Robo-advisors build and rebalance a portfolio for you in return for a fee, so the price page matters more than the interface.
This guide ranks by independence of the vendor first, then by how many fee layers sit on top of the headline, by what leaving costs, by account eligibility, and by the saver each service is built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What robo-advisors software does
A robo-advisor is an online investment service that builds a diversified portfolio from a questionnaire, then rebalances it automatically for a percentage fee or subscription instead of a human adviser.
Each robo-advisors tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
German-language robo-advisor with one stated yearly management fee
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Quirion suits a buyer who values a short price list: the page names a management fee, a TER range, a 25 EUR monthly savings plan, and says that issue surcharges, transaction fees and custody fees are not charged.
The catch is that the management fee and the TER add up, and the pages we read were in German. We found no trial, and the legal country was not confirmed on the page.
What stands out
Fee plus TER
Savings plan from 25 EUR
No notice period
Where it costs you
The fee page shows two layers, a management fee and a separate TER, so the true yearly cost is higher than the headline 0.48%.
The pages we read are written in German only, which limits who can compare it.
Right for
Savers who read German and want a small ETF portfolio with a monthly plan
Wrong for
Anyone needing an English-language service or a trial period
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly percentage fee plus fund TER; no transaction or custody charges
UK managed ISA, JISA and SIPP portfolios with a worked fee example
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
For a UK saver, Moneyfarm is the clearest fit here because the pricing page covers a managed ISA, JISA, SIPP and GIA and spells out its example in pounds.
What goes wrong is cost stacking: a 0.45% management fee, a 0.25% platform fee and instrument costs all apply. The DIY side adds per-trade charges and a 0.70% currency conversion. No trial is listed for the managed service.
What stands out
ISA and SIPP wrappers
Worked fee example
DIY trading option
Where it costs you
Instrument costs of up to 0.21% sit on top of the 0.70% example, so the all-in figure is higher.
The DIY share dealing side charges per trade and a currency conversion rate, which differs from the managed price model.
Right for
UK savers filling an ISA, JISA or SIPP with a managed portfolio
Wrong for
Buyers outside the UK or those wanting a trial
United KingdomPublished percentage fee split into management and platform parts, plus instrument costs; per-trade charges on the DIY side
US automated investing with a base price or a percentage tier
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Betterment rewards regularity. A saver who deposits 200 or more a month moves from the monthly base price to the 0.25% rate, and Premium at 0.65% starts at 100,000 per household.
The cost sits in the exit: a flat 75 for outbound transfers, with no trial to soften the first months. Cash Reserve and self-directed investing exist beside the managed product, with their own terms on the same page.
What stands out
Base or 0.25% tier
Premium from large balance
Cash Reserve account
Where it costs you
The pricing page names no trial, and fees apply on any balance, so testing it costs real money.
A flat outbound transfer fee of 75 makes leaving more expensive than staying put on a small account.
Right for
Savers who will set up recurring deposits and want a staged fee
Wrong for
People expecting to test with a small balance at no cost
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly base price, or an annual percentage once deposits or balance pass a threshold; higher tier by household balance
Single-fee automated portfolio with tax-loss harvesting and a cash account
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Wealthfront keeps its price list short: 0.25% for the portfolio, no fees on the brokerage account, and a cash account without a rate printed. Tax-loss harvesting and automatic rebalancing are named as features, plus an app for tracking net worth.
The gaps are in what the page leaves out: no cash APY figure, no trial, and no country. A buyer should confirm those before moving a large balance.
What stands out
0.25% advisory fee
Tax-loss harvesting
Net worth app
Where it costs you
The cash account shows no rate on the pricing page, so its yield cannot be compared from there.
The pricing page prints one percentage fee and does not say what the underlying funds cost.
Right for
Savers wanting one printed percentage with tax-loss harvesting and rebalancing included
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated cash rate before opening anything
Not stated by the vendorPublished 0.25% annual advisory fee on the portfolio; brokerage account listed without account fees
Asset-tiered plans with a Canadian-locale price page and USD account trial
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Wealthsimple stands out for a fee that falls as assets rise, from 0.5% at Core to between 0.2% and 0.4% at Generation. The trade-off is that the cheaper tiers start at 100,000 and 500,000.
