Open banking APIs let an app read a customer's bank accounts, and sometimes start payments, once the customer consents.
This guide ranks vendors on how independent they are, what the first ninety days of integration involve, what a live connection costs, and which regions their bank coverage reaches. Regional reach and hidden pricing decide more than feature lists.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What open banking apis software does
An open banking API gives developers consented access to bank account data and payment initiation through one integration, replacing screen scraping and separate connections to each bank's own interface.
Every open banking apis tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
UK-registered aggregator offering account data, payments and a PSD2 licence route
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Yapily takes first place on independence: an England-and-Wales company with no parent stated. Its range covers both halves of open banking, reading accounts through Data and Data Plus and moving money through Payments, variable recurring payments and bulk payments.
Validate is a named onboarding product. What it withholds is the cost, since the pricing page offers tailored pricing and a conversation. Plan a discovery call before comparing it with vendors that print rates.
What stands out
PSD2 licence connect
Variable recurring payments
Data Plus enrichment
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no plan, amount or trial, so budgeting starts with a sales call.
The pages read give no bank count per country, so coverage for your market must be requested.
Right for
Teams wanting data and payments from one unaffiliated vendor working under a PSD2 licence
Wrong for
Buyers who need to see a price before talking to anyone
United KingdomQuoted per organisation; the pricing page names no plans and leaves amounts to a conversation with the team
Bank connections for developers, with a free tier and listed prices
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Teller is the one vendor in this ranking that prints production prices beside a free developer tier. Verify, Balance, Transactions and Identity each carry a rate, and Make Payment sends instant payments over Zelle.
Connect SDKs exist for several languages plus iOS and Android, and a Sidecar tool moves a Plaid integration across with a one-line config change. The price of that openness is silence about the company itself: no entity or country is shown.
What stands out
Sidecar migration from Plaid
Zelle instant payments
Mobile Connect SDKs
Where it costs you
No legal entity, registered office or country appears on the pages read.
The 7,000 institutions cited are not placed in any country, so regional coverage is unconfirmed.
Right for
Developers prototyping against live accounts who want prices visible before signing anything
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named legal entity before procurement starts
Not stated by the vendorFree developer tier with 100 live connections; production billed per account, call or monthly enrollment, with a custom enterprise plan
UK data aggregation with categorisation, embedded portals and variable recurring payments
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Moneyhub is a small-vendor pick for teams that care about what happens to the data after it arrives. The categorisation and enrichment engine turns raw banking data into insights, Data Explorer offers real-time management reporting, and embedded portals put results in front of end users.
Payments appear as variable recurring payments. Missing from the pages read are any price, coverage number or trial, so assess it through the sandbox and a conversation.
What stands out
Categorisation engine
Data Explorer reporting
Embedded portals
Where it costs you
No pricing, plan or trial appears on the pages read.
The home page gives no bank or country count, so reach has to be asked for.
Right for
Product teams wanting categorised data and management reporting views built around account aggregation
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare a published rate card this week
United KingdomNo amounts given anywhere on the site; a sandbox sign-up sits on its docs domain
French payment institution aggregating accounts from more than 1,800 European banks
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Powens offers more than account reading. Beyond aggregation of accounts, savings, loans and investments, it lets customers open IBAN accounts and automate pay-ins and pay-outs, and its identity product checks bank details in real time.
Two Spanish entities sit in the footer next to the French payment institution. Coverage is described only as 1,800+ banks across Europe, and with pricing unseen the practical first step is the sandbox the home page offers.
What stands out
1,800+ European banks
IBAN account opening
Bank identity checks
Where it costs you
Pricing is absent from the pages read, and the pricing URL returned an error.
Stated bank coverage is European only, so it does not help for other regions.
Right for
Teams building European products that need savings, loans and investments data alongside payments
Wrong for
Buyers outside Europe or those needing prices up front
FranceNot shown on the site; sign-up and a sandbox are offered, with no paid plan named
Aggregator claiming 5,000 banks, with a partner route for unlicensed companies
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Salt Edge stands out for breadth of coverage and for regulation. It says it reaches 5,000+ financial institutions in over 50 countries, holds an AISP licence under PSD2 and is ISO 27001 certified.
The Partner Program is the useful detail for companies lacking a licence of their own. Beyond account data it lists pay by bank, bulk payments, data enrichment and AML transaction monitoring. The trade-off is a parent company and no published pricing.
What stands out
FCA-authorised AISP
Partner Program
ISO 27001
Where it costs you
Its parent company means an independence test it cannot pass in full.
Nothing is priced publicly, and the entry points are a demo form and API keys.
