Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026

Digital credentialing software issues certificates and badges that a recipient can share and an outsider can check.

This guide ranks twelve products on the effort to launch a first programme, the cost once branding and integrations are added, whether credentials and records can leave with you, and whether a small issuer can buy without a sales call.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What digital credentialing software does

Digital credentialing software lets an organisation design certificates and badges, send them to learners or members by email, and give each one a verification page that confirms who issued it.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every digital credentialing tool here. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.

12tools reviewed
8publish a price
6have a free tier
7countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1CertifierPolandFree plan with a yearly issuing cap; paid tiers published by issuing volume; branding add-onYesTraining providers issuing a few hundred certificates from spreadsheets each yearUniversities needing transcripts tied to student record systems
#2Open Badge FactoryFinlandPublished yearly licence by badges issued; 60-day trial; enterprise quoted—Associations and schools building a badge system around Open BadgesTeams wanting a monthly plan with no annual commitment
#3SertifierUnited StatesPublished price per recipients a year; free plan for 25 people; optional add-onsYesMid-sized training teams that want to price by recipient countOrganisations that need SSO and white-labelling in the base price
#4Openbadges.meUnited KingdomFree starter tier; published monthly or yearly price by recipient countYesSmall colleges and charities issuing badges to a few hundred peopleLarge employers wanting white-labelled badges at published prices
#5VerifyEdUnited KingdomAnnual subscription or pay-as-you-go by credential volume—Course providers that issue in bursts and want pay-as-you-go creditsBuyers avoiding blockchain storage or auto-renewing yearly contracts
#6CertopusNot stated by the vendorFree plan; published monthly price with a volume selector; enterprise on requestYesEvent organisers who need certificates sent in bulk by emailBuyers who need the vendor country stated up front
#7CertifyMeIndiaQuoted per organisation; plans start at 250 students a year—Colleges that want learner records and skills mapping with their badgesSmall teams that need a printed price before talking to sales
#8AweroLithuaniaFree personal tier; published yearly licence by badges and usersYesYouth and community programmes issuing badges for quests and evidenceCorporate training teams that need API access at checkout
#9Badge ListNot stated by the vendorFree plan for 100 recipients; published monthly or yearly price per planYesCoaches and internal programmes recognising a few hundred people at a timeCertification bodies issuing thousands of verifiable credentials a year
#10AccredibleNot stated by the vendorPublished entry plan priced per unique recipient; higher plans quoted—Course providers that want unlimited credentials per recipient and room to growTeams wanting a month-to-month plan or full branding without sales
#11CredlyNot stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation—Product certification bodies that want a large existing badge networkSmall teams wanting published prices or a free trial
#12ParchmentUnited StatesQuoted per organisation—Universities and state systems moving transcripts, diplomas and badges togetherSmall training firms issuing course certificates from a spreadsheet

Read country as the home of the company, not of the servers. Where hosting points elsewhere, the entry for that product says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Certifier · 2. Open Badge Factory · 3. Sertifier · 4. Openbadges.me · 5. VerifyEd · 6. Certopus · 7. CertifyMe · 8. Awero · 9. Badge List · 10. Accredible · 11. Credly · 12. Parchment

#1 Certifier

Certificate and badge issuing with a permanent free allowance

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Certifier prices by the number of certificates or badges issued per year, with a slider from 250 up to 50,000. A bulk upload from a spreadsheet creates one credential per row, and recipients get a verification page, PDF, PNG and JSON downloads.

A typo can be fixed and the live certificate updates. Plans carry a 30-day money-back promise. Custom branding is where the bill grows.

What stands out
  • Free allowance
  • Open Badges 3.0
  • Bulk issuing
Where it costs you
  • Credential addresses, sender emails and wallets under your own brand need the Premium Branding add-on, billed monthly.
  • Expiry and renewal reminders, Apple and Google Wallet cards and LMS integrations are listed under the paid tiers, not the free Starter plan.
Right for

Training providers issuing a few hundred certificates from spreadsheets each year

Wrong for

Universities needing transcripts tied to student record systems

PolandFree plan with a yearly issuing cap; paid tiers published by issuing volume; branding add-on

#2 Open Badge Factory

Open Badges issuing sold as four yearly licence levels

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Open Badge Factory prints its prices in euros per year: Basic 220, Premium 700 and Pro 1,280, with invoice payment costing 40 more. Recipients can store badges in the free Open Badge Passport service instead.

