Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026
Accounting practice management software tracks client jobs, deadlines, staff time and often billing and client portals for firms that prepare tax returns, accounts and bookkeeping.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort, the bill once billing and extra modules are added, how data leaves, and whether you can buy and cancel without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What accounting practice management software does
Accounting practice management software is a system that runs an accounting firm's client list, recurring jobs, deadlines, staff time, document requests and invoicing, normally next to separate tax software.
Every accounting practice management tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Checklist workflow for bookkeepers, priced by team size band
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Aero Workflow sells three bands and an Enterprise plan above fifty users, where a set fee applies per extra group of ten. Each band lists unlimited customers, tasks and templates, over 150 checklist templates and more than 20 reports.
Prices differ by country list. The yearly option takes 20% off, but it cannot be refunded mid-term. During the 14-day trial every user and integration is open.
What stands out
Flat user bands
Checklist templates
Bookkeeping firms
Where it costs you
Aero Workflow's pricing page names checklists, task scheduling, reports and integrations, but no invoicing or time tracking.
An annual Aero Workflow subscription cancelled before month twelve gets no refund, according to its own FAQ.
Right for
Bookkeeping firms of five to fifty people wanting checklists without per-seat arithmetic
Wrong for
Firms that need invoicing and time budgets inside the tool
United StatesPublished flat monthly fee by user band, not per seat; 14-day trial without a card
Job and capacity tracking sold per seat in two tiers
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Starter and Premium are priced per seat with a monthly or annual choice; Enterprise adds single sign-on and a dedicated account manager at a negotiated price. The pricing page lists project, client, capacity and process management and no billing module.
A 14-day trial is offered from the site. The company publishes comparison pages against Canopy, Financial Cents and TaxDome, which signals who it expects you to shortlist.
What stands out
Per-seat tiers
Capacity planning
Time budgets
Where it costs you
Jetpack Workflow keeps time logs and capacity planning out of the cheaper Starter seat.
Attaching files to jobs costs extra per 100GB, so document-heavy firms pay beyond the seat price.
Right for
Firms of any size that mainly need job tracking and staff capacity views
Wrong for
Practices wanting billing, proposals and payments in one product
United StatesPublished monthly or annual price per seat in two tiers plus Enterprise; 14-day trial
Accountancy CRM with workflows, priced per user, clients free
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Senta shows its price after you pick a country from the flag list, with a first-user rate and cheaper additional users. Everything is included in that rate, and free upgrades are promised.
It connects to FreeAgent, QuickBooks, Xero and GoProposal and to others through Zapier. The corporate page still carries a 2016-2023 copyright line, and the price shown depends on the country you select.
What stands out
Per-user price
Clients free
UK practices
Where it costs you
Senta lists CRM, workflow, tasks, documents and insights, and names no tax or accounts production module.
Senta bills per user, so every added staff member raises the monthly cost, softened only by volume discounts.
Right for
Small UK accountancy firms wanting a CRM and workflows at a flat per-user price
Wrong for
Firms that need tax and accounts production in the same tool
United KingdomPublished monthly price per user, lower with more users or annual payment; 30-day trial
Task, billing and client portal tiers per user, with add-ons
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The comparison table shows Solo, Team, Scale and Enterprise. Enterprise adds IP fencing, mandatory two-factor sign-in and webhooks. Unlimited file storage, e-signatures, an open API and QuickBooks Online sync appear in the plan lists.
A 14-day trial needs no card and Solo's trial is for single-user firms only. The price calculator on the page reflects team size and billing period, so the annual total is visible before any sales call.
What stands out
Per-user tiers
Client requests
12-month term
Where it costs you
Every Financial Cents plan is a 12-month agreement, and monthly billing needs at least five users.
Month-End Close and KBA signatures are priced outside the plan, per client or per signature.
Right for
Firms wanting billing, portal and automation under one subscription term
Wrong for
Firms wanting month-to-month terms or fewer than five paid seats
Not stated by the vendorThree published tiers priced per user and billed annually, then Enterprise; 14-day trial
Practice module from a UK compliance suite, priced by client count
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The practice management page quotes monthly prices from a starting figure for 100 clients and offers a free trial. The wider site lists Corporation Tax, Self Assessment, accounts production, payroll, company secretarial, time and fees and Making Tax Digital modules.