Right for
Companies without a PSD2 licence that want one contract covering many countries
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a visible price or a self-serve trial
United KingdomNot published; the pages read offer a demo request and API keys, and mention no trial
Monthly-billed account connections, enrichment and document upload with Canada-only payments
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Flinks sells by volume tier. Connect, Enrich and Upload each have a Starter plan, a Scale plan and a custom Enterprise level, so cost follows monthly connections, API calls or document uploads.
Upload checks documents for fraud, and Enrich draws insights from raw data. The payments product, Pay, is quoted by transaction volume and risk profile. A buyer with uneven traffic pays for the plan ceiling in quiet months.
What stands out
Plans sized by connections
Document fraud detection
Enrich API calls
Where it costs you
Spiky usage gets no relief, because the term is a year and minimums apply every month.
Currency is never named, and the footer lists no company or country.
Right for
Lenders and fintechs that can forecast monthly connection volume and want fixed plan prices
Wrong for
Teams wanting to pay only for what they use
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans per product on one-year terms with monthly minimums; Pay is quoted; sandbox registration is free
Direct OAuth-based connections to 4,500 institutions through six named APIs
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Akoya describes access as direct, OAuth-based APIs to 4,500+ institutions rather than a screen-scraping layer. Six products are named: Balances, Customers, Payments, Accounts & Investments, Transactions and Statements, and fintechs choose raw, standardised or enriched data.
A self-service sandbox with test data is offered. The pricing page splits at 10,000 monthly connections and warns of a possible implementation fee, while no entity or country is given on the page read.
What stands out
OAuth institution APIs
Raw or enriched data
Statements API
Where it costs you
A set-up or implementation fee may apply depending on integration needs.
No legal entity, office or country is stated on the page read.
Right for
Fintechs wanting institution-direct OAuth data in raw, standardised or enriched form
Wrong for
Buyers who need the company's legal details on the page
Not stated by the vendorStandard plan below 10,000 monthly connections and custom Enterprise pricing above; a set-up fee may apply
Per-user priced bank data for Australia and New Zealand with affordability reports
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Basiq bills per user created, so a customer who links five accounts costs the same as one who links one. Insights reports on affordability, income and expenses start from $3.00 each, and the Data Holder product covers consent management, security and ongoing reporting for organisations with data holder obligations.
The sandbox is mentioned, though the page does not say whether it costs anything. A parent company, Cuscal Limited, owns it outright.
What stands out
Billed per user created
Affordability reports
Data Holder consent tools
Where it costs you
Plans run for a minimum of 12 months and a platform access fee is not shown.
Nothing outside Australia and New Zealand is claimed, so other markets are out of reach.
Right for
Lenders in Australia and New Zealand who want income and expense reports priced per user
Wrong for
Teams serving customers outside Australia and New Zealand
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user monthly rates with a 12-month minimum; some products arranged with sales
Account data API with a 30-day trial and naira-priced monthly plans
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mono mixes plans with per-call add-ons. The Basic plan is aimed at small developer teams and caps usage at 100 unique accounts monthly, while Real-time Sync, CAC Lookup and widget customisation are billed on top.
Listed features include Account Information, Transactions, Identity, Income, Transaction Metadata, Telco Data and a white-label option. Annual billing takes 5% off the Financial Data bands. Its owner is named in the footer, but its registered office is not.
What stands out
CAC lookup add-on
Income endpoint
White-label API
Where it costs you
The trial caps usage at five unique accounts a month.
The footer calls Mono a Flutterwave company, so it is not unaffiliated.
Right for
Developer teams who want naira pricing and a per-call add-on menu
Wrong for
Buyers needing prices in a major hard currency
Not stated by the vendorPublished naira plans and per-call add-ons; 30-day trial limited to 5 unique accounts a month
EEA account information with 24 months of history and 90-day access windows
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
This product is the account-information side of GoCardless, documented separately from its payments business. The overview names the data returned: holder name, account numbers with IBAN, transactions with counterparty and description, and balances.
It states its limits plainly, history of up to 24 months and access windows of up to 90 days, and says integration runs through an API and a portal where user secrets are obtained. Account verification is offered to paying customers, and no price is shown.
What stands out
24 months of transactions
90 days continuous access
IBAN and balances
Where it costs you
A 90-day window means renewing consent is part of any design.
Coverage is limited to EEA countries subject to PSD2, per the overview.
Right for
Teams that only need European account information and can renew consent periodically
Wrong for
Buyers wanting payment initiation or non-EEA banks from this product
United KingdomNot shown in the documentation; the pricing page for this product returned an error
Latin American open finance data covering banks, employment records and tax filings
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Belvo is the only vendor here whose catalogue reaches past banks into official employment records and tax returns with invoicing history. Direct Debit recovers overdue payments in Mexico, Biometric Payments takes one-tap Pix payments in Brazil, and Smart Transfers is also named.
