Card issuing platforms let a company or fintech launch its own debit, credit or prepaid cards through an API instead of building a processor.
This guide ranks vendors on first-ninety-day effort, real cost once ledgers and rails are added, data exit, independence from a bank or card network, and which programme size each one suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What card issuing platforms do
Card issuing platforms provide the processing, ledger, network access and compliance tooling a business needs to create, fund, control and support virtual or physical payment cards for customers or staff.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
30-day trial; plan prices are not shown on the home page, which links to a pricing page
—
US finance teams that already hold bank cards and want tighter control over staff spend
Fintechs wanting to launch their own branded card programme
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Estonian licensed issuer offering white-label cards with an exclusive BIN
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The White-Label product bundles accounts and card issuing, an exclusive BIN in any currency, a branded mobile app for iOS and Android, one API and a Client Portal.
The business side adds corporate, virtual, payroll and platinum cards plus links to Xero, Sage, QuickBooks and NetSuite, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support. A Try demo button replaces a formal trial, so test the flow before talking terms.
What stands out
Exclusive BIN
White-label mobile app
EEA payment institution
Where it costs you
White-Label is listed for the EEA, UK, Switzerland and Ireland, so a programme aimed at other regions is outside the stated coverage.
Transaction and monthly rates are not shown on the home page, so the cost of a live programme stays unknown.
Right for
Fintechs launching branded Visa cards and an app in Europe or the UK
Wrong for
Programmes that must launch outside the EEA, UK or Switzerland
EstoniaFree to start with no setup fees; ongoing rates sit behind a separate pricing page
Modular issuer processor with a fixed monthly fee independent of volume
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Card types run from debit, credit and prepaid to multi-PAN, EV charge and fuel cards, and the components cover licensing, ledger, fraud, dispute management and embedded analytics.
Enfuce claims 99.999% uptime, 29 million cardholders and a 160 ms average response, with Visa, Mastercard and AWS as infrastructure partners. These are the vendor's own figures, so ask for the measurement period before using them in a contract.
What stands out
Tenant-isolated programmes
EV charge and fuel cards
Fee structure disclosed
Where it costs you
No amounts are printed, so the three named fee types cannot be turned into a budget without a quote.
The homepage says Born in the Nordics but names no headquarters country, which leaves jurisdiction unverified.
Right for
Issuers wanting to model a flat monthly fee next to volume charges
Wrong for
Teams wanting to self-serve a card programme from a price list
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per programme, built from a one-off implementation charge, flat monthly service and volume element
One GraphQL API covering issuing, acquiring, credit and real-time ledgering
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Named features include Unified Ledger, Instant Payments, Virtual Card Express, Capital Connect, Datashare, Spend Controls and Fraud Tools.
Rails listed are Check, Wire, ACH, RTP/FedNow, OCT, Stablecoin, AFT and Payouts, with real-time webhooks and public docs at docs.highnote.com. The breadth suits teams that will use several rails; a team issuing cards alone pays attention to a wider surface than it needs.
What stands out
Unified ledger
GraphQL API
Money movement rails
Where it costs you
The one published rate covers acquiring, so issuing cost still needs a sales conversation.
Headquarters, legal entity and owner are not stated on the home page, which weakens due diligence.
Right for
Product teams wanting cards and acquiring under one ledger and API
Wrong for
Buyers who only need physical cards printed and posted
Not stated by the vendorIssuing is custom; acquiring shows a published pay-as-you-go rate; volume discounts carry no figures
Card issuing with direct network links, a settlement API and sandbox
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Four product areas are named: Card Issuing, Accounts and Payment Hub, Program Management and Program Services. Multi-currency processing and ledgers sit beside mobile and web provisioning, and developer resources include docs, SDKs, an API status page and a Lithic MCP Server.
The Explore Sandbox button is not described as free or time-limited, so check its terms with the vendor before relying on it for a pilot.
What stands out
Direct network connections
Settlement API
SOC 2 Type 2
Where it costs you
The pricing page gives no amounts, plans or limits, so every comparison starts with a sales contact.
The legal entity is Lithic, Inc., formerly Pay with Privacy, Inc., yet the country is not stated.
Right for
Developers who want to test card flows in a sandbox first
Wrong for
Buyers who need published tiers before any conversation
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per programme; the pricing page shows contact buttons and a sandbox link, with no amounts or limits
Developer-oriented card programmes for crypto, loyalty and corporate spend
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The dashboard offers real-time transaction reports and cardholder management. The vendor describes the platform as developer-friendly, which a buyer can only test by asking for access and issuing a test card before signing.