Premium adds roles for creators and issuers, while customer questionnaires on privacy and security are answered only for Enterprise customers. A 60-day trial is offered.

What stands out
  • Yearly licence
  • Open Badges
  • 60-day trial
Where it costs you
  • The API integration, PDF certificates and the report generator are listed only from the Pro level upward.
  • The Basic level allows ten badge classes and offers only a support portal, with no helpdesk.
Right for

Associations and schools building a badge system around Open Badges

Wrong for

Teams wanting a monthly plan with no annual commitment

FinlandPublished yearly licence by badges issued; 60-day trial; enterprise quoted

#3 Sertifier

Recipient-based pricing with optional add-ons and a small free plan

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Sertifier asks how many people will receive credentials this year and shows a price, for example 750 per year for 500 people. Yearly billing gives two months free and there is a 30-day money-back window.

Issued credentials stay valid after a subscription ends, and issuing several credentials to the same person adds no cost. Education and nonprofit buyers get 20% off, according to its discount list.

What stands out
  • Per recipient
  • Add-ons
  • Free for 25
Where it costs you
  • Your own logo and domain on emails and pages is a paid add-on rather than part of every plan.
  • SAML sign-in, sub-organisations and procurement help belong to Enterprise only, with no figure given.
Right for

Mid-sized training teams that want to price by recipient count

Wrong for

Organisations that need SSO and white-labelling in the base price

United StatesPublished price per recipients a year; free plan for 25 people; optional add-ons

#4 Openbadges.me

Badge issuing priced by recipients, from a ten-person free tier

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Openbadges.me counts recipients rather than badges, so a school can design as many badges as it likes. Prices can be shown in US dollars, pounds or euros.

The Small tier covers up to 500 recipients and the Large tier up to 3000, and anything above that is a custom quote. The pricing page lists no trial beyond the free starter tier, so a buyer tests with ten people.

What stands out
  • Free ten recipients
  • Per recipient
  • Unlimited badges
Where it costs you
  • The free tier stops at 10 badge recipients, so any real cohort needs a paid tier.
  • White labelling and single sign-on are enquiry-only, and SSO adds a set-up fee and yearly upkeep.
Right for

Small colleges and charities issuing badges to a few hundred people

Wrong for

Large employers wanting white-labelled badges at published prices

United KingdomFree starter tier; published monthly or yearly price by recipient count

#5 VerifyEd

Credentials written to the XRPL ledger, bought by volume

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

VerifyEd counts every certificate, badge or transcript letter as a credential and charges only at issue time; keeping old credentials live costs nothing extra. Above 3000 credentials a year, a per-learner subscription is offered.

Credentials carry QR codes, CSV import, an API and a Zapier link. Non-profits get 10% off, and cards or debit are the online payment routes, with bank transfer for enterprise clients.

What stands out
  • Blockchain-backed
  • Pay-as-you-go
  • Learner wallet
Where it costs you
  • Unused credentials in an annual subscription do not carry into the next year, and the subscription renews automatically.
  • Plan amounts were not visible in the page text we could retrieve, so the cost cannot be checked from this review.
Right for

Course providers that issue in bursts and want pay-as-you-go credits

Wrong for

Buyers avoiding blockchain storage or auto-renewing yearly contracts

United KingdomAnnual subscription or pay-as-you-go by credential volume

#6 Certopus

Certificate builder with a free tier and volume-based paid plans

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere

Certopus offers a certificate builder, a badge builder, bulk issuing from sheets and LinkedIn sharing on the free tier, which also limits events to two and seats to one.

