Charity auction software runs silent, live and online auctions for fundraising events: item catalogues, bidding by phone or paper, paddle raises, ticketing and checkout.
Our order favours small independent vendors, then compares setup effort, what fees take from a night's total, how data leaves, and how well each product suits a volunteer committee.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What charity auction software does
Charity auction software lets nonprofits list donated items, take bids online, by phone or on paper, sell event tickets and collect payments, so volunteers run an auction night without spreadsheets.
Ranking criteria for this charity auction tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Auction platform with tip, percentage and flat campaign fee options
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Galabid names GalaBid Operations Pty Ltd and GalaBid Ltd as its operators and lists silent auction, live auction, raffle, ticketing, donations, paddle raise and buy-it-now. The site says it never holds funds, and the organisation may absorb Stripe fees or pass them to participants.
Switching between the tip plan and the percentage plan is allowed in both directions. Check which fee model your donors will tolerate before choosing, because the flat sum only pays off on a larger campaign.
What stands out
Tip-funded option
Flat campaign fee
Stripe payments
Where it costs you
The tip-funded option shares only 10% of tips back with the cause.
Card payments are powered by Stripe, so a committee needing another processor has no route.
Right for
Committees wanting silent, live and paddle-raise formats with a choice of fee structure
Wrong for
Organisations that refuse any tip prompt without paying a fee
AustraliaThree published options: tip-funded, percentage of sales, or one flat sum per campaign; Stripe handles card payments
Revenue-banded annual licences with guest and team-seat limits per event
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three annual bands exist, with guest caps of 250, 750 and 1,000 and team seats of 3, 10 and 99. Each licence lasts twelve months and does not renew itself, which avoids a surprise charge but means someone must remember the date.
Canadian customers pay the same figure in Canadian dollars plus HST. No trial is mentioned, so the entry band is the way to test it. A paid launch package begins per event, with extra assist sessions unpriced.
What stands out
Revenue bands
Guest caps
12-month licence
Where it costs you
Guest limits per event are set by band, so a busy gala can hit a ceiling.
Launch setup packages and assist sessions are separate purchases on top of the licence.
Right for
Volunteer-run groups whose annual auction revenue is modest and easy to predict
Wrong for
Teams wanting one flat price however much they raise
Not stated by the vendorAnnual licence set by tracked revenue band, with an entry band; card fee shrinks as the band rises
Core auction tools at no charge, funded by a cut of winning bids
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
There is no subscription to compare, which suits a one-off event. The fee falls only on winning online and mobile bids, and for pre-bid auctions it is worked out from the pre-bid amount. No trial is mentioned because the core service is already unpaid.
The terms list custom website auction items, admission tickets sold online and offline, event management, recording of auction data, and full checkout with invoicing. Model the percentage against last year's total before relying on it.
What stands out
Fee on winning bids
Ticket sales
Online checkout
Where it costs you
The cut of winning bids grows with every item sold, so a record night costs most.
Stripe or PayPal fees may apply on top of the platform percentage.
Right for
Small groups that cannot pay anything before the auction has raised money
Wrong for
Organisations needing a fixed cost for budget approval
Not stated by the vendorFree core service; a fee on winning online and mobile bids, plus processor charges
Browser-based silent auctions, starting with a small no-card tier
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The homepage lists branding options, donor and sponsor management, reporting, payment processing and generated item descriptions. It also claims 130,500 causes and about $320 million raised, figures the vendor gives about itself.
Bidders need no software beyond a browser, which lowers friction at a school event. Since paid pricing and legal terms were unreadable, ask for both in writing before moving a larger auction over from a spreadsheet or another tool.
What stands out
20-item free tier
No app for bidders
AI item text
Where it costs you
The pricing URL returned an Auction Not Found page, so paid costs could not be checked.
The tier described caps a launched auction at 20 items.
Right for
Schools and clubs running one small online silent auction without an app
Wrong for
Large galas with live paddle raises and many lots
Not stated by the vendorFree tier covers one launched silent auction of up to 20 items; paid prices were not visible
Mobile bidding app sold on one-year licences plus per-payment rates
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists card rates for the major networks, a lower flat rate for bank debits, and a settlement fee that is the greater of a fixed minimum or a percentage of payments processed.
Because licences depend on events hosted and support wanted, two similar charities can receive different quotes. Using your own payout account avoids the settlement fee. Ask for the licence price alongside a worked example of card costs for your expected totals.
What stands out
One-year licences
Card and ACH rates
Own payout account
Where it costs you
The licence figure is not shown until after a sales conversation.
Usage and crash data from the app is shared with Firebase and Google LLC.
Right for
Organisations running several events a year that accept a yearly licence
Wrong for
One-night groups wanting an instant price and sign-up
Not stated by the vendorLicence set after a conversation, typically for a year; card and ACH rates published
Event auction software from AndBeyondFamily with paper and mobile bidding
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor claims more than $163 million raised for its customers since 2007, a figure about itself rather than a measurement we took. Its feature list reaches past bidding into seating charts and a public online catalogue, which helps a seated dinner.
