Crypto wallets hold the keys that control coins and tokens, from single-purpose Bitcoin desktop programs to phone apps that trade, stake and issue cards.
This ranking starts with small, named vendors and open code, then looks at what coins and platforms are covered, which fees surround the app, how hard it is to leave, and who each wallet really fits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What crypto wallets software does
A crypto wallet stores the private keys for blockchain addresses and signs transactions, letting holders send, receive and manage coins or tokens on their own devices without a bank.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Bitcoin wallet with MIT-licensed code from a Berlin GmbH
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
The vendor is a registered GmbH with a Berlin address and names Thomas Voegtlin as creator in November 2011, which gives a long public record to check.
Builds exist for Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, plus Python source. Nothing is charged, but nothing in the pages read promises support, either, so a lost seed phrase or a failed update is the holder's own problem.
What stands out
MIT licence
Keys stay local
Desktop builds
Where it costs you
The site describes a Bitcoin wallet, so other coins need another product.
No paid support or hosted plan is listed on the pages read.
Right for
Bitcoin holders who want local keys and readable code from a named company.
Wrong for
Anyone who wants Ethereum or Solana tokens in the same app.
GermanyFree of charge, supplied by Electrum Technologies GmbH under an MIT licence
Desktop Bitcoin wallet for people who care about self sovereignty
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Hardware wallets connect through USB or in airgapped mode, which suits a cold-storage routine where the signing device never touches the internet. Licensing is Apache 2 and the source sits in the sparrowwallet/sparrow repository.
The weak spot is accountability: the page gives no company, no owner and no price, only a donation link, so you cannot judge who maintains it long term.
What stands out
Apache 2 licence
Airgapped signing
Hardware support
Where it costs you
Developer and country are not named on the page read.
Only Bitcoin and hardware wallets are described, nothing for tokens.
Right for
Bitcoin holders pairing a hardware signer with desktop software they can audit.
Wrong for
People who expect a phone app or support for tokens.
Not stated by the vendorDownload page with a donation link; no price or plan appears on the page
Self-custody Bitcoin wallet for iPhone, Android and Mac with Lightning
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The feature list is unusually long for a phone wallet: multisig vault, Lightning, watch-only wallets, coin control and fee bumping through RBF and CPFP. Four hardware wallets are named as connectable.
What is missing on the pages read is the paper trail: no licence, no company address and a privacy policy link that failed, so check the repository before trusting a release.
What stands out
Lightning wallet
Multisig vault
Coin control
Where it costs you
No country or licence appears on the pages read.
The privacy-policy URL tried returned a 404 error.
Right for
Mobile Bitcoin users who want Lightning plus multisig on a phone.
Wrong for
Windows or Linux users, who are not named among its platforms.
Not stated by the vendorDescribed by the vendor as free and open source software; no plans listed
All-in-one crypto app tied to a hardware wallet maker
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The pitch bundles exchange, staking and dApp access with portfolio tracking in one place, and the vendor claims its code and design are fully open. The gaps are on the commercial side.
The pages read show no price list, do not say whether the app itself is free, and gave no usable terms or imprint, so the country and the cost of the hardware that the app is built around remain open questions.
What stands out
Buy and swap
Stake and dApps
Portfolio tracking
Where it costs you
No prices were visible and the hardware cards did not render.
Two legal pages requested by the researcher came back as 404.
Right for
Holders who want one app for buying, staking and portfolio tracking.
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a published price before deciding.
Not stated by the vendorNo prices on the page read; whether the Suite app costs anything is not stated
Multisig smart contract wallet for treasury teams across several chains
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Safe suits organisations where one key must never move funds alone: signing thresholds, spending limits and recovery options are all named on the site. The registered company is Safe Labs GmbH in Berlin.
The trade-off is reach and price clarity, since the front page lists nothing in euros or dollars and points to a Pro and an API pricing page that this research did not open.
What stands out
Multisig
Spending limits
Treasury use
Where it costs you
Prices sit on linked pages that were not read.
Licence and hosting model are not stated on the page read.
Right for
Groups and treasuries that must approve every transfer with several signers.
Wrong for
One person who just wants a simple personal wallet.
GermanyPlans sit on separate Safe Pro and API pricing pages that were not read
Desktop web3 layer that works across browsers and apps
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The idea is one wallet connection for the whole desktop rather than one extension per browser. Evidence stops there.
The page names no operating system, no price and no licence, the code repository is linked without a stated licence, and the company appears only in a careers link. It is a product to test with small funds first, because the vendor says very little about itself.
What stands out
System-wide web3
Desktop only
GitHub source
Where it costs you
No operating systems are named on the page read.
Prices, licence and country are all missing from the page.
Right for
Desktop users who want one web3 connection shared by many apps.
Wrong for
Mobile-first users, since only a desktop product is described.