Professional is shown from a monthly figure billed annually and unlocks unlimited events and seats. Enterprise adds SSO, SAML, audit logs and an on-premise option. Non-profits recognised by government get 30% extra off annual plans.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Volume selector
  • Certificate builder
Where it costs you
  • The same pricing page shows 250 free credentials in one place and 50 a year in a comparison table, so check the allowance before relying on it.
  • Custom domain, branded wallets and branded verification pages are listed as add-ons even in the table.
Right for

Event organisers who need certificates sent in bulk by email

Wrong for

Buyers who need the vendor country stated up front

Not stated by the vendorFree plan; published monthly price with a volume selector; enterprise on request

#7 CertifyMe

Institutional credential programmes priced by students per year

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific

CertifyMe counts students rather than credentials, so Essentials and Professional place no limit on credentials issued to covered students. Essentials issues Open Badges 2.1, bulk issues from CSV and checks credential status by QR or ID.

Professional adds stackable micro-credentials, learning paths and a showcase directory, plus ten templates. Revocation and bulk reissue are not included at Essentials, so a correction means fixing records one by one, which is slow for large cohorts.

What stands out
  • Student-based
  • Three plans
  • Skills mapping
Where it costs you
  • Essentials keeps the vendor branding, lacks custom domains and white-label email, and allows three templates and one administrator.
  • No price appears on the pricing page, and extra departments are paid recurring add-ons quoted on request.
Right for

Colleges that want learner records and skills mapping with their badges

Wrong for

Small teams that need a printed price before talking to sales

IndiaQuoted per organisation; plans start at 250 students a year

#8 Awero

Open Badges platform for learning programmes, rebranded from Badgecraft

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Awero licences are priced in euros: Starting issuer 110, Advanced issuer 550 and Institution issuer 950 per year. The personal tier allows 100 badges and 100 users.

Paid levels add branded certificates, teams and custom user data, and the Institution level lifts activities, badges and affiliations to unlimited. Earners get a free Badge Wallet app. Quests let learners upload evidence for review by peers or assessors.

What stands out
  • Open Badges
  • Quests
  • Yearly licence
Where it costs you
  • Licence packages are activated by contacting the company, and anyone needing more than 5,000 users or the API must write in.
  • The pricing page still carries the Badgecraft name while the home page announces the move to Awero, so documents may show either.
Right for

Youth and community programmes issuing badges for quests and evidence

Wrong for

Corporate training teams that need API access at checkout

LithuaniaFree personal tier; published yearly licence by badges and users

#9 Badge List

Badges for company culture and coaching, capped by recipients

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Badge List charges monthly or yearly: Team 180 a month or 1,980 a year, Org 450 a month or 4,950 a year, with the yearly option cutting two months. Group members can award badges from the Team level up.

Org includes concierge support. No free trial is mentioned, and the legal entity was not shown on the pricing page. Its terms refer to a New York federal court only for copyright notices.

What stands out
  • Recipient caps
  • Culture badges
  • Coaches
Where it costs you
  • Recipient limits stop at 100, 200 and 500 across the three plans, with a custom plan only above that.
  • The free plan lets only the admin award badges, and privacy controls are not part of it.
Right for

Coaches and internal programmes recognising a few hundred people at a time

Wrong for

Certification bodies issuing thousands of verifiable credentials a year

Not stated by the vendorFree plan for 100 recipients; published monthly or yearly price per plan

#10 Accredible

Credentialing sold per unique recipient, with sales-led upper tiers

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Accredible counts unique recipients per year, so one person can receive any number of badges and certificates inside the allowance. The entry plan starts at 45 a month.

Connect adds insights reporting, onboarding and a dedicated customer success manager, and Growth adds marketing analytics and priority support. Add-ons exist at every level, so a buyer should ask which modules the first quote leaves out.

What stands out
  • Per recipient
  • Sales-led tiers
  • Pathways
Where it costs you
  • Launch includes only 50 recipients and blockchain credentials, with the 12-month term billed monthly.
  • Pathways, digital wallet cards, custom white-labelling and SLAs sit in Connect or Growth, both custom-quoted.
Right for

Course providers that want unlimited credentials per recipient and room to grow

Wrong for

Teams wanting a month-to-month plan or full branding without sales

Not stated by the vendorPublished entry plan priced per unique recipient; higher plans quoted

#11 Credly

Pearson-owned badge network sold through a sales conversation

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Credly asks every buyer to book a demo, and the form separates badge earners from organisations evaluating a solution. The company lists solutions for employers, higher education, professional associations and training providers, plus skills management products.