The 30-day trial applies to USD accounts, after which a monthly charge starts. The pricing page is the Canadian-locale version, and it does not state the currency of its thresholds, so check before assuming.
What stands out
Three asset tiers
Falling fee schedule
USD account trial
Where it costs you
The price page names no currency, so the tier thresholds cannot be read in dollars or any other unit with certainty.
Access to the lower fee needs 100,000 or 500,000 in assets, far above where most new savers start.
Right for
Investors who expect their balance to grow into the cheaper tiers
Wrong for
New savers hoping for the lowest fee from the first deposit
Not stated by the vendorPublished management percentage that falls as assets rise; 30-day trial on USD accounts, then a monthly charge
Three monthly subscription tiers bundling investing with IRA matches
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Acorns turns the fee into a subscription, which is simple to budget and awkward at low balances: the cheapest tier costs the same whether the account holds a little or a lot.
The upside is the first-year IRA match, 1% on Silver and 3% on Gold. The limits are plain: no trial, a US-residents-over-18 rule, and match benefits that apply to the first year only.
What stands out
Flat monthly tiers
IRA match in year one
Kids' account match
Where it costs you
A flat monthly fee weighs more heavily on a small balance than a percentage would.
The IRA match is described for the first year, so its value does not repeat each year.
Right for
Small US accounts that value matches and tier bundles over a percentage fee
Wrong for
Larger balances, where a flat fee is dwarfed by a percentage
Not stated by the vendorPublished flat monthly subscription in three tiers; no per-transaction charges stated
Subscription investing app with an extra percentage fee on managed accounts
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Stash charges in two ways at once on its managed products: a monthly or annual plan, plus 0.25% on Smart Portfolios from 1,000 and on Managed Retirement Accounts.
Entry is cheap, with no minimums and fractional shares from 5 or less, and a 7-day trial. For a buyer comparing costs, add the subscription and the percentage together before judging it. Banking is via Stride Bank N.A.
What stands out
Subscription plus AUM fee
7-day trial
Fractional shares
Where it costs you
The subscription and the 0.25% fee both apply on managed accounts, so costs are charged twice over.
The trial lasts 7 days, a short window to judge a long-term investing service.
Right for
Beginners who want fractional shares and a short trial before paying
Wrong for
Savers who want a single transparent percentage fee
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or annual subscription, plus a 0.25% yearly fee on managed portfolios; 7-day trial
Self-directed brokerage with commission-free trades and a cash account
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
M1 sits at the edge of this category. The price page describes a brokerage with no commission or trading fees, a platform fee waived on balances above 10,000, a cash account and margin loans, with M1 Advisor mentioned as an advisory service for clients.
A buyer wanting hands-off management should look higher in the ranking. Other fees may apply, including regulatory fees, account closure and ADR fees.
What stands out
Self-directed brokerage
Platform fee
Margin loans
Where it costs you
Most of the pricing page is about self-directed investing, so it matches a robo-advisor only in part.
Margin loans are unavailable on retirement and custodial accounts.
Right for
Investors who pick holdings themselves and want light advisory help
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a fully managed portfolio with rebalancing handled for them
Not stated by the vendorPublished platform fee waived above a balance level; no trading commissions; cash and margin rates listed
Five ready-made portfolios on a German-language savings and investing site
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Raisin is hard to rank on cost, because the homepage calls investing costs low and transparent without printing any number.
What it does state: five ready-made globally diversified portfolios, a start from 25 EUR, and a target return of up to 7.4% a year with a risk warning. The legal entity is Raisin SE in Berlin. Free savings do not mean free investing.
What stands out
Five ready-made portfolios
Starts from 25 EUR
Savings marketplace
Where it costs you
The investment costs show no figure on the homepage, so the fee cannot be ranked against the others.
The page we read is in German and leads with savings products rather than investing.
Right for
German-reading savers who want ready-made portfolios next to savings products
Wrong for
Cost-focused buyers who need a printed fee before comparing
Not stated by the vendorInvestment cost percentage not shown on the homepage; investing starts from a small monthly amount
Brokerage-backed advisory with no advisory fee under a balance threshold
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The fee structure at Fidelity Go is a threshold: no advisory fee below 25,000, then 0.35%. That makes it a low-cost way into a managed portfolio for small balances, and a pricier one above that line compared with Wealthfront's 0.25%.
