Meditation apps deliver guided sessions, sleep audio, breathing exercises and courses on a phone, from free non-profit projects to subscription services with coaching.
Prices are often hidden behind trials, and several vendors state no company country. This guide ranks eleven apps on setup effort, real price, exit, independence and who each suits, with the smallest independent supplier first.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What meditation apps software does
Meditation apps are phone and web services that deliver guided meditations, breathing exercises, sleep audio and courses, funded by subscriptions, donations or advertising, for personal stress, focus and sleep.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each meditation apps tool is built for. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Amsterdam non-profit app with no paywall, no account and public source code
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
Medito lists guided meditations, sleep stories, courses and breathing exercises, all without an account. The foundation states that its numbers reach more than 190 countries and that it publishes finances and a roadmap.
Because nothing is sold, there is no refund route or customer support promise to compare. The AGPL licence means a developer can read how the app handles data, which few rivals allow.
What stands out
AGPL licence
No account needed
Volunteer built
Where it costs you
Funding depends on donations, and the foundation says fewer than one per cent of users give
Built by volunteers and researchers rather than a named teacher, so no single guide to follow
Right for
Anyone who wants a no-cost, no-login meditation app with public source code
Wrong for
Buyers who want a famous teacher or a coaching service
NetherlandsFree for everyone; no trial and no premium tier; funded by donations
Australian not-for-profit app with family tools and a school programme
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
Smiling Mind separates its offer into school, home and learning-hub areas. The primary school programme brings curriculum-aligned lessons and ready-to-use resources, with secondary school material following, while the at-home app gives families practical wellbeing tools.
Its page names a Resilient Families Program too. Being a not-for-profit means earnings go back into the mission, but the same structure limits how quickly it can add content.
What stands out
Not-for-profit
Family tools
School programme
Where it costs you
Its programmes are shaped around children, schools and families, not adult courses
Funding depends on donations and partners, so the roadmap is not under buyer control
Right for
Parents and teachers who want a free mindfulness app tied to school lessons
Wrong for
Adults wanting long teacher-led courses or sleep stories
Free app of guided practice from Thich Nhat Hanh's monastic community
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The app collects hundreds of resources: guided meditations, deep relaxations, practice songs and chants, plus answers Thich Nhat Hanh gave to students and Dharma talks.
The About page says it began as a volunteer idea from a practitioner who found Headspace helpful but wanted more Buddhist teaching. Its footer names Centre for Applied Ethics Ltd, though no country is given, and a donation page replaces a subscription.
What stands out
Buddhist teachings
Guided meditations
Chants and talks
Where it costs you
Content is openly Buddhist, which not every user wants
The site does not state a company country, so legal jurisdiction is unclear
Right for
People who want practice rooted in Thich Nhat Hanh's teaching, offered at no charge
Wrong for
Users wanting secular stress programmes or sleep stories
Not stated by the vendorFree app; donation page linked from the site
Large audio library offered free, with a paid Member Plus tier
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Insight Timer positions itself as a free audio library for sleep, relaxation and yoga, with content from psychologists, spiritual leaders and teachers, so quality varies by uploader.
A Member Plus link exists but the home page describes nothing behind it. Retreat prices from 315 US dollars appear on the same page, which can be mistaken for app pricing. Insight Network Inc. is the named company.
What stands out
Free audio library
Member Plus
Teacher-uploaded content
Where it costs you
The home page shows two track counts, 250,000 and 370,000, so scale claims are unreliable
Member Plus has no price or feature list on the home page
Right for
Browsers who want to sample thousands of teachers before choosing anyone
Wrong for
Buyers who want one curated course with a fixed structure
Not stated by the vendorFree library plus paid Member Plus tier; price not shown on the home page
Courses and a library of over 500 meditations, adjusted by monthly check-ins
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The app offers courses and over 500 meditations, and a monthly check-in updates the recommendations shown each time you open it.
Its footer carries a How We Price page, a Free Meditations page, a gifting route and a help centre, which show more openness than many rivals. The privacy policy names Happier Meditation, Inc. as the operator. The old tenpercent.com address returns a permanent redirect.
What stands out
Courses
500+ meditations
Monthly check-ins
Where it costs you
The home page gives no subscription amount, only a try-for-free button
The brand change from Ten Percent Happier can confuse people searching for the old name
Right for
Beginners who like teacher-led courses and gentle monthly adjustments to goals
Wrong for
Users who want to know the full price before signing up
Not stated by the vendorSubscription after a free trial; price not shown on the home page
Single-teacher course app with a stated scholarship route for those who cannot pay
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Waking Up offers a seven-day trial before an annual subscription, plus a money-back guarantee and cancellation from account settings. The standout policy is the free membership for anyone who cannot afford it, which the site frames as a scholarship with no questions asked.