Not stated by the vendorDownload button only; no price or free-offer terms appear on the page
Mobile and desktop app for trading crypto, predictions and perps
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Rainbow has moved well past simple storage: the page sells trading across several markets, with a tier called Black that adds free instant deposits and larger rewards. Earning the $RNBW token is tied to trades.
Since fee figures are absent, the real cost of an active month cannot be worked out from the page, and rewards that depend on trading volume reward the behaviour that costs the most.
What stands out
Perps trading
Rewards token
Browser extensions
Where it costs you
No trading fee figures are stated on the page read.
The linked GitHub repository names no licence on the page.
Right for
Active traders who like rewards and want perps beside spot crypto.
Wrong for
Long-term holders who only want to store coins quietly.
Not stated by the vendorTrading-led model with a Black tier and token rewards; fee figures are not stated
Non-custodial wallet covering over 1,000 coins with in-app swaps
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The breadth is the draw: more than 1,000 assets, swaps across 60+ pairs with cashback whose rate is not given, and staking. Keys are stored encrypted on the user's device. The money question is harder.
Purchase and swap fees are not listed, the first-purchase discount is bound to a newsletter signup, and the staking range is wide and explicitly not guaranteed, so returns cannot be planned from the page.
What stands out
1,000+ assets
Swaps and staking
Encrypted device keys
Where it costs you
Standard fee amounts are not listed on the page read.
Staking returns of 5-20% APR are not guaranteed.
Right for
Holders of many small coins who want swaps in one place.
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a published fee table before buying.
Not stated by the vendorFees on purchases and swaps, with a newsletter offer of 60% off the first crypto purchase
Phantom stretches from storage to trading and spending: it lists futures, prediction markets, a desktop Terminal and a prepaid Visa that works wherever Apple Pay, Google Pay or Visa is taken.
A Ledger can be connected. What the page withholds is the cost, as it says only that fees may apply, and the country of the operating company is not shown, so the fine print needs a read.
What stands out
Self-custody
Ledger connection
Visa card
Where it costs you
No plans or prices are listed on the page read.
Card fees may apply, but no figures are shown.
Right for
Self-custody users who also want a spending card and trading tools.
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a full price list first.
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices listed; card fees may apply, with no figures shown
Self-custody wallet spanning 100+ blockchains on phone and browser
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The wallet itself costs nothing to download and use, which is stated plainly. Charges appear at the moment of a swap or a purchase, when network and service fees are displayed before you confirm, though the page prints no figures in advance.
Staking is described as variable and not guaranteed. The page also leaves out who runs the company and where, which matters when you hand a seed phrase to an app.
What stands out
100+ blockchains
Browser extension
Staking
Where it costs you
Fee amounts are not stated, only shown at confirmation.
Company country, owner and licence are missing from the page.
Right for
People holding assets on many different chains who want a phone wallet.
Wrong for
Buyers who need to know the owner and country up front.
Not stated by the vendorFree to download and use; swap and purchase fees shown before you confirm
Self-custodial crypto app run by Consensys Software Inc.
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Crypto Wallets in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The app is free, and the extras are priced: Transaction Shield protects eligible transactions up to a monthly cap for a monthly fee.
The Money Account advertises a rate that falls after a promotional period, and the page states it is not a bank account or insured deposit. The terms name Consensys Software Inc. in Texas, and licence and hosting are not stated, so the code cannot be called open here.
What stands out
Transaction Shield
Money Account
Self-custodial
Where it costs you
Transaction Shield costs $9.99 a month and caps cover.
Money Account balances carry no deposit insurance, per the page.
Right for
Users who want a free self-custodial app with optional cover.
Wrong for
Savers who expect insured deposits or a bank-style account.
United StatesFree on iOS, Android and web; optional protection plan billed monthly
A crypto wallet stores the private keys for blockchain addresses and signs transactions, letting holders send, receive and manage coins or tokens on their own devices without a bank. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 5 publish a pricing model you can read today: Electrum, BlueWallet, Frame, Trust Wallet, MetaMask.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
3 regions are represented (Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means Electrum, BlueWallet, Atomic Wallet. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Crypto wallets and custody: how MetaMask, Trust Wallet and Electrum differ
Every product here is described as self-custody or non-custodial, which means the holder keeps the keys and the vendor cannot reverse a mistake. MetaMask and Trust Wallet say so about phone and browser apps, Atomic Wallet says keys are encrypted on the device, and Electrum keeps keys on the user's own machine and says it stores no account data.
Phantom adds a Ledger connection, and Safe moves the model to a smart contract wallet where several signers must agree. Those are different risk shapes: one seed phrase on a phone, one key on a laptop, or a quorum. Choose the shape before comparing swap screens, and write down who could recover access if a device is lost.