Rebalancing and trading are listed without charges. Limits: US persons only, a footer dated 2024 that calls for a check of current terms, and a 10 minimum before money is invested.
What stands out
No fee under 25,000
US persons only
Strategic Advisers LLC
Where it costs you
The offer is limited to persons in the US, so it is closed to everyone else.
The pricing page footer reads 1998 to 2024, so current terms need confirming.
Right for
US savers under 25,000 who want an advisory service with no advisory charge
Wrong for
Non-US residents and buyers wanting the lowest rate on large balances
Not stated by the vendorPublished: no advisory fee below a balance threshold, then a yearly percentage; no trading or rebalancing charges
Index-fund advice with a 90-day advisory-fee waiver and tax-loss harvesting
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Robo-Advisors in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Vanguard Digital Advisor presents its price per 10,000 invested: up to 20 for All-Index and ESG, 25 for Active/Index, after a 90-day waiver. Tax-loss harvesting sits inside that fee.
Fund expense ratios are billed separately, so the headline is lower than the real cost. Enrolment starts at 100 in assets, or 5 for eligible 401(k) accounts, and only US residents qualify. It ranks last here on independence.
What stands out
90-day waiver
Tax-loss harvesting included
US residency required
Where it costs you
Fund expense ratios are charged separately, so the advisory fee understates total cost.
Enrolment requires US residency or a US military address, which excludes most other buyers.
Right for
US investors wanting index funds with harvesting included in the fee
Wrong for
Anyone outside the US or wanting a single all-in price
Not stated by the vendorPublished: percentage advisory fee after a 90-day waiver, stated per amount invested; fund expense ratios charged separately
A robo-advisor is an online investment service that builds a diversified portfolio from a questionnaire, then rebalances it automatically for a percentage fee or subscription instead of a human adviser. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Check who publishes a price
1 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 10 publish a pricing model you can read today: Quirion, Moneyfarm, Betterment, Wealthfront, Wealthsimple, Acorns, Stash, M1 Finance, Fidelity Go, Vanguard Digital Advisor.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 2 countries: Elsewhere 10, Europe 1.
Robo-advisors: count every fee layer, not only the headline
A robo-advisor quotes one number, and a second and third sit behind it. Vanguard Digital Advisor states its advisory fee per 10,000 invested and says fund expense ratios are charged separately. Quirion lists a 0.48% management fee plus a TER of about 0.2% on its single-account option. Moneyfarm splits its example into a 0.45% management fee and a 0.25% platform fee, then adds instrument costs of up to 0.21%.
Betterment starts with a monthly base price, moves to 0.25% at set deposit or balance levels, and charges a flat fee on outbound transfers. Add the layers for your own balance before comparing two services, and ask whether the quoted figure includes the funds. A service that looks cheaper on its headline can cost more once the extra layers are added, so compare totals only.
Add fund costs to the advisory fee
Check the exit and transfer fee
Price your own balance, not the example
Flat subscription or percentage: where Acorns, Stash and Wealthfront cross over
Acorns bills Bronze, Silver or Gold as a monthly subscription, so the cost does not move with your balance. Wealthfront prints 0.25% a year on its portfolio, which grows as you save. Stash combines both, with a monthly or annual plan and a 0.25% fee on Smart Portfolios of 1,000 or more.
A flat fee is cheap for a large account and heavy for a small one, while a percentage does the reverse, so work out the yearly cost at your balance today and in five years. Wealthsimple lowers its percentage as assets rise through its three tiers, which changes the maths again. Finally, check whether the subscription is billed monthly or annually, because Stash shows both.
Work out the yearly cost at two balances
Check if a subscription and a percentage both apply
Look for fee tiers that fall as assets rise
Who can open an account: Fidelity Go, Vanguard Digital Advisor and Moneyfarm
Eligibility rules cut this list faster than price. Fidelity Go says its offer is for persons in the US only, Vanguard Digital Advisor needs US residency or a US military address, and Acorns refers to US residents over 18. Moneyfarm describes ISA, JISA, SIPP and GIA wrappers under the FCA, which are UK products. Wealthsimple's page uses a Canadian locale and offers a 30-day trial on USD accounts.
