keeper: Not stated by the vendor.
Focusmate: Not stated by the vendor.
RescueTime: Not stated by the vendor.
Brain.fm: Not stated by the vendor.
Which focus and website blocker apps tools are open source?
SelfControl.
What should you use instead of Cold Turkey?
Second is SelfControl, which suits Mac users who want a free, binding website block for a fixed period. Third is Freedom, which suits Users blocking across several devices who may prefer a one-time purchase.
Who should not buy Cold Turkey?
People whose main distraction is a phone or tablet app. The homepage lists no plan prices, so the cost of owning it cannot be checked before download..
If a focus and website blocker apps product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.