Because no tiers, caps or add-ons are printed, the first quote decides everything. Ask for renewal terms and a bulk export of issued badges before signing.

What stands out
  • Pearson-owned
  • Sales-led
  • Credential network
Where it costs you
  • The pricing address leads to a contact form, so no plan, limit or price can be compared before a sales conversation.
  • Credly sits inside Pearson's workforce skills portfolio, which ties a buyer to a large vendor's roadmap and contract terms.
Right for

Product certification bodies that want a large existing badge network

Wrong for

Small teams wanting published prices or a free trial

Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation

#12 Parchment

Transcripts, diplomas and badges from an Instructure company

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Digital Credentialing Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Parchment sells a single platform for credentials from transcripts to digital badges, and its Digitary services serve institutions in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The badge product lists Canvas LMS integration, skills taxonomy, pathways and SOC 2 Type 2. The compare-plans page lists no prices and no free items for badges, so budgets come only from a quote.

What stands out
  • Instructure-owned
  • Transcripts
  • Digitary
Where it costs you
  • Digital badge services come as one offering with no published price, only a Get a Quote button.
  • Parchment covers transcripts, diplomas and licensure workflows, which is more than a company issuing course certificates will use.
Right for

Universities and state systems moving transcripts, diplomas and badges together

Wrong for

Small training firms issuing course certificates from a spreadsheet

United StatesQuoted per organisation
06

How to choose digital credentialing software

Digital credentialing software lets an organisation design certificates and badges, send them to learners or members by email, and give each one a verification page that confirms who issued it. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    Only 8 of the 12 print a price; 4 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Certifier, Open Badge Factory, Sertifier, Openbadges.me, Certopus, Awero, Badge List, Accredible.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    4 regions are represented (Europe 5, Elsewhere 4, North America 2, Asia-Pacific 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.

How is digital credentialing software priced: by recipient or by credential?

Digital credentialing software charges for volume in three different ways, and the unit decides what a growing programme costs. Accredible prices per unique recipient, so one person can hold unlimited badges and certificates inside the annual allowance, while Certifier counts each certificate or badge against a yearly cap that runs from 250 to 50,000.

Sertifier prices the headcount you expect to credential, and VerifyEd sells an annual subscription or pay-as-you-go credits where each certificate, badge or transcript letter consumes one credit. A course that issues three credentials per learner costs three times as much under a credential count and the same under a recipient count. Work out both numbers for next year before comparing plan prices.

  • Count recipients and credentials separately for one year of your calendar
  • Ask whether unused volume rolls into the next year
  • Check what happens at the cap: upgrade, overage or blocked issuing

What does branded digital credentialing software cost beyond the plan price?

Branding is where credential bills stretch. Certifier charges a Premium Branding add-on for custom credential addresses, sender emails and wallets, layered over every plan, and Sertifier lists your own logo and domain as one of six optional add-ons. CertifyMe states that its Essentials plan keeps the vendor branding, while custom domains and white-label email begin at Professional.

Certopus puts white labelling in Professional, but its comparison table still lists custom domain and branded wallets as add-ons. Awero shows branded certificate design from the Starting issuer licence. A recipient who sees a vendor domain on a certificate may trust it less, so price the branded version, not the entry tier.

  • Ask for the price with your own domain, sender email and verification page
  • List which add-ons your normal programme needs on day one
  • Find out whether SSO is in the plan or only Enterprise

Can credentials from digital credentialing software outlive the contract?

A badge is only useful while its verification page works, so ask what happens at cancellation. Sertifier states that issued credentials remain valid and accessible if a subscription ends, and VerifyEd says it charges no maintenance fee for credentials already issued. Open Badge Factory lets recipients hold badges in the separate Open Badge Passport, with no login to the issuer tool.