Apto Payments, Inc. carries a 2025 copyright line. Ask which bank and which networks apply to your card type before comparing it with vendors that publish more.
What stands out
Crypto cards
Bank-issued programmes
Custom card design
Where it costs you
Issuance runs through Patriot Bank, N.A., so the programme inherits that bank as a dependency.
No integrations beyond Mastercard and Visa are named, which leaves accounting and ledger links unconfirmed.
Right for
Startups launching crypto or loyalty cards with a small developer team
Wrong for
Companies needing accounting integrations named before they sign
Not stated by the vendorNo figures or tiers on the home page; build-your-own programmes go through a contact form
Issuing and processing platform Lume with its own decision engine
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tokenisation features listed are push provisioning, token control, digital wallet, web provisioning and Click to Pay, and a programme management service and a PayoCard product are named.
The Client Portal and Cloud module complete the processing side. The site is offered in English and Spanish. The range of card types is wide, but the page does not say which are available in which region.
What stands out
Lume platform
Decision Engine
Click to Pay
Where it costs you
The page names no country, legal entity or owner, so basic due diligence cannot be finished from the site.
No prices or trial are described, only Start building and Launch Demo buttons.
Right for
Issuers wanting authorisation decisions and wallet tokenisation handled in one processor
Wrong for
Buyers who need ownership and entity details on the site
Not stated by the vendorNothing stated about cost or trials; the buttons read Start building, Get Started and Launch Demo
Bank infrastructure API with cards beside ACH, wires and FedNow
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The home page offers Sign up, Documentation, API reference and Contact sales as its four actions, which suggests a self-serve start for developers. No trial terms are stated.
Because wires, FedNow and checks come from the same provider as cards, funding flows can be designed in one place. Ask who handles KYC and disputes, since the home page lists products rather than programme services.
What stands out
Bank infrastructure
FedNow and RTP
Push-to-Card
Where it costs you
Cards are one product among many, so the surface to learn is wider than a card-only buyer needs.
No headquarters, legal entity, owner or price is stated, which limits what can be checked up front.
Right for
Engineering-led teams that want accounts, cards and payment rails by API
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a ready card programme with managed support
Not stated by the vendorNo pricing or plan details on the home page; sign-up and contact sales are both offered
Embedded accounts, cards and lending under the customer's own brand
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond cards, the platform stores, moves and lends money inside the customer's product. Stated figures are over $100B annual transaction volume, over $3B deposit volume, over 5M accounts and 99.999% uptime, with SOC 2 Type 2 and PCI DSS.
Those numbers are the vendor's own claims, so ask how they are measured. Unit Finance Inc. carries a 2026 copyright line; country and owner are not stated.
What stands out
Native ledger
Charge and credit cards
KYC and AML included
Where it costs you
No price or plan is listed, and Talk to our team is the only call to action.
Unit says it is not a bank, so the regulated partner behind a given programme needs naming.
Right for
Software platforms adding accounts, cards and lending to their own product
Wrong for
Companies that want a card alone without deposit accounts
Not stated by the vendorNo pricing or plan details; the only action is Talk to our team, plus a sandbox sign-up link
Enterprise issuing and processing with JIT funding and programme management
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Platform pages cover virtual cards, an MCP server, JIT funding and real-time decisioning, and developer guides, a sandbox, release notes and a status page are linked. The company reports 99.99% uptime for 2025.
Terms are governed by California law with venue in Alameda County. The offer is wide, but the site does not show a price, so a buyer cannot judge whether it fits a modest volume.
What stands out
JIT funding
Nasdaq listed
Programme management
Where it costs you
Nothing is priced on the site and no trial is named, so cost arrives only after Contact Sales.
The company is publicly traded with no parent named, yet its country of establishment is not stated.
Right for
Large programmes needing 24/7 cardholder support and bank relationships handled
Wrong for
Small teams wanting a quick, priced, self-serve start
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or plan tiers on the pages read; Contact Sales and expert calls are the actions
Cards in 30+ markets without a BIN sponsor, funded multi-currency
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Functions listed are issuing and managing debit cards, card processing, spend controls and real-time authorisation. The site reports 41 million card credentials processed in the last 12 months.
The no-BIN-sponsor line is a vendor claim about its own model, so ask which licence actually covers your target country, and whether the US launch matches the markets you plan to serve first.
What stands out
No BIN sponsor
Stablecoin-backed cards
Per-entity ledger
Where it costs you
The home page shows no price, only Talk to us and a sandbox sign-up.
Headquarters and owner are not stated, so only the legal entity name can be verified.