Pricing therefore scales with clients and with the modules selected, and the figure quoted online covers only the practice module, not tax, payroll or accounts production.
What stands out
Client-count pricing
UK compliance
Suite modules
Where it costs you
Capium states its entry price for 100 clients, so a larger client list moves you up a band.
Capium's practice tool is one module of a suite, and some buyers pay for modules they never open.
Right for
UK practices that want practice management and compliance tools from one vendor
Wrong for
Firms outside the UK tax regime or wanting a standalone tool
United KingdomPublished monthly price starting by client count; free trial; sold beside suite modules
Proposals, engagement letters and billing rather than task workflow
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The Solo plan includes 20 active clients, one user and one e-signature per proposal. Enterprise is custom priced for larger multi-office firms.
Add-ons such as Deals and Online forms carry their own monthly price unless a plan includes them. The 14-day trial asks for no card. Its group has subsidiaries in the UK, Canada, the US, New Zealand and South Africa.
What stands out
Proposals
Payments
Active-client limits
Where it costs you
Ignition's menu lists no task or workflow management, so a separate tool runs the work.
Deals pipeline and Online forms are priced add-ons unless a plan includes them, and Price Insights is billed annually.
Right for
Practices wanting signed proposals and automatic billing without a workflow product
Wrong for
Firms looking for task boards and deadline tracking in one tool
AustraliaPublished tiered plans by active clients and users, add-ons priced extra; 14-day trial
Document workspace for professional firms, sold as user bundles
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The US pricing page lists Semi-Suite and Super Suite from a monthly price, lower when paid annually, with a user count included in each. Super Suite adds unlimited document signing, a personalised client portal and advanced PDF tools.
An Enterprise version of Super Suite is quoted by contact. Both a free trial and a demo are offered. Integrations named on the home page include Xero, Karbon, WorkflowMax, HubSpot, Microsoft 365 and QuickBooks Online.
What stands out
Document workspace
User bundles
Accounting integrations
Where it costs you
SuiteFiles is a document tool for several industries, and job management arrives through Xero or Karbon integrations.
SuiteFiles states a user count inside each bundle, so firm size decides which bundle fits.
Right for
Firms with a workflow tool already in place and a messy shared drive
Wrong for
Firms that want job, time and billing inside the same tool
New ZealandPublished monthly or annual bundle price with a stated user count; free trial
File naming and client document exchange for accounting and tax firms
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Pricing is per user, billed annually, with monthly plans on request. The cheaper tier is the document layer; the platform tier brings client requests and tasks.
A firm website costs extra each month, e-signature is an add-on and KBA checks cost per signer. Fair-use limits apply to very high volumes. A flat-fee migration from FileCabinet CS is offered with half back as credit.
What stands out
File Intelligence
Tax organizers
Per-user tiers
Where it costs you
Liscio offers a booked demo only, and its pricing page names no self-serve trial.
Tax organizers and deliveries carry a per-item price on top of the per-user seat.
Right for
Tax firms leaving FileCabinet CS or drowning in unnamed client uploads
Wrong for
Firms wanting a self-serve trial or a full workflow board
Not stated by the vendorTwo tiers priced per user and billed annually, then Enterprise; demo instead of trial
Practice suite with tax resolution, three per-user tiers
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page lists Standard, Plus and Premium at rising per-user prices, with AI coworker hours per user that grow by tier. Multi-office management is marked as coming.
Connected clients for advisory reporting are an add-on with five included. ACH payments are charged at a lower rate than cards. Enterprise is custom, and the privacy policy names Canopy Tax, Inc.
What stands out
Three tiers
Tax resolution
Card fees
Where it costs you
Canopy's trial is arranged through sales, not started from the page.
Card payments carry a percentage plus a fixed fee, and Tax Resolution is a separate per-user price.
Right for
Firms doing IRS representation work who want it beside client workflow
Wrong for
Small firms wanting a self-serve start or low per-seat cost
United StatesStandard, Plus and Premium prices per user, billed annually; add-ons and card fees apply
Email-centred workflow for firms, with team and business tiers
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Team covers integrated email, collaboration, workflow, time tracking, budgets, billing and payments. Business adds industry integrations on top. Enterprise is custom priced with a dedicated contact and unlimited usage limits.
