Cross-border payment providers move money between currencies and countries through accounts, transfers, payouts and cards.
This guide ranks on what a buyer can read on the vendor's own site: ninety-day setup effort, the real cost once cards and withdrawals are added, how funds leave, dependence on partners, and whether the product targets exporters, platforms or senders.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What cross-border payment providers software does
Cross-border payment providers convert currencies and send, receive or pay out money internationally, using local account details, bank networks such as SWIFT and SEPA, wallets and cards.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every cross-border payment providers tool here. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Pay-as-you-go transfers with fees shown per currency, no subscription
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The page lists a debit card with an issuance charge, cash withdrawals free up to a monthly limit and then a percentage, and a 2% charge for loading external e-wallets.
Homepage text says sends above a stated size get discounted fees. Payment entities sit in Belgium and Estonia. Those card and wallet charges matter if a team plans to spend from the balance rather than only transfer out.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Local account details
Debit card
Where it costs you
Receiving by SWIFT costs a flat amount per payment, which hurts many small incoming invoices.
The pricing page shows no figures for business pricing or the Wise Platform.
Right for
Small companies wanting posted per-use fees and local account details without a contract
Wrong for
Buyers needing a negotiated rate or a dedicated dealer
BelgiumPublished pay-as-you-go fees, no subscription tiers; free to register
Business account in 25+ currencies with forwards, limit orders and spend controls
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Beyond transfers, the homepage describes a Global Business Account for receiving, holding and spending in 25+ currencies, plus corporate cards that pay in the same range.
Accounts payable automation and expense reimbursement run through Control Hub. Forwards and limit orders suit a finance lead who wants to fix a rate ahead of an invoice. No owner or parent company is named.
What stands out
FX forwards
Spend management
Xero and QuickBooks
Where it costs you
The homepage carries no fee schedule, so the cost has to be found on another page.
The cashback on cards needs the higher plan tiers.
Right for
Businesses hedging currency exposure that also want approvals and accounting links
Wrong for
Individuals or sole traders making one-off personal transfers abroad
IrelandFee schedule on a separate pricing page; Full-Suite and Custom plans exist
Belgian-regulated multi-currency business account with cards and SWIFT or SEPA payments
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The plan ladder is built around card volume: one tier for 1 to 20 cards, another for 21 to 50, and an enterprise tier above that. Virtual cards are included in larger numbers than physical ones.
Support runs seven days a week, and expense management and procurement software sit alongside the account. The Part of the Equals Group logo suggests a parent, which the page does not name.
What stands out
Card-count tiers
23 currencies
Expense cards
Where it costs you
Physical cards and cash withdrawals are charged on top of the plan.
The pricing page contradicts itself, so the expected bill needs confirming.
Right for
Teams issuing many company cards while paying suppliers in several currencies
Wrong for
Single freelancers who need no company cards at all
BelgiumPublished tiers by number of cards; enterprise tier on custom pricing
UK-founded business payments and FX hedging across 60+ currencies
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The homepage frames Ebury around exposure management as much as payments: hedging across 60+ currencies, supplier payment finance and software API integrations, with local accounts said to carry no extra fees.
Scale claims are 50+ offices and 25,000+ businesses. Because the page names no regulated legal entity, a buyer should ask which company will hold the funds before signing anything.
What stands out
FX hedging
Mass payments
Embedded finance
Where it costs you
No fee amounts appear on the homepage.
Entry is through a contact page, not a self-service sign-up.
Right for
Mid-sized importers and exporters needing hedging, supplier finance and API access together
Wrong for
Sole traders wanting to open an account within minutes
United KingdomNo fee amounts shown; Get started leads to a contact page
Payments, FX and banking for personal, business and institutional clients
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Moneycorp spans three client types on one page, which makes it a broad provider rather than a business-only specialist. The institutional arm covers currency services including banknote supply. Referral rewards exist for introducing friends and businesses.
The registered office is in London, and the regulator reference is shown. A buyer needing approvals, spend controls or automation would find those unmentioned and should ask directly, ideally before sending a first payment.
What stands out
FX and banking
Banknote supply
FCA authorised
Where it costs you
Rates on the site are indicative only, so a transfer cost is not readable up front.
No API, card or expense features are described on the page.
Right for
Firms and individuals mixing currency dealing, banking and physical cash needs
Wrong for
Platforms needing embedded payouts or developer tooling today
United KingdomNo fees shown; indicative rates displayed as a guide only
Receiving accounts in 70+ currencies plus payouts, cards and workforce products
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage claims collection across 190+ countries and territories, local teams in 35 countries and workforce products reaching 160+ countries, including a Contractor Management System.
Stablecoin receipts and checkout links sit beside the accounts. Three legal entities are named, in the US, Ireland and Australia, without registered offices or regulators. That makes it hard to say which entity a given customer contracts with.
What stands out
70+ currencies
Mass payouts
Contractor management
Where it costs you
The homepage gives no fee amounts and no headquarters country.
Working Capital Advance and Smart FX are subject to eligibility.