Read the eligibility lines before the fee table, because a cheap service you cannot open has no value. Also check which currency the thresholds use, since several pages do not state it. A threshold of 100,000 means something different in each currency, and a trial offered on one account type may not cover the others.
Read residency and age rules first
Match the account wrapper to your tax situation
Confirm the currency of every threshold
Automation in robo-advisors: harvesting, rebalancing and cash
Features are listed more loosely than prices. Wealthfront names automatic rebalancing and tax-loss harvesting, and Vanguard Digital Advisor includes tax-loss harvesting in its fee. M1 Finance is described mostly as a self-directed brokerage, with M1 Advisor as an advisory service, so less is automated. Raisin offers five ready-made portfolios and shows no cost figure on its homepage.
Cash accounts are another trap: Betterment's Cash Reserve shows a variable APY dated 21 September 2026, while Wealthfront's cash account names a high APY without a rate. Ask which tasks the service performs for the fee you pay, and whether any of them cost extra, as the self-directed side of a service often prices separately from the managed side.
Confirm rebalancing and harvesting are included
Check cash rates carry a date
Separate managed portfolios from self-directed brokerage
What goes wrong most often when buying robo-advisors software
Reading the advisory percentage as the total cost, when Vanguard Digital Advisor and Quirion both add fund costs on top.
Choosing a flat monthly tier such as Acorns for a growing balance without recomputing the yearly cost each time the account doubles.
Opening an account before checking eligibility, since Fidelity Go and Vanguard Digital Advisor are limited to US persons.
Treating a cash account rate as permanent when the Betterment page shows a variable APY tied to a date.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best robo-advisors in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Quirion first. Quirion runs its portfolios through Quirin Privatbank AG in Berlin and states a management fee of 0.48% a year, with a fund cost (TER) of about 0.2% on the single-account option and 0.1% on Cash-Invest.
Savings plans start at 25 EUR a month, and strategy changes, pauses and withdrawals can happen at any time. The pages we read are in German, and the legal country was not confirmed there.
Which robo-advisors tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Quirion: Published yearly percentage fee plus fund TER; no transaction or custody charges.
Moneyfarm: Published percentage fee split into management and platform parts, plus instrument costs; per-trade charges on the DIY side.
Betterment: Published monthly base price, or an annual percentage once deposits or balance pass a threshold; higher tier by household balance.
Wealthfront: Published 0.25% annual advisory fee on the portfolio; brokerage account listed without account fees.
Wealthsimple: Published management percentage that falls as assets rise; 30-day trial on USD accounts, then a monthly charge.
Acorns: Published flat monthly subscription in three tiers; no per-transaction charges stated.
Stash: Published monthly or annual subscription, plus a 0.25% yearly fee on managed portfolios; 7-day trial.
M1 Finance: Published platform fee waived above a balance level; no trading commissions; cash and margin rates listed.
Fidelity Go: Published: no advisory fee below a balance threshold, then a yearly percentage; no trading or rebalancing charges.
Vanguard Digital Advisor: Published: percentage advisory fee after a 90-day waiver, stated per amount invested; fund expense ratios charged separately.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free robo-advisors tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these robo-advisors vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 10, Europe 1:
Quirion: Not stated by the vendor.
Moneyfarm: United Kingdom.
Betterment: Not stated by the vendor.
Wealthfront: Not stated by the vendor.
Wealthsimple: Not stated by the vendor.
Acorns: Not stated by the vendor.
Stash: Not stated by the vendor.
M1 Finance: Not stated by the vendor.
Raisin: Not stated by the vendor.
Fidelity Go: Not stated by the vendor.
Vanguard Digital Advisor: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Quirion?
Moneyfarm and Betterment are the next two on this page. Moneyfarm is for UK savers filling an ISA, JISA or SIPP with a managed portfolio; Betterment is for Savers who will set up recurring deposits and want a staged fee.
Who should not buy Quirion?
Anyone needing an English-language service or a trial period. The fee page shows two layers, a management fee and a separate TER, so the true yearly cost is higher than the headline 0.48%..
Sell robo-advisors and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.