Currency can be switched on the page. The company's materials stress email triage, where emails are shared, assigned and commented on across the team. The pricing page also lets a visitor switch the displayed currency.
What stands out
Email triage
Per-user tiers
Task automation
Where it costs you
Karbon's monthly billing is limited to teams of four or more users.
Karbon places automatic client reminders and task automation in the dearer Business tier.
Right for
Firms of four or more that run work out of shared email
Wrong for
Solo practitioners or firms wanting a trial before a demo
United StatesTeam and Business prices per user, with annual or monthly billing; Enterprise custom
Three-tier accountancy practice module, with prices given on enquiry
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Plans are described as for start-ups and small practices, mid-sized practices and large organisations. Features named include a configurable workflow engine, email and SMS automation, a client portal with e-signatures, Outlook and Companies House integration, Proposal Manager and AML integration.
Only the Essentials trial is advertised, so a buyer who wants to test automation must ask IRIS directly. Pricing for every plan comes from a tailored quote, which makes comparing it with published rivals harder.
What stands out
Quote-based
Companies House link
UK accountancy
Where it costs you
IRIS publishes no usable prices for any plan, so cost is known only after a conversation.
IRIS keeps time and fees as an optional add-on, which adds a line to the final quote.
Right for
Mid-sized UK practices already running other IRIS accountancy products
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices or a plain standalone purchase
United KingdomQuoted per organisation across three plans; 30-day trial of the entry plan
Jobs, time and billing tool bundled into Xero's partner programme
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Accounting Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The US page describes assigning work to staff, templates, tracking schedules, and recording time then converting it to invoices. Bronze or new practices pay the flat fee after a free 14-day trial.
Prices and bundles are stated per region, and the US terms list several Xero entities, each with its own address. The entity for New Zealand and the rest of the world is based in Wellington.
What stands out
Partner programme
Jobs and time
Flat user pack
Where it costs you
Xero Practice Manager is free only at Silver, Gold or Platinum partner level.
Xero now promotes a Partner Hub plus Practice Management bundle, so check which of the two your region sells.
Right for
Xero-centred practices at higher partner level wanting jobs and time without extra cost
Wrong for
Practices not built on Xero or lacking a partner status
New ZealandIncluded free at higher partner levels; otherwise published flat monthly fee for ten users after a 14-day trial
How to choose accounting practice management software
Accounting practice management software is a system that runs an accounting firm's client list, recurring jobs, deadlines, staff time, document requests and invoicing, normally next to separate tax software. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 8 of the 12 print a price; 4 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Aero Workflow, Jetpack Workflow, Senta, Financial Cents, Capium, Ignition, SuiteFiles, Xero Practice Manager.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
These 12 vendors are established in 5 countries across 4 regions (North America 4, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 3, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How should you price Aero Workflow, Jetpack Workflow and Karbon seats against each other?
Practice management tools count staff in different ways, and the unit decides the bill. Aero Workflow bills one monthly fee for a band of users, so adding a fifth bookkeeper costs nothing until the band fills. Jetpack Workflow and Karbon charge per seat, and Jetpack Workflow holds time logs and capacity planning back for its dearer Premium seat.
Senta charges per user but lets clients in free. Financial Cents bills per user on a 12-month agreement. Model your headcount for the next two years, including part-timers and seasonal staff, then compare the total at each band edge, not the headline number on the entry plan. A flat band suits a stable team, while per-seat plans suit one that changes size often.
Count every person who will log in, including seasonal and part-time staff
Find which tier unlocks time tracking and capacity planning
Price the band edge, such as the sixth user in Aero Workflow
Where do billing, proposals and payments sit in your accounting practice management software?
Many tools in this market leave the money side to someone else. Ignition is built around proposals, engagement letters and payments and lists no workflow board, while Aero Workflow lists checklists and reports and no invoicing. Karbon puts billing and payments inside its Team plan.
Canopy charges a percentage plus a fixed fee on card payments, and Financial Cents prices Month-End Close per client on top of the plan. Decide first whether you want one product to send the engagement letter, track the job and collect payment. If not, count the integration work between two tools, the second subscription and who reconciles the two when a client disputes an invoice.
Check whether invoicing and time tracking are on the plan page
Ask for card and bank payment fees in writing
List which add-ons are priced per client or per signature
Is a document tool such as SuiteFiles or Liscio a practice management system?