The site calls itself the leading open finance platform in Latin America, which is its own claim. The home page shows no plan, amount, sandbox or trial.
What stands out
Employment data
Fiscal data
Pix biometric payments
Where it costs you
Every pricing URL tried failed, and the home page shows no plan or amount.
Only Mexican and Brazilian versions are described, so other regions are not covered.
Right for
Lenders in Mexico and Brazil that want employment and tax data with bank data
Wrong for
Buyers needing coverage in Europe, North America or Asia
MexicoNo amounts or plans visible; the pricing page failed to open and sign-up is the only call to action
Single cloud platform for European payments and data under Tink's PSD2 licence
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tink pitches one integration for payments and data on a single cloud platform. The menu names Pay by Bank, Sweeping Variable Recurring Payments, Payouts, Account Check, Risk Signals, Income Check and Data Enrichment, and the site says it aggregates both PSD2 and non-PSD2 data from European banks.
Enterprise adds guaranteed response and resolution times. The pricing page shows two plans with no amounts and no trial, so the cost question goes to sales.
What stands out
SOC 2 Type II
Account Check
Income Check
Where it costs you
Both plans are scoped to personal accounts, per a footnote on the pricing page.
No country, registered office or owner is stated on the pages read.
Right for
Teams wanting payments and enrichment on one platform using the vendor's PSD2 licence
Wrong for
Buyers needing business account data or a visible price
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation: Standard and Enterprise plans are listed without amounts and sales handles personalised terms
Account linking across 12,000 institutions with payments and transaction products
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Plaid sits low in this ranking because its pricing is hard to forecast, not because of product gaps. Billing differs by product: a one-time fee per connected account, a monthly fee per account, or a flat fee per successful call.
Pay as You Go is month-to-month, Growth needs a 12-month term, and Custom is volume-based. Transfer moves money over ACH, RTP and FedNow, and Transactions holds up to 24 months of categorised data.
What stands out
Link onboarding
ACH, RTP and FedNow
24 months of transactions
Where it costs you
Individual product prices are not shown and several are marked Contact for pricing.
The Growth plan, with discounted rates, requires a 12-month commitment.
Right for
Buyers wanting the widest stated institution reach and US bank payments in one vendor
Wrong for
Teams wanting a price before any commitment
United StatesThree plans named without amounts: Pay as You Go, Growth on a 12-month term, and Custom by volume
Consumer-permissioned data access with enhancement, verification and banking-app products
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Open Banking APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
MX describes Data Access as consumer-permissioned OAuth connections with real-time visibility and Account Aggregation as transaction history in one view.
Data Enhancement cleans and categorises transactions, Investment Data pulls in external brokerage and retirement accounts, and Instant Account Verifications cuts abandonment at account opening. MX Max, Financial Insights and Customer Analytics widen it further. Nothing on the pages read states a price, a trial or a sandbox.
What stands out
Data Enhancement
Investment Data
Instant Account Verifications
Where it costs you
No pricing page could be opened and the home page offers only a demo or early access.
Finished banking-app products sit beside the data APIs, so scope is wider than a pure API buyer needs.
Right for
Institutions wanting data enhancement and app-level products from the same supplier
Wrong for
Developers wanting a self-serve key and visible rates
United StatesNothing visible; the pricing URLs returned errors and the home page offers a demo or early access
An open banking API gives developers consented access to bank account data and payment initiation through one integration, replacing screen scraping and separate connections to each bank's own interface. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 4 of the 14 print a price; 10 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Teller, Flinks, Basiq, Mono.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Headquarters range over 5 countries and 3 regions: Elsewhere 6, Europe 5, North America 3. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
Open banking APIs: ask whose licence you will operate under
The first question for any open banking API is regulatory, because reading European bank data needs an authorised provider. Tink states that its ready-made authentication flows put customers under Tink's PSD2 licence, and Yapily describes Yapily Connect the same way. Salt Edge runs a Partner Program for companies without their own licence and states its own FCA authorisation and AISP licence under PSD2.
Powens is a registered payment institution in France. Outside Europe the wording changes: Plaid, Teller and Akoya describe connections and products, not a licence you borrow. Whichever you pick, find out in writing who is the regulated party, who handles consent screens, and what happens to your connections if the vendor's authorisation changes.