Right for
Marketplace sellers and agencies paying contractors across many countries at once
Wrong for
Buyers who simply need one occasional international transfer
Not stated by the vendorFees sit on a separate pricing page, none on the homepage
Multi-currency business accounts with marketplace collections and cashback card
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Collections from marketplaces are the first thing the page offers, followed by international transfers and a cashback card. Enterprise products include global checkout, global spend, Treasury Autopilot, Falcon FX and embedded finance.
The page lists Alipay+, Antom and Bettr as other brands, which implies group links without confirming ownership. Cashback applies to new World Card users, and the currency is not specified.
What stands out
Marketplace collections
FX rate locking
Business card
Where it costs you
No registered entity or home jurisdiction is named on the page.
Fees and exchange-rate margins are not shown.
Right for
Online sellers collecting marketplace payouts in several currencies who want rate locking
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named legal entity before signing up
Not stated by the vendorNo transaction fees or exchange-rate margins stated on the page
Embedded payables, receivables and virtual accounts for banks, software firms and fintechs
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Partners get three building blocks: payables for sending money, receivables for collecting in local currencies, and virtual accounts in 35+ currencies.
The receivables claim is lower fees and better FX rates, with no figure behind it. Calls to action are Talk to the team, Book a Demo and Create Account. Anyone relying on it should ask who the contracting entity is.
What stands out
Embedded payments
Virtual accounts
FX forwards
Where it costs you
No prices, address or jurisdiction appear on the page.
The certificate filename names a group the page never explains.
Right for
Software and bank partners embedding payables and receivables into their own product
Wrong for
A company paying a handful of foreign suppliers directly
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or fee schedules stated; demo and team-contact routes
Phone-first transfers to 170+ countries, with an enterprise payout API
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Two audiences share one homepage: individuals sending from a phone, and enterprises using an API with embedded payouts. Recipient options cover account, card, e-wallet and cash.
Paysend Group Limited is named as holder of the trademarks, and the page does not explain how that company relates to the Irish entity that holds the licence. A buyer comparing it with Remitly should note that neither page describes a multi-currency business account.
What stands out
Consumer transfers
Enterprise API
E-money institution
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no fee or rate figures before a transfer is set up.
Treasury or multi-currency account features for companies are not described.
Right for
Senders paying relatives or small recipients by card, wallet or cash pickup
Wrong for
Finance teams wanting multi-currency accounts, hedging and approvals
IrelandRate and fee shown before the sender confirms; no figures on homepage
Per-transfer flat fee transfers regulated in Ireland, with a first-transfer promotion
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The pricing example given is a euro to US dollar send at one flat fee, and the page promises no hidden charges. A promotion waives the fee on the first transfer, once per customer.
Because the flat fee is the only price shown, a buyer must test a quote to see the rate applied. The copyright line names Remitly, Inc., whose base the page does not state.
What stands out
Flat per-transfer fee
Limited-time offer
Irish entity
Where it costs you
The calculator shows no exchange rate figure, so total cost is unclear.
Business accounts, APIs and batch payments are not covered.
Right for
Individuals who value a single flat fee and a clear first-transfer incentive
Wrong for
Companies paying supplier invoices or contractors in bulk
IrelandFlat fee per transfer on a published pricing page; promotional first transfer
Education, travel, B2B and healthcare payments in local currencies with ERP links
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
This is a receiving tool: the payer uses a local method and currency, and the organisation is settled in its own. The integration list names ERP, student information, CRM and electronic health record systems, which is where it earns its place.
The trademark belongs to Flywire Corporation while Flywire Global Corp provides the regulated service, a split the page leaves unexplained.
What stands out
Vertical payments
100+ integrations
140 currencies
Where it costs you
Entry is through Get a demo or Get in touch, with no price shown.
The page organises everything around four sectors, narrowing the fit.
Right for
Universities, clinics and travel firms collecting from payers abroad into their own systems
Wrong for
Freelancers and small shops sending their own transfers abroad
Not stated by the vendorNo fees shown, only a lower-payment-costs claim; demo route
Digital wallet with prepaid Mastercard, money transfers and crypto purchases
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Cross-Border Payment Providers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage is aimed at consumers: paying online, sending money, a prepaid card, rate alerts and a loyalty programme. Crypto buying is a headline feature with over 40 assets listed.
No registered office is stated, and Paysafe group membership is only implied by a logo and links. For cross-border business payments the buyer would be building around a wallet, so Skrill suits personal use better than company finance.
What stands out
Digital wallet
Prepaid Mastercard
Crypto
Where it costs you
Fee amounts sit on a separate fees page.
No invoicing, payout or business account tools are described.
Right for
Individuals who want a wallet and prepaid card alongside transfers
Wrong for
Companies needing supplier payments, collections or accounting links
Not stated by the vendorFees listed on a separate fees page; none on the homepage
How to choose cross-border payment providers software
Cross-border payment providers convert currencies and send, receive or pay out money internationally, using local account details, bank networks such as SWIFT and SEPA, wallets and cards. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 3 published against 9 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Wise, Equals Money, Remitly.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
The 12 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Europe 7, Elsewhere 5. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Cross-border payment providers: the fee that is not on the homepage
Most vendors here print no price on the front page. Wise states percentage fees from 0.2% and a flat SWIFT receipt charge, and Remitly shows one flat fee per transfer. Payoneer, OFX and Skrill point to separate pricing or fees pages, while Ebury, Moneycorp, Flywire and TransferMate show nothing and route you to a conversation. Moneycorp even says its displayed rates are only a guide.