Right for
Businesses launching cards across several countries from one multi-currency account
Wrong for
Teams who need a published price before first contact
Not stated by the vendorCost is not shown; the only routes are Talk to us and a sandbox sign-up
Multi-currency Visa corporate cards created instantly with zero foreign card fees
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Spend draws on multi-currency balances with automatic conversion, and employee cards can be added to Apple Wallet and Google Pay. Expense Management, Bill Pay and Purchase Orders are related products, and custom approval workflows are mentioned.
Airwallex Pty Ltd is regulated by ASIC and the page read is the Australian regional site, so confirm which entity contracts with a buyer elsewhere.
What stands out
Instant virtual cards
Multi-currency balances
Apple and Google Wallet
Where it costs you
Company cards are currently virtual only, so staff needing a physical card are not covered.
No accounting or ERP integration is named on the issuing page.
Right for
Companies wanting instant corporate cards that spend from several currencies
Wrong for
Fintechs wanting to issue branded cards to their own customers
Not stated by the vendorCards free to create with 0% foreign card fees per the issuing page; other fee amounts are not shown
Cloud-native processing and core banking platform owned by Visa
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Developer guides and API references sit at developers.pismo.io, with a sandbox and dev portal linked, and the site comes in English, Portuguese and Spanish. The page calls the platform truly cloud-native.
Because cards are one module among core banking and lending, a business wanting only cards pays attention to a suite it may use a fraction of, and the page shows no price to weigh that.
What stands out
Owned by Visa
Core banking modules
Private-label cards
Where it costs you
Visa ownership means a buyer is not independent of a card network, which matters on neutrality.
Prices, trial, country and legal entity are all unstated on the home page.
Right for
Banks and lenders wanting cards plus core banking from one platform
Wrong for
Buyers who want a supplier unconnected to a card network
Not stated by the vendorCost and trial terms are absent; Talk to our specialists is the main route in
Virtual and physical cards inside the wider Stripe product set
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page offers full programme management or processing only, where the customer keeps its own bank relationships and licences.
Issuing entities are Stripe Payments Company in the US, Stripe Payments UK Limited under the FCA and Stripe Technology Europe Limited under the Central Bank of Ireland, and the page says Stripe is not a bank in the US. Calls to action are Start now and Contact sales.
What stands out
Connect and Treasury links
Processing-only option
Regional issuing entities
Where it costs you
The pricing basis for Issuing is not shown, so cost cannot be modelled from the page.
It sits inside a larger payments company, so independence is lower than with a card-only vendor.
Right for
Platforms already on Connect or Treasury that want cards alongside
Wrong for
Buyers wanting an issuer separate from their payments provider
Not stated by the vendorIssuing prices are not listed on the product page; the linked pricing page showed no Issuing amounts
Virtual card spend platform layered over existing company credit cards
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Card Issuing Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
In this market Extend is the odd one out: it manages spend on company cards that a bank already issued rather than issuing cards itself. A 30-day start period with no commitment lets a finance team test virtual cards, budgets and approval workflows before paying.
Developers get a virtual card API. It ranks last because it replaces neither a processor nor an issuer, yet it can be the lightest route to spend control.
What stands out
Virtual card API
Participating banks
Approval workflows
Where it costs you
Only banks on the participating list work, so a company with another card issuer may be excluded.
Plan prices are not shown on the home page, so the real cost needs a visit to the pricing page.
Right for
US finance teams that already hold bank cards and want tighter control over staff spend
Wrong for
Fintechs wanting to launch their own branded card programme
United States30-day trial; plan prices are not shown on the home page, which links to a pricing page
Card issuing platforms provide the processing, ledger, network access and compliance tooling a business needs to create, fund, control and support virtual or physical payment cards for customers or staff. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Check who publishes a price
Only 3 of the 14 print a price; 11 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Wallester, Highnote, Airwallex Issuing.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 14 vendors sit in 3 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 12, North America 1, Europe 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Who holds the BIN: Wallester, Nium and Apto Payments compared
Every card needs a bank identification number and a licensed issuer behind it, and vendors answer that differently. Wallester offers an exclusive BIN in any currency and is itself a licensed payment institution. Nium says businesses can run custom card programmes in 30+ markets with no BIN sponsor. Apto Payments issues through Patriot Bank, N.A.
under Mastercard and Visa licences, so the bank is a named dependency. Marqeta lists BIN sponsorship inside its programme management, while Stripe Issuing allows processing only when you keep your own bank relationships and licences. Before comparing features, write down which entity is the issuer of record for your country, who holds the licence, and what happens to your cards if that partner changes.