Ask which entity is the authorised provider for your customers
Confirm in writing who owns the consent screen
Check what happens to live connections if the licence changes
Pricing for open banking APIs: ask what a connection costs after month three
Few vendors in this ranking let a buyer calculate a bill. Teller prints per-account, per-call and per-enrollment rates, Flinks prints monthly plans by product, and Basiq prints per-user rates. Yapily, Moneyhub, Salt Edge, Powens, Belvo and MX show no amounts on the pages read. Plaid names three plans without amounts, and several of its products say Contact for pricing.
Minimum terms matter as much as rates: Flinks agreements run one year with monthly minimums, Basiq plans run at least 12 months, and Plaid's Growth plan needs 12 months. Ask for a worked quote using your expected linked users, calls per user and the add-ons your product needs, then multiply it by the full term.
Request a quote based on your own expected volumes
Note every minimum term and monthly minimum
List set-up and implementation fees separately
Open banking API coverage: match the bank list to your customers
Coverage claims are only useful when they name a region. Powens states 1,800+ banks across Europe, GoCardless Bank Account Data covers European Economic Area countries under PSD2, and Salt Edge claims 5,000+ banks in over 50 countries. Basiq reaches 135+ institutions in Australia and New Zealand, and Belvo describes Mexican and Brazilian versions.
Akoya states 4,500+ institutions and Plaid 12,000+, but neither number is split by country on the pages read, and Teller's 7,000 institutions are not placed anywhere. A large total says little about the five banks your customers actually use. Ask each shortlisted vendor for the connection status of those specific banks, and test them in the sandbox before signing.
List the banks your customers actually use
Ask for per-bank connection status, not a total
Test those banks in the sandbox before signing
Data limits and billing units in open banking API contracts
Contract limits shape cost and product design more than endpoint lists do. GoCardless Bank Account Data states up to 24 months of transaction history and a 90-day access window, so consent renewal belongs in your user journey. Plaid's Transactions product covers a similar two-year span.
Mono's trial limits usage at 5 unique accounts a month and its Basic plan at 100, Flinks sizes plans by monthly connections, and Basiq bills per user created whatever number of accounts each user links. The billing unit decides who pays for growth: per account, per call, per enrollment or per user each favours a different product. Model your heaviest realistic month, not your average one.
Check how many months of history are returned
Find out how often users must renew consent
Model your busiest month against the billing unit
What goes wrong most often when buying open banking apis software
Choosing on the headline institution count, when Teller, Akoya and Plaid give totals that are not split by country.
Signing a one-year term with Flinks, Basiq or Plaid Growth before a live pilot has shown real connection rates.
Assuming a data API also moves money, when GoCardless Bank Account Data covers account information and Flinks Pay is available in Canada only.
Treating a missing price as a low price, since Yapily, Moneyhub and Belvo show no amounts on the pages read.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best open banking apis in 2026?
First of 14 on this page is Yapily. Yapily Ltd is a company registered in England and Wales and names no parent company on the pages read, which is why it opens the list.
Its Connect product works under a PSD2 Open Banking licence, and the catalogue spans payments, variable recurring payments, bulk payments and data enrichment. The pricing page offers no plans, amounts or trial, so cost stays unknown until you speak to sales.
Which open banking apis tools publish their pricing?
4 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
Teller: Free developer tier with 100 live connections; production billed per account, call or monthly enrollment, with a custom enterprise plan.
Flinks: Published monthly plans per product on one-year terms with monthly minimums; Pay is quoted; sandbox registration is free.
Basiq: Published per-user monthly rates with a 12-month minimum; some products arranged with sales.
Mono: Published naira plans and per-call add-ons; 30-day trial limited to 5 unique accounts a month.
The other 10 quote per organisation.
Is there a free open banking apis tool?
Teller, Flinks have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these open banking apis vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 6, Europe 5, North America 3:
Yapily: United Kingdom.
Teller: Not stated by the vendor.
Moneyhub: United Kingdom.
Powens: France.
Salt Edge: United Kingdom.
Flinks: Not stated by the vendor.
Akoya: Not stated by the vendor.
Basiq: Not stated by the vendor.
Mono: Not stated by the vendor.
GoCardless Bank Account Data: United Kingdom.
Belvo: Mexico.
Tink: Not stated by the vendor.
Plaid: United States.
MX: United States.
What should you use instead of Yapily?
The next in line are Teller, aimed at Developers prototyping against live accounts who want prices visible before signing anything, and Moneyhub, aimed at Product teams wanting categorised data and management reporting views built around account aggregation.
Who should not buy Yapily?
Buyers who need to see a price before talking to anyone. The pricing page lists no plan, amount or trial, so budgeting starts with a sales call..
Makers of open banking apis products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.