With pricing unreadable and trial terms unstated, a buyer should obtain written costs, contract length and export terms before committing a gala to it.
What stands out
Paper and mobile bidding
Seating plans
Self checkout
Where it costs you
The pricing page returned a 404, so no cost could be checked.
No country or free option appears on the home page.
Right for
Event committees that still run paper bid sheets beside mobile bidding
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare published prices before any contact
Not stated by the vendorHome page shows no prices; the separate pricing page could not be read
Event fundraising platform covering auctions, video streams and text giving
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor describes itself as a premium event fundraising platform for healthcare, schools and universities, faith-based and arts organisations. Besides auctions it lists mass messaging, custom event pages, registration, integrations and reporting, so the scope is wider than auction software alone.
That breadth is useful for a gala with a livestream, but the visible site does not show a trial or any cost. Confirm the web address in every email you receive.
What stands out
Live video stream
Raise the paddle
Tap to pay
Where it costs you
No plan names or amounts were visible, so budgeting needs a direct conversation.
The clickbid.com domain shows a parked-for-sale page rather than the product.
Right for
Healthcare, school and faith organisations wanting auctions and text giving together
Wrong for
Buyers who need an unambiguous published price list first
Not stated by the vendorPricing is in the site navigation but no plans or amounts showed in the page text
Donation platform with a tip-funded plan and a contact-priced upgrade
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Givebutter, Inc. is named as operator. The free plan shows 0% platform and processing fees while tips are on; with tips off, a 3% levy plus 2.9% and 30 cents applies to cards.
Plus is priced by six contact bands and includes a 30-day commitment-free trial, but which price matches which band is unclear on the page. Because bidding is not described there, treat it as a donor-management option and ask a salesperson for a live auction demonstration.
What stands out
Tip-funded plan
Contact-based pricing
30-day trial
Where it costs you
The pricing page read never mentions auction or bidding features.
Turning tips off adds a 3% platform charge and card processing fees.
Right for
Groups wanting donation pages and a contact record, with auctions checked separately
Wrong for
Committees whose main need is a bidding-night product
Not stated by the vendorFree plan funded by donor tips or a platform fee; paid Plus plan priced by contact count
Fee-based nonprofit platform that lists auctions beside events and texting
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Platform fees shown are 5% on the standard column and 0 to 3% on premium, with card processing via Stripe on both; the page says about 90% of donors cover the fees. No trial is mentioned, since the entry plan is the way in.
Auctions sit among many modules, so a committee running one yearly gala may pay in fees for features it never touches. Ask for a demonstration of the auction module itself.
What stands out
Platform fee
Events and ticketing
Stripe cards
Where it costs you
Auctions appear only as one line in a wider feature list.
Lowering the fee means a premium plan, and those come with a custom quote.
Right for
US nonprofits wanting auctions inside one platform with events and donor tools
Wrong for
Auction specialists needing detailed bidding and checkout controls
United StatesFree Essentials plan with a platform fee; premium plans are priced by sales
Named Professional, Enterprise and Nationals plans for larger event programmes
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Because the page names plans but no figures or features, this entry is shorter on detail than Galabid or Auctria. The Bidpal web address now shows OneCause branding, so anyone searching for Bidpal ends up here.
The pay-as-you-go option on Professional is the likeliest route for a single yearly event. Ask what Bonterra's involvement changes for contracts, support and data export before you sign.
What stands out
Three named plans
Pay-as-you-go option
Bonterra link
Where it costs you
No plan shows a price, so cost comparison needs a sales call.
The Bonterra tie-up means the company is no longer a standalone supplier.
Right for
Larger charities running several events who accept a sales-led purchase
Wrong for
Small volunteer groups wanting to see a price before talking
Not stated by the vendorTwo of three named plans are quoted; Professional has a pay-as-you-go option
Momentive Software platform with pay-per-transaction or annual-fee pricing
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Charity Auction Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The plans page offers a choice between paying per transaction and paying a yearly sum, which suits different event volumes: a single gala may favour the first, a busy programme the second.
The privacy policy covers hosted platforms of Momentive Software, Inc., while the terms cite Momentive Software Holdco, LLC. Because the platform covers many fundraising jobs, auction needs should be tested in a demo rather than assumed.
What stands out
Annual fee option
Per-transaction option
Momentive Software
Where it costs you
Both pricing routes lead to a demo request, with no trial named.
Ownership by a larger group means this is not an independent specialist.
Right for
Organisations wanting auctions, peer-to-peer and donor management on one connected platform
Wrong for
Independent small groups wanting a self-serve sign-up page
Not stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go from nothing with per-transaction rates, or a fixed yearly fee; amounts not shown
Charity auction software lets nonprofits list donated items, take bids online, by phone or on paper, sell event tickets and collect payments, so volunteers run an auction night without spreadsheets. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 6 of the 11 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Galabid, Bidding Owl, 32auctions, Handbid, Givebutter, Funraise.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The 11 companies behind this list are established in 3 countries, by region Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Charity auction software: how fees take a share of the night
The first question is who pays for the software, because the models differ sharply. Galabid offers a tip-funded option, a percentage plan and a flat sum per campaign. Bidding Owl charges nothing for core tools but takes a percentage of winning online and mobile bids. Funraise shows a platform fee on its standard column, and Givebutter relies on donor tips or a platform fee.