The terms say a free trial may be limited or ended at the company's discretion and that the price is shown inside your account. Waking Up, LLC is the named company.
What stands out
Annual plan
7-day trial
Scholarship route
Where it costs you
Pricing appears only after login, so outsiders cannot compare it
Terms sit under United States and California law, which may matter to non-US buyers
Right for
Readers who want a structured course and may need the scholarship route
Wrong for
Shoppers wanting a monthly plan or a visible price list
Not stated by the vendorAnnual subscription after a 7-day trial; price shown after login
Meditation, sleep and coaching library with optional online therapy
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The subscription page promises a 14-day trial and cancellation at any point, and the terms add that a trial converts to a paid annual or monthly term unless switched off. Headspace, Inc.
offers family, student and gift routes, HSA or FSA payment, and an AI companion named Ebb. Its privacy policy lists EU and UK data representatives, which helps European buyers who care where complaints are handled.
What stands out
Meditation and sleep
Online therapy
Ebb AI companion
Where it costs you
The annual price rendered as a blank value on the subscription page
Therapy and coaching are separate services, not part of a basic app plan
Right for
Users who want meditation now and may add therapy or coaching later
Wrong for
Anyone looking for a no-cost app or a one-time purchase
United StatesMonthly and annual subscriptions, family and student plans; trial of 14 days
Daily questions assemble a personalised session from an audio library
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The service asks a few questions each day about experience, goals and obstacles, then builds meditations from an audio library. It also lists on-demand singles and vibration-based immersive sessions, where the phone's haptics play a part.
The Mind Company's terms say subscriptions may begin with a free trial and that disputes go to arbitration in San Francisco. The same company sells two other apps, Elevate and Spark.
What stands out
Personalised sessions
Daily check-in
Part of The Mind Company
Where it costs you
Sessions are assembled per user, so two people rarely hear the same programme
No price is shown on the home page
Right for
Users who prefer being told what to play each day
Wrong for
People who want to browse a fixed course catalogue
Not stated by the vendorSubscription after a trial; price not shown on the home page
Personalised meditation and sleep app that uses Claude for recommendations
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Aura presents personalised mental wellness and sleep content for more than eight million users and offers its site in English, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, Portuguese and German.
The privacy policy states that data may be stored in the United States or any other country where Aura or its providers hold facilities, and that Anthropic's Claude service helps personalise recommendations. A gift-card route and web app login are also listed.
What stands out
Personalised
Sleep content
Seven languages
Where it costs you
No company country or price is stated on the home page
Recommendations pass through a third-party AI service, which privacy-minded users may want to review
Right for
Users comfortable with an AI-personalised daily plan across meditation and sleep
Wrong for
Buyers needing a clear company address and price before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFree start offered; subscription price not shown on the home page
All-in-one app mixing meditation, hypnotherapy, sleep stories, music and sounds
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The site lists meditation, hypnotherapy, sleep stories, music and nature sounds, and says content is developed by qualified professionals. It also advertises a feature that creates a session for the moment you are in, though the page does not explain how.
The vendor claims 18 million downloads and over 80,000 five-star reviews, figures that come from its own marketing. The footer offers iOS and Android downloads and a Subscription link.
What stands out
Hypnotherapy
Sleep stories
iOS and Android
Where it costs you
Pricing and trial terms are absent from the home page
No company country is shown, only a copyright line
Right for
Sleep-focused listeners who like stories, music and hypnotherapy in one place
Wrong for
Buyers who need clear price and trial terms before downloading
Not stated by the vendorSubscription link in footer; price and trial not stated on the home page
Breathing and meditation sessions for iOS from Nyllon LLC
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Meditation Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Oak's site is short: it pairs breathing sessions with meditation sessions and reports 4.8 stars from 32,000 ratings plus a community of over one million. It credits a quote from teacher Henry Shukman and names Nyllon LLC in the footer.
Support, privacy and terms pages exist, but nothing explains plans or pricing, so the app store listing becomes the only place to learn what a subscription would cost.
What stands out
Breathing sessions
Meditation sessions
iOS only
Where it costs you
Only iOS is listed, with no Android version on the site
No price, plan or trial information appears on the site
Right for
iPhone owners wanting short breathing practice alongside plain meditation sessions
Wrong for
Android users, or anyone who needs published pricing
Not stated by the vendorPrice not shown on the site; iOS download only
Meditation apps are phone and web services that deliver guided meditations, breathing exercises, sleep audio and courses, funded by subscriptions, donations or advertising, for personal stress, focus and sleep. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 5 of the 11 print a price; 6 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Medito, Smiling Mind, Plum Village App, Insight Timer, Aura.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 4 countries: Elsewhere 8, North America 1, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1.