Ask which entity is issuer of record in each target country
Confirm who holds the BIN and whether it is exclusive
Find out what happens to live cards if the bank partner leaves
Pricing you cannot see: Marqeta, Lithic and Enfuce
Most vendors here show no amounts, so the useful question is what shape the bill takes. Enfuce is the clearest, naming an implementation fee, a fixed monthly fee regardless of volume and a volume-based fee, with add-ons priced separately. Highnote shows a pay-as-you-go rate for acquiring only and lists issuing as custom.
Marqeta and Lithic point to contact buttons on pages that print no amounts or limits. Airwallex Issuing states that cards are free to create and carry 0% foreign card fees, but only for its corporate card product. Ask every vendor for the same three things in writing: one-off setup, a monthly minimum, and the per-transaction charge at your expected volume.
Request setup, monthly minimum and per-transaction charges in writing
Ask whether card production and fulfilment are priced separately
Check which add-ons, such as fraud tools, sit outside the quote
Processor, ledger or spend tool: matching Highnote, Unit and Extend to the job
Products in this list solve different problems under one label. Highnote and Unit both put a ledger beside the cards, so funding, accounts and card spend reconcile in one place, and Increase supplies accounts, wires and FedNow with cards as one product. Marqeta, Enfuce and Paymentology sit closer to processing, with decision engines or real-time decisioning for each authorisation.
Extend and Airwallex Issuing are different again: they let a company control staff spend, and Extend works on cards the company's bank already issued. Decide first whether you are launching cards for your customers or controlling cards for your own employees, because that choice removes half the list before any demo.
Decide if cards are for your customers or your own staff
Check whether a ledger and accounts are included or separate
Confirm who handles KYC, AML and disputes in the programme
Testing a card issuing sandbox before you sign
Sandboxes show how a vendor behaves under your own rules. Lithic, Nium, Unit and Marqeta all link a sandbox, and Highnote describes one that mirrors production with real-time webhooks, while Pismo links a developer portal. Build a test that issues a virtual card, funds it, authorises a purchase, declines one on a spend limit, and reverses one, then time each step.
Uptime claims such as Marqeta's 99.99% for 2025 or Enfuce's 99.999% are the vendors' own figures, so ask for the measurement period and the status page history. Also test the dispute flow, since chargebacks decide how much work stays with your team after launch, and compare it with what each vendor says it handles for you.
Run issue, fund, authorise, decline and reverse in the sandbox
Ask for status page history behind every uptime claim
Walk through a dispute and chargeback case end to end
What goes wrong most often when buying card issuing platforms
Comparing a corporate spend card such as Airwallex Issuing or Extend with a platform meant for launching your own branded card programme.
Treating a vendor's uptime or cardholder figure as a contract term when it is only a marketing line on its home page.
Signing with a processor before learning which bank is the issuer of record and what its termination terms are.
Choosing on sandbox ease alone and finding out later that disputes, KYC and card fulfilment are charged separately.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best card issuing platforms in 2026?
First of 14 on this page is Wallester. Wallester AS is a Tallinn payment institution licensed by the Estonian Finantsinspektsioon. It sells a free-to-start business account with cards and a white-label platform with an exclusive BIN and branded Visa cards.
It ranks first as an independent issuer that lets you begin small before committing to a programme. The limit is geography: White-Label is offered in the EEA, UK, Switzerland and Ireland only.
Which card issuing platforms publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Wallester: Free to start with no setup fees; ongoing rates sit behind a separate pricing page.
Highnote: Issuing is custom; acquiring shows a published pay-as-you-go rate; volume discounts carry no figures.
Airwallex Issuing: Cards free to create with 0% foreign card fees per the issuing page; other fee amounts are not shown.
11 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free card issuing platform?
Wallester can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these card issuing platform vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 12, North America 1, Europe 1:
Wallester: Estonia.
Enfuce: Not stated by the vendor.
Highnote: Not stated by the vendor.
Lithic: Not stated by the vendor.
Apto Payments: Not stated by the vendor.
Paymentology: Not stated by the vendor.
Increase: Not stated by the vendor.
Unit: Not stated by the vendor.
Marqeta: Not stated by the vendor.
Nium: Not stated by the vendor.
Airwallex Issuing: Not stated by the vendor.
Pismo: Not stated by the vendor.
Stripe Issuing: Not stated by the vendor.
Extend: United States.
What should you use instead of Wallester?
Look at Enfuce (made for Issuers wanting to model a flat monthly fee next to volume charges) and Highnote (made for Product teams wanting cards and acquiring under one ledger and API), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Wallester?
Programmes that must launch outside the EEA, UK or Switzerland. White-Label is listed for the EEA, UK, Switzerland and Ireland, so a programme aimed at other regions is outside the stated coverage..
Your card issuing platforms product is not among these 14? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.