Before shortlisting, send each vendor the same payment: currency pair, amount, frequency and whether you receive or send. Compare the all-in amount that lands, not the headline fee, because the exchange rate applied is part of the cost and several pages show no rate at all. Keep the quotes in one table so differences stay visible.
Request a quote for one identical payment from every vendor
Ask for the exchange-rate margin as well as the fee
Check whether receiving costs differ from sending
Receiving accounts or sending only: match the product to the direction of money
Providers split by direction. Payoneer and WorldFirst lead with receiving accounts and marketplace collections, and TransferMate sells receivables to partners. Flywire collects from payers who use local methods. Paysend and Remitly are built around sending, and Skrill is a wallet. Wise and OFX cover both, with local account details in 22 currencies at Wise and a business account in 25+ currencies at OFX.
A marketplace seller paid in dollars needs a receiving account and low conversion cost, while a company paying foreign suppliers needs outbound batches, such as Payoneer's batch of up to 1,000 payments. Write down which direction carries your volume before reading any feature list, then drop products built for the other direction.
List monthly volume by direction and currency
Confirm the receiving currencies you actually need
Check batch limits if you pay many people
Cards, withdrawals and add-ons: what raises the real price
The account fee is rarely the full bill. Equals Money lists a charge for each physical card and each cash withdrawal on top of its plans, and Wise charges to issue a debit card, caps free ATM withdrawals monthly and charges 2% to load external e-wallets. OFX offers 0.5% cashback only on Full-Suite or Custom plans, and WorldFirst advertises 2% cashback for new card users.
Skrill and Payoneer also sell cards, so ask for their terms too. If your team spends from the balance, price the card programme separately from the transfer fees, and count cash withdrawals and loads before deciding. A plan that looks cheap can lose to pay-as-you-go once cards are in daily use.
Count cards, withdrawals and e-wallet loads per month
Check which plan unlocks any cashback
Ask what each card or add-on costs to issue
Regulated entity and fund safeguarding: read before you deposit
Several pages name the legal entity, and several do not. OFX Payments Ireland Limited, Paysend EU DAC and Remitly Europe Limited cite the Central Bank of Ireland, TTT Moneycorp Limited cites the FCA, and Equals Money Europe SA and Wise Europe SA cite the National Bank of Belgium.
Equals Money also says it is outside any deposit guarantee scheme and keeps customer money in segregated bank accounts. Ebury, WorldFirst, TransferMate and Flywire show no clear contracting company or home jurisdiction on the pages we read. Ask which entity holds your money, where it is regulated and how client funds are held, and get the answer in the contract.
Ask for the contracting entity and its regulator
Ask whether client funds are safeguarded or insured
Request the entity's registration number in writing
What goes wrong most often when buying cross-border payment providers software
Comparing the fee percentage alone and ignoring the exchange-rate margin that sets the amount received.
Choosing a consumer sender such as Remitly or Skrill for supplier invoices, then finding no batch or accounting tools.
Opening a receiving account in a currency you do not hold in volume, so every payout converts twice.
Assuming a plan price covers everything when card issuance and cash withdrawals are charged separately.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best cross-border payment providers in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts Wise first. Wise charges per use with no subscriptions or tiers, and its pricing page publishes figures: sending and exchange fees start from 0.2% and vary by currency, and holding money is free.
Local account details come in 22 currencies. The catch is that SWIFT receipts carry a flat per-payment charge, and business pricing and Wise Platform show no figures, so a company must check those separately.
Which cross-border payment providers tools publish their pricing?
3 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:
Wise: Published pay-as-you-go fees, no subscription tiers; free to register.
Equals Money: Published tiers by number of cards; enterprise tier on custom pricing.
Remitly: Flat fee per transfer on a published pricing page; promotional first transfer.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free cross-border payment providers tool?
Not among the products reviewed here: no vendor on this list has a free tier worth using.
Where are these cross-border payment providers vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Europe 7, Elsewhere 5:
Wise: Belgium.
OFX: Ireland.
Equals Money: Belgium.
Ebury: United Kingdom.
Moneycorp: United Kingdom.
Payoneer: Not stated by the vendor.
WorldFirst: Not stated by the vendor.
TransferMate: Not stated by the vendor.
Paysend: Ireland.
Remitly: Ireland.
Flywire: Not stated by the vendor.
Skrill: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Wise?
The next in line are OFX, aimed at Businesses hedging currency exposure that also want approvals and accounting links, and Equals Money, aimed at teams issuing many company cards while paying suppliers in several currencies.
Who should not buy Wise?
Buyers needing a negotiated rate or a dedicated dealer. Receiving by SWIFT costs a flat amount per payment, which hurts many small incoming invoices..
Sell cross-border payment providers and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.