Confirm each wallet describes itself as self-custody or non-custodial
Decide between one key, a hardware signer or a multisig quorum
Record how access is recovered if the device is lost
Chains, coins and platforms: Electrum, BlueWallet and Rainbow compared
Coverage varies sharply. Electrum and BlueWallet describe Bitcoin wallets, with BlueWallet adding Lightning, multisig and watch-only wallets on iOS, Android and macOS. Trust Wallet claims 100+ blockchains, Atomic Wallet more than 1,000 coins and tokens, and Rainbow reaches crypto, predictions and perps on iPhone, Android and desktop.
Platform lists matter too: Electrum ships Windows, macOS, Linux and Android builds, Frame is a desktop product whose operating systems are not named, and Sparrow Wallet is described only as multi-platform. A wallet that lacks your coin or your operating system is a dead end, however good its design, so list the assets you hold, and the devices you use every day, before reading any further.
List the coins and chains you actually hold today
Match the wallet's named platforms to your phone and computer
Treat unnamed operating systems, as with Frame, as a question for the vendor
What Safe, MetaMask and Atomic Wallet charge beyond the crypto wallets app
The app is often free while the surrounding services are not. MetaMask is free on iOS, Android and web, yet lists a Transaction Shield with a monthly fee and a cap on protected transactions. Trust Wallet is free to download and use but applies network and service fees to swaps and purchases, shown only at confirmation.
Atomic Wallet lists a discount on a first purchase tied to a newsletter, with standard fees absent. Phantom says fees may apply to its prepaid Visa. Safe sends visitors to Pro and API pricing pages instead of printing figures. Ask for the fee on the exact action you will repeat, whether that is a swap, a card top-up or a signing seat, and screenshot it.
Price the swap, purchase or card action you will repeat
Separate the free app from optional protection plans
Check whether a fee table exists or only a fee shown at confirmation
Open code and hardware in crypto wallets: Sparrow Wallet, Trezor Suite and Frame
Public code lets outsiders inspect a wallet, but the evidence differs by product. Electrum names the MIT licence and Sparrow Wallet names Apache 2, both with GitHub source for Sparrow. BlueWallet describes its software as free and open source but shows no licence on the pages read.
Trezor says its code and design are 100% open-source, yet its imprint and terms pages returned 404 in this research. Rainbow and Frame link repositories but name no licence. Hardware matters as well: Sparrow Wallet supports USB and airgapped signing, BlueWallet connects four hardware wallets, and Phantom connects a Ledger. Treat a claim of openness as a prompt to go and verify it.
Read the licence file in each repository personally
Confirm which hardware wallets the software lists by name
Prefer signing on a device that never touches the internet for large balances
What goes wrong most often when buying crypto wallets software
Mixing up a self-custody app with an account: losing the seed phrase in MetaMask or Trust Wallet leaves no vendor who can restore it.
Reading the free label on Trust Wallet or MetaMask as the full price, when swap fees and the monthly Transaction Shield sit outside it.
Putting a large balance in a phone app such as BlueWallet or Rainbow when Sparrow Wallet with a hardware signer was available.
Taking a high staking rate at face value: Atomic Wallet and Trust Wallet both say rewards are not guaranteed.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best crypto wallets in 2026?
Electrum leads our ranking of 11. Electrum Technologies GmbH of Berlin provides the wallet at no cost and releases it under the MIT licence as an open source app.
Keys stay on the user's computer and the site says no account data is stored, so nobody has to sign up with a partner to start or to leave. The site describes a Bitcoin wallet only, which leaves holders of other coins needing a second product.
Which crypto wallets tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Electrum: Free of charge, supplied by Electrum Technologies GmbH under an MIT licence.
BlueWallet: Described by the vendor as free and open source software; no plans listed.
Frame: Download button only; no price or free-offer terms appear on the page.
Trust Wallet: Free to download and use; swap and purchase fees shown before you confirm.
MetaMask: Free on iOS, Android and web; optional protection plan billed monthly.
The remaining 6 sell by quote.
Is there a free crypto wallets tool?
Electrum, BlueWallet, Trust Wallet, MetaMask have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these crypto wallets vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 8, Europe 2, North America 1:
Electrum: Germany.
Sparrow Wallet: Not stated by the vendor.
BlueWallet: Not stated by the vendor.
Trezor Suite: Not stated by the vendor.
Safe: Germany.
Frame: Not stated by the vendor.
Rainbow: Not stated by the vendor.
Atomic Wallet: Not stated by the vendor.
Phantom: Not stated by the vendor.
Trust Wallet: Not stated by the vendor.
MetaMask: United States.
Which crypto wallets tools are open source?
Electrum, BlueWallet, Atomic Wallet.
What should you use instead of Electrum?
Look at Sparrow Wallet (made for Bitcoin holders pairing a hardware signer with desktop software they can audit.) and BlueWallet (made for Mobile Bitcoin users who want Lightning plus multisig on a phone.), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Electrum?
Anyone who wants Ethereum or Solana tokens in the same app.. The site describes a Bitcoin wallet, so other coins need another product..
We rank 11 crypto wallets products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.