Certifier lets you export recipient records and download PDF, PNG and JSON files. Standards matter too: Certifier badges follow Open Badges 3.0 and CertifyMe Essentials issues Open Badges 2.1, which sets what another wallet can read. For Credly and Parchment, which quote privately, put export and post-contract hosting into the written offer.

  • Ask whether verification pages stay live after you cancel
  • Request an export of recipient records and credential files
  • Confirm the badge standard version your recipients will hold

Which digital credentialing software fits a university, a trainer or a coach?

Buyers in this market sit at different ends of scale, and the products are built for them. Parchment covers transcripts, diplomas and badges for institutions and state systems, and its Digitary services serve six countries, but every price is a quote. Credly, owned by Pearson, aims at employers, certifiers, associations and trainers, and also quotes privately.

A trainer sending course certificates from a roster is better served by Certifier, Certopus or Openbadges.me, which publish prices and start with a free tier. Coaches and internal recognition programmes fit Badge List, whose free plan stops at 100 recipients. Youth and community learning programmes with quests and evidence fit Awero. Match the product to the credential, not the logo list.

  • Write down whether you issue transcripts, diplomas, badges or course certificates
  • Check the recipient cap against your largest cohort
  • Ask a vendor for a customer of your size and type

What goes wrong most often when buying digital credentialing software

  • Comparing the entry price of Accredible, Certifier and Sertifier without converting each to the same unit: recipients, credentials or people per year.
  • Treating a free credentialing plan as a trial of the paid product, when Badge List caps it at 100 recipients with admin-only awarding and Openbadges.me stops at 10.
  • Signing with Credly or Parchment on a verbal discount, when neither publishes a plan to hold the quote against at renewal.
  • Ignoring the badge standard version, so recipients end up holding Open Badges 2.1 credentials while the wallet they use expects 3.0.
07

Frequently asked questions

7 answers
What is the best digital credentialing software in 2026?

Certifier leads our ranking of 12. Certifier is operated by Certifier sp. z o.o. in Krakow. Its free Starter plan covers 250 certificates or badges a year, and its badges follow Open Badges 3.0.

Paid tiers raise the yearly cap, up to 50,000 on the slider. Branded credential pages and sender emails are a separately priced add-on, so a school that wants its own domain pays more than the plan rate.

Which digital credentialing tools publish their pricing?

8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Certifier: Free plan with a yearly issuing cap; paid tiers published by issuing volume; branding add-on.
  • Open Badge Factory: Published yearly licence by badges issued; 60-day trial; enterprise quoted.
  • Sertifier: Published price per recipients a year; free plan for 25 people; optional add-ons.
  • Openbadges.me: Free starter tier; published monthly or yearly price by recipient count.
  • Certopus: Free plan; published monthly price with a volume selector; enterprise on request.
  • Awero: Free personal tier; published yearly licence by badges and users.
  • Badge List: Free plan for 100 recipients; published monthly or yearly price per plan.
  • Accredible: Published entry plan priced per unique recipient; higher plans quoted.

4 vendors do not print a price.

Is there a free digital credentialing tool?

Certifier, Sertifier, Openbadges.me, Certopus, Awero, Badge List offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these digital credentialing software vendors established?

The headquarters are spread over 7 countries and 4 regions, Europe 5, Elsewhere 4, North America 2, Asia-Pacific 1:

  • Certifier: Poland.
  • Open Badge Factory: Finland.
  • Sertifier: United States.
  • Openbadges.me: United Kingdom.
  • VerifyEd: United Kingdom.
  • Certopus: Not stated by the vendor.
  • CertifyMe: India.
  • Awero: Lithuania.
  • Badge List: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Accredible: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Credly: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Parchment: United States.
Which digital credentialing tools can you host yourself?

Certopus. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.

What should you use instead of Certifier?

The next in line are Open Badge Factory, aimed at Associations and schools building a badge system around Open Badges, and Sertifier, aimed at Mid-sized training teams that want to price by recipient count.

Who should not buy Certifier?

Universities needing transcripts tied to student record systems. Credential addresses, sender emails and wallets under your own brand need the Premium Branding add-on, billed monthly..

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

More People & Finance software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Sell digital credentialing software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.

Suggest a product →