Handbid publishes card and bank-debit rates beside a licence it will not price in public. Before choosing, take last year's gross, the number of winning bids and the share of payments made online, then run each model across those figures. The cheapest option for a small school night is rarely the cheapest for a large gala.
Calculate each fee model on last year's real totals
Ask whether donors are prompted to tip at checkout
Find out who absorbs the card processing charges
Event-night limits: guests, lots and volunteer seats
Plan sizes bite on the night itself, not on the pricing page. Auctria sets guest caps of 250, 750 and 1,000 per event across its three revenue bands, with team seats rising from 3 to 99. 32auctions describes a launched silent auction of up to 20 items on its entry tier.
Those numbers look generous until the gala has a late donor, a second venue or a volunteer who needs a login. Galabid says every feature is included in every plan, which removes a tier ceiling but not the fee. Write down expected guests, lots, helpers and live-stream viewers, then ask each vendor in writing what happens when you exceed a limit mid-event.
Count guests, lots and volunteer logins before comparing plans
Ask what happens when a cap is passed during the event
Confirm whether paper bidding is covered by the same plan
Auction specialist or fundraising suite: where Givebutter and GiveSmart fit
Two kinds of product share this market. Specialists such as Bidding Owl, Auctria, Galabid and Silent Auction Pro start from the auction. Suites such as Givebutter, Funraise and GiveSmart start from donations and donor records, with auctions as one module. The Givebutter pages we read do not list bidding features at all, while Funraise lists auctions in a single line and GiveSmart describes one connected platform.
A suite helps if the same donors give all year and you want one record. It hurts if the module is thin on the night. Ask every suite vendor to run a live demonstration of bidding, checkout and receipts, and to show how a winning bidder appears in the donor record afterwards.
Ask suite vendors for a live auction demonstration
Check that auction buyers appear in the donor record
Compare suite fees with a specialist plus a separate CRM
Contracts and web addresses: Handbid, ClickBid and OneCause
Several vendors here hide costs or have changed shape, so the paperwork matters. Handbid typically licenses for one year and adds a settlement fee when it processes your payments. Auctria licences last twelve months and do not renew themselves. OneCause now carries the Bidpal pages and says it has joined forces with Bonterra, so ask who your contract is with.
ClickBid trades on cbo.io, while the old clickbid.com address shows a parked-for-sale page; Silent Auction Pro and ClickBid showed no prices in the pages we read. Request price, term, renewal terms and data export in writing, and type the vendor's address yourself rather than following links in unsolicited messages, keeping a copy of every quote you receive.
Ask for contract length and renewal terms in writing
Type the vendor address yourself before paying anyone
Confirm how auction and bidder data is exported
What goes wrong most often when buying charity auction software
Choosing on the headline price and ignoring that a percentage of winning bids grows exactly when the evening goes well.
Switching a tip prompt on without telling donors, so bidders meet an unexpected request at the moment they pay.
Booking a tool for a gala without testing it on a phone in the venue, where signal and card readers decide the night.
Treating a donor platform's auction line as proof that bidding, ticketing and checkout work as a specialist's would.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best charity auction software in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Galabid. Galabid lets a committee pick how it pays: donors are prompted to tip, a percentage fee applies without tips, or one flat sum covers a whole campaign.
Plans can be switched at any time, and every plan carries the same features. The trade-off is that the tip option hands a tenth of tips back to the cause, not all of them, and card payments run through Stripe only.
Which charity auction tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 6 products on this page:
Galabid: Three published options: tip-funded, percentage of sales, or one flat sum per campaign; Stripe handles card payments.
Bidding Owl: Free core service; a fee on winning online and mobile bids, plus processor charges.
32auctions: Free tier covers one launched silent auction of up to 20 items; paid prices were not visible.
Handbid: Licence set after a conversation, typically for a year; card and ACH rates published.
Givebutter: Free plan funded by donor tips or a platform fee; paid Plus plan priced by contact count.
Funraise: Free Essentials plan with a platform fee; premium plans are priced by sales.
5 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free charity auction tool?
Bidding Owl, 32auctions, Givebutter, Funraise come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these charity auction software vendors established?
Across 3 countries (Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1):
Galabid: Australia.
Auctria: Not stated by the vendor.
Bidding Owl: Not stated by the vendor.
32auctions: Not stated by the vendor.
Handbid: Not stated by the vendor.
Silent Auction Pro: Not stated by the vendor.
ClickBid: Not stated by the vendor.
Givebutter: Not stated by the vendor.
Funraise: United States.
OneCause: Not stated by the vendor.
GiveSmart: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Galabid?
Auctria and Bidding Owl are the next two on this page. Auctria is for Volunteer-run groups whose annual auction revenue is modest and easy to predict; Bidding Owl is for small groups that cannot pay anything before the auction has raised money.
Who should not buy Galabid?
Organisations that refuse any tip prompt without paying a fee. The tip-funded option shares only 10% of tips back with the cause..
If a charity auction software product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.