Some products in this category manage files and client exchange, not the work itself. SuiteFiles is a document workspace for several professions and connects to Xero and Karbon for jobs. Liscio names, sorts and exchanges client documents, and only its higher tier adds client tasks. Xero Practice Manager covers jobs, time and billing, and Capium and IRIS Practice Management sit inside wider compliance suites.
A firm replacing an end-of-life tool should check the vendor's migration offer. Liscio states that FileCabinet CS support ends on 31 December 2027 and offers a flat-fee migration. Decide which layer is failing before buying, because a document tool will not fix missed deadlines and a job tracker will not fix a chaotic folder tree.
Name the layer failing today: files, jobs, time or billing
Ask whether jobs live in the product or in an integration
Test an import of your real folder structure
What do trials, contracts and quotes hide when you shop for accounting practice management software?
Terms differ more than features. Financial Cents puts every plan on a 12-month agreement, and Aero Workflow gives no refund if you cancel a yearly plan early. Karbon offers monthly billing only to teams of four or more and shows a demo button, not a trial. Canopy arranges its trial through sales.
IRIS Practice Management gives prices on enquiry but offers a 30-day trial of Essentials, while Senta offers 30 days and no long contracts. Xero Practice Manager is free only at certain partner levels. Compare what you can test before you commit, and ask for the cancellation terms before the demo ends. A trial with real client data tells you more than a sandbox, and Aero Workflow lets a trial use any number of users.
Note trial length and whether a card is needed
Read the minimum term and any refund rule
Ask what happens to your data on cancellation
What goes wrong most often when buying accounting practice management software
Choosing between Karbon and Canopy on the entry tier, then finding that reminders, automation or reporting sit in the next tier up.
Buying Ignition for workflow and discovering it covers proposals and billing but lists no task board.
Signing Financial Cents for a year, or Aero Workflow annually, without testing it with your real client list first.
Treating SuiteFiles or Liscio as a full practice system when jobs and deadlines still live in another product.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best accounting practice management software in 2026?
Aero Workflow leads our ranking of 12. Aero Workflow is run by Cloud Consultancy, LLC in Charlottesville, Virginia, and charges one monthly fee for a band of one to five, six to twenty-five or twenty-six to fifty users.
Onboarding, training, the API and every integration are included. The pricing page lists checklists, tasks, templates and reports, and says nothing about billing or time tracking, so invoicing happens elsewhere.
Which accounting practice management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Aero Workflow: Published flat monthly fee by user band, not per seat; 14-day trial without a card.
Jetpack Workflow: Published monthly or annual price per seat in two tiers plus Enterprise; 14-day trial.
Senta: Published monthly price per user, lower with more users or annual payment; 30-day trial.
Financial Cents: Three published tiers priced per user and billed annually, then Enterprise; 14-day trial.
Capium: Published monthly price starting by client count; free trial; sold beside suite modules.
Ignition: Published tiered plans by active clients and users, add-ons priced extra; 14-day trial.
SuiteFiles: Published monthly or annual bundle price with a stated user count; free trial.
Xero Practice Manager: Included free at higher partner levels; otherwise published flat monthly fee for ten users after a 14-day trial.
4 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free accounting practice management tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these accounting practice management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 5 countries and 4 regions, North America 4, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 3, Elsewhere 2:
Aero Workflow: United States.
Jetpack Workflow: United States.
Senta: United Kingdom.
Financial Cents: Not stated by the vendor.
Capium: United Kingdom.
Ignition: Australia.
SuiteFiles: New Zealand.
Liscio: Not stated by the vendor.
Canopy: United States.
Karbon: United States.
IRIS Practice Management: United Kingdom.
Xero Practice Manager: New Zealand.
What should you use instead of Aero Workflow?
Look at Jetpack Workflow (made for Firms of any size that mainly need job tracking and staff capacity views) and Senta (made for small UK accountancy firms wanting a CRM and workflows at a flat per-user price), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Aero Workflow?
Firms that need invoicing and time budgets inside the tool. Aero Workflow's pricing page names checklists, task scheduling, reports and integrations, but no invoicing or time tracking..
We rank 12 accounting practice management software products on this page. If we missed one, its maker can write to us about its purpose and customers. We pick what gets added; the terms of a listing are set out under software advice.