03
Decide if open source matters
1 of these are open source: Medito. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Meditation apps: Medito, Smiling Mind and Plum Village against paid libraries
Meditation apps split into three business models. Medito, Smiling Mind and the Plum Village App are free and run by a foundation, a not-for-profit and a monastic community, so donations or other income pay for them. Insight Timer offers a free library and sells Member Plus.
Headspace, Happier Meditation, Waking Up, Balance, Aura and Breethe sit behind a trial and a subscription. Each model affects the product: free apps usually offer less personalisation and no coaching, while paid apps can fund therapy, courses and AI features. Decide first whether you want a library, a course or a daily nudge, then compare only apps of that kind.
Decide between a browsable library, a structured course and a personalised daily plan
Note whether the developer is a foundation, a company or a community
Compare free apps and trials against the same goal
Price signals: trials, hidden amounts and scholarships
Most paid meditation apps hide the subscription amount until you start a trial. Headspace promises 14 days, Waking Up seven days with a scholarship route, and Happier Meditation, Balance and Aura invite you to try for free without printing a price on the home page. Breethe and Oak show no price at all.
Medito, Smiling Mind and Plum Village state that nothing is charged. A trial that asks for payment details converts into a paid term unless you cancel, and Headspace's terms say so directly. Before starting any trial, find the price in the app store listing and set a calendar reminder for cancellation.
Find the price in the store listing before starting a trial
Set a reminder before the trial converts to a paid term
Ask whether a hardship or scholarship route exists
Exit and ownership: what happens to your data and routine
Leaving a meditation app costs little in money but something in habit, so check what you would lose. Medito needs no account, so nothing is stored for you to retrieve. Waking Up lets you cancel from account settings. Aura's privacy policy says data may be stored in the United States or other countries and that Anthropic's Claude service helps personalise recommendations.
Balance's terms route disputes to arbitration in San Francisco. Owners change too, and vendor pages are the place to check. For a consumer app, export means your streaks, favourites and history, which many apps do not let you download, so assume they stay behind when you leave.
Check whether an account is needed at all
Read what the privacy policy says about storage location and AI use
Assume streaks and favourites will not move with you
Who each app is for: children, Buddhists, sleepers and beginners
The apps here serve different people. Smiling Mind builds around children, schools and families. The Plum Village App is openly Buddhist, rooted in Thich Nhat Hanh's teaching. Breethe and Aura push sleep stories, music and hypnotherapy.
Happier Meditation and Waking Up suit people who want a teacher and a course, and Balance suits people who want to be told what to play. Oak is limited to iOS. Headspace is the only one here that also lists online therapy and coaching. A good match depends on your need today, so choose one for a month and switch without guilt if it does not fit.
Name your main need: stress, sleep, focus or spiritual practice
Check the platform before you download
Give one app a fixed month before judging it
What goes wrong most often when buying meditation apps software
Starting a free trial before finding the price, then paying a full annual term by accident.
Comparing a donation-funded app with a subscription service as if they offered the same scope.
Judging a company-sized claim such as millions of downloads or thousands of tracks as proof of quality.
Ignoring data location and AI processing in the privacy policy because the app feels harmless.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best meditation apps in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Medito first. Stichting Medito, a registered Dutch foundation, offers every meditation, course and sleep story at no charge and says it runs no trials or premium tier.
The app needs no account, and the code is open source under the AGPL licence. Volunteers and donations pay for the work, and the foundation notes that under one per cent of users have given, so long-term upkeep rests on goodwill.
Which meditation apps tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 5 products on this page:
Medito: Free for everyone; no trial and no premium tier; funded by donations.
Smiling Mind: Free app; donations welcome.
Plum Village App: Free app; donation page linked from the site.
Insight Timer: Free library plus paid Member Plus tier; price not shown on the home page.
Aura: Free start offered; subscription price not shown on the home page.
The remaining 6 sell by quote.
Is there a free meditation apps tool?
Medito, Smiling Mind, Plum Village App, Insight Timer, Aura come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these meditation apps vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 8, North America 1, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1:
Medito: Netherlands.
Smiling Mind: Australia.
Plum Village App: Not stated by the vendor.
Insight Timer: Not stated by the vendor.
Happier Meditation: Not stated by the vendor.
Waking Up: Not stated by the vendor.
Headspace: United States.
Balance: Not stated by the vendor.
Aura: Not stated by the vendor.
Breethe: Not stated by the vendor.
Oak: Not stated by the vendor.
Which meditation apps tools are open source?
Medito.
What should you use instead of Medito?
Smiling Mind and Plum Village App are the next two on this page.
Smiling Mind is for Parents and teachers who want a free mindfulness app tied to school lessons; Plum Village App is for People who want practice rooted in Thich Nhat Hanh's teaching, offered at no charge.
Who should not buy Medito?
Buyers who want a famous teacher or a coaching service. Funding depends on donations, and the foundation says fewer than one per cent of users give.
Do you make a meditation apps product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.